Energy crisis: We can’t conjure rains – PURC

Read Comments Comments (74)

• CHA 9 years ago

Ghanaians must kick them out- we have suffered enough under failed NDC

• SOKOTO 9 years ago

What they are not saying, is that the Bagre Dam in Burkina Faso is the cause.
    Ever since that dam was built, Akosombo has always experienced low water levels. They, the Energy and Power people know this very well.

Instead ...

• Wisdom gong 9 years ago

Ghanaians lets take our destiny into our own hands .you father can invoke rain,Gyantuah!.why all these?today Gas,tomorrow Crude oil prices goes down and we blame it on hydro.shit bomb into your mouths,PURC,ECG,NPA

• The mask 9 years ago

It is very true. NCA and Telco's are at the heart of the problem. Corrupt workers in these organisations intercept passwords, foil SSL connections and monitor internet traffic illegally.

If someone does not know the websit ...

• Sigma 9 years ago

Madam, you could have put it in a better way. We all know you are not God, however, there are other scientific ways to create rain.

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

She sounds like Kutu acheampong in those days when there was drought and shortage of food.Hmmm... Message of gloom and despair.
    We can't supply electricity to a small country of 25 million or so? I guess the God in the advan ...

• CORNEY 9 years ago

She is clueless but arrogant.
    Who told her it is only rain that produce . power?
    Who in his right mind doesn't know rain comes from God which make her to be educating us on that?

How can we have these clueless people in ...

• Yaa 9 years ago

Who said you can play God.If even just being a spokesperson with media understanding and go for your gargantuan perks has always been a problem for you, how can you Act as THE ALMIGHTY. PLEASE. GIVE US A BREAK.

• Egya Wusiey 9 years ago

Is this coming from a professional? The united villages of Ghana is putting up with a lot of tosh

• Ken 9 years ago

Oh my God!! You have just said the smartest thing on these comments section, that I've read in a long long time. This woman at PURC is an idiot...and a very big one like all the people leading our country. I cannot pit things ...

• Queen 9 years ago

SHE IS A STUPID FOOL. NEXT TIME SHE SHOULD COME AND TELL US SHE IS INCREASING RATES. WE DONT CREATE MONEY. WHAT IS SHE GOOD FOR IN THAT PURC OFFICE. GOOD FOR NOTHING. FOOL.

• Ken 9 years ago

Right??! It's pathetic.

• KOJO 9 years ago

what school did this fool went, how can Ghana moved forward with fool like this making decision. is hydro power the only source of electricity?

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Who has asked you to conjure rains from heaven,madame?Go and buy crude oil and gas for all these Thermal Power Plants in the country and dumsur will stop.Thank you.

• ZABS BOY 9 years ago

look at what she is saying, no one is asking you to conjure rain because you are not God. however, as a Director you are supposed to know how to find solution to the energy crises.

• OTI AKENTEN 9 years ago

WITH FOOLS LIKE THIS CONTROLLING THINGS, HOW CAN GHANA IMPROVE?

• For All 9 years ago

My brother you couldn't have said it better than this

• Kofi Adams 9 years ago

Kutu Acheampong once in a desprate situation said "menye Nyame na m'ato nsuo". We're all witnasses of what Jerry did to him a couple of months later. PURC is cursed and your days are numbered, we're waiting to see your back.

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

This is what President Mahama should have known than telling the people of Ghana lies.

• SOKOTO 9 years ago

We are being too dependent on Hydro-power.
    Other countries are thinking of other alternative means of generating power, but Ghana is so fixated on hydro and thermal.

Countries like India, Kenya and Nigeria are going Solar ...

• UNIGOV 9 years ago

IT WILL COST A FEE OF $20M

• Kofi Virginia 9 years ago

That is what you get when you appoint fouls to positions. Ask Kutu Akyeampong how this works.

• Truth 9 years ago

How did this woman become a communication "somebody" its very shameful and arrogant and of course she is ignorant of her job description.INFORM and don't insult and shamelessly defensive

• Truth 9 years ago

How did this woman become a communication "somebody" its very shameful and arrogant and of course she is ignorant of her job description.INFORM and don't insult and be shamelessly defensive

• ADWOa-LONDON 9 years ago

tHESE PEOPLE ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH TO BE INCHARGE OF ANYTHING IN GHANA.YOU ERE APPOINTD TO COME UP WITH SOLUTIONS TO HELP MAKE BETTER WHAT IS WRONG. SURE OTHER COUNTRIES DID NOT RELY ON GOD ALONE TO GIVE RAIN FOR THEIR ENERGY S ...

• kumasi 9 years ago

Give us a break.yaa yaa

• IB 9 years ago

What's this lady talking about. Does purc now provides electricity? Taught they were just a regulatory body? Ghanaians needs to visit this lady and and her colleagues residents to see if they're also experiencing the dumsor. ...

• kk 9 years ago

You people are all useless you talk to much but you can't perform

• Grace Antwi 9 years ago

This is so idiotic!
    Shame on you !
    Stop Dumsor by finding an alternative source after almost 60 years of independence.

• TWEAA 9 years ago

AAAH! GENERAL KUTU ACHEAMPONG IS REBORN: 'ME NYE NYAME NO MATO NSUO' - I AM NOT GOD TO CAUSE RAINS TO FALL - MMM VERY SOON NDC WILL ORGANISE A NATIONAL WEEK OF FASTING FOR RAINS SO THAT AKOSOMBO DAM WII BE FULL, OTHERWISE 'TH ...

• ccd 9 years ago

Find ways to store the rain during rain season

• Dr Over 9 years ago

I feel nauseated anytime this lady speaks. I don't blame you!. You don't deserve this position. Rubbish!.for the past 5days l have no light. If I don't get light by tomorrow that will be a good enough reason not to go work f ...

• Boateng Yaw Alex 9 years ago

Please This woman is one of the people who don't want the progress of this country, when it come to increament in tariffs she don't talk of efficiency. may God forgive her for the deceit. If I had the power I would have sack ...

• zangina 9 years ago

This woman is very incoherent. I am not too if she understands the whole show. In any case what is the duty of the PURC? They don't regulate anything. They seem to be representing the utility companies rather than regulate th ...

• BRAINS 9 years ago

Late Gen Kutu Acheampong said similar thing; this is an indication that wisdom has eluded our leaders who should step aside calmly to avert all these stupid utterances.

I guess the people cannot conjure money to pay for the inefficiencies of the power companies. What is the use of that useless PURC at all? Is it to create jobs for people like this Gyantuah woman?

• SOKOTO 9 years ago

Talking about the inefficiencies of the power companies.
    What do you do? Kick out all those managers who can't perform, and get people who can do the job.

But this is Ghana. When was the last time you heard any manager be ...

• SOKOTO 9 years ago

Talking about the inefficiencies of the power companies.
    What do you do? Kick out all those managers who can't perform, and get people who can do the job.

But this is Ghana. When was the last time you heard any manager be ...

• Pontius Pilate 9 years ago

This woman is likely to talk her way to dismissal. She is arrogating to herself, responsibilities which are not hers.

She really sounds stupid most of the time

• Queen 9 years ago

STUPID FOOL. NEXT TIME COME AND TELL US YOU ARE INCREASING RATES. WHAT ARE YOU GOOD FOR IN THAT PURC OFFICE. GOOD FOR NOTHING. FOOL.

• Joe 9 years ago

it will be wise for u to suggest to ECG and the government to educate the rural communities about denying them supply for a year and also disconnect some street lights or better still for every street lights, one should be o ...

• Keteke 9 years ago

Since they are the ones in power, they should already have made alternative arrangements for when the water level is low. If you can't plan, what are you doing leading us? Very stupid answer Madam! You don't deserve to be in ...

• Kintampo 9 years ago

how insulting and uncouthed. didn't we know all along that hydro generation cannot be solely relied upon. and you come out and insult Ghanaians

• Concerned ghanain 9 years ago

Is this woman normal to give such an espl anation no wonder we are in suchmesso

• GHANABA 9 years ago

Try cloud seeding technology.Invest in solar technology.Common sense!

• Skizzy 9 years ago

kwasiabaa

• truth 9 years ago

Stupid talk. Who says you have to rely on only rains to generate power. This is 21st century. Wise up and be technologically abreast.
    Irresponsible people in sensitive positions doing virtually nothing to better the lives o ...

• okofo 9 years ago

Imagine the State of Israel waiting for ADEQUATE rainfall before planting to feed her population...

If this Nana Yaa Jantuah thinks we should wait for ADEQUATE rainfall before we get electricity/power,then she's a brainles ...

• STALLON 9 years ago

GENTLEMEN ITS NDC OR NPP BUT ITS GHANAIAN ESPECIALLY THOSE SITTING IN THOSE APPOINTMENT ARE THE PPL WHE SHOULD BLAME,IF YOU CANT CONJURE RAIN IS IT THE ONLY ALTERNATIVE?PPL ARE GIVEN APPOINTMENT OR THEY LOBBY FOR POSITION BEC ...

• Lopez 9 years ago

Madam Gyantua please think outside the box and stop using rain from God as your excuse for incompetence.I'm not a scientist but don't you think if this dam has been dredged since it's inception the river would not have been c ...

• Ghana Boy 9 years ago

Ghana is a sad place. I have a solution to the Akosombo water level going down. There are so many technologies to resolve this. You have to think outside the box and get rains to come.

• Edem 9 years ago

When it's election year they will get money to buy fuel to power the turbines so it's not NPP who did nothing wrong.......

• SACK THE NITWITS 9 years ago

THIS IS SILLY TALK. RESIGN AND SPARE US YOUR SALARIES SINCE YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER WHAT IT TAKES TO DO YOUR WORK. WE ALSO DO NOT CONJURE THE MONEY WE SPEND ON YOUR SALARY EACH MONTH.

• Eben@Madina 9 years ago

These guys have really disappointed the entire citizenry of our dear nation. How can you rely on ONLY water to provide electricity for over 25 million people in this 21st Century?

• KOMLA AGBEVE 9 years ago

CONGRATS TO ALL U CONTRIBUTORS ON THIS SUBJECT. U HAVE SAID IT AS IT SHOULD BE AND WITH MORE COMMON SENSE. THIS WOMAN IS IGNORANT, ARROGANT AND RUBBISH. LET'S ALL CONTRIBUTE AND SEND HER TO ASOKWA JSS AND MONITOR HER PROGRESS ...

• k kwakye 9 years ago

Very irresponsible talk.... I am sorry to say this.

• kk 9 years ago

this is a big insult to Ghanaians. how can you just insult your employers without any justification. I do not think any Ghanaian has asked anyone to conjure rain, because it is something impossible. so for a "public relation ...

• DOBOO, MD. 9 years ago

Madam Jantuah, God does not make rainfall, it's the water cycle - evaporation, condensation and precipitation; Lol. The VRA must implement the hydrological cycle plans along the Volta rivers and lake. Also regulate mining ope ...

• UNIGOV 9 years ago

I CAN SOLVE AKOSOMBOS PROBLEM BUT I NEED A FEE OF $20M MINIIMUM.

EDUCATION IS NOT CHEAP

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

Hear them. Jantuah: “Rain comes from God…we cannot conjure rain from Heaven…maybe we should all gird our loins and start praying for the rains to come,”. MUM, GOD DOES NOT PRODUCE ELECTRICITY FOR NATIONS. “Once we g ...

• AL 9 years ago

What a pile of Rubbish. Dont you think contigencies should have been put in place to forestall incidents like this? Heres some of them that we can consider. How about some sort of return canal that cycles the exiting water ba ...

• Suntech Energy 9 years ago

Solar home systems are a cost effective and reliable way to provide power for lighting and other home appliances. They ensure that you get power nearly 100% of the time, better than any current alternative. The news of our en ...

• Abu Samson 9 years ago

Maame what can you conjure beside rain?
    (Perhaps Akosua ku.....)It`s about time Ghana look for alternate power supply in supporting the hydraulic power which has already enters it`s old age.Ghana requires more technology in ...

• kutsii. 9 years ago

Who told the ignorant PURC that they can't conjure rain ? The condensation nuclei of the atmosphere is dust and this ash could be sprayed on cumulus clouds to induce rain. Burkina Faso is doing it. What a shame for the usele ...

• DAVID 9 years ago

Please madam, if these words are coming from your your mouth, then it is highly regrettable. stop displaying arrogance and incompetence. there are more civilized ways of approaching this issue.

• TOMOO 9 years ago

This woman must be very stupid. When Blaise Campaore was busy cutting the river to construct the Bagre Dam, which is now exporting tomatoes to Ghana, Ghana's stupid ambassador was speechless at Ougadougou. You people get paid ...

• LAK, Tema 9 years ago

Decentralized energy for individuals to supplement their needs may be the key. With decreasing prices for solar panels world-wide (now about 50 US cents per Watt), Government must urgently and publicly announce that individua ...

• The Vice President 9 years ago

We have muppets leading the country. How could this woman say that rain comes from God. Remember Kutu Achaempong (I am not god to cause rain to fall). At least we can address deforestation in the catchment area of the Volta. ...

• KOMLA AGBEVE 9 years ago

THIS LADY SHOULD BE SCHOOLED TO STOP STRAYING INTO AREAS SHE DOESN'T UNDERSTAND. LET PROPER TECHNICAL EXPERTS SPEAK TO ISSUES CONCERNING POWER GENERATION AND MANAGEMENT. THE LOOSE TALK AND MISINFORMATION IS TOO MUCH. WHAT IS ...

• grace 9 years ago

stupid people with little or no brains

• Mark Ekow 9 years ago

Why then was the E.C.G. boss sacked ?Is the president saying that the E.C.G. boss should have conjured rains ? If he was sacked of incompetence then Mahama should pack bag and baggage from the ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 9 years ago

why is this PURC always finding excuses for the ECG?
    you guys were hidding behind the Price of the crude oil in the world market, after your hideout was bom and blasted by the fall of the oil Price ,you run into lack of rai ...

• G eorge Eshun, USA 9 years ago

What is wrong with Ghana's mentality. Until when would the nation realize that Ghana cannot continue to depend on Akosombo alone for power supply nationally? KNUST has been in existence for long. There is sunshine almost all ...

• John 9 years ago

Beautiful Nana Yaa Gyantuah,let us get the Right Thing Engineers on Board,not Engineers who will advice you that we should PRAY for RAIN.