Stop eating bats, monkeys; Ebola is no joke - Mahama

Read Comments Comments (126)

• Fo Koku - Tanyingbe 9 years ago

MAHAMA TELL THESE NPP FOOLS

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MARTIN A.B.K. AMIDU....

It would appear that those in control of the NDC, for the time being, were bent on excluding other bona fide members of the Party who may wish to lay democratic claims to who becomes the ne ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

Stop fooling and support Mahama's efforts at ensuring that people do not get the disease. You think Ebola will be Asante thing only. This is no joke or foolish talk matter. Speak constructively.

BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHERE DID GHANAIANS GO WRONG TO SUFFER LIKE THIS? YOU MAHAMA BUILDING YOUR HOTELS ABROAD, AFRIYIE ANKRA BUYING MANSIONS AT EAST LEGON, OKUDJETO ACQUIRING FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER, TOGBUI AF ...

• TP 9 years ago

What does ur comment has to do with the subject matter?

• Pround pepeni. 9 years ago

WELL DONE MR PRESIDENT. YOUR ADVICE IS TIMELY. AS YOU SAID, IF YOU INSIST ON EATING THESE ANIMALS, YOU HAVE TO TAKE SERIOUS PRECAUTIONS. EBOLA IS A DANGEROUS AND SERIOUS DISEASE. PLEASE, PLEASE, DON'T JOKE WITH THIS.

• dani 9 years ago

THIS IS THE 1ST TIME MAHAMA IS TEELING TRUTH SINCE HE TOOK POWER HE IS RIGHT ON THIS ONE 100%MONKEYS ,BATS AND EVEN BIRDS CARRY EBOLA THAT IS A FACT THAT IS NOT IN DESPUTE

• Ekow Dadzie 9 years ago

IF YOU THINK EATING BATS AND MONKEYS IS THE CAUSE OF EBOLA THEN YOU ARE LIVING ON A DIFFERENT PLANET. SINCE WHEN HAVE AFRICANS EATEN BATS AND MONKEYS. GO TO CENTRAFRICA, THE 2 CONGOS, CAMEROON AND GABON AND YOU WILL SEE THE T ...

• dani 9 years ago

EBOLA DEVOLOP IN THE LAST YEAR THE AMERICANS ARE 100% RIGHTS AND SO ARE THE EUROPIANS NO ONE IS DECEVING US
    HERE IT IS FACT OF LIFE THAT EBOLA
    IN THE LAST FEW YEARS DID CAME FROM THE WILD

• Ekow Dadzie 9 years ago

I really don't understand your written english; can you rephrase your piece?

• Free Thinker 9 years ago

Thank you Ekow. I hope all Africans, especially Mahama, will wake and realize that this is is a biological weapon against Africans. No African is responsible. It is solely created by the west to retard our economic developmen ...

• Me 9 years ago

Son you need to wake up and stop this backward mindset. Learn to take responsibilities for yourself.

• Papa Sam NYC 9 years ago

You made a great point Mr. Dadzie. This president, and perhaps other leaders in Ghana have fallen for the propaganda that Ebola originated from eating bats and monkeys. You begin to ask if the President is aware how long our ...

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

I think he just know how to taunt his opponents.

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

Knows how to taunt his opponents.

• Eye Yen Dargartefor 9 years ago

It's only a foolish President like John Dramani Mahama who would sarcastically taunt a tribe/group of people of what they eat. Bear in mind that it is not proven any where that eating bat or bush meat causes an outbreak of Eb ...

• from Zabzugu Taretare 9 years ago

The president is lying over the issue. Let him stop this nonsense. The first case of ebola i the West African sub region can be traced back to a two years old girl from Guinea. Was she a cannibal? Did she participate in the w ...

• SENSEI 9 years ago

ARE YOU TELLING THE WORLD THAT THERE IS A TRIBE IN GHANA WHO FEED ON ANIMAL SHIIT? COME ON MAN YOU DO NOT MEAN IT.THESE ASHANTIS CLAIM TO BE THE RICHEST PEOPLE IN THE BUSH OF GHANA WHERE THEY BELONG. HOW COME A RICH PERSON FE ...

• Onipa Y3 Good 9 years ago

Well, we the Ashanti we like monkeys and bats because it is sweet.

How can you tell us to stop eating our most precious delicacy. Akranti3 pooh pooh. We are the world.
    Grasscutter shit is sweeet, monkey is sweet, bat is s ...

• Ali 9 years ago

Join the northerners and the Brong in eating dogs. Dogs do not spread EBOLA. Bat have diplomatic visas and can fly across borders without going through immigration. The bat and monkey eating Akan/Asante will be the first vict ...

• PAPA 9 years ago

ABOA FUNU, I AM A BRONG, I HV NEVER EATEN A DOG BEFORE, STOP YOUR PREDUJICE NONSENSE, KWASIA BI BA. I ALSO BELONG TO THE AKAN TRIBE SO STOP INSULTING AKANS AND ASHANTES.

• Repugnant. 9 years ago

There are designer viruses in circulation fed to animals wild animals. Take Mahama's advice seriously, beware of meat.

Every one must find a way to boost their immune system. Grow your own foods without chemicals. Avoid th ...

• Ricky 9 years ago

You need a brain implant but who is going to donate part of his/hers so you will remain brainless until you die. You are a tribalistic bastard may you roast in hell. Big FOOL!

• Gerline 9 years ago

What sane person eat bats & monkeys?

• francis zappa 9 years ago

Oh! Come to Barbados. Nuff monkey. Then Wok This Way to Fu King restaurant for dog soup. To Paris for frog legs and horse. Cambodia serve big fried spiders. But avoid all f that and just have a cup of black ivory coffee made ...

Ehh Mr President, we the NPP believe in bush meat, monkeys, and bats.

Are you starving us? Ebola no Ebola, "All Die be Die". Did you forget our Onipa Mr. Shortie?
    "Mokeys, ohh, Monkeys ohh y3 b3 di"

• Ricky 9 years ago

People like you are making the Ghana/the planet we live on a miserable place. What is wrong with you, when are you going to put your stupid tribal hatred aside and live in the real world with love and respect, you are an imbe ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

That is what his wife cook for him everyday, FOOL.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A guy walks into a bar with his pet monkey. He orders a drink, and while he's drinking, the monkey jumps all over the place, eating everything behind the bar. Then the monkey jumps on to the pool table and swallows a billiard ...

Author:..Rastafara"I"...

She just rented a hotel room at market rate!!! People.

Mahama brother took millions from a bank and said he will not pay because his brother is president...
    Even a Gyan's brother can beat up ...

• GHANABA 1 9 years ago

Mahama has become practitioner doctor.
    I think mahama should stop his corrupt practices to help people get a better job and can buy a better meat instead.

Author:..Proud pepeni...

THE PROBLEM AS SOMEONE SAID IS THAT EVEN THOUGH THE BNI DID'T TAKE BRIBE, LET US WATCH OUT THAT THE JUDGES DON'T TAKE BRIBES AND LET THEM OFF. IT HAPPENS THAT LOWER DOWN OFFICIALS TRY TO DO THEIR ...

• jOEy lOndOn 9 years ago

You are a class "A" fool period!

• Chaskele 9 years ago

We are expecting a lot more from you - You are the worst leader I have ever encountered. I wake everyday wondering what made me vote for you

What else do you wanted him to do? A sperm doner?Worst leader ke?When institutions are operateing lawfully or fo you think admistrating a nation like Ghana is like managing a Garli kiosk?

• Joseph Dagher 9 years ago

Bush meat such as bats etc are not the cause of the Ebola epidemic. All the Amazon jungle tribes consume bush meat as a source of protein, and they are all healthy. The wars in Sierra-leone and Liberia are to blame as the war ...

• rOB 9 years ago

People have been eating bats,monkeys and rats in Ghana ever since our forefathers settled here and we've never had a known case of Ebola here. The immediate threat from Ebola is not from eating any wildlife but from this unw ...

• Roman 9 years ago

You are a FOOOOOOOL.

• Ada Boy 9 years ago

Fool, keep your medieval thinking to yourself!Your comments mirror the utmost stupidity of our ways,always looking for someone to blame than taking responsibility.The Ebola threat is real,eating fruit bats and monkeys that ar ...

• rOB 9 years ago

Some people here are talking big talk and insulting us. Go ahead. Do you see Nigeria and Ivory coast making plenty heroic noise?
    Do you think it's because they are cowards? They are bolder,richer and more sophisticated natio ...

• Amega 9 years ago

Mr. President, think well, please. The UN has a plan to depopulate the world, and the starting point is Africa where they think we are overpopulated. Making Ghana the coordinating hub for Ebola is a subtle way of spreading th ...

• Mike 9 years ago

You are absolutely right.

Stop this nonsense joe. The first case of ebola i the West African sub region can be traced back to a two years old girl from Guinea. Was she a cannibal? Did she participate in the wars that rocked the two nations? Reason up

• Setho 9 years ago

Ah! That's is truly spoken

• jaga 9 years ago

a LAW MUST BE PASSED TO PROSECUTE THE BAT EATERS...ANT ON E CAUHT EATING BAT WILL TO PRISON FOR TWENTY YEARS..

• ATINGA 9 years ago

I DO NOT THINK THAT IS FAIR BÇOS ALL THE ASHANTIS AND AKYEMS WILL GO TO PRISON B;COS THE BAT, MONKEY ETC ETC ARE THIER SPECIAL DELICACY.
    THE EWES PROVIDED THEM WITH K-OO-BI TO SUPPLEMENT THE MONKEY-MEAT BUT B,COS OF THIER ...

• Edward 9 years ago

Ghana is becoming a very uncivilized country full of morons and primitive human beings

There is an outbreak you take measure,is this to bad for the president to advice Ghanaians,what does this got to with corruption.A wor ...

• Eddie 9 years ago

There isn`t money to have food on the table for families,i don`t know about you... Is a chain reaction because the monies which needs to be invested in providing jobs,or developement go into wrong hands,and you asking us what ...

• Nana Asare 9 years ago

I THINK JOHN MAHAMA SHOULD ASK HIS SCIENTISTS TO DO A LITTLE BIT OF RESEARCH ON EBOLA BEFORE START TALKING NON-SENSE. EBOLA IS A VIRUS CREATED BY THE AMERICAN TO KILL PATRICE LUMUMBAR THE PRESIDENT OF CONGO. HOWEVER WHEN THIN ...

• FUNNY THAT 9 years ago

Dont write what you do not know. The Belgium army killed Lummumba by means of acid applications. Get yourself conversant with facts of history, you twerb.What goes around, comes around.Apart from this topic I would like to co ...

• ATUONI ASIKANTWAA 9 years ago

Nana, what you are saying is true. Try to read a book called " EMERGING VIRUSES, HIV and EBOLA"; written by a guy called HOROWITZ.
    HIV and EBOLA are American CIA experiments on Biological Warfare gone wrong.
    The first try ...

• Amega 9 years ago

Why can't govt encourage herbal/traditional medical practitioners like Agrata,etc to produce medicines so that we start with some solutions for treating Ebola virus. I trust our people can do something.

• AKOROGO 9 years ago

THIS IS THE VERY PRESIDENT THE "KOKOASE" PEOPLE HATE SO MUCH. HE DON'T HATE YOU PEOPLE SO KINDLY LISTEN TO HIS ADVICE B;COS YOU ARE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN GHANA WHO FEED ON THESE ANIMALS MENTIONED AS GOOD CARRIERS OF THE EBOLA V ...

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

I hope they listern

• AKAN JEALOUSYs 9 years ago

Keep on hating them ...THE COCOA FARMERS MAKE GHANA PROUD ...THE AKANS MAKE GHANA...NOT THE CAT EATERS ...SMUGGLERS AND DEAD DOG EATERS ...

• mickey 9 years ago

Is this supposed to be a piece of advice or what? I choose what I eat! Rubbish!

• Dr Bawumia 9 years ago

The txt msg sent to the Prez was abt u, shame!!

• Photosy. 9 years ago

I find this interesting, Bats, Ghanaians have been eating bats since and we have never heard of Ebola, Akranties ? Yes I believe a lot of Ghana's eat Akrantie. But read this, it's a beautiful ending to an article I read yeste ...

• John Allotei 9 years ago

Nice one my friend, Now we should all refer to our bushmeat as a Wild Game and let see they change their name or begin to see things the same way as do.

• MKO ABIOLA LONDON 9 years ago

this is what is called the power of suggestion. the president is preparing you for the impending news that there is Ebola in Ghana. Ladies the truth of the matter is EBOLA IA IN GHANA ALREADY. the govt had purposely kept it s ...

• Photosy. 9 years ago

Stop this cock and bull story about bats been reservoirs of EBOLA virus. Africa has been living with Bats and Monkeys from creation, eating bats and monkeys from creation Mr President. The world is calling for UN security inv ...

• NAS-LONDON 9 years ago

MAHAMA TELLS IT AS IT IS !!!!!!!

• puzzie patrol 9 years ago

ebola is real you corrupt cartoons, stop eating baboons, pigs, faggots and maggots.

• JJR GROUP. 9 years ago

Foolish ghanaians

• Benny 9 years ago

It is not these animals that are chambers of EBOLA. The eating of human fresh is the result. Ghana we never eat fresh of humans so nobody ought to entertain any fears. Also we in Ghana do abide by hygienic behavior especially ...

In the 70s when it's was popping
    up and down in the then Zaire were they eating human flesh? Wake up from your slumber..

• POOR MANAGEMENT NDC 9 years ago

MR PREZ , DEER AND ANTELOPES MEAT DOESN'T HAVE EBOLA . I DO EAT DEER AND ANTELOPES IN USA EVERY MONTH.

• MUHAMMAD KAAMIL. 9 years ago

Sodomy.
    Intoxicants.
    Usury.
    Adultery.
    Dead meat.
    Free-mixing,of male and female.
    Are the reason for epidemic diseases.

• OH GEE 9 years ago

Open ur eys Ebola is not cause by those animals! IT from lab!

• POOR MANAGEMENT NDC 9 years ago

STOP USING WHATSAPP AND FOCUS ON OUR JOB AS PREZ . LAZY NDC ADMINISTRATION .

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA TELL RAWLINGS TO TALK TO JIS EWES TOGOLESE AND YOU MAHAMA TALK TO YOUR FRAFRA NTAFUO PEPEFUO DOG EATERS PERIOD

• Kwasi atta 9 years ago

Ashantis are bastards Moosi children , Ghana from gold cost you bush Ashantis do you have sea or cost Ashantis are monkeys in the bush.

• kay 9 years ago

Please JM, you have the right to use what's up, tango etc but stop associating yourself officially with these social media websites. It's obviously a 'cheap' way to brand yourself as a president.

• TEE 9 years ago

USELESS CLUELESS AIMLESS INCOMPETENT THIEF SO-CALLED LEADER

• Kwasi atta 9 years ago

Why u are soo stupid ? I told u befor u are stupid than ur father, you Ashantis eat evrything even shit, the President dont want you to ...

• zaks 9 years ago

mahama u ll go down as de most disgraceful leader in de history of ghana bcuz u were nt meant to be president ur criminal Affari Djan who u bribe 5000000$ to impose u on ghana ll suffer de pain of death on dis planet n god l ...

• YENTI 9 years ago

THIS "PRESIDENT" APPARENTLY THINKS EVERY GHANAIAN CAN AFFORD MEAT, MUTTON AND POULTRY PRODUCTS.

MUMU!

• prophetess 9 years ago

You got it wrong Mr President. EBOLA is a biological weapon created by the American government. They already have vaccines for it but want to spread to greater part of the world before they release the vaccines. Please Africa ...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Since this virus came out, I wrote on this site that it was man-made but some people asked me to prove it scientifically. We Africans will always be at the receiving end because we are always thinking about stomach.

Man a ...

• unknown 9 years ago

prophetees u'er 100% right EBOLA is a biological weapon created by the americans duering the COLD WAR I red it in a magezine few years ago. they start it from congo and now thye are spreading it everywhere BIG PROBLEM to the ...

• appea 9 years ago

Please president MAHAMA Please make this announcement for ashantis bush people are hungry of meat they can eat anything but please tell them in other to stop eating bush meat folk

Now I understand why they are so so. Monkey paaaa, and bat and worms.

• K.K.S 9 years ago

Ebola has come to save bush animals. Let us dance to the tune, its real

• shokolokobankoshey 9 years ago

Stop eating bats ,monkeys,and dogs.

• junker 9 years ago

mahama u fool ebola go caught u in few days kwasiaaaaaaaaa

• WISDOM 9 years ago

TELL THAT TO THE AKUFFO ADDICT AND HIS PEOPLE FROM THE ASHANTI REGION. THE EAT ALL CREEPIES.

• joe d 9 years ago

ebola is man made virus to kill Africans.Why is the president not smart on this.

• OBTT 9 years ago

AWAY WITH THE SENSELESS MESSAGE. WE HAVE A HEALTH MINISTER. DON'T WE?

• true 9 years ago

u r a liar. Mahama won d election cleanly.truly, Ghanaians voted him.it is jas dat sam mistakes were committed. so u are not factual at all.Ghanaians do not want NANA, period!!!

• GHANA FIRST 9 years ago

Let us go vegetarian a while
    Beside ebola got many advantages

• JUSTICE 9 years ago

WE ARE KILLING OURSELVES, WHAT A COUNTRY!

• Pelicles 9 years ago

Mahama, what is your prove that these animals are the carriers of Ebola virus? Go to Brazil. The natives living in the Amazon forest have been eating these animals and we are yet to hear them exhibiting any signs of a virus ...

The fact that Amazonian species hasn't contacted this deadly virus shouldn't play the key fact.Asked a Congolese who survived this nasty shit and you will be grateful for what j.d.m just stated...

• Pelicles 9 years ago

There is a bat nest or whatever at 37, when was the last time that someone living around that vicinity get the Ebola virus? Also, if you are a Ghanaian, when was the last time you heard anyone anywhere eating a monkey, bat ...

• JUSTICE 9 years ago

IGNORANT WILL KILL GHANAIANS.

• AdaBoy 9 years ago

SAY IT LOUD AND CLEAR,OUR STUPIDITY AND IGNORANCE IS UNMATCHED!

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

stop stealing and buying hotels in dubai, Mr. Kofi Dubai

• francis zappa 9 years ago

Who is he speaking to?
    There are about 1.4 billion Chinese who eat anything that moves. from fresh monkey brain, snake, bush rat, frog, eel, live octopus with its brain removed, disembodied human toe in your drink, whole f ...

I dont know whether the president Mahama is a fashion designer or advertising himself instead of working. Shame

• Obiri Yeboah. Lond 9 years ago

Mr President thank you for your unnecessary kindness .I never knew you have completed Medical school, you are advising the people not to eat the bush meat ,it is very good to talk to the people,but remember one can not go to ...

• Mr. Arhin 9 years ago

San Francisco - AIDS and Ebola viruses did not originate from monkeys left alone in the wild - they were bioengineered in American laboratories. So says an internationally known public health authority with Harvard credential ...

• Edward 9 years ago

Clearly we have lot our sense as a country,foolish and poor judgement of everything.We think insult makes as civil?

• SPIDER IN HIS WEB 9 years ago

We have eaten bats and monkey since creation and they did not give us ebola till 2014? Here is a president who takes foreign propaganda at face value and our enemies, who are totally responsible for this outbreak, are laughin ...

• kwaku yaw 9 years ago

You Don't understand. Mahama wants us to eat dog

• impromptus 9 years ago

Work to improve the economy and people will naturally eat your type of food.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

You think the flying animals can carry Ebola, but not the crawling ones on the dirty grounds. This sounds like a typical NDC theory and policy. Whenever Ebola is going to be found in Ghana, its going to be my people - the sna ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

The world is polluted. Chinese eat everything but very strong

• CANDIDO 9 years ago

Commit suicide, impromptu you have a big problem. You go drink acid.The president is telling you the truth take it or leave it.You behaving like a Ghanaian bushman.

• Nii Anyetei Blofonyo 9 years ago

Stop being stupid John Mahama. Stop playing to the fools gallery John Mahama. Ebola is not caused by monkeys, any more than Aids was said to be caused by monkeys. Stop repeating lies and pseudo science. No wonder Ghana ha ...

• Nii Anyetei Blofonyo 9 years ago

Stop being stupid John Mahama. Stop being a fool Mahama.

• frederick- Accra 9 years ago

can mahama just shut up and tackle the dum-sor dum-sor situation which is getting worse by the day???

• Eddie 9 years ago

Mr.President,you are right by asking us to stop eating bush meat. Fact is that we are starving...huge corruption going on everyday in your adminstration is some of the cost of us eating bush meat. What are you doing to help a ...

• KEITH CHICAGO 9 years ago

EBOLA DON'T KNOW A BLACK OR WHITE EVEN ANIMAL SO PLEASE LET TAKE THIS SERIOUS AND SUPPORT THE PRESIDENT.

• Mike 9 years ago

This man doesn't know what he is talking about, ebola is not from monkeys nor bats it was created some scientists. Ok.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A kindergarten teacher comes to class and says, "Today class I am going to give you a letter of the alphabet and I want you to give me a word that begins with that letter." She begins with the letter "A" and all the kids rais ...

• Adroba 9 years ago

That's a very good one for 2016. " NO
    POSSIBLE CARRIERS FOR PRESIDENT"

• mina mianyon 9 years ago

Mr. President,
    Please ask the Holy Spirit to open your ears to hear His voice.
    The two mentioned animals you are repeating are just codes used to refer to us Africans.
    BATS are used to refer to our travellings to their con ...

Mahama should stop these monkey eating nonsense. Why should these rulers continue to peddle lies when they very well new the cause and mode of transmission of this disease? Upon taking millions of dollars in expense of thousa ...

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

Some people were born, washed with cow pee and fed with cow shit never got sick.how A Bat CARRY EBOLA VIRUS GOD created Bat s . these dangerous virus were created by human.you believe wat these cooked crap skin will tell u.

• Agonaba 9 years ago

What about bush rat ?

• Joseph ganyobi 9 years ago

Mr President You really a President who can rule Ghana. ....To eat monkey. ...monkey AND dream of becoming the President of Ghana ....You are a joke. .....the Gold and the Monkey

• naa 9 years ago

Tnk u mr pres, tell Lordina to stop making
    Dogs and snakes soup.its not healthy too.
    Tell ur ndc ppl not to eat monkey,especially
    Aseidu kwasea & aboakwa okumjato.

• C.STEPHEN SACKEY 9 years ago

I'll tell you a story of how some of us, not all,still poopooh this epidemic. Simply, we say it's fate.

But first the story. It goes way back to the mid- 70's in the city of New York. We were newly arrived Africans and eve ...

• BRO DAN -TRC 9 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, INNOCENT PEOPLE OF GHANA, -THE TRUTH- IS; WE WERE HERE WITH GOD BEFORE -'EBOLA'- CAME. AND -IF- THERE IS THE WILLINGNESS, WE CAN TOGETHER SEND -EBOLA- WH ...

• Kofi B 9 years ago

President pleading with his constituents to stop eating bats and monkeys.... You can't make this up!

• Back to basic 9 years ago

We should all get back to basic and stay away from unclean foods. Why should we eat food that God has already forbidden us to eat?