Austerity measures: I’m prepared to pay the political price – Mahama

Read Comments Comments (68)

• USMAN 9 years ago

Hahajha

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Don't listen to UGLY NPP , just go ahead and do what is good for the country.

• USMAN 9 years ago

That is the hallmark of NDC.

• GG 9 years ago

HE MEAN BUNSINESS THIS THIS

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

Stupid men always like this good for nothing president.

• NANA 9 years ago

OUR NEXT NKRUMAH TO BE: JDM IS REALLY A TRUELY PERSON: WHO HAS THE AMBITION TO CHANGE GHANA: WAIT TO SEE 2016; GHANAIANS WILL VOTE FOR JDM WITH HIS POOR PERFORMANCE

• volvo boy 9 years ago

we are going to vote JDM again not because of his performing but becos of his willingly to perform. no president can so brave like what JDM is doing now. we need more of these. God Bless you JDM

• Read i 2 dye 9 years ago

Only people that support this dummy are the impepefuo like usmanu .judging from comments on ghanaweb there is no way this goat thief wins again.....if by some mysterious means this fake christian wins again.....we have to ris ...

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

SO YOUR STUPID GOVT CAN'T GOVERN WITHOUT BORROWING? TRY TO CREATE REVENUE AND STOP FOOLING

• Another Thief of Bagdad 9 years ago

Reading your comments suggests strongly that you belong to the PRIMITIVE TRIBAL SUPREMACISTS who after winning political power in 2001 insulted the people of Accra with the following Primitive statement."NKRANFUO Y3 DA MU ASE ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

HE HAS SPOLIED THE COUNTRY KWATA KWATA KWATA

• NANA 9 years ago

JDM IS GOING THE WAY WE WANT OUR PRESIDENTS TO BE SINCE INDEPENDANCE; SAY THE TRUTH AND LET US JUDGE YOU:

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

How can I sleep in darkness when I visited Ghana recently because of this opepeni presidency? I used generator and arm-robbers also came to attack me so I needed to come back to UK to worship my queen mother. Ghana is hell on ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 9 years ago

When people work and are not paid for months and years while party functionaries mess around with state money and Ghost names, will people understand? What is the price of oil now and how much do Ghananains pay for a gallon o ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

OH KOKO, JOHN DRACULA MAHAMA IS THE MAN FOR 2016. EHE EDWO BODOOOOOO, EYE ZU EYE ZA. BETTER GHANA ALL THE WAY. 26 YEARS WASTED YEARS AND RULED BY A CRIMINAL ORGANISATION CALLED NDC. GHANA IS BETTER WITHOUT CREATE, LOOT AND SH ...

• Kofi Wayo Teye BaakaJnr 9 years ago

BBC WE KNOW YOUR IDENTITY AND ITS FINE THAT YOU ARE A FOOL EMPLOYED BY ANOTHER FOOL. YOUR ONLY MEANS OF LIVELIHOOD IS TO ..... GO MAD.

• Jude 9 years ago

Is that a concession speech?

• Joejoe 9 years ago

Please the NDC always leave office and left behind more troubles for the NPP to solve. It happened during Rawlings era, Kufuor came to solved it. Now John Mahama for Nana Addo to solve. NDC are not good for Ghana

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF CROOKISH INCOMPETENT CORRUPT MONSTERS CAN NEVER DO IT! NO! NOT IN A MILLION YEARS!!! NDC LACK THE BRAINS. ---------------WHO CAN PROVE KWASI ADADE WRONG? I AM SAYING, THAT, GHANAIANS VOTED FOOLISHLY!!- ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

THIS IS JOHN MAHAMA'S OWN GOAL. HE COULD HAVE AVOIDED IT WITH STRONG LEADERSHIP AND A CHECK ON CORRUPTION, BUT BECAUSE OF HIS OWN CORRUPTION SKELETONS, HE TURNED HIS FACE ASIDE AND ALLOWED LOOTING OF THE NATIONAL TREASURY ON ...

• Naaba kugri 9 years ago

Corruption started from Adam. Quote prez kuffour npp

• SARPONG 9 years ago

What has your austerity method shown so far that it is going to work? Your policies have created an environment not conducive for job growth instead it has brought hardship to businesses that are layingoff workers.

You pro ...

• Watch Tower. 9 years ago

President Mahama has gotten us in the rot we are in for his corrupt government. You can't steal and look for a blessing from above.

• Ayivor 9 years ago

This man is complete joke. He is kiding. The biggest problem in Ghana that needs immediate attention is corruption which he is reluctant to tackle.Without the stringent anti corruption measures, no other measures will uplift ...

• ASEMPA 9 years ago

THE MAN IS CORRUPT HIMSELF HOW CAN HE PUT STRINGENT ANTI CORRUPTION MEASURES INTO THE SYSTEM^^^^^???

• AGYA BA 9 years ago

John Mahama should not fool ghanians. The loopholes in government and financial indiscipline in government that has cause his austerity measures were all created by his appointees and cronies,created under his glarring eyes. ...

• Nii Lante 9 years ago

I thought everything was alright and that NPP was just giving false alarm. Has Mahama now admitted there is trouble?

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

What is our president saying? People are demonstrating against corruption, and the president is telling us he will accept the price for allowing corruption to take hold of the nation? Corruption by his ministers, his family a ...

• OSU 9 years ago

We thought Kuffuor was bad for his thievery and travelling; but this thing is worse. We pray for better leadership.

• paks 9 years ago

visionless.

• Ameyibor 9 years ago

that is our man. reasonable Ghanaians will soon understand u. right thinkin Ghanaians i mean. not npp

• GG 9 years ago

HE IS ON THE RIGHT PAVE NOW

• Dr. Abaas 9 years ago

Mahama with his silly mantra "yentie obiaa" can never be on the right pave because he is too stupid to think for himself, besides his involvements in series of corruption affairs, starting from Woyome. SADA, GYEEDA, Isofoton, ...

• GG 9 years ago

• Ishimoto 9 years ago

Take decisions that you think will resuscitate the economy and leave the rest to the Almighty God and posterity will judge us all including the sabotias

• candy 9 years ago

Our problem in ghana is your poor leadership, coupled with corruption. Ghanaians are suffering bcos you to enrich your party above national interest.

• KUDUNA SULEMANA 9 years ago

OUR ECONOMY IS DIEING GOD SAVE IT.

• EKO YIE PAA 9 years ago

HOW DID WE GET HERE? THAT IS THE QUESTION AND THAT IS WHAT WILL DEMAND A PRICE

• ghana 9 years ago

fooooooooooooooooool kwasia mahama aboa ba

• AUNTIE GAGA 9 years ago

NPP CHOPPED BILLIONS OF HIPC MONIES FUNYAFUNYA AND RE-DENOMINATION MONIES

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS ILL-ADVISED TO MAKE GHANAIANS SUFFER BY FOLLOWING IMF/WORLDBANK ADVICE. THE SAD THING IS THAT THEY NEVER WORK. BUSIA, RAWLINGS AND KUFFUOR FOLLOWED THEIR ADVICE. IT BOUGHT THE COUNTRY A BRIEF RESPITE, AND THE PROBLE ...

• KKO 9 years ago

Since the economy (ecomini) is not in crisis, what do you need austerity measures for? Ofui!

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

This guy doesn't care ..he is probably a billionaire ....using the Ghana presidential platform to create loot and share .

He wants out to go and enjoy his ill gotten gains.bullshit

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

John Mahama and his NDC apparatchiks should know that in 2016 Ghanaians won't give them another chance; there will not be any election fraud, because people are wild. The NDC knows that and plan to use the Army and State Secu ...

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

YOU AND YOUR GUYS FAILED TO ARREST THE FAILING ECONOMY BY ENRICHING YOURSELVES SO STOP PRETENDING BY FEEDING US WITH FALSE INFORMATION.
    YOU GUYS ARE NOT MORE INTELLIGENT THAN GHANAIANS AND THIS WILL BE SHOWN IN 2016 WHEN YOU ...

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

The massive demonstrations across the country is a testimony that you are being paid politically for taking measures, but the final payment awaits you in 2016.

• Afotey 9 years ago

NA WHO CAUSE AM IN THE FIRST PLACE

• Santino 9 years ago

Rhetorics. Every day, talk, talk ...

• GABA 9 years ago

Austerity measures when everything is pointing to mass corruption, mismanagement and thievery.
    Appointees teeming up with foreingners and claiming judgement debts.Appointees robing ghana with impunity.

• Papa yaw 9 years ago

No

• potohpotoh solomboh 9 years ago

omanhene of mankesim Nana Sampson and his mistress agnes sampson are thieves.

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

U get what u pay .
    Infact like mahama bcos he knows how to chop big time and knows are to make them suffer ..

Kudos mahama and co company .
    Be lucky ...I

• Mama Amma 9 years ago

'The President, nonetheless believes Ghanaians will understand the situation and the necessity for those difficult measures when things are properly explained to them'

Do some Ghanaians know or understand what this austeri ...

• ghana paa nie. 9 years ago

Bbc news are u not ashamed of yourself living in ghana with your politial affiliation which won't help u. Better fimd something to do for u and your children than doing propagander for mahama.have u evwr met him at all . Thin ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

A man was driving down the road and noticed a three legged chicken racing along beside his car. When he looked at the speedometer he realized that the chicken was running over 75 miles per hour. The amazed driver followed the ...

• ghana paa nie. 9 years ago

Bbc have u ever shit in a w c before I am sure never.u are the kind of poor people who can't even afford 2 meals a day what a shame go and find construction work to do to feed your parents and family and stop insulting peopl ...

• VVIP JDM SNIFFER COCAINE 9 years ago

MAHAMA IS A THIEF,NUMBER ONE BIG CORRUPT,COCAINE DILLER,DRUGS MAHAMA DOGS ARE EVILS,INCOMPETENTS,CRIMINAL,KILLED MILLS FOR POWER,SAD,AND SHAME,FOOOOLS

• Mama Amma 9 years ago

'The President, nonetheless believes Ghanaians will understand the situation and the necessity for those difficult measures when things are properly explained to them'
    Do some Ghanaians know or understand what this austerity ...

• Kwame Osei 9 years ago

Absolutely right! I full in love with you for your comments. Sometimes we need radical actions to solve some problems and i hope Ghanaian will see what measures you are put to arest this situations that all past governments ...

• Otwenua 9 years ago

Couldn't you have avoided plunging the economy into this mess if you had proceeded cautiously in the accumulation of so much debt over the short period of your administration with so little to show as development? Maybe your ...

• Chris 9 years ago

Martin Denis a former BBC presenter now with aljezeera English asked Mahamah if he thinks the austerity measures imposing on the people will not affect his chances of willing the next election as most of the European leaders ...

• kwewaa DCE 9 years ago

complete ur term and leave in peace.After we have experience your best. Ur best include creat, loot and schare, dumsordumsor.propaganda etc. But dont be smart this time nobody will allow you to steal the election the second t ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

old but no sense

• agyeman 9 years ago

Mr. President that is a lie. Indeed you in this boat alone. As president what do I care about the price you pay for losing political power. In fact you are good riddance. You will very well pay the price in 2016 Atgubah or no ...

• Mars1 9 years ago

Bravo to you sir! Economies of the world must take note that those days of spending, spending on programs that do not create economic growth are over. The debts accumulated from the past and present must be paid through som ...

• the lone crusader 9 years ago

Do you listen to youself talking mr president? When you abuse state coffers by overspeding and fly everywhere for flying sake what do you expect? You areeating your own curse for the faoul means and the shortcuts