Komla had too much pressure on him at the BBC - Herbert Mensah

Read Comments Comments (111)

• delaso 10 years ago

loose talk who send him to BBC he was already a big man at JOYFM in Ghana.

• Host 10 years ago

Look at the typical red meat this Komla guy was chopping, no surprise! Africans are fools, when they get opportunity, they try to over eat everything!!!

• Loko 10 years ago

Waa look at the fat on the deep red meat Komla is carrying in the pix? This is a warning to Herbert Mensah, if he continues to eat the meat we see in the pix, he go join his friend, abi!

• Dead Mills 10 years ago

Herbert Mensah led Komla into Alcoholism and Cannibalism. From the pix we see hear, there is no doubt Alcohol and Cannibalism killed Komla...Hebert is a very bad man do to this to Komla

• GHANAIAN 10 years ago

THANK YOU NKRUMAH FOR ALLOWING AN EWE MAN (KOMLA DUMOR GRANDFATHER) TO COMPOSE THE GHANA NATIONAL ANTHEM.

TO SOME PEOPLE EWEs ARE NOT GHANAIANS.

• Gatro 10 years ago

The money spent on the expensive Alchol and the Red Meat they are enjoying could have gone to assisting Kayayo in Ghana, but these greedy guys decided to consume these toxic leading to thier death. Same meat and alcohol will ...

• Ponko 2 10 years ago

Everyone shd look at the meet at the left side of the tray carried by Komla, no doubt the fat on that meat killed Komla. "The greedy will die by their own greedy consumption" Mahatma Ghamdi

• Gnashing UCC Student 10 years ago

Charlie, the whole of yesterday I no get food cos I'm short of cash....how I wish I can get just one of Komla's meat right now----Lucky Komla and Herbert shd come a see how man is gnashing at UCC campus here in Cape Coast.

• To gnashing UCC Student 10 years ago

You UCC guys spend your loan on Apewsika girls for their pussy, now you want Komla's meat, no go get.

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

HE PREFERRED THE goodlife, fame and so called tv success, doing shift work, taking ppl shifts in uk to being in gh and spearheading a cnn, bbc, al jazeera in gh. the price you pay for preferring to stay comfortable. GO HOME!

• Ghanaba, USA 10 years ago

This is irrelvant, what are you trying to portray? That you eat more shit, and drink lots of some cheap wine.

• oba nyansani baako Pe in Ghana! 10 years ago

Ghanaians ate very lazy people especially ewe, faintest and northerners. They always waiting for the president to put food on their plates for them. Come and see how we are struggling in UK here.Think twice kwasea se wate?

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

Why won't you die prematurely if you are eating animal protein and drinking Gmo grape wines? U are chewing the mother of a baby cow. Why won't u be chewed? Folks,.cholesterol deaths in north America is the leading cause of de ...

• Nicholas 10 years ago

digging our graves with fork n knife

• Mr Oushooooo 10 years ago

Do you have any idea how many people would eat that meat?anyway in as much as i believe we must watch our diet i dont believe this is cannibalism.You also eat meat,dont you?That is not human meat,got that?

You guys must be ...

• Rawlings Daughter 10 years ago

Did Hebert married the Rawlings daughter of her just cheated on her? Who is this wife Herbert is talking about, I need answer now.

• frank,london 10 years ago

If this is the type of food Komla was eating no wonder he died from cardiac arrest.Alcoholic drinks and fatty foods are the causes of heart related deaths.Those who do not know are warned to desist from overindulging in them.

• Lili 10 years ago

A lady commented on this picture a few weeks ago on facebook and said that this red meat was a heart attack waiting to happen and she was right. We now all know that we should not eat like this.

• Re; komla deserve to die 10 years ago

who brought this picture? Eye asem o, very sad indeed

• Gbabladza 10 years ago

The pic is an ample evidence of what caused his death. RED MEAT. The number one cause of heart failure and heart disease. When we managed to travel to Europe, we keep on eating and eating without restrained or exercise. Ghana ...

• NANA 10 years ago

Cut down the intake of red meat and alcohol.

• Concerned 10 years ago

If any good thing can come out of this sad story, I think the fact that our diet is critical should not be forgotten. Herberh is right about pressure especially for such a successful man but a good diet will help you han ...

• George 10 years ago

Let us build our country so that all the good people can stay in it. Working abroad, with all the prejudices and petty quarrels, is not easy. Let is keep the gold, diamonds, oil, fish, etc in Ghana and Ghana will be the parad ...

• anang 10 years ago

ohhh george we need more advise from you

• peeeeeeee 10 years ago

Don't assume.see a picture and jumping to conclude .don't make an ass of you and me

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Let's pay our last respects to a Great son of the country and avoid preposterous insinuations.

A lot of things could have contributed to the cardiac arrest he suffered so let no one speculate on empty conjectures.

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

According to a piece of information on sénéweb, a Senegalese commercial website, which I might have missed on Ghanaian news reports, Komla suffered a malaise some months ago that required the Corporation he worked for to c ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Indeed when i heard of his death, the only word that kept ringing in my ears was pressure! pressure!! pressure!!!

• kojo 10 years ago

Was the work above him? Didn't he have rest? The reporter should have explained further. Pressure from who and what?

• kojo 10 years ago

Was the work above him? Was he overloaded with too much? Didn't he
    have enough rest? The reporter should have
    explained further. Pressure from who
    and what?

• mugu1 10 years ago

poison suspected

• ELINAM 10 years ago

You're right the guy was poisoned.

• Bempah 10 years ago

We have to rethink over this guys death.Red meat and drinks can have a devesitating blow to the heart leading to death.But instances of nature its involvement takes a long time to occur due to early signs within the human bo ...

• Professor Annorbah-Sarpei 10 years ago

It is true. Once you start playing on the global scale you need to adjust to global pressure and pace of working and living. It was not pressure put on Komla by the BBC it was Komla who did not adjust to the pressures. This ...

• A Ghanian 10 years ago

Komla could have adjusted if he had sensible and wellmeaning friends around him. Sometimes having genuine friends is important. Instaed of people criticizing and being jealous of his position, carry on his legacy and keep t ...

• woman 10 years ago

try to be in the middle if that's your call

• Mamebedu Graves-Villars 10 years ago

Komla, you were in transit on earth and now back home in God's Kingdom where you are most needed. We are comforted because you will rise again among your lovely mum of blessed memory and us all mortals when the trumpet sounds ...

• OBAA 10 years ago

I never knew the mum is dead. When did she die?

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

Rush to judgement.

• kofi 10 years ago

yes indeed pressure would have contributed to his untimely departure but let us not forget that our diet intake also kills us slowly everyday, too much of red meat and alcohol and also too much carbohydrate is also a factor

• EASY 10 years ago

Poison turned out to be heart attack.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

What is the meaning of "too much pressure on him at the BBC"? I don't get it. Who forced him to apply for the job at the BBC and who held him to stay on despite being under intense pressure? We have one life to live and nev ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 10 years ago

Your comment is not good. The sky is the limit. All must strive to reach the sky. All young men and women need to move forward. There is nothing wrong with his move to the BBC.
    Elizabeth Ohene was there, the golden voice ...

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

Did the reporter purposely post this particular picture here so we can condemn this fine gentleman? Once awhile we all get down into this festive mood. This does not necessarily define us.

• IKE 10 years ago

It is most likely that pressure was a factor in early death of Komla. One needs to work in high level of this country to realize that British people have a way of putting people under pressure in a nice way.

• ankoma 10 years ago

Do not wear yourself out to get rich,have the wisdom to show restraint.(proverbs 23:4)My brothers and sisters in Europe and America will do any work,work any shift and still think all will be well with their health.Pressure c ...

• Sleep Deprivation is a Silent Killer 10 years ago

best comment so far

• Abena Kwabena 10 years ago

Oh! God , we have lost a Great man, we will remember him for long time, RIP Komla,

• Kofi Virginia 10 years ago

Periodic medical check is good for all. In the past two years, two friends survived what could have become a death situation, 80% block of blood flow in the heart. This can happen at any age. Exercise, medication etc... bu ...

• Kofi kwame 10 years ago

H.Mensah you are right.hope our politician should work for Ghana as Komla did for BBC .if only Ghana wants to be a better nation.

• Donko 10 years ago

Yes RIP.

• Doc. 10 years ago

This guy had to start work at 3am in the morning.Doing this kind of shift for a long period of time will always take it's toll on the body.
    There are are a lot of African men who hardly check their blood pressure these days, ...

• Vuvuzela 10 years ago

Komla did a job so many have been doing for ages before him. So he must not have undergone more pressure than his colleagues have.

I was OK, strong with no health problems. I had waist (lower-back pains) and decided to se ...

• Mawusi 10 years ago

Herbert is very correct. As a black man from Africa surviving in a white man's world in Europe and America is not easy. You have to really work for your pounds, euros and dollars.

• GHANABA 10 years ago

Komla RIP. Our thoughts goes to his family and stop this speculation of the cause of his death.

• mudus 10 years ago

Blood Pressure is a silent killer. If Komla had a history of blood pressure, then is rather unfortunate. If he happened to be diabetic as well, that is a combination recipe for cardiac arrest.
    This is a very sad incident. We ...

• Tijani 10 years ago

Herbet what advice did you give as a friend, blood sucker, what pressure, even Bill Gate is alive,,,,,

• Tekonline.org 10 years ago

news.peacefmonline.com/pages/social/201401/186413.php

• DrGhetz 10 years ago

Pressure? Herbert, your father (God bless his soul) laid the foundation for you, so you call hard work pressure. In the developed economies you really need to work for your pay (that's why these countries are developed). So s ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

YOU ARE WRONG DOC, HERBERT IS RIGHT,HE IS THE FRIEND SOMEONE CLOSER TO KOMLA, AND THEY DISCUSSED A LOT THAT WE DO KNOW.
    MAYBE YOU ARE THE LUCKY ONE WHO HAD IT EASIER THAN THE REST OF US. THERE'S NO EQUAL OPPORTUNIY IN THE WH ...

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

THIS IS THE PRICE YOU PAY, WORKING FOR THE WHITES. THEY DOUBLED THE WORKLOADS ON YOU, AS YOU ARE CHALLENGING THE STATUE QUOTE, BECAUSE YOU ARE A MINORITY. AND EVEN AS AN AFRICAN, THEY WOULD QUADRUPLED THE LOAD, FOR YOU TO QU ...

• Naa Ashawa 10 years ago

What you are saying is a load of bull. Do people in Ghana not die from cardiac arrest? This has nothing to do with pressure from white people. Are you saying that black people are so inferior and feeble that we can't witstan ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Reporting on Africa to fit the stereotypes of anti-Africa BBC would make you live longer as a black man working for whites but reporting to suit and to shine light on Africa's strength, is not in the best interest of BBC.
    N ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Your insight is what we need to reflect on more.Even though he was focusing on Africa,the white co-workers and superiors had a problem.
    Sad Africans refused to understand the psyche of the white man.

• INDEPENDENT 10 years ago

Whatever the cause and circumstances of his death was , it is not for us to speculate and judge. Remember GOD is always in control and he knows what is best for this gentleman hence his call at this tender age to glory. R.I.P ...

• Wiafe 10 years ago

Radioxyzonline-please give us a break. No need to put this picture on.

• Boss 10 years ago

God has given us something called an autopsy.

• kwabena ohemeng,london 10 years ago

I also had the feeling that the pressure of work might have had its toll on Komla.We are all experiencing it over here and heart related deaths are the most common here in Britain.

• mawuse 10 years ago

komla, God bless you baby, for giving us the privilege to share the earth with you. heaven is better anyway. rest in peace.

• ADANKO 10 years ago

what komla was holding and probably eat and drink are surely the bad things for a heart patient! i however feel so so sorry that he is gone. May he rest in peace. BBC may never get someone like him again .... soon!

• ZUARUNGU 10 years ago

WORKING LIFE IN EUROPE IS ALWAYS PRESSURE. ALL OF US HAVE IT. RED FATTY MEAT WAS THE CAUSE OF KOMLA'S DEATH. LET US FACE THE TRUTH AND LEARN FROM OTHERS MISTAKES. GIVING VAGUE EXCUSES WILL NOT HELP. HE DIED NEEDLESS DEATH.

• Yankeyyankey 10 years ago

Clear off Herbert . U know the presuure folks dey go thru. His death need to be investigated.

• Rabon Zee 10 years ago

Herbert's narrative seems orthogonal to Komls's death. Was Herbert's wife there when Komla died. What did she observe?

Was this a death from one cut or a thousand and one cuts. Did he die from ischemic cardiac arrest or in ...

• Canadasheabutter 10 years ago

A LIFE SO SHORT , MAY ALLAH GRANT U PEACE AND GIVE STRENGTH TO FAMILY TO BEAR THE LOSS .GHANA , AFRICA HAVE LOST AN ILLUSTROUS SON . R.I.P

• asase ba 10 years ago

I think the picture at the bottom speaks volumes. If you live a high stress life combined with eating high cholesterol foods with lots of saturated fats, you are calling for an early death. It is plain and simple. That sai ...

• Kobby, USA 10 years ago

Red meat killed this man, I bet.

• Obideeaba, Belgium 10 years ago

What eve u do Ghanaian will have something to say, that is why i have decided in my life will not allow any public figure to come into my life even when i make it to the top, they guy is dead and all people are talking abou ...

• jingoisis 10 years ago

Now, Ghanaweb should have known better...what a ridiculous caption(photo) to use in telling the story of Komla's death from a friend's perspective. When is Ghanaweb going to hire editors who can do due diligence when it comes ...

• CHARLES HUGHES,ACCRA-GHANA. 10 years ago

THAT,S HOW WHITES TREAT BLACKS WITH LOTS OF POTENTIAL WORKING WITH THEM. YOU DO ALL THE JOB AND THEY TAKE THE CREDIT.I WAS A VICTIM OF SUCH IN LONDON BUT SMART ENOUGH TO REALIZE IT AND I QUIT FOR A LESS STRESSFUL JOB WITH BET ...

• BETTER GHANA 10 years ago

Working under a white man coupled with your position demands a lot from him. He couldn't cope with the pressure from work, hence his sudden pass away. Rest in Peace

• mike 10 years ago

just a great figure of Africa and mother Ghana, may his soul rest in the hands of God peaceful, because God knows why.

• Pabro correa 10 years ago

As an African, our food is predominately full of Carbohydrates and red meat with little or no exercise at all. Our African wives tends to feed their man with so much meat for dinner because their husbands are the bread winner ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Yes, exercise can surely undo the stress. The Prince of Dubai is very rich, but also very slim and fit. Now, give 1/1000% of his wealth to a Ghanaian, and within a year he won't be able to walk due to obesity.

• Ammeera-Amen 10 years ago

Good advise

• Ama 10 years ago

Strange friends...what a photo to use

• anna 10 years ago

rip

• joshua 10 years ago

I know kwabena is too fit to die. Ei dis white people. Hmmmmm but we all eat pork.

• Afeto Kwasi 10 years ago

This picture says it wall. He probably has not been eating well. With high blood pressure, the last thing an African living in the West should do is adopt eating a Western diet. It is a killer. His BP could have been managed ...

• Eben, Washington DC 10 years ago

A picture is worth more than a thousand words. Of course there was pressure on him, but his diet (i.e. red meat) as shown in pic may also had been a contributing factor. May he rest in peace. God bless.

• TITHER 10 years ago

Just yesterday we heard a bad news that transmitted chill in our spine, namely the sudden departure of our brother, hero, mentor Komla Dumor. He was indeed a pride to Africans and people of black origin, lets admit we all fel ...

• SEIDU KEITA 10 years ago

Deepest condolences to the family. May Komla rest in the perfect peace of the Lord.

And may Komla's death serve as a cautionary tragedy to all. There are many other highly-accomplished Ghanaians toiling in prestigious inst ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Red meat and heart problem?
    That could be one of the factors that resulted in this gentleman's unfortunate and surprising death.
    I have not taken red meat for the past eight years,since I was told,the dangers in it.
    WE MUS ...

• MAAME 10 years ago

THE PICTURE WAS TAKEN ON THANKSGIVING DAY - A DAY OF CELEBRATION IN AMERICA. THANKSGIVING DAY IS A FESTIVE OCCASION. WE ALL EAT AND DRINK. I DO NOT BELIEVE THESE TWO GENTLEMEN WERE GOING TO CONSUME THE HUGE PORTIONS. WE AL ...

• Lilian 10 years ago

Am really surprised about most of the comments.Please if you do not have anything nice to say about Komla keep your comments to yourself.
    No one is in the position to judge, God is our judge.
    Komla you were a mentor and w ...

• jingoisis 10 years ago

Lilian, direct your comments towards Ghanaweb for running a photo that depicts Komla in a very poor light....not only is it distasteful and unprofessional, it speaks volume about Ghanaweb's journalistic abilities.......

• George Ofosu Mensah Gomens 10 years ago

Komla, mayu rest in the bossom ot the Creator.

• NA 10 years ago

He should have stayed away from all that fatty meat. In any case - jelousy and back-stubing come with the territory when you're successful!

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

OH, WE HVE LOST A GREAT PIECE OF MEAT....IS THIS COW OR GOAT, OR VEAL?....

• Adwoa USA 10 years ago

Hmmm.....i knew it!Working outside Africa as a black person is not and has never been easy even ehen they clearly know you deserve it.Some of our own people don't tell the truth,they pain a picture to make life out here seem ...

• BOLLEY 10 years ago

NO BRIBERY!

• Thieves 10 years ago

Yeah whatever Herbert Mensah.. you wife beating cradle snatcher... why are you looking for fame through Komla's death?

• Thieves 10 years ago

Is Komla the first Ghanaian to work in a high powered organization abroad? There are many Ghanaians even much higher than Komla... Herbert Mensah is just trying to become relevant.

• stella attakpah 10 years ago

geeeh! that what he was eating with his high BP? maan, where are the vegies?

• Stop Red Meat 10 years ago

Red Meat is the leading cause of heart disease among black males. Please limit the consumption of red meat. If you can, avoid red meat. This is a great lesson to the new black middle class. I wish Komla peace on the other sid ...

• Obiba Kwame 10 years ago

What was Herbert Mensah thinking when he supplied that picture he took with his deceased "friend" to Ghanaweb? Does he not have any other pictures he had taken with his friend who just died of a heart attack other than this o ...

• Boss 10 years ago

Obiba Kwame: Even a brilliant and thoughtful person like you has fallen prey to the distorted labeling and prejudice which you so glaringly abhor. Why do you, after making such a passionate plea for civility and sensitivity, ...

• Ibn Batuta 10 years ago

Everybody says pressure at work killed Kwabena. I say no. Just look at the steaks he enjoys with Herbert. That says it all.

• lydia usa 10 years ago

why did he post that picture with the
    red steak

• Mr Oushooooo 10 years ago

The British are difficult to work with.They put you under undue and unnecessary pressure and i sometimes see it as they dont know which direction or how to move to achieve set objectives.I worked with them in vodafone and it ...

• Carlos 10 years ago

Come on Guys, this picture was one that he posted on his facebook page...so anyone can grab that and use it as a cover photo. It does not mean that was his main meal all the time....having said that the stress in a high profi ...

• Fred 10 years ago

This man may have been killed by the pressure at work and also the pressure of going thru a divorce. If indeed he was going thru such divorce why is no one talking about it? Is there fear that his estrange wife Kwansema would ...