$24m GNPC drillship palaver: Gov't's $3.5m traced to New York

Read Comments Comments (98)

• freddie 12 years ago

Asem beba dabi

• JOBS JOBS JOBS 12 years ago

Travel And Work In Qatar With All Expenses Paid The Recruitment Agency,20% Would Be Deducted From Your Salary Up To 8Months.The Agency Will Provide The Following…

VISA
    AIR TICKET
    WORKING PERMIT
    ACCOMODATION
    TRANSPORT ...

• KMAN 12 years ago

NO WAY!

• NANA AKUFFO ADDO WEE SMOKER 12 years ago

kwame okoampa ahoofe aka Jato Julor (J.J.)Rawlings is a motherfucker....son of a whore...

kwame okoampa ahoofe,a motley-minded gay pignut with a future behind schedule.

Born stupid,
    bred stupid,
    raised stupid,
    nurtur ...

• ZoRRo 12 years ago

Why should a private newspaper be investigating this instead of the national fraud and security apparatus ? Is the BNI not supposed to be working on such matters ? Or the BNI works for the President of the day ? What a pathet ...

• JET 12 years ago

Who told you this paper is saying the truth. I bet you its one of the numerous scam from Kweku Baako, the son of Kofi Baako

• AMEGBEDZI 12 years ago

I THINK KWAME'S MOTHER WAS A VERGIN WHEN THE FATHER SAW HER. WE NEED TO THINK AND REFLECT BEFORE MAKING UNGUARDED STATEMENTS ABOUT WOMEN.
    KWAME COME AGAIN. WAS YOUR MOTHER A VERGIN?

• Mr Figure-Out 12 years ago

According the NDC politic of equalization, Betty moulds and Barton Oduro foolishly made out of court judgement debt settlement that paid gargantuan monies to Woyome and Waterville and that is the same as the well constituted ...

• BJ 12 years ago

AND THEY WANT TOO GOVERN THE nATION; tofiakwa.

• Kwame 12 years ago

BJ have you read the article?

• Chaskele 12 years ago

this is not a proper investigation to exonerate the culprits in this scam. Wayome, KT Hammond, Akuffu Addo, Ken Dapaah etc. They have been on this scam for years. Easy chop

• Okanta Otanka 12 years ago

Abdul Mali Kwaku Baako was a part of the mukyendi party,he definitely must find a way of wishing this away.MoFEP deals with all kinds of transactions so what shows that it isthe same 3.5 million and not any other? Cheap propa ...

• AbasZ 12 years ago

Do you understand english language? Read the article once more. Kwasea illiterate fool. Aboa bi ba.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 12 years ago

NDC Party and it's government the most corrupt leaders in the world assigned by world bank and IMF. So, what else can you say? Only fools like you and your founder JJ want NDC to rule in Ghana. Okay?

• Krikri,, 12 years ago

Were you not at the Bank of Ghana? Say something to us now.

• Ben 12 years ago

Please be civil and stop jumping the gun. The governor of Bank of Ghana and his deputy have not been mentioned so wait for the appropriate persons answer.

• Ben 12 years ago

BJ you need to open your eyes and read the whole script and stop being so thick.

• YAW SEBEH 12 years ago

Strange things are happening in Ghana. As concerned citizens, it is imperative that we ask for and demand to see copies of all the documents covering this the sale and purchase of the drill ship. For example, where is the sal ...

• john 12 years ago

Npp again over the sale of state property? The issue Daily Guide is not over where the money is but how was the Drill sold and by whom? These are interesting times

• kate 12 years ago

EXPRESS SAME ENTHUSIASM ABOUT GETTING OUR MONEY BACK FROM WOYOME, ISOFOTON, WATERVILLE, GYEEDA, AKOMFEM, AA AUTOMOBILE (with help of Ablakwa a Ghana government minister as their agent).

We should stop addressing every issu ...

• Kojo! 12 years ago

Only in black africa.

Suffering and smiling!

• RastafaraI 12 years ago

There shd be public death penalty for stealing public funds...Why is Woyome still free? He should be shot or hung by now...Why is govt not collected judgement debt amount ordered to be returned to Ghana?

• Joe 12 years ago

We Need our Money from Wayo, dont divert our Attention.

• Ghana ba 12 years ago

Very sad and how come a whole nation should seat and let a few Foolish, stupid crooks rub the nation and the previous Govt. could detect it!!! Indeed our leaders have been WICKED to mother Ghana!!! Whom can we trust????? Stop ...

• Poor Ghana 12 years ago

The thieves who first denied the whereabouts of the money did so so that they could write it off later as a loss and then take it for themselves.

Are there any courts in Ghana that prosecute anybody for such gross negligen ...

• Roy 12 years ago

Useless and partisan News paper. This story has no head or tail. pure propaganda, the sole commissioner will tell us the truth as events unfold.

• TEDDY 12 years ago

me barko be very careful with our intelligence. why are you trying to fool ghanaians i live 5 houses from you and please this is not what i expect a neighbour to be okay?

• Yaw Poku,USA 12 years ago

Your point, fool. Dumbass what can you do. The man is telling the truth. Go tell your NDC and Alfred Woyome to return the nation's money stolen.

• Joe 12 years ago

People did not believe me when I said, unless NDC go away, there is no way we can retrieve this Money from Wayo.Now, you see that their eyes are on $3.5m because they could not get their share.One day somebody will come and s ...

• Asuo-Amponsah(Oyiripebr3) 12 years ago

Is that nobody put words into the mouth of K.T Hammond,the exalted messenger of the erstwhile NPP administration,who moved from one radio stn to another offering contracdictory accounts as to what he did with the $3.5 m resid ...

• WAHALA 12 years ago

NOW LETS CHASE WYOME ISOFOTON AND WATERVILLE CASH. YOU CORRUPT JUDGEMENT DEBT INFESTED GOVT.

• mohammed 12 years ago

I am not surprise that NPP and NDC have embacked on robbing the good people of ghana. But what I am surprise is the fact that how could such honourable professors we have high hopes on blatantly said there was not going to be ...

• NON-ALIGNED 12 years ago

Is that what we overthrew Nkrumah for?
    Osagyefo saw all this coming..........
    Thank God he initiated most of our monumental projects before he left us.

Because the pace and level of CORRUPTION inflicted on our nation, by ...

• Kojo! 12 years ago

Ghana has been fetching her water with a basket for far too long.

• OKOFO 12 years ago

I would like to congratulate Kwaku Baako for his attempt to defend his pay masters of this dubious deal and the where about of the $3.5m. What Kwaaku Baako failed to tell us is how the money was transferred to BoG a/c in New ...

• Bernard 12 years ago

Thank Okofo. We recalled how some members of the outgoing NPP government removed and destroyed official documents in order to hide their secrets. Now, Bank of Ghana as a State Institution could not trace those yet, an ordin ...

We now know who is the 'Dean' and leader of the pack! And while we stay tuned, we should`nt we also brace ourselves to hear what "Mr. Documents" has to tell us about Justice Atubuga, the UDS and that fraudster Charles Gyimah, ...

• Bernard 12 years ago

Thank Okofo. We recalled how some members of the outgoing NPP government removed and destroyed official documents in order to hide their secrets. Now, Bank of Ghana as a State Institution could not trace those yet, an ordin ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 12 years ago

KT Hammond came to Ghana with a cheque which was paid to the Ministry of Finance and was meant to be handed over to BOG. This was all happening in Ghana. Then we fast forward to the United Kingdom and Ghana International Bank ...

• Kay 12 years ago

He used the word "cheque" because of the audience he was addressing,he later on specified that it was a draft which Kan Dapaah attested to.How can a draft in the name of Ghana get missing in the banking trail,probably only in ...

• Paul Amuna 12 years ago

Who at all are you? A spokesperson for the Kufuor government? a surrogate for the NPP or a representative of Kwaku Baako? How can you so falsely and dishonestly attempt to distort what is clearly written here and we can all r ...

• Yag 12 years ago

Kweku how come KT could not locate this popular only African bank ( Ghana International Bank} in London just near underground train station and had to carry this cheaque to Accra before this your childish banking took place ?

The story simply does not add up and rather than exonerate the people involved and the Kufuor government, this 'Crusading Guide' story rather raises more questions than provides answers and if anything, rather implicates the ...

About all this! You see, Baako and his people do not undertstand how the international banking system really works,so they believe they can 'bamboozle' us with with these trumped up("convoluted") explanations so this issue wi ...

Chase is no longer in existence,I can imagine the ease with which the Commission can authenticate the veracity of Baako`s "Ananse" story.
    Are we anywhere closer to finding out the truth? If an entity like SG, that is alive ...

• JAMES Y 12 years ago

As expected, the New Crusading Guide is doing what it does best as far as matters which NPP are suspiciously involved - throwing dust into Ghanaians' eyes.

• kate 12 years ago

As for the NDC whenever anyone criticises them for their propaganda and comes up with solid information they brand any critic as an NPP man.

Even when it is clear that the writers and speakers are PPP or PNC they jump to t ...

Even Baako Snr.,the much-talked about 'conscience' of the CPP, betrayed Nkrumah and abandoned the party`s socialist ideology(Nkrumaism)before he went to his grave.
    Trust me,I can identify a real CPP person when I meet them; ...

• Tijani 12 years ago

Christians belief that Jesus will come back to save people. I wish he comes back now, he might have the power to arrest these wicket people and punish them and to save Ghanaians. at the moment, we don't know who can stop the ...

• the truth 12 years ago

if this is true why did K T hammond not say this frm the word go or he is not aware about this so kweky baako how did you come by this or is it a ploy to twist the arm of Ghana or are you scared that you will be revealed so y ...

• johnson 12 years ago

kwaku baako is also fooling ghanaians.KT told us that,he brought the cheque to ghana.How come,was transfered to NY?
    Again,was Ursula owusu there?Wonderfully,that is why she can insult,Mills and wishing him dead.
    Oh npp.

• CHE ANDREW 12 years ago

Your article says there was inter-bank transfer but just read what K.T Hammond himself has disclosed.

"I, K.T. Hammond came to this country (Ghana) with a cheque for $3.5 million payable to the Government of Ghana which wa ...

• Vuvuzela 12 years ago

Guess you know Kweku Ananse Baako, the gong beater for NPP and Kufuor. Sometimes, I wonder if this guy loves Ghana.

Am I the only one who is confused or is someone trying to insult our intelligence!!! It seems to me the more people try to explain away what is clearly turning out to be a serious case of corruption at the heart of the Kufuor ...

• Kay 12 years ago

Stop the noise just tell your govt to arrest and prosecute those who were involved in the deal if they feel something has gone wrong.Stop disturbing our ears with those porous argument,just looking for equalization.

Don't be an ostrich burying your head in the sand. There are contradictions in the story and account of those responsible at the time of the sale. Let us deal with this issue. Tell me what is wrong with my comments and argume ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

What is so difficult to understand about this process? Is it a question of NDC apologetics trying to distract the people of Ghana from NDC sleaze -Insofoton, GYEEDA, Woyome, the sale of Cocoa, the purchase of aircraft and oth ...

I believe the issues you refer to have been the subject(s) of much debate and continue to be, and rightly so. I have argued on the forum about the GYEEDA case and have stated emphatically that all those found culpable must be ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

Paul,
    My posting was not meant as a counter to yours in particular. I happened to have read yours as the last one before I posted my own comment.

Like you, I do not belong to any party in Ghana. In fact it is precisely be ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

Correction "....registered to vote in Ghana"

I believe we are like-minded and simply interested in good governance and the right atmosphere to promote our country and businesses such as yours.

The issue of corruption is one which we must all be concerned about and s ...

• Vuvuzela 12 years ago

Then, you need to view this Drill Ship case from off a neutral fence as there's nothing normal as far as the case is concerned.

A money transaction should have a sole and single trail, not a gospel according to how differe ...

Are you telling us that you know for a fact that this bankers draft or cheque which was in Ghana and drifted from one Ministry to BOG and then to GIB in the UK is actually deposited in the Government of Ghana account in New Y ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

I know more about the case than you think and the most credible person so far has been KT Hammond, who as a lawyer apparently made copies of EVERY latter he signed as a junior minister.

All cheques that are issued to the ...

Since you claim to know more about the case, is it your testimony that a deposit of this amount resides in the said bank account and that sooner or later the sole Commissioner will confirm this to be the case?

Since you are so familiar with the case, perhaps you can help our further understanding by clarifying why the said "cheque" which had been issued in LONDON, then sent to GHANA, should be sent back to LONDON for GIB to TRANSFE ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

Sir,
    KT Hammond took copies of invoices and letters to Kwame Sefa Kai's programme, confirming that he indeed went through the process of paying off GNPC's indebtedness to Societe Generale, the lawyers and the people on the r ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 12 years ago

Kobena, I believe you and I also know your standing in this case. I respect your anonymity too.

Your contribution in this matter gives me the confidence that this will be unravelled and in the end KT and Kan-Dapaah will b ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

Thanks, Yaw,
    Have a great day!

Is or was Chase Manhattan Bank,which became JP Morgan Chase, acting as a mere correspondent bank,or a bank of record holding deposits for the govt of Ghana? And if, as you have stated here that, the GCB handles all GoG foreig ...

"Gbese"(credit Ayikoi Otoo) when he started giving us all these conficting accounts we heard from his own mouth? I hope he also kept meticulous records of why and how he retained his old law firm to handle this 'mundane' tran ...

• Kobena 12 years ago

Asuo,
    There are lawyers in the city of London who charge £500 per hour!! In this special case, they would have required the services of accountants who charge as much. KT was in the UK for six weeks trying to sort out this ...

"Spectacular feat" that KT Hammond pulled off which called for a presidential pat on the shoulder by fmr. Pres Kufour! This revelation came from KT Hammond himself,so don`t call me on the carpet for exaggerating. Frankly spea ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 12 years ago

The Sole Commissioner is the 'sole' person invested with the powers to investigate this and so he should. These issues should not be left to 'uninformed' partisans to deal with. Kan-Dapaah and K T Hammond have written to the ...

• D.K 12 years ago

this is an aza deal by the NPP.They premeditated the so called documents before the sale with the buyers to fool Ghanaians.

• The 12 years ago

It appears there are too many NDC illitrates commenting on this matter which otherwise is simple. An example is CHE ANDREW who is arguing that this article says 'inter-bank transfer whilst TK Hammond said he came to this coun ...

It seems to me it is rather you who are exposing your own ignorance and illiteracy here!!! There is a clear difference between a BANK TRANSFER which is a direct transaction and payment of a CHEQUE into an account!!! Anyhow, w ...

• Mensah 12 years ago

You claim to be in favour of fighting corruption and claim to be anti partisan in your response to "Kobby's" posting above, but all your writings here indicate you are a paid NDC propagandist spitting rubbish here.
    The gentl ...

Add to the discussion, not make silly uninformed and crass partisan statements. Clearly you have not been following the exchanges.

• Senior citizen Bs. Germany 12 years ago

So far the extent of exlanation given by the crusading guide regarding the sale of the drill ship 511 does not implicate the Government of the NPP in the this affair unless there would be any fishy deal in the disbursmennt o ...

• ahmed issah 12 years ago

Congrats Kwaku Baako. This is facts and figures. Keeo it up.

Oh what a pity!!! What is "great" about this contradictory piece which only serves to expose those involved in the drill ship transaction? You must be reading something different.

• kofi ayaba/axim 12 years ago

who does not know the stand of kweku ananse baako? he is just trying desperately to whitewash the stinking rot left behind by his pay masters,k4 and the npp. his share of the booty during the era of the elephant family emana ...

• Sorry4Ghana 12 years ago

Dirty and Corrupt NDC is only good at stupid lies and not ruling

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago

Bawumia is the only idiot from the north,does he think he will get a chance in "Y3N AKANFO" PARTY? He should go and ask the late ALIU MAHAMA THIEF KUFOUR'S VICE. When kufour was travelling allover the world, vice president AL ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago

Bawumia is the only idiot from the north,does he think he will get a chance in "Y3N AKANFO" PARTY? He should go and ask the late ALIU MAHAMA THIEF KUFOUR'S VICE. When kufour was travelling allover the world, vice president AL ...

• Kwesi 12 years ago

This article is real propaganda for NPP crooks. It is meant to throw dust in the eyes of Ghanaians. They stole the money.

• Asea Ho 12 years ago

Kweku Baako, Please, stop the uneccessary damage control. I do not care when or whether a tranfer was made into a Washington account. The problem is why a cheque for Ghana (irrespective of the value) was carried physically fr ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 12 years ago

Hey fellow Ghanaians! Beware of this Kwaku Baako publication. There is no truth in this write up. Indeed Kwaku Baako will do everything within his power to throw dust in the public's eyes with this sort of information in orde ...

• Sokumle 12 years ago

This is gimmick bank transfers which is hard to reconcile. By the way where is the evidence on this transaction but instead a grave pine? I don't believe Kweku Baako as he can be funky for some pocket change.

• Benjamin 12 years ago

am base in France, plz Ghanaians don't let our country tune like Nigeria, what Nigerian are seeing now is not good. l don't want that should happen in Ghana. we have to learn very well than we can be happy to do our country b ...

• qwamena 12 years ago

hmmmm we are yet to see the worst of kuffour's govenment edey cum small small

• G.K. Berko 12 years ago

Can anyone educate us how Kweku Baako and Bawumia, both sons of former Ministers of Kwame Nkrumah's CPP Government now find solace in the NPP? Is it the case of "the Enemy of my enemy is my friend", since the arch-rival of t ...

Wherever their bread is buttered! This may sound harsh,but that is the gosple truth! Look,Kweku Baako has become a 'hatchetman' for the NPP for the money,purte and simple.
    In the case of Bawumiah,I`ll urge you to travel to W ...

• Kwasia Addo Dankwa 12 years ago

I think the guys who participated in the DRILLSHIP deal should be arrested immediately and investigated.....People like Kt Hammond , Ken Dapaah , Nana Akufool Addo ...shud be brought to book and be made to answer to the Ghana ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 12 years ago

Ghana is indeed a sick country today that I feel ashamed to mention these days I am a Ghanaian, a country where criminally corrupt officials are awarded and given red carpets.

Today Ghana is embarrassingly compared to next ...

• Paa Kodwo 12 years ago

WAS NPP A CRIMINAL ORGANISATION.

WERE THEY IN SERVICE FOR THE VERY PEOPLE WHO ELECTED THEM TO POWER AND TO GOVERN THE NATION.

ONE CAN NOW UNDERSTAND, WHY THEY WERE STILL BENT TO HAVE THE POWER AGAIN AND TO CONTINUE TH ...

• The police cannt be trusted 12 years ago

Excellent. Job well done New Crusading....