Rawlings: Africa needs to have a strong voice

Read Comments Comments (129)

• Kofi Yeboah 10 years ago

give us a break

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

I am not sure what JJ's beef is with this Ukraine issue. We have our own problems in Ghana and even in Africa. What was he able to do about the Somalia problems when he was given the responsibility? He loves to visit and hang ...

• dani 10 years ago

GHANA ECONOMY IS IN THE GUTTER RAWLINGS NDC AND MAHAMA LEADERSHIP HAVE DESTROYED GHANA BUSNISSES AND GHANA JOBS TO THE POINT OF NO RETERN PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING AND THIS LUNATIC IS TALKING ON BEHALF OF AFRICA RATHER THEN SIT IS ...

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

Why do people invite this fool to talk. He did nothing for Ghana only killed innocent people and encouraged bullying, sold factories to his wife and cronies and destroyed Ghana with his stupid revolution. God punish him and d ...

• BRIAN WILLIAMS 10 years ago

IF HE DOES NOT KNOW THAT, THE VOICE HE IS ADVOCATING FOR ONLY COMES THROUGH ECONOMIC INDEPENDENCE, THEN HE IS LOST. I STILL REMEMBER HIS "60 MINUTES" INTERVIEW WITH DIANE SAWYER AND SAY HE MAY HAVE FORGOTTEN THE "CATCH 22" SI ...

• TonyPM 10 years ago

Hey Brian

• Samo jewellery 10 years ago

Let samo jewellery design yr dream wedding n engagement yellow n white gold rings for you.......call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest ring pictures.....also contact samo jewellery on tonaton.com....olx.com.gh.... ...

• Amekukumenyeakor 10 years ago

Unfortunately some of the people who comment on this platform needs to be schooled. Your hate for President Rawlings will definitely consume you one of these days.
    The speech given by President Rawlings on this occasion was ...

• Kobina Otumanyi 10 years ago

Fantastic speech by Rawlings. Kudos.

• KOLA INSIDE MAIN LONDON 10 years ago

KOLA INSIDE MAIN LONDON

I shouldn't have posted that to aggravate the situation but because the Top Bigot(Sarpong) who has justed posted using Paa Nii below is the main cause.

• Dan 10 years ago

Justed? Did you finish jss?

• Wofa Kofi 10 years ago

Thank You Jerry. Africa Needs someone like Rawlings who Comes out plain and let the world know what he thinks. Ist time for Ghanaians to Focus on World Affairs. Double Standards of the Western world.

• senior citizen 10 years ago

you are a disgrace to humanity.if u continue insulting people who are better than u and all your entire familty,u wil end up being the most useles creature on earth.take it or live to see

• ILLITERATE SARPONG 10 years ago

The man who liberated Ghana has spoken

• KOLA INSIDE MAIN LONDON 10 years ago

Where did you schooled?

• pity 10 years ago

i don't want to believe that some of the contributors are Ghanaians and living beings. Living beings with five senses wouldn't write these shameful stuff and think it will do something to JJ or everything in Ghana now is poli ...

• KILLLER BEE 10 years ago

ABAH! DID AND SCHOOLED EVEN IN MAIN LONDON THEN WHEN YOU WILL BE IN PAPUA NEW GUINEA? LONDON MPO NI!

• Anonymous Coward 10 years ago

Kwasea bi nti load shedding is starting tomorrow. What a failed state?

• seneior citizen. Braunschweig Germany 10 years ago

somebody used my name senior citizen to reply to Rawlings, communust address he made during the 10th anniversary of Pan African parliament which took place recently.This person should forthwith stop using this name whenever ...

• tomtom 10 years ago

For heavens sake, read what he said carefully and comment on that. Whatever your researvations about him, he has left an indelible make in the history of Ghana, that is not to say that he did not do wrong. That is why the wor ...

• tomtom 10 years ago

Rawlings has hit the right note in the speech he made. This old style American politic would not fool anyone this time around. After the cold war, Russia was the one to let go of her communist empire-the wassau pact. America ...

• prempeh 1 10 years ago

Did Rawlings care, when Moahmar Ghadafi was being attacked by the Western criminals, did he say something, he waited for his destruction before making this comments. African are Africans, nothing can change us, some of the Af ...

• Nana Yaw 10 years ago

U guys need to put aside how much we all don't like JJ and read wat he said very carefully, he made a lot of points. U.S.A is acting as the ruler of the world just profit wen they are not suppose to but do it anyways caz no o ...

• SHAMU 10 years ago

When shall Africa have leaders like this man again? These are sort of visionary leaders Africa need. Unfortunately, they are no more there. Those around are only fighting for their stomach in a form of corruption, stealing, l ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Yours is the only sensible comment. These others do not understand that Africa needs to Unite. today it is Ukraine, tomorrow Bangladesh. Then when it is the turn of Ghana , there will be no one to defend us

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

Did he just have the epiphany after 20 years in power? He kowtowed to the West when he was in power. Where was that strong voice when he ruled for 20 years? Why didn’t he send his kids to Russia or Cuba for education? In an ...

• Tony Lithur-27 ZERO;Create,Loot & Sha 10 years ago

Efo JJ, you destroyed Ghana with your wicked NDC and now you're talking about strong voices. How can we've strong voices (whatever you mean by that) if we're poor and illiterate.

• apuuu 10 years ago

Cry wolf apuuu

• NII ARMAH 10 years ago

you can fix electricity problem after 57 years what voice do you need again? TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• Kofi Kofi 10 years ago

Who invited this dumbass killer to the 10th anniversary celebration of the Pan African Parliament? You ruled Ghana for almost twenty years and what legacy did you leave us apart from stealing and sharing with your smelly trok ...

• Djake Koku Salif 10 years ago

Shut the fuck up Rawlings, you had all the opportunity to turn Ghana around with your 20years in power. You have left more people poorer so shut the fuck up. I will leave my feaces by your name anywhere. Nonsense man, that is ...

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

give the old rapist, arsonist some work to do

• efo 10 years ago

You were in power for how many years. What did you do for mother ghana except opening your stinking mouth talking rubbish. You should shut up and let the people of Africa leave in peace. Visionaryless leaders, one day a savio ...

• Voice of Reason 10 years ago

AND HIS DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR......NOW WE CAN UNDERSTAND WHY THIS SEMI-LITERATE LOW LIFER THOUGHT HE COULD RULE A COUNTRY LIKE GHANA.......THINKING ABOUT A GLOBAL VOICE WHEN WE CAN HARDLY PROVIDE WATER AND ELECTRICITY.....IS ...

• Mansah 10 years ago

You don't make any sense 1 bit... please keep your thoughts to yourself....

• Iman Erskine 10 years ago

How many African leaders do you think will listen tou you. You ruled for 20yrs and left in your wake murder,(including judges, and a nursing mother), mayhem and transfer of economic ownership from the state to yourself and yo ...

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Who is the bad guy in Ukraine? It is the Russia. Why is Rawlings taking side with Russia?

Rawlings had a chance to educate his children in Russia, but chose to educate them in the West, he hates. Rawlings live like a capit ...

Is Rawlings a socialist or capitalist?Has Rawings ever driven a Russian car or worn a pair of shoes from the east. Is Rawlings V8 from Russia? If the answers are no then his a complete asshole

• Lt. Gen Lizard 10 years ago

The BASTARD TROKOSI ARSE-HOLE rawlings is nothing but a toilet paper to wipe one's arse with!!!!For my own part,i like to shiite and pist on this TROKOSI IDIOT!!!!

• BIG NAME 10 years ago

Why would this ugly stupid old man takes sides of Communist nations? But this ugly damned old man called Rawlings lifestyle does not reflect the communist ideals he and his ewes socialists support. Russia is threatening stabi ...

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

We need fools like you to make the ghanaweb worth visiting.It is good Rawlings is a communist and not a greedy,mafia capitalist always cheating the majority poor to enrich himself.Anyway communist China saved capitalist Ameri ...

• BIG NAME 10 years ago

If you are blind and dumb,get it from me that economic system in China is capitalism. All their investment ventures are profit making and investors outside China are able to repatriate their investment returns without problem ...

• Ghanatta 10 years ago

Who is greedy than your little ewe god called Rawlings? Was your bastard selfish greedy Rawlings able to mention those whom he claimed bought him those three customized made Toyota SUVs?

Has your Rawlings, the ancient Sata ...

• Ghanatta 10 years ago

, who has his brains to hate people who are better than you

• I'M DOING MY JOB - MAHAMA 10 years ago

WHAT'S THE POWER IN AFRICA ? GHANA AIRWAYS NOW A RESTURANT . WHY UKRAINE ISSUE HAS TO MERGE WITH AFRICAN PROBLEMS MR KNOWN WAY TOO MUCH .

• Yaw Berko 10 years ago

Poor Ghanaweb ! Whereas readers and contributers are reacting intelligently and positively, on several other Ghanaian and African websites, to this brilliant discourse on Africa's role in global geopolitics by J.J. Rawlings,G ...

• I/M DOING MY JOB - MAHAMA 10 years ago

BEGGAR HAS NO POWER AND AFRICAN HAS NO POWER IN UNITED NATION . IMAGINE A WORLD WITHOUT A WHITE MEN

• Kwaku Ananse 10 years ago

Africa does not needs Mad Dogs like you.

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON 10 years ago

Thanks Rawlings for your boldness to speak the truth.The hypocrisy of the western world is shocking and beyond belief.They believe that they have the divine right to dictate to how other nations should behave in this world.Th ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

JJ had 20 years so what did he change, what voice did he give to Africa? Didn't he cozy up to Clinton, falling all over himself when he visited the Whitehouse and also when Clinton visited Ghana. What has he done for Somalia ...

A continent that cannot feed itself cannot have a strong voice, JJ.

• dani 10 years ago

WE GO BEG CHINA FOR A LOAN THAT THEY DONT WANT TO GIVE US AND PLAYING WITH US AND OUR DIPLOMATS RUNNING ALL AROUND THE WORLD BEGGING FOR MONEY SO HOW ARE WE GOING TO HAVE STRONG VOICE GET REAL MAN

• onipanua 10 years ago

It is surprising that Rawlings is being criticized and insulted for speaking the truth.Those criticizing are nothing but fools.They better put on their thinking caps.

• dani 10 years ago

RAWLINGS HAS NOT DONE ANYTHING MEANIGFULL FOR GHANA AND IS NOT DOING ANYTHING NOW BUT TALK TRASH. HE GOS THERE TALK FOR AFRICA WHILE GHANA ECONOMY IS IN THE GUTTER AND BEING DESTROYED BY HIS OWN NDC FOOLS.B4 GOING AND TALKING ...

• Information is Priceless 10 years ago

When u were selling our mines to them u didn't think they were hypocrites.
    Fuck off with all of them.
    You know where they are so let's see what u can do about it.
    Stop disturbing us while we search for our livelihood.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

When did Jerry Rawlings discover Africa?

• Information is Priceless 10 years ago

Fake pan Africanists all around.
    You may kill the messenger but never the message.
    Until Ghana goes back to the drawing board Nkrumah had,we'll chase our tales like dogs,literally.
    You don't believe me?Take a look at your ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 10 years ago

Fortunately, Nkrumah left a blueprint for Africans to follow.

We ignore the legacy of Nkrumah at our peril.

• Do the right thing 10 years ago

Listen to the hypocrite Rawlings. Not every Ghanaian is an idiot to be fooled. This is the guy who collaborated with the IMF/WB to destroy Ghana's industrial base, did all their bidding in the nineties to destroy the greatest ...

• dunaa 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah is known to have declared "Seek ye first the political kingdom and all other things will be added". I do not often disagree with Kwame Nkrumah insights, but I disagree with this aforesaid declaration. This speec ...

• Gonzaga 10 years ago

He killed businessmen and destroyed the cedi because he was poor and jealous. Now that he stole all the money and has become rich, he is talking. Africans should be ashamed, especially Ghanaians. People still follow this oppo ...

• Ras Kwaku 10 years ago

Only cowards will insult JJ Rawlings for speaking out the truth to the West. Africa needs to rise!!

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

Strong voice by destabilizing a ruling government every few years; by killing all those we disagree with, by forming one ruling party and another one at home. Idiot. Africa has no voice because of congenital coup addicts like ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 10 years ago

I REALLY HOPE THAT THESE CURRENT CROP OF LEADERS IN AFRICA WILL LISTEN TO YOU THIS TIME, WE CAN NOT LOSE HOPE FOR THE SAKE OF OUR CHILDREN.FIRST OF ALL YOU ARE TALKING TO A GENERATION OF PEOPLE WHO DID NOT EVEN KNOW THE IMPOR ...

• kwame 10 years ago

Jerry what about our Country Ghana.

• guest 10 years ago

africans are idiots and ignorant
    they never learn from history
    and believe me the white man knows that

• Julius Asiedu-Young 10 years ago

You are right this time.

• TOHUGU 10 years ago

You are so noble in all you say and do.It is only the corrupt and warped-minded individuals who hate you. But the wise in Ghana, West Africa , Africa and the world over will forever love and respect you J. J Rawlings. God ble ...

• JAH 10 years ago

GOOD JOB JJ

• Paapa 10 years ago

A sixth former speaking his mind to the world. Bravo Rawlings!!!!

• Revjay393@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

THERE ARE THOSE WHO DREAM OF A BETTER LIFESTYLE
    AND
    AND THOSE WHO LIVE THEIR DREAMS
    THOSE WHO WONDER WHAT TOMORROW WILL BRING

• Paapa 10 years ago

Hate you or love you, you are just who you are, created by God in His own image.

• DZOKOTO -POMENYA-DZAKPASU-AVOKLIA 10 years ago

Western countries are the cause of OVER 85% world problems. Russia is being portrayed as the bad guy but in fact The WEST (USA,UK,France,Germany,Europe,Canada,Australia, New Zealand and certain allies in Arab world Saudi Arab ...

• John,Tema 10 years ago

You are perfectly right but most Ghanaians will not understand probably bcos they have never moved out of this country before.Personally I began to understand Russia when I traveled to that country.Russia has a lot to tell th ...

• sly 10 years ago

I say pay me I kill this sob in seconds

• Goateater 10 years ago

It is heartbreaking to see people on this forum trying to insult Mr Rawlings. No self respecting person can find fault with what he said, so please listen to the message and do not judge the messenger. Africa will be better f ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 10 years ago

JUJU JJ AGAIN,TWEAAAAAAAAAA

• Damango - USA 10 years ago

It's unfortunately that his 30 years of governing Ghana did not amount to anything. His record is abysmal but who am I to say; he still has many idiot followers. I wish the BASTARD will die a slow death.

• Civil Services Whistleblower 10 years ago

Few trusted colleagues and I have carefully examined some of the qualifications and institutes Mahama & his ministers reckoned they attended and we have concluded that some are FAKE ie BOGUS -Mahama's MA from Institute of Soc ...

• When Will They Ever Learn 10 years ago

AFRICA NEEDS A SMART VOICE AND NOT A STRONG VOICE

• NANA EGYIR 10 years ago

Rawlings, Rawlings, Rawlings, you don't understand even after all these years after your presidency. Africa can have strong voice only when we discipline ourselves economically. Look at Accra, our capital; since our independe ...

• ...... 10 years ago

JJ IS THE ONLY BEAST WORTHLESS WHO SHOULD BEEN ABORTED A MAN WHO NEVER SAID DADY IN HIS LIFE.AFRICA,AMADUME,UTUKA,FELLI,YAW BOAKYE,IK ACHAIMPONG,HAMIDU GIWA,ONE MAN THOUSAND,GYAN KESE,THE HCT JUDGES,AND UNCOUNTABLE GHANIANS W ...

• ...... 10 years ago

SORRY GUYS!

• Kanawu 10 years ago

This is serious, This is a criminal offence. This is unbelievable. American Century University? Where is this university. Moscow institute of Social Sciences Oh my God

• NANA ADDO ADDICT 10 years ago

How can you have a poor voice when you are poor?

• ...... 10 years ago

NANA IS ADDICTED TO honesty and integrity.

• Greata 10 years ago

African leaders are jokers. They all become rich and the people live like peasants. Stop talking Rawlings and go away.

• Mawuli 10 years ago

Any surprise that JJ admires Putin? No. JJ with his dictatorial tendencies is only admiring his bedfellow.

• OBIBINI 10 years ago

So you think Putin is a dictator?Sorry for you and those who believe that it is only western leaders who are democrats.And you expected Putin to sit down unconcerned when America and its european allies are using every means ...

• Divine 10 years ago

the issue about africa's disunity, has been kept under the rug for too long, i'm glad Rawlings has brought it to light. let us all remember africa in our prayers.

• Son of Africa 10 years ago

Due to his stupid mind,Ghanaian Gold was taken away by foreigners, without paying a Cent, when he murdered his way to power.

• Osagyefo 10 years ago

Rawlings indemnified the suspension and abrogation of Pan Africanism in Ghana's constitution by indemnifying the NLC 'Proclamation for the constitution of a National Liberation Council for the Administration of Ghana and for ...

• Lonmwe 10 years ago

Thank you for pulling down the pants on him.

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

Jerry the loose cannon.

ARICA NEEDS A SMART VOICE AND NOT A BIG VOICE.

• mohammed 10 years ago

mr. president may God give you a long life and bless you and your family.mr.Rawlings thank

• TonyPM 10 years ago

You were President. You had a chance to do something about African Unity. What did you do?
    We know you are in for the lime-light and nothing else.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

African leaders need to fight against corruption and greediness among them. Africans need to focus on the future and stop singing the old song.

• BRO DAN- TRC 10 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA;-"AMEN AMEN"! HUMANITY; MAY GOD'S -FEARLESS VOICES OF THE-LIONS AND LAMBS- OF AFRICA AND "THE 7000 THOUSAND MORE" AROUND THE GLO ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

RAWLINGS IS THE MAN !! The hypocrisy of the west is too glaring.

• tweaaaakai 10 years ago

RAWLINGS GO AWAY. WHEN YOU GOT THE CHANCE WHAT DID YOU DO. KILLING GHANAIANS, ROBBING THIER MONIES AND INVESTMENTS AND ENRICH YOURSELF AND YOUR FAMILY. BUT YOU CANNOT EAT THESE BOOOOOTY BEFORE YOU DIE. GO AWAY

• JERRY IS A MAN OF VISION 10 years ago

FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLS THE MAN ISMAKING SENSE. HE IS TRYING TO SAVE AFRICAA OUT OF SLAVERY AND YOU FOOOOOLS ARE HERE CRITICISING HIM??WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT THE WORLD'S POLICY??? AFRICANS ARE BEING MANIPULATED. AND ...

• Achukuchar 10 years ago

I am tempted to call you a bigger fool but it will defeat the purpose of what I want to share with you.
    No reasonable person is criticizing what the ex prez is saying,the problem is he had knowledge of the west being scam ag ...

• abawka 10 years ago

people should learn from this man rather than using negativeness against him.

• Yaw Berko 10 years ago

Poor Ghanaweb ! Whereas readers and contributors are reacting intelligently and positively, on several other Ghanaian and African websites, to this brilliant discourse on Africa's role in global geopolitics by J.J. Rawlings,G ...

• KWASEA NTI 10 years ago

Brilliant discourse, your arse! Only an idiot, a simpleton like you is fooled by sweet words uttered by a man who collaborated with those he now condemns to ruin his own country. Only a true retard like yourself fails to see ...

• CHE 10 years ago

The narcissistic Rawlings has no true self. Abandoned by his Scottish father, he suffered from severe separation anxiety as a young child and as a defense developed a falsely grandiose psychological shell surrounding an essen ...

• SAQ 10 years ago

Please, read our lips; WHEN YOU BECOME ABLE TO FEED YOURSELVES then you may have strength to raise your voice.

• Jos 10 years ago

We have a very intelligent man in the form of John Rawlings, Ghana is lucky to have such outspoken and wise man, he is simply stating what everyone is thinking but has the courage to speak out, if Africa should become United ...

• Abrante 10 years ago

If you look across the continent of Africa, you see failed goverments, corruption and non functional civil service. What we need is strong character! Until we get our affairs in order, we can scream from a mountain top and no ...

• matt gods 10 years ago

well said my friend continue speaking and the wise will heed neglect the fools who have not had a better life and so they are full of hatred God put you where you are be ye not afraid or dismayed you see as God sees fair judg ...

• BAKA 10 years ago

Aso tsu.Avu kokro

• Ewe nation 10 years ago

Only a strong Ewe leader like Rawlings is capable of steering Ghana to the right path.These ashanti maggots wouldn't care bcoz they know they don't belong to Ghana and they're here only to exploit us and our resources.Thats w ...

• NEMESIS 10 years ago

Motherfucker, Trokosi goon, Son of a bitch! Always shouting, shouting, shouting, in front of a gathering of morons!!! Only fools will grant you such a forum, where you always go barking like an old, sick, mad dog. Your rightf ...

• John Toy. 10 years ago

AU should speak and say what? Russia invade another country. There is no sense in what you are urging the AU to support. Forget about this East West power struggle. There no such thing as East,and West,powers. There is only o ...

• CHARCOAL SELLER. 10 years ago

President Rawlings is the only current Ghanaian leader who sounds like a President, the others sound like leaders of internal affairs, who are managing on behalf of imperialism.

Ghanaian/African politicians are mute on f ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 10 years ago

This is strange. Rawlings forgot to insult Kufuor. The more he insults the more people sympathise with Kufuor because Kufuor never insults back. JJ, get a degree now that you have time to learn.

• The Trucker 10 years ago

Anyone is entitled to o comment on the West- Russia power play. Rawlings is absolutely right when he points out the hideous hypocrisy of so-called Western democracies. According to the West it is OK to invade Libya , Afghanis ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

Efo Flt. Lt. John Jerry Rawlings these are the sentiments and the hypocrisy of the west we have been writing about. We at times ask ourselves are western leaders from homes or they are on drugs whenever they take decisions. T ...

• demelash neda 10 years ago

Africa must unite. when .....decides to intervene....warned the consequences...this would have not only in ....but also in neighboring....including the Sahel.....no honest person can dispute this prediction......the current c ...

What Africa needs is insatiable appetite for the
    knowledge of science and technology like the developed countries to whom we have economically enslaved ourselves and not a "STRONG VOICE"as suggested by Mr. Rawllings.

• Juanita Thomas-McPherson 10 years ago

My comments from Panel Discussion United Nations February 8, 2014.

Greetings to the most distinguished panel:

I am honored to have been in attendance.

The world is a better place to have had President Nelson Manda ...

• apuuu 10 years ago

Cry wolf