I won’t pay tax on judgment debt interest— African Automobile boss

Read Comments Comments (47)

• Zoobie-Zoobie 9 years ago

is he above the law?

• K. A. 9 years ago

This can only happen in Ghana. JUST TRY same in his country and the you will laugh at the wrong side of your mouth. However how do l blame him, it was caused by our own people. Isn't it?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Hmmmmmmm, Judgement debts go kill Ghana ooooo. What is the Ag's dept there for? They should be put to trial for causing financial loss to the country and imprisoned.

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

I am not sure if the tax or corporate laws of Ghana require payment on interests or judgement debt payments. If the answer is yes, then what hell is this man to tell Ghanaians that he would not pay? It's not his fault, "na wh ...

• Daakye_hene 9 years ago

Since the lion`s share of their revenue steamcomesfrom in terest charged on loans?It has been almost a year when members of the then Kan Dapaah led PAC of parliamen,in unison,quizzed our own public officials,as to why taxes h ...

• WILSON 9 years ago

THE TAX SHOULD HAVE BEEN DEDUCTED AT SOURCE. HOWEVER THAT DOES NOT PRECLUDE HIM FROM PAYING THE TAX. IT IS A FINAL TAX OF 8% SO SINCE THE PAYER FAILED TO PAY THE TAX, HE IS LIABLE TO PAY IT HIMSELF AND HIS AUDITORS SHOULD HAV ...

• KOFI MONKEY 9 years ago

So what is going to happen to the AG's department since all the judgement depths are either not being defended or appearing in court to perform their duty the reason of their employments, AG's where the aiding and abetting st ...

• The African Patriot 9 years ago

He knows something thats why, he refuses to sue them direct. They may have a deal together with Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning (MoFEP), which has a deal with the AG. So it was quite clear that, AG will not protect ...

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Yes, in every country on this planet Interest is profit, except in front of ignorant Ghanaians lawyers facing some arrogant 'ol idiot. Even if his payment was delayed, once it was computed as interest on his investment, he ou ...

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

I will like to advice the AG to jail this man and afterwards deport him to his native land

• PF 9 years ago

That a foreigner could have the audacity to talk in a manner as this man did? Only in Ghana.

• Bam-Bam 9 years ago

Why should we wait and allow our debt commitment to generate into judgment debt in the first place? didn't we know that guy was a foreigner before we engaged him or should we just cheat him or disregard him because he is a fo ...

• Son of Ghana 9 years ago

Any company who claims judgement debt should be put on a blacklist. They will never be able to do business in Ghana again.

• Charles 9 years ago

What beats my mind is how the ministry of finance would inform the AGs office and the worse part was how the AG could refuse to defend govt in such a matter. The fact is this man is a criminal because if the debt owed him was ...

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Poor ghanaians. haba

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

...all this while? Apart from (what appears like) aiding and abetting in the payment of judgement debts, by not appearing in court, putting up no defence, not doing any proper legal homework when they pretend to defend cases ...

• Agyeman 9 years ago

INCOMPETENT,NEGLIGENT, OR AT WORSE, PLAIN INDOLENT. I AGREE WITH YOU PERHAPS THEY DO IT ALL FOR A PURPOSE, A LATER SHARE OF THE PROCEEDS! POOR GHANA! AND ATTORNEY-GENERALS HAVE NOT SUPERVISED THEIR STAFF. SO WE HAVE NO-SHOWS ...

• kuku 9 years ago

it shows lack of basic structure that he even has a choice...failed state

• Nzema K 9 years ago

Woow Ghana is sweet kekeh. Democracy over exercised...

• Ahmed Hijazi, 9 years ago

What is your beef ? you Ghanaians my Dad already paid 25 percent as tax to NDC namely Dr. Cadman Mills AND Aunty Betty Moud Brother Ibrahim Mahama please let as have some peace of mind we are just doing business not your poli ...

• ELINAN 9 years ago

Through religion, you found an aunty in an aiding and abettor Betty Mould and could count another criminal named Cadman Mills as a friend that you paid your tax to.
    Your deportation will eventually come.

We are all having Ghanaian Nationality.So you can not deport us I am sorry.

• GoatEater 9 years ago

U may not be deported, but U can be put in prison. How U became a citizen can also be investigated.

HOLD YOU YOUR PEACE WE ARE FROM GHANA AND WE ARE IN COURT AGAIN WITH THE A WILL TAKE OTHER JURGMENT DEPTS BECOUSE THE GOVERNMENT HAS NOT PAID US AND THIS TIME IT WILL BE IN DOLLARS NOT YOUR DYING CEDIS

What you are saying encouraging why are the party people caming everyday to our house for money we are to pay the party NDC and pay taxes also .Why only in Ghana can this happean

• Shocked 9 years ago

Are you saying you paid 25% of the amount to NDC instead of GRA. Since when are the people you mention Tax collectors. Do you mean you pay your taxes each year to NDC and not the Ghana Revenue Authority. You are an idiot.

• KAY 9 years ago

Good argument Mr. Hijazi!! Which business pays taxes on interest earned without running it through their business financials. Mr. Sokpor knows nothing about the question he is asking and taxes. There is no arrogance here. By ...

• oldCKOKO 9 years ago

WHAT IS ALL THIS JUDGEMENT DEBT JUDGEMENT DEBT ? IS IT A NEW JOB OR WHAT ? ITS PAYING SO MUCH

• AMA 9 years ago

Deport this arrogant n thieving bastard...

• Ghana Abre 9 years ago

WHAT A FOOL AND A THIEF. INTEREST IS ALWAYS PART OF OTHER INCOME AND IS TAXABLE AND HE MUST PAY TAX ON IT. IF HE HAS NOT PAID THE TAX THEN IRS MUST GO AFTER HIM IMMEDIATELY AND COLLECT THE SAME WITH INTEREST AT COMPOUND RATE ...

• AGYABA 9 years ago

AH!! THE IMPUDENCE OF A FROG, CAN HE DO THIS IN HIS COUNTRY, WOULDN'T THEY HAVE APPLIED SHARIA ON HIM? ANYWAY I DON'T BLAME HIM. WHEN ALL THIS STARTED AT PROF MILLS' TIME IDIOTS AND ACADEMIC DWARFS LIKE OKUDZETO ABLAKWA AND S ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

WATCH THIS MAN. HE IS STILL DOING BUINESS WITH THE MDA'S UNDER A NEW COMPANY CALLED AUTO PLAZA. WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS COUNTRY. WILL WE NEVER LEARN TO STOP DEALING WITH SUCH CROOKS. AGAIN WE WANT TO HEAR MORE ARROGANCE FROM ...

YES BUT WE STILL PAY OUR TAXES TO THE PARTY WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM

• Dennis 9 years ago

You are claiming you pay bribes so you can make 145,000 turn into 8 million and that is OK. Yu think you can milk this country dry and get away with arrogance. Your day will also come when you cannot get away by paying bribes ...

• QUEEN 9 years ago

SOME OF THE PEOPLE IN AG'S OFFICE ARE THIEVES IN DISGUISE.

GHANA FOR US ALL

• OBINNA 9 years ago

IF THE GOVERNMENT IS ENTITLED TO TAXES ON INTEREST PAYMENTS AND IT IS THE LAW, THEN THIS MD IS LIABLE. ALSO, WHY DID THE GOVERNMENT AGENCY THAT PAID THE MONEY TO THIS MD NOT TAKE OUT THE TAX BEFORE GIVING THE MD WHAT IS DUE H ...

• OLDMAN GYASI 9 years ago

Educated with big degrees but lack common sense which is not common to them.These our dumb leaders in charge of ghana monetary affairs knows nothing but the basic.

• Hagan 9 years ago

what the gut do this MD has to say he has not paid tax and will not pay tax on the interest. He Should read the tax law and abide by that and stop his arrogance and ignorance. He should go to his country and throw his weight ...

• NII 9 years ago

COULD A GHANAIAN HAVE THE GUTS TO DISPLAY THIS LEVEL OF ARROGANCE IN HIS COUNTRY?I SWEAR SOMEDAY WE WOULD CHASE EVERY WHITE MAN AWAY FROM THIS COUNTRY ESPECIALLY THE ARROGANT INDIAN,LEBANESE,ENGLISH,AMERICAN.,PORTUGUESE,ETC ...

• Favour 9 years ago

This Judgment Debt Commissioner, Justice Apau, is not making any impact. He is only exposing those who benefited wrongly. How many of them have been asked to refund the money? If you can't make them refund the money why waste ...

• Say the TRUTH 9 years ago

YES GIVE IT TO THEM!!!!

THE STUPID GOVERNMENT AND THE THE BLOCK HEADED STUPID SOLE COMMISSIONER/JUDGE!!!

DON'T TOLERATE THEIR STUPID QUESTIONS!!!!

• Escargo 9 years ago

Listen stupid, interest income is taxable. You received judgement debt with interest to boot.You have to pay tax on the interest. If he fails to pay the tax jail him and have him expelled and deported from Ghana. The time is ...

• James Naru 9 years ago

At a point in time, the total debt owed AAL was Ghc145,652.34, which was paid, but the company resorted to legal action to claim interest on arrears not paid from 1995 to 2010, thus bringing the interest to Ghc8,232,561.49 hi ...

• ll 9 years ago

mm

• Kobina 9 years ago

All state institutions must be dissolved.Make all of them redundant, and have them re-apply for their posts. Copy other developed countries institutional framework.

• Kobina 9 years ago

Don't blame him. Ghanaians with money and political affiliations do not respect the law. The foreigner has only adapted to the culture of impunity and arrogance. No one respect each other or the law.In Europe such matters wil ...