Mahama: There’s a ‘lot of waste’ in the public sector

Read Comments Comments (92)

• BOMBER 11 years ago

YOU ARE THE MOST CORRUPT PRESIDENT EVER

• Whatever 11 years ago

That's positive quality from a leader

• Mahmoud 11 years ago

If I may ask, is that another communist ideological institution? Young Pioneers implanted by Nkrumah in our society did not contribute to any meaningful development for 30years until the country started to breath again from 2 ...

• Rastafara"I" 11 years ago

Stop the denial and face the reality....you are presiding over the most corrupt period in Ghana history.....

• Gye Nyame 11 years ago

FRAUD, WASTE AND ABUSE!!!!!That is the problem in Ghana now, but the problem in the case of Ghana is that the top echelons of government is involved in the fraud and therefore handle the corruption with child's gloves. Why a ...

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 11 years ago

Mahama and his thievery and brigands are the waste in our country, if they (NDC& Mahama) can be eradicated completely from our nation society such a waste
    would be stopped and finished.

• KY 11 years ago

Yes indeed your right. but Mahama, your number one waste in the system that must be clear THIEF

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

Whatever, you have become a schizophrenic.

Support and praise to where you get your largesse; be ashamed of yourself, a parasite feeding on the blood of Ghana.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 11 years ago

When we wanted independence they said NO ,Republic NO ,Atomic Energy NO ,Ghana Airways NO ,Ghana Telecom NO ,Akosombo NO ,Thermal Energy NO ,Tema Harbour and dry Docks NO ,Oil exploration NO ,Sugar Factory NO ,Constitution NO ...

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 11 years ago

YES. WHEN THEY SAID NO, YOUR LITTLE MINDS DID NOT HELP YOU TO UNDERSTAND WHY THEY SAID NO. YOU CONTINUED IN YOUR BLINDNESS AND THIS IS HOW DANGEROUSLY YOU HAVE BROUGHT US DOWN AS A COUNTRY. NKRUMAH LAID THE FOUNDATION OF GHAN ...

• jOEy lOndOn 11 years ago

Ooyen sormi..

• Ghanaba Pa 11 years ago

Look who is talking. This president of ours needs psychiatric attention. For MAHAMA of all people to voice out that the public sector which he controls is corrupt then we have buckle up for the worse. MAHAMA where have you be ...

• Ghanaman3 11 years ago

He is now committed to fight waste? what has he been doing since he joined the public service as MP, minister, VP and President?

• GOD IS ONE 11 years ago

Oh yea!!!! First tackle Ashanti regional Education Service. There are a lot of them there. I have complete Uni and working for a year now but my upgrading letter is to be given to me. Just cos I give those stupid workers mone ...

• yaapoti 11 years ago

So he don't know all this or he is the head of them that is why he didn't say nothing till IMF ask him to do so before they give him the money is this it, a president a man with nineteen children before he become a president ...

• Punch(USA) 11 years ago

The president himself is a waste

• yaa 11 years ago

You must be kidding me. Look who is talking.

No more public housing...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 11 years ago

Mr President, Ghanaians are tired of your million and one promises without action. You promised to reduce the wage bill and waste in your 2013 State of the Nation address. You remember using the phrase "the meat is down to th ...

• Whatever 11 years ago

That's a leader we can be proud of

You are right...

• Peter 11 years ago

..,it's because you're brain is filled with trash!

• GHANAVIA 11 years ago

Listen this slob and a sucking vampire.

• BOMBER 11 years ago

TWEAAAAAAA

• Kofi 11 years ago

Appointing people like Anita Desoso to the National Mobilization Program is not a waste? Why do we need so many presidential staffers all enjoying fringe benefits for doing party propaganda? The problem is with you, Mr. Presi ...

• Ibrahim Mahama. 11 years ago

You're also a waste, motherfucker Mahama.

• Moses 11 years ago

A very good point. He is the key waste material in the public sector. What a waste of a President!

• K. Pee 11 years ago

Mr. Prez pls action now. Too tuch talk talk and no action. We wan to see what is being done NOT what WILL be done

• MANTSE 11 years ago

More TRIED and TESTED and PROVEN HANDS
    are NEEDED on DECK. That Experience Factor is what will decide the matter for us. No Other OPTIONS will guarantee the desired Achievement of Set Goals and Targets.

The task at hand a ...

• Otwi 11 years ago

Hahaha see this ugly face ooo. You are a waste yourself! Shut up there Mr. Man.
    nonsense.

• KAPUU TEMA 11 years ago

ARE YOU NOT ASHAME OF YOURSELF DO YOU UNDER STAND THE MEANING OF LEADERSHIP OR WERE YOU BLIND THE CORRUPTION IN YOUR GOVT AND LAWLESSNESS HAS BLIND YOU THAT THE MONEY YOU AND YOUR MINISTERS ARE STOLING HAS SINK THE ENCONOMY O ...

• BUHARI 11 years ago

The IMF should not release any funds to go with the bailout programme, none. The only condition that should go with any fund release is, for every looted $1000 dollars by the Mahama NDC gov't that is retrieved, they should re ...

• kako 11 years ago

More than npp people God save ghana

• BUHARI 11 years ago

With the whole investigative apparatus of state concentrated in the hands of John Mahama, it's amazing, they have not carted them all into the dock and prosecuted them. What happened to the ones they sent into the dock and th ...

• Samuel Asare-Nkansah(USA) 11 years ago

Mr.President a statement well said. There is too much waste in the system presently for any meaningful project or good intentions to get successful. The waste comes in the form of corruption, mismanagement and thievery.All Gh ...

• KK 11 years ago

Just talking. No action. Please stop the stalking and do more work.

• KK 11 years ago

Tell us the steps you are talking, give the payroll to a competent private company whomcan verify all personnel, all citizens must be identified dead or alive, that comes with a national register, you are a joke mr presiden ...

• Chris 11 years ago

I am prepare to vote for IMF if they are the ones to take decision for Ghana . What a waste of space! You talk about IMF bailout. It seems the president does not understand what is going on. IMF cannot make Ghana better. They ...

• Nana Kwame O. Kwame 11 years ago

Including you mr president because we don't know what you are even doing in our public sector. YOU for comot make we run our affairs profitably

• Mike 11 years ago

So the president did not know this until the IMF officials landed in Ghana.

Is this really a president? Who in Ghana in the right state of mind did not know this?

Well, countrymen we are doomed with John Mahama/NDC!

• Lorgo Ligri 11 years ago

Mr President, do you really want to leave a legacy with the Ghanaian people? Clean up this waste and do nothing else. We shall all remember you as the guy who stood up to the corrupted public sector and spared no one be it yo ...

• mary 11 years ago

MAHAMA HAS TO GO!! HE IS KILLING US SOFTLY. HE HAS TO GO, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!! WHAT ARE ALL THOSE STAFF DOING AT THE GOVT HOUSE?

• Abena 11 years ago

His work will cut across all govt institutions.

• Ugly Akufo Addo 11 years ago

JDM is our hope , we love u Mr President

• de 11 years ago

Mr President, it is very important that in addressing this situation you don't shy away from using the right words to describe attitudes and conducts. "Stealing" and "corruption" described only as "waste in the system" even r ...

• KWAA 11 years ago

Uptill now,no Government in Ghana is prepared to strenghen our institutions,because of fear that it may catchup with them. As long as we are doing things hapharzadly nothing will change.If we really want to change how things ...

• KK 11 years ago

My comment is simple: the comments I read here makes me feel very bad.It tells me Ghana has no future with the young guys not being critical thinkers. Their criticisms are simplly based on heresay and not grounded on sound kn ...

• RPG 11 years ago

The NDC gov't's corruption, looting and thievery has crossed the tipping point, and clearly, John Mahama cannot see his way clear, because there are skeletons in his cupboard, that is why, he's operating on the periphery.
    Wo ...

• kyei yeboah 11 years ago

There is a lot of waste mr. President but why didn't you see it since you started in politics as mp through your vice presidency era till now? U see you are now carrying the burden for your I dnt care attitude

• Lord Tennison 11 years ago

(a)Reduce the size of the government.
    (b)Privatize any state establishment that can be privatized.

• OBAA YAA 11 years ago

Ghanaweb, can you for once replace this accountant looking office of the incompetent president with a presidential looking picture

• sam. 11 years ago

things seem to increase in prices every day so there is no way mr president you reduce salaries.what you have to do is to put in plce measures to stop business from charging exorbitant prices and also bring in measure to con ...

• jagadu 11 years ago

Your deputy minister for finance, Mona Quartey just said the ghost names are not responsible for the waste. What a stupid woman! Reduce the number of ministers, deputy ministers and all the errand boys at the flagstaff house ...

• HMMMN 11 years ago

Lol...

• Listen to that criminal over there 11 years ago

But who is more waste than you

• Mawuli 11 years ago

Remove them including the glutinous perks of your team. There is no need for free accommodation, 5 househelps, the V8 Toyota Landcruiser that cost us $100,000 each, uniform allowance, entertainment allowance etc. Just remove. ...

• Glo 11 years ago

He should also tighten his own belt while he is trying to make the public sector more efficient.

• MAKE ME LAUGH 11 years ago

Assembly of duduis brainstorming? Do they have brains? That dudui storming will be very interesting indeed.

• DENSU 11 years ago

Mr Prez, I suggest you tackle what you call "waste" before seeking any help from IMF because it will also go "waste" if the necessary checks are not in place

• jjp 11 years ago

YOU AND UR GOVERNMENT ARE WASTE TO GHANA'S GROWTH. SHUT UP

• Jimi Jimi Sowatey 11 years ago

NTAFUO ARE SUPPOSE TO RUN CATTLE NOT HUMANS

• KKO 11 years ago

What a waste of space! You have been around for five years. What have you done all this while? Ghana is doomed.

• Godwin. 11 years ago

It is God who appoint leaders so anybody who insult a leader insult God.We should not forget that it is only God who can change Mahama.

• K Smith CPFA(UK) 11 years ago

Ghanaians feel they know it all. When the so called Institute of Chartered accountants of Ghana was formed relevant areas such as Cost and management accountancy and Public Finance were ignored. Professionally trained account ...

• Adjoa Bisa 11 years ago

It beggars belief that it takes Mr. Prez almost 8 years of being in power to notice that there is something terribly rotten in the Ghana Civil Service? It is laughable. No wonder the nation is retrogressing. Mr. Prez, take yo ...

• Asoreba 11 years ago

You are coming around but not fully there. Yes, there is WASTE, but there is more STEALING!!!!

• Kofi 11 years ago

Who purchase the military aircrafts during Atta Mills administration and inflated the price massively?

• K Duah 11 years ago

You should known better Mr. President, I think the President do not care on the people and the country.

• Ghanani Ba 11 years ago

Mr. Prez, thanks for this observation about the waste in the system. But please consider these issuee also. 1. The retired Ambassadors, government officials whose appointments are renewed and being renewed all the time is ...

• Smart Frempah, UK 11 years ago

THE MORE I READ FROM OUR PRESIDENT THE MORE MY TUMMY CHURNS: Several initiatives have been undertaken and are underway to tighten expenditure controls…and address any leakages in the management of our public expenditure. Th ...

• Newman, Ada 11 years ago

dear mahama, check the 600+ workers at the flags staff house first if u are to be taken serious. so many promises from our president on imf bailout. We are waiting to see.

• NTIKUMA ANANSE 11 years ago

WHEN BATURE SAID JOHN MAHAMA WAS NOT READY FOR THE PRESIDENCY, MAHAMA'S ANSWER WAS THAT, HE WAS AN MP FOR MANY YEARS, DEPUTY MINISTER FOR YEARS, THEN MINISTER FOR MORE YEARS, THEN VICE PRESIDENT AND NOW PRESIDENT. THE QUESTIO ...

• yaa 11 years ago

What about you? Say what you know not juat anything.

• kk 11 years ago

Mahama just do something for once and stop always promising, aaba!!!

• Mansa 11 years ago

Ghana, you are a WONDERFUL country!!! We are such magicians that haaaaarrrddcore socialists, overnight, after talking to some white men in Washington who promise to give them kaple, suddenly begin to talk like ruthless and pa ...

• KWAME KWAME 11 years ago

The Ghanaian team should not focus only on macroeconomic stability and institutional reforms as was done during the structural adjustment era of the 1980s and 90s. but should also negotiate coherent strategies to address mark ...

• Mansah 11 years ago

It's all at your feet... didn't you know that? What have you done about it? Mr. Prez???

• DENETE 11 years ago

too late

• king doveman 11 years ago

you good for nothing visionless,clueless president tackling corruption when you yourself facilitate the fraud at NSS and you claim you're tackling it.good for nothing president of the 21th century.Criminals indeed

• GREAT MIND 11 years ago

Who does this little mind thing he wants to receive this time round, This president is a disgrace to youth in this country

• Mike 11 years ago

We have never in Ghana seen a perfect failure in the presidency except what we are experiencing now, failed John Mahama.

This Russian/Soviet trained guy is a complete failure and a presidential illiterate in all its forms ...

• KnYc(USMC) 11 years ago

President of Waste J. Mahama, start cleaning yourself up be4 cleaning your moron party people.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 11 years ago

Opepeni Mahama, clean flagstar house as well before public sector. Your waste product because your performance is very poor.

• Apuu Etaa 11 years ago

Mr.President,stop leading from behind.Didn't he know that there is waste in public sector?He should have not come out to mmake comment on it if media had not taken initiative to make this obvious corruption known in public.

• GREAT MIND 11 years ago

Who does this fikkle mind think he is receiving this time round.In fact, this president who claims to be youthful is a disgrace to youth in Ghana.

• Mike 11 years ago

John mahama and the NDC are going to be the first to be sacked from public service in order to reduce the wage bill.

IMF has never worked wonders in two years in any country! So pack your things and get ready to leave the ...

• WHO CARES 11 years ago

Caution, people who use this medium to hail insults on political leaders must desist from that, it is God who make leaders they are not put there by man. Anyone who disrespects leaders are fighting God; if the person is not y ...

• apuuu 11 years ago

Mr. President if there is a lot of waste in the public sector then there is a lot waste in your administration you need to downside your government to many deputy ministers who are hustlers do nothing and if public secto ...

• blessing 11 years ago

This is a very good one but the waste Mr president is there because you have created them. Two deputy ministers for what? I think you need to do something about that please.

• CITIZEN ONE - EUGENICS 11 years ago

Oh really! While at it make sure Directors and their civil service subordinates drive themselves to work and stop that lazy job description called "DRIVER".

• ASUMADU EMESEWOELI, HO, VOLTA REGION 11 years ago

THIS MAN HAS NEVER BEEN READY TO LEAD. EVERY CHALLENGE IS A NEW THING TO HIM DESPITE THE ACCLAIM OF THE PROPAGANDISTS THAT HE HAS EXPERIENCE. EXPERIENCE IS LIFE LIVED IN A SITUATION. IT IS PRACTICAL. THAT IS WHY A 30 YEAR OLD ...

• MARFO 11 years ago

GOD WILL BLESS YOU FOR THAT EVEN IF YOU DO NOT WIN 2016.