Afari-Gyan to retire after 21 years of dedicated service

Read Comments Comments (118)

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

Kwadwo Afari Gyan did not work for the people of Ghana; he worked for his paymasters in PNDC & NDG. He goes away in disgrace to enjoy his ill-gotten bribes stashed away for himself and his family.

He can look back at the ...

• DAN 9 years ago

SATAN WILL COME TO HIM EVERY NIGHT WHEN HE SLEEPS

• TRUTH HURTS 9 years ago

IS THIS ANIMAL NDC JDM STILL ALIVE? OTUMFUO

This Moron stole VOTES2012 Through Electoral Commission, SUPREME COURT JUDGE ATUGUBA & OTUMFUO ASHANTI CHIEF Through Bribery.

They jointly rigged the elections and Supreme Co ...

• BBC NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

NANA AFARI GYAN WELCOME TO ANYIMOM NEAR JINIJINI WHERE YOU DONT HAVE EVEN A SINGLE ROOM KOT TO SLEEP UPON ALL THE MILLIONS NDC GAVE YOU

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!! 9 years ago

The thief is gone for good. HURRAYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!!!

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:PIFF POFF...
    THE NATIONAL HEALTH INSURANCE HAS COLLAPSED. THE NHIS HASN'T REIMBURSED ALL HEALTH SERVICE PROVIDERS FOR 9 MONTHS NOW BUT THIS IS WHAT THE THIEVING NDC/MAHAMBOLE ARE USING OUR TAX FOR. WHILE THE ACC GENER ...

• Esi Cape 9 years ago

Can this one be prez? he dont understand who a president is! he is just a bussinessman who came to fine money not for his people! just praise him and become a millioneer! what a fool

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

Author:-Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK...
    I agree with Justice Emile Short that the language used by GBA was inappropriate but at the same time, it is true that Afari Gyan's credibility was dented and the image of the Electoral Co ...

• DAVI 9 years ago

HOPE THE FAILED PRESIDENT DO NOT REPLACE HIM WITH THE PALM WINE TAPPER.

• KELE WELE 9 years ago

Ghanaians have lost confidence in EC hence poor turn out in recent EC exercise on the Register. Millions would turn out if Afari Djan' s exit is. CONFIRMED. IS IT DEC 2014 Or 2015?
    DON'T DECEIVE US AGAIN.

• KELE WELE 9 years ago

MAHAMA CAN BRING AFARI DJAN'S MOTHER TO CHAIR EC BUT GHANAIANS WOULD SHOW HIM AT THE POLLS

• kwasi 9 years ago

GAYAN THE FRAUDSTER WILL GO DOWN IN HISTORY AS THE MAN THAT STOLE THE PEOPLE VOTES AND PAID JUDGE ATUGBA MONEY TO DECLAIRE MAHAMA PRESIDENT

• daladam 9 years ago

he should of been in jail for his stealing the people votes and using wyomi money to bribe judge atugba
    to declaire mahama the winner and now we have been payibg the price fot it

• KELE WELE 9 years ago

MAHAMA CAN BRING AFARI DJAN'S MOTHER TO CHAIR EC BUT GHANAIANS WOULD SHOW HIM AT THE POLLS IN 2016

• BOY KUMASI 9 years ago

They are ever ready to display what they can do best on the Streets and that's why the Preventive Detention Act initiated by Nkrumah was good for their founders. Bad losers !

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

WE WILL FOREVER BE STREET PARTY AS LONG AS YOU FOOLS REMAIN IN POWER, AFTERALL WE MADE NKRUMAH DIED AS A REFUGEE IN KANKAN GUINEA HAHAHAHA!!

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 9 years ago

Kwasea,aboa beast. What has this got to do with the clean man,Osagyefo Dr.Kwame Nkrumah? After so many Commissions of Enquiries instituted by the good-for-nothing National Liberation Council headed by the dumb, Apakye/cripple ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

YOUR SOUTHERN GHANA WHERE YOU HAVE TURNED INTO TOILET? KWASEA DO YOU THINK THERE IS ANY PLACE IN GHANA FAR BETTER THAN OTHER? APART FROM ACCRA WHICH IS ALSO BUILT BY US TELL ME WHICH CITY THE SOUTHERNERS HAVE THAT IS A BIT NE ...

I am sorry to trade words with you. Because what you've written shows how shallow your intelligence on facts are. Would you be surprised to know that my father used to be an Agriculture Extension Officer at Damongo and Walewa ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

2 YEARS CONTRUCT HEHEHE NPP IS DEAD

• Affordable 9 years ago

Any time a Ghanaians goes hungry and walks through pain and wails, he Afari-Gwan will bear double the pain simply for his role of imposing on us by conniving, condoning what we had not bargained for. This government is puttin ...

• senior citizen Germany Braunschweig. 9 years ago

After the retirement of Dr Afari Gyan I donot envisage any potential neutral personality politically; to take over the administration of the electoral commission as its chairman,since almost all qualified accademics like Dr A ...

• Jj rawlings. 9 years ago

Africa Gyan has received his money promised by jdm.So after 22years of working as electoral commissioner his ship has finally come in.Your punishment will follow soon after.

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Afari Djan should be sent to go and meet his creator as a result of his deceitful, dishonesty and corrupt activities which has today brought our nation to a bankrupt.

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Humanism is alone in his backward thinking.
    Afari-Gyan served Ghana dutifully and deserves to be praised.

• John 9 years ago

Indeed you are right. He worked for his paymasters and they have paid him. Let him go an enjoy his ill-gotten money as you said. He is rather going with shame and fame.

Guilty conscience. Who was waiting for his retiremen ...

• JOHN 9 years ago

THIEF THIEF

• MANTSE 9 years ago

Next year is 2015 .which is it; 2014?

• ODASANI k. ADWENPAYE 9 years ago

Bravo, Dr. You are an international statesman. This is what the NPP has been waiting to see.All the verbal abuses will be over now. But little do they know that "The devil you know is better than the angel you don't know". Su ...

• DAN 9 years ago

NO TIES TO ndc OR NPP PARTYS!

• dan 9 years ago

WE NEED A NEUTRAL PERSON POLITICALLY TO REPLACE HIM. WHY SHOULD IT BE A POLITICAL APPOINTMENT?? THAT IS IF YOU WANT NEUTRALITY?

• BOY KUMASI 9 years ago

The Npp can never win the 2016 elections and it is simple as that.

• Awonore Bolga 9 years ago

Do you think Ghana can afford to see your stupid Mahama ruling again in 2016? Tofiakwa !!, Its going to be a civil war then!!!! Its better to die than to see idiots ruling you, your stupid dreams will suprise you

• BOY KUMASI 9 years ago

Ghanaians know how to use their mouths to insult but they know no civil war bcos of the love they have for their country so you are rather the fool.

• HON SHAMO 9 years ago

So those countries with civil war were created like that, God told them i am creating you to go and have civil war? what a big fool! Rwanda was no1 cristan country very meak but it hapend so go and hide fool

• Ugly Akufo Addo 9 years ago

Afari Gyan is a hero

• DAN 9 years ago

how man dutch,french and germans have drill you anus on la beach, nigger boy

• Papa yaw 9 years ago

So what

• Miky 9 years ago

God will punish u everyday.nonsense.

• MAHAMA KILLED MILLS!!! 9 years ago

MAHAMA (MA-HAMMAH) IS A COMPLETE POISONOUS FOOL WITH AN EVIL SANITARY PAD!!!!!!

• ibn abudu @ Canadasheabutter (GhUWR) 9 years ago

You have indeed dedicated your experience & honesty to the Service motherland , Africa & the world in general. You are a true Nkrumasism

We wish to relax & write you autobiography & memoirs .

We wish a healthy retiremen ...

• DAN 9 years ago

this NIGGER WILL BE EYE TO EYE WITH SATAN SOON!

• OBSERVER 9 years ago

AFARI GYAN WANTED AN EARLY EXIT IN 2012 TO ENJOY THE BRIBE HE WAS ALLEGED TO HAVE BEEN GIVEN BY THE NDC. SHAME, SHAME, SHAME.

• Jaro 9 years ago

Good riddance with no regrets

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

Mahama is a fraud. AFARI DWAN is also a fraud. We have heard this retirement since 2012. The next year never comes. Is he retiring December 2014 or 2015? There is always confusion about this man retirement. Ghana will lose no ...

• KELE WELE 9 years ago

HE COULD NOT EVEN DEFINE OVER VOTING. COULD NOT ADMIT HE WAS WRONG IN SIMPLE ERRORS. WE NEED HONOURABLE AND CONFIDENT LEADERS. AFARI GYAN's WEAK POINT

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Just mention one of the several books Afari Gyan wrote! The guy was simply drinking and smoking and had no time for scholarship

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

This guy is a thief and fraud.

• agya 9 years ago

this man belongs in prison.

• Toobi 9 years ago

Ghanaians celebrate people when they are dead and gone.

• kusasi 9 years ago

the world knows npp only discrediting afari gyan.nana the fake lawyer won only 2 regions. this nana is a danger to Ghana peace

• Mahama 9 years ago

My I salute u for tremendous secrifies n work done for mother Ghana. May the Good LORD continue to spare ur life for the next generation to learn.

• Sulemana Sayibu Dokurigu 9 years ago

the massive looting. corruption here corruption there is the caused of Dr. afari Gyan because the election was won by Npp but due to his negligent that led to all suffering in Ghana currently.

• dan 9 years ago

The guy did not know when questioned in court what form C1 was and he could not define the word over-voting. he timidly accepted what Asiedu Nketia defined as over voting. Asiedu N should be made the next EC chairman

• ghanaba 9 years ago

And u think u know better him? U really have a shallow mind indeed. Kwasea

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 9 years ago

KWASEA EC SHIT PETEE MUST GOOO,27 PLUS ZERO OFUI BA,EC THE MOST EVIL MAN TO GHANIANS GOD WILL PUNISH HIM FOR GHANIAN PERIOD

• assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 9 years ago

Things would have been far better now,if afai-gyan had not added more votes
    to ndc.Bob Marley was right when he said "who the cap fit, let them wear it.

• zion a.ayariga 9 years ago

Congrats for your service to Ghana; rest your self and stay bless and be a guidance to your successor and the younger generation.

• DANTE 9 years ago

"The sources further disclosed that the EC Boss whom he described as the most intelligent and practical person ever to preside over the EC..."

UNQUOTE

MT TAKE:

OH GHANA AND INDEED AFRICA!

IS AFARI-GYAN IN ...

• mike 9 years ago

who wrote this article...did he check his date,,am confused,,next year 18 dec,will be 2015,,,,pls checkyour date,,Dr. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, out of office is now here , as the walking encyclopaedia of the EC, would happily retire ...

• Theo 9 years ago

God bless this humble man I salute you

• Momozi 9 years ago

Afari Gyan would have been a proud civil servant going home after 21 years of hard service to the nation. But he compromise his position for NDC to rig the election. Afari Gyan has lost the credibility build for all this 21 y ...

• Yaw Boat 9 years ago

The EC who doesn't know what PDF is all this while is finally going on retirement. his granny's are in trouble with their homework.
    God forgive him.

• Akora Sark 9 years ago

Dr Afari Gyan you worked so hard and achieved so much in life. Just too bad association with NDC corruption has collapsed all your gain. SO sad to end all merits recorded in life very poorly in your last term of service so SH ...

• GOLDMAN 9 years ago

ASIEDU NKETIA COULD BE THE CHOSEN ONE
    IF AFARI DECLARED NPP TWICE AS WINNERS IN ELECTIONS AND HE IS CALLED TRAITOR, THEN THE NAME ABOVE WOULD DO THIER BIDDING.

• Asem 9 years ago

Despite Afari Gyans hard work over the years, he will be remembered for one thing, imposing John Mahama on Ghanaians. At 60 what do you need so much bribes for? If Ghanaians do not get answers from you, God your maker is wa ...

• K47 9 years ago

THEY WON 2 ELECTIONS UNDER YOU.RIGGED?INGRATE.

• WISDOM 9 years ago

Dr well done, you have played your role well. May the Almighty God gives you strength so that you will continue to give your wise counsel to whoever takes your place. BRAVO

• AMIDINI 9 years ago

Whatever you do people will talk against you "either good or bad" Dr Afari Gyan have served mother Ghana to the best of his ability and I wish him well in his future career.

• i'm 17 yrs but wiser than mahama.... 9 years ago

Fool go and die...USELESS MAN..

• Kofi Babone 9 years ago

THE CORRUPT MAN IS RETIRING AT LAST. HE SHOULD RETURN THE GHC35,000,000 THAT MAHAMA-THE-THIEF GAVE HIM TO RIG THE 2012 ELECTIONS FOR NDC. MAY ALLAH PUNISH HIM FOR HIS CORRUPTION.

• Nat 9 years ago

NEXT YEAR WILL BE 2015

• JOE LEO 9 years ago

He is very black and short.
    He is ugly and wicked.
    He has failed more than any other.
    He is more desperate than any other.
    He is highly broke and indebted.
    WHO IS HE????????

• Macho 9 years ago

No one fits this description than our only ALL DIE BE DIE Man.
    HAHAHAAAAA!

• THE ETERNAL PRINCE 9 years ago

GLORY BE TO GOD FOR GIVING US A GEM TO NURSE GHANA'S DEMOCRACY TO ADULTHOOD. IGNORE YOUR DETRACTORS. THEY ARE NOT ENLIGHTENED, ELSE THEY WOULD HAVE KNOWN THAT NANA CAN NEVER BE PRESIDENT. NANA KNOWS THIS. ALL HE WANTED TO DO ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

If Ghana had had about five senior public servants with the caliber and dedication of Afari-Gyan, our country would have benefitted greatly. I wish Afari-Gyan happy days in his retirement. God bless you, sir

• sas 9 years ago

I know he believes in himself that he has and still doing something good for the nation, it's only a fool who doesn't believe in himself.

• GOODMANN 9 years ago

STUPID ANIMAL MAY GOD CURSE YOU FOOL

Afari-Gyan worked as a lecturer and professor in political science at the University of Ghana.- It is not possible to be a lecturer and a professor. The writer should get his terminologies right. Mixing the American and Briti ...

• Ask 9 years ago

Hi Kofi,
    The reporter wrote that Dr. worked as a Lecturer and Prof. are both aforementioned not titles where the former is given when one teach after say obtaining his or her Masters or Ph.D whereas the later is when one aft ...

• Ritewing 9 years ago

Whatever embellishment is given Dr. K. Afari Gyan will not sit well with rational persons who listened or watched his performance when it mattered most. The boss of EC, where he is said to have worked for over two decades, ha ...

• Jo 9 years ago

retire next year 18 december
    2014, whiles this article is published on 12 november 2014?

• ???? 9 years ago

God is de matter judge, keep quiet n suffer hypocrites

• j. Baba 9 years ago

I wish you well and congratulate you for the services rendered to mother Ghana.

• Ezonor 9 years ago

It is only politically and tribally fixated bigots who are condemning Dr Gyan. At least l know he declared both the NDC and the npp winners in this country. It is so surprising that the npp claims the ec is corrupt but when ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

Afari Gyan is a chain smoker and a hard liquor drinker. I don't care what he consumes but I hate him for stealing the election from Nana Addo for the most stupid man, jon Mahama to be president over the people of Ghana.

• hajia 9 years ago

Afari Djan you have served your nation well. Kudos. May the good Lord bless and keep. your detractors would be put to shame. God bless you.

• DAN 9 years ago

GHANAWEB PAAAAA,HOW CAN DECEMBER 18,2014 BE NEXT YEAR.SUCH ELEMENTARY MISTAKES ARE UNACCEPTABLE,TWEEEEAAAA.

• mr amin 9 years ago

if u have done good or bad u know it. afari good buy.

• Olalaa 9 years ago

It seems this article sound confusing , next year will be 2015, we are still in 2014, so is ether the date is wrong or the article is barony, Dr A-Gyan is long over due for retirement this is the difference between a black m ...

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

May Afari GYAN perish with EBOLA OPANIN BOA OPANIN KWASEA YOU ALSO DIE WITH BRAIN CANCER

• @@@@@@@@ 9 years ago

Ur parents are from Togo therefore u careless

• Aboagye Noel Samuel 9 years ago

What is good about this man. He should go away.

• HARD LISTENERS 9 years ago

RETIREMENT IN SHAME AND DISGRACE. imagine him telling the whole world he doesn't know what over voting is. would be the big dent in his career forever.

• YAW ODURO 9 years ago

AFARI GYAN HAS BEEN THE WORST ELECTOTAL COMMISSIONER IN THE WHOLE AFRICA FOR AT LEAST ALLOWING THE SUPREME COURT TO HEAL A NATION. AFARI GYAN DWELLED ON HIS PERSONAL THINKING TO RUN A COUNTRY IN HIS DREAM WORLD CAUSING THE DE ...

• Gyeeda, Sada, Subah, Woyome 9 years ago

One credential claimed by Afari Gyan is that he eased himself at the supreme court by shitting toilet all over his pants and was whisked to the hospital because he was overly nervous. When you take a bribe to retain a thief f ...

• the lone crudader 9 years ago

So he is also part of those who drafted the kangaroo con stitution which has sold ghana to p/ndc kojo and your canters ghana thanks you a lot go home and fight your own concience abi

• BEN DO 9 years ago

USELESS BOY AGYA

• BEN DO 9 years ago

JOHN YOUR FATHER IS A THIEVE

• Kofi Jata 9 years ago

May God almighty punish you. You will be first to go to hell. Kwasia payin.

• Ahmed shirage 9 years ago

Ghanians will surely miss this noble man come what may,you may not like the shape of your head but its yours!He has left an unmach legacy which we are yet to see who can challenge this.He is a man of conscience,his intellectu ...

• Ahmed shirage 9 years ago

MAY GOD BLESS YOU SO MUCH FOR FAILING TO DANCE TOWARDS THE PATH OF DETRACTORS DURING THE 2012 ELECTION PETITION.

• AAN 9 years ago

Congratulations Dr Afari Gyan. No matter what, you have steered the EC with the good people of Ghana. However, after 21 years, you would be sent to the greatest court on earth - your conscience. Your activities would be your ...

• Joe Pasaasa 9 years ago

Afari Gyan,

Master election rigger, God has a special place in hell for you for imposing on us a useless person as Mahama as our president.

Now, look at the mess he has plunged the country into?

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

21 YEARS OF DEDICATED SERVICE INDEED.
    WHAT NEXT, MAHAMA IS LOOKING FOR ANOTHER CROOK TO TAKE OVER FROM AFARI DJAN, AND WE SHALL BE READY FOR THAT STOOGE.

• kwasi 9 years ago

let the loser go home fast

• BAFFOUR -- YAW 9 years ago

Thank God to Afari Gyan to live and see the mess he have cause,clean the office and join the mass ,is over ,we only live once.

The man has supervised six General Elections within twenty 21 years? How should this happen? No wonder he became corrupted in the end."Nsuo kye wo towa mu a ebon" says the Akan adage. This will never happen in any civilized d ...

• Dominic 9 years ago

discerning Ghanaians are very proud of u. You have served ur country well. becos u failed to do de injustice sum pple were looking for during de petition hence de uncivilized attacks on u. stay blessed Dr.

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

FOOLISH MAN

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 9 years ago

KWASEA GYAN

• Princeattapy Ribeiro 9 years ago

The good people of Ghana salute you your honesty, Sir.

• Princeattapy Ribeiro 9 years ago

fari Gyan to retire

• Birdwing 9 years ago

Is Nana Addo...the evil dwarf

• appiah 9 years ago

He is incompetent and dishonest. Like most of the so called socialist young graduates who followed Rawlings and went on to rape Ghana. All these so called socialists have become fabulously rich just for working for the govern ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

He is not going to have rest even in the grave until poor Ghanaians have their peace from this nation reckers and destroyers NDC fools whom he Afari Djan rigged elections for ,the most useless man who has destroys our democra ...

• COMMOM SENSE 9 years ago

BBC NEWS STUPID MAN,THIS IS HOW YOUR DISGRACING YOUR TRIBAL MAN,TRY TO HAVE EDUCATION LIKE HIM,YOU THINK THEY RESPECT YOU.

• Rawlings the MURDERER 9 years ago

tweeeaaa