Every house in Ghana must go solar - Power Minister

Read Comments Comments (111)

• potohpotoh solomboh 9 years ago

he omanhene of mankesim, nana sampson and his current wife agnes sampson are bloody thieves. spending other peoples money without accountability. they have disinherited several orphans families, and used the proceeds for a cr ...

• champion 9 years ago

Solar power is the answer to Ghana's dumsor, dumsor calamity.

• ADU 9 years ago

Champion Saying that we go Solar we all Know even our mothers do. Saying that He installed in his home is even practical. Mate the question is what is the installation cost...would an ordinary Ghanaian afford? what program wo ...

• Michael 9 years ago

There is no thing like cheap solar if you want quality, you pay for it, we Ghanaians are always crying for cheap things just because our priorities are wrong. We spent heavily on weddings and funerals and when it comes to our ...

• DALADAM 9 years ago

HE FORGET THAT HE WAS APPONTED TO
    SOLVE OUR PROBLEM OF ELECTRIC NOT TO ASK US TO FIX GHAN ELECTRIC ISSUES

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

Ministers in Ghana are only talkative' s but not problem solvers. Because they have no vision and are clueless as the right approach and how to initiate problem solving that does not benefit their own pockets.

• EWE KING 9 years ago

HE WILL SUPPLY FREE SOLAR PANELS TO EACH HOUSE HOLD THEN.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Well,let us give him the benefit of the doubt since he started talking about renewables which others don't talk about.
    We have ministers who wait up until the entire cabinet decides for their ministries so you don't see any ...

Few examples; Andasol solar plant in Spain generating 50 mega watt a day covering 50 hectares cost $380 million to build..Ivanpah solar plant in California generating 392 mega watt of power a day cost $2.2 billion to build.Ol ...

• Zoobe-Zoobe 9 years ago

with a degree talking trash.... How many countries in the world have MINISTRY OF ENERGY AND MINISTRY OF POWER? WHAT IS POWER?

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

You haven't see noting yet, very soon there will be a ministry of pot holes.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

This is a simple thing for mahama to do because he knows that he will earn money to use for 2016 elections.

• Kojo Billy Duncan 9 years ago

I have used solar energy for my basic needs for the past twenty years. Currently, I am off the national grid for both electricity and water. The initial capital outlay may be limiting but with efficient planning, working hard ...

• Michael 9 years ago

Tnx Billy, I have always advocated what the MP is saying. I am a Renewable Energy consultant with in depth knowledge in this area and I agree wit you.

• ADU 9 years ago

Micheal in the US the price for solar installation fell by almost 30 percent from 2010 to 2013. They went from an average of around $32,000 for a five-kilowatt system to under $23,000 — before tax credits or other incentiv ...

• Ras Bo @ London 9 years ago

Stupid propaganda govt where is adundum adundum begyae? Stupid ndc

• ADU 9 years ago

Billy, we all know that the life cycle cost for solar far out weighs the initial cost but what how much Kw for example are you generating for you house and how much did it cost you? My question again to the Minister and you m ...

• Kwasi Asante , Providence, R.I. 9 years ago

I wrote a piece during Kuffuo's rule that Ghana should invest into Solar Energy. My background is Building Architectural Design and Structural Detail.
    The Government should invest in training young men/women and provide the ...

• ADU 9 years ago

Asante in the US the price for solar installation fell by almost 30 percent from 2010 to 2013. They went from an average of around $32,000 for a five-kilowatt system to under $23,000 — before tax credits or other incentives ...

• ebo 9 years ago

see the US scientist on the nuclear energy latest technology.its safe to go nuclear since ONLY last year.was watching this lady on cnn tv

• Kwab 9 years ago

But lot of folks are spending $20,000 purchasing generators from China, Italy, Turkey etc to power their houses not including diesel expenses.

• Koo Larbia 9 years ago

I want to wire up my property with Solar. Can you recommend the best in terms of installation and maintenance?

• Possi 9 years ago

How much it cost you? And how many room you have ? I have 5 room house and I want to install solar energy .

• Jude 9 years ago

Where are the supplies

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe In Ghana! 9 years ago

If that is what energy minister is saying then there is no need to offer him this appointment because the money that would be spent on him can be used to do a different project to improve Ghana. Is that not true? Oh! Ghana wh ...

• BOAKYE 9 years ago

Please tell us about the solar companies
    We need solar.

• Owu 9 years ago

Talk is cheap, implementation is another.

• Gary 9 years ago

Eco-solar construction company In Accra
    See their website or contact them

• Gabriel Yemoh 9 years ago

Solar energy is a very good power alternative source of power to our hydro electrical power that the country citizens are accustomed to. However, affordability by majority of it citizens is not practicable. Why can't the go ...

• ROYAL SIKAMAN 9 years ago

There we go again, Another blockhead minister preaching solar energy without basic ideas. How can we move forward with these chew and pour graduates. Lack of knowledge, my people perish.

• Kofi Adams 9 years ago

So where's the finance going to come from? Have your folks in Pru got the means to finance this project without any financial support from government?

• potohpotoh solomboh 9 years ago

irrespective of what good songs they sing to it, the fact still remains solar is expensive and you only realise benefits after a very long time! don't get it misconstrued it is not cheap!!!

• Shak2 9 years ago

FRANKLY SUCH RUBBISH

• OSEI 9 years ago

GREAT MINDS IN NDC

• mensa 9 years ago

RATHER THEN SOLVE GHAN PEOPLE PROBLEM HE IS ASKING US TO SOLVE OUR OWN PROBLEM OF ELECTRICITY WHAT A BULL- SHIT TALK BY "MINISTER" LOSER

• ISAAC OFOE 9 years ago

they should solar all the street lites in ghana first before thinking of every house.

• Ibn Batuta 9 years ago

Every house having solar panels is both impractical and totally inefficient....how about communities pulling their resources together to install a community solar power station. This well ease the aggregate cost...Sensible an ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

So we have to pay tax ? Sir, I do not know you , if those chew & pour had done something better we will not had being having domsor,domsor.What communities are u talking about? Where are electricity? Where are Water? Where a ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

Great idea my brother if you have thinking neighbours, but we should give it a try

• RAS KOBBY 9 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD ABOLISH TAXES ON SOLAR TO MAKE IT AFFORDABLE, AS AT NOW MANY HOUSEHOLDS CANNOT AFFORD THE COST.

• Nana 9 years ago

Taxes and duties on solar and wind energy must be waived. This will make it more affordable for people.

I agree that the initial capital layout for renewable energy is expensive but if government could encourage people by ...

• Abban 9 years ago

Waive the vat and custom duties on solar and wind and very soon many people will get off the national grid.

• Kweku Adjei 9 years ago

The headline is not describing the story well. So please commentators don't just read the headlines and then start commenting. Read the story too and you can give a better comment. And stop insulting your elders.

Kindly compare the list of energy plants built in a third world country like Sri Lanka over the last forty years with that of Ghana.Now, come back and tell me if any of our so-called elders deserve an ounce of respect.Bear in ...

• Awal 9 years ago

Well don't throw dust into our eyes. I have been in contact with 4 Sri Lankans in the last 6 years. The power situation there is nothing to write home about. Stop painting a bright picture when it is rather dim.

• KOFI MUMUI 9 years ago

Insulting elders? You fool

• Okokobioko 9 years ago

How much did it cost you Mr Minister and how big is your house

• ghanaba 9 years ago

Another appointee with book knowledge... It's pathetic !!! I wonder if he will do everything he can to see theimpimplementation of this good idea.

• mr amin 9 years ago

Vote ndc out to save the stuation.

• Awal 9 years ago

Yes, cuz power NEVER went off until the ndc came to power. Yeah yeah

• Son Of Man 9 years ago

DR, PLEASE COME AGAIN. YOU HAVE OFFERED NO SOLUTION YET.
    MUST GHANAIANS KNOW ABOUT SOLAR ENERGY MAYBE BEFORE YOU WERE BORN.
    COME AGAIN, BE MORE REASONABLE THIS TIME AROUND OR YOU KEEP QUIET.

• Janet - Tema 9 years ago

Congratulations my Minister.What is yours is yours. I support the solar because it is cheaper in the long run. The government should support the initial outlays so we can all go solar. Wishing Dr Kolobby Donkor Gods direction ...

• OOHHH 9 years ago

PLS START WITH THE STREET LIGHTS AND TRAFFIC LIGHTS FIRST.

• SULE 9 years ago

Coal is a non-starter. Indeed, it is obsolete technology, has no relevance in 21st century energy generation, and with increasing caps on emissions being championed to address climatic and environmental changes, any mention o ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

You make a lot of sense. Hope someone is paying attention.

• DANIEL 9 years ago

at least a minister is thinking, but what support will you offer to the houses

• Martin 9 years ago

Who is going to pay for the installation of the solar panels? Photovoltaic cells don't come cheap.

• Martin 9 years ago

Who is going to pay for the installation of the solar panels? Photovoltaic cells don't come cheap.The minister-designate for power is also suggesting coal-fired plants as an alternative energy source. Given Ghana's limited re ...

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 9 years ago

With all this fanciful talk about another ministry, the most important question to ask ourselves is, does Ghana even need a new Ministry of Power? How does the Ministry of Power seek to address the electricity power requireme ...

• Martin 9 years ago

Well said, my sentiments exactly. Ghana needs a power minister more like Alaska needs snow.

• Joe Abass 9 years ago

This boy is excellent student with dumb piratical knowledge.

• REPENT 9 years ago

I believe most house owners in Accra metropolis can afford solar panels just as some have done with mechanizes boreholeswhich I believe are more costly. But information on the solar panels, costs, capabilities and operating s ...

• Eli 9 years ago

rooftop solar is the ideal solution. Govt must subsidize the cost. Polytechnics should be empowered to build solar panels and batteries

• JOE 9 years ago

The energy crises presents us with an opportunity to creat jobs. We need to utilise solar energy, because sunshine is free for Africans. The technology is not widespread in Europe because they have no adequate sunshine like u ...

• KDI 9 years ago

41% of global power generating is coal base, yes indeed, our leaders like comparing too much, but when it comes to implementing it is another story.
    Some few weeks back I wrote about this issue on this forum , when 90% o ...

• tolegba 9 years ago

another cut and paste minister of state.

• Asembebadabi 9 years ago

Dear Doc your comments are heuristic. Solar technology is far from commercial reality because it is very important.

Let's think of wind turbine which is very promising , think of biomass tap gas from dump sites. Think of ...

• KDI 9 years ago

How can people afford it when you our governments Tax everything in this country, here where I stay outside the country is reasonable and affordable here, but to clear it from Ghana port will even COST MORE than I bought it h ...

• Ben 9 years ago

Good idea but how many gov't buildings have gone solar and why aren't the MP common fund being used to provide solar energy sources to power our streets?

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

There are many sources of generating power but Ghanaians have not exploited them well.Solar energy is very good for domestic use but it's not common in Ghana because of the cost and the technology.I don't think it makes econo ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 9 years ago

There are certainly multiple ways of producing electricity, and we must rank which come out cheaper to produce, distribute, and sell,

Out of our enery mix, I favour renewable sources of energy- solar, wind, and biofuels, ...

• Bobby,Denmark 9 years ago

A single solar panel is almost 500euros.

• huun 9 years ago

\so this so called Dr. is going to COAL which is being scraped by other countries. poor ghana.

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

MANY HOUSES IN GHANA DON'T HAVE STREET ADDRESS,HOW CAN THEY HAVE SOLAR POWER?

• Poku 9 years ago

What is the connection between street names and solar energy?

• kwasi 9 years ago

this guy is idiot person with head without brain.school for nothing talk bullshit and so on.solar for every house means no energy minister for Ghana,useless fool minister.

• king Moejo 9 years ago

u people sit nd talk as if solar is highly affordable
    u been a minister nd having evritin for free doesnt make us equal
    we are suffering ruff under mahama govt
    wat we go chop.sef hard u dey talk.of evribody for go solar..w ...

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

stupid old man

• KOFI MUMUI 9 years ago

Every house? You see, when a person uses the word 'every' in a situation like this, it is obvious that individual is not capable of providing a solution to the problem on hand. He should quit his job to make way for someone w ...

• Churchill 9 years ago

Well said & done

• NOBODY 9 years ago

Look to the country of Germany if you intend to implement a workable solar system in the nation. Forget the Chinese. Allow private companies to to handle solar business, not the government. The government should only set regu ...

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

Well intensioned but the idea is myopic and lack strategic vision... and one of the questions is who is going to pay for the cost of solar panels in the homes ..etc..? Govt. or individual?

• kk 9 years ago

Give every house free solar then. How many Ghanaians can afford solar panels in this Mahani's Ghana?

• gravr 9 years ago

But importation of solar panels must be tax free and even subsidised then we can all go 'solar power', dont just talk into the air as if solar panels can be bought from a shop and installed like a television!How much did your ...

• LAK, Tema 9 years ago

Yes, those who can afford it must consider solar and wind as alternative sources of supplementing their power supply. Government must abandon the business of imposing import duties on solar, wind and other alternative energy ...

• Boss 9 years ago

Kwasia, how many people can afford to put solar in their houses. Offer more pragmatic solutions.

• NoteBook 9 years ago

Dear Power Minister, What do you know about Solar Energy Efficiency and Effectiveness? Are you smoking weed, I mean dope, or Indian Hemp?
    {China Solar,Germany Solar, United States Solar, Canada Solar} Companies are all closi ...

• kutsii 9 years ago

Nonsense. Every house shd rarher have a TOILET first. Show me where I have to shit first before u even give me food. Are the solar panels for free or they will be like the meter which were later being sold. ? Nonsense

• niger 9 years ago

Good Mr Minister , but will the ECG and Gridco allow you to install the solar panels ?......eh what about those meter contractors? I

• shadow member. 9 years ago

not solar alone. take a look at our beach from Jamestown to sekendi takoradi everyday the wind is blowing, a good source of electricity. oh Ghana hmmm.
    if I had my own way....
    only those who have received salvation can rea ...

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

My rejoicing over one of the very few sensible statements ever made by an NDC official/operative had hardly subsided than he repeated one of the dumbest energy policies that's gaining currency among NDC movers and shakers. It ...

• Joel 9 years ago

Hmm,can i come to the government for financial support for my solar project? ,Energy minister please.

• Eko 9 years ago

Smart suggestion; though it does take a long while to benefit (4-7 years before the financial benefit becomes apparent). In countries where this is done households also get paid if they contribute excess generated power 'back ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

Exactly Sule where has this man been. Look at the environment. Christ where are we going.

• US Solar Entrepreneur 9 years ago

The minister said solar for only basic lighting and water heating.

Solar water heating does not require PV panels and I built several in Ghana in 2010 from local materials for a demo for GRATIS. Below please find short spe ...

• Whatever 9 years ago

I missed his vetting

• fire man songo 9 years ago

fire burn u in a professional way coal? does he no the impact on the ozone layer whilst de world x fighting to eradicate it look at him hw can a brainless being lyk him be minister he virtually said nothing solar in wat ways ...

• K Dompreh 9 years ago

Solar energy is the way forward. Good start Dr. K Donkor. Empower the Universities and industries to research the production of quality solar panels, capacitors and other accessories to make it more accessible and affordable ...

• kk 9 years ago

How affordable Will that be to an average Ghanain even though u sound very good.

• lion 9 years ago

he is a fool for saying that . where did he school. and who advised him . these small boys wake and talk from theo stomach.
    is he using some . or all his family members are using some.

• LARYEAH 9 years ago

ASHANTI JACKASS MINISTER OF POWER, SHOULD LET ALL THE HUTS IN HIS VILLAGE GO SOLAR AND WE WILL STILL HAVE DUMSOR DUMSOR UNDER THISE GOD FORBIDDEN GOVERNMENT.

• Mars1 9 years ago

Excellent idea coming from the Minister of Power. However, it is one thing saying it and another doing it. So, how does he intend that Ghana does this. Has he already a plan to ensure that mighty suggestion becomes reality. ...

• Dante 9 years ago

When they wake up from beds of their concubines they spew any nonsensikale thoughts that crosses their minds without thinking. How is he going to achieve that? Don't tell us what we want to hear, tell us how you will get it d ...

• exile james 9 years ago

They. are telling you poor guys are for your self the government can't help you in south africa government install for the poor for free with solar heater for free ask south africa ambassador in ghana

• Suntech Energy 9 years ago

Everyone interested in the state of the act installation of a solar systems, evaluations and cost effectivness can check on my various ads on tonaton.com and olx.com. Solar power is the new dimension for Ghanaians. Also whats ...

• forsonman snr 9 years ago

This black mother fucker don't even know what he talking about.How many Ghanaians can afford off grid?This poor citizens can't even afford to feed their self then you talking about solar power though it sounds good but the ma ...

• Pinnochio 9 years ago

The rich people will use the solar which will then reduce the pressure on the elctrictical and we the poor will still use what we have now dat is what he mean

• Djakpani Zoro 9 years ago

No Mr. Minister. We need a big plant o replace the Akosombo as the base load. And use the Akosombo to mange peak and margins. That is what we need. And that is what the Ketu Power Project is meant for. Ask them to give you a ...

• Ransford Atakadiek 9 years ago

this is a thoughtless speech..people are crying of daily bread and u talking about solar ....if u gonna give free of charge , is a good idea..but if u are talking about everybody acquiring by him/herself then is a stupid sugg ...

• OPANIN 9 years ago

I BEG! Mr Grammar. Saying isnt Doing!. We Know of Solar n Its benefiting Us. He dont know of the Costs BUT he knows of What to talk of, to make Fall in his Own way to Help Chop Off the little that the poor Ghanaman has.

• OPANIN 9 years ago

Did he take into consideration, How Every home in Ghana is assesed to? If Yes, then Fine. He might be Championing a Cause. Why dont we give a trial? Hmmm Vett him well.