I salute Gyan for avoiding penalty shootout - Ex-AFCON winner

Read Comments Comments (70)

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

I agree with Osei Kofi 100%,there is no excuse for this disgrace.The technical team should have anticipated penalty shoot out and prepare the Stars for it.I was ashamed before my children for missing this golden opportunity,t ...

• SALINSA 9 years ago

konadu was there when we lost to burkina on penalties which atsu & harrison converted. konadu is aware mahatma is an expert in dead ball situations yet he ensured the boy never got selection. out of pettiness konadu continued ...

• korku gadzekpo 9 years ago

But today Atsu is now our Hero...lol

• WO HAW NE DEN? U.S.A. 9 years ago

Ghanians should learn the game they say they love, Gyan does not want his dead mother to be insulted by some good for nothing Ghanaians who don't know anything about soccer, he does't want people to go to hes mother's grave t ...

• Mosi 9 years ago

This Asamoah Gyan boy is very wise. great players like Ronaldo & Messi miss penalty kicks and nothing happens to them but here in Ghana people wanted to bury Asamoah Gyan alive. But for his goal against Algeria Ghana would ha ...

• Kwame Kumi 9 years ago

I think your children should rather be ashamed of you for not appreciating the fact that it's impossible for all penalty kickers to score. If it were so perhaps the match would still be going on!

In fact there have been i ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

What makes the difference?It takes a very little detail to win a game but if you keep making the same mistakes over and over again there is no way to be pardoned.Please try to objective,tell the stars to work very hard in thi ...

• James 9 years ago

ITS UNPARDONABLE FOR GHANA NOT TO HAVE LIFTED THE CUP. I WOULD BE ASHAMED SAME BEFORE FRIENDS AND MY CHILDREN ON DUMP WOULD THROW AWAY SUCH AN OPPORTUNITY...SHAME ON THE TWO PLAYERS AND THE TECHNICAL TEAM FIFA WILL CONTINUE ...

• bee lee 9 years ago

just annoying.u keep losing from 1992 to 2015 tro penalties to uruguay zambia b faso cote d ivoire(x2) bt still no antidote found.no wonder....

• SALINSA 9 years ago

kotoko met africa sports in a wafu cup final in kumasi.
    after 2 legs and extra time it was still deadlocked.
    penalty shot out: the 1st 2 kicks by the ivorians were missed.
    the 1st 3 kicks by kotoko addae kyenkyenhene, abdu ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

How could you score 3 first kicks out of 5 penalty shoot out and lose later?It's impossible because any team with 3 goals on the score board carries the day automatically.Otherwise your calculation is false.Thank you.

• Asare 9 years ago

Africa Sports misses 2 penalty kicks but converts the next 3.
    Kotoko converts 3 penalty kicks but misses the next two.

Both teams are now level. Hope you get it now.

• SALINSA 9 years ago

Dr Asare you sent me crazy @ my desk

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

You can never covert the first 3 kicks and loss because we have only 5 shoot out to start so if you score 3,what is left for the opponent?2 goals can't beat 3 except this is not what really happened.Thank you.

• #Ern is back!! 9 years ago

Boy Kofi, it is possible.... it all depends on who kicked off first.

Kotoko kicked off first and scored.
    Wafu missed 1st kick
    Kotoko scored second
    Wafu missed second kick
    (so two nil abi?)
    Kotoko scored third one
    Waf ...

• salinsa 9 years ago

hahahahaaa! were there to see hearts fans jubilating? I am a Hearts fan but i didn't jubilate. the team was africa sports.do you remember philip opoku sampany? he failed to score. the referee gave him a second opportunity, he ...

Ah, I see...... I didn't watch the match and don't remember it

• SALINSA 9 years ago

that was the time of sarfo gyamfi, george arthur. it was a wafu cup final. either africa sports or asec @ kumasi sports stadium. i think rauf iddi scored a late goal to send the match into extra time.

• Sethovia 9 years ago

Will u blame Gyan for what Ghanaians did to him for missing two penalties. If it were u, will u take the penalty? Andre should have taken the third kick to secure our victory. Why do we deserve the best for the last? I haven' ...

• luca 9 years ago

Gyan has suffered at the hands of ghns.its terrible.if he played n missed he'd ve bn criticized more..cos some teat would say he's the captain and he's missed one too many already...now he didn't take any..now still people cr ...

• KING BRIGHT (USA) 9 years ago

Anything happens in penalty shootouts and Gyan's career would have ended if he missed another one. I would have headed straight to the dressing room instead. Fairness is the key here folks.

• Murtala 9 years ago

Osei kofi,that is wrong we need to restore the confidence in him to star taking penalty kicks as the captain of the team, he does it at his club level very well,Messi has lost some penalty kicks,but that has not sto ...

Gyan made a vow to his mother to not take penalty kicks for Ghana again. She is deceased. He cannot reverse that vow.
    If she were alive, he may go back to her and beg to reverse the vow, but she is not....... lets be objecti ...

• Taxi 9 years ago

I agree with you 1,000%.

• Just 9 years ago

Dead people don't bite

• Owusu 9 years ago

But nobody attacked his parents or his home,neither did anybody insulted or cursed him through the media

• SOCCERHOLIC 9 years ago

You are either a kid or a liar @ owusu

What has Gyan not suffered at the foul mouth of some silly fans. I will advise him to do same had he be my son. Mtwww tweaaa. Can't eat your cake and have it.

• kdua 9 years ago

Were you then living outside the country or not familiar with social media?

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

Osei kofi please don't back Gyan blindly he is the captain and he should have been part of the first five penalty kicks.Where is our confidence in him as Black Stars captain? My people are destroy for the lack of Technical kn ...

You think Messi was humiliated and attacked, his mother and father were insulted, and like Reverend Osei Kofi said, people went to his fathers house wanted to burn it down. You think what runs through these footballers, BLOOD ...

• Kwame Kumi 9 years ago

The point which you perhaps don't get is that no-one attempted to burn the home of Messi's father because he missed a penalty kick. Secondly Messi has never made a vow to his mother - dead or alive - that he would no longer ...

• Kwame Adjei-Mensah aka Uncle Ben. Atl 9 years ago

Mutaia, I bet if you were Gyan you will not even come any where near the Black Stars talk about shootinng a Ghanaian penalty.Yes he takes penalty kicks for his club with the assurance or the notion that should he miss he will ...

• Al 9 years ago

Massa Osei Kofi, captainship is more than just wearing the armband. He should have been on the field setting example and inspiring his team The past does not define our future. Our mistakes of yesterday does not mean we shall ...

• Di carlo 9 years ago

I agree the past doesnt determine the future,and fear is our biggest enemy to success..fans have be calm sometimes and encourage and uplift the players to thrive and not to bring them down.Big players always miss crucial pena ...

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 9 years ago

But those you mention never stop there they continue to take penalties for their country and play in crucial games too.Gyan made us to loose the cup.

Because their supporters understand football and do not crucify the players unnecessarily. Ghanaians should learn to be civilized and accept defeat. Until Ghanaians understand soccer and know that things happened and to err i ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

It was obvious that Gyan was not 100% in this tournament. I think he fought hard for us and he saved us in the Algeria game. As a captain, he understood his limitations and made way for the others. He was correct not to ta ...

• kwami 9 years ago

who should play for him to come lift to come lift the cup .. osei kofi is ignorant .

While lestening to the commentry during the penalty shootouts , I heard what I had not hope or wanted to hear : " It is A-L-L OVER " .And over it was on sunday February 2nd, 2015.As painful or unbeleivable as it is , the outc ...

• Isaac 9 years ago

u see him self -fish he dont want gh to win cup again

• Akwasi 9 years ago

Why salute Gyan? A leader should not afraid to lead on battle field. He is a coward to me. Also I think the coach should have assembled his first five best penalty takers. Ayew should have been number 3 kicker instead of numb ...

If you know that, then you people should respect and understand the game.
    Ghanaians always know how, when and what someone shold do and behave, but they themselves, NO. Gyan dos'nt want Ghanaians to insult his dead mother an ...

• luca 9 years ago

A leader this, a leader that..what the fuck are you, a leader or a twat.why aren't you playing for the black stars.and fucking leading the team...how many penalties has gyan taken for ghana after the world cup n afcon miss... ...

If you know that, then you people should respect and understand the game.
    Ghanaians always know how, when and what someone should do and behave, but they themselves, NO. Gyan dos'nt want Ghanaians to insult his dead mother a ...

• GhanaBoy 9 years ago

I thought the vow or promised Gyan make to his Mom was, never take a spot kicks for Ghana during 90mins of playing time not when the game come to penalty kicks.
    He should have take the pks.

• Joey Boy 9 years ago

Gyan missed a penalty, fans were furious so he won't play it again; another time Gyan may miss a header, fans will be furious so he won't go in for a header again, etc,etc. What then does he stay in the team for? I don't agre ...

• PHILIP .O. USA. 9 years ago

I THANK YOU FOR SAYING THIS,AND I WILL SAY, GHANAINS TALK TOO, TOO MUCH IS LIKE WE KNOW EVERYTHING,THEY SHULD LEAV THE STARS ALONE,IF THEY WINE WE THANK GOD AND LOOSE WE PRAISE GOD. BUT GHANAINS TALK TOOOO,MUCH THEY NEED TO S ...

• Solo - Shai-hills. 9 years ago

U'v got it wrong Rev. Gyan is no mean player in de team. He is de most senior player & more importantly de captain. It is not by merely arm-banding urself dat makes u a skipper; it is all about leadership & Gyan needs to prov ...

• earthquake 9 years ago

Don't blame gyan

• mahama 9 years ago

as a captain and a leader he should lead by example! if u have promised ur mum not to take penalty again, then pls hand over the captaincy to someone else. we need a brave captain who will motivate the boys in difficult situa ...

• Nana Yaw Koram 9 years ago

Asamoah Gyan should be a man and a leader. YOu can not run away because of one failure

• amarlaialfred@gmail.com 9 years ago

the stars are unique.Gyan is courageous.

• Paa Pee 9 years ago

This is a big lie and a contradiction by Pastor Osei Kofi
    Two days ago this was published
    Gyan was expected to be amongst the takers in the exercise, but was replaced just before the referee blasted his whistle to end extra ...

• lawson 9 years ago

I agree with u paa pee

• WOFA WOHOO 9 years ago

If this is true in order to avoid taking the penalty kick then Gyan should is noy fit tp be the captain.What happened in 2010 is gone and over ghanaians have forgive him.Yes we lost due to a coach who did not select or teach ...

• Dan Duruwah 9 years ago

The Black stars lost the final because the team lacks good strikers. If you watch European football, you will find most teams have a couple of guys that will shoot the ball and score. The Black Stars should be able to win the ...

• kdua 9 years ago

Were you then living outside the country?

• zogodo man 9 years ago

Gyan must be celebrated by all, he brought us back into into this competition by scoring a daring goal against Algeria, gyan and his family suffered humiliation after missing that penalty, this should serve as a big lesson ...

• zogodo man 9 years ago

The technical bench failed in their capacity to read or forecast into the games we played .1 after leading 3 . 0 in the Guinea game, gyan supposed to be taken out bcos he has not fully recovered from the malaria. 2. The sam ...

• Sir Foster 9 years ago

Big ups to my Baby Jet for not playing the penaltics. My question is, will Asamoah gyan critics blame him for not taking the spot kick? certainly NOT. What goes around comes around. I salute you Skipper Gyan.

• Papa Jay from Baatsonaa 9 years ago

Konadu should be sad for not helping the coach to select Mahatma Otoo for the penalty and also for not letting the coach to substitute Kwesi Appiah.All because of Kotoko.

• HAWA YAKUBU 9 years ago

A captain of a ship with deficiency common men.Put your thinking cup on. Did Yaya missed any of his kicks. People with envelop minds should not come or say anything in this forum. But Osei Kofi is one of the persons I don't a ...

• Victor A. Young 9 years ago

Let's all take some lessons from here, esp. on what happened to us in AFCO-2015, in the penalty shoot-out and make amends. We'll progress in subsequent tournaments. It's a learning curve, isn't it? Enough of the blame game!

• IDRISSA DIABY 9 years ago

Gyan deserves better than that. please give him a break thanks.

• SIMPLE SIMON 9 years ago

If everyone made the decision not to take penalties would Osei Kofi go and take them? Some of our elders do not think before they speak.

• Chapat Andoh 9 years ago

Penalty kicks is part of football. If a player refuses to kick it that person should not be fielded. The No.3 shirted player contributed to our lost and should not be called to duty for the Black Stars. Committed players are ...

• impromptus 9 years ago

Come on Grant. No warm up to soak emotions, fear and anxiety come on. We have an abundant talent but lack management. All the players have the talent to score if called at the right time in the right circumstance.

• impromptus 9 years ago

But at least the penalty takers should have been chosen earlier so that they could warm up a little bit to soak off their emotions and anxiety

• Egya Amochie, Pius U.S.A 9 years ago

When I hear this statement of "He promised his mother he was not going to kick penalties again...", I get lost and feel dizzy. Can our soldiers who defend our homeland Ghana from foreign invaders, say they promised their pare ...