Appiah selects final 23 for World Cup

Read Comments Comments (124)

• Kenneth Osei-Afriyie 11 years ago

I had wished Accam made it. But it is the coach's decision. I was not at their training camp. He saw the boys. What I greatly hope is that he doesn't regret his decision come the tournament. Good Luck to the final 23. And may ...

• Daniel 11 years ago

I wish the 23 selected for the Ghana Black Stars squared for Brazil. We all want good game. I am sure that those players who could not make it should hold on to their good game, but never to be discouraged. I wish them well.

• Adombire Jacob 11 years ago

It is good selection that Appiah has made but we need is prayers for the players

• Ghfuo, RIP Maya Angelou! 11 years ago

In over 90 minutes we managed 1 single. Shot on goal. Watch how Germany vs Cameroon is going. Huh...look at how Sweden is playing Belgium? Oh Ghana....imndisgusted with this level of mediocrity

• Jinapor 11 years ago

OUR DEFENCE WILL BE WEAK WITHOUT J AKAMENKO! JORDAN IS NOT SERIOUS OR IS THAT HIS LIMIT?

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 11 years ago

If you follow Ghana's friendlies in the previous world cup years, you will realize that the BS never do well, friendlies dont count. I was happy with the fact that there was a massive improvement on our performance against Bo ...

• Kofi Agyin 11 years ago

Forget this World Cup. Egwa be baa efri anopa. Kwesi Appiah failed at Afcon, how on earth will a football savvy country like Ghana choose an inept coach to lead us at the world stage. It is so annoying.

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 11 years ago

Kofi,Akwasi Appiah is better only our players need support,prayers and determination

• Ern 11 years ago

WHY IS HE TAKING JORDAN AYEW????!!!!

• KojoLee/DRAA@2014Brazil-W/C 11 years ago

Brother Ernamous, Now that the door is shut, all we have to do is to concentrate on moving forward.

The why, why things are over now. It is time to move on whether we like it or not.

• Ern 11 years ago

Kojo, so I should not ask for clarification? At least, give me some explanation, because I just do not see why Jordan is in the team. By the way, did you watch the Germany Cameroon friendly which ended 2-2? If Ghana can only ...

Ernamoucity, I am 100% understood your point and as a matter of fact, there were so many kw3tion on coach DRAA last minute pruning.

First Jordan's inclusion to the final quad was questionable and I understood that.

Sec ...

• Nobody is Nobody 11 years ago

Jerry would have been number three or even four (based on yesterday's performance) on the peeking order for central defense behind Mensah and Boye. Defensive midfielders like Essien and Rabiu can play in place of Akaminko if ...

• Sarskoberta 11 years ago

"it is too late now to look for hanzas"

Too early, too late,whichever comes first, the question still remain: Is the DRAA Law right in pruning down the hedges that protects the house from the scorching sun?

Knowing that ...

"In the mean time, till an adjustment is made, I say:The DRAA Law sucks.***Prof. Sarsscoute***

Sarsamro, I beg your pardon, so you meant there are still room for changes? If that was so, then the over crowded midfield need ...

• Ern 11 years ago

@kojo, your hanalysis above dey sweet well well. why AA, didn't see it the same way?
    hokay ooooh. Hif you say me hanza no dey, then let's hope for the best.

• Mr.N 11 years ago

Governor please call a spade a spade and stop dance around. Akwesi Appiah took Jordan because he was afraid of his daddy, brother and Ghanaian media. He took Jeffrey Schulpp out because he did not want to rock the boat he did ...

Deputize N(asty Boid)

Akaminko injury was a big relieve for coach DRAA to solve an immediate problem of pruning, but the reality of the solving that problem well gona come back to hit his own damn face soon.
    I'm still w ...

• king 11 years ago

I know right!Jordan should be dropped but thats what happened when ur dad knows ppl

• bb 11 years ago

TALKING ABT SHOOTING. DID WARIS SHOOT OR U HATE JORDAN. ADOMAH TWEAAAAAA

• Ern 11 years ago

bb, I do not hate Jordan, but I do not think he is good enough at this time. Hope you watched the Germany-Cameroon game which ended 2-2. The Germans would have been 3-0 up in the first half if they had been concentrating.
    On ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

If you saw Cameroon lose to Paraguay you would see things a bit differently.

• Jason 11 years ago

Did you even watch the game?

I was in the stadium and believe me...I thought that Jordan will not be taken to Brazil..he was very poor!

• JoJo - USA 11 years ago

Which Accam are you referring to?
    Accam is in.Take a look again. The first on the last roll. To your left of your monitor.

• KOFI 11 years ago

Pls forget about the photos and read the list. Accam is absent.

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

dont u see the cross on his face?

• JoJo - USA 11 years ago

SORRY.. I TAKE IT BACK
    OH!! OK THE "X" ON THE FACE ADDED LATER

• Ern # Chai!! Dia ris God ooooooooh!!! 11 years ago

Jo-jo- No! Dont take it back. When the article first came up, there was no "X" anywhere, therefore you were well within your right to question the pic as it was put there as a visual representation of the squad. Therefore it ...

• OwusuP 11 years ago

Ken I think Accam's exclusion is a big mistake too.But it is not too late.Appiah should recall him after our second friendly.I just don't see Jordan,Essien or Rabiu out performing Accam.His inclusion was such a coup for our n ...

he is not up to scratch
    if he is any good, we'll see him at the nest world cup

• the truth 11 years ago

Adoma don't deserve to be part of black stars. Our defense need better organization, and strikers need to be sharp.overall I give black stars c for their performance

• Daniel 11 years ago

Who are you to say that Adoma does not deserve to be included in the 23 Ghana Black Stars squared. Be careful what you say. Besides, it is not your say as to who plays for the Ghana Black Stars or not. Stay out of it.

• Demuyakor Stevens 11 years ago

Whiles u stay in it? Who are u to stop anyone from expressing an opinion? Are u Iddi Amin?
    Please, advise yourself

• Its'AllGood 11 years ago

you people make me laugh... at least no insult. that is the way to go.

• IBRUTUS! 11 years ago

The argument from Kwasi Appiah is that he is the only natural right winger.

• Demuyakor Stevens 11 years ago

Is Schlupp the only natural left back? But he is put . Adomah should have been out , period.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 11 years ago

Guys, did you people critically observe their collective performance yesterday? Well, what was actually missing from their pursuance? In fact, what I saw made me to believe that they were all playing safe to avoid any injurie ...

• Me 11 years ago

Too many midfielders and few defenders. Two defenders out-Sclupp and Akaminko. A midfielder should have been dropped and a defender brought in to replace Akaminko. Edusei or Ainooson should have been called to add to the defe ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

KASA can play left back and Rabiu Mohammed is someone who can play center back. I would not worry about it.

• Ern 11 years ago

But why is he taking Jordan Ayew??? Is it because he is intimidated due to the fake protest Jordan and Dede put up some time ago?? Chai!!!! Dia ris God ooooooooh!Dia ris God ooooooooh!!!!

• anokwale 11 years ago

Sometimes, one has to think about the team chemistry. Dede deserves it but Jordan does not. However, he wants to keep team comraderie. Unless there is a superstar striker out there who can guarantee goals, he sort of is fo ...

Anokwale, So what happens if every other player on the squad started to demand that a place on the team should be given to someone of their choice. Is Andre that great that he deserves 2 places on the squad? Chai!! Dia ris Go ...

• MaKaMaKa 11 years ago

Enough of your nonsense what do you know about football, I do not think any right thinking person who understand football will question Jordan's inclusion. Too many ignorant comments. What I see is hate, go hung urself cos J ...

• abena kwabena 11 years ago

WHAT ABOUT FOOTBALL DO WE NOT KNOW? AT LEAST WE CAN READ THE STATS ON PLAYERS. 17 LEAGUE GAMES FOR HIS CLUB AND YET NOT A SINGLE GOAL SCORED. HOW MANY GAMES DID HE PLAY FOR THE BLACK STARS AND HOW MANY GOALS DID HE SCORE? JOR ...

Abena has said it all..........no further comment.

Essien, Asamoah can all play in defence

• TT 11 years ago

COULDN'T SCORE AND HOPE THESEOLD GUYS ARE FIT WITH NO INJURIES. STILL KEEP THESE YOUNG PLAYERS YOU GOING TO NEED THEM

• FRANCIS A 11 years ago

ADOMAH OUT SCLUP IN KEEP BACK UP DEFENDERS

• MENSAH. 11 years ago

Too few defenders/strikers but many midfielders.
    Much more defenders and strikers,would have been a balance.
    How many midfielders are actually going to participate in the WORLD CUP debut?
    KWASI APPIAH should have considere ...

• Star 11 years ago

Kwasi Appiah is not serious

• pittbull 11 years ago

i think adoma should have been dropped .

• hmmmmmm 11 years ago

We really saw the game

• rony 11 years ago

Why did he drop Accam?Was it over the shitty friendly match in Ghana?On thos nasty pitch?Accam should have played the second half of the Holland match in place of Adoma.The attack had no pace whatsoever.I am scared of AA lack ...

some journalist were paid to hype him. we saw him in training and in a match against local players and he simply is not WC material

• ONE MORE CHANCE 11 years ago

IT BECAME ANNOYING HOW MANY GA PEOPLE TOOK TO THE INTERNET TO BOAST ABOUT ACCAM AND PREDICT SOME PRETTY UNREASONABLE FEATS FOR HIM.I WARNED AGAINST RAISING THE BAR TOO HIGH FOR HIM.IF YOU RAISE THE EXPECTATIONS SO HIGH FOR HI ...

it's not Ga people. They were paid journalist. I hear one of them was give just $200 to hyps Accam

• IBRUTUS! 11 years ago

Our players allow their opponents to read their intentions much too often, allowing them to cover up. Ghana must learn to play swiftly and take oppenents by surprise. Secondly, I didn't see our characteristic firing from diff ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

In addition to that, we start with a SLOW RHYTHM - the rhythm with which we pass the ball around is so slow from the start and lack intent, so the moment the opponent surge at the defenders in the earlier moments, they panic ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

Appiah should start taking the team through match scenarios and let them practice. eg if Muller manages to get the ball and he's through on goal and Jonathan Mensah is on his far left, should he go and cover the pole and allo ...

• MENSAH. 11 years ago

On centre stage,podium,limelight,the big picture,GHANAIANS ARE DEPENDABLE,FORMIDABLE,STRONG AND NOT PERTEBBED,about the kind of environment they might be in,being adversarial or conducive.
    I trust my boys to prevail,thrive,a ...

• king 11 years ago

Accam is way better than Jordan really Ghana football still f up...appiah and abedi are close friends.

• Sunlight Tennis 11 years ago

Tell me?????????????/ I've no idea why he taking Jodan!!!! I really feel sad for Schulpp.... He tackle and defend well......

I saw him in training and in a game and he is not ready. Jordan is not good, but way better.

Accam was hyped by paid journalist, but the truth came out

• KANAWU 11 years ago

IT SHOULD WORK. SERIOUSLY, I WISH THEY HAD INVITED AINOOSON

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

NO ,COACH SHOULD WAIT FOR KOREAN FRIENDLY,THEN HE CAN TRY ANOTHER NEW 3 PLAYERS,JOHN MENSAH

• TT 11 years ago

JOHN MENSAH, AYEW, ESSIEN GHANA WILL END WORLD CUP IN GROUP STAGE

• David-Agyei Johnson 11 years ago

coach well done your final 23 man is the best. i wish you all the best .your defenders is 65% MF95% STRIKERS 97%GOD BLESSED YOU AND HELP YOU

• Allotey 11 years ago

useless player. is the coach in bed with this guy or what. how this headless midget continue to get a pass is beyond any stretch of imagination. God heelp us.

• Joojo, Sask, Canada 11 years ago

More credit to Coach Kwesi Appiah for making the final selection of the 23 players who will represent Ghana in Brazil 2014. This kind of decision is one of the toughest a coach can make: No matter who is in & who is out, the ...

• BREAD 11 years ago

Hi after reading garbage after garbage on this forum, I'm glad that at least someone with his/her head firmly screwed on could emerge. Ghanaians, honestly, are just a funny bunch, especially when it comes to national issues l ...

• Watchman 11 years ago

How can Appiah drop Schlup and take Jordan? Jordan was a mere passenger in the field. He did not shoot one shot.

• kwakuyaw 11 years ago

ghana should be warn usa looks sharp and willing to win

• Watchman 11 years ago

twaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! I am supporting the Black Stars all the way with my heart, but my mind is not at rest.

• Easy 11 years ago

Striker David Accam responded to his Ghana snub for the 2014 World Cup by scoring the winner and winning the Man-of-the-Match award in Helsingborg’s 1-0 win over Falkenberg on Sunday. Which is today , he didn't even the boy ...

• Easy 11 years ago

Striker David Accam responded to his Ghana snub for the 2014 World Cup by scoring the winner and winning the Man-of-the-Match award in Helsingborg’s 1-0 win over Falkenberg on Sunday.he didn't even give the boy the chance t ...

hahahahahah

• kwakuyaw 11 years ago

adam kwasery, daniel opare , john boye , Jonathan mensah, afful , essein , afriyie , muntari, kp boateng , gyan , waris . my first eleven ,

• A concerned citizen.... 11 years ago

Accam scored the winning goal 4 his club today to win a cup.

We are not going anywhere with this primitive way of doing things.

These Germans,Portuguese and Americans have all been injected with venlm to make them.extra strong, run without getting tired..pomko anodam juice. U think these akwqsi appiah bankyease ampesi stars can survive 1st rd? Muahaha ...

• Waa Look 11 years ago

GHANA IS NOT SERIOUS

• FRANCIS A 11 years ago

START[11]ADAM K [2]HARRISON A[3]KWADWO A[4]JOHN B[5]JONATHAN M[6]MICHAEL E[7]ANDRE Y[8]AFRIYIE A[9]ASAMOAH G[10]KEVIN-PRINCE B[11]SULLEY M COACH APPIAH PLEASE ADVISE HIM ABOUT SELECT PLAYERS HE PUT ADOMAH IN START LINE ...

• SUAME MAGAZINE 11 years ago

Final score. The game has ended.

• Joseph Bonsu-Akoto 11 years ago

With so many talents to choose from why Jordan Ayew? Dr. Appiah, this world does not belong to the fainted heart but to the brave. Dr. AA you said you are your own man and we believed. You really fit your nick name...silent ...

Friendly scored by Eto. I wish aa was watching this. Prolly somewhere looking for suits and British ties...lol

• Nicholas 11 years ago

Jordan does not even deserves black star why? Kwasi appiah ur doing like business but if u fail to reache where we got in south Africa den u too need to be sacked we shd not look at ur factor as ghanaian becos when we do d ...

• Wasa 11 years ago

CAMEROON AHEAD OF THE GAME

• Wasa 11 years ago

GOOD GAME CAMEROON

• Plain 11 years ago

WILL KEEP POSTING

• OGOGLO QUARTER! 11 years ago

I HAVE NO CONFI IN THE BLK ????...SUPPORTING THEM BUT NO HOPE.....

• YAW - STEW 11 years ago

USA just beating Turkey 2 -1

Germany and Cameroon 2- 2 so far

• TT 11 years ago

SEE WHAT WILL HAPPEN KWASI APPIAH DOWNFALL IS COMING

• TT 11 years ago

SORRY I MIX JONATHAN WITH JOHN MENSAH

Cameroon is playing better than Germany. Gives me hope...

• WENCHI MOKE 11 years ago

MATCH ENDED WITH A BANNER READING,"BEAT GHANA.
    . USA IS WELL AHEAD OF GHANA IN TERMS OF PREPARATION AND CONDITIONING.I MUST ADD J.ALTIDORE IS A PIT-BULL;THOUGH HE FAILED TO SCORE,HE IS A STRONG PLAYER AND STILL HAD GAS A ...

• anokwale 11 years ago

The USA lack creativity. Ghana has to play a solid game but will likely win. They will lose if there are silly mistakes.

Germany is beatable.

• Akwasi 11 years ago

I watched part of the game played Cameroon and German and I believe with little efforts Ghana BS can go pass Germany.

• Ern 11 years ago

Germany is beatable with 2 shots on target in 90 minutes?

• GHFUO, RIP MAYA ANGELOU! 11 years ago

DATS HOWCAMEROON SCORED THE 2 GOALS. ON THE COUNTER. THEY ALSO HAD 3 MEN UPFRONT N PLAYED THE GERMANS TOUGH. BOOT FOR BOOT. IT WAS A BATTLE OF ATTRITION AND COUNTER ATTACKING...LIKE A BOXING FIGHT. U PUNCH, 1 PUNCH..LOL THE G ...

• FREEMAN 11 years ago

Dear Mr. Akwesi Appiah and all Ghanaians,
    What we need to focus on are the review of the Gh/Netherlands match and what next.
    1. Let us start with the Coach and the team. Appiah and his team need to step up the
    roll on the ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

That was the problem. European football is focused on domination and utilizing moves of key players to score yet we allowed Robben's move to result in a goal, a very ridiculous goal, What were they doing in training? We shoul ...

• Analyst 11 years ago

To have only 6 defenders for a World Cup is problematic. This means that whenever 5 defenders are fielded in a match, then only one defender will be on the bench. How this difficulty will be addressed depends on the feasibili ...

• ??? 11 years ago

german second goal was offside

• Soweto- London 11 years ago

We need him for his attack mindedness and goal scoring prowess not forgetting his forward thinking approach. He is also quicker than Adoma. Wish u speedy recovery and good luck Akaminko, u played your heart out. Ghana should ...

• Ofori Amponsah 11 years ago

Akwasi Appiah is afraid of Abedi Pele
    He is Abedi's pet dog ! so let him lick his master's stinking ass.

• culture 11 years ago

Coach Appiah with the absence of Akaminko I thought your idea was to drop one player from every department. Why drop Schlupp. Akaminko is injured so let Schlupp fill in for defense and drop Jordan.

• sinto chebey shamsideen 11 years ago

Surely Ghana will make Affrica proud in this world cup .what we need to do for Appiah and his boys is prayers and they 'll make us proud.Ghana all the way to finals.

• Joe 11 years ago

What formation did we used against Nedal, we played without any format,,,,,,,how can we score a goal ?

• NANA YAW 11 years ago

US will beat Ghana. From what I saw today, we don't stand a chance, besides, they will seek revenge, and they have a better coach and technical team.

• the truth 11 years ago

lets be honest, I have watchd, cameroon, USA, germany and the rest and must say Ghana has the weakest team. I am a Ghanain but when you look at the fluidity of the cameroonian and , german and USA attack then Ghana is in for ...

• Mpere Emmanuel 11 years ago

Adomah should be Out

• Prince Dambia 11 years ago

Why adoma go with them 2nd devition player

• Edward 11 years ago

I really don't understand the inclusion of Essien in fact if you will all agree with me and say the truth not because your a Chelsea fun or AC fun Essien is out of the blue and must have been dropped.

• nana kofi (usa) 11 years ago

Kwesi, hope you know Klinsman slot,he was one of the fastest forward goal workers during his playing days,trust me the US attackers are all fast and this is what's up in next 2 weeks

• Ghanaboii 11 years ago

Opare/afful---boye---mensah---kojo
    ---------------essien-------------
    --------badu-----------muntari----

---------kp-------------ayew------
    ----------------gyan--------------

I think ghana should try a narrow 433 wit ...

• Nana USA 11 years ago

Why only six defenders for this great tournament?Please drop Adomah, and call Kwanena Adusei.

• derrick 11 years ago

why was vorsah not selected among the squared

• Jason 11 years ago

In my opinion and have watch the game against the Netherlands recently in de Kuip in Rotterdam, Mr Appiah is not technically strong.

He played with weak team whereas the Dutch showed the potantional starting line. Further ...

• mike 11 years ago

ghana we want to win the world cup but we cant win games we are the only team in our group who lost a match thats not good we have to be care ful even america beat turkry

• Edemkofi123 Kofi 11 years ago

Well done akwesi

• Kehinde 11 years ago

Losing a match now is not a problem. It's better to be truthful and learn the hard way than to play fixed matches. Apologies to Nigeria.

• saviola 11 years ago

IS GOOD FOR DR KWASI APPIAH TO HAVE THAT 23 MAN SQUARD IS ONLY PRAYERS GOD WELL DO WHO KNOWNS

• gee life 11 years ago

jordan is the besst...........