2014 Budget: Mahama, Veep and appointees to take 10% pay cut

Read Comments Comments (183)

• Agbezome 12 years ago

This is not where u address the issue!! This is just to deceive ignorant people!! There are a lot of mess in the system! Clear them and stop using this toddler's story to deceive illiterates!!!

• facts 12 years ago

Cut should have been 20% and it must not be just for demonstration exercise. It should also affect highly earning personels in the country before we think of the junior staffers.

• NANA 12 years ago

10% of Mahama's salary is just GH¢1200,meaning he will still have Gh¢10800 left plus all the freebies.

• ZAMIA, LONDON 12 years ago

ALL WHAT WE WANT FROM YOU GUYS IS TO PUT AN END TO THE LOOT AND SHARE SYNDROME.
    GHANA CAN ONLY MOVE FORWARD WHEN OUR LEADERS STOP BEING SELFISH AND BE SELFLESS. GHANA FIRST BEFORE ANY POLITICAL PARTY.

• NEMESIS, UK 12 years ago

HURRAY! HURRAY!! HURRAY!!! NIGERIA BECAME THE FIRST AFRICAN COUNTRY TO QUALIFY FOR BRAZIL 2014. ALL JEALOUS GHANAIANS HATERS CAN GO BURN IN THE SEA.

WE WON AFCON 2013 AND U17 SOCCER WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP. BY THE GRACE OF GOD, ...

• Agyeman 12 years ago

Take that braging Nigerian trash back to ajegunle and makoko.Nigerians are scum and 419 masters.

• OLD SOLDIER 12 years ago

AUTHOR:... HON. MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU...
    The fight against corruption, abuse of power and impunity must be proactive and not reactive. We do not need to wait to be charged with poor leadership in fighting it before reacting in ...

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

pepeni the only good and honorable thing you can do is to resign so the peace and unity of the nation can be rebuilt on new fair and proper foundations. Any thing else will bring disaster and pain mainly to your own , learn f ...

• Krikri,, 12 years ago

The solution to the problem is not shedding off 10% of UNDESERVED SALARY. Article 71 office holders thing was meant for the white British Colonial Exploiters. So if we are no longer under colonial rule but FREE AND INDEPENDEN ...

• Akwasi 12 years ago

Syndrome, can you pls give some tutorials on "Article 71?"

• Krikri,, 12 years ago

Are u ok?

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 12 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.

WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More. Watch You ...

• EKOW 12 years ago

WELL DONE.....MPS NEXT

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 12 years ago

THIS IS LIKE ASKING THE MATRON AT GH NATIONAL COLLEGE TO EAT LESS, AND LOSE WEIGHT...MUAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAA
    ALL THE SOCHEE/GB333 FOOD GO FINISH. THEY SELL THEM AND TAKE SOME HOME.

• KELEVE KORMI 12 years ago

just listen to them. 10% cut!!! what does this amounts to? a paltry 1200. what about over ghc 50,000 automatic allowances + 4 ghana must go full loads of money to your office every 4 weeks? nonsense of declaration

• MAHAMA GET GONO 12 years ago

MAHAMA FOOLISH MAN.. GONO MAN.. GO AND DECIEVE THOSE ILLITERATE IN VOLTA REGION AND SOME PART OF NORTHERN REGION.. NOT THE AKANS AND THE GAS. WE ARE EDUCATED AND WANNA EYES OPEN.. FOOLISH MAN.. GONO PRESIDENT

• Kantanka. HH 12 years ago

Stop the Akonfem socialism which flows the buck in dark tunnel instead of forgoing 10% of your real income. That is african scheming patriotism. We are aware

• OYOKOBA 12 years ago

10% cut doesn't scratch it, they should also give up a lot of their freebies and privileges such as having garden boys, free housing and accommodation, chauffeurs and free gasoline. Why should even deputy ministers have drive ...

• KANIA 12 years ago

PREZ. MAHAMA DOESN'T NOW HIS LEFT FROM RIGHT. BOGUS PRESIDENT INDEED.

• OBAA YAA 12 years ago

Politicians always think we the people are so stupid. This is just another ploy by the President to put dust on ours eyes and stamp us on back. 10 percent pay cut of you and your vice WILL NOT help or shape this ailing econom ...

• Tibaa 12 years ago

This is an insult to all Ghanaians. Such gimmicks demonstrate Mahama & Co are out of touch with the deepest concerns. Very sad!!!

• hermit 12 years ago

After milking the nation dry and depleting it's coffers the Mahama govt has offered a rescue. THIS WHOLE IDEA IS RETARDED! Just stop corruption for 3 months and you'll be amazed how much money will be recovered. Enforce all t ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 12 years ago

ANYONE WHO BELIEVES THIS FOOLISHNESS IS EQUALLY OR JUST AS DUMB AS THESE 2 STOOGES. THIS PICTURE SHOULD BE TURNED INTO A WANTED SIGN. THESE 2 ARE CLUELESS AND ARE DROPPING GH LIKE A PIECE OF TRASH.

• Anonymous Coward 12 years ago

10% voluntary pay cut is not automatic. They think Ghanaians are fools. Idiots in government.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 12 years ago

Oh, how I wish Kufuor had done likewise during his eight years spree of property grabbing economy la...

The last time I saw him, he is peeved out of his mind and still demanding a bounty end of service ex-gratia.

• OBAA YAA 12 years ago

You little mind with no memories …. Have you soon forgotten how Rawlings, the parasite lives on Ghanaians for over twenty years and want to like to live on our expense by demanding ex-gratia for messing up the country with ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 12 years ago

I don't remember Rawlings being pissed over the postponement of his ex-gratia by Atta Mills. But, we all heard the ma-ma-ma cry of Kufuor all over the airwaves.

• OBAA YAA 12 years ago

Well, Rawlings was not pissed over his ex-gratia because like parasite, he was benefiting from all the freebies awarded to him. Free housing, free fleet of cars and free food. However, he still find to time complained that Mi ...

• prempeh 1. 12 years ago

Kania, which party do you belongs?, Let me help you here, You´re of course an NPP member, no doubt, that is the only party decended from Mate me Hu, (GNC), U.P, P.P, NPP, their job is only criticism, and it starting from Os ...

• Papa Sammo, Santa Fe 12 years ago

When I look at the corruption going on in our country today, the moneys involved and the lavish life style of our politicians, all I say is that "May the Lord have mercy on those who were executed in 1979 for alleged corrupti ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 12 years ago

You are not alone. A lot of us do; especially knowing that it was spear-headed by the Founding fathers of the current govt.
    However 2 wrongs don't make a right and we need to look to the future and help prevent it happening ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 12 years ago

NPP will have a lot to do to catch up and truly they have to to beat this gesture

• Auditor General 12 years ago

You cannot be serious! Was it not this same president who entered into a pact with the current parliament whereby the President multiplied the salary or parliamentarians and parliament multiplied the president's salary? What ...

• Linda 12 years ago

Give the man a break! How many african leaders you know will cut their paychecks for the benefit of their country? This is a start, we don't have to be so critical all the time.

• Repugnant. 12 years ago

He raised his paycheck before Ghanaians found out he was not a good fit. Who asked him to reward himself without qualification? Linda pleaaaaseeeeeee!

• AHMED YACOB 12 years ago

You people do not seem to get it. It is the corruption that is killing Ghana and not the pay. A pay cut does nothing to corruption. Millions and millions of dollars are being misapplied, misappropriated, diverted, etc by the ...

In April 1961, he delivered a "Dawn Broadcast" in which he lashed out at "self-seeking" and "careerism,"

Whether you like it or not, Nkrumah received no salary. His clothes were donated by China! As a vegetarian, his valu ...

• sammy atakora 12 years ago

Its a good move,good example.When we sacrifice ,at a point we see a possitive result.U will get another term come 2016

• Selassie Dzokoto 12 years ago

Our own kind over there will buy this deceptive propaganda and will be prepared to die for it. No wonder they call them fool soldiers because this move can only fool illiterates like you rightly put it. The economy is in trou ...

• samo jewellery 12 years ago

xmas offer from samo jewellery....if u need yellow n white gold for yr engagement n wedding then search samo jewellery on facebook for more pictures to choose from or you can whatsapp me on 0244717600 to send you more latest ...

• KKK 12 years ago

THE VALUE IS THE SAME

• Sethoo 12 years ago

It is just a kwaku ananse behaviour to hoodwink Ghanaians,free housing,free transport and all the accountable allowances and they are telling us to jump in the air and clap[ for them.

• Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago

A complete Trash indeed.Instead of
    demanding our moneys owed to the Country,now you are throwing dust into
    our eyes.Foolish Administrator,do you
    think this exercise serves us right?
    How much Woyome,s contribution? Aboa.

• Sakura 12 years ago

Thank you, brother. These guys believe Ghanaians are fools.

• Yag 12 years ago

Congratulation !!! This is a good gesture bravo for 100%.MPs the batton is handed over to you as well.No excuse for doing undertakers philathrophy.Nicho , by the way Prz. JDM did not pay any money to Wayome , so ask the legal ...

• SARPONG 12 years ago

This is gimmickery and well orchestrated method to deceive Ghanaians as if this corrupt and clueless Mahama government is doing something noble. If you steal $100 from me and decide to give me $10 back, you are not doing me a ...

• Wofa K 12 years ago

Sarps, say that again ooo. These people are playing "nyansa koronoo".

• BUGA BUGA ATUGUBA 12 years ago

You increase utilities by about 75% and you decide to reduce pay by 10%. Meanwhile you do not pay rent and utilities.The 10% cut will be covered by 10% bribe money.
    Somebody should tell mahama that the fire-fighting tactics ...

• Ada Boy 12 years ago

It is certainly a good start,but Mr Mahamma need to look at big ticket items like government vehicles,housing and other over generous perks that this nation can no longer afford.The prime minister of the !.7 trillion dollar I ...

• KANIA 12 years ago

THIS IS JUST PUBLIC SHOW. WHY NOT TACKLING CORRUPTION. I HOPE GHANAIANS WILL NOT BE STUPID AGAIN TO GIVE YOU THE MANDATE TO STEAL.

• The U & Me.. 12 years ago

WHAT ABOUT THE RAWLINGSES ,KUFFOUR AND THE TSIKATAS.Rawlings and kuffour must voluntarily surrender all the gold bars they stole from the state. 'CRY ME A RIVER' YOU GUYS TALK ABOUT CORRUPTION AND THIEVERY WITHOUT MENTIONING ...

• PLAIN TALK. 12 years ago

START HOUSE CLEANING FROM JJ RAWLINGS AND KUFFOUR.....COWARDS REPUBLIC.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 12 years ago

reduce by at least 50%

• Kwaku 12 years ago

Yes the size of our ministers should also reduce by 50%,10% salary reduction is nothing.Victoria Hammah confirm it that the NDC is in power to make money.

• Dan Forson 12 years ago

THIS MAHAMA AND NDC ARE JUST A BUNCH OF JOKERS.

• augustine 12 years ago

it is a step in right direction

• wawa1 12 years ago

gud job..

• Vikilicks 12 years ago

The re-birth of stealing and high level corruption is just about to germinate

• ADAMU 12 years ago

LISTEN THESE THIEVES

• francis 12 years ago

This is propanganda. They should take their salary in full, stop stealing and work hard to improve the economy.

• Skido 12 years ago

Mahama is not serious

• kk 12 years ago

yes well done, take a pay cut and steal millions

• Krikri,, 12 years ago

For me, the decision that could save the country better is this: SCRAP THE ARTICLE 71 OFFICE HOLDER CONSTITUTIONAL REQUIREMENT. The President, Vice, Ministers, MPs (most of whom are USELESS) do not deserve the salaries and wi ...

• Yag 12 years ago

Kikri i support the Article 71 ex-gratia should be deleted from the constitution.Lets call for referedum on this issue. If one was a teacher before he turned a minister s/he retired as such.If you were unemployed you go out s ...

• Krikri,, 12 years ago

Let's get together, Yag, and start something. That colonial evil inheritance MUST VANISH FROM OUR STATUTE BOOKS

• Ben 12 years ago

Despite the reservations and the rot that goes on daily, I still believe the gesture is a positive one. Brand it a propaganda but it is something good to start with. I will also want to see these appointees doing the very job ...

• NANA 12 years ago

Tweaa you believe this,have you ever seen our ministerial appointees working apart from going round to deceive people like you.

• Sakura 12 years ago

Thank you Nana. This Ben is one of the many who are causing the problem. Instead of hitting the the nail on the head, they play the proverbial ostrich hiding their head in the sand as if there is no problem. There is nothing ...

• Sakura 12 years ago

Can someone tell me the impact on our expenditure in percentage terms? Reduction in total number of ministries, ministers, deputy ministers and quasi-government institutions would be more impactful. Veep is a big disappointme ...

• Chang 12 years ago

Cutting 10% of GHs12,000.00 is not enough. After all what does he do with his salary. The state pays for his utilities, fuel feeding, clothing and then still pays him Ghs12,000.00 a month.

• Ramatu 12 years ago

You must ask president Kuffour what he was using his salary for after all the numerous travels and you will get the clue of affable president Mahama.

• Sakura 12 years ago

What is your point? This not about party politics, moron! It is about the financial situation of our dear country. Please stop this nonsense.

• Pelicles 12 years ago

Kufuor was being paid $4,000 a month and so was Mills but when Mahama ascend the throne, his salary jumped three times that of Kufuor and Mills so, what is your problem with Kufuor?

Stop hiding behind "tribal lines" and re ...

• Gbeshie 12 years ago

God bless This man

• GOOGLE MY FUCKING ASS 12 years ago

WHY BELIEVE THE PREZ WHEN GHANAIANS DOESN'T KNOW DETAILS ABOUT HIS SALARY ? WHY BELIEVE MAHAMA , WHEN YOU DON'T EVEN KNOW HOW MUCH 10% PAY CUT WOULD GENERATE IN A YEAR . DO YOU KNOW PREZ MAHAMA YEARLY INCOME ? FOR EXAMPLE - ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!! 12 years ago

Idiot.

• Futurama 12 years ago

Why voluntary? It should be mandatory and more than these paltry 10%. What about the pecks and allowances? They all cost money. This is pure window dressing and a ploy to fool the poor taxpayer.

• Proud Pepeman. 12 years ago

A GOOD START, BUT IT IS THE ALLOWANCES THAT IS DRAINING OUR ECONOMY. CUT DOWN ON THE ALLOWANCES AND PER DIAMS.

• Ramatu 12 years ago

Yaanom have high taste because they really chopped and nothing will satisfy them until they get power probably in 2021.They are worse in corruption and tribalism.

• Sakura 12 years ago

What has this got to do with tribalism, NPP, CPP etc.

• BUSINESS DEVELOPER 12 years ago

I see no reasons why th?s volutary reduct?on should not start today by 30% cut of salary ?nstead 10% ?n 2014 ,?f they government ?s ser?ous to stop further demonstrat?ons for more wages and unrest.

• KK 12 years ago

Pay cut don't save economy, but Expenditure in the country does. Pay cut means less money in the pocket and less expenditure which result to lack of circulation of finance/liquidity hence strain on the economy. You only boost ...

• Sakura 12 years ago

And this Vice President was the governor of our central bank!

• k. amponsah 12 years ago

This is a political move to score cheap points. 10% of how much are they taking? See how the economy has virtually collapsed under the watch of incompetent leadership. 10% salary cut is a cheap political talk.Address issues a ...

• kofi 12 years ago

Cocoa farmers, teachers, doctors, nurses, fishermen, etc breaking their backs to keep the ship afloat, but it is leaking badly, we want you to fix the leaks. Big rewards for informants, and severe punishment for offenders mu ...

• Shanana 12 years ago

This will impress nkwadaa nkwadaa.
    After the GARGANTUAN amounts created, looted and shared Mahama is trying to toy with us. Only diehard NDCers like Asiedu Nketia's children will be impressed. Oh Africa.

• DICKSON 12 years ago

very funny paaaaaaaaaa. ...........this man John MAHAMA can't fool anyone. .....his brother defaulted on his debt to merchant BANK but went ahead to buy private jet..........they are fast collapsing merchant BANK and selling ...

• Yaw Owusu 12 years ago

After all John Dramani Mahama, his Vice President Paa Kwesi Amissah-Arthur, Ministers of State and all appointees have stolen enough from the state and they are not doing anything profitable. Who cares. Ghana on a sinking cou ...

• ANGEL GABRIEL 12 years ago

NPP RAISED HIS PER DIEM, JM REDUCES PAY

• DICKSON 12 years ago

heheheheeeeeee. ...NDC WOYOME hypocrisy. .

• ASIEDU NKETIA 12 years ago

10% PAY CUT IS NOTHING NEAR TO THE DUBIOUS JUDGEMENT DEBT THROUGH LOOT AND SHARE. PLEASE DON'T THROW DUST INTO PEOPLE'S EYES. WE ARE NOT FOOLS AS YOU THINK

• JM 12 years ago

THAT IS THE NEW AFRICAN TRICK. THEY ROBB PETER TO PAY PAUL

• MP on retirement 12 years ago

With the exception of the president and vice ALL other ministers and government appointees and heads of government organisations or business entities with majority govenment shareholding MUST fly econom ...

• MP on retirement 12 years ago

MP's must get a salary cut of 25%. If it is possible they should clock in when they enter parliament and be given a variable salary which correlates with the time spent in parliament. That w ...

• Ato Kwesi 12 years ago

If the government is serious about reducing the large portion of national income that goes to pay salaries, the President should add the following to the measures he announced: (a) reduce the number of ministers and assistant ...

• ADA 12 years ago

Set up a task force to clean the payroll of Education and Health Ministry and half of the problems would have been solved. Teachers have abandoned their profession for other fields, Some are dead, some are in school without p ...

• Ibn Batuta 12 years ago

There is absolute no reason for having a minister of agriculture and a minister of fisheries.

• Shatta Wale (fool Samini) 12 years ago

This is a drop in the ocean. However it is a good signal and will hopefully help change attitude of Government appointees. They need to learn that taking from Government coffers has a negative effect on the economy.

• jAsiedu 12 years ago

Crocodile tears

• kwaku t 12 years ago

10 percent of elephant meat can feed a generation of needy personsk

• kwaku t 12 years ago

We like this type of propaganda not those who buy chains

• Kofi 12 years ago

To give credence this 'good gesture' the following must take place:

1 Publish the current basic pay of the 'good leaders' trying this

2. Publish ALL the current allowances taken by them.

3. After the pay cut publish ...

• Odasanyi, London 12 years ago

It is not propaganda but even it is, it is worth applauding. Everywhere in the developed world all public sector workers are taking a pay freeze to deal with economic problems. It is only in Africa that public sector workers ...

• Diasporan, Canada 12 years ago

London Man: I agree with your assessment about the voluntary 10% salary reduction for Ghana's elite government officials. It is an exemplary gesture. It indicates that the President and his team are aware of the gaping dis ...

• ferroo 12 years ago

mumu budget......God help Ghana..

• Nexium 12 years ago

Taking a 10% cut in salary, and gaining 10% in multi-million create-share deals.

Why not use FIC to retrieve all the judgment debt monies stashed in the bank accounts of your cronies and fake companies?

Enough dust in p ...

• Paul Amuna 12 years ago

Credit must be given where it is due.

This is a good example by the leaders of the country. Now shall we have a similar 10% target in spending reduction in all sector ministries, public sector organisations please? This c ...

• madyak 12 years ago

mere propaganda,let this reflect our living

• Justino 12 years ago

Good leadership

• Hmm... 12 years ago

Planing to implement something in future is still in doubt. Why not act now and do it in good faith rather than tomorrow. I know all politicians are liars they promise you today, tomorrow say another thing else. Politics itse ...

• Ghana boy 12 years ago

This can be possible with only an NDC gov. bec. they have the people's welfare at heart. God bless Ghana.

• Agyeman 12 years ago

This guy Mahama is truly chosen by God .With this pay cut Mahama has shown he has Ghana's interests at heart and he's a visionary,exemplary president.Bravo,Mahama well done.

• INSTEAD 12 years ago

They gave themselves 120% salary increases about a year ago. Why are they giving back only 10% ? And they want us to think they are doing the nation a big favour? The thieves think we are stupid.

• Atta Mills, Heaven 12 years ago

Does this NDC government has a plan at all? Only last year, they increased their salaries 3-fold with 3 years back pay. Did they do that without any forward thinking? How can fools like these manage Ghana's economy?

• YAA 12 years ago

WHAT WILL 10% CUT DO? GHANAIANS ARE NOT FOOLS LIKE YOU SO YOU CANNOT FOOL US. COME 2016, WE WILL SHOW YOU WHERE POWER LIES. CUT 50% OF YOUR MINISTERS AND 100% CUT ON CORRUPTION, THAT WILL HELP US AND GHANA.

• Henry USA NEW JERSEY 12 years ago

I think this is a political ploy to throw dust into the eyes of Ghanaians.
    What Ghanaians need is a very good economic environment, fair play and equal opportunity for them to enjoy life.THIS IS PURELY GIMMICK,TO DEMONSTRATE ...

• Jeff, UK 12 years ago

What are they cutting off their salaries voluntarily. MPs do not do anything. Some sit on committees and make no contributions. They are just rubber stamps. Ministers and their Deputies have sirens and body guards being paid ...

• INSTEAD 12 years ago

NANA AKUFO ADDO NEVER TOOK HIS SALARY WHEN HE WAS A MINISTER. HE GAVE IT ALL TO GHANA. YES HE GAVE 100% OF HIS SALARY TO GHANA, AND HE NEVER STOLE A PENNY EITHER. THESE VAMPIRES FIRST GAVE THEMSELVES 120% SALARY INCREASES TH ...

• Ghana First 12 years ago

Free accommodation Free transportation Free water Free electricity Free petrol and so many other frees plus gifts and favours and take home salary plus other remunerations
    I can easily make one million dollars before i retir ...

• Emmanuel Boye 12 years ago

NDC fail nation they must resign period
    four years in power Ghana is in more debt them before woke up Ghanaians this guys are killing the country Mahama with more babies and wifes plus the gay guy Kwasi Amissah

• Emperor 12 years ago

This is monkey tricks

• NANA 12 years ago

Eeeiiiii, so 10% of your salary alone can salvage my mother sinking Ghana? asem oooo. what are u people telling us, u guys are making a lot of money at the expense of the poor ghanaian

• kwasi 12 years ago

WHAT WE NEED IS A FREEZE ON HUGH TAXES AND FEES ON IMPORTS THAT CUSE
    PEOPLE TO STOP IMPORTING CARS AND OTHER COMODITYS WHICH CREATE SHORTGAGE OF GOODS IN GHANA AND CUSE PRICES TO GO UP WHICH DOES NOT ALLOW GHANA PEOPLE T ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 12 years ago

WE MUST AS A NATION RESPECT THIS PATROTIC GESTURE FROM THE PREZ &his Vice by thanking him and call for more to follow -

• EBO SMITH 12 years ago

10% for your pocket

• MENSAH 12 years ago

What about the KICKBACK/CORRUPTION,"THE CANCER IN AFRICA"?
    Stop the BRIBERY & CORRUPTION,AND STOP THAT HYPOCRISY.
    How much difference is your 10%,in relation to the 10% KICKBACKS,you guys have been receiving?
    HUGE.
    THAT(K ...

• AKASI MARTHA NAEMA 12 years ago

IF "HOLY SPIRIT" IS AT WORK WHO CAN STOP HER POWERFULL ACTION? THIS IS THE TIME EVERY CITIZEN HAS TO SACREIFICE FOR OUR BEUTIFUL NATION. GOD BLESS GHANA/AFRICA. "HOLY SPIRIT" HE[P US TO ACHIEF OUR COALS. AA AMEN.

• Kojo@ 12 years ago

Thank you Mr. President. At least you are not as greedy as kufour and his crooks.

• www.ImportCarsNow.com 12 years ago

www.ImportCarsNow.com

Import your next car to Ghana with us

• hhhhhhhhhhhhhh 12 years ago

even with full payment they are stealing then how will they react to the reduction of salary

• VICKY LEE BENTON 12 years ago

10% IS NOT ENOUGH, YOU AND YOUR CRONIES ARE STILL STEALING, WHY NOT 50% SO WE ALL WILL TIGHTEN OUR BELTS.

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 12 years ago

Good resident with vision

• POOR VOTER 12 years ago

cut 10% of their salary and they will steal 50% of our money.

• James Adams 12 years ago

This cannot do anything your bribes are more than the cut shame unto you

• Woman's wisdom 12 years ago

Jon Mahama, his vice, Betty Mould Idrisu, Okudjeto Ablakwa, Kwaku Anyidoho, Fiifi Kwetey, Ebo Barton Oduro, Amissah Arthur, Benjamin Kumbour, and all the ministers of NDC must be given the firing squad in a bid to stop corrup ...

Let those poverty angels, work for free!
    Firing squad is less painful, let's starve them.

• Kwesi frinpong- Germany. 12 years ago

where is our coaco and oil monies,in which can make Ghana economy to groaw well,am living in Germany,but Germany dont have any natural resouces,but they develope,more than Ghana,all politicians in African are corrupt,only God ...

• Tinkalo 12 years ago

10 percent of what? Tinkalo wants to know! In any case they all need to take National service allowance till the economy improves

• liv 12 years ago

Reduce the number of political appointees and presidential staffers. How much does the President make anyway?

• Rural Daughter 12 years ago

Good gesture Mr President and all who will be involved in this 10% reduction. Those who are criticizing and saying it is propaganda should put out what they have to give to the state in terms of reduction in their incomes. Fo ...

• king Spider 12 years ago

Please wake up and smell the "Nescafe"

• Gandalf 12 years ago

PLEASE DON'T THROW DUST IN OUR EYES. AT LEAST CREDIT US WITH SOME INTELLIGENCE. YOU CAN DECEIVE SOME OF THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME; YOU CAN DECEIVE ALL THE PEOPLE SOMETIMES;BUT YOU CAN NEVER DECEIVE ALL THE PEOPLE ALL THE TIME. ...

• NOT GOOD 12 years ago

WHAT IS 10%? COLLECT ALL STOLEN MONEY FIRST,NEXT ENFORCE THE LAW SO THAT INSTITUTIONS i.e. HARBOUR DOES THE RIGHT THING NOT FOR THEIR OWN INTEREST.

• maud 12 years ago

robing peter to pay paul

• alfa 12 years ago

even if all salaried employees stop taking their salaries and the savings made through that are not applied judiciously, nothing new can happen. if we are going to continue paying doubtful judgement debts, invest in areas tha ...

• maud 12 years ago

true oo

• king Spider 12 years ago

Seriously 10%, What a Joke! OK so this is how i reckon it will happen. Increase their salaries in line with an "azaa inflation"say by 20% and then reduce salary by 10% and claim this has been achieved. Have anyone heard any M ...

• John 12 years ago

NDC

• nana new york 12 years ago

HE IS JUST STEALING WITH THE RIGHT HAND AND GIVING IT OUT WITH LEFT HAND.THESE GUYS TAKE GHANAIANS TO BE FOOLS.

• Asoreba 12 years ago

We do not need "hand-outs." They can keep their salaries if they "WORK" for it and stop stealing from the State. Create opportunities for all and they will deserve what they earn. For now, they do not desreve even 50% of t ...

• VEEP IS GAY 12 years ago

Absolute nonsense. they should stop take free housing, free fuel, free everything and we shall appreciate it the more.
    Populist gimmick.

• km agyin 12 years ago

Now the president is leading by example. That however should not lead them in anyway to contemplate cutting civil service pay. Your 10% voluntary cut will only bridge a bit the salary gap between the president, his ministers ...

• GORDON YEBOAH,USA 12 years ago

some people donate all their earnings to the charity and poor and no one hears of it.what is this they are telling us about president and his vice?must this hypocrisy be publicized in a national budget?very funny

• KOOBI 12 years ago

This is a smoke screen.What about the millions they have deposited in the foreign banks?

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 12 years ago

You loot millions of dollars and you resort to this gimmick to hoodwink Ghanaians

• animal farm 12 years ago

he should tell ghanaians he has stop taking allowances too.as the allowances are far more than his salary

• DOKORDOKO 12 years ago

THE TWO DEMONS THAT DEY RETIRE GHANA EEN PROGRESS.GOD GO PUNISH YOU.

• NANA 12 years ago

IF THE SO CALLED SINGLE SPINE IS UNWORKABLE WHY NOT FIND A SOLUTION?
    THE 10% PAY CUT IS A COMPLETE SHAM.
    WHAT DO THEY BUY?
    FREE PETROL,FREE ELECTRICITY,FREE ACCOMMODATION,FREE FOOD,FREE CARS.FREE CLOTHES.

• DOUBLE B 12 years ago

Pure nonsense, tackle corruption and properly manage the economy

• BUGA BUGA ATUGUBA 12 years ago

Double Nonsense from a shit filled PePeni's head.

• JOHN 12 years ago

HOW SIGNIFICANT IS THEIR SALARIES TO THEM ANYWAY?

• Payo 12 years ago

What is wrong with these NDC people. Do they think they are running a banana republic. All they do is involve themselves and the good poeple of our in gimmickry and stupidity.

• NAA4U 12 years ago

WELL DONE JM. EVEN IF IT IS 0.2% CUT OFF, IT IS A GESTURE WORTH EMULATING. NO PRESIDENT EVER DID THAT AND NO ONE INTENDS TO DO THAT.

AS FOR YOUR DETRACTORS,THEY WILL BE PUT TO SHAME.

• Kofi 12 years ago

You are too young. Check the history of Ghana for Dr. Busia.

• Lorgo Ligri 12 years ago

I would have lauded this government if she came out and said all government appointees,ambasadors,advisors including state board members and the higher paid executives were going to take that cut. How much in total will the p ...

• AKONFEM MAHANI 12 years ago

AZAAA MAHAMA,CORRUPT MAHAMA MUT BACKDATE AS HE DID FOR HIM SELF WHEN HE CAME TO POWER THE FIRST TIME,SHAME OU U,THIEF MAHAMA PROPAGANDER

• AKONFEM MAHANI 12 years ago

IDIOTS,GAYS,NONSES MAHAMA APUUUUUTUO

• ALHASSAN BEI 12 years ago

The president policy of cutting salaries of government appointees by 10% is acomic relief,what they plan to is cut and paste.Now travelling allowances and other allowances is going to be increase.They are only proving to us t ...

• Victor A. Young 12 years ago

Window dressing kind of governance! 10% pay cut won't help Ghana's sagging economy anyway, so what is Mahama trying to tell Ghanaians?

• Ataa 12 years ago

I am not sure if this is public information but my questions are:
    - who determines how much the President gets
    - how much the VP gets
    - How much Parliamentarians get
    - then most importantly, what are the "perks" from star ...

• Gedeon 12 years ago

A complete Window dressing and cosmetic demonstration of goodwill by the two gentlemen. Even if reduced by 100%, for us workers we will demand what is due us this year. The two of them and the Ministers have made their life t ...

• KELEVE KORMI 12 years ago

seth terkpe and the rest in government should be the first to know that they would not be able to achieve even one percent of what they are promising. l am terribly feed up with this annual financial and work declarations cal ...

• FRED, LONDON 12 years ago

HERE WE ARE WITH NDC TRYING THEIR KIDS GAME AGAIN.... AS IF ALL GHANAIANS ARE NOT EDUCATED. HAHAHA

• Kudolo Mandela 12 years ago

50% cut will boost the economy

• Whatever 12 years ago

This selfless gesture by the president and his team has really gladdened my heart. I hope this won't stop there but that, it will open the door for many giveaways from Government to needy people.

• LAZY AND STUPID PRESIDENT 12 years ago

MAHAMA GET GONO SO IN BRAIN STOP WORK

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST? GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• italy 12 years ago

Mr prz,should look up and pay the teachers and corupting de nation

• kkk 12 years ago

10% of what. Okay, if 10% pay cut of these people can solve our problem, then my prayer is ..........
    These fools should come up with something sensible, the fact is my dear Country is being run by FOOLS

• JH New York 12 years ago

What types of economics is that!
    If so,what was the reason behind the increment in their Salaries the other time.
    Or is the administration a Concert party,or "Jokers", just trying to give the impression of Sacrifice to Sa ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 12 years ago

Better to roll back the salary increases MPs gave themselves; then cut off other bonuses, e.g. free gov't vehicles, free petrol, free chauffeurs, etc., for politicians, civil servants, execs of gov't corporations, etc., etc., ...

• Concerned Observer 12 years ago

Ridiculous, Ghanaians should not be deceived. These people have already filled their pockets and want to throw dust into the eyes of the people.

None of them has come forward to address allegations regarding their finances ...

• KWESI TEMA 12 years ago

10% pay cut is meaningless. Instead President Mahama should cut ministerial appointees by 30%, corruption by 70%, fuel allowances by 80%, motorcade for appointees by 75% and per diems by 75%. In addition to this all political ...