Health Ministry imports US$6 million fake condoms

Read Comments Comments (88)

• LYDIA 10 years ago

THIS SO CALLED NEW NDC IS VERY EVIL AND A NATIONAL DISASTER INDEED.....THEY ARE ALL SO BUSY CREATING, LOOTING AND SHARING AND DESTROYING GHANA VERY VERY FAST......WHY WHY WHY....NO WONDER THEY ALL HATED JJ RAWLING AND MARTIN ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• J. J. LAWRENCE 10 years ago

BOTH MILLS AND MAHAMA NDC GOVERNMENTS HAVE RAISED THE COUNTRY TO GROUND ZERO. IT ALL STARTED FROM THE CHIEF IDIOT J.J. RAWLINGS

• Trojan 10 years ago

Our imposed president John Mahama, is most corrupt. He is the problem of the economic mess. Mahama cannot prosecute any corrupt public official as he himself is a culprit

• PENSIONER 10 years ago

SSNIT HAS FAILED TO PAY OVER 90% OF WORKERS WHO WENT ON RETIREMENT FROM MID 2012 UP TILL NOW THEIR PENSIONS. REASONS - NO CASH

• Naa Adoley 10 years ago

I believe there is a cabal at the ministry of health that's involved in this sham! Sherry Ayittey is clueless and must go!

• Joe 10 years ago

Old Soldier did you read the article? I don't think so.The writer is talking about fake drugs and not your like or dislike for an individual(s). There is a platform for issues like that.

• Medic 10 years ago

Dear Hon. Minister of Health, Minister of Finance, Minister of Information and Members of Parliament of Ghana:

I am so concern about the absence of comprehensive health Ambulances and trained Paramedics in Ghana. We had p ...

• Roy Rogers 10 years ago

What kind of human beings are we? Can't we use the US$6 million just to start a condom producing factory in this country? Tweeaa!!!They call themselves ministers; ministers indeed.

• Star 10 years ago

Please be strong and protect us from these sub-standard drugs!

• MUSSAH 10 years ago

WHO AND WHO SHOULD PROTECT YOU? $6m FOR CONDOMS? IBE LIKE SAY GH CORRUPT PASS NAIJA. FOOLS U HAVE TO VOTE WISELY...PERIOD.

• Kwaku 10 years ago

OGA IBI TRUE GH CORRUPT PASS YOU BUT WE GET MORE CREDIBLE PEOPLE IN GH TO MONITOR UR CROOKS,NAIJA NO GET ANY CREDIBLE PERSON.NA DE REASON WHY BOKO HARAM & 419 DE RULE IN UR COUNTRY.

• CONSTABLE LUKAS 10 years ago

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT THE MP NAPO HAS MENTIONED IN HIS ARTICLE THAT THE TECHNOCRATS AND HIGH GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS ARE THE DESTROYERS OF THE ECONOMY.ALL GHANAIANS MUST STOP POLITICS AND TACKLE THE NATION WRECKERS FROM THEIR OFF ...

• KOJO 10 years ago

WE ALWAYS BLAME OUR LEADERS AND POLITICIANS FOR OUR WOES BUT I KEPT TELLING PEOPLE THAT THE REAL PROBLEM
    LIES WITH CIVIL SOCIETY AT LARGE.
    GRADUALLY THINGS WILL BECOME CLEAR SO WE SEE THE NATION WRECKERS.
    POLITICIANS ARE ...

• Chaskele 10 years ago

LOOK WE ARE WALKING AROUND BLINDED BY POLITICS WHILE THE REAL NATION WRECKERS ARE HAVING A FIELD DAY. THE DIRECTORS AND TECHNOCRATS ARE DESTROYING THE COUNTRY

• kwame 10 years ago

I THOUGHT THE FDA IS PART OF MOH.THE MOH HAS LOST GRIP OF ITS AGENCIES LIKE THE FDA AND NHIA.THIS GUY IS TALKING LIKE HE WAS NOT EMPLOYED BY MOH.SACK HIM.

• Ben 10 years ago

This guy may be an employee of the government but he has more balls than your pathetic coward self!

• Blay Ackah Miezah 10 years ago

Either way somebody from the ministry, the minister herself or some other government officials are benefitting from the rot on the health front. Ghana is doomed under Mahama and the NDC.

• holy smoke 10 years ago

Sack him for speaking the truth? God have mercy on you

• Dr Hannibal Lecter 10 years ago

you are a pathetic fool. the FDA is an autonomous institution established by law. it merely takes policy directions from the MOH but DOES NOT take instructions from MOH on how to conduct its affairs.

• KEN 10 years ago

THERE IS ONLY ONE WORD TO DESCRIBE YOU " IDIOT "

• Ben 10 years ago

Most of these people make their moeny by suplying fake drugs and fly outside the country for medical treatments, leaving those who cannot afford treatment overseas to their fate.

• waters 10 years ago

By their actions a lot of people will impregnate their wifes,and girlfriends,as a result of condom failure.if this is true,then,i think some people should be asked to vacate their post and be prosecuted ,as well.instead of co ...

• Nyansafo 10 years ago

Is the FDA saying that because at one time or another, the MOH might have had some issues, they have no business looking into what they the FDA are doing? This is the most childish argument I ever heard in my life. Dissolve t ...

I don't think you know anything. You are the kindergarten kid not the FDA. In advance countries the FDA is an authority because they take the health of their citizens seriously

• Can't Happen Here 10 years ago

AM IN THE USA. AND THE FDA IS A SICK JOKE POSING AS THE SAVIOR AS THEY PROMOTE THE GENETICALLY MODIFIED ORGANISMS AND SHUT DOWN THE SMALL GUY GROWING ORGANIC FOODS. THEY LOVE THE VACCINES THAT GIVE PEOPLE CANCER AND
    STERILIZ ...

• Konoreyawa 10 years ago

Interesting if we buy British stuff we would ensure quality but Indian lots they just can't be trusted.

• Chaskele 10 years ago

INDIANS ARE BY NATURE SCAMMERS, THEY ARE NEVER STRAIGHT.

• KOJO 10 years ago

O GOD HAVE MERCY, O GOD HAVE MERCY, O GOD HAVE MERCY ON GHANA AND LET REASON AND GOOD WILL THE FDA HAS FOR THE COUNTRY PREVAIL.

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

A man goes into a drug store at Butumajabo and asks the cashier for some condoms. The cashier asks, "What size?"

The man replies, "Size? I didn't know they came in sizes."

"Yes, they do," she says, "What size do you wan ...

• shamu 10 years ago

stop your stupid jokes

• gghanaba 10 years ago

I wish Prince will comment on any important issues. i read his comments any time i see him comment. You might say he is foolish but one thing is for sure! it takes a "wise mind" to understand his poems. You need to wise up or ...

Mr Shamu is out shopping and discovers a new brand of Olympic condoms. Clearly impressed, he buys a pack. Upon getting home he announces to his wife the purchase he just made.

"Olympic condoms?" she asks, "What makes them ...

• Minninkin Piss 10 years ago

This is one brave Ghanaian who has the interest of the public and his country at heart, and all thumbs should be up for him. Personally, I take my heart for you, Mr. Asante Boateng. All the corrupt Ghanaian officials should l ...

• AZURE 10 years ago

THIS GUY HAS NO ETHICS.HE IS USING HIS EMOTIONS. IS HE A MOH STAFF?. HE MUST GO WHETHER TRAINED IN BRADFORD OR OXFORD
    HE DOES NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT INVESTIGATION IS. SAD

I have you from MoH? Is about time Ghanaians stand up against these corrupt Civil servants and politicians

• jo 10 years ago

a whole ministry to regulate things are rather supporting evil.does it mean africans don't like their fella?the selfishness is becoming too much.

• CHARLES KOFI,GHANA. 10 years ago

WHY ARE GHANAIANS SITTING AND WATCHING PEOLPE IN GOVT.FORCING CORRUPTION WITH IMPUNITY DOWN THEIR THROATS.INCREASE IN PETROLEUM,WATER,ELECTRICITY PRICES AND VIRTUALLY EVERYTHING WITHOUT REGARD FOR THE PAIN AND SUFFERING OF GH ...

• shayie 10 years ago

sherry really getting sexy

• akonfem mahama,booool 10 years ago

OH GHANA PAA NIE,AZAA MAHAMA ON POWER WE HAVE TO EXPEXT CORRUPT EVERY WHERE,PERIOP

• kow Amissah 10 years ago

What is happening is as a result of having a wrong politician or person as minister of health. Mr President pse crack your whip and get people to do the ridgt thing. Our health is more important than votes. We have to be aliv ...

• James 10 years ago

For goodness sake let's allow our institutions to work. The MOH committee may well be at the behest of clandestine busines interests . FDA should not take part in the MOH investigation

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

James, I support fully your suggeestion. I am also of the opinion that no official of the FDA should
    appear at this bogus commitee at all.
    Slowly we are moving away from democratic republic to a banana republic. What is hap ...

• kuluulu 10 years ago

No wonder Ghanaians are dying these days with stroke, heart diseases and other diseases which aren't known to our older people. Gov't itself importing fake medicine, what else? Everyone growing fat on the poor and innocent pu ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

What mandate does the MoH have to want to review the work of the FDA? This is corruption at the highest level. It is already well-known that medical practitioners and pharmacists are rewarded by pharmaceutical companies for p ...

• aloko 10 years ago

This Idiots are messing the country up?6 m on condoms?are you kidding me?they could have even send medical team to check and make sure its of premium quality before they make payment...the leaders are too corrupt

• AWOH 10 years ago

this fake drugs importation has been going on for along time.it is ashameTHE GOOD LORD WILL DEAL WITH YOU LOT

• Proud Pepeman. 10 years ago

WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO THE MOH PERSONNEL WHO IMPORTED THE FAKE CONDOMS AND PSYCHIATRIC MEDICINES? THIS IS THE PROBLEM. NO ONE GETS PUNISHED. THE MOH PERSONNEL HAVE MADE THEIR PERCENTAGES AND BUILT BIG HOUSES AND BOUGHT THEIR BI ...

• KEN 10 years ago

RAWLINGS WOULD HAVE PUT THEM TO THE WALL , THERE IS NO PUNISHMENT FOR THIEVES IN GOVERMENT.

• MARC, TAMALE 10 years ago

Good work FDA. Keep it up!!!!!!!!

• KWESI 10 years ago

HELLO ARE YOU HAVING HEADACHES AND SLEEPLESS NIGHT ON HOW TO FEEL YOUR USA VISA APPOINTMENT FORMS AND GET YOUR VISA? IF UR ANSWER IS YES THEN CONTACT US BECAUSE WE ARE THE EXPERTS IN DOING THAT. WE CAN ALSO HELP U GET OTHER D ...

How much is our daily bread cost us per day?,do we get anything from the governmet than this?.Black man oh!GOD.

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

WHY is it that NOBODY IS EVER PUNISHED with all the revelations and ROT allover ???Why give "petty thieves" 30yr. sentences for stealing FOOD TO EAT when white-collar THIEVES are driving around in 4x4s ??????????

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• KW 10 years ago

Why is the woman in the picture not mentioned even onc in this article

• commissioner 10 years ago

EVERY BODY DEY CHOP.THE SYSTEM IS ROTTEN TO THE CORE. IF YOU GO TO 37 MILITARY HOSPITAL THEY WILL GIVE YOU A PRESCRIPTION DIRECTED TO A PARTICULAR PRIVATE LABORATORY G.2 WHEN THE SAME LAB ANALYSIS CAN BE DONE AT THE MILITARY ...

• Busia-Rawlings 10 years ago

There must be a coup in Ghana. President Mahama is at sea.

The Attorney General is messing up

Our moneys are being squandered

The govt is mediocre. The people appear gagged. Parliament is impotent

There is nonsens ...

• fredsaid 10 years ago

COUP MAY NOT BE ANSWER BUT IT MUST HAPPEN BECAUSE THE PRESIDENT, PARLIAMENTARIANS, HEADS OF GOVERNMENT MINISTRIES BY THEIR BEHAVIOUR OF INDIFFERENCE TO THE PLIGHT OF CITIZENS VERSUS THEIR FILTHY GREED, WOULD HAVE HERALDED AND ...

• Busia-Rawlings 10 years ago

Fredsaid, Your method has serious constitutional implications. Your method seeks to overthrow the constitution, which may not be acceptable locally and internationally. My method restores the constitution but at the same time ...

• fredsaid 10 years ago

Busia-Rawlings, I see your point but my method rightly takes out the constitution because the constitution has become 'fetish'. It is of no use to Ghanaians because we do not presently rule by constitutional laws; we don't ev ...

• Amma 10 years ago

As soon as the president, NDC and government departmental heads are caught with their pants down committing crimes against the people of Ghana the first thing they do is to set up a committee to waste everybody's time instea ...

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD... 10 years ago

PLEASE,SOMEBODY TELL ME THIS IS NOT TRUE,eh

• BRAVEBOY 10 years ago

I thought the MOH would rather invest such money into the local production of condoms. How hard would it take to create a condom factory in Ghana.

• DUKE 10 years ago

This is how people like Ablakwa, boy minister and his looting brigade make their money; for a cut of 15% bribe they will even betray Ghana by fighting the corner of foreign companies (isotofon) to dupe us;

These guys have ...

• ALI 10 years ago

I HOPE THE DIRECTOR OF FDA WOULD KEEP THIS UP. WHY WAS THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH'S DEBACLE NOT REPORTED UNTIL NOW. WHAT IS HURTING GHANA THE MOST IS THIS "BRING HIM DOWN SYNDROME"

• Benny 10 years ago

Why dont Ghana with aboundant and clever University Science and technology focused on putting their head in research work to produce this rubber product. After all we have rubber if not in Ghana, Liberia where there is abound ...

• GEOFFREY 10 years ago

MAY GOD GIVE U THE COURAGE TO CONTINUE THE GOOD WORKS U ARE DOING MR ASANTE BOATENG. AS FOR THOSE WHO KNOW THE RIGHT THING BUT REFUSES TO DO IT THEIR CONSCIOUS WILL KILL THEM FASTER THAN THE FAKE DRUGS THEY DUMP ON INNOCENT P ...

• E quarcoo 10 years ago

THE FDA OFFICIALS AT THE PORTS SHOULD ALSO BE INVESTIGATED

• Kwame Ghana 10 years ago

FDA do not allow the MOH to bully you. Those guys at the ministry are the evil dwarfs, crooked and choping all the countries resources whilst the politicians are being blamed. God will one day open our eyes and we will see wh ...

• Mahama Ayariga 10 years ago

Yes, everyone thought to rise to power is to kill your predecessor, damage opponent's personality and advertise yourself with e de bee k3k3 in campaigns! Ghana is on the way to absolute destruction as we can all see. We will ...

• DUKE 10 years ago

Because they have now mastered the art of stealing elections with ballot stuffing, over voting, unsigned polling results, non biometric voting, voting because you are known locally, not because you follow the rules laid down ...

• ISOFOTON 10 years ago

SO CONDOMS THAT YOU HAVE PUT TAX ON, YOU DID NOT IMPORT PROPER ONES FOR OUR ENJOYMENT?. HMMMMM NDC-MAHAMA SYNDICATE OF LOOTERS.

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

My man do your job and rest assured we are all behind you.Otherwise Ghana will also become like Nigeria soon with fake and false drugs dragging people's lives to the grave. What is the motive behind the Committee that has bee ...

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

Mr. Boateng!! Are you telling us that even the condoms we use in Ghana are fake and we are eventually not safe by using them ?? What a Ghana we live in and these are the very people who are supposed to protect us. Instead of ...

• lydia usa 10 years ago

maintian korle bu surgical section at
    the hospital is close.hospitals in
    Ghana is going down

• David 10 years ago

MOH BRINGS IN FAKE CONDOMS AND NOW WANT TO BLOCK FDA FROM DOING THEIR WORK TO BLOCK IMPORTERS FROM BRINGING IN FAKE DRUGS. WHAT IS GOING ON AT MOH AND WHY IS MOH PROTECTING TOBINCO. COMMITTEE TO INVESTIGATE WHAT ? SO THAT IN ...

• mr big stuff 10 years ago

The should fired her on the spot. idiot!

• SULE 10 years ago

Post market surveillance huh? It's extremely worrying the fact that, the drugs, condoms etc, etc, can come in through the ports, without the express knowledge of the FDA. The man said "this process involves manufacturing site ...

• Konkord 10 years ago

Is the woman at MOH crazy. Her husband should use the fake condom and when she gets infected she should use the fake drugs then she will get sense. FDA do your work and forget the strange interference and actions of MOH

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

Are Ghanaians using words properly these days. In fact children are spending more time (hours)in school than before and yet turn out to be bad users of words. Fake is different from sud-standard. Everybody knows that condoms ...

• KRETZ - D 10 years ago

Mama is failing because all the NDC guys (both new and old officials) he is leading the country with, are incompetent, corrupt and greedy. They are still using their old style of leadership.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

There is room to probe the procurement procedures of the MoH at the sources of purchases.

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

Your Actions Are Responsible For Your Sins And Virtues:-there are people in this country who are possessed by the devil-they will do anything for money.Graft and thievery have become the order of the day and the perpetrators ...

A man is out shopping and discovers a new brand of Olympic condoms. Clearly impressed, he buys a pack. Upon getting home he announces to his wife the purchase he just made.

"Olympic condoms?" she asks, "What makes them so ...

• Che 10 years ago

Why won't this happen, when you this useless woman heading such an important and crucial ministry? This woman has nothing to offer even her own self. Mr. Boateng, we know what you are doing just put your job on the line, but, ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

Is this something we should waste our time on. The guy making the allegation never produce one single paper trail to back his claims. This country... hm. No wonder we can't go forward

• joseph 10 years ago

It is known that about 40% of medicines in Africa are fake. The FDA must be supported to help patients.

• Lady 10 years ago

So guys be carefull all the condoms in Ghana are fake.