Security Analyst slams Police over handling of Ofoase “Boko Haram” group

Read Comments Comments (53)

• Kofi Ghana 9 years ago

I think the IGP can extend that part of Eastern Region to KB's terretory for proper police monitoring. This Commander One in our region has made us to enjoy peace from the notorious criminals like Bash and Yaw Gyamfi.

• siddiq saeed 9 years ago

Mr David pls b careful wit ur comment on Islam.as muslims we try to abide by all rules and regulations provided it does not contradict wit our basic priciples. but to stand out there and accuse our members as extremist is not ...

• kwasi 9 years ago

they are stupid terrorist that must be hanged for trying to practice their stupid killing agenda in ghana

• Kwasi London 9 years ago

What principles? Have some Muslims got principles? These are fundamentalits who must be dealt with drastically and if possible executed in public place to serve as a deterrent to other stupid Muslims of such calibre. Moslems ...

• B.A. 9 years ago

PLS,BE CAREFUL ABOUT YOUR COMMENTS. WE'LL NOT SIT DOWN & ALLOW YOU TO INSULT ALL MOSLEMS B'COS OF SOME FEW BAD ONES. GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT B4 YOUR COMMENTS.HOW SURE ARE YOU WITH THE REPORTAGE? MOST JOURNALISTS IN GHANA REPORT ...

• DABENDA 9 years ago

YOUR WORDS OF INTIMIDATION HAS CONTROL ONLY ON YOUR WIFE AND CHILDREN. WE WILL NEVER EVER ALLOW MUSLIMS TO PRACTICE THEIR BARBARIC & PRIMITIVE LAWS IN GHANA. YOU SEEM TO BE THINKING OF TRIBAL WAR BUT GHANAIANS ARE FAR WISER T ...

• B.A. 9 years ago

For your information DABENDA, You can't find one tribe only in a particular religion.The Moslems in Ghana are made up of the various tribes including Akans.Therefore, i'm thinking of tribal war in Ghana.War is the last thing ...

• daladam 9 years ago

NO ONE IN GHANA SCARED OF YOUR SHIT GHANA IS DEMOCRATIC COUNTRY AND WE ALLOEWD TO SAY WHAT WE WANT YOU CANT INTEMIDED ANY ONE WITH ISLAM CRAP
    ANYONE INVOLVE IN TERROR MUST BE DEALT WITH

• JERRY 9 years ago

no one balme all Ghana muslim they are reffering to book haram killers

• JERRY 9 years ago

no one blame all muslims we blame radical book haram

• CORNEY 9 years ago

siddiq saeed,go back and read the article again,there is no where in this article that David used the word "extreme" rather it is the report which is describing the group as such,read again,don't rush to accuse people just fo ...

• kyekyeku 9 years ago

they think that Ghana is like Nigeria where even their military is corrupt, We will crushed them down if they try. stupid animals.

• TAFLATS3 9 years ago

Most of these so-called Muslims and their elders are not Ghanaians. Most of them are from Sokoto, Kano and Kaduna. That is why we have a version of Hausa in our Zongos. Hausa in Ghana, is an alien language. They are all alien ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

The Ofoase 'Boko Haram' must be rooted out with all the speed the security agencies can muster. period.

• GH-Atheist 9 years ago

You are suppose to abide by all rules of the country regardless of if it contradicts with your "basic principles". If you can't follow the rules of the land move to a muslem country - after all there are many of them.

• TIJANI 9 years ago

despite that the country is being rule by Christian law, it does not mean that Ghana is a Christian country. Ghana is a democratic country where everyone is allowed to practice the religion he/she wants. I hope Ghanaians woul ...

• mymotherland 9 years ago

so you rules and regulations is to do evil.. your basic principle is to bomb. what are you trying to vomit? you are heartless evil being to comment on this issue like that
    we need peace in Ghana if you like bombing killing ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

HOHOHO! BUT THAT OFOASE GROUP (BOKO HARAM) ARE MUSLIMS...MR SIDDIQ SAEED.

• Dessy 9 years ago

The law of the country do not have to abide any religious principles..if the principles .Any religious principle that enforce without free will is against freedom of humanity ,national law and international human rights law

• omanba 9 years ago

HOW DO YOU WANT HIM TO DESCRIBE SUCH A BARBARIC ACTION AGAINST WOMEN. GHANA WILL NOT TOLERATE THIS INHUMAN TREATMENT TO GHANAIANS.

• DOBOO 9 years ago

BNI and the Police must collaborate in their investigations to smoke out these Boko Haram rats from their hideouts. Maintain 24/7 surveillance on the activities of the Muslim leaders and clerics at Ofoase and elsewhere to for ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

A very thoughtful one there.

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

There is another Boko Haram in Accra at Mataheko EL RAPHA CLINIC operated by Gabriel Ayisi in murdering innocent children.The quack doctor Ayisi who is neither professional medical or gynaecologist.He was arrested by the CID ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

We have a Chief Imam in our country and he must be more worried about this matter. There is no compulsion in Islam. Ignorant people are to be taught and not forced to live as muslims. The teachings of the Ahli Sunna wa al-Jam ...

• Fed up 9 years ago

You meant "border" (the plural form to agree with the number of the subject) not "bothers" (which was wrong in both meaning and grammatical form). You really should not make primary-school level errors such as this if you are ...

• JK 9 years ago

It is sad to see such mistakes. This is very common amongst our journalists. Having repeated the same mistake in the article, it is clear to me that this was no accident. The writer just does not know.

If this writer is m ...

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

the corrupt NDC government which is shafting ordinary ghanaians poses a greater existential threat to ghana than the unemployed zongo boys

• Good news 9 years ago

What shows that, the guys are members of Boko Haram?Don´t talk what you don´t know.The Guys don´t want any ashawo girls in their community.Even the Police admire their good work.

• JB Mann 9 years ago

That is the problem with you people and that was how Boko Haram started - taking the law into their on hands.

For your info: it is only the police that have the legislative power to arrest the women, if they have committed ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

And their men are having sex with underage girls, but the women sit there and look. What a backward religion.

• The Stallion 9 years ago

I was going to ask the same question.
    Are the arrested people Police Officers?

• ONE GHANA 9 years ago

Democracy at work at best. Innocent until proven guilty they say. Keep up the good work Ghana Police and cherish our civil liberties always. Ignore these ignorant buffoons trying to divide our communities. Be firm but fair to ...

• onetribe 9 years ago

There is only one government period and the laws of Ghana is what must be obeyed period. Your so called ashawo are merely ladies not wearing a veil. It is their right to wear or not to wear what they want. Face off if you do ...

• TWEAA 9 years ago

Just how the boko haram started in Nigeria. No. Not here in GHANA. The Police must act swiftly. Flus out all the members, including the leaders in the community who support the group.

• I.k 9 years ago

If you don't have anything to say just back off. What do you mean the guys don't want any ashawo girls in their community. Don't be ignorant and hypocrite here.muslem in public everything is haram but behind the scene they en ...

• JB Mann 9 years ago

Is Okyenhene, Osagyefou Amoatia Ofori Panyin II asleep or is still not aware of this incident?

How on this earth should we allow this to happen in Akyemland in the predomninantly democratic Eastern Region of Ghana?

Okye ...

• TWUM AMPOFO 9 years ago

Sir. I greed with you of making awareness, but you shouldn't asked {is Okyenhene as asleep or not}
    What is going on he might probably not aware of this situation. I believed the citizen and within the area must act now and w ...

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

Most Akans are cowards, how can you allow some pepefou to come and buley you like that? tweaaaa

• I.k 9 years ago

Unfortunately this is not his jurisdiction, the Chief responsible in that jurisdiction should be Akim Oda, I've been waiting for long to hear something said from him to no avail which is sad. You will be surprise some of thes ...

• kojo 9 years ago

that is why the handle them so gently shame on the police cawards

• Sappey-Agboh, Atsiame-Alabohkope 9 years ago

No community in Ghana can practice any other legal system apart from that enshrined in our Constitution. If the police at Ofoase are ignorant of the laws of the country I recommend a re-training programme for them. How could ...

• sam ofori 9 years ago

The police are not tough because of instruction from above so that the government do not lose vote at the zongos at the next election, can't you see?

• Gina 9 years ago

Omg, why grant bail to potential terrorists? Smh

• Newsite Bansah 9 years ago

According to the news report, these fanatics had the blessing of the zongo leaders. Well then arrest them as well because they are the accomplises of the fanatics.

The way you kill a snake is to cut off its head. The sympa ...

• Porcha 9 years ago

I agree with u newsite, Ghana judicial system and the police are not very serious at all. If u knew that those Islamic leaders in the area blessed the activities of those thugs, why aren't they arrested and why release the cr ...

• OSABERIMA 9 years ago

Ghana is in trouble, the Police wont do anything under NDC rule. Most zongo people are NDC supporters.

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Aliens or non Ghanaians arrive in our towns and villages looking for work and we are generous enough to give them land to settle on and now they're electing their own Chiefs and setting their own laws despite our Constitution ...

• Haruna Osei 9 years ago

Ask Kwesi Pratt:Who killed SSS Student Abdul Ghafaar?He will say,Christian Boko Haram in One of th Senior Secondary Schools in Cape Coast.
    Abdul Ghafaar was Chased to his Death for Refusing to be forced attend a Church Servi ...

• DOBOO 9 years ago

All Ghanaians have the freedom to believe or not to believe in religion in the first place. Nobody should be forced to worship God as a Christian, Moslem, Jew, Hindu or Traditional Fetish because we are a free people. A large ...

• barmabarmah 9 years ago

I said this earlier that the MP who proposed the hanging and stoning of women is danger to our progress. Now he is finding his ideas gradually at different places. By the time we are aware Islamic fundamentalist would have t ...

• Dessy 9 years ago

The media must not named the group to gain attention..police end law enforce must apprehend them immediately..law enforcement must be rigid on those who finance them..they should not entertain their doctrines..it is barbaric ...

• AbraBo ye HARD. 9 years ago

THE POLICE WILL NEVER DO AWAY WITH THE BRIBE.

• Odiyifo 9 years ago

The police must be very careful about this issue. It appears that Ghanaians are not aware of the genesis of boko haram and so they are encouraging it in Ghana. boko haram was not a violent group until the nigerian police atta ...