Elizabeth Ohene recalls how the U.S spied on her Daily Graphic reports

Read Comments Comments (37)

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

IF U DONT WANT TO BE TRACKED. JUST AWAY FROM TECHNOLOGY...TV, CELLPHONES, LAPTOPS...TABS

Who watches the watchman ? not only is our society now plagued with the worst forms of hegemony and chauvinistic tribalism but our govt is now the leader in govt sanctioned 419 sakawa scam operations that its notoriety has go ...

• P. BRODDIE MENDS 10 years ago

You remind me of a late politician who would link bad thing to a particular head of state he didn't like. It could be the weather, it could be a church sermon, it could be his own lack of sleep - he would blame everything on ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

Broddie-Mends, Im happy that you gave that mentally retarded twerp a good spanking on his backsides. That was a good response to that delinquent.

Some of our people take the world for a joke and when eventually they find t ...

• WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET 10 years ago

Free Internet tv streaming serving Ghanaians in the diaspora.

WWW.GHANATVLIVE.NET Brings You Live TV stations From Ghana.
    GTV, TV3, GTV Sports+, Adom TV Live, Joy News TV Live,
    Metro TV Ghana, e.tv And More. Watch You ...

• Homesense 10 years ago

I am whole heartedly pleased with your postings, especially, with the 'outbursts' on insight to the bone's tribal obsessions.

A few days back I had cause to express similar sentiments about him, one OSEI TAWIAH, and other ...

you are a fake and a natural born idiot , you fool no one

who are '' we'' ? of course you you are blind to the reality around you . he who feels it knows it . why should minorities decide the fate of the majority , or continue to run our economy into the ground , or claim the had at ...

• Kuuku Paintsil 10 years ago

I could sense you were drooling when as you rained insults on someone who was trying to bring back to your senses. What do you gain by being so angry with everybody? Are you a psychopath?

Where did you get the idea about m ...

• Akpaklika Mewua Lo Ode 10 years ago

Thank you for putting this ethnic cleansing adavocate at his/her right corner. I believe their are very more right thinking Akans who do not share in his ideas.

Come to think of this, if there is a real uprising in this c ...

call for a referendum and find out , kwasea

• Think Thank 10 years ago

Call for your mother! Asshole!

• Seth 10 years ago

What are you really struggling to illuminate upon? This is no news, I wish you better have provided constructive answers regarding how with your long personal experience would contribute to deal with this eavesdropping issues ...

• The Dunce 10 years ago

Mr Seth: She is not 'struggling'to 'illuminate upon' [sic] anything. Instead, she briefly shares a fleeting memory from a now distant era. Furthermore, it is a delight to read on this site a piece by a professional, written i ...

• Kponyo 10 years ago

But for the fact that you call yourself a dunce, there really is no further need to comment on both your mental stability and the substance of your contribution.

However due to your self-confessed cerebral challenges, let ...

• K9 Lead vendor 10 years ago

Kponyo: Setting aside the childish ad hominem insults with which you begin your response, I would have welcomed your offer of help to 'think things through', but you have not said anything beyond what we both already agree. I ...

• Seth 10 years ago

We don't need insults to make our views clear Mr Kponyo. I unfortunately do not know which part of the world you live in today, but the point I made was we do not need continuous overstating of the problem we already know abo ...

• mas ieso 10 years ago

Come on Seth, what are you also trying to say? What can she do or could have done? No one is safe, and there is no secret in this world any more. Each and everyone in any country is vulnerable. You name it. No one can hide an ...

• Maxi A 10 years ago

This happens... we need to know it does. sometimes its for good .. it helps to know what bad things are happening and what people are planning. How many of us rely on even gossip to hear whats going on? They all DO IT

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

Do our leaders, including parliamentarians have a very high level of awareness or sensitivity to the ever present threat of electronic surveillance and eavesdropping? For example is the government of Ghana aware of that the F ...

• BAAKO 10 years ago

America never wants peace in this world, always looking for fight, war and troubles. why America

• alfred 10 years ago

more stories madam

• NANA 10 years ago

MY GOOD LADY,YOU WERE(ARE?)A VERY DYNAMIC JOURNALIST ALL THOSE YEARS BACK,WELL,NEARLY FIFTY YEARS AGO?
    OBVIOUSLY,YOU WOULD EXPECT THE AMERICANS TO FOCUS ON ANYONE WHO WAS "AN AUTHORITY".
    YOUR "THINKING ALOUD"WAS A LANDMARK ...

• Nana Addo will never be a Prez 10 years ago

And u will be left alone

• JAMAL 10 years ago

COWARDS always hide behind aliases and so is the writer of this nonsense. Do you know that Madam Elizabeth Ohene is legally married, an astute christian who has the fear of GOD in her, and living with her husband? come again ...

• Zeeba 10 years ago

WHO WANTS TO READ FROM A NON ENTITY. SO WHAT

• JAMAL 10 years ago

Zeeba or ZEBRA or whatever you call yourself do you see how STUPID you are? When a former Minister of state and a seasoned journalist is cautioning us on the uses of technological gadgets and the risks involved; you are insul ...

• Good Pastor 10 years ago

There important matters to talk about, What do you have for USA spy upon? Everything you got from School is from them, so shot your big mouth.

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

It is strange for people to surprised at this. Why do people refer to America as the world's policeman? They snoop on everyone. Even the American Peace Corp are all spies

• Victor A Attah.Syracuse NY 10 years ago

I have always loved reading your articles for over forty years.Lets hear from you often fellow Old Abuscodian.

• nsem pii 10 years ago

Like vikileads butts,so and so fine girlfriend. Don't care about sensitive issues that will improve their livelihood. Contributors most of them SICK minds.

• MENSAH 10 years ago

The most safest phone to use is the wired ones,but not MOBILE OR CORDLESS,said an internet security service company,in USA.
    BE VERY CAREFUL,THEN.

• Newsite Bansah 10 years ago

Your story says that the US was eavesdropping on the Ghana government diplomatic line. Your story filed through that medium was incidental to their eavesdropping.

If your story is to be believed, the US did not intercep ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

DEAR H.E.PRESIDENT OF GHANA JOHN DRAMANI MAHAMA & H.E.PRESIDENT OF SOUTH AFRICA JACOB ZUMA,

MESSAGE OF GOODWILL, GOOD SUCCESS, FRUITFUL DELIBERATIONS AND GOD BLESSINGS ON THIS HISTORIC 3 DAYS OFFICIAL VISIT TO GHANA BY H.E ...

• SUPADUPA 10 years ago

If anyone thinks the President is not bugged, they are smoking some serious stuff. He's bugged, his office is bugged, they put bugs in "presents" they give us, including computers, paintings, souvenirs, etc. Be afraid, be v ...

• SUPADUPA 10 years ago

If anyone thinks the President is not bugged, they are smoking some serious stuff. He's bugged, his office is bugged, they put bugs in "presents" they give us, including computers, paintings, souvenirs, etc. Be afraid, be ver ...

• nunana 10 years ago

Davi Lizzy.. please be specific about the year.