GES endorses Labone SHS' dismissal of 250 students

Read Comments Comments (34)

• Ghanaman3 11 years ago

Didn't the Ministry say there was no dismissal?

• DR KUFFOUR 11 years ago

Thank you. Ask the reporter Starrfm. They are the people making the faults reporting bcos they just report stories without having the facts of the matter. It may not be the Ministry's fault bcos we didn't hear it from them bu ...

• XXX 11 years ago

NOT THE FAULT OF THE CHILDREN. LISTEN TO THE CHILDREN AND FIND OUT WHAT WENT WRONG

• KWAA II 11 years ago

The minitry says no dismissal, GES says we endorse. Whichis which?

Please, we didn't hear that story from the Ministrys or GES but both were reported by Starrfmonline. These so call reporters will never look for facts before going to press. All they report or write is base on " hearsay ". So ...

• Lord Tennison 11 years ago

Not surprising.They are not your children.How many more will be disillusioned in due course?The cash strap and misplaced priorities in the education system may be contributory factors too.Do not pass the buck by pointing fing ...

• MKB 11 years ago

GES,why don't you set up a committee to look into the standard of teaching at the school? They draw their salaries and cannot even provide parents with terminal reports for them to know how their wards are performing. Several ...

• BOWONDA 11 years ago

I fully endorse the comments of both Lord Tennison and MKB. The Akans have a proverb that: SE KOKONTE NENYIM GU ASE A BI KA NKRUMAH [If Kokonte is disgraced it affects Okro as well; since both go together!] Is the school happ ...

• Sigma, London 11 years ago

I support the headmistress and GES 100%. The sacked students should be put into sub-standard schools.

• Boss 11 years ago

Nonsense to support this and to say that put them in sub-standard schools. What is a sub-standard school. Something is really wrong with the educational system. In other places, such a measure would have attracted an investig ...

• Eugene. 11 years ago

seriously what are 'lower standards school'. if the students did not do well in ' a standard school'..., what are the chances They Will do well in the so
    called ' sub-standard schools'?
    and if indid 250 students failed in ...

• THE TRUTH 11 years ago

I can't believe what I am reading.Sigma London do you live in London? where the only people who get the sack in a failing school is the Head.

• kojo 11 years ago

u fool waa

• Mustapha Rahman 11 years ago

The bigger question is why do we have to result to dismissal of students for non performance? The higher ups at GES and the School in question should be ashamed of their actions towards these students. If there is anyone to b ...

• Amega 11 years ago

Ghana ay3 d3 papaapa! What kind of country bi dis! GES and Education ministry wetin?

Starronline, yesterday you reported that someone told you all the students were in school and nobody was sent home. And here you are saying The GES endorsed the sacking of the students. So which is it? SACKED OR NOT SACKED?

• Tawiah 11 years ago

The onus lies on parents to also make sure their SHS children stay home and study, so if per the prospectus agreement they haven't shown to be doing that, then I think the Labone School is better of dismissing all the 250 stu ...

• Ruth 11 years ago

If the students are not performing at the required standards, it is the fault of the teachers and administration and NOT the students. The school should offer remedial courses for those students. They should work with them. T ...

• kpv 11 years ago

what kind of director general is this? is there not any other way of assisting the students than to dismiss them? in ghana here our leaders fail to think properly. just imagine the response of the so call director general. ...

• JOE 11 years ago

Send them packing

• OPOKU MANU 11 years ago

HORRIBLE...SICKENING...FLABBERGASTING..IN TODAY'S WORLD,STUDENTS BEING DISMISSED FOR POOR PERFORMANCE!

• YOOMOBEGA 11 years ago

Either we decentralize the GES, or we disband it. It is not working properly.

• jato bibio 11 years ago

In my previous contribution I indicated the HEADMISTRESS in connection with another in WAEC are into computer fraud ie changing of exams result for money. Pls where is BNI

• kwaku prince 11 years ago

ayeekoo ghana.they must to back and try again.than complaine because our country education is money if not the perent will lost

• Adu 11 years ago

Where do they want the kids to go? To the streets? A nation that does not have the stamina to educate its children is doomed to fail. I see no good reason to send the kids away. Let the minister explain. I'm worried about the ...

• truth 11 years ago

Grow up folks. Is lack of relevant educational materials causing these children to fail. Most of these teachers need to go back to the classroom and UPGRADE themselves.

• Kofi - USA 11 years ago

I THOUGHT THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION SAID NO STUDENT HAS BEEN DISMISSED. SO WHERE LIES THE TRUTH. THIS ADMINISTRATION CAN NOT EVEN TELL A SIMPLE TRUTH TO SAFE ITS LIFE. THE SAME THING HAPPENED WITH STUDENTS NOT PERFORMING WELL ...

• Kwasi Poku Acheampong 11 years ago

The school authorities should rather make a deep introspection as to the effectiveness of their teaching methods and devise professional ways of assisting these students on a one to one basis. The non performance involving su ...

• appiah 11 years ago

The only reason why all the developed nations seek to educate all its citizens, including the lazy and disabled is the fact that whatever anybody is doing he/she can do it better if he/she is educated. Nobody/citizen should b ...

• JH New York 11 years ago

Is the Director General of GES,Charles Aheto-Tsegah, the Headmaster/ Headmistress and Staff of Labone High Sch,alright !. How could a parent whom do not take part in the lessons taught in the Classroom be made to Sign such un ...

• JH New York 11 years ago

Correction:
    It's wrong to sacked the Students without the assessment of Teachers/
    Teaching performance.Anyway.

• kofi mereku 11 years ago

Take it easy folks; the Director General is my good friend, but he may be one of the several Ghanaians who delude themselves into thinking "passing the WASSCE very well to obtain admission in the university is the major or on ...

• kofi mereku 11 years ago

At a period when the Honourable Minister of Education and her able team are working hard to remove inefficiencies in the educational system, such as the one demonstrated by the SHS head in question; and at a time when the JM ...

• Nanguri Filami Yaributi 11 years ago

academic institutions world-wide routinely withdraw non performing students. remedial instruction is not their responsibility. GES is not breaking with tradition or committing any violation. call a brick a brick