High food prices killing Ghanaians

Read Comments Comments (37)

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Absolutely sad story for Ghana, and the sake of governing. Mahama has not turned up to encourage Ghanaians and that is not dedicated loyalty, and total passion for country and people. This dump Ghana NDC and his incompetent ...

• Odikr@ 9 years ago

Maybe the market traders,should offer "discounts" on their wares to avoid total loss of earnings as a temporary measure.
    They might consider setting up Co- Operatives to strengthen their purchasing and selling power...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

GO BACK AND SEE THE CAMPAIN VIDEO WHERE MAHAMA WAS BRAGGING BLA BLA I WILL MAKE GHANA A BETTER NATION! TODAY LOOK AT GHANA, A BITTER PLACE, INCOMPETENT BUT STILL RIGG ELECTIONS! WE WILL TEAR HIS BODY APART SOON

• Odikr@ 9 years ago

The President,cannot run the lives of the Inhabitants of Ghana.
    The market traders are very savvy business people,and given the right support,will overcome thei short-term difficulties.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

This is what you get from leaders who are both incompetent and corrupt - A BITTER GHANA !

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

we are tired of the reckless willfulness of these leaders from minority tribal groups who only come with corruption in their hearts and hatred of the values and potential of the majority.This govt due to their anti Akan agend ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author: OGBANJE UK.....

IT IS TRUE MY BROTHER. THIS CASE WILL CONTINUE UNTIL JESUS COMES AGAIN. THOSE INVOLVED WILL SEE TO IT THAT IT DOES NOT END. FORGET ABOUT THEM AND THINK OF 2016. LOOT AND SHARE IS THE ORDER OF THE DA ...

• Odikr@ 9 years ago

You complain,way too much ;))
    Always with a slant towards your "chosen one"
    Your party lost the elections,and are currently in turmoil.
    Incessant "noise making",will not change that fact.

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

WHO IS THE WORST PRESIDENT IN THE HISTORY OF GHANA?

• Desmond 9 years ago

He killed all political opponents in Nsawam Prison. He was a tyrant and gave £20 million of our money to Guinea and mali so that they would make him the President for Africa for life without a vice President. He controlled e ...

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

He killed more people

• KOZI AGBE 9 years ago

JDM

• Kojo T 9 years ago

When you import even veggies and produce nothing, what do you expect Private sector should be blamed

• Naija boy 9 years ago

Ghana is dying and yet you still smilling

• man 9 years ago

Most of our leaders need to travel outside the country to learn how other people with less fertile lands are able to feed themselves. We are indeed helpless in the land of plenty. Using lands for galamsey and unplanned develo ...

• Kojo T 9 years ago

Thanks you for telling the truth

• Kwasi Owusu 9 years ago

An ghanaians will still suffer 4 saying Nana can never be president cos they want that giminni mahama.

• Kofi Nsiah 9 years ago

Ghana is not only Accra, there is no food shortage in Ghana; much of it is locked up in the hinterlands, thanks to the poor roads to these areas. Put the blame on the 'Bitter Ghana Agenda'and the over-concentration of the all ...

• grow 9 years ago

Grow your own and nobody will cheat you.
    God has given us free rain and land but we want tie and computer and city life. Well welcome to the modern life then. Grow your won things and be free.

• OPANIN KWAKU ATTA 9 years ago

INSTEAD OF WE GHANAIANS TO GO INTO FARMING,WE ARE ALL IN THE BIG CITIES DOING BUYING AND SELLING AND EXPECT THE POOR FARMER TO SELL HIS OR HER PRODUCE AT A CHEAPER PRICE FOR YOU FOOLS TO BUY.MR PRESIDENT,LET THEM DIE.

• Akwasi Shadow 9 years ago

A nation of wanna-be traders - the respect goes to the farmers and workers NOT bankers, politicians etc. - one day we will realize that we can´t eat bank notes.

• NUKOMEKO 9 years ago

Private schools in the country are defying the government order not to charge in dollars by requesting parents to pay the cedi equivalent of the dollar-based fees.For instance, a fee of $1,ooo dollars a term last yearis to be ...

• RX 9 years ago

Your comments are getting quieter by the day!
    Vote for who will do the job, not for party or tribe.

• Pelicles 9 years ago

High food prices is due to poor roads into food growing areas. How many times have we been hearing that foods are rotting while the government attention is focused on winning the next election? Do we expect the farmers to car ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

Ghana's rich class got their money mostly through preferred government contracts and or stealing through bribery, corruption, nepotism, favoritism and tribal preferences with a little outright stealing from government coffers ...

• kwaku prince 9 years ago

hello gh. is so good for us .so that we can learn more .better ghana n.d.c. ayekooo

• YAW USA 9 years ago

EDEBEEEEEEEEEE KEKE THE MARKET WOMEN VOTED FOR MAHAMA SO THEY SHOULD SHUT A FUCK UP THEY GOT WHAT THEY WANTED. SWINE NEXT TIME THEY WILL VOTE WISELY

• Viv 9 years ago

A small goat costs more than a medium goat???

• Boateng 9 years ago

You Ghanaians do not know what you want!

1. You want free market but you seem to want price control.
    2. You want capitalism, what we have here in the West but you want Government to be your provider!
    3. You want ...

• odikro 9 years ago

Its hard everywhere Mr Boateng, i agree with you ,NO WHERE COOL, Europe is no exception please calm down a little bit and stop exaggerating,

• Boateng 9 years ago

Thanks Odikro. I am calm now but for sure nothing exagerating about the comments. All the time spent idling in Ghana and all the time spent on silly politicking can be used profitably perhaps digging a bit and cropping so ...

• Joe 9 years ago

Can the author or anyone please tell me what the size of a 'bowl' is, as referred to in the article? Is it the good old 'olonka'? As long as we produce less and import almost everything, our chances of stabilizing the cedi wi ...

• fine boy 9 years ago

the white man will always insult us cos we cant use our head.

• obra 9 years ago

wsere u not the people who were jubilating, when uselee atuguba received bribe n throw away the election petition

• Mankind 9 years ago

But these hungry idiots will still vote NDC !! I wonder whether tribalism and stupidity can see hunger and lack of good infrastructure. Begin to die....

• foolish man 9 years ago

that is what we want

• CITIZEN ONE 9 years ago

1. You people eat too much at a single sitting

2. You people eat too much rotten food.

Stop blaming government for all your ignorance and backwardness. Visit any flourishing business in Accra, and you will recognize the ...