Ghanaians taking free speech to the extreme – Duncan-Williams

Read Comments Comments (125)

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

The Alliance for Accountable Governance (AFAG) has in a statement described the Mahama-led administration as a “crassly incompetent and bereft government”.

They also called on Ghanaians to stand up and “seek our hope ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

True to that, Duncan-Williams, it is not only misguided statements, especially those who play the tribal card and tribal baiting in the NDC and spin around and call the NPP an Ashanti-Akyem only party. These are the idiots l ...

• mky 10 years ago

Oyokoba, you have sunk low...debate the pastor on the constitutional principle in question.....freedom of speech, yet, you elect to ridicule and poke fun at the pastor. You have indeed by so doing demonstrated your NPP bonafi ...

• SHAMO 10 years ago

IF DUNCAN WILLIAMS IS AFRAID OF FREEDOM OF SOEECH LET SOMEONE TELL HIM TO QUIT POLITICS, TELL HIM TO QUIT NDC ELSE WE WILL BATH HIM WITH MUD

• THIEF BISHOP 10 years ago

The stupid fool Duncan is on it again. How can a thief like Duncan call himself a bishop?

2000 years of Akan glorious history can not be replaced by 50 just because ndc , nkrumah pepeni and ayigbe criminals say so or want it so. Today i listen to my psalms , hymns and war songs by bob marley and 2pac just like Dav ...

• www.owafk-africa.com 10 years ago

7th Edition Free Scholarships for Africa

• Pepeni No.1 10 years ago

This Duncan man talks too much, and more often than not, his utterances are complete trash. People of his calibre are dangerous to society.

• Victor 10 years ago

Now that he is underder the Microscope, all of a sudden he is fuming.He cant take the hear. Due to his his pride, the only way he knows how to respond is by trying to silence people, Unfortunately Ghananains have had enough o ...

• sikdo 10 years ago

I.dont.no.how.stupid.u.are.a.poster.not.a.pastor

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

For God's sake, stop this tribal nonsense talk on a public forum!!
    Come ooooon!!!
    Don't some of you have any fruitful things to do? You can't even use your real names!

• Sabbat 10 years ago

Some of these Akan supremacist are the real dangers in Ghana, everything should fall apart as long as things dont go their way. They are always pointing the tribal accusing fingers whiles the log is right in their eyes. So sa ...

• core 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up...does the BISHOP know God created everybody equally n who the fuck are u to tell me what my right n can't talk? Fix da fucken ecomini

• The African Patriot 10 years ago

Good one. Only your point with NPP was not rightly addressed.....
    Well analysed!!

• Angie 10 years ago

Mr. Duncan, you & the other pastors are part of the problem you just describe about. Just about every week, you guys are in the media making some useless doomsday prophesy. Can't you be the Christlike that you profess to foll ...

• With Pastors Like These, Satan Reigns 10 years ago

Have you no shame, sir?

• dan 10 years ago

THE CON MAN DONT GET IT IN A DEMOCRATY PEOPLE HAVE FREEDOM OF SPEECH TO TALK AND SAY WHAT ON THEIR MIND AND WE NEED TO RESPECT IT EVEN IF WE DONT AGREE

• Cantankerous 10 years ago

These liars who call themselves pastors live lifestyles that most Ghanaians can only dream of.This underachiever Duncan-Williams has quickly forgotten that without the help and assistance of many many individuals,many of who ...

• Thinker 10 years ago

May people may be deceived by Duncan William's opinion on Freedom of Speech but not me and some of you who will know where he is coming from and where he is driving at.

His beef is, mere people like us and those on FM Radi ...

• Papayaw 10 years ago

you hit it right on the nail. Unquestionable mystified knowledge and wisdom, the thinking of the medieval ages. my brother we need the african Renaissance!

• MENSAH 10 years ago

God gives spiritual gifts to people(christian believers) as he wills.
    One can be used by God,to discern the present happenings,as well as the past and the future.
    We call those spiritual gifts:
    WORD OF KNOWLEDGE(PRESENT) & ...

• b. john 10 years ago

every e and right goes with a responsibility. let us all be cautious of how we exercise our rights.

• TIGER LION 10 years ago

Good day.

This is a short true note about your unpaid fund so you need to relax and read very well to your best understanding.

My name is Stephanie Albert. I am a computer scientist working with Central Bank of Nigeri ...

• peace 10 years ago

great leader and wise council

• Tunkumaruu 10 years ago

Some Ghanaian pastors are stretching freedom of worship to stultifying levels. They are behaving like magicians. God works in mysterious ways but He is not magician.

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Thanks for your piece of contribution to this cankerworm that has stripped us our dignity.A church collecting dollars as tithe and offering. Indeed this is beyond magic.

• NANA KUFUOR 10 years ago

Let us face it, what the man of God is saying is true. Our moral fibre and respect for authority are down in this country. Our understanding of democracy is freedom to do whatever we want is obscure. Democracy means rule of l ...

• George Augustin 10 years ago

Let us face the fact, what the man of God is saying is true, when it happen before people will say, had we known,then it is too late. Our moral respect for authority is down in this country. Our understanding of democracy is ...

• *** 10 years ago

FOR A GOOD CAUSE,TO A GREAT PEOPLE & A GREAT NATION.GOD'S BEST & A NON-STOP BLESSINGS!!!SHINE 4EVER GREAT SON OF THE LAND!!!

• Kwame 10 years ago

My friend cut the nonsense... There is absolutely not sence in what you are saying.

• *** 10 years ago

to inject some sense knowledge to make Ghana a MUCH BETTER PLACE for all.Ghana needs u not Self-hatred,seek JESUS 2 SHINE!!!

• Kwame 10 years ago

How do you know Jesus is the Holy son of God? Jesus' story is not new. Same story was told of
    1.Horus 5000BC. Born of the virgin Isis. Birth accompanied by star in the far east and at age 12 he was a prodigal child teacher. ...

• *** 10 years ago

So this is what you are made of???Almost refused to reply to your post.Simply put,JESUS CHRIST THE SON OF GOD,IS ALSO GOD HIMSELF and HE IS NOT KNOWN thru' research BUT BY REVELATION.Thank GOD l engaged you though.NOW,PRAYING ...

• kwame 10 years ago

Nonsense, by whom??

• GHANABA 1 10 years ago

I personally think Duncan Williams need medical attention seriously.He talks anyhow and he has taken Ghanaians for fools.

• Tunkumaruu 10 years ago

In exercising his freedom of worship right, the self styled archbishop commands the cedi to rise and the cedi continued to fall in value. It is unfortunate that freedom of worship has given rise to known con men using this co ...

• jaga 10 years ago

i believe it you and your mother that need medical attention..immbecile

• Hp 10 years ago

No insults.

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

I totally agree with you.

• eastern. 10 years ago

I honestly believe either he takes ghanaians for fools or he is seriously sick.He talks to his followers as if he is a king,and they follow him blindly.He is always boasting to the very hands that feeds him.Anyone who believe ...

• MENSAH 10 years ago

Pastor DUNCAN WILlIAMs is saying the truth.
    We have to take serious inventory on our words before spewing them out.

I apologise greatly for saying something harsh last week on GHANAWEB.
    That was about BABIES LEFT IN HIGH ...

• ADWEN 10 years ago

It is MAHAMA's incompetence but not Freedom of speech to blame. Mismanagement is what is leading to these rampant so-called abuse of freedom of speech self-styled "archbishop".
    Why don't you pray for the abuse of freedom spe ...

• rose ka na wu 10 years ago

Why do u seek so much attention. You are a
    political conman not a bishop. Go to hell.

• Agya-ba Virginia USA 10 years ago

WHO ARE THE NON ACHIEVERS YOU WENT WILD ON THEM THE OTHER DAY? look- ALL ACHIEVEMENTS BELONGS AND COMES FROM GOD THE CREATOR OF THE UNIVERSE. HE DOES WHAT HE PREFERS, ANDHAS POWER OVER ALL THINGS IF HE MAKES YOU AN ACHIEVER, ...

• problem 10 years ago

Look who is talking.Duncan -William who can hardly read or write to this day dares to boast about his "achievement".In his early days he was lucky to have well educated students from Legon and Kumasi univ who helped him. Toda ...

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Freedom of speech to some extend and freedom of speech not freedom of insult you are right. However, when hardship get out of control the nation rises against their government if possible removed the president from office thr ...

• clement 10 years ago

Bishop just relax, those insulting you daily will surely face the judgement of the almighty God. u have done nothing wrong for praying for the cedi. soon, u will see them no more on this earth.

• obu 10 years ago

so what happened to forgiveness, grace, and "turning the other chick" and praying for people that offends you? surprised this is the best advice you have for the bishop (..and wishing people out of the earth)

• Bibin 10 years ago

By their fruit you shall know them Clement. You know now which side Obu is.

• Abena 10 years ago

God will rather judge anyone who connives with others to use his name in vain. That means duping innocent men and women using God's name. The charlatans who dub themselves 'men of God' should rather seek forgiveness because b ...

• Koffi Parker 10 years ago

Does the man of God make sense?he made a very useful contribution to our national development. Life and death is in the Power of tongue those who indulge in it will eat the fruits thereof. your speech makes you who you are.

• Abena 10 years ago

Koffi Parker, i would rather be a sinner and continuously ask God for forgiveness rather than follow these group of 'blind men' who supposedly act as God's best men but rather enrich themselves adulterating God's word. That f ...

Here is a man who uses the pulpit to abuse his own congregation and yet talk about "stretching the limit of free speech" huh!

Talk about maximizing the minimum and maximising the maximum!

• Onipaba 10 years ago

Give us a break.Who wants to listen to your thrash.By their fruits ye shall know them.Will you bringing Gods name to disrepute before i shut your mouth forever and lets see who has the real call of God on their life.Only fool ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 10 years ago

You said it all.

• VICKY LEE BENTON 10 years ago

HE WANTS TO SHUT EVERYONE UP AND EXCEL HIS CURRUPT AUTHORITARAINS OVER US.
    ANYONE WHO COMES TO YOUR CHURCH IS TOTALLY STUPID, AND ANYONE WHO BELIEVES IN YOU IS OUT OF HIS OR HER MIND.
    TELL THE GOVERNMENT TO HAVE ANY AMENDME ...

• sly 10 years ago

I definitely agree with u GHANABA 1

• NANA GYAN 3RD 10 years ago

ghanaians are becoming unbecoming bcos of freedom of SPEECH, Duncan WILLLIAMS IS RIGHT

• YULIA 10 years ago

PISS OFF

• Abbas, london 10 years ago

well done Duncan, Ghanaian are abusing the free and the right they have

• Akosua 10 years ago

wow.

• ANANG 10 years ago

THE SEED YOU HELP TO SOW FOR JUNE FOUTH IS WHAT YOU ARE SEEING. THE MORE YOU TALK YOUNARE EXPOSING YOURSELF MORE

• Sam Ablakwah 10 years ago

We have done this since 1993.
    Ghanaians were only mocking at your comments

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

When fools are given respect the turn to abuse it, Duncan Williams is the person who thinks freedom of speech is to tick on the head of state of the country.
    How foolish can Duncan William be by thinking freedom of speech ha ...

• Allotey 10 years ago

we're sitting on time bomb if we dont heed to these words.

• SABIH-MENSAH TAKORADI 10 years ago

A WORD TO THE WISE IS ........
    THIS CAN ONLY COME FROM PERSONS LIKE
    THE ARCHBISHOP.
    GOD BLESS GHANA.

• Nii Lante Okunka 10 years ago

Drawing moral parallels of the genocide that took place in Rwanda and free speech is a mockery of common sense and intelligence.Anytime this self-proclaimed bishop opens his mouth,he leaves no doubt as to his lack of knowledg ...

• IK 10 years ago

Ghanaians see themselves differently but are looked upon by others as uncivilised, timid, stupid bunch of humanbeings who find their noisy voices only when within the territory of Ghana; that is how the rest of the world see ...

• KWAA 10 years ago

Without freedom of speech where will the Duncan Williams be?
    He has become rich because of the freedom of speech Ghana is enjoying,just because people criticized him for talking about something he has no clue about(CEDi AND ...

• Larry Newhall 10 years ago

All this insults and criticisms on DW IS from Ashantis and Akans.the only thing that is in you head is tribalism.stupid idiots.your children are outside Ghana prostituting and commiting diffierent kind of social vices, that i ...

• Agyemang 10 years ago

You are just a big MORON. Larry Newfu..ckface. Maybe you should take some time and read the article well. Your fit Fu..ck DW is trying to compare Ghana to Rwandan. Hmmm, let the Gun blast and you will see that the GAF is a ca ...

• core 10 years ago

Dw is an akan u ststupid piece of shit and nobody gives a fuck abt u and ur bitch ass tribe no more

• NYNY 10 years ago

Cork sucker, what is your beef.

• ADJOA 10 years ago

Look at this fool who foolish people donate their hard earned money to wanting to educate someone on free speech,

• Kumepreku Asante 10 years ago

The idiots who always use their big okro mouth to sing war songs for mother Ghana have to be very careful.The man of God did not hide the truth of what their mouth can bring unto the Nation.in Rwanda 1994 at the capital Kigal ...

• JOE,LONDON 10 years ago

This is what happens when you give freedom to fools,the gullible and ignorant.Democracy and free speech is not for africans.

• Patrick, USA 10 years ago

Bishop Duncan-Williams is right. Ghanaian cannot take their freedom and freedom of speech for granted. But we should also know that, Ghanaians cannot be taken for ride. Ghanaians are criticizing the Bishop speech because Ghan ...

• goofy 10 years ago

Archbishop Duncans may be your ego might have bruise a little bit free of speech go along with rules of law there's no rules of law in Ghana you say what you think I say what I think if you say something I don't like I let yo ...

• Kofi Acheampong, USA 10 years ago

Somebody shout tell this man shut up !, if the president will take away our freedom because he is not doing well, let him try. What I want Duncan to understand is that we are in a democracy, we are the people and we the peopl ...

• problem 10 years ago

Duncan-Williams is in the hot seat.He is in the firing line. He is feeling the heat so he is now complaining.The self-professed "man of God" is amongst Ghana's rapidly growing list of very wealthy men of God who have tried to ...

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

The Leader of Action Christian Faith is advocating for something, that is to curtail our right for "Free Speech". He wants the corrupt government of Mahama to use his authority to limit our legal right for "Free Speech."
    I ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

Every tom, dick and harry knows that free speech has limits; and that

- strange voices hearing christian Bible bashing pastor who makes a speech saying that the Ghana Cedi currency is on its way of becoming a toilet paper ...

• Sakawa Boy 10 years ago

Where is the collection money

• losto 10 years ago

Thank you bishop. always say the truth. We need people like you to teach the ghanaians their responsibilities as citizens and limitations as to what to say. ghanaians thinks free speech means insults and is about time we grow ...

• ADJEI 10 years ago

If you so called pastors, bishops etc will critically examine yourselves and ask why Ghanaians jump on you guys with the least comments you guys make, the better you will understand that Ghanaians are exasperated with the who ...

• Serebour 10 years ago

Thank you Massa.....exactly the point here and this so called man of God can't take it.

Sometimes I wonder why some section of the Ghanaian population want some of these pastors to run for presidential positions, what they ...

• OWUSU 10 years ago

DO YOU WANT TO TRAVEL TO THE USA?AND DO YOU NEED ASSISTANCE ON HOW TO FILL YOUR VISA APPLICATION FORMS OR BOOKING AN APPOINTMENT? IF THE ANSWER IS YES THEN CONTACT US CUS WE CAN OFFER EXCELLENT ADVICE AND GUIDANCE ON HOW TO G ...

• KOFI 10 years ago

D.WILLIAMS,SHUT UP IF YOU DO NOT WANT GHANAIANS TO INSULT YOU BECAUSE YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT MOST GHANAIANS HATE YOU AND YOUR FAKE CLAIMS TO A LEADER. TRUE LEADERS ARE,NT ARROGANT,IMMORAL AND MATERIALISTIC.GHANAIANS KNOW WHAT Y ...

• KnYc (USMC) 10 years ago

This man just want to suppress people. Because of his stupid opinion that is the reason why we have "Freedom of Speech" What is freedom of speech? Is the political right to communicate one's opinions and ideas using one's bod ...

• LEAVE ME ALONE 10 years ago

I am not a fan of Duncan Williams but he is makings lot sense as far as this topic is concerned.However I find it strange to understand those who think the are the first,last and only educated people in Ghana to uncouthly,pom ...

• Kalahariman 10 years ago

What does the Tutsis and Hutus have to do with Ghana? Is the Duncan-Williams prophesying tribal doom for Ghana in the name of freedom of speech?

Freedom of speech is the ability of anyone to express their views on any subj ...

• Kojo 10 years ago

Duncan,s ire is so misdirected. With leaders messing up so much and looting the national coffers, bottling it in is not the answer. Politicians' crookedness and incompetence have a direct impact on people's lives. Free spe ...

• yaw 10 years ago

Ghanaians fools

• WEI 10 years ago

PASTORS AND ARCHBISHOPS TAKINGNFALSE PROPHESIES,FREEDOM OF WORSHIP AND OF ASSOCIATION TO THE EXTREME.

IN GHANA, MANY PASTORS TAKE FREEDOM OF FALSEHOOD TO EXTREMES.

• WEI 10 years ago

IN GHANA, MANY PASTORS TAKE AZAA PRIESTHOOD TO EXTREMES.

NO WONDER THEY ALL NOW HAVE UNIVERSITIES TEACHING COMMERCIAL SUBJECTS RATHER THAN THEOLOGY AND THE HOLY SCRIPTURES.

NO WONDER MANY PASTORS KNOW LITTLE ABOUT THE C ...

• FREE SPEECH 10 years ago

There's the need for a distinction to be made between Hate speech on the one hand and the freedom of speech or right to free speech on the other hand.
    The propagation of hate speech is one that our laws frown upon and makes ...

• Miss May 10 years ago

Pastor Nick please say no more to the press because anytime you open your mouth you put your foot in it and I don't think you will win this argument and so just let this one pass. Most Ghanaians are now enlightened and can s ...

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

It is the same way self anointed Arch-Bishop Duncan Williams and some of his mend of God take the religious gimmicks to the very Extreme. Tony Aidoo calls it comic relief. To me, it either mental derangement, plain stupidity ...

• KWAKU ASUMAH 10 years ago

This is what we expect from people who prove themselves to be opened-minded.

• TRUE OR FALSE? 10 years ago

Archbishop DuncanWilliams wants criminal libel laws restored, and his political master is looking for ways to capture and bottle air for sale to Ghanaians who wish to continue breathing in today's BITTER GHANA. Is the water s ...

• DaDa K 10 years ago

Mr. Bishop,I think you should also stop using your pulpit to address sensitive Governmental issues in a very biased manner and in favour of the ruling Government at all times at the displeasure of the majority of the masses,t ...

• TWEAAAAAA 10 years ago

OH YES, MY GOOD MAN OF GOD HAS ALSO TAKEN FREEDOM OF WORSHIP TO THE EXTREME.....AND MIND YOU THERE IS ALSO A MAJORITY ETHNIC GROUP IN IN GHANA.....THE TIME WILL SURELY COME AND WE SHALL SEE.

• Let's Truly Fear God 10 years ago

Duncan-Williams, you must then learn not to take your freedom of speech to the level of making people think you, and not Christ, are the intermediary between God and Ghana - and mankind for that matter. When you based your ac ...

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

MAN IS BOTH A PHYSICAL BEING & A SPIRITUAL BEING. JESUS WAS THE SAME.

HOW ABOUT "GOD" ?
    IN WHICH GALAXY DOES HE LIVE ? IN OUR MILKY WAY OR SOME OTHER ?

Mr Questions, where do you reside that you do seem not to know there's God. How can I help you? For surely, you need help as your name lets out. The Lord Jesus is the Holy Son of God, the Holy Father. You may know that the Fa ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

How do you know Jesus is the Holy son of God? Jesus' story is not new. Same story was told of
    1.Horus 5000BC. Born of the virgin Isis. Birth accompanied by star in the far east and at age 12 he was a prodigal child teacher. ...

Check me out, Kwame, in the next 12 hours. I've just noted your reaction, having just returned from church.

Kwame, I start to respond to your comment wishing I were sitting face-to-face with you rather than writing. We could in that case cover more ground. I respond because I see an obligation under God to do so. I look at the exam ...

• mensah abrampa 10 years ago

Rawlings started it all. He took insults to uncharted territory when he insulted everyone, chiefs, elders, kings, ministers of state; law makers, judges, presidents, etc. We seemed to enjoy it and even accepted it as the new ...

• Mr. Questions 10 years ago

DON'T YOU REALISE HOW FOOLISH YOU SOUND EACH TIME YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH ?

YOU ARE IN THE SAME LEAGUE AS THE POLITICIANS WHO ARE DOING GHANA NO GOOD. YOU NEED TO WITHDRAW FROM SOCIETY AND GO HIDE IN YOUR STOLEN WEALTH.

• Owen,New York. 10 years ago

Boshop Duncan Williams got it wrong.In the case of Ghana,it's all about corruption resulting the fall of the currency(Cedi), whilst that of Rwanda was a tribal war.This is not Ewes and Ashantis or Sefwis and Ashantis. We are ...

• Yawed 10 years ago

How

• jato bibio 10 years ago

Ghanaians are always quick in accepting the whiteman's proposals. did we not have our own democratic ways? Yet we swallowed this kind of democracy which also comes with a whole lot of practices that are not acceptable in our ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

So what does Archbishop Duncan Williams suggest?
    For people to come to hims for prayers before speaking?
    Ho! Hoo! Hooo!! As my late grandfather would say.

• HAWA YAKUBU 10 years ago

I hope my NPP brothers and sisters are listening to this wise man. They are obligatory liars and corrupt and drug dealers. Their leadership need more education than politics. They dwell on their ill-gotten richness and vomit ...

• DOING MY JOB - MAHAMA 10 years ago

DUNCAN WILLIAMS A MAN WITHOUT AFRICAN NAME IS VERY DUMB . WE ARE NOT IN SLAVERY TIME .

• A concerned citizen...222222 10 years ago

Nonentities rubbishing in this forum must shut up

• kaya 10 years ago

the so called prophets and liars of the altar are also misusing of love for Jesus. this guy is losing it.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

These akan's npp motorbikes thieves must give the good people of Ghana a total break, who is eager to know if kwame London addo is coming back or not? Who give a shit damn? Kwame London can go to hell and Ghanaians don't give ...

• ASUNNYJOH 10 years ago

THIS IDIOT NEEDS ATTENTION,IF YOU DON´T CARE ABOUT ONE´S COMING WHY DO YOU COMMENT ON THAT.YOU ARE HIDING BEHIND A STUPID NAME TO SPILL HATRED BUT YOUR ACTUAL NAME IS AMASA NAOMOALE AN MP FROM NORTH.TWEAAAA IT IS ONLY IN TH ...

• JOJO 10 years ago

I disagree with you pastor Duncan, please stop making wide allegations just because some people spoke against you alright!. in a democratic world freedom of speech is paramount, and what we need to practice more is agreeing t ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

What do you know about free speech!

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

This guy is among the leading rabble-rousers in the Ghanaian public space.

• Odada 10 years ago

CULPABLES ARE THE FALSE PROPHETS

• ADI 10 years ago

This paster has a ring on a SWOLLEN finger. How can he take it off? Everybody should a a second look at it. Is it a normal ring or form a fertish priest?