Ghana’s domestic debt hits Ghc56 billion

Read Comments Comments (76)

• NDC THIEVES 10 years ago

NDC guys are thieves. From Kwame Nkrumah to john kuffour time was 9.billion. ATTA MILLS & JOHN MAHAMA jump to 56 billion. thieves

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

Fireing squad for the corrupts people in ndc

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS CORRUPT NDC MUST TELL US WHAT EXACTLY THEY HAVE DONE WITH THE MASSIVE $20 BILLION THEY HAVE BORROWED IN JUST THE LAST 5 YEARS, IF HE IS SAYING,HE HAS NOT BORROWED FOR DRINK AND MERRY MAKING, WHICH MEANS CREATE, ...

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

This is what is coming to hit us, a debt paralysis whereby our debt to equity (GDP) ratio will be so huge, the country itself will fall under its debt weight.

Years of unrestrained borrowing from abroad, huge domestic debt, ...

• gxx 10 years ago

ndc shd. account for the 20billion and K4 and his cronies also shd.account for their stolen 45 billion

• go man 10 years ago

why does the gov. keep these (Dr Wampah) an co. since they are under performing!!!

• Jato Julor (J.J.) Rawlings 10 years ago

From GH¢9 billion to GH¢56 billion in just 6 years of NDC rule ?

From the 6th of March,1957 since Ghana had independence till 7th of January 2009 when the NDC stealers were once again sworn into office , the total natio ...

• Realist 10 years ago

Government borrowing spree should not surprise anyone who has been following the news.

The President was reported in a news item at the time when he was Vice-President that Ghana had room to borrow more. This was in appar ...

• Gye Nyame 10 years ago

With the rate of borrowing we are doing, we would be on the auction block soon and then who would bail us out. May be China will annex us and legalize galamsey.

• UNCLE 10 years ago

IT IS ONLY 560 TRILLION OLD CEDIS.

• Eeeei!!! 10 years ago

Because he has stashed millions of dollars somewhere.

• Kay 10 years ago

It serves us right when we keep on voting for people who have not achieve anything in their life,such people don't value money.Felix & Sammy Okudjetu can mention dollars as if it is sand.

Their all profetional thieves

Yea though we walk through the valley of pepeni death we shall fear no ayigbe evil for the Lord stands by the children of Akan and Israel always . We shall forever remain blessed and despite the trials and tribulations served ...

• Eve B. S. 10 years ago

Please, this tribal comments and denigration will not do you and Ghana any good even if our political parties have tribal divide. Your continual tribal comments sow hatred and division. If you are a true Akan, then stop this ...

• Charles, NYC 10 years ago

Why have they done something against you? They are not Cabinet Ministers. What is the work experience of our President? That is the issue. Rawlings knowing his shortfall hired experienced hands to help him. Our President has ...

• SARPONG 10 years ago

What is Dr Wampah talking about saying Ghc 56 billion is not bad? We use 40 percent of government revenue to service this debt as interest and the Bank of Ghana governor doesn't see anything wrong?

We use 70 percent of re ...

• gg 10 years ago

Wampah talks like an illiterate.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

They will not listen to Bawumia. If you have. small economic brains like Fiifi Kwetey handling the economy, this is what you get. When Terkpey told the true state of the economy, Ayariga hates it.
    Sarps, my problem is not ev ...

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 10 years ago

Things are falling apart in Ghana because of bad governance.From the president to the district secretary are incompetent and are totally frustrated and don't have the brains to rule.Even the governor of Bank of Ghana is incom ...

• WW 10 years ago

It was on such confines and similar conditions that GOD unlished his wrath on JUNE 4TH.Rawlings and co were just instruments

• Papa 10 years ago

unfortunately we keep voting for them because the average ghanaian is completely oblivious of the economic situation of this country. they just have to reduce petrol prices and keep the lights on in 2016 and then they'll win ...

• Akologo 10 years ago

You have hit the nail on the head. Mark it on the wall. In 2016, there will be no dumso dumso, prices of fuel will be reduced and workers' salaries would be increased and believe me, gullible as we are, we would forget of al ...

• TRIBALWAR 10 years ago

"AS3M B3BA DABI"

I hope the people who vote ndc corrupt mahama lead govt are reading the news

• gg 10 years ago

What is Amature,?

Name for political criminals

• jo 10 years ago

Thieves
    Serial callers association
    Illiterates
    Non performers

• KELEVE KORMI 10 years ago

what do mean by your unambiguous statement? is it not the amount, the rate of its growth, relative to gdp that tell if we on course or not? crossing the mid percent should be alarming. stop giving us false hope, revise your n ...

• I say 10 years ago

We need a finance guru to explain to NDC congregation how much they owe and how long it will take to pay back. In other words, how much every ndc supporter in the country will have to contribute from now to their children's ...

• GHFUO, be serious & change ur MENtali 10 years ago

WAT IS THE EQUIVALNT IN DOLLARS?...(....")

• Charles Agbenu 10 years ago

IF NPP were in power and these nasty things had happened the HEAVENS WOULD HAVE BROKEN LOOSE

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

And so it is, Bawumia says Ghana is in debt; strange, this Bawumia cannot shed his elementary ways of thinking; for

- Ghana is not just joining the club of nations on planet Earth that is debt, but has always been in the c ...

• Kankama 10 years ago

Idiot. What is so economic with the cedi falling like paratroopers dropping from C-130. What is so economic than government borrowing and mismanaging the money through corrupt practices. What is so economic than always borrow ...

• osei yaw - london 10 years ago

I can see this Kankama's brain is not matured enough to understand what the ongoing matter is all about

- every State universally, is in debt; and Ghana shouldn't be ashamed because the State of Ghana is in dedt; it is all ...

• Dr Amuzu, Ho 10 years ago

Dr Bawumiah said it all. Our problem is that, the president is soo foolish to take advice. If a blind man leads another, they all fall into a pit.
    Mahama always compare Ghana to S Africa when our cedi is falling but the S Af ...

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Dr Wampah say thinks are not bad because his belly is full while we go hungry. Monkey de work baboon de chop

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

We will descend on you one day.

• MARY JUANA 10 years ago

The whole NDC apparatus are clueless and useless thieves.

• KWAA 10 years ago

Oh,Ghana,look at this man saying debt is not bad,what is good about debt?The problem in Ghana is,with all this huge debts,we have nothing to show for.Our Roads are bad,Hospitals are collapsing,no water,no lights,high unemploy ...

• SANKARIWA 10 years ago

Why our custodians of the economy not telling us the truth? Is it because they deceive us to protect their employment/salaries? This is not fair. Ghana is sinking but our leaders dont get it. NDC gorvernment since its incepti ...

• Alex London 10 years ago

Mr Governor, what did you say?

“I don’t think that the debt situation of Ghc56 [billion] is bad"

Forget about Dr Bawumia. IMF is warning us about the ballooning national debts. And here is a governor saying it is b ...

• Tiffiny Ablorh 10 years ago

Don't trust ewes with money matters. They can't manage money. Let's be frank-have you ever come across a honest rich ever? Rich ewes are all thieves-Tsikata, Rawlings, Abodakpi, etc.....

• STOUT 10 years ago

NEVER LEAVE ANYTHING FOR these PEOPLE TO TAKE CARE OF FOR YOU...HOW CAN SOMEONE say honestly that DEBT is not BAD? DEBT IS NOT BAD??? well then you might as well say DEBT IS GOOD,, .. but that is what you cannot say to a sane ...

• Abba 10 years ago

THE SPIRIT OF JUNE 4TH 1979 REVOLUTION IS TOTALLY DEAD BECAUSE MAHAMA LED NDC HAS LOOTED THE COFFERS OF THE NATION. NOW IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE BLOOD OF THOSE WHO WERE EXECUTED ARE INNOCENT.

• Abba 10 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• TEE 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS A VERY WICKED PEPENI GUY. ALL THESE SO-CALLED PRESIDENTS ARE ALL THIEVES BUT MAHAMA IS THE WORSE OF ALL. CHANCES ARE AND THEPAT IS MAHAMA AND HIS ARMED ROBBERS UGLY NORTHERNERS PERIOD

• TEE 10 years ago

OH GOD WHERE DID YOU BRING THESE PEOPLE AS POLITICIANS. WHEN THEY OPEN THEIR MOUTH THEY ONLY TALK SHIT

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 10 years ago

YOU CONCENTRATE TOO MUCH ON THE SIZE OF THE COUNTRY'S DEBT WHILE IGNORING THE NEED TO MONITOR HOW THE DEBTS ARE UTILIZED, AS IT IS GHANA IS VERY MUCH ELIGIBLE TO GET LOANS , AND THAT CAN ONLY BE GOOD FOR ANY COUNTRY, PLEASE P ...

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Ghana in the hand of mahama NDC has taken a nose dive plunging into Atlantic Ocean.

Very sad!

Nobody in this administration able to make one sensible statement.Kofi Wampah, the debt stock is not bad, oh kofi you are a d ...

• EZEKIEL 10 years ago

IF ONLY we had ENOUGH to show for the HUGE DEBT LEVEL,some of us could APPRECIATE but there's NOT MUCH to show for!!!!!
    We have just been living BEYOND OUR MEANS ......SINCE 57 yrs.!!!!!
    Which AGENCY can help us trace STOLE ...

• its me 10 years ago

Ezekiel, by 2008 when the NPP was leaving office the national debt including what was owed since 1957 came to 8 Billion Ghana cedis. Between Mills (2009) and Mahama (2014) they have added 48 Billion Ghana cedis. That is in ...

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C.,SPAIN 10 years ago

-THEN LATER THE WILL BE A HEAVY CLASH...PUM.FROM 9 BILLION TO 56 BILLION AND YOU DONT SEE THE RISK THE ECONOMY IS GOING THROUGH.NA WA OOH.HAVE EYES BUT CANNOT SEE.WE SEE DARKNESS INFRONT OF YOU NOT A LIGHT,MR.BANK GOVERNOR

• Bugov 10 years ago

Dr. Bawumia told us so, and he was right! This is not about politics, it is a FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Whatever 10 years ago

Unless you're ignorant like Bawumia, you should have already known that a country like Ghana which doesn't control it's key resources will be borrowing more and more. It's not strange. It happens at the individual level. What ...

• k. Agyei 10 years ago

should npp rented newspapers refer to Bawumia anytime they discuss the economy? Bullshit, I live in Ghana and I know the economy is broke, period. Our econonmists are substandard. Ask Bawumia where the 1p coin is. Then lust ...

• eben 10 years ago

WITH ALL OUR OIL. LOOK AT HOW NDC IS messing up the economy.If you have ineperience and corrupt people in office that,s the end results

• warehouse 10 years ago

MUN TSEN DI ECONOMY. LOOT AND SHARE MAHAMA. YOU

MUMSTEN DE. LOOT AND SHARE ECONOMY.
    MAHAMA YOU KNOW FOR SURE THAT MOST GHANAIANS ARE FED UP WITH YOU. AND YOU
    WILL BE OUT OF YOUR SEAT IN 2016 SO AND ITS DAMAGE TIME. D ...

• warehouse 10 years ago

DAMAGE AND GO MAHAMA.OK GOD WILL SURELY PUNISH YOU AND YOUR GREEDY
    BUSTARDS.

• ANOTHER AFRICAN PATRIOT 10 years ago

RUINING GHANA AND THEY DON'T EVEN APPRECIATE THE SORRY STATE WE ARE IN.

• Yomobi 10 years ago

I didn't know Dr. Wampah until he became the Governor of BOG therefore any comment is not meant to attack his personality or academic integrity.
    I think Dr. Wampah's comments on Ghana's domestic debt suggest to me he has no ...

• HAZOR 10 years ago

No true democratic state need police approval and demand permit from the city before allow to stage demonstration.Demonstration is a right to very civilise democratic nation and not necessity,so citizens can express themselve ...

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 10 years ago

OH GHANA PAAAA NIE??? MAHAMA COLLAPSING.SINKING.FALLING APART GHANA,GOD SAVE GHANA OOOOO,OH OH ASEM NIE,DEPT AFETR DEPT,

• koffie 10 years ago

Mr Rawlings where is our money ,50 notes

• BALLOT BOX 10 years ago

The NDC gov't led by John Mahama and Amissah Arthur said, and I quote, "we have not borrowed to drink and make merry", end of quote. Does the structure of the economy and the current state of affairs show that Gh56billion has ...

• Kweku Fabricus 10 years ago

Mr Ballot Box,Ghana is not dead. Just that our governments have proved time and time again to be unfit for purpose. Long Live Ghana.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Ghanaians are fools to invite trouble and curses upon themselves. This is the beginning. NDC and Mahama will steal votes again and totally destroy Ghana and the entire Ghanaian populace!! Foolish Ghanaians!!!!

• Jeepers Creepers 10 years ago

The president is not in control neither is his cabinet.Once upon a time a man called Dramani drove his Rolls Royce Phantom to Asanmankese to attend a funeral. Just after the burial he got into his car heading back to Accra,a ...

• KOFI AGYAPONG 10 years ago

SELL IT TO AU. DUMMIES, WE WILL SIT AND FAIL TO DO THE RIGHT THING FOR OUR POSTERITY.

• Teko 10 years ago

Ghana is sweet, the complaining is too much.

• david 10 years ago

if you dig your nation deep in debt,you will end up accepting unnecessary western laws.We have to be careful as a nation.The borrower is always a slave to the lender.Ghana should protect the little resources in her possession ...

• K. Ghana 10 years ago

What economics is that!

• Akans Prophecies 10 years ago

If only one could understand , the present economic and financial state of our dear ghana. 56billion ghana's debt situation !Oh ! my rebel yell is not only against this Pepeni Trader, but all those who collaborated in one way ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

If we are indebted to ourselves, is it strange? Some part of the country are woefully underdeveloped, they need water, light, roads, services, schools. That's why I always say that is the context within which we used the mone ...

• Agyemang prempeh 10 years ago

Who voted for these people to rule ghanians? Ghanafo, you dont have vision for the future genration.

• Seth Tuffour 10 years ago

Mismanagement of the economy