Akosombo to shut down 3rd of 6 turbines

Read Comments Comments (41)

• General Wiranto 9 years ago

Akuffo-Addo is actually insane and mad to suggest that he is forgiving the CPP. If somebody tries to kill the elected leader of a country and the person ends up in jail and dies from natural causes, why should Akuffo-Addo for ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

(P)NDC HAS KILLED MORE PEOPLE IN GHANA THAN ALL POLITICAL PARTIES PAST AND PRESENT COMBINE. NOT EVEN A BOMB CAN CATCH UP WITH (P)NDC KILLINGS. O THE JUDGES AND THE RETIRED ARMY OFFICER, SAD. NDC HAVE NO HEART. VOTE THEM OUT.

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

IF GHANAIANS DONT ACT NOW BY 2016 ALL THE TURBINES WILL BE SHUT DOWN. JUST 2 YEARS IN POWER AND MAHAMA/NDC HAVE SHUT DOWN 3 OUT OF 6 POWER TURBINES AT VRA AKONSOMBO. WHAAAT

NDC SHOULD NEVER ACCUSE ANYONE OF VIOLENCE, BECAUSE THEY TOP THE ACT OF VIOLENCE IN GHANA. (P)NDC HAS KILLED MORE PEOPLE IN GHANA THAN ALL POLITICAL PARTIES PAST AND PRESENT COMBINE. NOT EVEN A BOMB CAN CATCH UP WITH (P)NDC K ...

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

Close Observer, you are just out of your mind.Ignorant and lunatic

• Prince Massachusetts 9 years ago

Kwame Belgium u r the biggest ignorant. Fool. U know how many people AFRC , PNDC and now NDC . Killers

Kwame, what are you doing in Belgium, after 26 years of the USELESS NDC PARTY IN GOVERNMENT. Your stay in Belgium tells the whole story that Ghana is not doing well; unless you want to tell us that you are a diplomat. So you ...

• kk 9 years ago

THE NDC SPENT ALL THE 6 YRS LYING TO GHANAIANS THAT THE POWER CRISIS WAS THE PROBLEM OF NIGERIA NOT GIVING US ENOUGH GAS WHEN WE NEEDED IT. THEY BLA ED NIGERIA SO THAT THEY COULD CHOP THE MONEYS MARKED FOR INVESTMENT IN THE E ...

• kofi 9 years ago

Ei there are people in Ghana who have this attitude even though they sound educated. Ghana will remain at its present stage for a long time. Ei

• SGT ANANI FIADZOE 9 years ago

Lets think again!. Do you need light when you are asleep? NO! Neither your fridges etc.

• why you wanna know 9 years ago

I always tell you you are the most stupid man on earth.... Wo agyimi paaaaaa. I am sure you grew up in the country side and because of your backward mind, I want us to live like that in a nation of 22 million people. Kwasia k ...

• NTRA SAKYI 9 years ago

Kindly Google "aliens compliance order" and understand what it means. If you travel to sojourn in another country you are reguired by law to regulate your stay in that country. Asking foreigner's to regulate their stay in yo ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

U are a stupid man, we are dealing with problem solving of our power crisis and u are stupidly throwing insult at somebody has nothing to do with the current situation. Once again u are a fool.....@ wiranto

• KWAME-BELGIUM 9 years ago

when this is done, is the President go tell the People of Ghana that he takes the blame? He had already spoken and gave false promises as if he is a rain god. Normaly, Ghanaians must not blame the President for lower water l ...

• Azamboni Jamini 9 years ago

You evil Mahama, In opposition you and NDC nagged for power from Akosonbo. Kyfour went to Akosonbo , prayed and the rains came. You Mahama have no good will and cursed. You visit there will make it worse because you are a non ...

• The Mentor 9 years ago

THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN HANDLED YEARS AGO. CRYING FOR THE PEOPLE OF GHANA.

• YAW BONTO 9 years ago

THE OLD FROG AKUFO ADDO GRANMPA MUGABI MAKES AII THIS PROBIEMS SHAME UNTO THEM WE WILL STILL VOTE FOR MAHAMA COME 2016 IF YOU GUYS LIKE IT OR NOT

• DE (GREAT) 9 years ago

This is senseless .no serious nation will depend on hydro with this current climate change.

• TANII BA! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

TANII IS STILL TANII, WHAT EVER IT IS. MAHAMA IS TANII, NO BRAINS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kenya 9 years ago

Pls invent as engineers and save your professional image. What is this. Engineers are problem solvers and not always complaining. Tweeaaa

• kofi 9 years ago

Ghanaian professionals have failed us big time. Ghanaians must get at them and not politicians. Give power generation to Chinese technicians and I am sore we will have constant power at cheaper prices

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

VRA made the case for Nuclear and Solar energy, buttressed further by the case of the impact of climate change upon us.

Climate change has ruled out hydro.

• Uncle Pee 9 years ago

It is so stupid for this NDC government and the previous ones, including Kufour's administration, not to have anticipated that we would incur this problem one day. We have coal, why don't we use it? Over 40% of US energy depe ...

• 3tw3 de3 saa na 3te3 9 years ago

After over 50yrs of Akosombo dam, we as a country defied all wisdom and invested hard currency on another hydo-dam. Bui dam which runs on three turbines to produce about 450mw is presently running on just One turbine. Akosomb ...

• Bobby 9 years ago

Is it the fault of Mahama that the water level is low? Or is he a rain god? Be sensible with your criticisims, IMANI and co.

• Evans 9 years ago

Apart from Black Stars winning games of late, when are we ever going to hear good news from Ghana. Aaaaaba

• Nana obeng 9 years ago

RESIGN MAHAMA RESIGN

• lssah Alhassan mobila 9 years ago

The NDC administration shd completely stop making noise that they have added what megawatts of power. talkative Ghanaians r tired of this noise administration.

• Adjoa 9 years ago

Obviously we don't know what to do so why not seek help from those who KNOW!!

• Lucifer 9 years ago

Mahama u r really suffering the wrath of God. Next time crown yourself a king without God's approval n you will see death.

• #NO MORE DUMSOR# 9 years ago

It would be recalled that the ECG Boss predicted that if electric power generation from the Akosombo dam was not cut back, the Akosombo dam would have to shut down because the water level was getting low and it needed to be c ...

• Sankofa 9 years ago

You have missed the point.

The thermal plants can run on both gas and petrol. The problem is that VRA says it is currently unable to use all the gas that GNGC can supply to produce electricity. If they were able to use all ...

• Yaw Manu 9 years ago

please me talker mahama government is not god he does not produce rain if you are that smart why are you not the president.. talk is cheap.

• #NO MORE DUMSOR# 9 years ago

Where is the over Ghc2billion new cedis that John Mahama NDC gov't owes the ECG for the electricity supplied?
    Where is the money?

• gloria usa 9 years ago

i dont think it is water problem it is
    ndc propaganda nigerians refuse to supply fuel ndc corruption no money to pay

• Amensco 0244523451 9 years ago

Quality Toner and Ink refill at AMENSCO TECHNO SERVICES at Abeka-Fadama.
    We also sell and repair Canon and HP Printers and Copiers.
    Call 0244523451

• Energy Guru 9 years ago

Is somebody in the Energy Ministry looking at solar energy as part of our energy portfolio. Could these guys speak to DEWA of Dubai to study how they are planning their energy needs with solar in the center stage.

• Nana Asamoah 9 years ago

GhAna pople are folish there are machine we can buy it and drill more meters.so always we get more water.if you dont know this ask german pople in hamborg atona.

• Abrante 9 years ago

When I was a kid, there were lots of streams flowing into the volta lake. Now all have dried up due to poor enviromental control. Some are clogged up with pure water satchets and there is no responsible institution in place t ...

• SAARA-MENSAH 9 years ago

I don't like Mahama but I don't wan im to face problems like dis

• AKONFEM MAHAMA 9 years ago

African leaders are stupid and selfish. Depending on Akosombo dam which was built during colonial era. African leaders have no vision. They are only good at steal from the poor and stack in swiss bank. What a hopeless contine ...