MP to challenge arrest and prosecution of prostitutes

Read Comments Comments (102)

• Silver 11 years ago

Oh hush, bootleg lawyer

• Yaw Poku, USA 11 years ago

You fool, I wish your sister was among those arrested and see how you would have felt.

• HONESTY 11 years ago

What is wrong with you? This MP is not fit for purpose. He is always defending the wrong stuff.
    Imagine if you were born out of prostitution?

• Queen 11 years ago

Foolish MP, that area is a known prostitute hangout and if they weren't selling their bodies, what were they doing standing there late and night? Why don't you fight for the defenseless poor people and tell the corrupt politi ...

• ADJEI-BADU 11 years ago

Normal, he is an ewe !

• gh vi 11 years ago

yes, he is an Ewe, trying to defend those filthy ashanti prostitutes. it is common knowledge that, 90% of all the prostitutes in Ghana are of filthy and dirty ashanti maggot origin.

• HONESTY 11 years ago

This problem is ancient and cuts across borders all over the world. In fact, some gov'ts have given up on it like the MP wants us to do.

The problem is that, the West and rich nations can manage with the underlining probl ...

• ABU 11 years ago

To whom is your tribal concern directed at,gh vi or at ADJEI BADU,and who is tribalistic here? wHENEVER YOUR OWN IS TOUCHED EYE BROWS ARE INSTANTLY RAISED,AND YOU TURN YOUR ATTENTIONS AWAY WHEN IT IS THE OTHER TRIBE THAT YOU ...

• insight to the bone 11 years ago

Abu Rahman are not the same corrupt facilitator who is able to commit all these heinous crimes against the people of Ghana only because of your tribal and ethnic affiliation . Why would an ayigbe man be a MP in the heart of F ...

• gh vi 11 years ago

boy, u have become irrelevant. u post too much nonsense. i didn't read your comment before knowing that you were writing rubbish. go find something better to do with your miserable life

so i was relevant to you before and now its rubbish and you felt compelled to comment? make up your mind oh stupid one

• Asiwome 11 years ago

The police must stake out the place, arrest the men who patronize these so called prostitutes and punish them. Remember what Diana's brothers did to Shechem. We simply must learn to think for ourselves.

• Kwame Tormekpo T 11 years ago

ADJEI-badu or whatever u call urself, u need a dna test. you are a bastard , born out of prostitution. Check those caught and see how many are ewes and how how many are of ur tribe. stupid idiot!!!

• HONESTY 11 years ago

In fact, many were from neighboring nations. We have to stop this hatred that takes us no where.

Recent events especially the demonstration in Kumasi show that there are competent capable NPP youth who do not hesitate to do the right thing , strategies and planning on scale almost as perfect as a war effort yet remain h ...

• ABU 11 years ago

A PRODUCE OF A DEMONIC POSTITUTE FROM AN UNWANTED PREGNANCY AND A TRANSPARENT NON EXISTING FATHER IS YOUR MOTHER NOT AMONG THOSE ARRESTED PROSTITUTES?

whats your fascination with prostitutes , you must be another impotent pervert of a person who was sodomized by your mahama idiot ?

• Kunta Kunteh 11 years ago

Insight to the bone is an idiot! tribalistic, incurable unhappy individual who hate people based on where they come from. Your hatred for Northerners and Ayigbe people will send you to your grave early. There is nothing you c ...

fake impostor idiot of a pepeni toilet carrier like you think you can stand up in your delusion and talk to me because of what ?you were all quiet when the Ashantis , Akyems, Fantis and other Akans were being harassed for dec ...

• gh vi 11 years ago

this guy has gone berserk, insulting and harassing everybody in his way. boy, your bitterness doesn't look like its gonna end now. an Ewe man is MP in a fanti land and you don't understand? you can go and burn the indian ocea ...

i understand very well why only an ayigbe will stand as mp there , is it because the natives will have nothing to with this fake governance or maybe they think that their own may not really be RELEVANT in this tribally bias s ...

• ad 11 years ago

kwame dont talk too much.I am going to give u typical scenario,once upon a time,one ayigbe woman was prositute and out the prositution he got pregnant with (oyigboman)later on the child grew up and made coup to become a presi ...

• JH New York 11 years ago

Irresponsible Comment !
    Is there any law in the World which restrict anyone not to walk the Street in the morning, afternoon,evening,night,and at dawn ?
    Again,to accept to a question to be a prostitute does not imply that t ...

• Charles 11 years ago

I am tempted to believe this Lawyer is a patron of this disgraceful and disgusting trade, prostitution

• SAMO JEWELLERY 11 years ago

let samo Jewellery design n customise yr dream wedding n engagement yellow n white gold rings for u......call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest pictures to choose from.....can also follow us on Facebook/samojewell ...

• GHANAMAN 11 years ago

I WISH ALL PERSONS WHO UPHOLD & CHERISH THE RULE OF LAW & FREEDOM WILL HAIL YOU.NO ONE CONDONES PROSTITUTION,BUT THE RIGHT OF AN INDIVIDUAL.GOD EVEN GIVES US FREEDOM TO USE OUR BODIES AS WE LIKE.THOU HOLLIER THAN THOU PEOPLE ...

• Remove Indemnity Clause 11 years ago

There are many important things for MPS to discuss than these foolish bitches who are disgracing Ghanaians.
    That is the work of the police not MPS.These women will be fighting in the streets making loud noises to disturb res ...

• Moira 11 years ago

There's a good enough reason for the police to arrest these ashawos and certainly ghana is not the only country that massively arrest prostitutes. This lawyer must have a very slow practice in his profession to want to challe ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

Two car salesmen were sitting at the bar. One complained to the
    other, "Boy, business sucks. If I don't sell more cars this month,
    I'm going to lose my fucking ass."
    Then he noticed a beautiful blonde sitting two sto ...

• Honestman 11 years ago

I would have loved to see dishonourable Markins disgraced in court trying to defend his accomplices (prostitutes) in court just like Atta Akyea did trying to defend that loud mouth but stupid Daily Searchlight editor

• Thucydides 11 years ago

Hang on people, I'm astonished with all the morality preachers here. So are we saying prostitutes don't have human rights - that is if it is proven they are, no?
    Question - are we going to round up all the cabal of MP's who ...

• Remove Indemnity Clause 11 years ago

Is there any rule of law in Ghana where politicians are stealing all our wealth and nobody has been arrested?Rule of Law my ass.

• Antiochus - London 11 years ago

Pervert! I'm sure he's been using their services.

• princewilly@ymail.com 11 years ago

The new Prostitute just finished her first trick and when she came back
    down to the street, the seasoned veterans all gathered around to hear
    the details.
    She said "well, he was a big muscular and handsome marine".
    " ...

• solo paris 11 years ago

go sit down

• Kwasi Owusu 11 years ago

The police also saw Lordina but bcos they dont want a disgrace, so they fred her and areested the rest .

• Kanewu 11 years ago

It is sad that some of our ligislators are behaving this way.NPP woman MP is going naked demo.and one also leading Ashawo girls.NPP are spoiling their chances of winning the next election.Frustretions and intimidations dont ...

• COS90 11 years ago

YES, NPP WILL LOSE AGAIN

• DKB 11 years ago

Stupid comment. The fact that you know thieves operate in a certain area does not mean seeing someone in that area automatically makes the person a thief, same goes for prostitutes. Until you catch the person in the act no re ...

• omolele 11 years ago

I elected u to go and make law,not to talk against law,if u are man fight for the lnformation bill to be pass into law,and stop fighting for prostitutes.

• Honestman 11 years ago

This guy is an idiot, foolish and just looking for cheap popularity. Is he claiming to be more intelligent than the police and the judge that sat on the case. Why was he not in court to defend the prostitutes?

• me 11 years ago

Did the police solicit for sex from any of the women? Were they found engaging in paid sex? The judge who sat on the case is a complete apology to law and order.

• IDI AMIN DADA 11 years ago

No wonder Ghana is moving backwards!!! Look at this fool alexander whatever his name is, dressed in neocolonialism "legal" attire and speaking nonsense!!!

Who in Ghana dont know that those women art sted were prostituting ...

• KWASI IN EUROPE 11 years ago

At least some of the lawyers are intelligent. If there are unemployed graduates in Ghana then what is the fate of the illiterate women? How do they feed themselves? Will Mahama and the police feed them? Little brains.

• Nubian Sister 11 years ago

Investing in the prostitutes future.
    Shaking my head at all this.
    There are BETTER causes to fight for.
    I guess if you don't have a good job you must fight for every shred of recognition.

• TRUTH HURTS 11 years ago

FIGHT FOR IMPEACHMENT OF MAHAMA FOR CORRUPTION AND HARDSHIP GHANA IS IN.

• Korsi Vivor 11 years ago

I AM ASHAMED THIS EMP IS AN EWE. WHAT DID HE LEARN TO BECOME A LAWYER IN GHANA? OUR LAWS DISAGREE WITH PROSTITUTION EVEN THOUGHT IT HAS BEEN THE OLDERST PROFESSION SINCE MAN WAS MADE.

• IDI AMIN DADA 11 years ago

His so-called MP is a disgrace to himself, parliament and Ghana! He would have been sacked if he was an american MP! Ghana wake up and despise this fool calling himself an MP! Oh God Almighty please raise another and better J ...

• OSAGYEFO 11 years ago

A COUNTRY WHICH HAS HEAVILY HIT BY ECONOMIC CRISIS AND CORRUPTION, TELL ME WHAT DO YOU WANT THESE POOR WOMEN TO DO?

• Observer 11 years ago

Well said, Osagyefo. And if their customers are anything like most of the the commenters on this site they are not just sacrificing their bodies but also being abused by mindless idiots.

• Sea 11 years ago

Ashawo MP has disgraced the people of Efutu. After all the seat belongs to NDC, we will vote an NDC candidate come 2016. Defending prostitute is an acceptance that what they are doing is good. I think he has been regularly pa ...

• Miomi 11 years ago

Mr. Lawyer kindly defend this issue. Point one,Can one describe a prostitute???? Ghanaians have total wrong thoughts about people, due to their way of dressing. Does this koti-man knows his rights in the system? This can on ...

• HONESTY 11 years ago

Since you are so intelligent in Western ways of life, now tell us which Western nation does not use stop and search based on your appearance.

Yes, your dressing counts if you are foolish not to think so.

Do police per ...

• jahman 11 years ago

Honesty,those are uniforms, can you please tell me, a UNIFORM of a PROSTITUTE???????????????

• jahman 11 years ago

Honesty, you are deceived, I am sure you are a KID in the Ghanaian system know that people can pretend in their way of dressing, people can immetate, what they are not.Please when where you born in the 19s or in the 20s, HONE ...

• PREVENTION AND ASSISTANCE NEEDED 11 years ago

Better if we can make this as a case study. We need to find answers and solutions to this old aged profession. These women and girls have some brains and energies that can be utilized elsewhere in the economic sector of this ...

• jahman 11 years ago

Kwesi in Europe,thank you, Leaders in Ghana are not doing their jobs, and look a koti-man, with stinking uniform lashing these women, it a shame,instead of creating jobs for them to stop this business koti-man is creating sar ...

• Naku 11 years ago

Go and look for proper cases to handle if you call yourself a lawyer and stop trying to make yourself known to Ghanaians.
    Nansince.

• ESONG U/W 11 years ago

have you heard of the 5 missing babies in the hospital? what have you done to help the poor mothers. just stop the propaganda. if you era interested in prostitutes the just marry them, you will a good name.

• big Boy weezy 11 years ago

Massa what have u done about Sada and all those things nonsense only useless things

• Papa Yaw 11 years ago

So

• serlom 11 years ago

the rule of law is based on evidence,so if the police have no evidence that they are catch in the act what right has the court to charge them, on what ground. standing by the roadside, where they a bother to anyone or were th ...

• Asea Ho 11 years ago

This is the evidence: Residence, taxi driver and other road users lodged complaint of the embarrassing nature of the operation of these ladies. The police conducted two month long investigation on the case and took the ff pro ...

• BOY KOFI 11 years ago

We have different kinds of lawyers,criminal lawyers,human rights lawyers,constitutional lawyers,financial lawyers and so on.If this guy is a human rights lawyer than that is what he supposed to do.Remember,even terrorists hav ...

• pepenii 11 years ago

i know this mp and he is a fine knowledgeable man. please just put your point across without undermining him with such insults

• Mjan 11 years ago

This idiot and empty noisy Markins should shut up

• Ajona 11 years ago

What a good human right lawyer.Keep it up. What are the girls doing wrong?

• OBIBINI 11 years ago

When will our so-called learned men and women get rid of their neo-colonialist wig and gowns?Or they think still clinging to such outdated,imperialist outfit set them apart from the society? We had independence over 60 years ...

• Law Speaks 11 years ago

Judgement was based on what the women said

• Law Speaks 11 years ago

Judgement was based on what the women said.

• Kofigo Mensah 11 years ago

Why accusing the Lawyer? Ghanaians are foooooools. Where is the law that says prostitution is illegal in Ghana. Do you want the ladies to go and steal when the corrupted Government is making things hard

• CHAIRMAN 11 years ago

This is his analysis“if you are charging someone for soliciting for immoral purposes to wit engaging in a sex trade, the persons must not just be walking on the streets and then be told you are here at this odd hour and the ...

What crime did the ladies committed.
    The police should equally presented to the Court at the same time as the so called prostitutes, the men involved in the Act at the time of their arrest ,as exhibits and culprits,to proved ...

• Liberian Boy 11 years ago

Maps defending prostitutes...the title says it all.

• Kofi Lawyer 11 years ago

Ghana is still leaving in primitive era. The world has moved on. The so called prostitutes are our sisters, mothers, friends, girlfriends and you name it. Ghanaians Must Change

• Angel 11 years ago

And what's so primitive about police arresting prostitutes and people voicing their opinion about it?

• HONESTY 11 years ago

Thanks, but next time you use the possessive pronoun, our, think before you do.

You can keep your prostitute mother, sister and girlfriend and all the benefits it comes with. Where has decency gone these days? The world ...

• DKB 11 years ago

Change the corrupt politicians and leaders. Let the resources of this country be put to good use so all the citizens benefit and such antisocial behaviour will minimise. If you are privileged not to have a prostitute mother, ...

• Angel 11 years ago

Holier than thou attitude by who? There are a lot of us who grew up very very poor and did not go out to sell our bodies in order to make ends meet. Stop making excuses for bad behaviors!

• HONESTY 11 years ago

Life is not all about money. Go to rich Germany or Holland or better still Italy and see the prostitution rate. Do you also think their menace is about lack of money or jobs. Values, if it means anything to him.

• STAFFORD 11 years ago

Here in Ghana the root cause of this very profession is lack of money/quick money, family breakdowns and the influx to the cities. Our rural areas need both social amenities and state/private investments in order to create jo ...

• Kanawu 11 years ago

And a big one too. Most married men ( including so called pastors and other religious leaders) are Jekyll & Hyde.During the day they hold bibles but in the night they chase prostitutes.

• NAA TRUTH 11 years ago

But who cause am. We had our polygamy system which worked well especially considering some women will degrade themselves anyway, they would have been better under a polygamy system that takes care of the not so bright women. ...

• kk 11 years ago

how can you make such arrests?

• HEYBOYSTOPTHIS 11 years ago

Even nations with legal prostitution make sadden raids for those who operate without license. Do you know why? I doubt it.

• ABU 11 years ago

A "SADDEN" RAID INDEED VERY SAD RAID THAT DEPRIVES THE WOMEN THEIR FREEDOMTTHE SUSPECTS WERE UNLAWFULLY ARRESTED,CHARGED AND WRONGLY CONDEMNED TO PAY FINES BECAUSE THEY FAILED LINING THE POCKETS OF SOME PEOPLE FOR THEIR FREED ...

• KM 11 years ago

With all these idiots supporting prostitution why won't prostitutes gather the confidence to confront government of sidelining them when football fans were sent to Brazil. You sit there and talk about freedom and injustice an ...

• Gus 11 years ago

How's this an abuse of power? Police in the States make sweep in areas known for prostitution all the time.

• Kofi Mensah 11 years ago

Ashaawo boy MP.
    You are deemed to lose your seat at the next general election.

• ABU 11 years ago

IS THIS JUSTICE,GOD SAVE US A COUNTRY THAT INSPIRES AND PRACTICES INJUSTICE IS DOOMED

• Branaboy 11 years ago

Those girls have been LOITERING around Cantonments for years and there are laws and ordinances on the books against LOITERING WITH INTENT.

If you live on the streets of Cantonments where these girls operate you will know ...

• NII OTU 11 years ago

Can somebody ask the MP whether he has travelled outside to the US, UK, and the whole of Europe before? These are countries with proper laws and even legalized prostitution. But with all prostitutes are raided, arrested, pro ...

Nii Otu, if prostitution is a crime or a nuisance
    to the public, why should it be legalized in any way for any reason in the first place ?
    Again ,if it's completely socially not acceptable ,why should those Countries you me ...

• NII OTU 11 years ago

I think its time the constitution prevent parliamentarian lawyers and ministers apart from the Attorney General from defending their clients the moment they become parliamentarians and ministers. If engineers and doctors in p ...

• Harryboo 11 years ago

Oh Ghana,even the police and some of our judges dont know the law.This lawyer is right and must take on the stupid police for arresting the women and the stupid prosecuters for prosecuting the women unlawfully.Yes i said it.

• Asea Ho 11 years ago

I have the details on the case and the police for the first time were professional and justified in the arrest of the ladies. Some facts the MP must know:
    1. It took the police over two months investigation to effect the arr ...

If what you said is the truth, not the MP or anyone of us against the arrest made a mistake.
    The question is,is actual marriage devoid of money ? The intention of the money for whatever reason does not come in.
    What do yo ...

• kwam 11 years ago

there are more serious problems in your constituency which needs your attention than wasting time on these people. After all there were many people roaming on the streets of Accra they were not arrested. He should take a walk ...

• kaketonti 11 years ago

MP/Lawyer I have nothing against prostitutes.They are social objects to a few.Send invitation to them to trade their pussy in your vicinity;especially right on the pavement of your office/house.You will not waste your preciou ...

• KM 11 years ago

Were they arrested because they were prostitutes or for the noise and nuisance they were causing to the residents? MP, go do something better with your life.

• Esi london 11 years ago

Your sisters and doughters attending legon are more protitutes than those girls standing on the streets.

• MRS SARAH 11 years ago

• 7 hours ago
    Purchase a Trailer Load Of DANGOTE
    CEMENT At a Low Factory Price.
    We Supply To Any Part Of The Country
    Upon The Customer(s) Order,
    And Delivered To Your Door Step.
    *Product: DANGOTE CEMENT(50KG).
    *Origi ...