News

Sports

Business

Entertainment

Prof. Akosa used his office to amass wealth...

Read Comments Comments (75)

• Papa Yaw 10 years ago

How

• ATSU, HO 10 years ago

THIS IS JUST A FRIVILOUS ASSUMPTION THAT THE MAN USED HIS POSITION TO AMASS WEALTH. GIVE THE CLEAR EXAMPLES OF KEEP QUITE

• Zoobie-Zoobie 10 years ago

Because he said do away with the nursing allowance, the stupid fool accuses him of amassing wealth without any evidence.

• Anthony Peduase 10 years ago

This forum is for intelligent and wise comments. Mr Amo, where is your evidence? Big shame on you. Lies would get you nowhere. Enough of this culture of fabricating stories against those who hold opposite views against yours. ...

• WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM 10 years ago

Watch GTV, TV3, Joy News, AdomTV Ghana Movies, NollyWood Movies
    and KumaWood Movies AT WWW.NOLLYTUNED.COM

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

14,000 free scholarships for Africans
    www.owafk-africa.com

• Aklorbortu 10 years ago

Who doesn't know Akosa used his time as director general of the Ghana Health service to amass wealth? This is no news. The guy has always been a crook!

• ganga 10 years ago

Clueless gov't. How can a social democratic party behave like this?

• Avar 10 years ago

Nurses and teacher are critical areas that must be toiled with. Dont scrap this allowance.

• ADU-BOGYA 10 years ago

KWAME I NEVER KNEW YOU ARE SO SMALL MINDED.YOU NEVER TALKED ABOUT THE PROF.BEING CORRUPT UNTIL THE ISSUE OF ALLOWANCES.NOBODY IS GOING TO TAKE YOU SERIOUS.SAVE YOUR BREATH.

• Zigzag 10 years ago

THE HONEY MOON IS OVER! Everybody is looking for something free from govt without looking to sacrifice a little. Time when these subsidies were put in place we were 8.5 million people. Now how many are we? How can Ghana provi ...

• JOE 10 years ago

IF YOU WANT TO MAKE A CASE FOR MAINTAINING ALLOWANCE YOU COULD BUT YOUR PREMISE IS WRONG

• Zigzag 10 years ago

INCLUDING THAT OF MINISTERS AND MP's. THE COUNTRY CANNOT AFFORD ALL THIS WASTE. Nursing and teaching are secure professions and they are privileged compared to others who do not even get a job.

• JH New York 10 years ago

Listen to me ! You need to travel outside and see. You don't have the slightest idea of the various subsidies and help available to people in the advanced Countries.Part of the taxes collected is used to help the poor weak an ...

• koopia 10 years ago

I am not surprised that's why he seems to be defending the P(NDC)at all times. Greedy bastard.He talks like he is honest and knows everything.

• Better Ghana 10 years ago

Prof Akosah talks so much about Kwame Nkrumah and what he did for Ghana. What has Akosah done in his lifetime for prosperity to remember him in future. It is not for sure useless advise like this.

• Zigzag 10 years ago

SUBSIDIES HAVE BEEN PART OF OUR LIFE AND WE ALL ENJOYED IT BUT IT IS TIME TO LET GO SO WE CAN HAVE RESOURCES FOR DEVELOPMENT.

• Kee 10 years ago

so that we use our NATURAL RESOURCES FOR DEVELOPMENT instead of the LOANS,LOANS, LOANS. GHANA IS FOR ALL OF US, LET OUR NURSES ALSO ENJOY SUBSIDIES. Had the Gov't not loot us there would be more than enough money for developm ...

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

BETTER GHANA,TELL US WHAT YOU'VE DONE BEFORE YOU ASK WHAT OTHERS HAVE DONE.

• Yaw Boateng 10 years ago

Massa, you see I always tell you 'We build Universities to Educate 'Thieves and Burglars'. Wonders shall never end.

• Zigzag 10 years ago

ANALYSE WHAT AKOSA IS SAYING AND YOU WILL SEE THAT IT IS A WISE THING TO DO. EVERY SUBSIDY MUST BE REMOVED!

• ALHAJI KUKRUDU 10 years ago

Stop this rubbish. Which profession is NOT DIFFICULT?

• Pepper In Your Eyes 10 years ago

I 100% support government to scrap allowances paid to trainees such as nurses and teachers. What differentiate nurses and teachers from other students studying professional courses in the University, Polytechnics and other te ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 10 years ago

WHY DO U SUPPORT ISSUES BLINDLY LIKE THAT? TO THE PERIL OF YOUR LIFE. DO U KNOW THE RISK INVOLVED IN NURSING? AND 4 THAT MATTER STUDENT NURSES PRACTICING IN THE WARDS?

• SENSIBLE CITIZEN 10 years ago

Who says nurses are more important than everybody else? Let the government start giving farmers allowances too, because nobody can survive without food even for one week?

We are allowing some professions to hold us to rans ...

• seth danso 10 years ago

Tnx, el-haj

• Truth 10 years ago

We ask for too many free things. Who is the provider? Even if it is God He will be tired! Let us learn to be a bit more responsible.

• KELEVE KORMI 10 years ago

yes God keeps providing us, but we can also remember the way he went about it when He asked adam and eve to go out and work for what He gave them, no more free fruits in the garden for them.

• Angry bed 10 years ago

You think someone used his position to amass wealth for himself just because he wants an allowance scraped off? Please spare us the trash. Prof. Badu Akosa is the most honest and selfless Ghanaian i have ever know. To me, he ...

• Ekow Amonoo 10 years ago

We should not be emotional about this issue.In as much as we hold Prof Akosah in brief for using his office to amass wealth we should also consider his position on the issue of allowances for the nurses in training .Why did t ...

• CONCERNED CITIZEN 10 years ago

THIS HATES NURSES. I DONT KNOW HIS PROBLEM? BUT WITHOUT THE NURSE A HOSPITAL DOESN`T EXIST

• meboafu 10 years ago

The more reason to START NURSES' AIDE PROGRAMS IN GHANA.So if these so called 'bentoa" nurses do not want to work they should be sacked en masse.

• Ben ofosu 10 years ago

Govement must scrap free education in north

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

What evidence has this nurse got to make such statements? And our Press blow this up as News. How can defamation of character be News. Ghanaian Press must get their act together. This is why any mischief maker can scandalise ...

• KELEVE KORMI 10 years ago

so you also want to use the school, allowances, office etc to amass wealth? why are you, again, leaving in the past? look, time has changed, so let what must be changed, be changed. you must give way.

• Thinker 10 years ago

Note; other professionals are not posted to the rural and/or remote parts of the country. Please think through again. Teachers and nurses are.

• nii Bi 10 years ago

"... used his position to amass wealth.." you said ?

moron and stupid upstart. get a life!

• meboafu 10 years ago

Every thing and everybody in Ghana wants something for nothing. If you are a nursing student you can use your brains to create a side business whilst u go to school. Work part time in the hospital or some civic organisation ...

• meboafu 10 years ago

Every thing and everybody in Ghana wants something for nothing. If you are a nursing student you can use your brains to create a side business whilst u go to school. Work part time in the hospital or some civic organisation o ...

• Kee 10 years ago

I hope you'll not put your own children through this.

• ABU 10 years ago

False allegations are being made by Mr Amo based on the untenability of the allowance being paid the nurses due to the challenges to the economy,alternative means could be found in the form of bank loan instead of the usual ...

• Zaga 10 years ago

There is no question that the economy is suffering massive challenges, but there is absolutely no question too about discouraging our nursing propfession. They are a pillar of the health of the nation, especially when we are ...

• Jones 10 years ago

Small mind. If Prof had supported the allowances he would not have been corrupt. How such small minds get to be heard/read in the press is a miracle.

• OPEN MINDED SAINT 10 years ago

At least should be mean testing using family combined resources

• Ganyo 10 years ago

I think the esteemed Professor should sue this illiterate.

• Joe 10 years ago

Another Thing, he wants position

• James Laryea 10 years ago

What a shame!. This is typical of the state of behaviour in Ghana where just adopt to telling lies and fabricate stories without any conscience of telling the truth. In Ghana today a liar, a fabricator, a violent person, the ...

• Shirley 10 years ago

THEY CAN LEAVE

• kwabena ohemeng,london 10 years ago

Kwame Adinkra Amo does not live in the real world.Akosa had allowances paid to him when he was a medical student and the same must apply to nurses now.What an illogical conclusion based on the refusal to take into considerati ...

• Dr. E.V 10 years ago

IT IS UNFORTUNATE THAT MR AMO DOES NOT KNOW THAT MEDICAL STUDENTS(TRAINEE DOCTORS) DO NOT RECEIVE ALLOWANCES. MEDICAL STUDENTS PAY THE HIGHEST SCHOOL FEES, PURCHASE THEIR LAB. COATS, BOOKS STETHOSCOPES, SPHYMOMANOMETERS AND A ...

• clarence 10 years ago

IF IT IS TRUE IS HE THE ONLY PERSON TO HAVE DONE THIS? THERE ARE TOO MANY OUT THERE LAUGHING AND HAPPY WITH THEIR ILL FORGOTEEN WEALTH. WHAT DO WE DO AS A PEOPLE TP STOP THIS BEHAVIOUR ESPECIALLY FROM CEOS, POLITICIANS, AND T ...

• Nipany3 10 years ago

Certain inducements in the past,they ought to be kept, even if these benefits had outlived their usefulness
    and purpose? And this guy has the effontery to disparage Prof. too;what a childish way to reason and respond to iss ...

• Ametsime 10 years ago

Its unfortunate Ghanaians have allowed themselves to be fooled too much by this useless john mahamah. What is the use of the additional 45 MPs in parliament? Are they not being paid every month together with other allowances? ...

• Kuulu Kuulu 10 years ago

You are calling the President? You think it is easy to become President? Try running even for an Assemblyman! because everybody has the right to speak, you are also trying to say "something", right?

• Ametsime 10 years ago

john mahama is only good in womanizing; jumping from one lady to another to the extent of having sex in his office and yet Ghanaians don't see anything wrong with it.

• kofi nti 10 years ago

government SHOULD also scrap free education in the NORTH. EVERYBODY should pay school fees.

• Nana 10 years ago

@ kofi Nti,i support you paa:free education in the North should be scraped too.Nkwasia sem ara kwa! Ghanians deserve what is happening to them. NDC,Hmm....Asem oo

• SENSIBLE CITIZEN 10 years ago

Your NPP had eight solid years to scrap the scholarship for Northerners but they didn't so just keep your trout shut and stop blaming the NDC!

• Bonsu 10 years ago

The outcome of the govt's plan to scrap allowances given to nursing students will be a disaster for the nursing profession in ghana. One only needs to look at the current cost of nurse education and the burden it places on fa ...

• PUSHY 10 years ago

CAN HE PUT ALL HIS WEALTH ON THE TABLE?IT CAN BE DETERMINED WHETHER HE AMASSED WEALTH OR NOT.IF HE CAN'T HE SHOULD KEEP QUIET BECAUSE HE EARNED SALARY AND ALLOWANCES THAT CAN BE EASILY CALCULATED.

• BENNETT 10 years ago

DOCTORS IN TRAINING DO NOT COLLECT GOVERNMENT ALLOWANCES BUT SSNIT LOAN>! POINT OF CORRECTION!

• Abeiku 10 years ago

I am in full support of the decision by the government to scrap the allowances paid to teachers and nurses. They should asses the student loan trust as alternative funding of their education. One set of tertiary students woul ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

CORRUPTION IN THAILAND

Thailand: Protesters Enter Govt Headquarters

After three days of clashes with anti-government demonstrators, police have been ordered to stand down to avoid more violence.

• JH New York 10 years ago

I said it before on this blog and I repeat :
    In Ghana people come out of School,get the position,only to add more problems to existing ones.Irrespective of the fact that they enjoyed govt allowances at the time to help them ...

• Timothy Onestone 10 years ago

After these nursing trainees have benefited from governmental support in form of allowances and now become graduates, they usually resort to incessant strike actions against the same government in seeking redress as regards ...

• john martey (New York) 10 years ago

Nurses in country like USA dont get allowance when attending nursing schools

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Amo harbors animus against Akosah for a knopwn personal reason.

• SAFO, NY 10 years ago

LETS GO BACK IN HISTORY AND CORRECT ME IF I HAVE MISQUOTED ANYBODY BUT THE LATE LT. GEN. AKWASI AMANKWA AFRIFA DID THE SAME THING TO TEACHERS IN TRAINING COLLEGES.HE SAID "IT WILL BE UNWISE" TO CONTINUE PAYING ALLOWANCES TO T ...

• ASIEDU NKETIA 10 years ago

DOn't worry. he is a greedy bastard

• Pancho 10 years ago

Useless fool. Another old guard that benefitted from the system but now turned their back and ruined the same system they benefitted from

• Dr. E.V 10 years ago

T IS UNFORTUNATE THAT MR AMO DOES NOT KNOW THAT MEDICAL STUDENTS(TRAINEE DOCTORS) DO NOT RECEIVE ALLOWANCES. MEDICAL STUDENTS PAY THE HIGHEST SCHOOL FEES, PURCHASE THEIR LAB. COATS, BOOKS STETHOSCOPES, SPHYMOMANOMETERS AND AL ...

• Mark sadongo.a student nurse 10 years ago

The government should scrapped and face the risk of losing 2016 election

• student nurse 10 years ago

Foolish prof.with stupid ideas

• Jeff, UK 10 years ago

You know where to go if you have evidence that he illegally amassed wealth whilst in office as Director General. This is becoming too much in GH. Nothing is static. The policy in his view has outlived its usefulness. Students ...

• Moses Atiah 10 years ago

Why is it that some govt employees are not being fair to other future employees? Do you take into consideration the poor who wish to give out their quota to mother Ghana? Please give we the trainees a break about this scrapin ...