Ghanaian-American legal brain tasked to solve Ghana’s power crisis

Read Comments Comments (31)

• ghanaman 9 years ago

It is always reassuring to read of such bright, shining stars who may be the "beautyful" ones, as in Ayi Kwei Armah's novel, as far as corruption is concerned. We wish Maame all the best in her new task.

• Kwajo Nyarko-Mensah 9 years ago

Yes she is a natural BB - a BEAUTY and a BRAIN. I hope all those so called African 'intellectuals' with bleached skins and long artificial hair extensions will learn something from this simple natural BEAUTY AND A BRAIN - BB.

• Kwame 9 years ago

Did this woman asked the authorities in the U.S. where is the nuclear reactor that the Soviet Union gave to us as a gift.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Dumsor in ghana needs all hands on deck. The money needs to be channeled straight to the foreign companies coming in to set up energy solutions. Legal brians here must be dedicated to one purpose. Clearing all bottle necks th ...

• Kwame 9 years ago

I do not get the connection to solving dum sor. Nonetheless, she should enjoy her fame while it last. She should not for a second link her sucess to stopping dum sor.

• Musah 9 years ago

idiot

• Gbagblajah 9 years ago

Power Crisis facing Ghana is not a legal issue but an engineering one. We need captains of industry, technocrats and not legal experts to analyse the root causes of the crisis and suggest means of resolution and paid in cedi ...

• Nii 9 years ago

I agree. And I bet you come autumn the crisis will still be with us. What does a legal brain know about electricity? NDC are letting their romantic emotions overrule their logical thinking. It is good to see a Ghanaian doing ...

• Yaw Poku, USA 9 years ago

Her dad is a renowned and accomplished engineer and so therefore might know more than you think.

• patriot 9 years ago

Her father is a renowned engineer and therefore might have the capacity to solve the Dumsor problem in Ghana.Maybe in Ghana there are no legal brains whose fathers are also brilliant engineers.Just like saying that a father w ...

• Ajit Babu 9 years ago

A land full of professional schemers. Don't be surprised when they begin to work against you just to ensure your failure. As an ethically trained US lawyer, you will not want to be part of their corruption brigade and that wi ...

• Tekonline.org 9 years ago

She seems quite multitalented -- with her ability to teach computer studies:

“Between the time I graduated from Harvard and the time I went to Yale Law School [1997], I came to Ghana to teach computer studies at the Achi ...

• king 9 years ago

She is not her Dad, a lawyer and an Engineer are two different things.Don't blame her, blame our inept journalists who write such articles

• OK. 9 years ago

Dad is into IT/Computer Science, actually a University Don, and that I guess influenced her decision to teach Computer studies in Achimota Sch in the mid to late 90's during her brief stay in Ghana.

• kwame 9 years ago

my Dad is a surgeon. it doesn't mean i can perform surgeries

• Insider, Los angeles 9 years ago

No yaw Opoku. Her dad was a finance professor at Loyola Marymount university in Los angeles, Ca n her mom is a medical doctor.

• Insider, Los angeles 9 years ago

Her father was a finance professor at Loyola Marymount university in Los angeles and the mom is a medical doctor

• anokwale 9 years ago

She is helping to make sure the Millenium Challenge Corporation can get the Ghana Power Compact authorized. This will fund the energy sector. She is doing her part. Will Ghanaians do theirs? Stop attack and give credit wh ...

• Janet K 9 years ago

They R clueless Anokwale leave them to wallow in their ignorance

• Kweku Boateng 9 years ago

I think she is playing the mediator role to monitor the use of the funds...she will report to MCC on the project.But let's face it.This dumsor is a headache to all Ghanaians and instead of the 'captains of industry,technocrat ...

• kwajo darko 9 years ago

Mo!! Woayaade!! Wo akai fieee. Ofieee ne fiee

• mike 9 years ago

these an insult to ghanaians

• Ajit Babu 9 years ago

Congrats!
    A land full of professional schemers. Don't be surprised when they begin to work against you just to ensure your failure. As an ethically trained US lawyer, you will not want to be part of their corruption brigade ...

• Loway 9 years ago

They know

• Sikelela 9 years ago

You are pride and joy to your parents and Ghana. I wish you success on the big job you are leading.

• kofi 9 years ago

I'm sorry for Ghana my mother land.How on earth a country task a lawyer to solve power crisis. People are we losing common sense that power crisis is a problem reserved for the engineers in the power industry.

• if the lone crusader 9 years ago

Do we have engineers in mother ghana at all? You call these engineers? These slack sluck and sleck? All they know is to stay in the office and workout whatever they can steal

• Janet K 9 years ago

You go girl the future of Africa depends on younger ones like you. Please do not let the corrupt ppl in GH perturbed your determination they will try it. Remember Prez Obama's dad and the hurdles that killed his ideals. We r ...

• ITALIAN BURGER 9 years ago

Really ghana needs such brain people to rule. Am consulting brain wash youths in Eurpe like Maame to take over Ghana. Maame try to join me.

• STEVE 9 years ago

Is really encouraging to read articles of this sort, but it seems the authorities in power, past and present are to blame for the power crisis and other progressive development issues in Ghana. There are so many Ghanaian born ...

• mRNA + tRNA 9 years ago

Nonsense! Is she an electrical engineer or energy consultant? I think she, if she wants to help Mother Ghana, should help the judiciary system where it is rotten! She is a lawyer for God sake! What can a lawyer do in energy s ...