'Blows' at IMF meeting over gov't’s debt owed BDCs

Read Comments Comments (77)

• TT 11 years ago

WE ARE TIRED OF THIS NPP NEWS

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 11 years ago

They're so hopeless that lying has become their only holy gospel to the chambers of the presidency. Gosh! blessed to the discerning majority that pride Ghana as their home sweet home and are ready to keep the peace and tranqu ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

Dusty, don't you see some unpreparedness here? The Ghana team should have their ducks in a row and not show unpreparedness and confusion in front of IMF or in general to your customer. The "blows" should have been thrown to d ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 11 years ago

HELPLESSNESS, HOPELESSNESS & FEELING OF DESPONDENCY HAVE GRIPPED MANY IN GHANA TODAY. 
    GHANA HAS BEEN RAPED BY THESE NDC IDIOTS. WE DO NOT NEED ANY NATIONAL ECONOMIC FORUM, WE NEED A NATIONAL COURT OF JURISDICTION TO PUT MA ...

• K.K 11 years ago

BAWUMIA SAID IT. THIS IS THE RESULT OF COOKED FOREX FIGURES. SHAME ON YOU, MAHAMA

• Kweku Erzuah 11 years ago

I don't know what you guys are talking about. Mr. Seth Terkper, the Finance Minister was a former IMF official and knows how to handle issues involving the IMF. If anything at all, I will put my eggs in the basket of Mr. Terk ...

• Ghfuo, heaven is NOT for idiots! 11 years ago

He left his brains in Cambridge, Massachusetts after getting his education. U son of a bitch! Where were you when $3mil was sent to brasil. By your president? Why are foreign exchange laws in ghana so loose and no one follows ...

• OLD SOLDIER 11 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• mugu1 11 years ago

my curiousicity is what the hell is BDC'business managment team doing before IMF & Ghana loan negociation teams?

• Harun Singh 11 years ago

dont be stupid youngman!! did your mother not teach you any sense? the question you need to ask is- why is ghana still borrowing since 1970's? you probably think it is ok to keep borrowing right? well ask your mother to teach ...

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

My point is not about whether Ghana borrows or not, comment is about how they comport themselves in those IMF meetings going on. By the way, the borrowing/bail out from IMF started in 1965, go learn your history; and whether ...

• God save us 11 years ago

Eii GHANA whats happening

• JOHN 11 years ago

WHY ALL THESE SHIT ON GHANAWEB? SUCH THINGS HAPPENS DAILLY IN OUR LIFES

• Opoku 11 years ago

What is strange about business discussions?

• They Say They Say 11 years ago

The government is tired of paying every Tom Dick and Harry. Policy's changed and what's wrong with that? Credit to finance minister on this one.

• esi 11 years ago

I agree with Minister of finance. the can get out of the contract. period

• Yaw Achaw 11 years ago

If this is true kudos to the minister. If the govt was paying business loses that is a bad policy. The ministered rightly offered tax remediation which seems to be rejected by BDC. New Independent has no clue about finance an ...

• agyeiwaa 11 years ago

New Ind., educate yourself and stop talking like an illitrate newspaper. Dont you know abt negotiations that can be volatile but aggreements reached in the end. you just want to vilify the minister, but he knows his job and t ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 11 years ago

The IMF meeting was not the time and place for the BDC/Government negotiation. The Government and BDC, whatever that means, should have reached an agreement long before the IMF meeting. The Govt and BDC should be on the same ...

• Osei 11 years ago

BDC buy in dollars and sell in Cedis. Normally, they shoudl sell at the prevailing market rate. But your government steps in and tell them what rate to sell their products at. This rate directed by the government is well belo ...

• Kobena Bosom 11 years ago

Osei. Thanks for your explanation.I live in the UK and therefore have no clue about the directives from our Government relative to BDCs rates. However, I must not be alone in thinking that in the presence of IMF officials ...

• mugu1 11 years ago

Kobena Bosom with your experience in living in the UK should allow you to understand the back ground of the IMF covert operations why should IMF brought BDC official to the negociating table solely between the govt of Ghana?

• Yaw Achaw 11 years ago

Osei, I believe that is what the finance minister is saying; i.e. going forward, sell at the market rate but because government provides the infrastructure - financial and logisticall - when there is the need for intervention ...

• Concerned. This 11 years ago

I will be surprised if these contracts are not fixed between government and BDCs in advance. If the agreement is to deliver at a particular cedi value, the forex risk should not be passed on to the government. If the whole ar ...

• Concerned 11 years ago

Osei. No party to a transaction between 2 parties takes over the exchange risk of the other party not unless unless the other party is getting adequately compensated. The BDCs can go fuck their mama if they are not happy with ...

• Blame the Honorables. 11 years ago

We always say the market dictate price, based on supply and demand for the commodity. The gov't attempt to manipulate the rule is the cause of the loss and BDC have assurance from gov't to cover the losses so the Minister is ...

• Osei 11 years ago

Makes sense what you are saying but then the laws should just allow BDCs to sell their products at the prevailing market rates without government's intervening. Thus you just allow the market forces to work. People in this c ...

• Iwan 11 years ago

This paper is lying foolstop

Another one of NPP's modus operandi. Creating unnecessary tension when not in power is a story vividly known to the discerning folks of Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana from yesteryear.

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

Unfortunately that is how democracy works, and that is what the media is supposed to do. The discussions could have been in CSPAN if in the US for all to hear. The White house has a Press Corp that reports from the White hous ...

I understand the media arm is one of the many inheritances that come with the democratic dispensation across the world over by which Ghana is a registered club member now. However, unlike other democracies, Ghanaian media hou ...

• obaaa 11 years ago

Wo ye aboa paa. You don't know n.,

Get off my radar, nincompoop. And I mean, on the double, fool. Now, left right left, left right left, left right left as quickly as you march of my sight back to the hole you accidentally came out of.

• akokaalia 11 years ago

confusion galore

• Santino 11 years ago

Tekper seems to be a very temperamental person which doesn't augur well for his negotiations. He needs to calm down as businessmen would always remain businessmen.

Have you ever met the man, negotiated any business or the likes with him before? If no, then don't come in here to spell your ignorance about the man Mr. Seth Emmanuel Terkper. Capish?

• Yaw 11 years ago

Hmmm santino the man is shorty o. Lol short people are very temperamental you know.

• OWURA - LONDON 11 years ago

This confirms the fears shared by Dr Bawumiah that the government and the Bank of Ghana had been tinkering with the figures in relation to the Forex rates.
    The BDCs are making loses owing to the disparity between the rates ...

• fred 11 years ago

WELL SAID AND WRITTEN

• Mallam Tula 11 years ago

MASSA SETH ; NO SHAKING !!!!!!!!; THIS SENYO HOSI AND HIS MEMBERS BDC ARE A BAND CRIMINALS AND THIEVES ;THIS IS AN EASY BUSINESS -TYPICAL AND SELL ANY FULL CAN DO IT ; HOW CAN THE GOVERNMENT COVER THE LOSSES OF BUSINESS MEMBE ...

• Victor A, Young 11 years ago

Hehehehe-hhhiiii! I wonder if the IMF knows about the election fraud tactics through which the NDC used to remain in power at a time things started falling apart for Ghanaians and people had vowed to vote them out of power in ...

• G. K. Berko 11 years ago

If you see all this as that seriously inimical to the Country's progress, why should you be happy about any perceived errors the Administration is making? You are laughing in jubilation for our predicament? And that is how y ...

• Mars1 11 years ago

Disagreements are normal at the policy discussion level. But one would have thought as mature adults that the two sides would have had prior meetings to decide on a route of action. The minister should be the one to speak f ...

• Mm 11 years ago

We yet to see the concludment of negotiation,this a clear case of trying monopolies ,if wht I reAd is true.leave the business if u think ,u making loses simple!!

• AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C., SPAIN 11 years ago

-MR.SETH TERKPER MUST GO,YAH.DONT WASTE TIME,MR.PRESIDENT,HE MUST GO.

• I'm me 11 years ago

'that' here 'that' there. Ebei!!! What sort of reporting is this?

• olu 11 years ago

The minister is right. How can government pay a business Forex losses?. Forex losses are allowable tax deduction for which the BDCs like any other business can take advantage of. The BDC s are taken Ghanaians for a ride. How ...

• Doreen Mensah 11 years ago

Is this worth reporting and building the nation! Very disgusting.

• daladam 11 years ago

LEARN TO BEHAVE AND DO YOUR DIRTY LOUNDRY IN PRIVATE NOT IN FRONT OF THE IMF

• Concerned 11 years ago

I know it doesn't happen very often but there was an exchange gain recently. Will the government be getting that gainffrom the BDCs? Is the bdc privately owned? What's the agreement government signed with them. Is the agreeme ...

• nabia 11 years ago

Nonsense is this news

• Kwesi 11 years ago

If the Minister made these arguments at the IMF meeting with the BDCs, then I can only be happy that we have someone who will stand for Ghana's good. I think that he got it right by advising them to rather go for tax remediat ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 11 years ago

Build Ghana not political campaigns. Partisan political campaigns should not dominate our life all year rounds instead of nation building strategies for better Ghana.

Build our beloved and free Ghana not political campaign ...

• G. K. Berko 11 years ago

One would think that there would be a document to authenticate any of the claims the BDC boss is making of the Government regarding this forex differential payment.

For a business transaction, or contractual agreement of ...

• mr amin 11 years ago

depreciation of cedi can distabilize this ciuntry if no checked. i dont under stand why govt index import duties in dollers. Why not in cedis? n wont that make goods expensive on the market n creat haship? some one should hel ...

• The Minor Prophet 11 years ago

What does the author of this information seek to achieve? This is absolute negative reportage. We want to read positive information not this trash.

• Benny 11 years ago

It is like that and don't ask why. TAKASHE until one surruders. If two bodies are negotiating on money palaver this is the scene. We expect more than this one but patience has to be exercise but not gentility other than that ...

• duke 11 years ago

LACK OF MINISTERIAL DECORUM ENOUGH SAID

• nyasa 11 years ago

the same negative npp press at work. so does this evil work make the npp happy? how stupid and foolish they look. they lack patriotism.

• NII 11 years ago

OPPOSITION IS NOT AN ENEMY ..POLITICS WITHOUT OPPOSITION IS NOT POLITICS ...HABA NDC ..NO ONE IS PERFECT ...IF YOU MAKE IT GOOD .GHANAIANS WILL HAIL YOU ...IF YOU MAKE IT BAD ...HAHAHAHA ...

• K APPIAH 11 years ago

I DEY BEEEEEEE KEKE.U SEE MAHAMA'S LIES HAS AFFECTED EVERYBODY IN GHANA

• HAZOR 11 years ago

NDC thinks deceive Ghanaians with their well plan bogus propaganda AND THE SAME PROPAGANDA MAGIC IS GOING TO WORK on IMF officals thinking they are fools like Ghanaians soo to say.The way and manner things are going between G ...

• f q amegah ex minister ghana 11 years ago

Bravo and congratulations to our honest and very responsible ministe
    Tekper! You stood gallantly for mother ghana
    The so called independnt newspaper can go to hell
    We lack patriotism too much some of you ghanaians! Shame ...

• E. hegemony 11 years ago

The kookoose people want to clinch power by all means so that they can fully implement their all die be die mantra. Mahama all the way.

• GOWAN 11 years ago

When you have a gov't that just wants to loot and thieve taxpayer funds instead of development, this is exactly what happens.
    We were in Ghana when the astute Economist Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia stated clearly that, you cannot d ...

• Coulibaly 11 years ago

What is news about this? This happens in tough business discussions. In Japan, they even fight. Elsewhere they hurl shoes at each other.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 11 years ago

Terkper has a duty to protect the people and government of Ghana.

• Whatever 11 years ago

It was about time we tell this business crooks calling themselves. They just want milk Ghana off. You private business nobody forces you to lift oil into the country. If you go and lift that on your own and u expose your fin ...

• RPG 11 years ago

Investments thrive on credibility and on trust and predicated on the fact that, one sinks his funds into an instrument with the understanding that over a period she/he would accrue a return. Once that is lost, you have nothin ...

• baz 11 years ago

Why did the Journalists have to wait for 13 good days to put this at public? Where were they at the time? Tweeeeeeaaaaahhhhhh!!!!

• John Musah 11 years ago

God save us from the IMF and Kwesi i Botchway. There is only one Minister vetted by Parliament, all these hangers on running to the IMF like Kwesi Botchway, should be told to back off and let the Finance Minster do his job.

• Northern Concern 11 years ago

It means BDC does not even file tax? Why are they against that. Mr. Minister you are right, let them go to hell! Where do they get the dollars to start the business? Ghana is being raped by these illiterate private sector!

• grundguds 11 years ago

once a again u cant cook the books & figures cos u are gonna get exposed in the long run

• ABIBU ALIDU 11 years ago

Here is another example of a government employee displaying his ignorance.
    People with feces in their heads as brain like this finance minister does not deserve this post.He does not know where he stands.

• Whatever 11 years ago

I fully support Terkper and congratulate him. I thank God that he has begin to see the problem the nonsense of this BDC and their activities. And I agree nobody is asking them to lift oil into the country. They can go to hell ...

• OBINNA 11 years ago

THIS IS TYPICAL OF THE WAY GHANAIANS DO BUSINESS; INSULT, SHOUT AT, SCREAM AT OR DISRESPECT EACH OTHER. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A DECENT DISCUSSION - AGREE TO DISAGREE POLITELY BUT NO; RAIN INSULTS AND CAST ASPERSIONS AND INNUEN ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 11 years ago

Ghana’s Finance Minister, Mr. Seth Terkper on Thursday September 18, allegedly attacked the Chief Executive of the Ghana Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors (CBOD), Senyo Hosi, at a meeting between government and the Internati ...