Mystery Unraveled: Whereabouts of $3.5m drillship cash

Read Comments Comments (78)

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

Kwaku Baako's infantile hatred for Tsatsu is so disgusting; was Tsatsu with KT Hammond when he sold the ship and walked "pamp-pamp-pam" to Kuffuor and handed him the proceeds as he stated in one of his numerous radio intervie ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

AUTHOR : SULE ---------------In the 8 years that the Kufuor administration was in power, the country went HIPC and the NPP gov't put in place the needed policies and programs as well as pragmatic social intervention programs, ...

• OLD SOLDIER 10 years ago

Author: OYOKOBA...

The truth must be told, anokware John Mahama cannot do the job.

This guy came to the job offering no real vision for the nation, instead he only served up absolute nonsense - Ede be keke - which for ...

• Abongo 10 years ago

Bring your kokoasie kratsye father to come and do the job. People who sold GTC dubiously and sold our Drill ship dubiously can do the job dam fool

• Abongo 10 years ago

Bring your kokoasie kratsye father to come and do the job. People who sold our Dill ship and sold GTC dubiously can do the job dam fool

• Nana K 10 years ago

And your Latrine boy father to sell 192 ghanaian companies/corperations for less than $800m.

• Homesense 10 years ago

I heard Kweku Baako on Peace FM last week saying his paper is going to publish the fool details of withdrawals of the $3.5 million dollars. Ghanaweb should endeavor to obtain these details for forumers.

• www.ghanatopten.com 10 years ago

Well-said! Unfortunately, your rant doubles as a fiery indictment of Kufuor's administration and calls into question his ideals as a leader.

Motivated by greed and ethnic pettiness, he fingered Alan Cash to lead the NPP i ...

• ....... 10 years ago

Ruling us.

• James 10 years ago

Really?

What is despicable is the NDC's distaste for the truth.

We are all witnesses to the diabolical NDC, creating looting and sharing, yet we have people within that same Gang, spending a lot of time trying to find ...

• venom 10 years ago

This man has no sense of patriotism at all in his spine and completely dishonest in the handling of issues of national interest. Why must he enjoy the privileges of journalism bestowed on him by the state? The question is if ...

• STOP AND THINK 10 years ago

AND IF GHANA FALLS WE ALL FALL. IF THESE STUPID POLITICIANS KNOWS WHAT THIS MEANS AND SOME GHANAIANS, AND WILL ABHOR SELFISHNESS AND LOVE THE WELFARE OF EACH FELLOW GHANAIAN, AND EACH GHANAIAN LOVING TO THE GOOD WELFARE OF TH ...

• asem beba dabi 10 years ago

If they Cannot retrieve the woyome, Waterville ' GYEEDA ' Ankonfem and the Harmattan trees money , then we dont expect them to find the drill ship money. It is Simple ! You can't send a thief in search of money!

• Bernard 10 years ago

Tomorrow, i bet Baako is coming out with a news headline in his New Crusading Guide Newspaper that, the $3.5m was used in paying salaries of Ghana High Commission Staff. Trust me on this.

I vehemently disagree with you for your needless attack on Baako. He has done his part as a journalist to retrieve a document, but that does not end the case. The question you should be asking him is, Why a new account?? For ...

• Aba Nokwaryie 10 years ago

So you believe Mr Documents Kweku Baako has documents?You must be really gullible.He is just serving the cause of his paymasters.Please why was the account opened in an individual's name.The Ghana High Commission has a dolla ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

There was an account for government funds, so why a new account specially for the US43.5m in the name of the High Commission? Moreover, the ship belonged to GNPC so why was the cheque for the balance not handed over to the Co ...

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

its unfortunate anyone can go to the airwaves and spew any nonsense hoping people will buy it. kweku baako, words are cheap show us the real proof if any and stop ranting.NPP has no right to sell the drill ship let alone auth ...

I disagree with your last two sentences, but on the same page regarding the opening of a new account. I expect Baako to tell us the purpose of the account, and exactly why the $3.5 did not go into GNPC's accounts.

• George Best. 10 years ago

KWEKU BAAKO HAS UNCOVERED THE TRUTH AND THAT`S ALL, HE IS NOT LIABLE TO ANSWER WHY A NEW ACCOUNT WAS OPENED. HE HAS MENTIONED THE NAMES OF THOSE WHO DID THE TRANSACTIONS, THOSE PEOPLE ARE TO ANSWER QUESTIONS. NDC SHOULD HOLD ...

• Ns3mhuhuarakwa 10 years ago

And why would he let his 'patrons' go through all this agony,if in fact,he had all these particulars?
    The problem with all those connected to this sordid affair is that,this small band of self-assured 'smooth operators' cann ...

• Bernard 10 years ago

Tomorrow, Kweku Baako will come out with new headlines that the $3.5m was used to pay salaries of Ghana High Commission staff. Bingo!

• Koffi parker 10 years ago

I can't wait to read this,I know this for a fact, shameless fools it was used to pay outstanding salaries of NPP appointees at the Ghana High Commission in UK. end of story, stupid kweku baako,take your story and shove it rit ...

• BJ 10 years ago

Mboasem.

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

Mr. Baako eeeee, we're just after the 3.5 oooooo kon! We need the cash - $3.5 million, 3wo hen? Stop the parables and the useless long talks and SHOW US THE MONEY, la!

• Nyansaba 10 years ago

KWASHIA! THE $3.5 MILLION AND WOYOME's GHC51 MILLION, WHICH ONE SHOULD WE GO FOR? wHAT ABOUT WATERVILLE's $40 MILLION AND CP's 94 MILLION EUROS? STUPID,BRAINLESS, EVIL NDC SUPPORTERS, GROW UP!

• K.Y. Asante 10 years ago

We all know no one could spend a cheque without clearing it through a bank account. Therefore, opening an account in this matter is nothing new and does not answer the question everyone is asking. Where is the money or what ...

• ttk 10 years ago

Kana wu

• eas 10 years ago

Kwaku Baako. Please is the money still in the accounts you are talking about. publish the bank statement of the said account. you pig.

• Okanta Otanka 10 years ago

Where do you think he got money to revitalize his anemic newspaper in the early days of the kuffour's stewardship. Indeed it is only upon his death that the real length of the African toad is known.

• KOLIKO 10 years ago

baako stop this nonsense of urs.no Wonder ghanaians dont listern to u anymore

• Mallam Alhassan 10 years ago

Does Kwaku Baako know public service administrative procedures? Who valued the ship, who auctioned it? Misapplying public funds in a CRIME.cheap PR!!!!!

• AYARIGA 10 years ago

CLS LTD (CREATE LOOT AND SHARE ) LTD PEOPLE ARE YANDE AT THEIR BEST. STEALING AND SHARING .OH NDC WITHOUT OIL WE WERE BETTER NOW WITH OIL WE ARE BROKE EEEEEE

• Abu DHABI 10 years ago

is it "sell and cash or cash and carry"or what...these THIEVES should vomit the
    $3.5 million...BALAWO

• Tinapa 10 years ago

Nonesense. Kwasia. Aboa. Foolish man. You think everyone is stupid. Any John Bull can open a secret and deposit Government and expended without authorization from the finance ministry?

• Norvisi 10 years ago

Mr Baako, sometime ago my relive was the fact you did have children that was why you behave the way you do not caring about the future about the country .You lied a lot to protect criminals but now I heard you have children ...

• Yankee 10 years ago

I swear that should God resurrect the late president Nkrumah and his late father Mr Baako today, they will deny this guy call Malik kwaku baako for dinning and winning with the devils who conspired with bloody men like Afrifa ...

• Shabi 10 years ago

Can you blame Kwaku Baako for wining and dinning withe devil? Anybody in his right senses in this country would rather wine and dine with the devil rather than sympathize with the NDC.

I am even beginning to suspect that i ...

• Osei, Kumasi 10 years ago

This Kweku Baako man.What is wrong with him. Nobody has asked you to provide answers to how the 3.5 was spent. You are struggling even more than the actors in the case to provide evidence.

You are really shameful.

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

THIS IS RIDICULOUS.IF ITS REALLY TRUE,HOW POSSIBLE IS IT THAT $3.5 MILLION WAS DEPOSITED IN THE NAME OF GHANA SINCE 2001 WHILST WE DON'T HAVE GENUINE DOCUMENTS IN GHANA COVERING THIS,NOT EVEN THE ATORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE WHO ...

• Gilbert 10 years ago

This implies Ghana got Nil in the sale of the Ship. Why put the money in London? Can the money have been kept in GHANA.
    Gilbert

• NANA KASA 10 years ago

1. The ship was sold by KT Hammond to defray GNPC debt
    2. A balance of $3.5 million was physically brought to Ghana by KT
    3. KT could not tell who he finally gave the money to
    4. No documents could be found anywhere in G ...

• odame 10 years ago

KWEKU BAAKO'S REANSONING IS AS UGLY AS HIS STUPID FACE. WE ALL KNOW HIS PARENTS ARE NO THIEVES EVEN IF THEY ARE CAUGHT RED HANDED WITH THE STOLEN GOODS SO IT IS NOT SUPRISING HE DEFENDING KUFFOUR,AKUFO ADDO AND THE NPP DESPI ...

• CYBERGHANA 10 years ago

IT IS OBVIOUS THAT SOMEBODY IN KUFUOR'S GOVERNMENT WAS TRYING TO KEEP THE $3.5 MILLION. WE DEMAND FULL INVESTIGATION INTO THIS. ISN'T THIS WHY KT HAMMOND'S MOTHER IS CONCERNED?

• Ns3mhuhuarakwa 10 years ago

Highest Medal of Merit,for putting that 'weasel'and his 'sponsors' to shame;"Mo ne yo"! The good people of this country are tired of this 'gadfly' who does not want to leave us in peace.

• kb 10 years ago

You all stop the Baako-bashing and read the story again! The 3.5 M dollars was used to open an account, withdrawals were made (some to GNPC, Ghana high commission in UK, etc);finally the account including 2 others were closed ...

• Conqueror 10 years ago

Kweku Baako thinks he is shielding the rot in the sale of this Drillship but he is rather exposing the fraudulent activities surrounding the proceeds from the sale of the ship. Why would a new account be opened for this money ...

• James 10 years ago

What is despicable is the NDC's distaste for the truth.

We are all witnesses to the diabolical NDC, creating looting and sharing, yet we have people within that same Gang, spending a lot of time trying to find something th ...

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

The truth is out and you guys can't handle it. Bunch of sycophants. What a shame. The attempted equalization has failed miserably.

• OKOE 10 years ago

MY TAKE WITH THIS PAPER IS THAT IT LIKES SENSATION. IT WRITES STORIES TO SELL ITS PAPER. THE COMMISSION SAID ANYBODY THAT HAS ANYTHING TO SAY IN ANY OF ITS CASES MUST EITHER APPEAR OR SEND A MEMORANDUM. THIS EDITOR MUST DO TH ...

• Kan Na wo 10 years ago

Polititians axcuse me to say are thieves.God bless Ghana.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

What Mr Baako and his crusading Guide did not say is: how much is in the account and if disbursed, who did it and for what purpose. The Sole Commissioner will answer these questions so who is paying Kofi Baako to confuse Ghan ...

• TONY- C 10 years ago

IT IS NOW VERY CLEAR THAT MOST CONTRIBUTORS TO COMMENTS ARE NDC ILLITERATES BUT I KNOW NDC HAS SENSIBLE LOTS AND WHERE ARE THY NOW. ARE THEY TOO BUSY DOING PROPAGANDA. GOD HELP GHANA.

• Otokunnor 10 years ago

I am surprised that you are now belatedly discovering that NDC people are illiterates. And please, note that it is not some of them, it is all of them both the ones with Drs before their names all across down to the now suffe ...

• goodmaster 10 years ago

Interesting piece of news !

• Whatever 10 years ago

The scanty details in this publication will even add and deepen the mystery over the disappearance of that amount

• Shabi 10 years ago

Bro' it seems that you are unhappy that the money has finally been located.

• Bernard 10 years ago

Good day Mr. Baako,

There cannot be any Special Account such as: TREASURY OFFICER DOLLAR INVESTMENT ACCOUNT as you posted. But, i believe there can be an account such as TREASURY OFFCICE SPECIAL DOLLAR INVESTMENT ACCOUNT ...

• Otokunnor 10 years ago

Dont be silly and petty. As they say, "..a little learning is dangerous".

• Simingue 10 years ago

Obi ne yem, gbriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii,
    Very soon some people will be heading towards Nsawam Prisons for life over the drill ship looting

• mohammed 10 years ago

Baako think Ghanaians are stupid but this explain how ignorant and stupid Baako can be. why do you think anybody with the five senses will listen to this garbage news and believe you? we are not affiliated with any party but ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

How much money did Kufuor administration pay to Societe Generale? Show us the evidence. What court gave the order for GNPC to pay judgment debt to Societe Generale?

• YOU AND I 10 years ago

KWAKU BAAKO DON'T CARRY THIS NONSENSE TO 2014.

• Kumasehene 10 years ago

These three criminals sold the Drill ship and so they are the only people who can tell us in which Account and in whose name they deposited the remaining $3.5M

• SENIOR CITIZEN 10 years ago

KOFI BAAKO SHOULD SPARE GHANAIANS THE SHAMEFUL ACT BEING DISPLAYED. CAN KOFI BAAKO JNR CONFIRM WHETHER THE DOCUMENTS IN HIS CUSTODY ARE GENUINE?GNPC HAS A DOLLAR ACCOUNT WHY DID KT HAMMOND OPENED A NEW ACCOUNT FOR THE SALE O ...

• Abusua 10 years ago

I'm at a lost as to what has gone wrong with the conscience of our so called public leaders. You people doing everything they can to defend wrong-doing. What is the cut for MKB in this saga. Where and how did he all of a sudd ...

• sam 10 years ago

is this news paper serious? It is a pity the society can be regarded as mentally retarded with IQs below a 70 so is expected to just accept this explanation.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 10 years ago

This piece by MKB (Maa mi kaa mi, that is: let me say something, in Akan), illustrates his disrespect for the intelligence of Ghanaians.

• New Sheriff in Town 10 years ago

What Akan language is that?

• Zaga 10 years ago

So Baako, Are you doing all this for the love of Ghana?I hear your father too was a despicable pig of a traitor like you. Would sell his mother for a mess of pottage. People like you are irrelevant to the aspirations of Ghana ...

• Prof 10 years ago

Dude, all the ananse stories will not wash. Withdraw the cash from account, put it in a big trailer or in a huge pickup van and show it to us from Accra to Kumasi to Nvrongo. Until that, all your stories are tales to our ears ...

• New Sheriff in Town 10 years ago

Does this Emmanuel Bani, the then treasury officer of the GH High Commission, have any relationship with Mahama's current chief of staff? Or is he the same person in question who was sent to London under High Commissioner Chr ...

• Ayi-T bi 10 years ago

So the key question is who and who withdrew the cash and for what assuming the story by the Crusading Guide credible.

• Ganyo 10 years ago

I thought I read the same Kweku Baako claim a few weeks ago that he had proof the $3.5m was deposited in the Governments account in the U.S.A. Now Which one is the truth.

Hmmm massa say that again ooh.The guy is a solid defender of lies.At least if he saves the skin of his benefactors he saves that of the beneficiary.

• Pet 10 years ago

Alhaji Malik Kwaku Baako, we are informed that only 1008 dolars balace remain in the GIB account. so where is the money?. we are aware of where the amount was lodged. Who withdrew the money and on who's instructions and for ...

Now I believe baako was a primary beneficiary of the money. This explains why his wishing away this money started very early.The truth will definitely come out.

• Akwasi Cofie 10 years ago

WHY DON'T YOU STOP BEING BIASED IN YOUR ANALYSIS OF THIS DRILL SHIP MANGANA. ALSO STOP "COOKING" DOCUMENTS FOR NPP.