Police reject “Unscientific” Afrobarometer report

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Bawku naaba 9 years ago

Sir. Don't even try to explain. All this so called think tanks are Npp stooges and will go any length to descredit any thing in this country for the sake of npp. Soon our country will taking over by foreigners to rule us agai ...

• TONY 9 years ago

Some of us are sick and tired of this One Way Report. Is the CDD suggesting that apart from the Police whom the IGP is doing his best to reform, there are no other institutions that are also highly corrupt even more than the ...

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

If the police believe this survey is wrong then they come out with the most corrupt institution in Ghana ….at least they have the resource to investigation…

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

This is not the job of the police. It is for the government (party in power, opposition, religious organizations, traditional leaders and the citizenry -democracy ) to find a way. to stop it.

• Soli 9 years ago

This is nothing more than NZERIBE polls. Not worth any thing. Part of NPP's strategy to sow disaffection for Mahama. Tag on a couple of other figures to lend credibility to fraudulent figures.
    It's all about "SOLI"

• KETEKE ---BOOM BOOM 9 years ago

JUST GO TO THE PORTS AND YOU WILL KNOW WHAT GOES ON AND WHY GHANA IS SINKING. AS FOR POLICE FORGET ABOUT THEIR PESEWA AND TROTRO COLLECTIONS FROM OFFENDERS ESPECIALLY TRAFFIC OFFENDERS. AFTERALL IN THEIR CASE THEY ARE DEALING ...

• Efo Mawuli 9 years ago

The seat of government is happy when it appears to be absolved from any corrupt practices. Was it not the seat of government which overspent its budget by over GHC600 million according to the Auditor-General's report for 201 ...

• Ebolavi 9 years ago

Lawyers are corrupt already. When you concentrate them in govt what do you expect.

• BAAFOUR JERSEY 9 years ago

HOW CAN YOU COME OUT TO DEFEND THE POLICE FORCE? EVERY AVERAGE GHANAIAN WILL TELL YOU GHANA POLICE IS MORE CORRUPT THAN ALL DEPARTMENTS. THE TRUTH HURT

• CORNEY 9 years ago

They are not more corrupt than all the departments in the country,there are more corrupt institutions in Ghana including where you belong and yourself unless you don't know what corruption is.
    Don't blame only the police,it ...

• assemblymember,ahafo-ano south 9 years ago

Don't you feel ashamed to deny being not corrupt

• Ntim 9 years ago

Who in the Ghana police understands scientific to accuse Afrobarometer!!! Corrupt greedy bastards police

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Afro or Colonial, Ghanaians do not need any scientific measure to know that the sun rises from the East. My only problem is that Customs Officers are put next to the Police. They are all the same.

• Bankam Sebo 9 years ago

This is a fact that cannot be disputed I believe they have bn underscored the ratings , it should be more than 89% even the man talking on behalf on the police himself knows these facts

• BE SMART 9 years ago

Every year the same research, the same findings. And no recommendations for improving the Police Service. Whoever or whatever organization is funding this kind of research is pouring water in a basket. Why? Even a JSS student ...

• KWASI 9 years ago

Ghana POLICE Please accept the fact that SERVICE is corrupt period the whole world knows. bye bye.

• Good Guy 9 years ago

The report is a true reflection on ground. You report a case to police and they expect you to give them something before they act. You will catch a thief send to them the person will go on bail, relatives will go and pay and ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Are BNI, CID, Highway Police not part of the Ghana Police Service? Come on, what are you complaining about? Didn't cocaine in your custody turn into potassium bicarbonate? How did Nayele Amatefe get her illicit cargo on board ...

• Toffey 9 years ago

But even a kindergarten kid knows how deeply corrupt the police is as an institution. Officer, your outfit has lost all respect. If one hadn't never been in one form of mishap or the other, he or should wouldn't know how terr ...

• Bob Kumasi 9 years ago

Wo paa so you don't accept tha the police is the MOST GORRUPT INSTITUTION ON GHANA? YOU NEED A BIG MIRROR TO LOOIK AT YOURSELF PROPERLY. YOU NOT ONLY CORRUPT BUY YOUR RESPECT HAS SINL TO IT'S LOWEST LEVEL, EXCEPT DCOP KOFI B ...

• Musah 9 years ago

After classifying the police for being the most corrupt, let's go a step further to determine corruption in terms of the amount involved. That is when we will identify the most corrupt institution in Ghana. That is when we wi ...

• kOFI 9 years ago

A nation whose Police Service is embedded with corruption to the core is definitely in trouble.
    A nation whose police officer could be bribed with ONE CEDI is a shameful nation.
    A President of a nation who doesn't care abou ...

• Ato 9 years ago

You see, the survey was about perception. Instead of dismissing it, the Police Administration must undertake actions which can change this perception, not just dismiss it. Another thing is to conduct similar surveys as a cros ...

• Papadoc 9 years ago

The problem of corruption is not only limited to the police force. Corruption is endemic and tightly woven into the cultural fabric of the country. Folks, it is a well-entrenched practice. It is a moral, cultural and socio-ec ...

• Kweaa DC 9 years ago

You better reject the unscientific and the crude methods that you men use to extort monies from driver and not the affrobarometer

• Jab 9 years ago

No it is because of the frequency at which the police take bribe from the public. The people have spoken!!!

• TWEAA 9 years ago

IT IS EVEN GOOD TO BE NUMBER ONE...IF THE POLICE FEEL UNEASY AT NUMBER ONE,THE SOLUTION IS SLOW DOWN SO THAT SOMEBODY CAN OVERTAKE YOU.

• Financial Freedom 9 years ago

disgrace to come out and reject

• Agyaaku 9 years ago

Yes the basic fact is that our security services are the most corrupt in the Homeland and also compete for that shameful crown in the world. Mr IGP, please clean your outfit. It is too dirty. Denying it is like denying that t ...

• Kwesi 9 years ago

I can assure you that the Police administration will definitely put up strong defense. Just go place a CCTV camera around the Sowutoum police station where they mount a barrier every evening and you be shocked how police offi ...

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

Reject ? When they become "one cedi one cedi" on our roads ? Come and see what is happening on Ho to Aflao road. What is shocking is officers dress neatly but collecting one cedi one cedi on the roads.

• palmer, Gremany 9 years ago

Yes it is true,the Police Service is the Nr.1 corrupt Institute in the country and everyone knows it.I am not suprised that Mr.Cephas Arthur is denying and trying to Brainwash the public,and this is not the first time that th ...

• Dave 9 years ago

Of course the police force takes bribe every day from drivers and ordinary citizens

• kofi Antobam 9 years ago

CDD-Ghana.
    These think tanks raise money for their pockets by making loud noise to attract front page attention on our national papers,thereby go back to the dona=or agency for funding.
    Which AREA if 'attacked' will attract ...

• KOFI 9 years ago

Hi Kofi, pls dont dismiss the report on the basis that it seems monotonous. What did the service do to improve their rating the last time?The MTTU of the service is the cause of all this;extorting money 24/7 from drivers in t ...

• ktaw 9 years ago

Is yours by force

• Kwaku Duah.Hamburg. 9 years ago

The most corrupt institutions are the Radio presenters and the socalled Pastors.These are the people we as a Nation should keep a close eye on,because they are gradually attacking and destroying the culture of the Country.Eve ...

• victor london 9 years ago

Police should point out the more corrupt organization if they don't accept this report.

• eak 9 years ago

Mr officer, ur defense over the police corruption as unscientific is rather sad. every single Ghanaian u asked will tell u the police is corrupt because they do these things on the common man. and we even hold it more sure th ...

• BBC 9 years ago

Mr. Police Man, don't sit there and Defend your your office, if you want come to Wa and se your self the way police are making mony on the Road!

• kabila 9 years ago

CDD or whatever are just dreaming, how many military men live with us in society like the police do? They should get their facts right than that "bogous" survey that Ghana Military is least corrupt; tweeaaaa

• Frenk 9 years ago

Ghana police is the most corrupt institution in ghana. Taking bribes on our roads and everywhere testifies it, period!

• Gen.Mosquito 9 years ago

So Oga Cephas,the fight is now between who is most corrupt between the Police,Customs and other public service organizations.Cephas and Mr IGP, pls investigate but as the Sec.Gen of the NDC I say trust me that we are more rot ...

• Gen.Mosquito 9 years ago

OK I conceded.the Police is the second most corrupt. guess the most corrupt?the ruling party first then followed closely on their heels by the Police

• obrefo 9 years ago

We don't need a survey either scientific or not to tell us the police in Ghana are corrupt to the bone. This is not an opinion or somebody's imagination, it's a fact the police is most corrupt institution in Ghana period. Wi ...

• aki-ola,jamasi 9 years ago

its true cephas.I witnessed how a CID asked a friends family in ksi central police station to pay 500cedis before they can bail him.I wanted to contest but the family didn't allow me because they wanted the immediate release ...

• edward marties 9 years ago

hold on all of u I think the r not corrupt bur rather a bunch of high way beggers.. what about that cephas.. it seems u not real to the issues.. why do the service not contract on of the auditing firms to do the same thin ...

• Plain Talk 9 years ago

Tsiaaa result

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

This guy is the most corrupt person in Ghana police force to deny the fact that the police service is corrupt, implement the laws in Ghana and within months corruption will have no place , how much money at a day went into wr ...

• Norsaid 9 years ago

Assemblymember your English is bad. "denying being not corrupt" means he is not corrupt but refusing to accept the fact that he is a clean person. Is that what you mean? I don't see how he can be ashamed of being a clean pers ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

CAN THE POLICE HONESTLY DO THEIR OWN SURVEY AND PUBLISH THE REPORT IF THEY DO NOT TRUST THE AFROBAROMETER REPORT. THAT IS THE REPORT WE HAVE NOW AND WE TRUSAT IT.

• Sam Richison, Accra 9 years ago

Ghanaians do not need a survey to tell the the police is corrupt. Even the IGP himself knows that the Police is corrupt.

• D Mohammed 9 years ago

Then the police should come out with the most corrupt institution in the country.

• Volta director 9 years ago

just from aflao to Agbozume, one of the police told me that how to collect bribes is the first thing they would teach you in training.Even they would give you bible quotation, such us Matthew 5:25 if u think i'm lying contact ...

• Lunatic 9 years ago

CDD a useless outfit man but some faceless characters who are doing the bidding their pay master nanacortics,the evil dwarf.

• NOBODY 9 years ago

The Police have a right to question to accuracy of the quack Afro Mosesmeter reports put out by the Centre for Disinformation Distribution. Just like most media outlets in Ghana today which are owned by corrupt klepto-policia ...

• Arafat 9 years ago

CDD is bogus and politically motivated,fools

• michael 9 years ago

How can you deny this bare fact?Police corruption no size.You will see them rushing to MTTU after pass out just for bribe and corruption. Within few month after pass out then police man buy corola.True report.when police caug ...

• Kwasi Adarkwah - Syi 9 years ago

Please leave our police alone because if we want to know those who are most corrupt, they are the religious leaders. All the monies that the citizens get end up in the hands of these thieves.

• E Awudu 9 years ago

If you interview criminals the answers you will get will be unrealistic

• E Awudu 9 years ago

If you interview criminals the response you will get is unrealistic

• TOFE 9 years ago

ghanaians are the judges.I wonder why the Police Administration is disputing this revelation. Well perhap they are always in their offices so the dont see the peelings of two cedi note from licences and handshakes with the dr ...