MPs deny receiving Chinese phones as bribes

Read Comments Comments (87)

• Papa Yaw 12 years ago

How

• 2K 12 years ago

U SEE... WE ARE HERE FIGHTING AMONG OURSELVES IN THE NAME OF NPP AND NDC ASHANTIS FIGHTING EWES AND NORTHNERS AND VISE-VERSA BUT...THE SO--CALLED OUR PARTY MEMBERS DONT CARE ABT US..LET US WISE-UP AND THINK AS GHANAIANS AND F ...

• vero 12 years ago

it is a very big disgrace to our mps. if they know they are cheap phones, why do they accept it in the first place? there is something behind this deal.

• Kwame 12 years ago

It's a fraud case.

• insight to the bone 12 years ago

ndc is trying to make us all foolishly believe that this is all about partisan politics but in reality its a feudal system of governance based on tribalism and ethnic affiliation . there is no partisan politics rather anti Ak ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 12 years ago

This is childish issue. There are more serious issues that matter to Ghana. Npp media fools.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur thinkin 12 years ago

STUPID MPS. THE PHONES HAVE ALL BEEN BUGGED.

• consider 12 years ago

stupid and backward nation ghana. a country of animals. common phone government can't buy for mps? still accepting satanic chinese gifts. how can phone be used to bribe you guys? are you mad? stupid. the least chance you guys ...

• Nicholas J Bedzo 12 years ago

A complete disgrace in the news as a
    bribe, yes it is true that is a bribe
    Shame MPS.

• Ali 12 years ago

This stupid MP who said they are cheap phones never owned a phone before he entered parliament. What was he worth before he went to parliament. I challenge him to declare his assets.

• The Truth 12 years ago

This time is not NDC, not NPP, not CPP, not PNC, not PDC, etc., but ALL-PATY MPs in the House.

It is a shame; and shameful it is for any MP to defend reasons that the gift is not a bribe. If the contract has not yet been a ...

• YAKUBU KOBO 12 years ago

Corrupt country Ghana ,it's a shame shame unto all corrupt personalities in the country , some of you have big positions in the government ,corporations ,companies live in mansions with fat salaries but bribery and corruption ...

• The Ghanaian 12 years ago

It's only a pitty that Ghanaian MPs don't know that some gifts are bribe. I support Emperor D's comment that REMEDIAL classes should be organized for our MPs to know what is expected of them as MPs. Other than that, they are ...

• Naa-Sei 12 years ago

what is so bothersome to me is the fact that there appears to be no set guidelines or rules governing our officials coming into contact with foreign entities or accepting gifts from them.If there are established rules,then we ...

• Ali 12 years ago

Does this stupid animal MP tell me what the definition of bribe is. Useless and spineless MP's. They think they are the only educated animals in Ghana. They know no shame

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 12 years ago

They are just a band of idiot and opportunistst

• ABU 12 years ago

A great number of our legislators are stinkingly corrupt allowing themselves being bought,and cheaply

• OBURONIBA FITAFITA 12 years ago

20 Richest People In Ghana? (2013)

1. Ibrahim Mahama -$1.9 billion.

2. Alfred Mahama -$1.3 billion.

3. Roland Agambire – $1.1billion

4. Joseph Agyepong – $1.05billion

5. John Mahama – $900 million

6. ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 12 years ago

Mr.& Mrs. J.J. Rawlings $4.2 billion.

• ASEM BEBA DABI 12 years ago

Same sob song when the Ghanaian delegation that went to negotiate the phantom STX deal gave about the cameras given them. Same denials when NPP parliamentarians were given $5000 each by Vodaphone!

We now understand the sl ...

• Chechekule 12 years ago

Bugged phones . Silly MPs.Don't you know the Chinese listen in on all your phone conversations?

• Ghanaba 12 years ago

Look at our miserable leaders! Too greedy that any shit comes valuable to them. How could a company lobbying for supply contract handing over gifts would not compromise the deal in effect. I'm shocked at the MP for Tema East, ...

• backfire 12 years ago

how do africans in china expect respect from them?. they can even bribe the whole parlimeant with shit phones and get away with whatever they wont, so no respect for africans. low IQ mps. stomach politicans

• Wisdom 12 years ago

National security is already compromise by accepting the phone

• BRAINDEADMPS 12 years ago

Greed has so taken over their brains that they fail to realize the phones may be bugged. What type of MPs do we have. When will they become security conscious ?

• Korlai 12 years ago

Braindead, much as I am in principle against the giving out of phones by a potential supplier before an agreement is signed, I cannot buy your ridiculous concerns about being bugged.

Every kind of phone is vulnerable to be ...

• 4 Year Old 12 years ago

When will our politicians learn? They don't because most of them are illiterates, corrupt and foolish. If America is eager to tap the phones of their Eurean Allies and many other foreign leaders, what makes our politicians t ...

• ADENKULE 12 years ago

THIS IS A TOTAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST.

• sky 12 years ago

is a damn shame for Ghana mps to accept cell phone as bribe people use your head Chinese just bribe u

• Kojo Samla 12 years ago

Chinese bankye phones. Disgraceful dishonorable MP's. All of you are stupid and are now inconsequential. Small IQ MPs. You have the IQ of a goat yet make the most noise in the country. Chinchinga MP's.

• Odasanyi, London 12 years ago

RETURN THE DAMNED PHONES! NO INTEGRITY

• saka 12 years ago

APUUUUUUUUUU////

• John Kool 12 years ago

How much is that phone? Folks in the auditing discipline, we look at how material the gift is to draw conclusion. Why is everything in Ghana is now being politicized? Parliamentarians are humans as well;sometimes we need to g ...

• Sam 12 years ago

The issue is the Conflict of Interest not the value of the phone. They're MPs who will one day deliberate on giving contracts to some of these foreign investors. No matter how cheap the phone is, if you multiply the price of ...

• NOAH 12 years ago

MR AUDITOR U ARE WRONG. INDIVIDUALLY IT MAY LOOK INSIGNIFICANT, BUT COLLECTIVELY IT IS SIGNIFICANT TO BOTH THE GIVER AND THE RECEIVER. MR SPEAKER YOU HAVE SPOKEN WELL. WELLDONE MR DOE

• Opencheler (Italy) 12 years ago

Ei This Is too bad,OH AMA GHANA!Look at This stupid MPs the same people are fighting agaist coruption."GOD Will punish This politicians.

• kofi sammy okukuseku 12 years ago

The phones are in public. What about the other secret portions of the bribe? Lets call for investigations by the... CJ.

• ADEI 12 years ago

NOBODY NEED TO BE TOLD WHAT THE MOTIVES ARE.WHY GIVE THE MPS THIS GIFT, ONLY GOD KNOWS. HE HAS GIVEN PEOPLE KNOWLEDGE TO DISCERN

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 12 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFUL SPIRITUALSIT?THEN GO TO www.greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot.com

• nyametse 12 years ago

IT S EMBARASSING TO KNOW THAT IN THIS AGE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT IN GHANA CAN BE A SIMPLE THING SUCH AS A MOBILE PHONE NO WONDER THE COUNTRY IS SUCH A STATE. YOU ARE A BUNCH OF CHEAP USELESS PEOPLE

• Akadu Mensema 12 years ago

They are all thieves!

• HABLUTA SENYO 12 years ago

I BLAME GHANAIANS WHO VOTED FOR THIEVES TO GHANA PARLIAMENT

• Boss 12 years ago

Oh our politician are very very cheap and shameful with small filthy minds. These people can never ever move Ghana forward. They are arrogant, cheap, thieves, selfish, crooks, dangerous and as ugly as sin.

• Onipaba 12 years ago

My friends. We have no honour.

• GHANA FIRST 12 years ago

They may not be intented as bribes but
    what are you going to do with the giver of the gifts when you you are executing your duties
    Will you close your eyes to this person?
    Public officers should be banned from receiving gi ...

• ROBERT K NAGBIJA 12 years ago

these phones shd b returned immediately i wd never understand why parliamentarians(decision makers) and not any other group of pple in this country? it si not only a costly item that can b used as a bribe.

• Nana Agyei 12 years ago

accepting cheap phones as bribe makes them cheap mps in the history of the world.

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 12 years ago

GHANA/AFRICA BECAUSE WE ARE NOT IN IMFORMATION AGE, WE DON'T UNDERSTAND INPRECATION ON THIS CHINESE PHONES. THE CHINESE PROGRAMMED THE PHONE TO HEAR WHAT IS GOING ON IN YOUR HOUSES. IS A SHAME TO THE MP'S AND MOTHER GHANA/AFR ...

• Hakase 12 years ago

They are being set up for espionage, and they don't get. How can a foreign company supply them with phones for security? God help us. No doubt they think we are lower human beings.

Even the Russian are going back to using ...

• Sam 12 years ago

The issue is the CONFLICT OF INTEREST not whether the phones are cheap or not.

• SOKODE 12 years ago

DID THE MPs, all 275 of them, accept the phones knowing that a bill was before them to approve a contract "that would enable ZTE to acquire for the government of Ghana, gadgets for security information for the purposes of mon ...

• OJK 12 years ago

GHANAIANS LOVE TO BARK THATS IT.............HOW ABOUT WE TAKE ACTION? THEY KNOW WE SCARED AND TIMID, WE WILL KILL THE MPS ONE BY ONE WITH A SNIPER RIFLE JUST WATCH THAT TIME WILL COME...WE WILL SET UP AN ORGANIZATION KILLING ...

• New Sheriff in Town 12 years ago

Security phones? That child Omane Boamah of a minister? Haba! And the Opposition NPP MP'S, how? How daft could all of you be? You want your conversation to be eavesdropped on by the NDC, eh? So daft!

• Ekuma 12 years ago

Yes I agree with u . That is conflict of interest . They shd return the honest to the damn mother fucker Chinese idiot trying to bribe our Parliament. Nonsense

• SETHO 12 years ago

BEWARE WHEN THE GREEKS GIVE YOU A GIFT ................

• ohenenana 12 years ago

Return those phones! they are bribes!

• SULE 12 years ago

There's no shame whatsoever amongst the political establishment. If this is not a ploy to soften their brain cells to tow a particular line in the contract involving ZTE and the Ministry of Comm; then I don't know what it is. ...

• t't[y[y[[[[6[6[6[6[6[[6 12 years ago

r[r[r5[[5

[[t[]

• Kwesi 12 years ago

Selling Ghana for mere mobile phones.

• Kwami Ninson 12 years ago

These parliamentarians absolutely have no respect. Who elected them, anyway? Something some Ghanaians are not aware of, some Chinese, in fact, the majority of them have no liking for black people. You'll be surprised if you k ...

• James Kwao 12 years ago

Please stop accepting gifts, for they are bribes.

• Paa KWESSI IN THE BRONX 12 years ago

So our MPs are naive to the point of accepting these Chinese phones so that their communications can be bugged? Where is our national security? It is time the president collect these phone and return them to that chinese corr ...

• Boys abre 12 years ago

WHAT A DISGRACE . SO THIS SO CALLED MP'S DON'T HAVE COMMON SENSE ? WHERE IN CIVILIZED WORLD CAN THIS HAPPEN ? THIS IS USELESS AND MOST SHAMEFUL PEOPLE . I CAN'T WAIT FOR MILITARY COUP IN GHANA SO ALL THIS SENSELESS MP'S FACE ...

• Nii-Adama, Osu-RE 12 years ago

It's rather naive to be discussing how to 'kick' corruption out of our society with the law makers unable to be more discerning about 'gifts'/presents.There's no such think as 'free' in life unless it's from the Almighty. T ...

• OJK 12 years ago

GHANAIANS LOVE TO BARK THATS IT.............HOW ABOUT WE TAKE ACTION? THEY KNOW WE SCARED AND TIMID, WE WILL KILL THE MPS ONE BY ONE WITH A SNIPER RIFLE JUST WATCH THAT TIME WILL COME...WE WILL SET UP AN ORGANIZATION KILLING ...

• True Ghanaian 12 years ago

Oh Mother Africa!!!
    Chinese build Africa's AU headquarters….Each country contributing 2 million dollars could have built it.
    Chinese supplying phones to MPs..Even the poor people on the streets do buy their own.
    Foreign ...

• PlainPlainTruth 12 years ago

With such shallow-minded and "speak-before-you-think" people like Titus Glover elected to Parliament as parliamentarians, why should Ghanaians complain about their elected representatives and their output? After all,"You get ...

• kwaku baah 12 years ago

Distroy and disgrace your own country and go live and enslave yourselfs in the white mans land, after all that's is where most of this so called mp's look forward in running to whenever there is tension of uproar in the count ...

• Akadu Mensema 12 years ago

Thieves!

• Joe Turkey 12 years ago

Has anyone seen the way the Titus-Glover avoided the question of whether the phones can possibly influence parliamentarians and whether this is a serious conflict of interest. The phones are cheap. So, cheap he is ready to gi ...

• Kwawu Agbemenu 12 years ago

So what if they were not "cheap phones"? And who says the Chinese will not be eavesdropping when the MPs are communicating with one another via these phones? How would the Chinese gov't react if a foreign firm were to have ...

• kofi sammy okukuseku 12 years ago

The CJ should investigate the hidden portion of the largeese to the MPs,

• P.Yaw 12 years ago

MP's in Ghana are full of it. They are a disgrace to African. can't they afford a phone? why do you have to be given phones.You need to reason up. Shame to you.

• BRO DAN- TRC 12 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DISGNIFIED ONES OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, AS FOR THE ABOVE, I DO NOT KNOW BUT FOR SURE I DO KNOW THAT AFRICA UNDERSTANDS SO WELL THAT IN THIS TIME OF GLOBAL MAN-MADE "JAC ...

• Antiochus - London 12 years ago

How cheap and demeaning our MP's are, to stoop so low to be bribed not with Blackberry or I Phone5 phones but ZTE phones which my 14 yr daughter owns one. They should bury their heads in shame.

• concern ghanian 12 years ago

CHEAP AS SAME AS MP`s

• Kanewu 12 years ago

They are rich ,take huge salaries but still they will have everything in the country free.A day will come.

• kwam 12 years ago

Ghanaian Politicians wants very thing free, that is why the went for this cheap phones.

• mahoney pee 12 years ago

MP's are just greedy n have anything good for the poor.U call something u have already taken as cheap.Who bought guns for Fulani's,what wealth has gold to voltic.Gold is useless misconcepted mineral not edible,not necessity ...

• Kobi 12 years ago

Ghanaian MPs are all CHEAP. What a shame! I consider the phones as BRIBE. You are vetting somebody's contract, the person gives you something and you approve that person's contract! How do our honourable (our are they?) MPs e ...

• Wofa Koo 12 years ago

It tell the foolishness of our so call leaders. Ghana is finish.

• Jeff, UK 12 years ago

What headline is this. The story is talking about something totally different. Mother GH, is it the education standards that are falling or sheer sensationalism?

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 12 years ago

NOT SURPRISED AS THESE ARE SOME OF THE STUPID THINGS CHINESE COMPANIES DO AND OUR STUPID MPS GO FOR IT AND LATER DISGRACE THEMSELVES. WHY SHOULD MPS TAKE SUCH PHONE, FOR WHAT? STUPID GLOVER TITUS OR WHOEVER HE IS TRYING TO JU ...

• Buabeng - On Earth 12 years ago

Useless MPs. They are all a disgrace to Mother Ghana if they really accepted those "cheap" phones as claimed by one of them for any sort of use, even if it's for the security of the country. They are cheap phones so why do yo ...

• Kofi 12 years ago

A clear case of NDC's gov't of corruption.

• Nii Oshiki 12 years ago

Weak Mahama has to sack whoever distributed the phones in the first place. Our leaders are as cheap as the useless chinese phones

• Osei Yao 12 years ago

What else can it be? Why didn't the Chinese company distribute the phones to Makola women? MPs are greedy but I am surprised they are also naive to think they are not being bribed with the phones.