Pupils sit on piled-up cement blocks to learn

Read Comments Comments (258)

• NiiBii 11 years ago

Sickening to the core.

we have continuously voted for self serving thieves . if they are not busy buying hotels and making a fortune from Oil deals, then they are creating looting and sharing.

• TACITUS CLAUDIUS OF ROME 11 years ago

Schools in such a deplorable state after eight good years of Kronfuor, one may ask what the hell did Kufuor do?

He only came to loot Ghana dry.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 11 years ago

GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MAHAMA AND HIS CABINET ON TRIAL. GHANA'S HOPELESS ECONOMIC SITUATION, TODAY, IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTA ...

• Akos 11 years ago

And they wasted no time building a $20 million NDC headquarters, donate trucks to chiefs & want to distribute free sanitary pads to girls while the real problems remain neglected. Something is wrong with african leaders.

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 11 years ago

This is unbelievable!! In this day and age, Ghana children are still living in a condition that even the stone age folks would frown upon. Where the moronic Naija hater demented ROMANO aka CONTEMNOR, to come explain to us the ...

• FELA O FELA : NPP BONESHAKER 11 years ago

NPP knows that positive news would not help them to come to power so they were focused on the most negative stories to report on amidst fake and artificial demonstrations...as they are calling for a coup d'état....LET THEM D ...

• Kofi Manu 11 years ago

You want NPP to come up with positive news whilst these children are surfering. Please be real and have pity for these kiddies. They deserve at least table and chair so if our current leaders cannot help, they better commot a ...

• sasha 11 years ago

u are all idoits

• OZA 11 years ago

Let us all agree to send 13 trucks to the house of chiefs and ignore the kids... the future of our country. That is our priority. Amen

• KING OF KINGS 11 years ago

Zongo boy in power even makalanta kids dont even do this any more, and still you can be buying cars for chiefs, and dont even think about this kids, I really want to know which sch mahama attended they are nothing but thieves ...

• Kofi Manu 11 years ago

Grow wise and stop being immature.

• Amanor 11 years ago

nana addo is a crook, a man with tatoos on his body hw can he rule dis nation

• Mensah 11 years ago

yuo can't be counted as human

• KOFI - USA 11 years ago

I DONT EVEN NEED TO RESPOND TO YOU BECAUSE OBVIOUSLY YOU DO NOT HAVE A BRAIN TO THINK.

• S ARMUFO 11 years ago

What did the NPP do for these bush folks when they were in power for 8 years?. Did the NPP provide school facilities and were destroyed by the NDC?.
    In fact there is no difference between the NDC and NPP. If in 2014 these p ...

• Kofi Manu 11 years ago

Lets vote for the right party then. I dont care which party comes into power as long as they care for the nation. Lets try other party and ignore NDC/NPP. I personally trust Dr. Sakara

• K.Twum 11 years ago

Not really good news as such but. I don't know what politics has turned us Ghanaians into? As country if something like this is there, what is the community of that ares doing about it? What are those kings doing about? If I ...

• BOMPATA STONE 11 years ago

ELA O FELA : NPP ...LISTEN TO REASON...PARTY PARTISANSHIP SHOULD NOT PREVENT YOU FROM CALLING A SPADE A SPADE. THIS PICTURE ABOVE CONTRASTED BY MILLION DOLLAR BUILDINGS DO NOT MAKE SENSE. OUR CHILDREN SHOULD BE OUR TOP PRIORI ...

• sasha 11 years ago

we can nt hold the curret gov for this . rather the past govs ,jj, k4 atta mills and the current for part of it

• OBAA YAA 11 years ago

Kwame, what type of news item do you like to read from the press? I believe you will enjoy reading news about children in Ghana sipping cold chocolate milk under our sunny weather or school kids studying in high-tech equipped ...

• Kofi Opoku 11 years ago

After reading this article, you can insult us(Ghanaians) as much as you and you are 100% right today...

• Glo 11 years ago

I am sure that there are communities like this in Nigeria.

• NEMESIS RADAR, UK!! 11 years ago

Nigeria is not that bad. Even Northern Nigeria where book haram frown against education is better than what I'm seeing in the picture in Ghana. What a shame.

• Glo 11 years ago

Really? If Nigeria is so great, why are you in the UK.?

• Bobriase nii ba 11 years ago

Prez Mahama's children are being schooled at Overseas with tax payers money and Ghanaian pupils are sitting on a cement block to learn. Oh! Ghana in this 21st century. Prez Mahama is a cruel and callous ruler and not a leader ...

• ICONIC-07 11 years ago

THIS IS A CLASSIC HOAX OF THE TRIBAL-ETHNOCENTRIC INWARD-LOOKING ASHANTI-AKYEM LAME-DUCK NPP.

THE APPALLING CONDITION OF THESE CHILDREN WAS THERE AT THE TIME OF KUFFOUR, BUT HAS NOW BECOME THE ACT OD MAHAMA AND THE IGNOBLE ...

• OBAA YAA 11 years ago

Misplace priorities by this administration. These kids sit on block in classroom to study. However, they have acquired a World Bank to buy sanitary pad for these kid …..

• GURUNDA 11 years ago

THE TRIBALISTIC PARTY-NDC- HAS SINGLED OUT EASTERN AND ASHANTI FOR THE WORSE. BUT THE BALL IS BOUNCING BACK TO THEM.

• GHFUO, nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 11 years ago

WICKED BLACKMAN...WHERE IS THE FUTURE OF THIS COUNTRY HEADED? THESE MONKEY LEADERS ARE A.LL FOOLS. WAT IS THE ESSENCE OF BEING A REGIONAL MINISTER, MIN OF EDUCTION AND PRESIDENT IF SUCH FOOLISHNESS IS PREVAILING IN YOUR COUNT ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

Just have a look at this ? This is what Nana binladdo wanted to make free for Ghanaians. Nana binladdo is maximum criminal paapaaaa!!!!!

• GHFUO, nyantakyi, 1/9aa must go ASAP! 11 years ago

ANIMALS IN CANADA ARE TREATED BETTER. OH GH......WAT A SHAME! THIS IS VERY SHALEFU;. PLS, REMOVE THE PIC......CAN ANYONE IDENTIFY RATUSI AND MO IN THIS PIC? IS THIS GH'S FUTURE?

GHFUO, nyantakyi, - BOSS WE SHOULD NOT TRY TO HIDE THE TRUTH...YOU WANT TO HIDE THIS PICTURE BECAUSE IT MAKES YOU FEEL EMBARASSED...BUT THAT MEANS THE PROBLEM WILL NEVER BE FIXED...ALSO WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO SHOW OFF TO? YOUR ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 11 years ago

So who is this fool that calls himself BBC News? I think the guy is out of brain. He must be dumb and probably be eating jon mahama's stinky shit at the presidency. Kwasea ara kwa. Aboafunu. Ofui a wagyimi aka ho.

• Kwami Ninson 11 years ago

Blame the messenger...pathetic

• Omanhene(U$A) 11 years ago

At the same time, our "successive governments", right from Rawlings, Kufuor, Mills and now Mahama have been WASTING our money on luxurious things for themselves and their families.

Please, don't blame this shameful thing o ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 11 years ago

Aren't you ashamed talking about NPP in this pathetic situation?
    If the NPP under Kuffour had equipped schools of this nature with at least a near comfortable desks, especially being in one of their strong holds and not buil ...

• Daniel 11 years ago

It is not the NDC fault alone in this case. It is the fault of previous and present goverments. How can this be the story of education today in Ghana. Let the President know immediately about this deplorable situation, so tha ...

• Amanor 11 years ago

npp will neva come to power again, yen akanfuo

• Qtip 11 years ago

Tacitus, name one good thing Mahama has done that warrant praises.

You should deal with the problem now and stop blaming past governments.

• Nana Kwaku 11 years ago

NiiBii, Claudius, I'm happy Ghanaians are beginning to take note of how evil both NDC & NPP are. Better still all politicians. Ghanaians used to be very benevolent. That has declined seriously because of our politicians. In f ...

• sasha 11 years ago

thank u may be we dont have to vote for both the ndc and npp any more

• Kofi 11 years ago

JJ was in power for nearly 20 years before Kuffour came in. Who had more time to solve this?

• TEACHER 11 years ago

Illiterate Kola is trying to hide his illiteracy and herd mentality of supporting murderer Rawlings who ruled for twenty years.

• Yao 11 years ago

Thank you sir. That is all they need to know

• Cano 11 years ago

Another trokosi child molester called Yao

• gh vi 11 years ago

u see another primitive bush baboon motherfucker? we only reply their stupidity, and when we talk, they accuse us of tribalism

• Bobriase nii ba 11 years ago

TACITUS CLAUDIUS OF ROME!, ARE YOU THE ONLY STRANGER IN GHANA? MR RAWLINGS RULED FOR 19 YEARS HAVE YOU ASKED OR CHECKED IF THE SCHOOL DID EXIST AT THAT TIME? YES THE SCHOOL WAS IN EXISTENCE BUT FOR 19 YEARS MR RAWLINGS INTIMI ...

• TEACHER 11 years ago

You don't expect this Kola of London fool now posting under that ridiculous moniker, TACITUS CLAUDIUS OF ROME to ask Rawlings to account for his looting 19 years rule.

• YAA 11 years ago

What is necessary about compares here, so one did not do it and all shd follow? Foolish Ghanaian wake up!!!

• Yao Ming 11 years ago

Why do some idiots always politicise everything. What has Kufour' reign got to do with this. Do you even know when this school was built. If Kufour had started a railway track heading into the sea, would it be a good justific ...

• sasha 11 years ago

what the fock when ever anyony mation k4 then hell broke looose .wht is the matter with us. grow up

• KONFANKO 11 years ago

WHY NOT RAWLINGS 19YEARS OF SELLING ALL OUR FACTORIES?.NDC IS A BUNCH OF STUPID RECKLESS VISIONLESS AND IDEALESS PEOPLE INCLUDING THE PARTY FOUNDER RAWLINGS DE LOOTER.DON'T MAKE ANY COMPARISON BECAUSE WHAT KUFOUR DID IN 8YEAR ...

• John Useless Mahama 11 years ago

TACITUS, What did JJ and NDC do in 19yrs + 6yrs after Kuffour ??????? 25yrs of no leadership and you want to blame Kuffour for you stipid clueless mismanagement!!!!!

• Asoreba 11 years ago

Compare 8 years to 19 years of Rawlings and answer yourself. Fools like you have caused Ghana this pain.

• bb 11 years ago

people like yu are chickens with no brains. yu associate the situation at hand to kuffour. so yu are pleased with yur mahama? pity yu.

• Larua 11 years ago

Again, K4 did not use loan for sanitary pads, nor chatter plane with 3million dollars on board, only to pay 17% interest to Brazil or buy 4x4 to Chiefs, while kids are sitting on blocks. Mind you this school was not built in ...

• ASH TOWN ABRANTIE MMROM KSI 11 years ago

TACITUS CLAUDIUS, IM SORRY TO SAY THIS. BUT YOU MUST GROW UP. STOP REFERING TO KUFFOUR. HE HAS BEEN OUT OF OFFICE FOR 8 YEARS/ FOOLS LIKE YOU ENCOURAGE THE DO NOTHING MAHAMA TO CONTINUE WITH HIS RECKLESS ADMINISTRATION

• DOOMED MAHAMA 11 years ago

STUPID NDC FOLLOWERS NEVER HAVE ANY BRAINS TO BEGIN WITH

• RAYMOND NASH 11 years ago

WHATEVER YOUR NAME IS, TACITUS, YOU ARE JUST AN IDIOT WHO HAS NO NAME AND NO BRAINS.

• KnYc(USMC) 11 years ago

Fool like you are still living on this earth. Backward Moron.

• Stoway 11 years ago

Only backward and uncivilized people insult on such forums like this. A picture taken during Kuffuors time is being used to undermine Mahama.

• the truth 11 years ago

As soon as we misdiagnose the problem, it continues unabated.

It has nothing to do with the politicians, it has everything to do with the people.

• nii nortey 11 years ago

It exist kufuors tum wat did npp government did to eradicate it

• Mike 11 years ago

Why should we vote after all? During our time, even though clay buildings, at least we have decent thtch roofs. We also had support from the local community by way of stools. Those who were not lucky enough had to bring Chair ...

• kkboy 11 years ago

Our leaders have no shame. Kuffour bragging around that he is the best thing that ever happened to Ghana. JJ giving himself accolades, this is happening in Akufo Ado's backyard. Wrong priorities and corruption is setting Ghan ...

• Silent Observer until now. 11 years ago

I bet the Amenam community has an MP who is chilling in Accra driving around in a flashy car using his MP status to chase deals to profit himself. Makes me wonder why people even bother voting for these MP's - the do NOTHING ...

• KIK 11 years ago

I agree with your comments.But the problem is it takes non-thinking Ghanaian voters to put such people in power.Its about time we start educating such narrow minded people.

• DON 11 years ago

KORLE-BU CEO SACKED!ITS BREAKING NEWS.

• Pete 11 years ago

Yeah I guess its better to waste money on football that contributes nothing to the country, than invest in the education of our future leaders. That is how our clueless leaders prioritize in Ghana.

• George 11 years ago

I`m really shocked to see this,well said nd it`s true.I`m even speechless,just a common basic stuff for these poor kid`s and they can even afford to donate cars for useless chief`s.God bless Ghana.i can`t wait for the judgeme ...

• Tony Lithur-ewe CREATE, LOOT & SHARE 11 years ago

This is what happens when we stupidly vote for a fool and a THIEF to be a president. Mahama, how many desks, tables and chair can you use the money that you purchased the 13 SUVs to buy for these school children?

• Nyansasem 11 years ago

This is what Mills and Mahama went to the UN to talk; that our pupil are no more under the trees.

But look at the building they are in and what they sit on to study.

What a NATION

• SARPONG 11 years ago

Nyansasem, that is what $140,000 eliminated school under tree looks like, a four wall classroom without doors, NDC for you.

When you have Allotey Jacobs and like minded thieves as contractors.

• MAHAMA DOOMED 11 years ago

WHAT A SORRY PLIGHT

• NN 11 years ago

I do not believe that the Picture tells the true story. I believe it was staged. The classroom and the Furniture do not match.

• TATALE 11 years ago

HOLALALA WHAT A NATION!

• EMILE DUNCANS 11 years ago

We have NDC government that is not prepare to do any right thing. Anything NDC government decides to do, they make sure that they can steal out of it.

Why has NDC government chosen to provide free sanitary pads for our you ...

• from affar 11 years ago

u know! it's one of the new schools under pads. one wonders if the leaders deserve the tags hohourable and excellency. meanwhile they have an MP and a DC. Next time it might be a zz. At least we can rest assured he will sleep ...

• kwame 11 years ago

Is this a GES approved school? Who built it?

• 4 Year Old 11 years ago

If there are no funds for basic facilities, why call it a school? This is common sense. We don't live in stone age era.
    There are school resources that parents can provide without such ridicule and embarrassment. At least b ...

• Kabu 11 years ago

Can't ex gratia of ten MPs provide a at least three classroom blook and seats for these children in kindergarten? Ghana Government.

• haa 11 years ago

Our national priority is to borrow from international community to give them PADS and PAMPERS and not descent classrooms with toilets and furniture

• NANA 11 years ago

MAHAMA YOU ARE A FOOL.

• Fairfield 11 years ago

This is very sad. If anyone is reading this and wants to help, please contact me at 860-208-6765 so we can put some resources together and help these lovely kids. The really need the help.

• Naana 11 years ago

You are a good man. Please stop criticizing and let all help. A country like Americ is America because people always give back to their community. Lets all learn that by giving bachk to our villages, schools and towns..

Th ...

• Nana Obiri 11 years ago

Fairfiled, I live in the same State, CT. I will gige you a call later, Yes we can help let us help our Brothers and Sister studying in the this condition.

• JJJACKSON 11 years ago

I'm also ready to help but let's be careful it's not a scam. Why not send an undercover to confirm this horrible situation.

• Fiifican 11 years ago

I'm also ready to help but I will be careful too.

I'm more skeptical of those who will be put in charge locally to help.

So I'm with JJ on doing some under cover work before our hard earned dollars end up in the pockets ...

• ELINAN 11 years ago

I'D LOVE TO HELP.
    But we should remember that the heartless politicians are Ghanaians, that if for some reason our heats become so dark due to greed and avarice, all that traits cut across the two political parties of NPP an ...

• kwaku 11 years ago

Good to know that you are ready to do something. l live in East Hartford and will contact you. Very SAD. The $3,000,000 to have solve many of these problem

• Nana Obiri 11 years ago

Very very sad indeed

• OBOURBA 11 years ago

I live in Atlanta. I am ready to donate. Will call you alter on.

• OBOURBA 11 years ago

later on. You can also contact me at 770 443 3640.

• Kofi Boaten 11 years ago

We hear daily misinformation that that the NDC government has eradicated shools under trees.

We they aware of school children sitting and writing on breeze blocks?

God help Ghana.

A Political Analyst was on the radi ...

• Oman ba pa 11 years ago

How its come like this in ghana?Those thief from ndc and mahama has broke all the moneys from ghana.. asiedu nkatia hmm just look this silly always talking shit,,,,,, God have seen you criminals

Nkwasia fuo party NDC NKOFE ...

• TO THE BANK 11 years ago

WHAT A COUNTRY

• DEPLORABLE 11 years ago

FOOLISH COUNTRY

• HE'S AN IDIOT 11 years ago

TAANI CANNOT SAVE US FROM THIS ECONOMIC-MESS

• MAHAMA IS A COW 11 years ago

DUUUURUUUWAAAAAA

• TAAANI-ABOAAAAAA 11 years ago

TANPERE !!!!!

• Kofi of New York 11 years ago

I am not an NPP fan but we must all agree that not everything the government can do. Certain things must be done by the natives and citizens of Ghana. Just look at these poor students, don't they have any rich people or chief ...

• John 11 years ago

Why do you think this should be done by individuals when government has money to build universities in the Volta Region for political reasons. Are these the people who will go to that university?

• KKL 11 years ago

All this are there for mahama to do but his is busily distributing sanitary pad. May God help us.

• A.C. LONDON 11 years ago

Just can't understand what's going on in our motherland ghana,God help our poor souls.is just a pitty and an absolute shame...wakeup our bastard politicians

• KK 11 years ago

Thanks God Bill Gate was not born in a village in Ghana. He would have been wasted and Microsoft would not exit. Hey Africa. When would we make education a priority. We buy more car (V8) than we are willing to spend on classr ...

• ELINAN 11 years ago

Our leaders are grown men who got Instant Gratification Syndrome and act like children with microwave mentality of NOW.
    They wanna be big now, forgetting that with better schools as our bond, within twenty years we could p ...

• sasha 11 years ago

they want to drive v8.they dont even know the purpose of that v8

• Evans 11 years ago

God will punish our leaders for real. A monetary gift that a politician would give to his girlfriend can provide desks and chairs for these poor kids. And they go to church everyday. God wil punish them again and again

• charlie 11 years ago

GOD WILL NOT PUNISH NOBODY, YOU KNOW WHY? BECAUSE HE DOES NOT EXIST. LOOK AROUND YOU, THESE BULLSHITS ARE ALWAYS HAPPENING. LEAVE YOUR GOD ALONE. OBVIOUSLY, THEY KNOW GOD DOES NOT EXIST THAT'S WHY THEY CONTINUE RAPING THE COU ...

• ELINAN 11 years ago

And that's why we should act as the God that we are to slaughter them the ala the French revolution, when everything around the king and even his dogs were beheaded.
    Chicken out and you will be a slave for the Rawlingses,th ...

• LONTO-BOY 11 years ago

What is going on in Ghana? I'm almost entirely lost for words!

• Baffour Agyemang 11 years ago

LONTO-BOY nobody should be suprised. This situation has been with us ever since, we are just not growing as a nation. Some of us are becoming aware of some of these situations because these images are now going global.

• KnYc(USMC) 11 years ago

Better Ghana is going on well. This is the quality education you all voted for.

• Amansa Duaben 11 years ago

Rubbish 4 th republic crew.

• Kwesi 11 years ago

In cases like this, it is not out of place for parents and indigenes to contribute towards the improvement of the situation. My village is small but we the indigenes in Accra contributed and built the kindergarten in the town ...

• Adongo Tongo 11 years ago

And we airlift $3 Million to Brazil!!!
    Mahama, please airlift $50,000 to this school.
    What's good for millionaire soccer players, is equally good Amenam Local Authority School!

• Obi 11 years ago

Just $5000.00 will change these kids life.

• Agbey 11 years ago

Please those of you insulting the president should be very careful. you can make your comment but imaging he your father can you have power to insult him You doing all these thing and Sundays go to church forgetting that one ...

• charlie 11 years ago

RESPECT IS EARNED. WHAT YOUR FATHERS ARE DOING IS THE MOST DISRESPECTFUL FOR MANKING. HOW CAN YOU IGNORE THE POOR CONDITIONS OF LIVING FOR HUMAN KIND. AND YET THEY LIVE AS KINGS ABOVE THE SAME POEPLE WHO PUT THEM IN POWER. TH ...

• Kwesi 11 years ago

Blaming Mahama for this is hypocritical. This is NPP territory. if they had done it during their time, the situation would have been better than now. So shut up NPP guys. It is your failure, not Mahamas

• goodman 11 years ago

Kwesi, you have lost your sense. Sorry for you, but it seems you are very imbecile, weak minded person.

6 YEARS OF NDC AND ANIMAL LIKE YOU ARE STILL BLAMING NPP

THIS TWEAAA GOVT

• James 11 years ago

Ghana began with Kuffour, Abi?

• Obi 11 years ago

Can the Private sector help? Its sad, sad, sad!..... Pls lets put politics aside(even though it's very much political). Other ways to change this conditions?
    Anybody, with fresh ideas? Pls reply here.

• truth 11 years ago

Yet they off chiefs to ride in cars for what? Only heavens knows. Cruelty least word to describe these folks that people stand in 100 degrees temperature to elect.

• Kwame(USA) 11 years ago

Where did donor money go. You see why they have stopped giving. Black is the face of evil

• Oso 11 years ago

Damn right!! Read Deut 28:44 going, please !!!

• Glo 11 years ago

I disagree. White people are evil too. The only difference is that many predominantly "White" countries have checks and balances to minimize nonsense and corruption. There is accountability there, and this does not exist in G ...

• Senior Wisdom 11 years ago

Greed, incompetence, arrogance, power grabbing but no brains to make decisions to improve our lot. Now, you go to parliament and you name changes to Honourable! , talk to anybody and when you have a disagreement the only ques ...

• TRUTH 11 years ago

The villagers are plain LAZY.
    This is no news. I attended school in the 1970s under similar conditions. My Village people had regular communal labour sessions to build our school. Even we the pupils assisted whenever we we c ...

• Memuna Alhassan 11 years ago

Look at this Idiot, Instead of talking about the way to solve the problem you are blaming Kuffour. Kwaseaba

• Obi 11 years ago

Dr. Nkrumah will be turning in his grave at this conditions almost 60 years after independence.

• Llord 11 years ago

This is how to prepare our future leaders.....
    Ghana is doomed!

• afia 11 years ago

Eiiii !!!!!!!!!! ama ghana where are U going? hmmmmmm asem beba dabi. better ghana for U

• gin 11 years ago

....and Mahama buys pick-up trucks for chiefs. Assholes and motherfuckers all around!!!

• TREESUNDERSCHOOLS 11 years ago

Children don't have votes, Chiefs do.

• Astrid 11 years ago

Chiefs do not care and are very corrupt.

• RSI 11 years ago

The colossal money President Mahama used to buy luxury cars for the chiefs could have been used to buy seats for the kids. Useless president.

RSI, are the chiefs not aware of such problems in their own backyards? Each one of those chiefs can take you to such places in their respective villages. This has now become a national disgrace since the cost of those cars co ...

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

WHEN WAS THAT SCHOOL BUILT? DID IT START AT THE TIME OF MAHAMA? HOW MANY CHILDREN ARE IN THE SCHOOL? WHAT IS THE COMMUNITY THERE DOING? IS INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT GOOD FOR THIS COUNTRY? IF YES, THEN WHY O YOU TRY TO SABOTA ...

• Lisa 11 years ago

Whether the school was built yesteryear or recently, there's no excuse for these kids to school in such a harsh environment. You apparently a very naive person who don't want to accept the fact that there's something very wro ...

• Mobi 11 years ago

Where was Mahama mentioned? If it had not been done by previous government, does it mean the current one should ignore it? If previous governments had solved all of Ghana's problems what would the current one be doing? This i ...

• Venom 11 years ago

Don't mind this fool calling himself 'truth'. He chose the wrong name bcos the truth is not in him.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

Whom are you fighting for? The corruption everyone is talking about started from ADAM inherited and revisited by Kuffour. It is a fact that the Busia faction in the NPP has had their share of looting again through Kuffour and ...

• Kofi Wayo Teye BaakaJnr 11 years ago

Namoale BBC News i like your agenda against the Akans. Dont forget that no tribe is as lazy as your Ga tribe. Go to the Castle park, Osu and your la constituency. You will see the boys there. These are boys you give money to ...

• Malam Bawa 11 years ago

Who is this Tacitus Claudius of Rome? May all the curses in the Holy Bible and the Holy Quoran follow you. Go and ask your inefficient Mahama to use the Pad money for chairs for these poor kids

Please leave Tacitus alone! He did not mention Mahama. All he meant was that the village can be found in an NPP stronghold. So what did Kufuor do about it. You can tell this school was built far before Mahama came in. Use you ...

• Venom 11 years ago

And so it's 'ok' for the school to deteriorate bcos it was built during the previous government? Are you daft?

• chief 11 years ago

and the miniters have 2 or 3 bodygurds and drives the best 4x4s . shame unto them

• ibm 11 years ago

poor mother Ghana .fuck u politicians

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 11 years ago

This is a deplorable situation.Despite this, a minister of sports under the supervision or advice of a president, along with his entourage rent hotel suites at exhorbitant prices using taxpayers money which could have gone to ...

• AMANFUOUR 11 years ago

All these problems started only when John Mahama became president so lets hung him bcos he is a pepeni from the north, shegu

• kk 11 years ago

so you guys can't see its ploy

• Kofi 11 years ago

If they got sanitary pads they could put some of the cement "chairs" for a little comfort.

• Antiochus - London 11 years ago

Better Ghana Agenda and sanitary pads. NDC get your fucking priorities right.

• BOSS 11 years ago

I am looking a this picture and reading this story, and filled with sadness that tears started coming down from eyes. I cannot understand that in this deplorable stage, there is a lot of embezzlement and people like Kwakye of ...

• Isaac Odamba 11 years ago

do we still have this in ghana infact i am sad

• DR KUFFOU 11 years ago

It is a sad, sad situation for a school not to mention for kids of 3 - 5 yrs old. But on the hand, I believe The Finder can play its part in helping those kids with chairs and desks. I am wrong?

• KONFANKO 11 years ago

YOU ARE NOT WRONG BUT A BIG FOOL.

• DAVE 11 years ago

And the Goverment will donate pick up trucks to house of chiefs. it make a lot of sence . Go Mahamah, the best President ever.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 11 years ago

Guys/Gals, this is not the only school in such hostile environment against these future leaders in the country. Many exits and other deplorable conditions which are most dangerous than this also abound in the country.

We ...

• Efo 11 years ago

ISN'T IT SHAME BUYING 4 WHEEL DRIVES FOR CHIEFS AND THE PEOPLE THEY REPRESENT ARE SUFFERING LIKE THIS.

• Kofai 11 years ago

If this is the situation in the relatively developed southern Ghana, then you can picture the situation in the undeveloped northern Ghana.

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

Ndc. Has rule Ghana most

• Akomadan Adjei Nkansah Belgium 11 years ago

Eeeeeeeeeeeeei ASEM NIE??,HMMMMMM,WOYOME,GYEEDA,SADA,SUBAH,AKONFEM,TREEES,ISOFOTON,WATERVIL, CORRUPT MAHAMA WHERE IS THE MONEY??

• Dr.med.Acquah 11 years ago

What a shame!But we have money for pampers,vehicles for National House of Chiefs etc.I can only weep reading this.With all our natural resources?Oh, Ghana!

• Akadu Mensema 11 years ago

Yes. our leaders are thieves and crooks!

The rate at which we create churches and produce prophets, pastors, etc is more than all healthcare workers combined.
    So there are poor people and mud houses in Kwahu too?

Fake and someone is deleting my postings! How?

• Brobbsnet-U.S.A 11 years ago

The One thing Ghana Leaders(Both NPP and NDC) FEAR and HATE the most, is when ordinary Ghanaians get education and become highly skilled.That means NO MORE Incompetence,tribalism ,nepotism and CORRUPTION and all
    the politici ...

• Fad 11 years ago

Pupils sit on piled-up cement blocks to learn

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 11 years ago

If Ghanaians were to vote today, these would be the results: Nana Addo Dankwa Akuffo Addo: 86 percent. Jon Dramani Mahama the sanitary pad president: 6 percent. Papa Kwasi Nduom: 5.9 percent. Samia Yaba Nkrumah, 2.5 percent. ...

• Agya Kwabena 11 years ago

Is this real? This is unbelievable! The government should bow their heads in shame.

• Ebibiman 11 years ago

And he still dash car to chiefs .
    Lost country

• Mark Ekow 11 years ago

This is the government with a whole professor as an education minister. Is Mr president not ashamed of himself ? No sensible ghanaian will vote for this heartless government into power. The chief ...

• Joseph- London 11 years ago

We must all rise up as cherished children of our beloved country and do something about this situation. Firstly, let's forget about our leaders, they have coconut heads sitting on human torsos so they can't think and implemen ...

• Brobbsnet-U.S.A 11 years ago

Do not sleep and think this is a DREAM.! Lack of education and
    IGNORANCE is the reason why MAHAMA is president.If you are already in your house, you dont need a car to get there.!

• Jj 11 years ago

Well learning is a life long activity they are sitting on cement blocks to study not learn. May be you sat on one that is why you do not write good English

• Oso 11 years ago

How could you, bloody Mahama, eh? !!!
    These kids can't get furniture at school because your lousy wife is spending all the money on make-ups; your sorry asses!!!!
    Get lost from the presidency and go hung wherever y'all wann ...

• Martin 11 years ago

Some people get on this thread with nothing concrete to contribute to the discussion, but criticize and heap insults on the president. The deplorable condition of the school in Amenam could not be laid squarely at the presid ...

• Glo 11 years ago

True. Maybe some money was given to the local authorities to buy furniture and it was squandered by individuals.

• GURUNDA 11 years ago

NDC IS SHOWING EASTERN AND ASHANTI WHERE POWER LIES. TOTAL DARKNESS AND NEGLECT FOR THESE 2 REGIONS. THAT IS WHAT NDC CAN DO. BOGUS PARTY AND TRIBALISTIC LEADERS IS HOW A FRIEND DESCRIBES NDC. TIME WILL TELL

• Paa Joe 11 years ago

BLA;ME THE NPP POLITICIANS UNDER THE LEADERSHIP OF KUFFOUR IN THEIR EIGHT YEARS OF ADMINISTRATION FOR FAILING TO DO MORE IN THE REHABILITATION OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY SCHOOLS IN THE COUNTRY.

INSTEAD OF USING THE NATION ...

• Komla - The Peace-Broker 11 years ago

This is not acceptable. The Government should take action now. These are our future leaders and they deserve better than this.

• Senyo 11 years ago

If you cannot take care of a child, do not give birth!

• Yaro de Mann 11 years ago

Oh yes it is very true that u can train an african to be a doctor, a lawyer,an engineer, a pilot but not to rule a country. Just take a critical look at africa,from the north, the south, east and west and tell me, what do u s ...

You've hit the nail on the head. African leaders are just pathetic. Disgraceful. We live in the most God-endowed area on the planet. We don't get snow half of the year as some other countries do. With everything we have, we a ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 11 years ago

Guys/Gals, this is not the only school in such hostile environment against these future leaders in the country. Many exits and other deplorable conditions which are most dangerous than this also abound in the country.

We ...

• kwaku 11 years ago

Oh! my God , Look at that! what a sad picture. So Mahama have you seen this picture and you and your NDC party sat down and decided to use over 20 million dollars to build your party head Office- is the plush office a blessin ...

• Jj 11 years ago

They are not "learning" they are "studying" Please write god English. May be you sat on one of these. Learning is a life long activity.

• Stoway 11 years ago

Stop the lies. You have to be physically present in that classroom to know if they are studying or learning. An activity that causes change in permanent behavior is learning and what they are doing is an example.
    Looks like ...

• Jj 11 years ago

You do not have to be physically present to know if someone is learning or not. Well example is "we learn a lesson" we do not study a lesson and we study a topic. May be you did not get a good class one teacher.

• Maa Adwoa 11 years ago

President Mahama has a budget for sanitary pads young girls while pupils do not have desks or chairs.
    Who is Mahama's advisor? He or she is a morron big time.
    Will any of the NDC government educate their children this schoo ...

• BASIA ESUON 11 years ago

YES PEOPLE, I GUESS ALL THE NONSENSE TALK OF POLITICS AND THE BLAME GAME IS NOT HELPING ANYBODY BUT OUR POOR INNOCENT CHILDREN WHOSE PARENTS ARE STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET TO KEEP THEM IN SCHOOL. AFTER 57 YEARS OF INDEPENDE ...

• IS THIS TRUE???? 11 years ago

IS THIS TRUE? UNBELIEVABLE.
    AFTER 19(NINETEEN YEARS OF JOHN RAWLINGS NOISE, BLOOD SHEDDING FINGER POINTING, ACCUSING EVERYONE EXCEPT HIMSELF.
    ALL POLITICAL APPOINTEES SHOULD BE PROBED FROM ALL THE JOHN PRESIDENTS ERA TILL ...

I agree with you 100%. Something radical needs to be done. Sad, sad Ghana.

• NN 11 years ago

I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS PICTURE STORY. IT LOOKS MORE POLITICAL THAN REAL.
    LOOK AT THE CLASSROOM AND LOOK AT THE FURNITURE. SOME JOURNALIST MUST GO THERE AND CONFIRM THIS

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C., SPAIN 11 years ago

-WHAT A SHAME.AFTER SO MANY YEARS OUR INDEPENDENCE,SITTING ON BLOCKS.WITH THE RESOURCES OF THIS COUNTRY,LOOK AT THIS.BULL SHIT.

I concur your sentiments. How can these things happen at this time in our history?back to the stone-ages. Oh Ghana, shame to our leaders.

• OLDMAN GYASI 11 years ago

-And upon this disgraceful scene ,those bastards crowns will be asking for another 4 year service to the nation.These son of bitches gets everything FREE FROM GARDEN BOYS TO FREE WOMEN ,End of Service Benefitt ,free car loans ...

• Bow wow-London 11 years ago

Omg!Is this real? Future leaders of Ghana.Sad

• Nana K 11 years ago

We started democracy in 1992. There has been MP's since then who receive common fund and can lobby for wood to build chairs and tables. So why?

• MAA 11 years ago

Very Sad Indeed. This is why parents should vote NPP in the next election. A mind is a terrible thing to waste.

TWEAAA GOVT

• YAW ODURO 11 years ago

YES MAHAMA AND ASIEDU NKESTIA ARE THE FUTURE TEACHERS

• MUMU VOTERS 11 years ago

Expensive Jeeps for chiefs

• MUMU VOTERS 11 years ago

Mahama priorities is chiefs

• bob 11 years ago

Let's put politics aside and look at the crimes our corrupt leaders are being committing against to our people. 21st century and to see kids put in such a shameful and horrible condition,and they running around bragging about ...

• Asumdjwehene 11 years ago

This is the
    deputy minister for Educations job but he is out fighting for more apology over the Presidents personal tweet, Instad of ensuring there is sound,good, peace and solid structures for our schools.

• Freddie 11 years ago

I do not think we are still living in the Stone Age, are we? This is very disgusting indeed, if it is not a propaganda. The blame should go to those running the affairs of the country. This insanity must cease because the who ...

• Lord Tennison 11 years ago

Whilst huge amounts of money are being paid out suspiciously as judgement debts.
    Our leaders of tomorrow.John Mahama's Better Ghana?

• Naa 11 years ago

The youths of our nation are watching this. Is our duty as youth to eradicate dis selfless mentality cos the past and present gov. keep repeating the mistakes of their predecessors. No one seem to care as long as they're not ...

• kwame 11 years ago

this is the most insane thing thing to see really in this 21st century.

• Naa 11 years ago

It saddens why pp take up responsibility when not ready. The school is a local authourity school yet lack all the amenities to function. Pls stay away from government or leadership if you can't because you will one day answer ...

• Abokyi 11 years ago

Mahama, we can afford to fly millions of dollars to Brazil but can't afford school furniture for schools? What are the priorities of Ghana, Mr President? Are we confused, 20 something million Ghanians, none you can listen to?

• Daniel 11 years ago

How can this be the story of education today in Ghana. Let the President know immediately about this deplorable situation, so that he will rectify it. How on earth can we deal with this kind of behavior. Who can tell me???? M ...

• Palmwine Tapper 11 years ago

The next generation sitting on cement blocks whilst GH wastes its resources of 2nd. anniversary of Agya Atta Mills DEATH at tax payers expense. On behalf of ALL men of GOOD WILL we apologize to these school kids of their inhe ...

• SIR BABYLON 11 years ago

Am sure our leaders are just given priorities to some of their girl friends request instead of the nations. Sanitary pads for some schools and some without chairs and tables and even proper classroom blocks. God please have ...

• Mama G 11 years ago

These children are living in a country their PRESIDENT Flew 4m dollars to players & fucking gfa officials in far away brazil

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

WHO CARES,GYE NYAME, BMW , TOYOTA LAND CRUSE AND BIG HOUSE FIRST BEFORE THE JOB TO BE DONE,THAT TOGO KILLA KILED ACHAMPONG,AKUFU,AFREFA FOR NOTHING , CORRUP IS MORE THAN BEFORE,WE WANT IT AND WE GOT IT,WE VOTE IT AND W ...

• ASH TOWN ABRANTIE MMROM KSI 11 years ago

WE HAVE SCHOOLS LIKE THIS IN GHANA AND PRESIDENT MAHAMA WILL FIND IT WISE TO GIVE HIMSELF AND HIS MINISTERS 60% PAY INCREASE, GIVE 52 MILLION DOLLARS TO WOYOME SEEDA GYEDA, AND ABOVE ALL BUY THESE EXPENSIVE CARS FOR NATIONAL ...

AFRICAN CULTURES NEED TO CHANGE. THE WAY WE THINK IS VERY BARBARIC AND SELFISH. THESE GUYS CAN COME UP WITH A CAMPAIGNS SUCH AS - FURNITURE FOR EVERY SCHOOL IN EVERY PART OF GHANA...OR..ANY SCHOOL THAT HAS BEEN BUILT WILL BE ...

• jail 11 years ago

this shameful to mahama and ndc

• MAHAMA in a Mess 11 years ago

What a disgrace

• OWEN.NEW YORK. 11 years ago

Can't the money of the 13 V8 Vehicles cover the roofing furniture for these poor kids ? We have a president who can not think well.

• Brobbsnet-USA 11 years ago

if five(5) percent of Ghana voters can think clearly,Every politician will loose His JOB. The more UNeducated,ignorant and stupid the voters are , the more, the political phat Cats can can stay in power.It's a conspiracy.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 11 years ago

PEOPLE ,THE NEXT PRESIDENT WILL TAKE IT VERY HARD , AND WE WILL BLAME ON HIM ,WE CAN SEE FROM THIS

• oyinasky 11 years ago

Things like these give me ulcers. I cannot believe that 57 years after independence this is happening 25 km from Nkawkaw. The cost of Just the one of the 4 wheel drives will provide desks for over 100 kids

• Mohammed abu 11 years ago

God will punish those Fucking politicians.

• Kofi Peprah 11 years ago

Sanitary pads first, school furniture second. That is the order of preference of the government of the day.
    OSAGYEFO DR KWAME NKRUMAH had it right: "DARK DAYS IN GHANA!"

• DENTETX 11 years ago

THIS UGLY SITUATION IS HAPPENING IN A COUNTRY WITH MASSIVE NATURAL RESOURCES INCLUDING OIL, GOLD DIAMOND TIMBER MANAGNESE, ETC. THIS IS UNFORTUNATE AND I CAN BLAME THIS ON CORRUPTION AND MISMANAGEMENT. I HAVE ALWAYS NOTED THA ...

• mahama pad 11 years ago

Obiaa be hu bi

• Don C 11 years ago

Unfortunate situation due to lack of effective leadership. A school should not be opened if the resources are not available. The only way to remedy the situation is to supply the furniture needed ASAP, or heads should roll. I ...

• UK Man 11 years ago

This children will grow with severe backbone issues.
    Ghana has gone to the dogs. She is a failed STATE!!!!!!!!!!!

'Nkwasea fo'.

• Mohammed Awuni 11 years ago

We as a nation are full of fools

• ********** 11 years ago

We have such shameful situations in the country, yet this inept bunch is insisting on paying millions to purchase pads for school girls. Have these people brains at all? What a sad sad story.

• Dan 11 years ago

How can I get in contact with any of the school authorities or the teacher, Mr. Frances Amanor?

my email is: dawsiya@yahoo.com

• Martin Oppong 11 years ago

With all this our so called chiefs were able to accept pick up trucks from this corrupt Government, what a shame, shame on NDC and the so chiefs. A Chief in the area who uses the pick up is not worth being respected.

• KING GEORGE 11 years ago

WE NEED SCHOOL BLOCKS NOT SANITARY PADS PRESIDENTNT MAHAM.

• slim 11 years ago

This politicians are taking us for a ride.If our political system is decentralized, then what happenned to the MP's common Fund and the budget for the District administrations.We want the central government to do everything w ...

• UNCLE FII-BS ITALY 11 years ago

POOR GOVERNANCE BOTH NDC AND NPP.GHANAIANS ELIMINATE NDC AND NPP PARTIES AND VOTE NEXT ELECTION FOR NEUTRAL PARTY.WE HAVE VISIONLESS POLITICAL LEADERS.......AGAIN,VOTE FOR NEUTRAL PARTY.

• kwam 11 years ago

why do you want gov't to provide every thing free, so are the parents saying they can't afford a stool for the kids? I remember going to school in the 1970's with my own table and chair provided by my parents.

• NN 11 years ago

Look at the Blocks, if you can afford the Blocks, you can afford a table.Nobody will give his Blocks for free to these pupilss.
    I bet you the Whole thing is staged.

• Richard 11 years ago

Amen

• SHAKARA 11 years ago

BE PATIENT. MAHAMA SAYS TO GHANAIANS

• Omega 11 years ago

We are lacking self help and organisation in our local communities. In the west lots of voluntary and communual help go a long way to build and maintain the infrastucture in their communities. In Ghanaians are always waiting ...

• EMMA 11 years ago

NO COMMENT AT ALL...

• makamakamak 11 years ago

WHAT IS THIS

• bob 11 years ago

This is the verdict to all Ghanaian Politicians.With all the natural resources that God has bless us with.Is this the better agenda? and Ghana @50 celebration.The stealing that has being perpetrated against Ghanaian people an ...

• asempa 11 years ago

i remember when i want to school under trees, i wrote my final O"level under hot sun,, but i made it, Look at the lazy and corrupt country like Ghana. 21st century schooling, we went for loan of 6 billion dollars to build new ...

• Madina 11 years ago

The chiefs who received the 13 pick-up should bow down and shame. Do you people know wat the pick-up money can do for these poor kids. "Onyame ahu mo "

• Lopez 11 years ago

I hope Okudzeto Ablakwa and Mahama have seen this since it is more important to buy sanitary pads with borrowed money and give it out as freebies than buy the necessary needs for the smooth running of basic schools. It's just ...

• Gladys 11 years ago

So there are schools without desks and Ghana government went for loan for 10,000 school children and pad for school girls. Ghana leaders, do you really reason as leaders at all.

• Chief amankwa 11 years ago

How can an independent country live on international hand out and call itself a country

• Koforidua Waves 11 years ago

My Goodness! Are will still in the Stone-Age Era?? and billions are being invested in odering of Sanitry Pads for pupils and students.How does the woman Education minister,a prof for that matter is doing in that sector.Oh! ou ...

• bob 11 years ago

This is what our brilliant politicians has left as with.Is'nt it great to see such marvelous work of our "qoute" politicians. Better Ghana agenda and Ghana@50 Celebrations is one of the many things and lack of vision from the ...