W/R Chiefs fume at gov't over oil proceeds

Read Comments Comments (114)

• USMAN 9 years ago

mahama chop all your money

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

MAHAMA AND HIS MINISTERS ARE TAKING HUGE SHARES AND KICK BACKS FROM OUR OIL! THEREFORE THEY DONT CARE ABOUT YOU THE OWNERS OF OUR LAND, HEIR BANK ACOUNTS ARE FULL! BUILDING MANSIONS AND FILLING STATIONS ALL OVER GHANA! EVEN A ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE) 9 years ago

Author:-Mahmoud...If we may ask, is the NDC new party school another communist ideological institution? The Young Pioneers implanted by Nkrumah in our midst did more harm than good to the development of this country when they ...

• Mr.N 9 years ago

This oil is offshore so why so the Chiefs wanted 10% share of Oil revenue? How many of these Western region House of Chiefs has a navy? How on earth did oil that was found offshore belong to Western Region? The Western Region ...

• NDC GURU 9 years ago

WE THE NORTHERNERS ARE IN GOVERNMENT

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

This is a stupid proposition from these chiefs. Beside this incompetent Mahama administration being clueless about what is meant by development projects. What will these chiefs do with the 10 percent share of the oil revenue? ...

• OLD SOLDIER 9 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• Azumah Nelson 9 years ago

The Oil belongs to the people of Ghana.
    The Oil is found offshore.

• AGOO 9 years ago

THE CHIEF MUST STOP EXPOSING THEIR IGNORANCE IN PUBLIC.

ALL MINERALS IN THE ATMOSPHERE, UNDER THE SEA AND ONTOP/UNDERNEATH THE EARTHTHE AND THE SUN SHINE WITHIN THE BOUNDRIES OF GHANA BELONG TO GOVERNMENT.

GOVERNMENT ...

Author:-SOD....
    What does the Mahama NDC gov't mean by an Ultra modern Kumasi central market? What comparable ultra modern market in developed countries of the world should Ghanaians compare this Ultra modern Kumasi central ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

When KU4 came on the Ghana's Oil documentation(s), he made sure, the area representatives remained in the DARK. And non of these Western Regional Chiefs got anywhere near meetings, but the Ashantis and his criminal 'gangsters ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi Must Die! 9 years ago

It's so.stupid on the part of the Central.govt.to not allow.the western regional their 10%. To.aid.In development projects. Any region that produces natural.resources must automatically get a 10% rebate on the revenue from th ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

ITS 10 REGIONS AND IF EVERY REGION TAKES 10% HOW MANY WILL BE LEFT.
    LET THEM GO TO THE MINING ,BAUXITE AND RUBBER CORPORATION AND ASK THEM FOR 10%.

• Apraku 9 years ago

If they are demanding 10%, should other regions in Ghana also demand the same share? What is wrong with the government ? such demands must be completely rejected by any other government.

The only thing that could be demand ...

Author:-PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE)...
    Ivor Greenstreet said directly to President John Mahama and Vice President Kwesi Amissah-Arthur that: “You don’t care”.
    “Nobody is feeling your better Ghana”, Greenstreet sho ...

• ABAAH--ASD 9 years ago

BUT HAVE MAHAMAH AND HIS ADMINISTATION EVER SAID WHAT THEY GET IN THE OIL REVENUE TO GHANAIANS THAT THESE CHIEFS WANTS 10%?.FUNNY CHIEFS,THESE LOOTERS CAN'T EVEN SHOW GHANAIANS A PESEWA,THEY HAVE CHOPPED EVERYTHING TO THE BON ...

• Kofi Nyame 9 years ago

How can such an intelligent man like us write like a stupid guy without brain

• KOOBOY 9 years ago

IT WAS KUFFOUR AND HIS MEN WHO SIGNED THE CONTRACT AND TOOK 10% FOR THEMSELVES AND GAVE THE WHOLE COUNTRY 13% WENT TO GHANA. GOOGLE THE OIL CONTRACT OF GHANA AND YOU WILL FIND OUT THE WHOLE TRUTH. BLAME KUFFOUR

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana Akanfuo Binaddo didn't even know the directions Western Region is situated in Ghana. Nana Binaddo was "Dada ba" the dady's SON who has NO pain for the poor.

• dandi 9 years ago

SEE THE WORK OF TRUE MURDERERS; JJ RAWLINGS AND HIS PNDC COHORTS

In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a martial court or a court of law) the following also were, innocently kille ...

• AL JAZEERA NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Y3n Ayigbe party is the NDC which has totally destroyed our beautiful Ghana!!!!!!!!!

• papa kofit 9 years ago

You just accusing Nana out of jealousy.r

• Grayson 9 years ago

Mahama and his brother and friends chop all the oil money.

• Hanson 9 years ago

Mahama will attempt to bribe them to keep quite

• Dadzie 9 years ago

Mahama is spending all the country's money on his travels.
    How does it cost the Ghanaian taxpayer on these Mahama luxury trips abroad?
    Mahama needs money to fly the plane so that is where all the money is going.

• Kofi Nyame 9 years ago

like the NPP guys. we know them

• ISAAC 9 years ago

THESE CHIEFS ARE FOOLS. WHEN DO THEY STARTED CATCHING FISH FROM THE SEA? DO THEY DISCOVER ANY OIL OR IT WAS DISCOVERED BY THE GOVERNMENT? FOOLS

• a.k, amsterdam 9 years ago

My dear chiefs all what you need to do is to come together with your subjects and vote out Mahama and NDC Government out of power if not your demands will never be met.

• TRUE GHANAIAN 9 years ago

A.k,Amsterdam you will forever stay and die in Amsterdam as poor as church rat. Nonesence

• TRUE GHANAIAN 9 years ago

A.k,Amsterdam you will forever stay and die in Amsterdam as poor as church rat. Nonesence

• ABAAH--ASD 9 years ago

HE IS BETTER THAN YOU,AFTER ALL HE DOESN'T SLEEPS IN DARKNESS LIKE RAT AS YOU THE FOOL SOLDIERS DO.YOUR RAT MAHAMAH WOULD BE SHOWN THE EXIT IF YOU LIKE IT OR NOT.WE CAN'T GIVE THIS GOOD FOR NOTHING PRESIDENT ANOTHER MANDATE.H ...

• ABA 9 years ago

May you never return to Ghana with that your inciteful, and cheap politics.V

• Toto 9 years ago

Even the Queen of England works!

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

Answe

• Boateng 9 years ago

Chief, politics aside, do you think this demand is worth Ghana's attention? How about each region demanding a share of what comes out of the region?

Maybe there should then be a toll at each regional border to charge eve ...

• I & l 9 years ago

Well maybe we should go Federal so each Region can manage its Resources and development their respective Regions. How about that?

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

Definitely, Northerners And Voltarians Will Want To Retain Ndc But Central, Brong Ahafo, Western, And Greater Accra Metropolis Will Vote Out Ndc Bcos They Are Not One Way Voters So They Vote According To How Badly Incumbent G ...

• ABA 9 years ago

BILLYBILLY, is only a stupid person who'll sit in his/her room and count the number of regions and the pattern they will be voting. cheap and opportunistic politician. why now.

• Kwaku Acpoli 9 years ago

The cocoa growing areas have financed Ghana over the ages> The regions that produce cocoa should request for their 10% 'abi'

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Western region grows more cocoa than any,please go and find out.Thank you.

• victor Agboyibor 9 years ago

I wish the government will listen to our chiefs and do what is expected of them.

• Nana Kuntumpaah III 9 years ago

Simply burn the rubber plantation and nobody will buy it. If the government will not co-operate with you, you don't have to stress yourselves. Every now and then we hear money being pumped into some useless ventures in thr ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Be careful of these chiefs. They just want money so as to increase their no. of wives.

• Kofi Miawo De 9 years ago

The oil is way miles into the sea, not on western lands. Vote wisely. The Ahwoi brothers have taken your share and choped it nafunafunafu.

• dandi 9 years ago

SOCIALISTS AHWOIS AMONG THE

Twenty Richest People In Ghana For 2013

1. Ibrahim Mahama -$1.9 billion /Businessman , Brother of the current President of Ghana. Only Ghanaian to own a private jet.

2. Alfred Mahama -$1.3 ...

• Saeed Shamsudeen 9 years ago

Dandi Dandi Dandi, you don't even believe this gibberish your self. As far as Forbes is concern, there is not a single Ghanaian billionaire.

• TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Emmanuel Agbesi RSA 9 years ago

President Mahama, have you learnt from Nigerian Delta Force? Watchout, that's what the chiefs are saying to you. Ken Sarawiwa's generation is also in Ghana. Army, Police Al-Quada will not stop them, even bullets from your A ...

• Ben 9 years ago

western region chiefs fume

• DUMSOR 9 years ago

NDC DOESN'T CARE ABOUT THE AKANS REGIONS. THE PARTY TRIBAL IDEAS STILL EXIST . OBUASI ROAD FOR EXAMPLE IS THE WORST IN THE NATION DESPITE THE (GOLD). WHY TEMALE AIRPORT WHEN DUMSOR AND MAJOR ROAD ARE NOT FIX ? AYE ASEM OOOOO ...

• OKOROMANSA 9 years ago

YOUR MISTAKE WAS TO HAVE VOTED FOR MAHAMA'S NDC. LEARN YOUR LESSON AND THINK TWICE IN 2016. BLAME YOURSELVES.

• Earl Jones 9 years ago

Oil is a national resource not for only a particular region. Government would have been setting a very bad precedence if it allows such divisive allocation of state resources.
    Imagine allocating 10% of proceeds of resources ...

• Fiction 9 years ago

wel said jones dis chiefs v their own agendas for dis proceedings nt bcus dey v de region interest at heart dey are all greedy people so de least govern can do n shld do is to ignored them dey shld go to hell wid their stupi ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

Thanks you!

• EFO KOKU 9 years ago

Korle lagoon is all you got.

• Ezuah 9 years ago

You will never get the money.How will the government fulfill their commitments.Don't allow yourself to be deceived by politicians.

• wise man 9 years ago

How many gold % did Ashanti chiefs requested from gold mining for the centuries. from government? go get something do and get life lazy people

• SBD 9 years ago

You are very right!

• KWAKU KYERETWIE 9 years ago

IF WESTERN REGION GETS 10% OF OIL THEN ASHANTI REGION WILL GET 10% FROM THE GOLD REVENUE FROM THE GOVERNMENT. WHAT NDC SAID WAS A PROPAGANDA PLOY TO WIN VOTES FROM THE WESTERN REGION . SO THEREFORE THESE CHIEFS SHOULD KEEP QU ...

• kofi adu 9 years ago

You are still out of touch. Ahwoi keeps pushing fear into you guys. WHY CANT YOU BE DCE YOURSELVES? Issuing statements adt threats are not the answer. You can have control of your communities and you will in the govt. tooWhat ...

• man 9 years ago

western region chiefs fume at govt over oil proceeds

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

where is that oil money,because we in overseas helping our family most

• T POLY( NANS) 9 years ago

Nananom try your best to take that 10% stake...... until we learn how yo write the story will always glorifies the hunter.

• STEPHEN OSEI,NORWAY 9 years ago

THIS IS VERY SERIOUSE,WHAT ABOUT THE GOLD IN ASHANTI REGION, VOLTA RIVER FOR LIGHT TO THE COUNTRY

• ob 9 years ago

It's time for the chiefs in the western regiton to fight for for what belong to them.we get all our resources from western rigion but the money is being spent in north sada jeda good roads free educ now airport but we get not ...

• semy 9 years ago

WHAT DO THE CHIEFS USE THE MONEYY FOR LOOK AT TARKWA CHIEFS FOOLS

• Yendi boy 9 years ago

The money is for all Ghanaians. Mahama gave the Ministry you requested to one of your country (region) man what again?

• ob 9 years ago

You don't know what you are talking about. Western region is the leading producer of gold cocoa timber i all the natural resources. But we don't have anything to boost of always north north.now airport and the the people of w ...

• gbolas 9 years ago

Tribalistic demands.

• kojo 9 years ago

Why are you crying now? After canvassing for your own one to become the Energy Minister what do you have? Nothing. Visionless chiefs. When you put square peg in a round hole, what do you get? Dumsor. You chiefs have not seen ...

• MAHAMAH BILLY GOAT 9 years ago

BECAUSE YOU AHANTAS AND YOUR COUSINS NZIMAS ARE KNOWN TO BE FOOLS. YOUR CHIEFS ARE MOST FOOLS AMONGS CHIEFS IN GHANA. WESTERN REGION IS THE RICHEST REGION WITH MANY RESOURCES, AND YET IT
    IS THE LEAST DEVELOPED REGION. WHY B ...

• Alhaji Kweku 9 years ago

Don't mind the Western Chiefs. They have been taking 10% royalty payments from gold and other minerals since the days of Adam and what have they done with it. Wassa Fiase benefits a lot from gold proceeds and is the undispute ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

After selling all their lands to Bonos and Ashantis to farm, what have they done for their people with the proceeds of from the land sale?

Corrupt fools!

• Quaynortey 9 years ago

No wonder the Ashantis are the superior tribe in Ghana. They are selfless and caring tribe. The Ashantis shared their Cocoa, gold, etc without these NONSENSE. Western Region people can go to hell. We Gas will take our lands b ...

• Onuabea 9 years ago

Pls let the chiefs give us a break about their demands. Its only in Africa we want the government to do everything for us. Apart from the oil what next do they have? God help those who help themselves. They shd find another a ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

Thanks Onuabea!

• BBCy 9 years ago

The Chiefs are as corrupt as the politicians.They want the money for more wives .

• DUMSOR 9 years ago

MORE WIVES - U RIGHT

• SBD 9 years ago

Crying for money? What are you going to do? I thought nation planning was the something to be done by the government. Ghanaian kings just sell stool lands and pocket the money....it seems you hove no more lands to sell.

Pr ...

• BUILSA KANJARGA 9 years ago

Mahama will give these chiefs V8 vehicles for them to keep quiet so he can continue looting the oil.

• kweku 9 years ago

Thank you our belove leaders of W/R. Nananom, do not give any chance to the goverment to manpulate our land, as they comes and go, but your chlidrens in the region will always be a western region idigenus. I grow up in Dixcov ...

• princewilly@ymail.com 9 years ago

Maria is a devout Catholic. (No condoms for her!) She gets married and has 17 children...and then her husband dies. She remarries two weeks later...and has 22 children by her second husband. She dies.

At her wake, the pr ...

• palogo 9 years ago

All the oil money has gone to to the Ewe mafia. Go and look for Tsikata, he most of that money.

• Peace 9 years ago

Development of every region is the responsibility of the government.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Are t5his so called chiefs serious at all

• DUMSOR 9 years ago

MAHAMA WILL DECEIVE ALL THE CHIEFS ACROSS THE COUNTRY 2016 SINCE YOU ALL ARE BLINDED AND MONEY HUNGRY . VOTE WISELY IN THE NEAR FUTURE .

• nani 9 years ago

Theives, govt should not mind them. Whathave they done with the money they make from the tomber they sell illegally and the lands they lease out to the chinese people for galamsey?cheiftaincy and chiefs for that matter are be ...

• BCBG 9 years ago

The oil is in the sea off the western continental shelf. Do these Chiefs also own the sea? If other resource rich regions also ask for their share where will Ghana be?

• EkoWe Hanson 9 years ago

The best is the west not Volta or central so think

• Ibn Mubarak 9 years ago

The Chiefs were so stupid to have believed this incompetent government lead by a stupid and useless President on its promises. They will never get it if this wicked government continues to rule Ghana. The Chiefs should help t ...

• 0264352675 9 years ago

Inward looking, Ashanti Gold in Ashanti Region, Newmont in B/A, are the people in these regions getting 10% of the revenue? What will a poor region like volta do if that was the case.

• Ebo 9 years ago

go jack yourselves lazy twerps

• AKOS 9 years ago

CHIEFS WANT MONEY TO GET MORE WIVES.

• Attention 9 years ago

You chief have chop for hundreds of years and love to sit on people's head around town.
    What do you know about development?

You still encourage slavery by you customs, and have not IDEA how to drill oil.
    With all the go ...

• KOFI BABONE 9 years ago

THESE CHIEFS SHOULD GO AND FIND SOME JOB TO DO RATHER THAN EXPECT 10% FROM OIL.iS ASHANTI REGIN GETTING 10% OF GOLD PROCEEDS?

• JK 9 years ago

NANANOM MUST COME OUT CLEAR. WE NEED MONEY TO ENJOY SMALL GIRLS

• ogyam 9 years ago

Nigeria must go. They introduced 419 & armed robbery to our peaceful Ghana. If it's left unchecked, Ghana will be one of nigerian states. They must go and fight their corrupt govt like boko haram is doing now.

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

OUR CHIEFS ARE AS CORRUPT AS EVERYONE ELSE. WHAT EVIDENCE HAVE THEY TO SHOW THAT THEY COULD UTILIZE THE MONEY BETTER THEN THE GOV'T? THE OIL IS IN THE SEA, NO CHIEF HAS ANY CLAIMS OVER THE FISH IN THE SEA. THEY DO NOT HAVE A ...

• Niibi-USA 9 years ago

This is the exact things that happened in Nigeria around the regions of the Delta where the oil productions are and yet the people there are not getting a fair share of the income. Hence, the destruction and chaos over there. ...

• HAILLE SELASSIE 9 years ago

Every region should get their fair share based on population and not proximity to Oil location.

• Jam 9 years ago

The request is rubbish and undoable.

If they are given 10% other regions will also demand same and what will be used to develop areas which are not fortunate to have minerals or unable to produce enough for the nation? Chi ...

• Ekow-Paris.. 9 years ago

The have to do something better for them.

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

A better thought will be that the chiefs set up a development bank or community bank with the proceeds and give out loans to their communities for development.

• HAILLE SELASSIE 9 years ago

The Government should do the developing not chiefs. The only place the chiefs will develop when they get their hands on the money is their pockets.

• Uncle 9 years ago

This demand is outrageous. Next time the chiefs will be asking of 10% of GAS proceeds then it will be endless. It will be a bad precedent if we as a nation should accept this demand from the chiefs. It will means that the na ...

• GHANANI 9 years ago

These chiefs are fools.Should Ashanti Region also demand ten per cent of revenue accruing from the sale of gold? Should the cocoa producing areas of Ghana also demand 10 per cent of cocoa revenue to develop their districts or ...

• SAKASASKA 9 years ago

Gold,etc
    will Ashanti the region house of chiefs get ten percent of the revenue for the development of Ashanti region

• the brew 9 years ago

Western chiefs all wat they wan is money to enrich themselves. Instead of them making sure that the offices of the oil companies are built in the region so that we can easily apply for job, they are here making noise for 10% ...

• LAST DON 9 years ago

He has nothing to cling on and would instigate others to demand unecessarily.

It should be made point blank no chief should benefit. The proceeds is for the whole society. What do they need the 10% for? To pay teachers or ...

• mr amin 9 years ago

I totaly disagree with nananoom. The resources is for ghanians stop singling out w/r. The akosombo dam is in the eastern rigion which have been giving to light till date, we are also demanding 60% of it. Will that go well for ...

• Oteng 9 years ago

Dam you,so call chiefs is there before Kwame Nkrumah what did there do the start on ky3 di

• Efo Kwaku Canada 9 years ago

This oil is off shore so why those chiefs are demanding 10 percent? I don't get it can someone among the chiefs explain this? Are some of the land been tempered? Or destroys due to the oil ? We're all Ghanaians let us be trut ...

• ABA 9 years ago

Ben, if not a stupid fool who will insult his president. probably you can never become mp let alone president. indirectly, are you not insulting the over five million people who voted prz Mahama?

• Joseph Poku 9 years ago

Even jobless people in Amsterdam are better off than you stupid so called "True Ghanaian".Foolish uneducated Ndc follower.