Patient dies because surgeon refuses to operate on him

Read Comments Comments (80)

• jijk 11 years ago

IF ALL THE ALLEGATIONS ARE TRUE THIS DOCTOR SHOULD BURY HIS HEAD IN SHAME FOR "KILLING" THIS PATIENT. YOUR CALL TO THE PROFESSION IS NOT ONLY FOR THE FINANCIAL REWARD BUT ALSO TO HONOR GOD AND SAVE LIVES. MONEY IS NOT AN END ...

• Yaa 11 years ago

there are a lot of thing that go into taking care of patients.i have a patient on my the ward with serious injuries who needs surgery,the relatives are waiting for the driver who knocked her down to come and pay for the items ...

• Cindy 11 years ago

This doctor actions constitute gross negligence & dishonorable, unethical & unprofessional conduct. He must be liable for this man's death and compensate the family. He is a danger to the public & must be ban from practicing.

• james 11 years ago

seize the doctor lincense so he will neva practice again.He has no heart for humans like a doctor is suppose to.

• DR QUADRATIC 11 years ago

To begin with,the medical profession is a divine call to serve mankind.However,some of us were not called. Having said that, we need to answer a lot of questions before heaping the blame on the dr in question. Was there a med ...

• EFO 11 years ago

THOSE OF U LIVING ABROAD ARE SURPRISED TO HEAR THIS. THIS IS NO NEWS. ALMOST EVERY FAMILY IN GHANA HAS HORROR STORIES LIKE THIS. YOU JUST SWALLOW IT WITH PAIN AND SORROW, NOTHING TO DO.
    THIS IS OUR BELOVED HOMELAND GHANA.
    T ...

• DR KUFFOUR 11 years ago

Obaa Yaa my dear, your case is totally different from Dr Gyedu unforgivable actions. At the end of the day, we will blame the President. Ghana is in the state it is now due to the actions and inactions of we the citizens. So ...

• wigit guit 11 years ago

DOCTORS MORE SO NURSES IN GH ARE VERY WICKED.... NURSES AT RIDGE KILL MY DEAR MOTHER SOME YEARS AGO..... THEY NEARLY KILL ME AT LA HOSPITAL BCOS OF NEGLiGENCE NOW MY ONE OF ARMS IS DEFORMED.. NO COMPENSATION

• BAM 11 years ago

DOCTORS ARE KILLING PEOPLE EVERYDAY AND THEY GO UNPUNISHED. KORLEBU IS NO EXCEPTION. THOSE WHO GIVE BIRTH OVER THERE CAN TESTIFY. DR TREATNING PATIENTS RIGHT AFTER SURGERY NOT TO HAVE BABY AGAIN OR ELSE , YOU CAN IMAGINE

• Aisha London 11 years ago

This is somebody who was educated abroad and had the option to work in any western hospital abroad but for the love of his country he returned home to help his people and country. He does not deserve this insults especially w ...

• Osei Akoto 11 years ago

Look at what you are saying, how different is the patient in question from those he has operated.

• EFO 11 years ago

THE ANGER HERE IS INDIRECTLY AT OUR DOCTORS AND NURSES IN GENERAL. THIS SHOWS PEOPLE ARE TIRED AND FED UP WITH THE MEDICAL SYSTEM.

• Philip Kwadwo K. Baabiineh 11 years ago

This story is very hard for me to believe.

How can the reporter say the doctor will not answer any question from his HOD?

If this is how journalists will report to damage images and incite the public against individuals ...

Those of us who know Dr GYEDU will not even think this is near the truth let alone to believe it.

We urge the public to seek the truth than accepting anything shared on social media !
    Dr GYEDU, continue comforting & relie ...

• Fernando 11 years ago

But this is no news!! Try Tema General hospital especially in the night and you will be amazed at what doctors and nurses can do to their fellow human beings.

• KANE 11 years ago

THAT'S WHY WE ALL MISS "WHO BORN DOG"!!

RAWLINGS WOULD HAVE PROVIDED A HANDS-ON SOLUTION TO THIS CALLOUS DOCTOR'S CONDUCT.

• wigit guit 11 years ago

GH REALLY MISSED PAPA J

• consider 11 years ago

it's easy, sue the kolebu for negligence of duty leading to loss of life..that's all

• Amoah Kofi 11 years ago

Everybody will die one day.

• Saint Peter 11 years ago

This sort of reporting is dangerous and misleading, as it is one-sided. Of course, I feel sorry for the demise of Solomon, we need to hear from the doctor's side to ascertain the facts. There is no indication here that this r ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Except an Ashanti no other tribe would have behaved like this. As for Ashanti doctors and nurses they see the patient solely as a source of money and not a human being worth saving. So if the patient does not pull out the mon ...

• YAA 11 years ago

ANOTHER NDC FOOL TURNING EVERYTHING INTO POLITICS. WO YE ABOA PAA, KWASIA GO TO HELL BASTARD, IDIOT.

• Kantinka 11 years ago

Do not believe in all stories our newspapers churn out. This is a one sided story even if it happened. Our newspapers nowadays are full of lies and must be read with a pinch of salt. My beef here is, even if this concorted st ...

• EFO 11 years ago

WE ALL LIVE IN GHANA AND WE KNOW OUR DOCTORS AND NURSES VERY WELL. WE KNOW THEM TOO WELL. SO WHEN A PAPER PUBLISHES A STORY LIKE THIS WE DONT DOUBT IT. IT MIGHT BE A FALSE STORY BUT IT IS BASED SO MUCH ON WHAT WE ALL EXPERIE ...

• Okunini 11 years ago

What the heck is meant by Prof. Ohene-Yeboah being the role model of Dr. Gyedu? Is this a pathetic attempt to impugn the integrity of the Prof? We need some professional journalism in Ghana. This piece is trash, nothing less.

• concerned young doctor 11 years ago

It is really pathetic that things could go that bad. However I am really surprised at those who try to rubbish the report and crucify the editor. Yes the Professor mentioned in the piece is a bad role model. He has squandered ...

Oh noooo!
    This is too bad!
    How can you sound so tribalistic!

May God have mercy on you!
    May we have less than 5 people having this evil mentality in Ghana .

Aah! please apologise to all your readers and ask God for ...

Oh noooo!
    This is too bad!
    How can you sound so tribalistic!

May God have mercy on you!
    May we have less than 5 people having this evil mentality in Ghana .

Aah! please apologise to all your readers and ask God for ...

• Nana Eluwa Smith 11 years ago

Oh Sgt Anani, I'm really disappointed with your line of thought. I wonder what kind of intelligence u possess that made u become a Sgt.......this is the most childish comment I've ever seen from a supposed high ranking office ...

• Edem Sefakor 11 years ago

Sgt Anani, If I were to meet u in person, I'd form just two impressions about u
    1. u are a potential cause of tribal and national conflict/war
    2. u won't hesitate to kill your fellow country man as long as he's not of your ...

• kwasi Kakraba 11 years ago

Let leave it to the Almighty God. The salary that our medical doctors are receive are enough but look at this man, because of money, he will answer later in his life.

• YAA 11 years ago

GYEDU YOU WILL NEVER KNOW PEACE IN YOUR LIFE. YOU WILL DIE LIKE SOLOMON MENSAH AND LEAVE YOUR FAMILY. AND YOU, PROF. OHENE YEBOAH IF YOU DON'T PUNISH GYEDU, YOU TOO WILL NOT KNOW PEACE IN YOUR LIFE. SHAME UNTO YOU ALL AT KATH ...

• BRANDY 11 years ago

it is a very normal practice abroad to ban doctors from working as doctors when they become so incompetent like what happened to Michael Jackson's doctor .....drs are killing people daily and they go scot free and continue to ...

• DELAW 11 years ago

This Doctor must be sued,what are the family doing

• BRANDY 11 years ago

it is a very normal practice abroad to ban doctors from working as doctors when they become so incompetent like what happened to Michael Jackson's doctor .....drs are killing people daily and they go scot free and continue to ...

• raw 11 years ago

yes that is correct . His license must be taken away

• EFO 11 years ago

YOU DONT LIVE IN GHANA. FROM YOUR POST YOU MUST LIVE IN GERMANY, CANADA OR THE US. THIS IS GHANA, OK? WHO IS GOING TO SACK THE DOCTOR? YOU MUST BE KIDDING.

• SOLOMON POBEE 11 years ago

Infact, this is very sad. People like Dr Gyedu are those who make the loudest noise when it comes to issues like "extra allowances". A big shame to Dr Adam Gyedu.

• raw 11 years ago

Take his license away

• Alhaji Brutus Germany 11 years ago

ÜNETHICAL AND UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT I THINK HIS LICENSE MUST BE WITHDRAWN;

• kojo 11 years ago

GHANAIANS DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON AT KOMFO ANOKYE TEACHING HOSPITAL. IT IS ONE OF THE HIGHLY CORRUPT STATE INSTITUTIONS.
    MANY DOCTORS DEMAND FOR BRIBE BEFORE THEY ATTEND TO THE PATIENT.
    A SENIOR DEMANDED FOR BRIBE F ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

In a car garage, where a famous heart surgeon was waiting for the service manager to take a look at his Mercedes, there was a loud mouthed mechanic who was removing the cylinder heads from the motor of a car. He saw the surge ...

• Concern Ghanaian 11 years ago

If indeed our doctors and nurses are now becoming murderers in our clinics and hospitals then we are finished

• nazif london 11 years ago

thats how they killed my cousin,s wife who was a staff kath,they left her in labour for hours meanwhile she needed operation to deliver eventually she died sadlly

• YAA 11 years ago

Papa Dr. How much did you want that you watched a patient die? how long wud have spent that money? may you live with your conscience forever and ever!

• EFO 11 years ago

THE NURSES AND DOCTORS DO THIS ALL THE TIME.

• Nana Ama 11 years ago

This Ghana too, they are killing people pa pa..Don't these docs have supervisors? Wow...

• Akakpo 11 years ago

I am told by a friend who lives in Kumasi that at Okomfo Anokye when you visit the hospital, the nurses ask you - do you come to hospital or you have come to see the doctor. So you advise yourself. This article is 100% corre ...

• WOFA YAW 11 years ago

and yet,they are still demanding more money from the state.God is watching.

• Kofi Yesu 11 years ago

It is a criminal matter and the police must act quickly. The so-called surgeon must be prosecuted and struck-off and possibly jailed in addition. There are too many of such surgeons around, giving some very good ones a bad na ...

• The mask 11 years ago

Only a strong economy can guarantee good and sustainable healthcare.

The current practice whereby newly graduated medical doctors which we call house officers are left to entirely experiment with serious medical cases whil ...

• Bro. Tonga 11 years ago

I do not know years ago when I heard someone was a doctor I admired them with awesomeness. But now it does not even tickle me at all. Genuine ones who are not able pay bribes for admission are left aside for the rich and corr ...

• RAW 11 years ago

ON THAT DAY, SOO MANY DOCTORS WILL ANSWER TO THEIR CREATOR.. REMEMBER A MAN WILL REAP WHAT HE SOWS.

• Jeff, UK 11 years ago

Is this a true story or the usual ploy adopted by most papers in GH just to sell? If this can be proven, he must be barred from medical practice for good. This is what would have happened in the UK

• EFO 11 years ago

THIS IS NO NEWS IN GHANA. YOU DONT HAVE MONEY, YOU DIE. WE UNDERSTAND IT. WE DONT FIGHT IT. U CANT AFFORD CARE, U GO TO CHURCH AND LOOK FOR MIRACLE HEALING AND THE VAMPIRES IN THE CHURCH WOULD ALSO RIP YOU OFF.

• Lord Garvah 11 years ago

This man should be arrested, one cannot do this in the United States

• Peekay 11 years ago

If this happens to be true, the Doctor in question needs to be investigated as I dont think he's practising according to the code of ethics he swore to uphold. How insensitive can he be to ignore a patient who is in pain and ...

• Aisha 11 years ago

It doesn't sound the caring and professional doc I know.

• Aisha s 11 years ago

My heart goes to the deceased person's family but Dr Gyedu is a caring and professional doctor who has gone beyond the call of duty to help and support his patients. This is a one off incident which is under investigation le ...

• I Mahama 11 years ago

dr Gyedu is a man of integrity and has done so many good things in his career life.

• nana 11 years ago

If this story is true !I don't know what to say, but if you do this in America as a doctor you are going to jail , As a doctor what you have to do is to save people's life,in America if you go to hospital,the way doctor's re ...

• Krakye Kwakye 11 years ago

No, I dont think a doctor in the US will go to jail for doing what Dr. Gyedu did. But most likely if Dr Gyedu did that here in the US:
    1. His hospital privilleges will be suspended immediately by the Chief of Staff of his h ...

• Krakye Kwakye 11 years ago

What is going on at KATH, a premier teaching hospital, is truly disturbing. In the last year we have heard about:
    1. An instrument left in a patient's abdomen after surgery without the hospital accepting responsibility for a ...

• I Mahama 11 years ago

Dr gyedu is a man of integrity and will not go out of his way to kill a patient.

• OSEI TAWIA JUSTICE (USA). 11 years ago

THIS SHAMEFUL AND STUPID THING CAN ONLY HAPPENED IN GHANA ESPECIALLY THAT ANIMAL KINGDOM OF KUMASI. IT CAN NEVER HAPPEN IN THE STATES OR ANY OF THE EUROPEAN COUNTRIES. THE LAW MUST DEAL WITH THIS USELESS DR. "ABOA" GYEDU,SHAM ...

• naa 11 years ago

you have just heard one side of the story and you are insulting him? i do not blame u, i blame the people who wrote the story.

• gabriel 11 years ago

Has nobody noticed that the patient died on the 19th whiles Dr.refused to operate him on the 21st and instead was operating other people? And then the same patient died again!

• Magdalen 11 years ago

God will punished him

• naa 11 years ago

God does not punish people who have done nothing my dear.

• Magdalen Hawa 11 years ago

God is watching,useless doctor

• naa 11 years ago

it will interest u to know that he is one of the few best doctors & he is very good in what he does & be-careful with the things u say.

• Dr Ghanaba 11 years ago

Actually Professor Ohene Yeboah does worse with this kind of thing. This money is called 'kwakya' and I goes if it is investigated well most doctors in Ghana will be found guilty. Very sad date of affairs in Ghana. For a prof ...

• Johnny USA 11 years ago

GOV. TO SHAKE UP THAT HOSPITAL KATH IN KUMASI BEFORE IS TOO LATE.

• Observer 11 years ago

THIS ONE-SIDED REPORT SMACKS OF MISCHIEF. SOMEONE HAS BEEN PAID TO WRITE THIS AND IT CAN PUT PATIENTS' LIVES AT RISK. THERE ARE AVENUES TO SEEK REDRESS IN CASES OF THIS NATURE.

• Becky Quaye 11 years ago

He's a murder, he should be arrested.

• Akua 11 years ago

I think we all need to hear his part of the story. Actually, he did not refuse to operate. If u understand what surgery means, one cannot operate on a patient when he needs resuscitation. He told the aneasthesist, to do that, ...

• coffie 11 years ago

We dont jxt operate
    correction of fluids n elctrolyte vry import before surgery
    ask n u wil be told laymen!!!!

• Fuseini Issah 11 years ago

I know Mr Gyedu pretty well....there is another side to the story. Mr Gyedu will not be influenced by money! A very devoted Muslim who is the least material. This guy loves Ghana to the extent that on the eve of his qualifica ...

• Mamani Salma 11 years ago

Because Edwin Osei, the medical student, was around Dr. Gyedu obviously could not extort the family of the patient! This is garbage! He could have asked the family to see him for any number of reasons. What goes into the care ...

• Mamani Salma 11 years ago

Only uncorroborated gossip- correction