Mining windfall tax: Mahama must stop whinnying and lead – Arthur K

Read Comments Comments (75)

• DEATH OF OHENE 11 years ago

WITH DEEPEST SORROW AND SADNESS I OMANBA, HEREBY DECLARE AND ANNOUNCE THE UNTIMELY DEATH OF KING 'SOLOMON', THE KING OF THE ASHANTIS, NANA OSEI TUTU II, WHICH OCCURRED IN SOUTH AFRICA. HE HAS BEEN THERE FOR SOME TIME NOW FOR ...

• Man 2 Man 11 years ago

Who is this idiot playing with the Biggest King in Africa?

And Mahama, you are an embarrassment to our nation for disgracing us like that on the world stage

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

We see in the Ukraine today how justice and freedom are obtained , if you are not ready to fight for it nobody will give it to you on a silver platter. no corrupt judiciary like atuguba or police can lie to these idealists an ...

• The 11 years ago

The problem in Ghana now is that the man Prez Mahama was not yet ready to be President it just came his way and it shows in the way he handles himself. Ufortunately there are about 50% Ghanaian voters who just vote by party n ...

• Ameera-Amen 11 years ago

John Mahama cannot eat his cake and have it. You can go ahead and implement the wind fall tax and damn the consequence or you should forever shut the f**k up. There is always two sides to the coin.

• ELINAM 11 years ago

It's just sad that this Mahama came out from the CPP tradition.His father was a minister under Nkrumah, and he himself might have been a Young Pioneer like Rawlings but there's no fighting zeal in him, what a waste.
    Now, NPP ...

• kofi 11 years ago

Ghanaweb do the correction

• Visionary 11 years ago

You this educated useless brain and all the NPP good for nothing, nation wreckers and liers must shup THE FUCK UP and allow the good man to do his work.
    Arthur Kennedy ! show ghanaians a mark of what you personally did or ...

• Maame Yaa 11 years ago

Visionary

You sound idiotic in your rantings

• Anonymous Coward 11 years ago

Mahamah always demonstrates weak leadership. Clueless and visionless. Can't cook, won't cook. Create, loot and share criminals.

• FLOATING VOTER. 11 years ago

Visionary,
    You are right ,
    They know how to talk, but cannot manage their own internal affairs.Too many book long people !!

• Visionary 11 years ago

Maame Yaa ! honestly do you believe you fed into this conversation ?
    Listern !!!??? this is a gogo club or ashawo quaters players we are talking about ok?
    Men are discusing the goodness of our beloved country not Ashawo's f ...

• togbe of hotso 11 years ago

You idiot KFC.NDC.Chickens.Go to Hell.God will one invoke curse on all NDC sympathizers and their children.

• seer 11 years ago

“They threatened to lay off workers if we implemented the windfall tax and because we needed the jobs and you don’t want workers laid off you are coerced to go along. So these are major issues we have”, he bewailed. “ ...

• ICONIC-07 11 years ago

PARTISAN ASIDE, I THINK DR. ARTHUR KENNEDY IS THE BEST MAN TO BE THE PRESIDENT OF GHANA.

DR. ARTHUR KENNEDY IS A FEARLESS FANG, WHO IS UNAFRAID TO ADDRESS HIS OWN TRIBAL-INWARD-LOOKING ASHANT-AKYEM NPP TO DESIST FROM ACTS ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

Mahama is not afraid to tax Ghanaians but fear the mining companies. Why can't he also threaten the mining companies with nationalization if they unreasonably lay workers off. Yes, he should let them know that these are my la ...

• ELINAM 11 years ago

The second phase of Africa's independence will be that of economy. Mugabe's Zimbabwe is the first, now, the South Africans has formed Economy Freedom Party (EFP) The Gambia is doing their own.
    Unfortunately, Ghana do not ha ...

• Patriot 11 years ago

Our leaders Seeming Impotence in taking decisions to protect our national interests,I think must be due to their lack of solid information from solid comparative strategic industrial research that guides governmental polic ...

• THE TRUTH IS 11 years ago

His brother Ibrahim owns a gold mine in Ghana. If Ibrahim does not want to be taxed the tax is just not on ......... It is that simple.

• Darling boy 11 years ago

When I was in lower primary.perodicaly poppy red color chest hangings were sold to us to help our poor bro&sis in places like Saudis.they took over the oils now look at the Arabs.presd mahama do something

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 11 years ago

YOU MENTIONED INCARNATION? THEN IT MEANS YOU BELIEVE IN KHARMA. DO YOU KNOW THE AMOUNT OF KHARMIC DEBT YOU HAVE INCURED WITH THIS POSTING. WHEN YOU DIE YOU WILL HAVE TO FIND "KING SOLOMON" TO APPEAR BEFORE THE ETERNAL COURT O ...

• Cantankerous 11 years ago

I will simply restate my comments of a few days ago which still holds true:

:
    Cantankerous

Date:
    2014-01-25 05:04:58

Comment to:
    Gov’t confirms suspension of windfall tax

Gold is in a long-term circular bu ...

• LAND OWNER. 11 years ago

THE WINDFALL TAX IS A SMALL SCRATCH ON THE SURFACE OF THE AMOUNT WHICH SHOULD ACCRUE TO GHANA.IN THE FIRST PLACE WHO OWNS THE GOLD IN THE GROUND.NOW IF GHANA OWNS THE GOLD AND SOMEBODY COMES TO DIG THE GOLD,HOW DO YOU SHARE T ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

I side with you that the COLONIAL DAYS ARE FAR GONE.
    If we've been cheated from the colonial days till now,where lies our freedom,then?
    WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF FREEDOM?
    MAHAMA SHOULD DEFINE IT TO ALL GHANAIANS.
    MAHAMA s ...

• Peace 11 years ago

Why dont you get somewhere to hide. your views are not getting the attention you think you attract. only you get mouth.

• MENSAH 11 years ago

Atta Kennedy means something huge here.
    I support what he is saying 1000%.
    I DON'T SUPPORT HOW HE HAS BEEN CRITICIZING NANA AKUFO ADDO,BUT THIS,I GIVE HIM A HIP-UP.
    If he would be tackling such wrongs we have been sufferin ...

• Koo Boye 11 years ago

Yes,who owns the minerals?And if they are not ready to be taxed and threaten to lay off workers as retaliation,then as a President you need to act as a man with 'spine and balls'.Declare your intention to nationalise their op ...

• dan 11 years ago

STOP BEING IGNORATE MAHAMA SHULD GO TO WORK AND STOP CRYING THAT ALL HE HAVE BEEN DOING SINCE HE TOOK LEADERSHIP OF GHANA

• ebo smith 11 years ago

mr kennedy what did you do,when in power,we get only 3% of our gold from these greedy whites.the raw gold is shipped to South africa and thw world will declare south is the highest producer.for how long will these go on.from ...

• Prince 11 years ago

Even with the oil, we signed to get 7%? what a joke.

• KWAA 11 years ago

Instead of the President taking the oppotunity to face the Mining Companies,by implementing a law our Parliament has passed,he just chickened out and allowe foreigners to tell us what to do.
    What would have been the conseque ...

• Ndoo 11 years ago

funny people,you guys should keep dreaming,

• Sam, Bern 11 years ago

Thank you, you've made my day. I can not vote for this weakling in the next elections. He is only interested in giving money to family and friends through dubious contract, via Gyeeda

• Ras BO -LONDON 11 years ago

Still waiting to see a wise man from among them....who will speak with deligent and constructive

• Kofi 11 years ago

Stop these Firms,Give every Ghanaian family 10 years period of permision to dig our GOLD with our FINGERS and see us for 10yrs.time,since esrly 14teens up till now what do we have? compare it to any whiteman country on Earth.

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

WE ARE NOT IN-DEPENDENT NATION IN ANY SENSE!
    The buyer of our Resources DETERMINES the Selling Price FROM US and the SAME ENTITY determines the END PRODUCT PRICE TO US!! We SMILE and call them "DEVELOPMENT PARTNERS"!! In the ...

• TEE 11 years ago

MAHAM TELL US WHAT TAX PERCENTAGE DO THESE COMPANIES PAYS FOR GHANA B4 YOU LOOT AND SHARE WITH YOUR BUNCH OF THIEVES NORTHERNERS WITH THIER UGLY FACES

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY. 11 years ago

Arthur K, now you are talking like a member of the CPP. Come join us to propagate our ideology. Africa is on the rise and the third revolution is coming with it, economic emancipation.

• komla 11 years ago

arthur u are great, nkrumah is turning in his grave

• G. K. Berko 11 years ago

When it comes to preserving and wisely harnessing our National Assets, we should not be partisan but firm and honest in pursuing the very best interests of the Nation and her children.

This is what Arthur Kennedy should h ...

• EZEKIEL 11 years ago

The STOOGE Ghanaians, who SELL our national Assets for NEXT to NOTHING, are either Knighted or are invited to Buckingham Palace to INSPECT the Kitchen! They then come back and THINK they are Statesmen!!! STOOGES and "House Ne ...

• SAMMY 11 years ago

FOREIGN COUNTRIES MAKE OUR MINING POLICIES TO THE DETRIMENT OF GHANA. FOR EXAMPLE, KWAME NKRUMAH BUILT THE TARKWA GOLD REFINERY BUT HE WAS TOPPLED ON 24 FEBRUARY 1966,THE GOLD REFINERY HAD NOT BEEN UTILISED BY SUCCEEDING GOVE ...

• MENSAH 11 years ago

What is negotiation?
    It is the ability to change the opinion of others,through the climate of favour,instead of force.
    Negotiation begins at birth:
    Babies cry for different reasons at different times:
    When they are wet,hu ...

• kon 11 years ago

Thanx, Arthur K, for the invaluable info. Mahama make use of it.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

Who whines more than NPP politicians and supporters?

• MAKAAMAKA 11 years ago

Dr. Arthur thank you for a sensible report. I think we need a "rational"coup in Ghana.

• WEAKEST PREZ EVER 11 years ago

If the Mining Companies threaten to lay off workers, you also threaten to throw them out of our country if they dare. That is what a strong President does in the interest of his country and people. In Zimbabwe, Uganda, Mining ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 11 years ago

It was the great KWAME Nkrumah who once said that 'The secret of life is to have no fear'. Our leaders have no stomach to fight neo colonialism and they ear the Whitman'.
    The most revolutionary statement in the 2000 NPP man ...

• SHAKARA 11 years ago

MHAMA SHOULD NOT ALLOW THE MINING COMPANIES TO INTIMIDATE HIM. HE MUST
    ENFORCE THE LAWS OF THE LAND IN THE INTEREST OF THE PEOPLE. MINING COS WHO DONT WANT TO ABIDE BY THE LAWS CAN GO SOMEWHERE

• Ibn Batuta 11 years ago

These gold producers pay their expatriate employees stratospheric amounts of money compared to the Ghanaians. If they really want to cut costs, they must fire these expatriates because that is where maximum cost savings can b ...

• AGYEMAN AGYEMAN 11 years ago

UNTIL WE LEARN HOW TO MANUFACTURE TOOLS TO DO THINGS WE WILL FOREVER REMAIN SUBSERVIENT TO THE CAPITALISTS OF THE WEST!!! U HAVE MINERALS IN THE GROUND AND HAVE TO LEASE TOOLS OWNED BY THE CAPITALISTS TO DIG OUT YOUR MINERALS ...

• Yamba 11 years ago

Sam Jonah eats and dines with the mine owners.. He must know something Arthur K and K4 Don't know. Don't crucify Mahama

• Papa Yaw 11 years ago

How

• TRUTH 11 years ago

It is hard to imagine Nkrumah delivering such a whiney speech—he would have been embarrassed to do this. Indeed, a half-century ago, in his landmark speech before African leaders in Addis Ababa, Nkrumah warned against this. ...

• dan 11 years ago

MAHAMA CANT JUST SIT THERE AND COMPLAIN

• JANY 11 years ago

it is sad to see our leaders being so impotent in all spheres of tackling our economy. Both Ndc and Npp are absolute failures in championing our national interest. Let me mirror down to Prez Mahama, this country belongs to gh ...

• Johnny USA 11 years ago

Doctor you said it all, this what politicians have to address not propaganda against seating gov. in power to come back to power at all course.

• Paa Kodwo 11 years ago

GOOD POINT.

UNFORTUNATELY, YOUR SO CALLED ELEPHANTS AND ''PATRIOTS''NPP; DID THE OPPOSITE OF WHAT NKRUMAH STOOD FOR, THE DEVELOPMENT OF THE COUNTRY AND GAMBLED WITH SOUVERIGNTY OF THE NATION AND CORRUPTED THE NATION IN THE ...

• fredsaid 11 years ago

He told them his terms for continued operations in his country as leader and when the american oil companies did not agree he kicked them out nationalised the oil companies and today the American oil companies are dying to go ...

• kokonsa 11 years ago

Oh Mahama,and U call ur self the president of Osagyefo`s Ghana, how, this is a big disgrace for Ghana. This president was not prepared for the presidency and look at the mess he´s put us in.

• Tunar 11 years ago

If we talking about whinning then NPP and Nana Akomea whin more than anybody else in Ghana.

• Repugnant. 11 years ago

They're legitimate whiners, unlike Mahama the mouth brooding twerp. Not even Uncle Atta Mills will fall this crap.

• Kofi 11 years ago

Instead of reducing taxes on their over-taxed citizens, they let foreign companies take our resources for free. This is what happens when you have people who see themselves as inferior at the helm of affairs. Confident leader ...

• mky 11 years ago

arthur kennedy can't never be president, so all that he has left is criticize and criticize till he turns blue in the face..if you were president, kennedy, you would have bowed to the intense pressure from the big mining cong ...

• NANA ASUMADU CANADA 11 years ago

MAHAMA HAS NOTHING TO OFFER FOR GHANAIANS BUT RATHER UNTOLD HARDSHIP. I PITY FOR THOSE THAT VOTE FOR NDC PARTY, THEY ALWAYS COME AND MESSED UP THE ECONOMY, SQUANDERING MONEY AND LEFT GHANAIANS TO SUFFER. THE BIBLE SAYS LACK O ...

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 11 years ago

MR PRESIDENT BELOW IS A STEP BY STEP APPROACH TO SOLVING THE MINING PUZZLE. 1. PUT ALL THOSE WHO GIVE APPROVAL FOR MINING ACTIVIES AT EPA AND MINERALS COMMISSION ON THE RADAR OF NATIONAL SECURITY AND LET THEM KNOW THIS. 2. DE ...

• AMA 11 years ago

It's about leadership....

• Nana Ayisi 11 years ago

I can imagine a country, whereby someone raise issue of national concerns and people begins to insult his personalities. Is it because of Illiteracy? Is it because of political madness? or people just dont wish good for Ghana ...

• YAKUBU 11 years ago

John Mahama and his NDC team is grossly very much unsuited for the serious job and task of governance. For an Nkrumahist party, which would trumpet the ideals of Nkrumahism at the least opportunity bordering on populism at th ...

• kwaw bentum. 11 years ago

John Mahama does not get it that he is leading a party called NDC. A party that eschewed corruption, nepotism, bribery, tribalism, divisiveness, pay to play. Above all, its a party for the palm wine tappers, kayayos, goro boy ...

• Igp 11 years ago

Mahama does not get it. In case he does not know the party he is leading, it is called NDC.
    A party of soldiers, police men, palm wine tappers, artisans, kayaye, Makola mammies, ordinary folks, teachers, miners, fishermen, f ...

• Kweku Boateng Jnr 11 years ago

IGP, commentary is great. Can you develop your piece into an article for say Graphic and Ghanaweb? The president needs men and women of integrity and doers. Remember Nkrumah once said: Revolutions are brought about by men who ...

• HAZOR 11 years ago

What do you think this low IQ president who pose in front CNN logo and develop that passion of wasting over a billion of Ghana Cedis to train barbers and finance nkonfem will have any thing important to bring forth for discus ...

• peprah u.s.a 11 years ago

Arthur you have said it alright god bless u. mahama listen and act as a man and stop eating konkonte.

• adwoa kwaku 11 years ago

Nowhere is tax avoidance and evasion by mining firms more of a problem than in Ghana. Aubyn and the mining firms' words are hollow. They have nowhere to go and they no it. But because what we have in Ghana is mediocre, corrup ...