Ghana backs deferment of Kenyatta, Ruto trial

Read Comments Comments (60)

• LOVE 10 years ago

The crime they have been accused of took place long before they became President and Vice President. They were aware they will face trial hence they contested for positions they thought will be difficult for them to face tria ...

• nonsense 10 years ago

has ICC ever tried any white donkey before? they only try blacks,why this racial setup thing?

• Kay 10 years ago

Have you ever heard of any European or any civilized leader ordering his followers to kill his opponents like rats the way we do it in Africa?The ICC is there to protect ordinary Africans,till our leaders start behaving respo ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

George Bush and his father slaughtered innocent HUMAN BEINGS, not beasts, in Iraq (even young couples celebrating their holy matrimony) but they are walking free.Why? Is it because they have white skin?

• GTV-TV3 on WWW.OFMTV.COM 10 years ago

GHANA NEWS LIVE ON TV3, UTV Ghana, Metro TV, TV AFRICA, JOY NEWS, GTV, ADOM TV, Sports TV AND
    OVER 7500 TV - RADIO CHANNELS FREE ONLINE AT WWW.OFMTV.COM

• NEMESIS, UK 10 years ago

The ICC should FOCUS their searchlight on the Evil Asshanthies BARBARISM culture of burying innocent people alive with their death chiefs. That evil culture is nothing than 'man inhumanity to man' and the whole world looked ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Kay, your darlings in the west are doing the same everyday but their propaganda instrument of the BBC and CNN become the gospel truth in your ears in the face all the death in Irak, Afghanista and the over two millions of bl ...

• CNN 10 years ago

Check your facts. The racist comments about white donkey is tasteless. They have tried many whites but as soon as an African is tried the race rantings start.

• Yaw Poku,USA 10 years ago

Some criminally, corrupt, tribalistic, and mentally derange African leaders are afraid of the atrocities that they have comitted or are under their closets and are therefore trying to defend the indefensible. The world body ...

Committed

• e akuteye 10 years ago

Poor criminals get punishment for their crime but the rich go free all who attended the meeting are just like the kanyata wicked kilers.

• Kwabena Aboagye 10 years ago

These people MUST face trial now.God created all human beings the same.The atrocities committed on innocent Kenyans are unpardonable.They are not better than those who suffered from their atrocities.
    If they claim innocence, ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

I hope Yaw you will agree with me that the ICC was not established to target only African leaders.Why is it that Tony Blair,George Bush,Dick Cheyney and other western political figures who have committed more serious crimes t ...

• e akuteye 10 years ago

I against the attacks on lrag, Libya,etc . but look at ivery coast Liberia serra leon.is that ok.lesson.

K Ohemeng, my brother know that war crime far different from the atrocities committed these African leaders just for the sake of power. The case in Kenya was an overzealous political leader with money using his influence to ...

• Sicura 10 years ago

So war crimes are OK?

• Asuo-Amponsah(Oyiripebr3) 10 years ago

Please go and consult your advanced learner`s dictionary and come back with a more plausible rationalization!
    Massa,this lidicurous expalantion/argument you are putting forward is so far off the mark. Remember 'gunboat diplo ...

• PAP ZULU 10 years ago

bro i support you on this. they are trying charles taylor because the said he supported rebels in sierra leone. but today all these white humans are supporting rebels all over africa and the middle east( libya and syria for t ...

• nii 10 years ago

There are western monsters who have killed millions of people and are walking free.

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

Very true.If they cannot try western butchers for deaths of thousands of innocent Iraqis they should leave Mr Kenyatta alone.Western hypocrisy at its best.

• Mike - Tema 10 years ago

If the ICC have the power, and they think they are acting fairly, they should invite George Bush and Tony Blair, to answerfor thereasonfor the Iraqi war, They made the worls to believe Saddam Hussein was eveil and had weapons ...

• Tijani 10 years ago

USA did not sign the ICC treaty for their leaders to be tried for war crimes, so the ICC cannot drug Bush and Blair to court for trials of war crimes. the ICC will continue to try our leaders for crimes, as long as they maint ...

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

If American leaders can commit war crimes and get away with them just because they have not joined the ICC makes the stand taken by African leaders right.America however always joins its western allies in the security counci ...

• Sicura 10 years ago

Have Great Britain, France and other EU members not signed the treaty? Who killed Khadafi? Who supported the rebellion in Ivory Coast? Who supported Idi Amin Dada to overthrow Milton Obote? Who supported Mobutu? Who orchestra ...

• OBTT 10 years ago

YES. AFRICA MUST UNITE TO FIGHT THIS OPPRESSION. LOOK AT WHAT IS HAPPENING IN SYRIA. MILLIONS OF PEOPLE ARE LOOSING THEIR LIVES INCLUDING INNOCENT CHILDREN. WHAT HAS ICC DONE ABOUT THAT? AFRICA IS ALWAYS THE EASY TARGET.

They cannot get the Syria President now for trial else they will do that, okay.

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

The ICC does not target African leaders but rather goes after people in high positions and who use these positions to kill, torture, maim and foment inter-tribal conflcts. So long as the AU does not proscribe and prosecute th ...

• PAP ZULU 10 years ago

they should go after those who sanction the killing of people the disagree with in idealogies. they are no better humans than the rest of us

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

If the ICC can show one example of a western leader who has been indicted by it for committing war crimes I will disagree with the stand taken by African leaders against it.Is the ICC telling the world that George Bush,Tony B ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

These Africans with bloated ego created by the white man are the gate keepers of this empty white supremacy.
    There won't be no white supremacy on this earth if African can stop nodding their head for it. But the gate keepers ...

• PAP ZULU 10 years ago

brother i pray soooo. it should not be an empty threat. we dont need this ICC africans have always solved our own problems so why ICC.on the contrary, when there is any conflict in africa that demands the sacrifice of others, ...

• nana k 10 years ago

Africa and the leaders of the continent must no that the ICC is a criminal organization which was created by criminal colonial regimes to use it as a tool to suppress African leaders and the people of Africa. If the ICC beli ...

• JOEMOORE 10 years ago

i agree with you

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Yes, let's start with the UN, the commonwealth, the francophone useless summits and all other useless cohabitation bull craps.We do not need the West, they need us the most.
    Where's the damn wealth we have in common with com ...

• nana k 10 years ago

Tony Blair is not from USA

• POPCULTUREZ 10 years ago

Great Article Thanks!
    Want more Pop Culture? Log onto WWW.POPCULTUREZ.COM!

• Yankeyyankey 10 years ago

Stupid decision on part of the Ghana government. Are we backing Kenya or Kenyatta? Why didn't we back Gaddafi and allowed him to be toppled shamelessly. We need I CC because of our uncouth actions toward our own citizenry. Al ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

Whatabout leaders like G.W. Busch,Tony Blair & Co. who FABRICATED STORIES to ATTACK Iraq with the AFTERMATH STILL with us ???
    Some African leaders DID WRONG but what about the European& American leaders who did a SIMILAR thi ...

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

Kenyata and Ruto must stand trial to defend themselves. In the court of law anyone is innocent until proven otherwise. For far too long the so-called useless African leaders have been getting away from killing their own citiz ...

• concern ghanian 10 years ago

THEY ARE NOT TAGETING AFRICA LEADERS BUT, AFRICAN LEADERS ARE THE MOST WICKED, POWER HUNGRY, INHUMAN BEHAVIOR, GREEDY, THEIVES, AND READY TO DO EVERYTHING TO GAIN POWER OR RETAIN POWER. KENYATA KILLED THOUSANDS TO COME TO POW ...

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• Uhuru 10 years ago

Why won't African leaders back their colleagues because birds of the same feathers flock together. Their time is up and just as the Nazis were tried so shall it be. Shameless leaders

• obroni 10 years ago

As long as major countries who think they can rule the world (US, Russia and China) are not part of ICC why should African countries be part. Why doesn't the AU starts it own African Criminal Court and stops sending suspects ...

• ERIC 10 years ago

AFRICA ELDERS MUST FACE THEIR CRIMES RESPECTIVELY, COS I DON'T SEE WHY THEY ARE ALWAYS WANT TO SHARE BLOOD FOR POWER,ICC MUST DEAL WITH ANY ONE WHO SHARE BLOOD BEFORE COMING TO POWER, NO MATTER WHAT,PRESIDENT OR NOT, U MUST ...

• Kofi Ntow 10 years ago

I am really amazed that Ghana should tow the line of others regarding the trial of the Kenyan leaders at the ICC. Are we so bankrupt as a nation not to realize that the Kenyan leaders are using the AU to escape justice? Didn' ...

peak for our country! The AU, as a group,that sponsored Kofi Annan`s mission into Kenya has now spoken;let him come out disassociate himself from this wise and progressive stand!

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

If ghana does not have the stomach to try this murderer, it should invite the ICC to investigate the killings that occurred during the AFRC/PNDC regime..

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Once again our African leaders have shown how stupid they are. Why did they sign to join ICC and now turn around to back those criminals who lead the killings of thousands of Kenyans. If they've got nothing to hide, let them ...

• Fii 10 years ago

You think the ICC will bow out easily because these criminal African leaders now parading themselves in suits have spoken? ICC should line them all one after the other and give it to them like it happened to Charles Taylor. O ...

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Yes, the usual rub my back and I will rub yours, today its Uhuru turn next it will be you so why don't you stand by me so that I shall stand by you when need be. I club of power drunk self-centered individuals who will go to ...

Some of our leaders accepted 'bribes' in the form of food aid and other forms of ridiculous grants when this whole process begun,thinking it could rope in only "rogues" like Omar Bashir,Gadaffi,Gabgo and Sadaam Hussein. Now w ...

• Ghana 10 years ago

Mo Ibrahim Foundation declined to give its annual good governance award — and $5 million prize — to any former African leader, saying none had earned it.

• kofi mensah 10 years ago

I think AU an dthe govet of Ghana should listen. Is it not false that the ICC is targeting Africans? Listen to Desmond Tutu. Look Kofi Anan said the case went to the ICC because the Kenyan government refused to take action to ...

• Wulomei 10 years ago

The criminal Kenyatta staged the Westgate Mall terror attack to win sympathy and avoid going to the Hague. So far he hasn't produced a single picture of either the dead or captured terrorists. The wicked, evil bastard had no ...

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

The Luo tribe are scum,very proud and they fight over even minor things and burn their own city if things don't work out for them.Not a single Luo businessman is among the elite businessmen of kenya.Its a tribe that only beli ...

• Dogonyaro 10 years ago

Mr Agyeman what is your tribe.Stop tribal bating and gross generalization .There are good and bad Luos just as there are good and bad Kikuyus .Stop demonizing

• Asterix 10 years ago

Why should the AU advocate for deferment? If they believe that these guys are innocent, then they should rather encourage them to go and prove their innocence.
    These idiots after slaughtering thousands of Kenyans, teamed up ...

• OTCHERE DARKO 10 years ago

"Ghana has backed the position of the African Union (AU) in requesting the International Criminal Court (ICC) to defer the trial of Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto."
    .............................. ...

To submit himself to the ICC brfore you'dump' on Kenyatta and his VP!
    I cannot understand why some Africans feel we should subject our leaders to international public ridicule simply to gain favour with countries that feel t ...

• xhlemiso 10 years ago

Kenyatta is a murderous rascal who cared not a jot for the suffering he caused to poor Kenyans who disagreed with him in his quest to become President. This man is one of the most arrogant, heinous, psychopathic
    criminals i ...