Revealed: Fifa tried to stop Ghana bonus row

Read Comments Comments (125)

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

He should have slapped Nyantakyi and his gangsters for keeping the money in their stinky pockets

• Nsemfo Ahi 9 years ago

Wouldn't fault him if he had descended on them with a machine gun. They are all pieces of shit.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

The name is APPEARANCE MONEY, in this case the moment the team qualified to take part in the world cup, the FIFA eight million dollars to the team was guaranteed and the moment GFA decided to pay them $75,000 each, they could ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

The problem is a whole continent run by incompetent greedy bastards. Unfortunately we also have some of the smartest people in the world. To them this is a disgrace to be associated with a continent in baby diapers and in dis ...

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

Why would our players resort to such tactics to get paid? It boils down to trust. Corruption and official incompetency is causing us huge embarrassment around the world.

The players have not come to the decision they took l ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

No, you are wrong Africans are governed by brainless idiots not bastards. Sometimes, I wonder how thought process work……..

• Whateverl 9 years ago

Now we all know that is not the Government duty to pay appearance fee. Indeed Government is barred from interfering in football matters. Now Fifa has owned up. The shame is on you and your preposterous criticisms

• IMHO 9 years ago

The black man is capable of mismanaging his own affairs!!!!

• Ghfuo, What Is Your Purpose/Legacy? 9 years ago

Fifa, we want.to get rid of nyantakyi and aa and we don't care about the ramifications. We want to imposed tony baffoe as fa head and desailly as coach, abedi Pele as sports minister with immediate effect!

• Bishop 9 years ago

It's a disgrace to the entire nation.

• M.Y. 9 years ago

And so what?!!!

• Precious 9 years ago

And so suck my dick asshole

• ODOMGYA 9 years ago

SARPONG YOU ARE SO STUPID THAT SOMETIMES I HAVE NO WORD TO DISCRIBE YOU. STUPID IDIOT YOUR PARTY HAS DONE BY DITCHING YOU FROM OFFICE. ABOABA WO MAAME TWE

• Son of man 9 years ago

We go through all the time the national team is engaged. Don't we ever learn????? The problem is corrupt govt officials.. Don't blame the Muntaris and the Boatengs. Blame the greedy bastards on the backs of the players.

• SARPONG 9 years ago

You've been forgiven because of your lobotomy operation. I feel sorry for you because you were born out of a threesome comprising the village whore who is your mother, the village drunk who is your mother and your mother's br ...

• Mea 9 years ago

Sarpong, can you believe they still owe them from the South African World Cup in 2010? I can't believe it. What does Kwasi Nyantakyi and his gang take the players for? Do they think the players are there to be used? Nkwasease ...

• Nyansasem 9 years ago

I know you have made many attempts to put the blame of this fiasco on the doorsteps of the government which I have no problem with it. However, to absolve Appiah from this imbroglio is hard for me to take you seriously. Appia ...

• T'pau 9 years ago

If we as citizens do not trust our own government on financial deals, how do we expect foreign investors to come in and transact big investment deals with our government?

These seemingly-petty football issues could have lo ...

• Mohammed Awuni 9 years ago

Our GFA is one incompetent organization

• SILMINGAH 9 years ago

MOHAMED AWUNIYOU ARE THE FEW FOOLS AROUND FORMENTING CRISES. YOU WILL BE TARGETED SOON SO GET PREPARED.

• Mike Gizo 9 years ago

Africa is a useless continent being managed by greedy fools.
    i won't talk about Africa again. Good bye fools!!!

• Musa 9 years ago

What has Awuni done? You will be targeted too

• GaBaa 9 years ago

THIS BOYS HAVE GONE THROUGH THIS ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES. THEY SEE THE MANAGEMENT WITH THEIR GIRL FRIENDS ENJOYING WHILES THEY PUT IN THE WORK TO RAISE THESE MONIES AND THEN AFTER THE TOURNAMENT THEY ARE DISSED WITH TOKENS, BROKE ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

The whole truth will come out so GFA corrupt officials come out clean before you come out on the short end.

Why didn't GFA agree to FIFA terms? Because the GFA officials wanted to pull a fast one on the players. Thieves wh ...

• SM4LYF 9 years ago

NDC BE THE MOST USELESS PEOPLE EVER SEEN ON PLANET EARTH..FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLS PARTY.... OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kyekyeku 9 years ago

our president will only listen when there is boycott and demonstration, that is the only Language he understand. I never knew one day Ghana will have a president who is clueless and a fool like the one that we have now.

• kpata 9 years ago

You sound more stupid than anyone I know

• PREKESE. 9 years ago

AND WHAT ABOUT YOU?.CALL A SPADE A SPADE BUT NOT A HAMMER.THE PRESIDENT IS REALLY FOOL AND CLUELESS MAN PERIOD.

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Man! Sulley was 100% right to slap that idiot; I have no problem these hardworking players demanding their monies before playing. This show the whole the state of affairs in Africa for that matter Ghana. Corruption has to sto ...

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA THE THIEF. THIS IS THE CHARACTER OF FRAFRA NTANI PEPENI MAHAMA, LOOT AND SHARE.

• Nadi U S. 9 years ago

it's a shame to Ghana

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

This goes to show a lot about institutions in Africa and managed by Africans. Yes, Ghana is now the record holder in express money transfer, in sort, it doesn't get better than this and the improvisation of a private jet make ...

• PepperJ 9 years ago

This is the MOP of African corrupt politicians. It has been a ploy to "chop chop" monies belonging to others and the state by politicians. We read about Togo, Ghana, Nigeria and Cameroon today. I bet you that it is happening ...

• Nana Ansah 9 years ago

The bold scheme by corrupt GFA officials to short-change the Black Stars players failed because they had Kevin and Muntari as team mates who foiled the ploy. The collective bloated contingent of GFA blinkered specialists shou ...

• the truth 9 years ago

Good idea from Fifa

• Senior Wisdom 9 years ago

I am really sad that there are no smart people to run the affairs of Africa. Poor governance, corruption and incompetence. We are all being taken for granted and the whole world is watching. Ghana oh my country of birth, what ...

• Nsemfo Ahi 9 years ago

We have banks who would grant loans to effect these payments, with the guarantee that the FA will pay on reception of the fee from fifa, yet the African countries are not able to manage such simple and straightforward issues. ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

The issue is not that they don't know that banks ca do it, the issue is that they opted to go the cash way because that's how they can also steal some of the money... GFA officials should be swapped with the girls abducted by ...

• osu clottey 9 years ago

The 10% ,is the trouble maker

• JOSH 9 years ago

What a continent..........When....

• ph 9 years ago

Sad day for Ghanaians. Stupid leaders.

• Siisi 9 years ago

ONLY IN AFRICA

GREEDY LEADERS

• Mann 9 years ago

It is good step from fifa WE Africans behave like children all over, in every we show the whole world of our incompetency, one time TOGO, ANOTHER TIME CAMEROOM, GHANA AND Now IS EXTENDING TO NIGERIA IT IS SAD OH MY CONTINENT ...

• Mann 9 years ago

It is good step from fifa WE Africans behave like children all over, in every THING we show the whole world of our incompetency, one time TOGO, ANOTHER TIME CAMEROOM, GHANA AND Now IS EXTENDING TO NIGERIA IT IS SAD OH MY CONT ...

• Papa Dey 9 years ago

Trust is the key word here and all the leaders should be ashamed of themselves.All these leaders are thinking is to pocket some of the money into their stinky pockets.Have you ever heard something like this in Asia,South and ...

• SILMINGAH 9 years ago

BLACK IS BLACK AND SHOULD PLACED AT HIS LEVEL. IN FUTURE PLAYERS SHOULD BE BONDED TO BE OF A GOOD BEHAVIOUR BEFORE BEING ADMITTED TO THE TEAM.THAT IS WHY WE SHOULD ALWAYS HAVE OUR NATIONAL TEAM NUCLEUS CONSTANTLY ALIVE IN GH ...

• Mann 9 years ago

MY BROTHER I CAN UNDERSTAND YOUR PAIN AND YOUR LOVE FOR THE COUNTRY, BUT YOU KNOW WE DON'T HAVE MANY WHO THINK LIKE YOU MANY THINK AND BEHAVE LIKE CHILDREN AND WE MISUNDERSTAND THE PRINCIPLE OF LIVING, ALMOST WE ARE NOT COMPE ...

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

It is high time our government stopped making empty promises. Government behaves well, the players do the same. The players should also not be taken for granted. Cuts both ways, deliver what you promised.

• koohia 9 years ago

In our country, you cant stand up against any elder no matter how foolish they act. you will be branded as rude or stubborn. so we keep using our young ones and the same cycle goes on. Muntari played in new zealand 99, ask th ...

• Concerned Ghanaian 9 years ago

If you think bonding of future Blackstars players is the solution the problems we have seen in the past and the latest in Brazil then you are equally stupid and corrupt like the people who are currently managing the country a ...

• komla stev 9 years ago

remember,two wrongs do not make right.mutari,s use of violence can not be accepted in any civilised country.why prove a point by slapping an elderly man?animals behave like this.for goodness sake,only violent people will supp ...

• Bra Borgah 9 years ago

Commot for there kwasia. Go church go preach. I wish Muntari killed that useless old foolish corrupt old bastard. Fuck these corrupt thieves

• Kwame Ansah 9 years ago

What a shame!

• kretz - D 9 years ago

I know only African countries would do this to their players. The big question is why? So why can't Africans do the right thing, at least for once?

• SILMINGAH 9 years ago

FIFA CLAIMS AS FAR AS 2006 TOGO HAD THIS PROBLEM AND MANY MORE AFRICAN COUNTRIES WHO MIGHT HAVE MANAGED TO CONTAINED IT. WHAT DID YOU DO? WHY THIS CONFUSED ARTICLE!!. WE ARE TOLD THE MONEY HAS BEEN FLOWN INTO THE BRAZIL AND P ...

• vilakakalika 9 years ago

SHAME GHANA SHOULDN'T HAVE GONE THIS WAY

WHAT ARE ALL THE WAMPAHS AND AMISSAH-ARTHURS AND THE EXECUTIVE DOING AT ALL---THE SETH TERKPERS

• Paa 9 years ago

It's very true, the black person is incapable of using his brain. Am ashamed being a Ghanaian, am ashamed. Am truly ashamed.

• The Truth Flows 9 years ago

African countries and African leaders are not to be trusted. Thes boys sensed something fishy. Before Ghana, other African countries did same. So shy ashamed? "If you dont sell your sickness, you will not get medicine".

• Kwame(USA) 9 years ago

This the difference between obroni and bibini management styles. A contract is a contract is a contract. You see why we have been paying judgment debts?

• eric 9 years ago

The most useless race in the world.People who think of money more than anything in the world.Place a child and money and ask black to select one,the black will first take the money and then take the child and sell the child a ...

• The Truth Flows 9 years ago

What about the Obronis, are they not paid money? Yes, they are! They believe and trust their leaders' promises. So if the black leaders prove trustworthy, the black footballers will not agitate. Trust is the matter. If these ...

• osimandias Konfankoh Methusalleh 9 years ago

ONLY AFRICANS THAT TAKE THIS KIND OF ATTITUDE TO THE WORLD STAGE.WHY BECAUSE OUR GOVERNMENTS AND SPORTS MINISTERS CANNOT BE TRUSTED.
    "GHANA AGU NANIMASE" THEY SHOULD BE TAKEN US OFF FROM FIFA.

• Paa Joe 9 years ago

WHERE IS THE 9,6 MILLION DOLLARS THAT WAS APPROVED BY THE GOVERNMENT OF GHANA FOR THE WORLD CUP PREAPARATIONS.

WE LOST BECAUSE, THE MANAGEMENT THOUGHT THEY WERE CLEVER THAN THE PLAYERS.

FOR THE GFA MANAGEMENT TO CLAIM T ...

• fireman 9 years ago

Only in africa goodluck.a good friend of mahama dey all lack ideas africa x dead useless administration

• LONTO-BOY 9 years ago

Why should it take FIFA's intended intervention to stop Ghana's bonus row in Brazil? The mere thought of this is so embarrassing.

Why should allowance/bonus to be paid to the players before the World Cup, be paid only aft ...

• SARPONG 9 years ago

Okatakyie, say that again. Go and read my article on the sports section, titled;

Blackstars Mess In Brazil, Blame The Government

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

The players have no trust in these useless criminal politicians. That is why they demand their money before playing

• Koobym)m)ni 9 years ago

THE GOVERNMENTS ARE THE PROBLEM. THE PLAYERS HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO DEMAND THEIR MONIES, JUST AS WORKERS FROM EVERY TRAIT OF LIFE, AND EVERY COUNTRY DEMAND THEIR MONIES SOMETIMES THROUGH STRIKES. AFRICAN CORRUPT GOVERNMENTS MUST ...

• Faith 9 years ago

Africa is indeed saddled with problems. Even in football, we are unable to keep a simple arrangement of making payments to players after an agreement has been reached. How can you secure patriotism and nationalism from your o ...

• Dutch man 9 years ago

The devil was a black angel in heaven who rebel.We are black and our thought process are black.Always deception,deciet and fraud is our motto.The players know their FA and government offcials are corrupt and they will short ...

• kbee 9 years ago

FIFA YOU TOOK SOO LONG IN ENSURING THIS KIND OF THING DOES NOT HAPPEN.

• Rocky 9 years ago

Payment in cedis? The cedi has been depreciating in value. The situation is sad, bad and mad. The cash will be like an albatross round their necks. Can't leave Brazil with all that cash without incurring penalties and taxes. ...

• ama 9 years ago

The problem start with the leadership in our country. Nobody trust anyone b'cos there is corruption at every sector. Muntari should have slapped more of the officials. I'm shamed of our president leadership.

• Maradona mafia 9 years ago

God bless Muntari and people like Muntari Amen. I thought that old fool said he was a mafia and a thug. Foolish old man. Fire that ugly Nyantakyi now and his staff including that village champion akwasia appiah the awarm coac ...

• OHENE AMANKWATIA GYAU 9 years ago

NDC GOV'T HAS DISGRACED GHANIANS THIS THE TIME FOR THEM TO GO,LET USE GIVE CHANCE TO CPP OR PPP

• lapinto 9 years ago

What a shame

• EFUA 9 years ago

GFA IS ROTTEN. THEY MUST BE CHANGED

• Fiifican 9 years ago

Ghana now is now a failed state with this kinda political leadership.

What did beautiful GHANA do to deserve such fools for leaders?

GOD SAVE OUR COUNTRY FROM THESE FOOLS!!!!

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

Look at the names of the countries mentioned....ALL AFRICAN NATIONS !!! Because of our CORRUPTION, we don't trust each other.
    Muntari for Min. of Defence! GOOD SHOW,man.
    Even if you DON'T play for Ghana again,NO HARM.!! Yo ...

• EZEKIEL 9 years ago

When shall the MAJORITY of the Blacks in POSITIONS of Trust do anything worth praising ??

• truth. 9 years ago

That is rubbish.bola,gabbage. batch of lies trying to manipulate situations. Corrupt referees.

• Ghana midfield rocks 9 years ago

FIFA says no government interference with football, so what FIFA must do is pay footballers directly from now on.
    If there is any money to pay the association, then they can pay them separately minus the players money.

• OHENE AMANKWATIA GYAU 9 years ago

WE AFRICANS ALWAYS SAYS WE ARE DEMOCRATIC I CAN TELL YOU WE ARE NOT WE NEED WHITE PEOPLE TO GOVERNING US AGAIN.NDC IS A BAD GOV'T THIEVES MUMS AND PAPA,BRO'S AND SISTERS LET US KICK THEM OUT.

• ron 9 years ago

You FIFA had made the associations president's demi-gods who can't be removed whilst, they're wasting the African game of soccer,our monies and precious time.

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Ron Kwasea, get this in your thick head, FIFA is stopping Mahama & his GFA vampires from sucking blood out of Ghanaians. They don't want to give the world bonus to CORRUPT GFA

• Mea 9 years ago

These guys are not fit for the job. They have brought a disgrace to Ghana. I couldn't believe they didn't pay them what was due them from the South African World Cup tournament 4 years after it was finished. You think the pla ...

• Truform 9 years ago

"The African Is Capable Of Managing His/Her Own Affairs" Its A Pipe Dream!
    Once Oppressed, these Qualities - Responsibility and Honesty - become Elusive.

• Owu 9 years ago

THANK GOD IS OVER, SOMEBODY GOT TO LOOSE. THAT'S LIFE.

• CAPII 9 years ago

AFRICAN FOOTBALL MANAGERS ARE LIARS & THIEVES. FIFA NEEDS TO COME OUT WITH FUTURE PLANS TO PAY APPEARANCE FEES TO AFRICAN PLAYERS DIRECTLY INSTEAD THE COUNTRYS' FA. THEY ARE CRMINALS.

• bema 9 years ago

what a country

• Talk to me 9 years ago

Azzan all out, lies lies lies lies!!!
    get the hell out of this forum you don't worth a SHIT

• apuuu 9 years ago

Kwesi Appiah sold his soul to the devil GFA

• BONUS ROW 9 years ago

It's shocking that the players are still owed from 2010.
    The NDC gov't's only quest in gov't is to loot and steal indiscriminately and it has found it's way into every nook and cranny of administration in the country where s ...

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 9 years ago

In Africa our leaders are so corrupt that ,it would always be better for the world football body to pay the players directly instead of relying on these looters. Any player should expect his money from FIFA directly.

• Whateverl 9 years ago

Now Fifa has owned up and say it is their duty to pay appearance fee, not the Government. Now they should come and blame the Government again. Government under fifa rules is barred from interfering in football matters so if G ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

Sepp Blatter the head of all football illegal activities.From match fixing to so many more.
    Why did it take fifa so long to approve goal line technology?We are all pundits in their fixed games.

• Dutch man 9 years ago

Africa as a continent is more corrupt than Fifa.Football is only a game.The corruption within Africa is a disease that is hurting and killing our people.After afrrican officials loot the money the go around western governmen ...

• bewise 9 years ago

That is what I thought, that, they could have done the payment through banks. This shows the mental capacity of the politicians in the country, lack of creativity plus lack of vision, a bunch of fools, they talk smart but be ...

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 9 years ago

OH MAHAMA WHY WHY WHY???? WHAT A SHAAAAME,MAHAMA YEN KYE NI NKOAAAAA, F OOOOOOOOOOLS,

• SM4LYF 9 years ago

MAHAMA SUCK UR MOTHERRRRRRRRRRR

• KANE 9 years ago

AFRICAN LEADERS ARE SHAMELESS CRIMINALS! HOW DO THEY FEEL WHEN THEY READ SUCH HARROWING STORIES IN THE INTERNATIONAL MEDIA ABOUT THEIR CORRUPT TENDENCIES.

ORDINARY AFRICANS HAVE TO COME TOGETHER AND SYSTEMATICALLY EXTERMIN ...

• FUFUO DADESEN 9 years ago

FIFA SHOULD HAND OVER THE BONUS DIRECTLY TO PLAYERS OF ANY COUNTRY,ESPECIALLY KOO DARKIE AFRICA

• Joe, London. 9 years ago

All of the governments in Africa are cheats. The cabinet should have formed their own team by selecting some of their MPs to go and play for Ghana. They are all criminals. Fifa said it was sad to charter a plane to carry the ...

• Abochi 9 years ago

GFA & NDC government full of liars and thieves, Don't give them the bonus

• Koo Nie 9 years ago

Please FIFA give the money to the players and use the rest to build a sporting arena or another stadium for Ghanaians, Don't trust the THIEVES & LIARS in Ghana

• Kanawu 9 years ago

This shows how low Mahama & his bogus GFA thieves can go and tried to put Ghana Black Star failure on Mutari & Boateng. TMahama, the entire NDC government & the corrupt GFA are bloody and damned LIARS - all of them

• INSIGTH TO THE MIND 9 years ago

idiot Africans. fifa should cancel them from participating in the world cup tournaments.

• COMMON SENSE 9 years ago

THIS CHIMPAZINE AFRIE ANKRA WANT TO BE RICH FROM THIS WORLD CUP,AFRIYIE ANKRA AND OKUDJATO ABLAKWA DISGRACE MILLS GOVERNMENT,THEY STOLE ALLOT OF MONEY,STILL AFRIYIE WANT TO STEAL AGAIN,MR PRESIDENT BECAREFUL OF AFRIYIE ANKRA, ...

• Ghanaian Pilot 9 years ago

If Mahama & his corrupt NDC hooligans wont buy us a plane FIFA should. We need our Ghana Airways back.

• Whatever 9 years ago

Do you know that it is Fifa's duty to pay appearance fee to the blackstars and not GFA and Government. You should be commending the Government and the GFA for doing Fifa's job for them

• i ad 9 years ago

M

• Miss May 9 years ago

The black man is cursed forever, will never go forward and will always be a laughing stock.

• Kofi Duah 9 years ago

Ghana government is stupid. First the players worked for that money. (2) No one in his right mind will carry $3million cash for payment. it is against the banking act. It is money laundry. Simply have their bank accounts numb ...

• Alex 9 years ago

Its nothing starnge we were are still slaves to the white man because common sense in africa is not common.

• Alex 9 years ago

This shows the defference between NDC and NPP.
    Crooks

• ohene 9 years ago

shame shame shame!

• Ebiteyie 9 years ago

This is a disgrace to African football.

Yet CAF is quiet.

CAF should call a special congress after the World Cup and discuss with member associations how to put an end to this perennial problem of rows over remuneration ...

• TEE 9 years ago

IF YOU ARE A USELESS AIMLESS HOPELESS LEADERLESS VISIONLESS IDEALESS BRIBE PAID PRESIDENT THAT IS WHAT HAPPENS IN YOUR DOING. MAHAMA IS NOT SUPPOSE TO BE A PRESIDENT. PERIOD

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF HE WILL STEAL OUR MONEY IF FIFA GIVES GHANA ANY MONEY. SOMEONE HAVE TO STOP FIFA

• Sefwi Bodi 9 years ago

Why are all instances cited by Fifa secretary general Jerome Valcke in Africa ALONE?

• D.Tang 9 years ago

I will plead with FIFA to consider incteasing d final squad of teams to 26 instead of 23 players. FIFA shud also give strict restriction of d number of various FA s officials who accompany d teams at d world cup in future. Ds ...

• Asumdjwehene 9 years ago

It is a good idea. FIFA should be involved in government, player money deal.Same should happen to soldiers on UN peace keeping duties by the United Nations.The world has of age and Africa Cheating their own on international s ...

• KKS 9 years ago

ALL WE HEARD WAS THE GFA BEGGED FOR MONEY, BUT KWESI NYANTEKYI NEVER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT FIFA BEING READY TO PAY THE MONEY TO THE PLAYERS. IT IS ALSO BEEN CONFIRMED THAT FIFA WILL ONLY PAY FOR THE 23 PLAYERS AND NOBODY ELSE. ...

• link building 9 years ago

bxVpBH Major thankies for the article post.Thanks Again. Fantastic.

• crorkz matz 9 years ago

HBz39I Muchos Gracias for your blog post.Thanks Again. Want more.