Nkrumah is the greatest African not Mandela – Akosa

Read Comments Comments (329)

• SK 10 years ago

AFRICANS TO KNOWN!!!

• Rev. Prempeh Bonsu, USA 10 years ago

Do not compare apple and orange. Mandela and Nkrumah were both great sons of Africa. Stop the unnecessary controversy. They did their parts. Let us do ours instead of messing things up in Africa.

• NEMESIS ROCKET, UK 10 years ago

Must everything revolve around Ghana and Ghanaians? The body of the late great Nelson Mandela, is still lying in state, and these JEALOUSE GHANAIANS can't even wait for his body to be hurried before the, Ghanaians started th ...

Should read. To be burried...lol

• NEMESIS' BROTHER, ALSO IN UK 10 years ago

MR NEMESIS, DO YOU KNOW THAT YOU HAVE A PROBLEM?

Nemesis brother? Maybe in your dreams. NEMESIS ROCKET stands for the truth, and nothing but the TRUTH. Therefore, get thee away from ye Satanic Impersonator. You are too low to step into the shoe of the GREAT NEMESIS.

I ...

• daavi 10 years ago

Mandela never betrayed the people that made him. Can we say the same for Nkrumah.

now we see the international community through their credit agencies moody's marking the state of the country's economy as going from bad to worse in reality its just hopeless as long as pepeni and his crooks are there . this ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Enough of this self-induced hypnotic bull crap...Kwame Nkrumah this, Kwame Nkrumah that. Why will anybody in his right mind inject such nonsense at the time we are mourning the passing of a great man such as Mandela?

Is it ...

• NPP KWASEAFUO PARTY 10 years ago

Since you are an NPPist, this is the best time to try a snatch glory from Kwame Nkrumah. You people have failed to denigrate Nkrumah and have been trying unsuccessfully to rather promote Danquah so this will is a perfect oppo ...

• Bishop Kokroko 10 years ago

Stop it...Some professors can be real stupid. Why this debate at this time? So ignorant.. So stupid. PROFESSOR ?????

• Abeiku 10 years ago

What sacrifice did Nkrumah make? He hijacked the independence process and subsequently killed those who started it. Please do not compare him to Mandela. The so called prof knows nothing about Mandela.

• ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT 10 years ago

PLEASE YOU CANNOT COMPARE MANDELA TO NKRUMAH. THERE ARE BIG DIFFERENCES BETWEEN THEM. MANDELA WASNT SELFISH, MANDELA UNITED SOUTH AFRICAN PEOPLE, MANDELA STARTED FIGHTING FOR INDEPENCE FOR SOUTH AFRICA. COMPARE HOW MANY DIGNI ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 10 years ago

Will someone please explain this to me,
    Has someone drawn any comparison?
    Really there is no need for this; especiallyt a time like this when Madiba is being buried.
    Both leaders had their criticisms and foibles. Not è ...

• Koo 10 years ago

Hi Daavi, Let me tell you that Kwame Nkrumah was a greedy man who never achieved his aim. His intention was to become the President of Africa during that time. Nkrumah like JJ Rawlings killed his opponents, imprisoned his opp ...

• kWADWO AMPONSH (GHANA) 10 years ago

GOOD GUY YOU REALLY NIL THE POINTS. NKRUMAH WAS A TERRORIST. AFRICA WOULD HAVE GOT NO WHERE WITH HIM. THE ONLY OPTION HE WAS AWAITING FOR WAS THE ATOMIC BOMB TO DISTROY OUR DEAR NATION. GHNANA AND AFRICA WOULD HAVE BEEN LIKE ...

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Reasonably unreasonable!!!

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Kwadwo,you are a wise man and know a little about Kwame Nkruma.

• Ikemens 10 years ago

I really pity some Ghanaians who know nothing other than throwing dust in the eyes of others. What the hell to say that Nkrumah was behind the death of Patrice Lumumba of Congo? Is because the Ghanaian troops prevented him t ...

• Koo 10 years ago

Hi Mr Ikemens, you cannot convince me, it was a plan from Nkrumah to overthrow/murder Balewa after the British PM has gone. I repeat, it was a planned thing. Regarding Patrice Lumumba of Congo, Nkruma again used the occasion ...

• william 10 years ago

Pathetic comment!Mandela is a beneficiary of what Nkrumah and others fought for!Surely Mandela is UNDOUTEDLY a great man, in terms of promoting forgivess, national cohesion, democracy.But in the 20th Century it is a big lie t ...

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Leave them alone. Because Nkrumah had not kowtow to the western supremacists. We have quickly forgotten that Mandela was on the CIA terrorist watchlist until he agreed for reconciliation with the white oppresors in South Afr ...

• SAM 10 years ago

I AGREE WITH AKOSA THAT NKRUMAH WAS THE GREATEST AFRICAN.MANDELA WITH ALL THE HELP FROM THE WEST COULD NOT SOLVE A TENTH OF SOUTH AFRICA'S PROBLEMS.THE WHITE STILL PULL THE STRINGS.WE LIVE TO SEE WHAT WILL BEFALL S.A. AFTER M ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 10 years ago

President Mandela declined jailing those who tortured him but employed them in
    his administration, some of them even
    were appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs, Deputy President etc., but in the case of Nkrumah, he arrested ...

• Ikemens 10 years ago

The people who made Mandela never attempted to assassinate him. We cannot say the same for Nkrumah though. That is the difference between them.

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

As a man of Ghanaian herritage I feel totally ashamed and confused by the comments of Mr Akosawhen Mr Mandela's funeral is still in progress. He has embelished the selfish,callous and aloof reputation of the Ghanaian politic ...

• william 10 years ago

?

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

FUCK EVERY NIGERIAN PRESIDENT YAR ADUA , ABACHA, OBASANJO, NNAMDI AZIKIWE, FUCK U ALL NIGERIANS, FUCK NEMESIS ROOSTER, UK. I SHIT ON ALL ALATA PEOPLE,

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Thanks bro. These crooks are polluting Ghana just as they did in their country and some unreasonable beings agree with them.

NOW LET ME BEGINS FROM THOSE UGLY KAPWEPWE GORILLAS WHO SIRED YOU. FUCK YOUR PAPA, MAMA AND ALL DEVILISH AND MURDEROUS AKANS 'METIMEHU' TORRORISTS TRIBE. YOUR SHITHOLE GHANA WAS THE EPITOME OF TERRORISM SINCE THE 1950S AND T ...

• ISSAKA ISSAH 10 years ago

they are all different people with different thinking, and way of doing things, so they cannot be equal,GOD knows best who is greater. may GOD grant all of them his mercy.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 10 years ago

I hope CPP is not turning Madela's death and the subsequent global response into Nkrumah -v - Mandela. It's uncalled for. They are both great and championed different causes. There is no need to compare the two. Ceasefire ple ...

Thanks Mr. Kofi, you are very sensible in your comment. I love both Dr. Kwameh Nkrumah and Nelson Madiba Mandela, of the blessed memories. They are both GREAT SONS of mama Africa, that we should be proud of. Thanks once agai ...

• ZAMIA, LONDON 10 years ago

GHANA IS GOING ASTRAY, ALL BECAUSE OF THOSE EDUCATED FOOLS LIKE PROF AKOSA WHO HAS HIJACKED THE COUNTRY WITH THEIR STUPID DEGREES.
    I AM HIGHLY DISAPPOINTED AT YOU BECAUSE YOUR STUPID COMPARISON IS UNCALLED FOR.SHAME!

• Maclean 10 years ago

THANK ZAMIA

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Ignore this man . His father , DC Akosa of Asante Mampong ,caused the arrest of several people in the area ,some of whom died in Nsawam prisons without being tried. He was a beneficiary of Nkrumah 's largesse to his henchmen ...

• Bishop Kokroko 10 years ago

Oh yes.. You can be educated and still be stupid..and a fool too.

• Sankara 10 years ago

Akosa,woy3 kwasea,wonim nyansa

• GM 10 years ago

Akosa , You are ten thousand percent right. Nkrumah has no match in Africa.

• Nyametsease 10 years ago

Akosa, you could have waited after the funeral of Mandela-this is Mandela's time.
    Stop mixing oranges and apples-both Nkrumah and Mandela were great in their own way.
    Stop this nonsense of comparing the two great sons of Af ...

• Hajai Fatu 10 years ago

I think both are great leaders and we dont have to do these comparism now.They are all great in their own ways.Nkrumah died when some of were not yet born,we are esperiencing Mandelas death now so lets join our south African ...

• www.ghanatopten.com 10 years ago

On the occasion of the passion of one of Africa's greats is definitely not the time to pick petty character points. Shame on you, Akosa. What a moron!

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Say that again, Akosa is just an idiot.

• OBAMA WAS WRONG BIG TIME. 10 years ago

We are being robbed of our history and contribution to the liberation of the African continent. Those who played no role will have nothing to say but not Ghana. Ghana has so much to teach and tell the world of how Africa free ...

• KOFI AYISI IN KOREA 10 years ago

Just as Ghana is positioned almost at the centre of our planet, Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah during his stewardship, was ahead of every person Black or White and his ideals, foresight, focus, etc. was studied, copied and practi ...

• CONTEMNOR 10 years ago

THE ONLY MISTAKE NKRUMAH MADE WAS THE EMANCIPATION OF BOKO HARAM STATE NIGERIA. HE SHOULD HAVE ALLOWED THESE GOOD FOR NOTHING LOUD MOUTHED ALATA PEOPLE TO SERVE THE COLONIAL MASTERS FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVE. NO NIGERIAN EVE ...

YOU CAN SCREAMS FROM HERE TO ETERNITY CONTEMNOR, YOUR EVIL TRIBE OF BOTH SELFISH IBOS (I, BEFORE OTHERS), AND AKANS, CAN NEVER AND WILL NEVER ACHIEVE WHAT THE YORUBA TRIBE ACHIEVE IN AFRICA. YOU CAN QUOTE AZIKIWE TILL KINGDOM ...

• Oh-Andy -K 10 years ago

This Akosa guy speaks for himself. He is one of those fools with oversize ego and peanut brain. Nobody is saying Nkrumah is not great but he is NOT Mandela. He was Kwame Nkrumah, a philosopher King in his own right, just as M ...

• concern 10 years ago

This is absolute jealousy coupled with stupidity on the part of this guy to be making comments such as this that Nkrumah was greater than Mandela.
    This great man, Mandela is not buried yet and this fool of a prof is rushing ...

• TRUTHSTANDS 10 years ago

Mandela was, without doubt, a very great son of Africa and the world, but none can deny the fact that he was a product of the African liberation process unleash by Dr. Nkrumah, the greatest African of the past millennium. Nkr ...

• KENKEY BOY 10 years ago

NKRUMAH helped to liberate Africa, whilst Mandela, only helped to liberate his people in South Africa ...

• BOY CURIOUS 10 years ago

I DO HEAR SOME PEOPLE SAY NKRUMAH OF AFRICA. WHAT EXACTLY HE DID TO HELP THE LIBERATION OF AFRICA. CAN SOMEONE THERE PLEASE TELL ME.

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

This idiot Akosah should not start any war of words by comparing and contrasting the two reknown Africans and telling us which one was the greatest. Both of them did a lot for Africa and as human beings, they were not perfect ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

The nervous young bride became irritated by her husband Cardinal lusty advances on their wedding night and reprimanded him severely.

"I demand proper manners in bed," she declared, "just as I do at the dinner table!"

• mama ceci 10 years ago

you are so rotten! prince willy how could you?

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I am embarrassed. Can you imagine this idiot, I mean a useless stupid womanizer like that wanted to be the head of our Country?

The nation that was "founded" by Nkrumah still does not have water and electricity for its pe ...

• owusu 10 years ago

how can he say such nonsense, all he akosa does is run around accra following small girls, and because of that he is comparing himself to madiba... foloolish man akosa foolish man!!

• Rex 10 years ago

It always amazes me when people try to gain 15 minutes of fame by making such baseless comparisons. Mandela is being extoled upon the basis of his suffering and virtues. Very few people in the 20th and 21st century have endur ...

• Moi 10 years ago

I am so embrass that a whole academia would even have the guts to say this loud and clear. come on prof wake up. These great GIANT ARE ALL PHENOMINO IN THEIR OWN WAY. CAN YOU COMPARE STRAW-BERRIES WITH BLUE BERRIES.

• zola (usa) 10 years ago

THANKS BROTHER.THIS IS STUPID. WHY CANT SOMEONE PUT SENSE IN HIS HEAD

• Kwadjoe, London 10 years ago

I agree with you totally, Rev. We must do our part. We must allow our institutions to work. Nkrumah gave us the opportunity to manage our own affairs and we have messed it up. Mandela said, you have built the instutions, dont ...

• NII LARTEY NARTEY 10 years ago

Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah will always stand undefeated as the most greatest African leader of all time. Indeed not only the greatest African leader but Blacks in diaspora and the oppressed all over the world including America an ...

• OSOFONANA 10 years ago

Just scan the names you list as have been mentored by Nkrumah: dictators, murderers and megalomaniacs! They took after him and ruined the spirit of Africa. Nkrumah saw himself as a 'god' who could his own brand of oppression ...

• Kwaame 10 years ago

Thank you very much. They are all jealous.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Who was chosen by African BBC listeners as the African Millennium Man? Wasn't it Nkrumah who was dead long before 2000 and when Mandela was alive? So this debate is a moot one - a foregone conclusion. Nkrumah trumped Mandela ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

The whites all over the world are praising the greatest human being that ever lived. And the Nkrumahists are throwing fit all around. They are criticizing and blaming the whites for doing so because Mandela dance to their tun ...

• Frank Appiah 10 years ago

NKRUMAH IS UNIVERSALLY ACKNOWLEDGED AS AFRICA'S MAN OF THE MILLION.NO ARGUMENT.

• gretchy 10 years ago

yes i concur my friend,theyre both Africans.they both had different ideas.Mandela embraced globally and well Nhrumah got Ghana moving.Lets hope and follow both of their dreams ehh!!!

• Kondendiara Kakraba 10 years ago

Ain't you too big for this argument? And of what value is this to the ordinary man who can't have a three squared meals a day?

• Konkonte Kakraba 10 years ago

I agree with you about the argument.
    I think we've just disgraced ourselves before the world, and especially before other Africans, just as NEMESIS proved.

At the same time, I know that in a democracy, nothing goes un-deb ...

• Ka Na Wu 10 years ago

Another fool and corrupt Akosa

WHAT IS THIS PERSON TALKING ABOUT? IS HE OR SHE LOOSING HIS OR HER MIND?
    tHIS IS NOT THE TIME FOR THIS. WHO EVER IS TRYING TO BRING IN THIS TOPIC SEEMS TO BE BRINGING IT OUT AT THE WRONG TIME. wE KNOW AND BELIEVE WE HAVE AL ...

• Omanba kwaku 10 years ago

PROFESSOR, I THINK THERE IS NO NEED FOR COMPARISON. THEY WERE BOTH GREAT SONS OF AFRICA.BOTH FOUGHT SIMILAR BUT DIFFERENT RELEVANT COURSE OF AFRICA. THAT'S IT!
    CASE CLOSE.

• coolman 10 years ago

south Africa is not a independen country,what is the meaning of South Africa in zulu language,blacks are still suffering,where by white are still enjoying.

• Prof 10 years ago

Stupid commentary... why do you people continue to eulogize Nkrumah, as if he was a saint; Nkrumah was also a murderer, killing and imprisoning his political opponents- he CANNOT be compared to Mandela.. please !!!

• RastafaraI 10 years ago

Nkrumah's focus was the whole continent and Mandela's was South Africa....SA was a handful...and Mandela avoided a bloodbath...

• Abeoku Yanka 10 years ago

Nkrumah was very bad for Ghana. He wasted our money. He was disillusioned, for he wanted to become the president of United States of Africa. He could not unite west and east Nzimas, but had his eyes on Untied States of Africa ...

SAD

• KOFI KLUDJESONSON 10 years ago

Nkrumah named everything after himself. the circle, a university, Ideological institute, Kwame Nkrumah avenue, put his picture on Ghana's currency, erected his statue in front of parliamenT HOUSE and declared himself presiden ...

• Sergeant Frafra 10 years ago

Hmmm! Our down fall was Nkrumah, we were luck that he was kicked out in 1966.

• KOFI KLUDJESONSON KWASEA 10 years ago

Nkrumah passed away before UST and the avenue bore his name and the statue was built for him.

t was your stupid grandparents who were threatening his life that made him ban them and declare himself Life President.
    Don't b ...

• ABU 10 years ago

That is a figment of your imaginations.With this type of mentality the African high command was never put up and always have to fall back to europe to solve our problems with Nigeria, Liberia,Sierra Leon,Mali Kenya,Burundi,Ru ...

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

" dictator & communist" are just buzz words, especially if you don't make an effort to define them. Give the reasons why you are describing as "dictator & communist".

• Agyeman 10 years ago

I hate this "my dick is bigger than yours" kinds of debates.And its being fed by minnows who'll never achieve even 1/8 of what these two did.Small minds dwell on people,average minds dwell on events but True great people disc ...

• Danny, London 10 years ago

Abeoku Yanka, where did you get such information as Dr Nkrumah been both dictator and communist? Somehow, you need to get your facts right OK.

On the order hand I will not be surprised you told this by your parents or some ...

• ABBA 10 years ago

Didn't dictator Kwame Nkrumah drive his political opponents out from Ghana? Why did Nkrumah political opponents fled from Ghana? Was he not trying to kill his political opponents?. Who killed JB Danquah? Wasn't Kwame Nkrumah? ...

• OSOFONANA 10 years ago

You distort history to deify one who manipulated the constitution to jail and murder fellow nationalists in order to hold on to power for life. I won't be surprised if your parents are CPP sycophants who lost their heads and ...

God used both for a purpose...God remains the greatest

• Eben Donkor 10 years ago

Why do you make such a comparison? We are living and the now of things not the yesterdays. As a professor, I'm sure one of the first things you will teach your students is do not compare apples to oranges. Osagyefo passed ...

• KOFI OWUSU 10 years ago

Whereas both Nkrumah and Mandela were freedom fighters that helped to liberate their people, they operated in different eras and under different circumstances. Mandela's era was paved by the successes of Nkrumah and earlier f ...

• Justin Pwavra Teriwajah 10 years ago

I can sleep very soundly knowing that I am still sane since it is comforting to know that I am not the only African who believes that Kwame Nkrumah is the greatest African who ever lived and also that Nelson Mandela is essent ...

• Billyblasta 10 years ago

Indeed, Kwame Nkrumah is the greatest African of all time. These whites by nature would praise what goes their favour. Think about Gadaffi and others.

• Obenfo 10 years ago

I have nothing against world leaders especially the Western World, mourning Mandala; some of their words are just rethoric meant to create confussion among Africans. We don't need them to tell us the difference. We Africans, ...

• yendi boy 10 years ago

This man is dead what is the comparison again.May their souls rest in perfect peace

• WOFA YAW 10 years ago

I THINK OUR NKRUMAH,CAME THROUGH OTHERS BEFORE HE WAS BEEN KNOWN.BUT AS MANDELA HE WAS A FOUNDER OF A NATION,SO DO NOT LET US JUDGE.

• Shamu 10 years ago

Excuse me. There is someone left without mentioning his name. The man is J J Rawlings. What is all this gambling for? Apart from corruption, stealing and killings, what do Ghanaian know? If not the coming of this very young m ...

• IRRATIONAL GHANAIANS! 10 years ago

out of jelousy,africans will never prosper.compare and contrast.nkrumah drove away the whites after independence,mandela united both the white and blacks after his freedom.africans attitude sucks!!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

is this even necessar? MANDELA IS IN THE HALL OF FAME OF FREEDOM FIGHTERS IN HEAVEN WITH NKRUMAH, ETC. NKRUMAH WAS THE BLUEPRINT. MANDELA, TAMBO ETC ALL LEARNED AND TOOK INSPIRATION FROM NKRUMAH SO THIS DEBATE IS POINTLESS... ...

• Hali Jagleh 10 years ago

Nkrumah was a dictator; Mandela was not. That is the difference.

• Remove Indemnity Clause 10 years ago

let us think about how to eliminate all corrupt leaders from Africa starting from Ghana,Nigeria ,Equiatoria Guinea etc.

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

Please don't let us go there.Black folks are divided enough.Our energies and intellects
    must be deployed in the study of natures' laws for our development.Western world has done this.The Asian worid has done this. Let us fo ...

• Palogo 10 years ago

What is the point? is this a debate we should be having now. Africans and unnecessary divisions. Mandela and Nkrumah have all played their and they both deserve our respect.This debate will not help us except bring divisions ...

YOU KNOW WHY?

Your history as a Ghanaian is being stolen from you by people who don't know the story in whole.

Anything that takes away from Nkrumah is encouraged and promoted by UP-NPP people. That has been the story since independenc ...

• ATO 10 years ago

THE MAN IS DEAD. WHO CARES NOW WHO IS WHO? VERY SELFISH TALK.
    TALK ABOUT GETTING JOBS 4 THE YOUTH AND BUILDING GHANA 4 ALL TO ENJOY. LEAVE THE DEAD PEOPLE ALONE.
    ABAHHHHHHH!!!!!!!

• Afeto Kosi. 10 years ago

This is a silly debate. Nkrumah's ideals have evaporated a long time ago.All you guys do is to loot the national coffers and yet say you are Nkrumaists.

• GF 10 years ago

What a silly argument by a less informed African. Nkrumah during his time was not the top liberator. He also had the backing of the west and had a lot of african americans behind him with ideas e.g WEB Dubious.Nkrumahs proble ...

• kwaku darko 10 years ago

wei nso 3ka s3n?

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

How can a polarizing figure like Nkrumah be compared to Mandela. CPP and young pioneer sycophants. This is what brainwashing does to a person.

• Justin Pwavra Teriwajah 10 years ago

I can sleep very soundly knowing that I am still sane since it is comforting to know that I am not the only African who believes that Kwame Nkrumah is the greatest African who ever lived and also that Nelson Mandela is essent ...

• YEBOAH OBENG.TEXAS. 10 years ago

PLEASE,stop all this BULL.... Your noise wont go anywhere.You cant compare Nkrumah to Mandela.Look at how Nkrumah could not tolerate opposition. He crippled all opposition leaders,threw them in jail and killed many others.I w ...

• Agness Dick 10 years ago

NPP, just let it go. NKRUMAH IS THE GREATEST AFRICAN. Weather he was a monster or dictator he is the one Africa leaders recognize asthe greatest. AU has honored him. AU had not honored Mandela because he did nothing for the ...

In 2000, Africans (not Americans) chose Nkrumah as the African of the Millennium.

Mandela was president of South Africa from 1994 - 1999, after 27 years in jail and yet still Africans chose Nkrumah over Mandela as their m ...

• KN 10 years ago

Mandela is the greatest South African

Kwame Nkrumah is the greatest African.

Compare both and what each did for Africa.

• Stone 10 years ago

How dare hypocrite Akosa compare selfish Nkrumah to mandella? To me Nkrumah was the mistake third to Mills and Mahama that ever happened to Ghana. Talk about Africa Gadafi is the man, second to Madiba.

• Odasanyi,London 10 years ago

Dr Akosah, you are having a one sided debate which does not go beyond the borders of Ghana. I can assure you that it has not crossed any of the minds of Obama and the rest that Africa sees Nkrumah as the greatest liberator ti ...

• USA 10 years ago

This myopic view of CPP leaders is the reason why they will never win the vote of the young people. Nkrumah misuse the monies of Ghana

• Kofi Mensah 10 years ago

Professor Akosa, you have a problem.
    The NPP do not agree that Dr Nkrumah is the greatest African.

• Palogo 10 years ago

You must be very naïve to believe the hype about Mandela. His own people live in abject poverty while he hosts Hollywood stars. What was his legacy? Forgiveness? Please! Does Barack Obama and his bellicose country forgive? ...

• CARDINAL 10 years ago

Nonsense. South Africans live in abject poverty and Ghanaians are trooping to that country like there is fire in Ghana.

The fact is that, the standard of living in South Africa is higher than any African country and the po ...

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

When was the last time you visited Zimbabwe?
    Mugabe got more cheers and handclaps than the socialist Obama.

• BIKO 10 years ago

Those Ghanaians trooping to SA are not
    Informed .This is an extremely violent
    Country where you can die anytime very
    Crime ridden . Poverty in exponential multiples
    Not a nice African country at all

• kontonkyi, belgium 10 years ago

This is not the time for comparism please.

• ADABRAKA 10 years ago

Why should Ghanaians make mockerry abt Nkrumah and Mandela? They are have different characters to their ideas. The best thing is that SAs didn't reject Madiba during his 27 yrs behind bars, Ghanaians became stooges and betray ...

• Hamzah Abubakar 10 years ago

WHAT GOOD DID NKRUMAH DO? HE RATHER GAVE OUR MONEY FOR WOMEN AND SHARED IT TO OTHER COUNTRIES. MADIBA DIDN'T DO THAT BUT LIVED PEACEFUL WITH THOSE WHO TREATED HIM BADLY. WE ARE NOT OLD BUT AT LEAST WE KNOW A LOT SO HE SHOULD ...

• Stanley 10 years ago

Nkrumah that,Nkrumah that, What have we done after Nkrumah left? Selling what he left for us.

• Kofi Nyante 10 years ago

Dr. Akosah, what did you say? I think both men were/are unique in their own rights. But, more seriously, there is no need for any comparison at all. If you do that, as Kwaku Baako has also done you'll open a can of worms. Ple ...

• tiger shark 10 years ago

the Situation in south africa was a different one.We hat a colonial power in Ghana but no Apartheid.Nkrumah never had to fight Apartheid so why compare nkrumah and mandela.it is wrong and misleading..We have heaps of
    Problem ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

The comparison is because Western Leaders proclaim Mandela to be the greatest African Leader.
    He prevented a blood bath in his country but the people of Soweto still live in shanty accommodation. Did he have a 5 year Develop ...

• Kofi UK 10 years ago

The question is what did Mandela do for Africa? This man could not even help his own neighbour Zimbabwe who suffered in the hands of White South Africans when they bombed them many times for harbouring ANC activists. He sat a ...

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

I rest my case....................
    Mandela stood up against white oppression for as long as he could and eventually; he humanly tolerated everything just for the sake of peace in only South Africa without considering the di ...

• Prof. and Dr. owusu bempah 10 years ago

since your childhood you have been very illogical .how could you have studied medicine. nkrumah , by fighting the west was taking on a battle he was not prepared for. how do you talk about uniting Africa when you have not eve ...

• KAP 10 years ago

Is this guy high? Nkrumah strived to rule through divide and conquer whereas as Nelson did the oppose. He united a nations regardless of color or creed. Nkrumah can't top that. May both men rest in perfect peace

• Aluta Continua 10 years ago

Nkrumah or Mandela?
    Most of the world recognizes Mandela, so it doesn't matter, Mandela wins, but we Ghanaians will continue to debate this fiercely.

Pele or Maradona?
    Most of the world recognizes Pele, so it doesn't mat ...

• Okoto Francis S. 10 years ago

Prof AKOSA, you are very right.Look at Nkrumah and the Pan-African Movement. African Renaissance etc. Mandela is the most popular of African Heroes BUT NKRUMAH IS THE GREATEST!

• GF 10 years ago

Nkrumahs record on human rights were bad,Ghana was not oppressed by the British but colonized,SA were oppressed and it takes a selfless man to work and give his life for his people.

• Emmanuel Boye 10 years ago

l live in South Africa before coming to America Black South Africans are still below class in the country he did not help the blacks at all, Ghana still owns our land not South Africa the whites owns everything too much pover ...

• LARRAB 10 years ago

STONE go and read history and stop talking any how..Nkrumah is the greatest even Mandela n ghadafi knew that but foolish Ghanaian cant even recognize the great things Nkrumah as done to Africa..Mr Akosa u are very intelligent

• MOSHOOD 10 years ago

Me think the two are heroes of our time, they did so well for black emancipation in different capacities that shook the western world. Methods and approaches is what sets the two apart, while Nkrumah's fight was centered on ' ...

• kontonkyi, belgium 10 years ago

When will you learn lesson? do you think you are better than all these world leaders?

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Wrong comparison.
    Nkrumah was a continentalist, while Mandela was a nationalist. The people of Ghana have failed to play their role as continentalists.
    They continued to be nationalistic - forgetting what Nkrumah said: tha ...

• Conventional Youth 10 years ago

Independence without

1. Social Justice

2. Self Determination / Domestication

= Neo colonialism

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

Get your facts right. Nkrumah did not support ANC which did not do the bidding of his communists masters .He rather supported the PAC.which was supported by the KGB. The was why he ignored Mandela when he visited Ghana.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Stop this baseless comparison. Nkrumah was a cruel dictator who tortured. lynched and murdered his own people. Wasted Ghana money not to materialize himself but for his own fame. He make believed Ghana has no problem and he h ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

What is wrong with Africans? Irresponsible competition. What is his objective? Is this supposed to generate trash talk? So after the day what is the accomplishment, if one is greater than the other, which is not the case. Why ...

• asare 10 years ago

Did you guys read this at all? the prof was making his argument based on the fact that, world leaders said Mandela is the“Greatest African Liberator of the 20th century” and the prof disagree with that and was stating his ...

• Soothsayer 10 years ago

This is not the time to even discuss which of these great sons of Africa was greatest. Let's bury the man [Madiba] and pay our last respects. That is our duty today, not this nonsense.

• ATO KWAMENA, USA. 10 years ago

PRO. AKOSA YOU ARE 100% RIGHT TO THE POINT. WE WHO LIVED IN THE ERA OF KWAME NKRUMAH AND WE SAW THE KIND OF MAN HE WAS, CAN NEVER BE COMPEARED TO ANY AFRICAN LEADER BOTH PAST AND PRESENT. KWAME WAS FIGHTING FOR TOTAL LIBERATI ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

On the Africa continent right now, there's no current leader that can compare to Mandela but in the history of the continent to date, no African, including Mandela himself can compare to Nkrumah. Nkrumah was a pan African wit ...

• DrG 10 years ago

This debate about Mandela and Nkrumah is uncalled for! Those wasting their grey matter on this silly comparison between these two great sons of Africa should rather focus their energies on how to move Ghana forward, period.

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

THE VERY ASHANTES WHO DESTROYED DR.KWAME NKRUMAH ARE PRAISING HIM TODAY OH LORD
    HAVE MERCY ON GHANAIANS

• Menua Kwadwo 10 years ago

When did Lt. Col. E K Kotoka, J W K Harlley and A K Deku become asantes.Moron, go and learn the history of Ghana(Gold Coast)1844 to date; and for God's sake do not leave corporal Ametepe's assassination attempt out.

• Boakye 10 years ago

JOBLESS MAN

• nana 10 years ago

nobody should compare mandela to Nkrumah,he fought 4 the Whole Africa but mandela only apease the west that is why there is no Peace in South Africa look at the unemployment among the blacks anybody can do what mandela did ju ...

• Sick people 10 years ago

...but there is peace and prosperity in Ghana!

• Kwesi 10 years ago

The less said about it the better.

• zola (usa) 10 years ago

THERE IS SOMETHIN CALLED COMMON SENSE THATS EXACTLY WHAT WE AFRICANS LACK.

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

Thanking Akosa; Nkrumah is the greatest Sub-Sahara Afican ever lived

- Mandela fought against apartheid rule in South Africa

- Marcus Garvie agitated for resettlement back to Africa of freed slaves in the Americas

• K.A. Toronto 10 years ago

Please ! ! At least Nelson Mandela did not practice Communism, unlike Nkrumah. Mandela did not imprisioned those who did not agree with him.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Mandela is the greatest and he earned it not putting his people in jail and corrupt!

• edmond 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up Akosa, we need not comparison cos we know they are all great men, why the heck does nkrumah have to die abroad? all cos of the ungratefulness of his people, mandela was appreciated by his people and didnt di ...

• DAVID TUTU 10 years ago

kwame nkrumah is the greatest of them all because he fought for the entire african continent and the world at large whiles mandela did his own only in south africa the fame mandela enjoyed tells us that he negotiated for fame ...

• Edward 10 years ago

Aren't we bless for people like Dr. Kwame Nkrumah and Madiba Mandela That today you can talk the nonsense and even insult others. God bless Africa

• Paa 10 years ago

This guy is crazy...I can't believe he educates out student.

We hear you. Take your seat. I wonder what that who is who contest will bring to Ghana. I thought Ghana had more urgent and important issues to deal with. Even when the West, East and Center eulogise Mandela, some people have ...

• ALHAJI KANO 10 years ago

MR PROF THIS IS NOT IMPORTANT.MADIBA IS DEAD AND GONE FOREVER AS WELL AS NKRUMAH.AFTER ALL MADIBA NEVER TRIED TO BE A DICTATOR,BUT NKRUMAH WAS.YOUR ARE TALKING OF HIS AFRICANNESS.WHERE IS IT NOW, HE JUST WASTED OUR MONEY FOR ...

• TEE 10 years ago

ALL YOU IDIOTS YOU TALK ABOUT NKRUMAH WHILES EVEN YOUR PARENTS NEVER ENTERED INTO CLASSROOM BEFORE. I CAN NEVER URGING WITH PEOPLE LIKE YOU AND I KNOW WHERE YOU PEOPLE ARE COMING FROM, BUSH BUSH BUSH PEOPLE.

• KWAME,NEW JERSEY,USA 10 years ago

Mandela did not imprison his opponents,he did not declare a one party state.He stepped down after just one term.He did not declare himself life president.I hope Prof.Akosa has not forgotten the history so soon.The struggle fo ...

Show me one thing that Mandela did for Africa?

Even his own people are wallowing in poverty. Nkrumah didn't only lead his people to freedom, he also laid concrete foundation for the development of Ghana, something that co ...

• YOOMOBEGA 10 years ago

What are you and Samia doing to make the CPP as great as MADIBA's ANC? Like a typical Ghanaian politician, it is all talk.
    What are you guys doing to revive Nkrumah's party?

• AKASI MARTHA NZEMA 10 years ago

THE LIVITE'S OF GHANA/AFRICA THE NZEMAS MY PRAYER IS THAT THE CONTINENT OF AFRICA TO GIVE US MORE GREATS MEN LIKE NKRUMAH AND MANDELA. MANDELA HAS MADE IT POSSIBLE THAT WHITE AND BLACK CAN LIVE TOGETHER. NKRUMAH HAS TAUGHT US ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Basically,this is a "my dick is bigger than yours" kind of debate.And its being fed by minnows who'll never achieve even 1/8 of what these two did.Iguess its true that Small minds dwell on people,average minds dwell on events ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Kwasiasem a kwabkwa. There goes another fool. Wat nonsense is this. Who cares about who was greatter?

• JH New York 10 years ago

Exactly,but there's no need to compare as the records speak for themselves.They have a.hand in Nkrumah's's overthrow,therefore he couldn't be mentioned.That is simple Common Sense.So Prof.Akosa why do you
    worry yourself to ...

• Foolish Ghanaian toilet prsident 10 years ago

All we are capable of doing is comparing and comparing. There are problems facing our people. Go to south Africa and look at the level of development there

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

I AM NOT GOING TO JUDGE ANYBODY, for I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT PEOPLE DO UNDER THE COVER OF DARKNESS.

HOWEVER, THIS IS WHAT I WILL SAY : EVEN A CRIMINAL, HAS SOME LOVE FOR HIS/HER FRIENDS AND FAMILY MEMBERS AND
    MAY ATTEMPT TO ...

• Nana 10 years ago

Professor AKOSA, you are quite right and honest intellectually. Yes Dr Kwame Nkrumah did a lot for Africa than Nelson MANDELA did. Dr Nkrumah was seen by western powers as a Communist and we all know well that communism is th ...

• Diasporan 10 years ago

A thought-provoking observation from a deep thinking Prof.

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

In your dreams, Prof Akosah. You sre saying that Mandela should have achieved more. Sure, but what about Nkrumah? Quite apart from the political side of things, what else did Nkrumah achieved? By the time Nkrumah was overthro ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

I love a man like you who speaks the truth without fear of intimidation. Nkrumak was a criminal who committed untold human right abuses on his people. Obama said this,Mandela not only freed his oppressed people and himself,he ...

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah is my hero 10 years ago

Nkrumah used our money to help liberate Africa including the funding of Mandela's ANC. Fools.

• asuo 10 years ago

Nkrumah can never be the greatest due to what he did to J B Dankwah and others. He misused our money foolishly

• the mez 10 years ago

this is the wrong time for comparism.we are mourning a great son of Africa.period.they had different ideologies I believe,if u ask me.

• Kwame Amosa 10 years ago

Mr Akosa, What is your problem? Dr Nkrumah, if he were alive today, will be at the funeral, extolling the glorious human deeds of a fallen comarade and patriot. Just as in Ghana, most World leaders of this generation can not ...

• MARCUS 10 years ago

I BLAME NPP FOR DR.KWAME NKRUMAH DOWNFALL LOCAL AGENT FOR THE CIA AND THE M15 .DR.K .NKRUMAH ALL THE WAY.

• KAKABO 10 years ago

I Am Ghanaian, but Nkrumah does not come anywhere near Mandela. How many political prisoners did Mandela cast into jail during his presidency. The mark of a great man is humility, justice to fellow men and tolerance for the o ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Thank you for being objective and seeing the truth.I'm Ghanaian too but i will not let blind self interest blur my judgement like many here.Mandela is the greater on -no contest there.

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Nkrumah was a strongman and self promoter,good at killing his own people.Mandela gets the gong from the whole world. The world would laugh at us having this stupid debate. Nkrumah can only be compared wth the likes of Mumgabe ...

• kofi 10 years ago

WHO IS THIS MORON OF A PROFESSOR? this is uncalled for. Why PROF? WHY? WE HAVE BOTH GREAT MEN OF AFRICA TO BE PROUD. STOP THE DIVISION NOW PROF. YOU MORON.

• peter 10 years ago

please may man mandela is greates ever, what is kwame nkrumah do neting oye obomsam paaaaaaaaa....

• nkrumah little 10 years ago

We know but this is not the time for this; we should not be dragged into this stupid business. I'm sure Nkrumah cares less about all this. What is important is to get your act together,for i'm sure Nkrumah is terribly disappo ...

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

NKURMAH WAS FOR AFRICA, BUT MANDELA WAS FOR SOUTH AFRICA. NKRUMAH SACRIFICED HIMSELF FOR AFRICA AND MANDELA DID THE SAME, BUT ONLY FOR SOUTH AFRICA.

• NANA USED BAWUMIA 10 years ago

PROF AKOSA SHOULD FORGIVE OBAMA FOR MESSING UP SO MUCH, BECAUSE HE IS TOO YOUNG TO KNOW ABOUT KWAME NKRUMAH. OBAMA DOESN'T KNOW THAT IT WAS NKRUMAH WHO INSPIRED DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR TO BEGIN THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT IN ...

• GF 10 years ago

civilrights movement did not start with Martin King and Nkrumah did not influence MLk. Nkrumah was rather trained radically in Chicago with ideas he never had like using the trade unions against the British.My father is an Af ...

• DANQUAH WAS A FUCKING DOG! 10 years ago

I doubt whether Obama really knows much about the continent Africa. I truly doubt if he knows that much.

• Tetteh Nubuor 10 years ago

This discussion is irrelevant! These two Africans live in two vast different eras. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah was educated in the West and had ambitions that was unattainable looking at the African educational development then in the ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

I think Prof. Akosah and his CPP should wait until Mandela's funeral is over to begin this unfortunate debate. Nkrumah too was a great man; the difference is that while Mandela chose to forgive his jailers, Nkrumah rather cho ...

• chamcham 10 years ago

NKRUMAH WAS A DICTATOR, MANDELA WAS NOT. AKOSA KNOWS THIS!!!!

• TUNDE 10 years ago

Your Nkrumah may have been a dictator but he liberated Ghana and helped put in place so many infrastructure for Ghana's development when you guys had independence. Don't forget how Nkrumah helped Africa too. Besides freedom t ...

• YAW-COLUMBUS OHIO USA 10 years ago

Please contribute with facts and figures and stop the insults.IN THE NUT SHELL ,BOTH NKRUMAH AND MANDELA ARE BOTH AFRICAN HEROS.THEY ALL DID GREAT THINGS TO HELP AFRICA.

• HABLUTA SENYO 10 years ago

FOOLISH GHANAIANS DO NOT THINK ABOUT HOW
    TO BUILD MODERN GHANA.ONLY TO REMAIN IN ACCRA ZONGO AND TALK BULLSHIT

• Kbps 10 years ago

Ghanaians are just idiotic. That's why we are never going to reach the mountain top because we're always comparing ourselfs with others while we sleep in the dark. Very Pathe

• Abele 10 years ago

Idol worshipper,what can people say about you when you die?Please think about your own and stop being a sycophant.Fool, don't you know that Nkrumah had a different problem to deal with compared to that of Mandela?Where from t ...

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 10 years ago

MANDELA FOUGHT APARTHEID, KWAME NKRUMAH DID NOT . NKRUMAH RATHER FOLLOWED COMMUNIS AND HE FELL ON HIS FACE. SIMPLY PUT APARTHEID WAS EVIL AND MANDELA SPENT 27 YEARS TO FIGHT IT, PERIOD. HENCE THE PROFESSOR'S ARGUMENT DOESN'T ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

The world has already made it's judgment; what is your stupid peeve? Don't you have any suggestion for the solution of the many problems we have in Ghana. By the way, Mandela survived the brutality of a racist regime; Nkrumah ...

• Kwame Amosa 10 years ago

Joe, you said it all. Thank you!

• blackstar 10 years ago

Spot on!!!!!!!

• blackstar 10 years ago

Just because some idiot open his mouth don't mean you have to up it on the web.

• kojo 10 years ago

hahahahaha what brought up this comparision? does cpp want to stand against anc anyway they are tired of getting 1% in ghana politics

• Ikemens 10 years ago

Another fool!!! Nantwie Maa

• Asuo 10 years ago

How can a whole director general of the Ghana Health Service make such comments? is there such thing as Africaness? Both Osagyefo and Madiba did the best for their country. You can not say one is better than the other, they a ...

• Say the TRUTH 10 years ago

NOW THE WHOLE WORLD ARE NOW CELEBRATING MADIBA MANDELA & WHAT DO GHANAIANS IN THEIR STUPIDITY NOT ABLE TO ELECT A COMPETENT LEADER TO RULE THEM TELL US!!!!

SPARE US OUR EARS WITH YOUR NKRUMAH ONLY KNOWN TO AFRICANS.....MAN ...

• Btt 10 years ago

????

• DANQUAH WAS A FUCKING DOG! 10 years ago

Ghanaians rather said they don't need NPP criminals running the affairs of the nation.

Danquah was a fucking dog!

• Nash 10 years ago

Yes, well said that Nkrumah was blah blah, however ask yourself how many chinese people knows about Nkrumah's legacy? what have we Ghanaian done to glorify him? how many states parks and museums are named after him? Mandela i ...

• Joe 10 years ago

do think if nkrumah had detained mandela
    would he have live 27 yrs in jail?

• Daniel Clynns 10 years ago

Nkrumah brought opened the eyes of Africans as to how sweet it is to be Independent.

• SAY IT LOUD! 10 years ago

No one will tell our story for us. We need to say it like it is and say it louder.

How many people in the US and the rest of the world know who was voted the African of the millennium? Even Barack Obama and many Ghanaians ...

• Omanba Chicago IL 10 years ago

This comparison of Dr. Nkrumah and Nelson Mandela is out of place. If Nelson is being given his praise by the World Community, let this 'nutty' professor keep quiet for him to receive and enjoy his praises. Period!

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

Nkrumah was great but he is dead and gone for several years. Mandela has just died and deserves his tributes. This comparison is needless and unproductive.

• Nii Adjei 10 years ago

stop this rants and help fix ghana.

• NKRUMADELA 10 years ago

These great sons of Africa lived at different periouds and died at a different time.
    They employed the needed strathegy to win battles, they have fought a good fight and won for africa honour and dignity.
    MAY BE this curre ...

• SON 10 years ago

I will name my son Nkrumadela

• Conventional Youth 10 years ago

Total mental liberation is the only divine solution.

Quality education is Africa's master key.

• KM 10 years ago

Nkrumah was 1st Hero & Mandela 2nd Hero.Period

• idiot 10 years ago

accept the fact,what is this noise about if you start it does't meam you are the best.NKRUMAH WAS OVER THROWN mandela only one term and he achieve alot so who is best answer your self the same question

• 'Foolish-Nonsense-Stupid', Okukuseku 10 years ago

The comparism is baseless and begs reason to say the least at this time of mourning. Siffice it to say for now DIFFERENT ERA, SAME FOCUS, DIFFERENT EFFECT. I shall return.

• mensa 10 years ago

where does this man live for all this years ,.Does he even ever travel to understand the world or he is just a patriotic ghanaian .

• Kofi Yamoah 10 years ago

Those who apiece for the west to overthrow Nkrumah are Ghanaians, they're the same people Mandela forgave to have his peace and that of SA after spending his meaningful years in prison.When Nkrumah was pioneering the freedom ...

• Mankind and Co. 10 years ago

Prof Akosa is 100% right , Dr Nkumah is the greatest of all. Mandela is for only the benefit of the White South Africans. Any black who don't know this a big FOOL.

• KUTRIKU 10 years ago

STOP THIS NONSENSE AND HELP THE CORRUPT NDC DO SOMETHING BETTER FOR THE GHANAIAN. AFTER ALL WHAT GOOD DEED DID NKRUMA'S INDEPENDENCE DO TO THE "ORDINARY" GHANAIAN? IT WAS ONLY "THE SUBSTITUTION OF WHITE RULE WITH HIS OWN IND ...

• soccer mantse 10 years ago

The man is dead..it is uncultural to scorn the dead. what is so difficult about waiting for funeral to be over before people start their nonsense about who is the greatest in Africa. I bet every nationality can claim their pa ...

• Amoalie 10 years ago

Prof. Both were great men. But u r so insensitive n a jerk. What do u have against a man who fought for justice for his people.

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

Please come again.I was a boy during Kwame Nkrumah's era.You are giving him too much credit.Nkrumah's persecution of his political opponents was unwise.I heard that Dr J.B. Danquah was buried alive(unconfirmed).Equally unwise ...

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

It's about time the CPP apologized for the misdeeds of Kwame Nkrumah.
    Ghanaians are over enlightened now.The CPP will come to power over my dead body.I am contemplating writing a book to remind the young generation of Kwame ...

• nsem pii 10 years ago

To offer students relevant notes not 3 decades old notes.

• Ayikai 10 years ago

I would say this and I know some people will not agree with me, Mandela did not terrorize his own people but Nkrumah did terrorize Ghanaians and hence his overthrow. POWER GOT TOO MUCH INTO NKRUMAH'S HEAD.GOD IS THE ONLY OSAG ...

• COM'DE-VA 10 years ago

Some idiots like this Akosa always trying to disgrace the nation with their childish utterances yet they call themselves 'profs'.The point is not about who toured the whole continent with his selfish agenda but one who stood ...

• Stupid leaders 10 years ago

No more smart leaders in Ghana. Everything they say in public are nonsense.

• UNJUST Atuguba (Full of Sound & Fury= 10 years ago

Mandela never jailed his opponents or declared himself president for life and stifle views and ideas different from his own. Kwame Nkrumah was an opportunist par excellence interested ONLY his personal aggrandizement. No wo ...

• paul 10 years ago

foolish talk

• ALI 10 years ago

WELL SAID

• apetupre - usa 10 years ago

with articles like this and nonsense comparison GHANAIANS ARE BLATANT STUPID!!!!!

• Lambilla 10 years ago

Nkrumah killed pregnant women and used their blood to bathe his stupid god,kankan nyame which he purchased from Sekou Tourre(Sekou Nkrumah was named after him). How dare Akosa and Kweku Baako compare such an evil person to Ma ...

Lambilla seems to be one of those who were born in the nineties,who don't know but pretend to know.Sekou Nkrumah was named after Sekou Toure.You are an idiot.

• jim 10 years ago

This is very foolish from Akosa. Both of these leaders have done the best they could. The important thing now is for us individually to ask what our own contribution is with all the high degrees we have.

• paul 10 years ago

2 fools....

• GHANA FIRST 10 years ago

Proverbs chapter 16 verse 32 says he who rules his own spirit is better than he who takes a city.While Nkrumah never saw eye to eye with his political enemies Mandela forgave all his enemies
    Criticize or say something wrong ...

• ALI 10 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WIYH THESE STUPID IGNORANT AKAN/ASANTE BOFOONS? WHEN SOMEONE SAID INKRUMAH FOUDED GHANA, ONE OF YOU STUPID AKAN/ASANTE KOYIBOTO BOFOONS SAID NO, IT WAS DANQUA WHO FOUNDED GHANA. NOW INKRUMAH IS THE FOUDER OF AFR ...

• yaanom 10 years ago

Can u believed mandela was dened by then foreign minister to see osagyefo nkrunma in two occasionsBut he was following the foot step of him since nkronma and Martin Luther king , dobois and the rest of the then Africa Americ ...

• yaanom 10 years ago

Can u believed mandela was deny by then foreign minister to see osagyefo nkrunma. But he was following the foot step of him since nkronma and Martin Luther king , dobois and the rest of the then Africa Americans idea to libr ...

• Kk3 10 years ago

Damn fool.

• Kingsley ASIEDU 10 years ago

Sometimes I wonder what some of them smoke before they go to speak in public.

• Kwaame 10 years ago

Please stop this nonsense. Mandela was greater. He forgive those who jailed, vilified, and opposed him. Kwame Nkrumah jailed and killed his opponents. The two are great sons of Africa, but Mandela surpasses Nkrumah.

So forgiving the WHITEMAN who has suppressed and brutalized black South Africans for hundreds of years made Mandela great.Some of you Africans are idiots.This is why the Whiteman has taken advantage of you.

• Kwaame 10 years ago

Frank, you don't have to insult me. I am subject to my opinion and point of view. You are just displaying the typical African who eschews dissent. Dr. Akosa is very wrong and is it wise to make such statements now?

What m ...

• Oheneba osei Yaw Akoto 10 years ago

I AGREE WITH THE EMINENT PROFESSOR

• rasklat 10 years ago

seriously are we gonna compare dem both .Nowadays Ghanaian wanna politicize everything .i hope these 2 by 4 mushroom journalist are not making these stories up.Let the dead bury their dead in peace.

• Kwaagyebi Kofi 10 years ago

This has nothing to do with appeasement by western powers to "extol the virtues of Mandela above Dr. Kwame Nkrumah"...Fact is the two are poles apart...In no way is Dr.Nkrumah comparable to Madiba..You do not know how brutal ...

Show me what Mandela did for Africa?

Mandela was great but never greater Nkrumah. Learn the history of the two personalities and you will how tall Nkrumah stands.

Mandela's capacity to forgive is what has enchanted us ...

bbc.co.uk/worldservice/people/highlights/000914_nkrumah.shtml

Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana is Africa's man of the Millennium. So says the BBC in 2000.

Mandela: President of South Africa from 1994 – 1999

So after spending ...

• B.B 10 years ago

let Akosa be ware that Mandela never cleched unto power,he just gave up after one term after conciling with his oponents and libirating the black south Africans,and dispelling segregation.so l don't see why he should compare ...

• seeMe 10 years ago

Politically drunk Ghanaians at it again! Why should this matter for discussion in Ghana? Build Ghana, fix the ills in the country, stop the corruption and stop the empty barrel noise!!! WITH THE TECHNOLOGY AND MEDIA, THE WORL ...

If you don't tell your story, others will distort it for you.

Obama was wrong in his assertion and it is only better than we Africans tell the world he is wrong.

Why did Africans voted for Nkrumah as the African of the ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

"Nkrumah does no wrong" "Nkrumah is a our messiah". The man tried to be God. Children encouraged to put parents behind bars. Lest we forget!

• Abrekyie ba UK 10 years ago

Prof.I will like to take this opportunity to tell you that Mandela whom you think he is nowhere near Osagyefuo is that he did not do what all blacks were expected of him,this is because after he Mandela freed from Jail he fe ...

tHIS IS NOT THE TIME FOR THIS. WHO EVER IS TRYING TO BRING IN THIS TOPIC SEEMS TO BE BRINGING IT OUT AT THE WRONG TIME. wE KNOW AND BELIEVE WE HAVE ALL AS AFRICAN LOST A GREAT HERO. A GOOD STATES MAN OF AFRICA. WHAT DID NKRUM ...

• KOFI MANU,FLORIDA-USA. 10 years ago

WELL SAID PROF.BY COMPARISON,MANDELA IS NO WHERE NEAR THE OSAGYEFO IN COUNTLESS MEASURE TOO MANY TO MENTION HENCE NKRUMAH WINNING THE TITLE OF AFRICAN OF THE MILLENIUM.OBAMA IS FULL OF MISPLACED SPEECHES JUST AS HE SAID IN GH ...

Both Obama and the sign language dude lied to the world. Period.

Mandela is not the greatest African. That title belongs to Nkrumah and it was given to him by the vast majority of Africans who voted for Nkrumah as the Afr ...

• KOFI - USA 10 years ago

THIS PROF IS A BIG IDIOT. SO WHY THE COMPARISON? NKRUMAH PUT ALL HIS SO CALLED ENEMIES IN JAIL AND MISTREATED THEM AND MANDELA FORGAVE AND WORK WITH HIS ENEMIES. SO THERE IS NO COMPARISON HERE AND HE DID MORE FOR SOUTH AFRICA ...

• CHARLES 10 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE SIMPLY "JEALOUS". THIS IS NOT THE TIME TO DEBATE ON THIS. NKRUMAH HAD HIS TIME. THIS MOMENT BELONGS TO MANDELA.......PERIOD.

This is the time to correct Barack Obama. It is clear is lacks deeper knowledge of Africa's history.

In America, they have something they call African-American studies. Yet still the vast majority of Americans think Afric ...

• ahitophel 10 years ago

This to me doesn't even merit a debate, first of all they are great men who fought for the liberation of their people, but Osagyefo Dr
    Kwame Nkrumah went further, he personally took this to a whole new level by saying Ghana' ...

Obama is a prominent person on the world stage and his words carry weight. Unfortunately he got Africa's history very wrong on this one. He was wrong and it must be pointed out to him and the rest of the world.

If Ghana do ...

• Nana Egyir Aggrey 10 years ago

This generation of the so called leaders in this country has no knowledge of our journey from colonial Gold Coast, to the independent sovereign state of Ghana.There are people in Ghana who think J.J.Rawlings is the founder an ...

In America, they have something they call African-American studies. Even after studying African-American history, the vast majority of Americans still think Africa is a COUNTRY, yes a COUNTRY.

• IMMANUEL 10 years ago

HISTORY NEVER GET OLD !!! put our differences aside and let's face the fact of our Patriots .. Mandela was in his days before prison, a Hero. I mean He was all what Africa and Africans needed. in Instituting and Fortifying ou ...

• adwoa 10 years ago

Can we stop this unnecessary divisive pronouncements. Both men are Icons in their own right and time. Lets celebrate them without comparing one to another. Stop it!

• sensible 10 years ago

kwame Nkruma is great in the grave not than MADELA go to SOUTH AFRICA AND SEE how great they are and come to ghana and see how people are suffuring what great in ghana useless leaders. kwaku banku is brut in mind no brain pre ...

After Mandela served 27 years in jail and also served as president of South Africa from 1994 - 1999, the good people of Africa rather chose none but Kwame Nkrumah as their African of the millennium.

Obama has distorted Af ...

After Mandela served 27 years in jail and also served as president of South Africa from 1994 - 1999, the good people of Africa rather chose none but Kwame Nkrumah as their African of the millennium.

Obama has distorted Af ...

• zimmerman 10 years ago

it is true that Nkrumah was and is still the greatest in Africa.The sad thing however is that we have the UP (NPP today)tradition who would do everything to run Nkrumah down, this they continue to do unlike the South Africans ...

• BILL, (UK) 10 years ago

JJ RAWLINGS IS THE GREATEST HERO!!!!

Obama like most American presidents and politicians are ignorant and narrow-minded.The second President Bush didn't even know that Africa is a continent.He made a statement in Sweden when he was President that Africa is a NAT ...

• Concern African 10 years ago

B`coz of ppl like you the west think africa is a nation, you are an ignorant fool, just from this post, we hv two great africans from two great african countries that championed different causes for their ppl and fool like y ...

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

Where do Ghanaians get these chaps from?

• Xupreme 10 years ago

This is day-light dreaming... HAHAHAHA

• pk 10 years ago

Both great men. Nkrumah liberated his people and championed the emancipation of Africa. Mandela liberated his people and taught the world 'tolerance'.

• Jojo 10 years ago

Fellow Ghanaians!!
    If you don't know the History of 21st century Africa. You need to educate yourself before you disgrace yourself in public!

How can one even begin to compare Kwame NKrumah to Nelson Mandela??
    Check yo ...

• Prince William 10 years ago

Why God has never given Ghana at least one intelligent person like Obama or as courageous
    as Dr. King and Mandela. We always get the foolish ones.

• OSOFONANA 10 years ago

Why won't you feel jealous? Your father and others who were almost illiterates were elevated by Nkrumah to worship him. He could marry so many wives and have so many children because of Nkrumah's patronage. The vindictive, ty ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

You cracked me up! These fools are elevating Nkrumah to that of a saint. Nkrumah was was a dictator who was hell-bent on promoting himself,no doubt, the pinheads who benefitted from his useless crusade want us to forget who ...

• ama 10 years ago

NO AFRICAN HAS EVER FOUGHT FOR THE UNIVERSAL LIBERATION OF THE BLACK MAN LIKE NKRUMAH

• Ben 10 years ago

Posterity is the judge not party affliates!

• Concern African 10 years ago

B`coz of some of you educated african mud heads and fool the west claimed we African doesn`t like one another, that is why us africans always inferious to the west, Nkrumah championed a different cause and Madiba did likewise ...

• Kwaame 10 years ago

How dare this guy make such statements during this time of mourning. ICHABOD..yes the glory has departed from Ghana. I don't see South Africans flocking illegally to Europe or the USA to find jobs. I believe it is an attestat ...

• still rastafari 10 years ago

Pls Akosa we can't honour dictators..

• still rastafari 10 years ago

it is mandela,marley,martin,marcus,malcolm.....

• BBC 10 years ago

thank you prof,

• KOFI 10 years ago

You are talking rubbish, Mandela Nelson has passed away what has it got to do with Nkrumah Kwami.We ae are all mourning Mandela Nelson.........

• Alexander Quarcoo 10 years ago

I think the professor is 100% right. However, I must say, we should not be comparing the two greatest leaders our continent have had at this time at all. Let's honor Mandela for now, and leave the critical comparison between ...

• kwabena akosah, new york city 10 years ago

Both Nkrumah and Mandela were heroes of the African Revolution. But due largely to the gift of old age Mandela became wiser than Nkrumah.

• kwabena sarpong akosah, new york city 10 years ago

Both Nkrumah and Mandela were heroes of the African Revolution. But due largely to the gift of old age Mandela became wiser and politically smarter than Nkrumah.

• Kwame 10 years ago

Is it not he same western powers who killed somebody for trying to kill his own people and not killing them, yet can not send the leaders of apartheid and fascism to the International Criminal Court (ICC).

• Me 10 years ago

Akosa is just being jealous of the fact that the whole world is celebrating Mandela. Nkrumah was great as well but what makes someone greatest is his heart and ability to live and tolerate his enemies just as God told us. Nkr ...

• NII MADIBA FROM OSU 10 years ago

Madiba had lunch with the prosecutor who sentenced him to life in prison when he became President that is just ONE OF the many reasons WE call him GREAT. Please Professor it is not just the foreign leaders who call him Great ...

• DWASHMAN AKA YEP POWDER 10 years ago

WHICH OF THE WORLD LEADERS COMPARED NKRUMAH TO MANDELA. GET LOST WITH YOUR CHEW AND POUR PROFESSORSHIP
    NKRUMAH WAS GREAT IN HIS DAY
    MANDELA WAS GREAT IN HIS DAY
    IS THIS TOO DIFFICULT FOR A MAN WITH SO MANY DEGREES TO UNDER ...

• mokobi teacher 10 years ago

this is not the right time for this comment.dokita, learn from your elders.the world is in a state of morning.reserve other comments for a later date

• Meshack 10 years ago

Prof...thy much learning makes thee mad...

• Kalahariman 10 years ago

Why is that every time i try to read something reasonable, there is always somebody who will shit from their mouths. My advise to people like Akosa is you are suppose to shit from your ass.

• obroni 10 years ago

Don't you think that if you start good you should lead good and end good to be a hero ?
    Adolf Hitler brought Germany our of its economic misery between 1930 and 1939 but the whole world knew what he became, should he be cons ...

• Dr. med.William Acquah,Germany 10 years ago

Those days,Mandela was branded a terrorist by the Western Powers but now,he is the greatest African!What did Mandela contribute to the African Independence drive? Who was the Torchbearer of African Independence?These Western ...

• zomabi 10 years ago

MANDELA SOLD HIS PEOPLE TO THE WHITEMAN. HIS PEOPLE ARE JOBLESS, POOR, DEEP INTO CRIME,DEVATATED BY DISEASE(AIDS) AND STUCK IN THE GHETTO. THOSE ARE THE CREDNTIALS OF A GREAT MAN

• TAFARI 10 years ago

well said zomabi. i lived in South Africa for long enough to agree with you on this one. The average black south african is jobless, poor and very devastated. and leads him to crime, South Africans themselves have not much pe ...

• TAFARI 10 years ago

I couldn't agree with you more Sir. Mandela pleased the west just as Nkrumah did the opposite . That is why Mandela is so hyped. I challenge the average Ghanaian to live just in South africa for a month and you will realize t ...

• Tin 10 years ago

Enough

• sam 10 years ago

Don't you know lots of people don't even know who Nkrumah is? Because Ghana has refused to give him the recognition he needed.I have not seen an Nkrumah movie or otherwise.Quit complaining

• YAW ASARE LONG ISLAND NEW YORK 10 years ago

NKRUMAH trust me was one of the greatest son we ever produce but that professor should be aware that Mandela taught about forgiveness and do you think you can fight the whites and starve your people like that idiot MUGABE.wha ...

• Shanana 10 years ago

Nkrumah's own party can come to power even though they have put him center page in all elections. Why? Because even the people of Ghana don't recognize him as transcendental. He did his piece, but he killed and imprisoned his ...

• tony 10 years ago

Is true cos mandela was only fighting for black s. Africans. On like Nkrumab for total liberation of Africa.

• Albert osei frimpong 10 years ago

Yea i agree with,Prof Agyeman Badu beouse Dr.Kwame Nkrumah fight for all african's not only ghana all the africans countries.But the late president, Nelson mandela fight for only south africans, so Dr. nkrumah was the great f ...

• Albert osei frimpong 10 years ago

Yes is true he's the greatest(Nkrumah) only that nelson was jail 27 years in prison and nkrumah was no jailas that one i understand.Bcos when we talk about surfer the late nelson mandela surfer alot why bcos 1year in prison i ...

• mohammed amin abdallah,adenta,fafraha 10 years ago

you are right.however,timing is wrong.but both are great.

• ........ 10 years ago

bad at home good at outside. how many people perished at nsawamu? our noble men (the big SIX)who fought for our independence only paa willie died naturally all of them perished at nsawamu by Nkrumah.1960 referendum 79 pregnan ...

• Son of man 10 years ago

Mr. Obeng when your life is being threatened by the opposition party, what do you do?dance or have state dinner with them?. Please, Nkrumah did all he could, but the opposition were in the pocket of the Western world. The pa ...

• QUITE 10 years ago

LET HE WHOM THE CAP FITS WEARS IT

• J. Rivera 10 years ago

Professor Akosa is entitled to his opinion because this conversation centers on the achievements of two giants of African independence! To say that one man's accomplishments totally eclipse the others'is just an attempt to i ...

• Matthew Prah 10 years ago

l agree that dr kwame is the greatest president in africa and nt madiba

• QUITE 10 years ago

Mandela was really great though Nkrumah was equally great