33 Cantonments prostitutes fined Ghc720 each

Read Comments Comments (60)

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

Lulu was a prostitute. One day there was a raid in Cantonments. All the prostitutes were lined up outside the police station as they took them in one by one.

As Lulu stood in line, she saw her Grandma coming down the stree ...

• Kojj 11 years ago

What about the customers soliciting their services to satisfy the insatiable appetite after leaving their wives at home. These men include the police officers who did the arrest who usually gets a free service, the judges an ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 11 years ago

What about the armed robber, Highway robbers and Pen robbers?
    If those arrested had any meaningful jobs doing, many will not be in this oldest job

A Ghanaian man on a business trip to Las Vegas heard about how good the Las Vegas prostitutes were so on his first night there, he decided he would go out and try his luck.

He walked outside his hotel and looked up and dow ...

• The Mask 11 years ago

The economy is hitting many hard. Set the Ghanaians, Liberians and Sierra Leoneans amongst them who test negative to HIV, Hepatitis B and ebola free without any fine. The police must however not forgive foreigners who come to ...

• OZA 11 years ago

The most effective way to reduce this vice is to also show pictures of the men soliciting the girls

• GHFUO, HEAVEN IS NOT FOR FOOLS!!! 11 years ago

TWEAA, YEN TUA DA!
    FIND AREAS FOR THESE WOMEN TO PLY THEIR TRADE. HOW CAN U MAKE PROSTITUTION A CRIME? IS OVEREATING A CRIME? WHERE IS THE PROSTITUTION ASSOCIATION OF GREATER ACCRA? THEY MUST DEMAND THEIR RIGHTS N GET LAWYER ...

• kojo nkere 11 years ago

Where are the human right activitists? If these were gays that were arrested, you will have hear all manner of ugly noises on the airwaves with the so called violation of whatever right. leave them alone

• unMisguided African Child 11 years ago

FOLKS:Most of these women are clients
    and girlfriends of MP's and high Gov't officials,only a few will remain
    in Nsawam....most of these women will be granted bail, incognito...some by phone.....just watch.

• Village Food 11 years ago

kojo nkere u are right those human right activist support only evil things

• Reema 11 years ago

LMAO!

• DAN 11 years ago

even tho they might be lazy and want to work laying down all day, or be idiots and can only fuck.. Ghana needs to make sure VRA and ECG & Ghana water co. can provide the need utilitys to Ghana business so these women can work ...

• Nii 11 years ago

It's a funny justice system we have in this country!

• SAMO JEWELLERY 11 years ago

let samo Jewellery design n customise yr dream wedding n engagement yellow n white gold rings for u......call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest pictures to choose from.....can also follow us on Facebook/samojewell ...

• PERCY 11 years ago

There more questions than answers. How can this reporter do a story from talking to the police only The police are a party to this case, you know?

• PUSSY CONTROL 11 years ago

RED SKIN , PURPLE SKIN OR WHITE SKIN ?

• Erasmus 11 years ago

Punishment does not make sense.

• Felix 11 years ago

This is absolute nonsense, do you think most of these girls would be there at that hour if they had GHS 720? What is Ghana turning into, do these so called judges have any sense at all in their heads? The person has not got m ...

• Thucydides 11 years ago

Felix, I agree with your comment. Instead of looking at the causes of prostitution, the political elite would rather jail them bearing in mind the Country does not have any safety net for those unemployed and folks who can't ...

• APOLLO T 11 years ago

THE ECONOMIC HARDSHIPS IS HAVING A SERIOUS EFFECT ON THESE LADIES.ENGAGE THEM IN MEANINGFUL EMPLOYMENT AND THEY WILL STOP.

• Kaku - UK 11 years ago

Just leave them alone and hunt the armed robbers. All they are doing is looking for money to make a living in the absence of jobs.

Tag them for a reasonable period of time and leave them.

If they had that amount they wi ...

• Tweeeaaaaa 11 years ago

Am not surprise we have such fools in leadership.

• Eben 11 years ago

I am not support of that lifestyle at all. But I think this absolutely rubbish! Is that all the Police can do, homosexuals is gradually overtaking our societies putting our children at risk at campuses and boarding houses and ...

• Ben 11 years ago

Prostitution is not a crime. Provide them with alternate earning options or leave them alone.

• Coby 11 years ago

l pray God deliver them and grant them new life of happiness as they will learn to know that their body is for Christ and is not good to be use as prostitution.

• STAFFORD 11 years ago

Fines and punishments make this CONDITION poorer and vulnerable/open to more attack, criticism and temptation.
    The government/organisations and the general public must give some support and assistance. DONATE TO MAKE SOMEONE ...

• Sammy Atlanta, USA 11 years ago

This is nonsense. Which Accra Magistrate Court sat on this issue. I put this question to the so called Chief Superintendent Idi Seidu. You were able to pin point where the so called crime was commited, why did you tell us the ...

• Concerned 11 years ago

Taking them to prison with hard labour if they cannot afford to pay is primitive and more barbaric than the activities of these women. Give them a year to pay in installments or do community service for a couple of months. Th ...

• nii kootse 11 years ago

if Ghanaian leaders today knows how to offer community services to people for a couple of months, many crimes will be abated. The prison population kept under control and scarce resources not wasted. Super highly educated in ...

• acheampong akwasi austria 11 years ago

give them work to do

• Francis Kyei 11 years ago

The wsy way to mobilize revenue as corruption by Mahama has depleted national covers.

• acheampong akwasi austria 11 years ago

arrest thieves not our ladies

• Chelsea Rolland 11 years ago

Mahama

• Richard 11 years ago

Afenyo Markin should challenge the judgement in court as they did even at the Supreme Court.

• Papa Yaw 11 years ago

No

• OBRONI 11 years ago

Why waste our Legal and police system with prostitutes. First we allow them to be on the streets for 10 years, even joking with the police sometimes at the barrier in front of the Togo embassy and then arrest and prosecute th ...

• judgement 11 years ago

Mahama, God will surely punish you for all the wicked things you are doing to this country . You politicians are shameful leaders, people are suffering and dying because of your greedy acts..... God will judge us alll .

• Ephraim Mills 11 years ago

An injustice I called it. How does one identify a prostitute (caught in the art as a prove) or just an assumptions)? And in a case, were they given a fair trial with human right defence lawyers? Were they given the right to s ...

• Ayera 11 years ago

No jobs, No electricity, no water to drink, no good roads, armed robbers everywhere, bribery and corruption, bad leaders in a highly indebted poor country but this operation to round up prostitutes is the priority for this go ...

• AGBEVE.... 11 years ago

Come on.Ghana police and mahama this is not a job to do ...A LOT OF JOBS TO DO THAN THIS ..leave this poor ones...

• OLoshi 11 years ago

what a stupid rulling from the court.You want to put some of these ladies in Nsawam prison because of prostitution.Wayome has stolen MILLIONS OF Ghana cedis but is walking freely.What a fail state and please where are the so ...

• NON-ALIGNED 11 years ago

Were they arrested because they were reported to the police, by 'posh' Cantoments residents or were the police really, really doing their job?

If so, then it's a real shame that one rule, functions for certain members of o ...

A man was driving down the highway, and sees a sign saying "Sisters of Mercy, House of Prostitution, 10 miles"

Thinking it is some sort of joke, he pays no attention, until he sees a similar sign reading "Sister's of Mercy ...

• YAW ODURO 11 years ago

NDC STUPID GOVERNMENT CANNOT ROVIDE JOBS TO THESE PEOPLE SO WHAT WILL THEY DO?

• JM 11 years ago

THE GOVT HAS MADE EDUCATION UNAFFORDABLE TO THESE POOR GIRLS AND THEY HAVE NO JOBS INSTEAD OF CREATING JOBS AND THEN BAN WHAT THEY ARE DOING U HAVE NOT FOUND THE SOLUTION BUT TRYING TO STEAL THE LITTLE THEY JUST MADE, THIS IS ...

• KKKB 11 years ago

Provide work for all these prostitutes before you can bring your men to arrest them. If they have job they would not be in the street.

• AMICUS 11 years ago

How were these alleged prostitutes convicted?. What were the evidences that they were prostitutes?. dressing?, standing outside during late hours? or stopping cars ?. The courts need to re-examine how the alleged prostitutes ...

• OGYANI 11 years ago

Arrest the venal politicians and leave the women of easy virtue alone.

• KWAME 11 years ago

THIS IS UNCALLED FOR. THE IGP MUST CALL HIS MEN TO ORDER. THE POLICE ADMINISTRATION MUST LOOK FOR WAYS OF PROTECTING INNOCENT CITIZENS RATHER THAN CHASING SO CALLED PROSTITUTES. WHERE ARE THEY GOING TO GET GH¢720.00 TO PAY F ...

• king 11 years ago

Is this enough deterrent? Some will have to go back to prostitution to be able to pay GHC 720!

• Rebecca from tamale 11 years ago

they should find them jobs to do instead taking money from them cause the money they will give is from what they do.

• Kwame atobodzemafi 11 years ago

LOOKING FOR MONEY TO PAY GAS FOR THE POLICE

• Kwame atobodzemafi 11 years ago

WOYOME IS TILL WALKING WITHOUT ANY PRISON TERMS

• foolish man 11 years ago

find them work to do

• KALU 11 years ago

PSE LADIES TRANSFER THESE FINES TO THE MEN WHO ARRESTED YOU AND PROSECUTED YOU IMM THE NIGHT YOU RESUMED BY INCREASING CHARGES BY 25%. THEY WILL PAY.

• ONYAME NIPA (Man Of God) USA. 11 years ago

NKWASEASEM ARA KWA

• JH New York 11 years ago

Chief Sptd Idi Seidu,what you did rather increased their problems.One good way to resolve the issue was to employ the ladies in your Idi Seidu Factory.
    And you have the support of an equally moron magistrate to fined each of ...

Correction: lead s decent life!

Contd: Or sentence them to community service and find them jobs.
    It's only in Ghana such nonsensical could go on without anyone in authority to raise an eyebrow. In a Country without a si ...

If someone answer a question to say She is a prostitute.Or admitted that She's a Prostitute,I do not think there's enough evidence to cause the arrest of the person.Therefore, incriminating statement not withstanding ,the
    33 ...

• bird 11 years ago

is dis all u can do? gh police...jxt arrestin merciful girls...stupid men ...go n face e armed robbers...worthless men