IMF talks can lead Ghana to full middle-income status - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (129)

• WOW!! 9 years ago

MAHAMA FOR 2016!!!!

• Charlie C 9 years ago

N
    P
    P should go and burn the sea. You are simply the best! You are too much! God bless you!

• VVV 9 years ago

MORE THAN THE BEST

• Moro 9 years ago

We love you Mahama. Your enemies have done everything to bring you down but God keeps blessing you. You will bring Ghana to a great place. See how safe the country is now? Investors love Ghana now because you have kept it saf ...

• ADWEN 9 years ago

This idiot and incompetent thief imposed on Ghanaians by Atuguba and Afari-Gyan is the most nonsensical individual I have see as a "leader".
    This man has destroyed Ghana through his corruption, fraud, and incompetency and hi ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

JDM is the best, 2016 is cool chop for President Mahama, the Dwarf can cry like a baby, and we don't give a hoot.

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• readi 2 dye 9 years ago

This dum dum just builds castles in the air....don Quixote is an embarrassment to Gh... It's a very big gap between what he says n what he does...you can huff n fluff in NYC but back home in Gh we all know u ain't worth SHIT. ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

My brother you have said it all akoa Mahama ka nkwasea paa. This nitwit has mess up the nation's economy and now listen to his nonsense from new York. Only NDC fools believe this CRAP from this FOOL

• MENSA 9 years ago

HE WILL LEAD US TO MORE POVERTY PAIN AND SUFFRINGS

• daladam 9 years ago

HE REALY BELIVE THE IMF WILL HELP US
    WOW WHAT AN IGNORANCE FALKS GET READY FOR MORE MISUREY MORE PAIN MORE UNEMPLOYMENT MORE HIGHER PRICES EMBRACE FOR MORE PAIN,SUFFRINGS AND MISUREY IMF AND MAHAMA VOODO ECONOMIC WILL FURTH ...

• gyimifoc insulting good leaders 9 years ago

sme people r fooled by fools 2 be useless 4ever,dey react to everytn without reasoning with de brains God giv dem

• trueGhanaian 9 years ago

To be happy when you can't produce to sell but base your economy on the bond market is a shame.

Look at the situation between the USA ,China and Japan. The USA sells or issue treasury bonds and China and Japan buys them. ...

• asem pe asem. 9 years ago

Stupid fool do you understand what you read? Ghana is in the market economy. Research the concept of the Eurobond and come back, learn and stop insulting. Even the USA the richest country on the planet borrows.

• Ghfuo: jail Nyantakyi 9 years ago

After almost 60yrs of independence u are now at the mercy of imf? Why did u fight for independence? How many fiscally respomsible, independent nations do u sweat imf? Imf is not a communist entity. They will make u sweat well ...

• Jeff Green 9 years ago

U r de deadly fool.

• VVV 9 years ago

NPP SHOULD SHUT UPO

• ghana 9 years ago

OJH YES

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Thief kufour can't speak that English, No way! !!!

• LADY P 9 years ago

You people are animals, pigs, dogs useless entities with low lives.You will never taste good life in your lives, you will always continue to hang out aimlessly till thy kingdom come.I thank God that I was born to human beings ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Lady P, don't worry, the "Angel of death" will visit those who hate Nana for no reason.

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Listen to the foolish talk. When you came as Vice president, Kuffour had already placed Ghana into a middle income already. You and Atta Mills started by creating, looting and sharing coupled with borrowing to the most foolis ...

• Kevin Nti 9 years ago

What middle income statue did Kuffuor bring Ghana to? After the HIPIC money was no where to be found, and cocaine floating everywhere in Ghana and arm robbery was order of the day was Ghana not a jungle? All the roads in Ghan ...

• NANA OSEI (QEEENS, NEW YORK) U.S.A 9 years ago

OH MOTHER GHANA, YOU HAVE A LONG WAY TO GO. THIS NATION IS BEING LED BY GROUP OF CROOKS AND CONS, HOW FAR CAN THEY TAKE US. DID YOU REALY LISTEN TO HIM. AN IGNORANT BEEN SURROUNDED AND COUNSELLING BY IGNORANT FOOLS. GHANAIAN ...

• Oheneba 9 years ago

pepeni,pepeni and pepeni again.Useless and brainless talk.What sensible thing you are saying that rawlings the dictator thief did not say when he took us to the same imf many years ago ?Mahama you are useless and hopeless and ...

• Chris 9 years ago

Mahama is a great liar. Only people who does not analyse issues properly believes you

• Onua Francis 9 years ago

To rely on IMF bailout for economic miracle is an utopia dream.

• adumtumi nyansafuo paa ni 9 years ago

The IMF does not work that way. He should study what the imf does for countries. This president is just a retard.

• Fifi 9 years ago

No one will impose a con person without a fake law certificate on Ghanains. You can go up and come down, a person with a fake certificate will not rule Ghana. Which of you is a fool. You are being duped with a fake certificat ...

• Jeff Green 9 years ago

Your father is the fool you know.Foolish creature.

• Owusu 9 years ago

Your uneducated self and father is the fool. I don't get why ppl still defend the Mahama led NDC government as if you live in a different Ghana. Kwasia bi NDC creating and looting left, right and center.

• MR TRUELY TRUELY 9 years ago

Richest African Countries

25. South Africa: $619.840 billion (up 22.6%)
    27. Egypt: $574.717 billion (up 30.4%)
    30. Nigeria: $521.359 billion (up 64.1%)
    43. Algeria: $302.476 billion (up 30.7%)
    58. Morocco: $189.090 bil ...

• USMAN. 9 years ago

way with the rubbish. Stop sleeping on the job.

• Tina T. 9 years ago

MR president just focus on your job and forget the Nay Sayers. Any person who calls people Moroon is himself a Moroon. You have made it to the presidency through hard work. The fools sitting around the computer insulting will ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

Sycophants at work.

• Economist 9 years ago

If it is IMF that will plan and manage te economy to become middle income country then you and your government are incompetent.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Of what benefit if we are middle income and cannot deal with national problems and keeps going back for a bale-out. What a nation with this talking Prez!

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 9 years ago

IT IS ALL TALK, WORDS, JUST WORDS, LOTS OF WORDS AND NO ACHIEVEMENT. SIX TEARS OF TALK, SIX OF TALK, ALTOGETHER 26 YEARS OF TALK AND NO ACHIEVEMENTS. ONLY ACHIEVEMENTS ARE EMPTY SLOGANS BETTER GHANA AND EDEY BEE KEKE, MORE TA ...

• MONDAY 9 years ago

Mahama is on course. Ghana is taking shape. NDC forever!

• kofi baako 9 years ago

kwasia kwa

Support this gimi gimi... Fucking dummy dum.

• kk 9 years ago

talk talk master

• Kevin Nti 9 years ago

Mahama at his best. The man is doing well with the country. We should not follow tribalism and blind ourselves to the good things. Police work and safety, I salute the president!

• oh! Ghana nie 9 years ago

keep supporting this DO LITTLE president, we are all in this hardship together.

• Amina Yutong 9 years ago

I will rather vote for a 'do-little' President Mahama than a 'do-nothing' Onana-bin-L'Addo. That short man has no law certificate. He can't even mention a single classmate in law school. Fake lawyer, tweaaaa

• Me Too 9 years ago

Can this man called JDM stop tickle his testicle and laughing? Unless prudent measures put in place to stop Create, Loot and Share no matter astronomical loans and help from IMF Ghana's poverty circle will be worse in shortes ...

• JAA 9 years ago

Dear friend, this is not tribalism at all, you see I honestly don't like the idea when reviewers or dissenters of particular type of reasoning insult others, but you see, let us all be objective. My question to you is, do yo ...

• sundjata 9 years ago

stupid. the IMF and world bank r not there to help anyone. idiot

• Kwamina 9 years ago

...and telling the whole world about it!

• Yaw Owusu 9 years ago

John Mahama is just a compete IDOT .
    There is nothing that makes sense when he speaks. Ghana is really at the cross-roads with this IDOT Still around. Who will come invest in Ghana where thievery is Big in Government, with m ...

• Kootse 9 years ago

Cedi is doing well. Ashantis are shitting in their pants. You will never taste power again

• VVV 9 years ago

NPP SHOULD NOT SAY A WORD BECAUSE THE DID THE SAME SHIT BEFORE

• Rastafara 9 years ago

he has delegated the presidency to the IMF

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Point to one thing that the president said that is not true.

President is just a big fool...thinks he is on a fashion show....he needs to go back to zongo or to raise cattle in the north...used to be NDC but fuck mahama....so so talk talk.... I will slap him if I see him n he can't do ...

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Why is it that Ghanaweb is populated by folks who only heap insults instead of having constructive criticism. Discuss ideas instead of people.

• Nana Bawuah 9 years ago

PNDC already announced in 2010 that based on their dubious figures Ghana had achieved status of middle income country.

• NON ALIGNED 9 years ago

"We have the blessing of the wealth of our vast resources, the power of our talents and the potentialities of our people. Let us grasp now the opportunities before us and meet the challenge to our survival. " Address to the N ...

• Santino 9 years ago

The NDC destroys the system, repairs it somehow and praise themselves that they are doing well. What have they done right? Is it the currency, agriculture, energy, education, health, sanitation, roads, accountability etc or w ...

• NANA 9 years ago

Mismanagement and corruption is destroying Ghana's economy and that is problem the President should talk about.

• ATOBAM PANIN 9 years ago

It ain't "talks" that lead to middle income status. It is core fundamental economic stability born of imaginative policies that bring about productivity. All the talks have gotten us no where. Don't waste our time.

• Jo Pacheko 9 years ago

What a piece of CRAP! Stop begging and fix the economy. There is nothing sick about Ghana except our LEADERS. Until you guys stop the stealing and stupidity at high places, you will continue in your demented state think IMF e ...

• Kofi Bundase 9 years ago

Only in Ghana. How can just talking to IMF lead to a country attaining middle income status? Foolish man.

• waahu 9 years ago

it hurt me when I see such things, pls don't we have elders at our various homes let ad behave

• Agyenkwah 9 years ago

It huts to say but if you are saying about corrupt leaders of Ghana dont be afraid. We have trusted all these stupid corrupt and insensitive leaders and people who need help at the hospitals are dying. No good drinking water ...

• Volta voter 9 years ago

Is the president saying only entering into with IMF will guarantee that transformation. Then we are really in trouble. Why have we not seen that transformation long ago when we started dat partnership with IMF

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 9 years ago

Mr.President,do not be too optimistic.Let's be honest and fair to the intelligence of the people of Ghana .There is nothing as free lunch.This move comes with a price tag and if not well managed,eventually, will backfire send ...

• Boss 9 years ago

This idiot is a lier

• Balderash 9 years ago

Stupid man!Maybe you were better stick at the Chinese offer for $85 a barrel. IMF will make sure we are forever slaves to the Bankers.

• Naa S.K 9 years ago

President Mahama was at his best today at the UN. Congratulations! We continue to pray for you to succeed.

• POLITICAL ZOMBIE IN POWER 9 years ago

I ALWAYS GO MAD WHEN I SEE THIS TWERP CRIMINAL CORRUPT FOOLLLLLLLLLLLLL LAIR YENTIE OBIA ASEM.
    HE IS A BIG FOOL SO HE JUST TALK LOOSE ALL YOUR NDC SUPPORTERS ARE LAZY AND ONLY RELY ON U FOOLSSSSSSSSSSSSS TO FEED THEM WE NPP ...

• all-die-be-die 9 years ago

But seriously, this man looks very 'presidential' paa ooo. It feels so good to see such a fine man representing Ghana. Can you imagine some short kapwepwe of a fake lawyer standing there struggling to keep his head above the ...

Presidency is not a fashion.... We need someone to slap this cattle tender when they see him.

• Mawuko Selormey 9 years ago

When is Ghana going to start looking for a better way of living build a better infrastructure and look to better the lives of all ghanians. It will take years and planning but it must be done. Look at how life works. If Ghana ...

• Asem se be 9 years ago

What is John Mahama telling us? That he couldn't do it, it is the IMF that can do it for him, the problem we have in Ghana is, people with less brain than a goat ruling us. If IMF is the answer to our problems we ll be in h ...

• Mawuko Selormey 9 years ago

How is the country looking. I would say good but why does everyone look good but not feel good. We need to be runners in building the country of our dreams and finding the resolution that our fathers could not find. If we sea ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS STILL TALKING BIG INSTEAD OF ALLOWING THE CEDI TO FIND ITS OWN LEVEL. MIDDLE INCOME GHANA INDEED, DO YOU UNDERSTAND THE TERM AT ALL?

BUT EVEN IF IMF PROVIDES WHATEVER ASSISTANCE, YOU MAHAMA AND YOUR CRONIES WOUL ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 9 years ago

What is this obsession with middle income status? We have an outbreak of cholera arising from insanitary and unhygienic environs and he thinks borrowing and more borrowing signifies well being. Euro bonds is still borrowing s ...

• Jay london 9 years ago

Mahama's speech smacks of admission of having failed the world given the giant strides we made in the 2006 to 2010 years.

But Mahama came along filled a desire to continue as president threw our scarce money into president ...

• ABBA 9 years ago

USELESS PRESIDENT WITH USELESS TALK.YOU HAVE LOOTED THE COFFERS OF YOUR OWN NATION AND HOW CAN YOU DEPEND ON IMF TO TRANSFORM GHANA TO BECOME A MIDDLE INCOME COUNTRY.

• Ewurade Kasa 9 years ago

Their statements tell you that they are indeed fools and clueless. African leaders are the only leaders who make economic policy statements which they know will never be attained. But they still say it without any repercussio ...

• kwame peasah darkwah nyc 9 years ago

stupid president

• POLITICAL ZOMBIE IN POWER 9 years ago

I START ADVICING COCOA FARMERS TO START PLANTING PALM NUT TO REPLACE COCOA SINCE THESE CHEATERS FROM PRESIDENT OGLOGO CNN
    ARE PLAYING POLITICS WITH OUR COCOA FARMERS WHO ARE HOLDING THIS COUNTRY FOR YEARS BUT YET STILL THESE ...

• ABBA 9 years ago

EVEN THE OIL DESCOVERY HAS BEEN THE PERSONAL PROPERTY OF NDC CRIMINALS.

• fidelity 9 years ago

So where in this world will a wise president say this lunacy. A whole lot of money have been received but tell the people what was it use for. This money will finish and yet no single project would be completed.

• Yussif 9 years ago

With such wise comments, I am finally convinced this President is an idiot!! IMF would not lead you to middle income status if you can not manage your resources and your rampant spending and deficit. The cedi stabilizing is d ...

• gyimifoc insulting good leaders 9 years ago

woww great economist yussif
    ,we shall leave 2 see hu is d real idiot,hope u r not a complete moron

• Yussif 9 years ago

Dude you can not even construct your thoughts. I see why you believe in this village idiot prancing as a President...You are the village clown hahaha ...You believe in this unless rhetoric,expecting your wretched life to impr ...

• hmmmmmmmmmmmm 9 years ago

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, dudui bii s))!mercy lord!

• KKO 9 years ago

What a load of rubbish! How does tying your apron strings to the IMF make you Middle income? Which middle income country begs the IMF to write its budget and supervise its infrastructure development spending? What an idiot w ...

• Sedinam 9 years ago

Like seriously? What are you President for if it is only IMF WHO CAN TAKE US OUT OF OUR WOES. Were you voted to transform our country or IMF. I really feel ashamed for such loose talks.

Then let's talk to them over the next several years.

• AGBEVI SAMUEL 9 years ago

HOW CAN USELESS PERSON LIKE MAHAMA BE A PRESIDENT? DOES HE UNDERSTAND WHAT IMF IS PUTTING ON GHANAIANS?

• Mm 9 years ago

Ok so the money dey the system inside or not,if yes,it should be transparent ,no slack tlk ..reason up ppl

• Isaac 9 years ago

I know the money coming from the IMF will be fairly disbursed among the ndc people as they are good at that.

• EDEMENGROUS 9 years ago

Problem for NPP is that Mahama for all hi s uselessness looks like a president! Shorty Low (Akufo Addo) does not!

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

You r our hope John Mahama

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 9 years ago

THE ECONOMY IS TURNING AROUND. THE ECONOMY IS RECOVERING. MAHAMA WILL SURELY WIN A DESERVED SECOND TERM. LONG LIVE TERKPER. LONG. LIVE MAHAMA. LONG LIVE GHANA .

• Chris 9 years ago

Mahama is not clever at all.then let IMF come to rule Ghana. Good for nothing and waste of space preside.

• Jeff Green 9 years ago

May Allah guide, protect and help our president to succeed.Allah bless our homeland Ghana.

Fuck u n don Quixote....Fucking empty suit...

• Onipaba 9 years ago

You should be ashamedof yourself.you thief.you bit more than you can swallow.fool

• ANTI 9 years ago

THIS EXPLANATION SHOULD BE GIVEN TO GHANAINS FOR INVITING IMF TO MANAGE THEIR ECONOMY. THE UN GENERAL ASSEMBLY IS THE WRONG AUDIENCE FOR THIS SPEECH. I BLAME THE ENTIRE NDC ADMINISTRATION FOR THIS STUPIDITY. ONLY GHANAIANS WI ...

• Dilly Circus 9 years ago

Only when you and your NDC cadre of bandits stop robbingthe state and emptying state coffers. Look at all the loans you have encumbered all over the world,and virtually mortgaging Ghana to the Chinese. So what middle income s ...

• Ron 9 years ago

it doesn't reflect in people's pockets.political talk.

• Issah 9 years ago

Mr president the assurances and the promises are too much governing is not about plenty talk is about action.Did he realise the negative aspect of the imf.This president has really disgrace we the northerners.

• KING OF KING 9 years ago

we will continue to love you more and more mr president for double eight years vote.NPP should go and die who care about akan fools party

• alancidic 9 years ago

prices on the market are just too bad. All salaries remain in the cooking pot yet u claim the country is OK. let's be real.

• Kee 9 years ago

Hmmmmmm.

• Kojo kojo uk 9 years ago

I pity our leaders they don't know what they are doing.May God have mercy on us.

• KK 9 years ago

Here he goes again. Non sense statement again. Billions of dollars have been wasted without any improvements in the people's lives. I don't know how just one billion dollars would turn the nation into a middle income status. ...

• the one 9 years ago

ALLAH WILL HELP YOU,GOD BLESS MAHAMA GOD BLESS NDC.AMEEN.

Dumb motherfucker...only MPEPEFUO support this dummy.

• Joe 9 years ago

It is not true. The money that will accrue will be given out in judgement debts and the rest finding it's way into the pickets of NDC sympathizes.

• Mangullana jnr 9 years ago

Good luck JDM and NDC.

• Mujeeb Batuuro 9 years ago

What an inspiring talk however, Mr President, we need our institutions to work. Ghanaians are not feeling the cedi appreciation because prices of goods are still high, utility bills we don't have to say it again. Don't we hav ...

• pat 9 years ago

the most worst and wicked president we ve ever had tweaaa

• JH New York 9 years ago

There's nothing to talk about since no prudent economic growth and long term investment measures/policies is in place,aside from eurobond .So his best option was to use the 3 days old IMF meetings to bail himself out of Emb ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 9 years ago

First of all, let me make the point that the cedi's appreciation has nothing to do with macro economics, but rather it is due to market (currency) speculation. The speculators have positioned their bids in light of IMF bailo ...

• Karim Zakaria Apiiga 9 years ago

NPP can go hell or burn the sea ,Mahama will serve Ghana 8 years and their so called old man will taste a shocking and deadly defeat come 2016.ISHA ALLAHU.

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 9 years ago

My question again fellow Ghanaians. HOW DID WE GET TO THIS ECONOMIC MESS? Don't we have the brain power to manage and dig ourselves out of this mess? The whole world knows that Ghana is full of brain power. This baillout is e ...

• Simpole 9 years ago

Mahama and his cronies will steal the money that the IMF will provide for their 2016 campaign.

• Gaziiiii 9 years ago

Oooooh prez. We are proud of you.the best.

• Kwawu Agbemenu 9 years ago

Not ourselves, but some other entity is to solve our problems & push us to middle-income level? Keep on dreaming! It'll NEVER happen!! If WE want to move forward, WE HAVE TO DO IT OURSELVES; there AIN'T any other way.

• TRUTH CONQUERS 9 years ago

Those of you who have made Akuffo-Addo your tin-god, beware of what Dr. Anane has said. This man is sick and can die soon naturally from kidney infection. Stop abusing and maligning our great President who has made us proud ...

• straighttalk 9 years ago

Who in his right thinking will consider reaching a middle income status through loans from IMF without any concrete policies in place. Shame!!

• Ericus-Ericus 9 years ago

Time will tell.....

• Abena 9 years ago

Mr President, trying to put a positive spin on a dire situation. A country which 6 years ago had paid down its debt, was getting ready to export oil, & had left the IMF is now getting ready to'partner' with the IMF? Since wh ...

• sly kelly 9 years ago

Well done boss