Nzemas threaten to join Cote d’Ivoire over 10% oil revenue snub

Read Comments Comments (203)

• Woyome 9 years ago

Can someone explain to this ignoramus Chief what happened to the Biafrans when they attempted to break away from Nigeria in the 60s?

• Akos 9 years ago

Just what's the benefit of Chiefs in Ghana anyway? Most of them never have any sensible thing to say nor help their people. Why do you want to help another country turn against your own?

• OBAA YAA 9 years ago

Another idiotic statement from these people, where were they when resources from other parts of the country were share among Ghanaians before the exploration and discovery of oil in the locality.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: MR. FIGURE-OUT----------------
    It is only in Ghana would such a dishonorably idiot be on the government pay roll. Professor Mill should be solely blamed for imposing those criminals on us. After Mills found Betty Mou ...

• BlindMan 9 years ago

Blame Ex-President Kufuor for the OIL mystery; KU4 was all concern about filling his pockets with the quick STEAL of Ghana's NSRADIE, the oil, and never thought about the feelings of the traditional people, when the PARTY was ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

This people talking about oil in their domain and hence making all sorts of territorial claims yet forgotten that the prospects are far at sea and as such belong to Ghana and the whole of Ghana territorial waters only. They s ...

• AGBEVE 9 years ago

OFUI ODABO ,,,, OTWIA PRAKO

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

Ofui, where were you when 5 NPP MPs (including one Nitiwul from the far away North) went to Parliament to demand that a small part of the oil revenue should be used to develop the Nzema area? Kuffuor found the oil that everyb ...

• YAW, GYASI 9 years ago

THE VOICE OF THE DERANGED MIND. OSEI TAWIAH THE NINCOMPOOP. OSEI TAWIAH HAS NOT YET BEEN TOLD THAT HIS ANCESTORS ARE NORTHERNERS. POOR SOUL, HE BELIEVES HE IS AN ASANTE. OSEI TAWIAH, 'wo ho ye mobro'

• Saint Ghfuo: nyantakyi must GO! 9 years ago

WE NEED AN AFRICAN SPRING IN GHANA VERY VERY SOON...

• william 9 years ago

If confirmed, the alleged comments of the chief are of the highest irresponsibility from the lowest leadership a chief can provide. Hope he was misquoted.

• Ekow Hanson 9 years ago

Your Kwame Nkrumah the murderous dictator and tyrant would have killed you if he were to be alive today for suggesting you to break away to join Ivory Coast

• GTI 9 years ago

WAAAAAAAAAA LOOK WHO IS TALKING:
    DOES NZIMA BELONGS TO YOU

• KOFI MANU 9 years ago

He is illiterate indeed.

• Tetteh Nubuor 9 years ago

The Nzema chief said it right. The western region especially the Ahanta and Nzema traditional area has been neglected for far too long.
    If government doesn't take the initiative to launch an expedite development programs, t ...

Rightly so. However, isn't somebody else pushing them to bring out statement like that?

• Ben MORRISON 9 years ago

Somebody tell this idiot called WOYOME that Nigeria is where it is today because of the way the IGBOS were treated.

Why don't you do all of us a favour and go tell him yourself, huh?

• Brains 9 years ago

Obaa Yaa, is there any resource in Ghana that can't be found in the western region? You're simply ignorant

• CORNEY 9 years ago

They forgot that the sea and the rivers don't belong to any individual or tribe that is why nobody needs a license to fish in this waters.
    The land may be theirs but the sea does not belong to them,they should give us a bre ...

• Yaw 9 years ago

Don't just write anything ok. think first. If the break up, the go with the land and the adjoining territorial sea rights.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

Yaw or whatever your name is,you are ignorant,they cannot break away,they will have to go to war and win that war to breakaway which will not get recognition from the international community in the first place and there is n ...

• Paa 9 years ago

If they break, our territorial waters will be redefined. The oil might end up in Ivorian territory, so be careful, all you greedy guys

• effua mansa 9 years ago

Rather, the chief should leave Ghana because the land he sit on is the demarcated within Ghana and has no right to the land but just a custodian.

• Augustine Acquah 9 years ago

What did u say? that Nzimas r strangers in Ghana? who taught u this history? wabon papaapa!!! who was Okomfo Anokye? was he not an Nzima convinced to assist Ashanti king to defeat Denkyera? Consider Nzima chief's name Annor.. ...

Whatever happened to Nzima Kotoko? Soon the Ewes will drive you out of Ghana, you wait and see. I have said this over and over again. Never trust a Trokosi. Now they are telling you a pure Akan from Kwame Nkrumah's Ghana, tha ...

• Rudaw 9 years ago

OSEI OFUI TAWIAH,you sound like the first born son of a foolish man.

• CORNEY 9 years ago

They are just making senseless comment,they cannot join Cote d' Voire,in the first place they were not part of that country before joining Ghana and international law does not support that their childish comment and Cote d'Vo ...

• Canada 9 years ago

Politicians are way worse lol.

• many should know 9 years ago

they will not have complained if there were better strategies to develop the area. rather the government is using it as collateral for borrowing...

• Ghana Ni 9 years ago

If they had strategies to develop the area.

Those critisizing the chiefs have nothing on their land.

• Apraku 9 years ago

He can go to hell , he can even secede the whole Ghana to Ivory Coast but still that 10% he is claiming for, will not be given to them.

• Ellembelle Nyameke 9 years ago

I'm an Nzema but I don't agree with our chiefs cos d money will never benefit the people. It will be wasted on regalia n litigation. No need to copy copy from Asantehene cos d practice must be abolished any serious govt.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

THIS IS THE RESULT OF RECKLESS DIVISIVE COMMENTS BY THE USELESS NDC PARTY JUST TO CONTINUE TO REMAIN IN POWER. WE NEED VERY WISE LEADERS WHOSE PRONOUNCEMENTS WILL ENCOURAGE COHESIVENESS, FOR WE ARE ONE PEOPLE. TO THOSE STUPID ...

• Nathan 9 years ago

You are a potential thief desperate for power so that you will also loot. You will be worse than this government you are criticizing. You lie bad by saying NDC divided Ghana. Check your records, buffoon.

IT IS MY PRAYER THAT FOOLISH VOTERS AND FOLLOWERS LIKE NATHAN WILL REFORM. (Gam3i ablofoi, ny3 sumoo ni ny3k3 ablofoi k3 anihauloi tamo ny3 abor. Nifiteloi!)

O Lord I pray for Mother Ghana, that you reduce the number of FO ...

Former President Jerry Rawlings claims 60 per cent of “thieves” in government now hold positions in the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

The former president alleged that those people fought for party positions just ...

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

The man is right and serious, not joking. He and his people are not fools to be toyed with. This stinking male goat and mills told them they were going to give them a portion of the oil proceeds and they voted for them on tha ...

• Boateng 9 years ago

How is this guy going to secede? With catapults? He will have to find a hiding place in the Ivory Coast and after a while, without subjects and no value to the Ivorians, he will start begging to come back to Ghana.

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

You are the bloody ignoramus here. You know nothing about the Biafran Revolution and the Nigerian Civil War so don't bring up the issue for discussion over here.

Let me ask you just this questions: How would you feel when ...

• Kojo Opoku-London 9 years ago

Shut up Nana, Ashantis have Gold at Obuasi for 100 years and over,we do not demand anything, Ashantis have Cocoa,we do not demand anything. So be a patriotic Ghanaian

• Laryea 9 years ago

He should be removed from the stool he occupies.

• George 9 years ago

Exactly, that man is not fit to be a chief and must go

• Kojo Samla 9 years ago

I am an Nzema. This man is a twerp. Just disregard his statement. Who said chiefs were intelligent people. He is indeed a twerp with a lot of village "furatam" wives. I am very sorry for his children.

• Neutral Zone 9 years ago

Very stupid man indeed. What is he waiting for ????

• HUMANISM 9 years ago

HE WILL FACE A TREASONABLE CHARGE

• SBD 9 years ago

What is this chief spewing out? Did Obuasi and the Ashanti region talk about seceding because the gold money was spent in Accra and other parts of the country? This chief can jump into the ocean, we will not tolerate such non ...

• . USMAN. 9 years ago

If it was possible for Ghana to gain independence from British colonial rule it is also possible to secede from corporate Ghana if the right processes are used.

• Skalanbone 9 years ago

If Ashanti chiefs get their share from Ghana's gold,why shouldn't Nzema chiefs get their share from Ghana's oil.what is good for the goose is good for the gander

Who told you Ashanti chiefs have a share from Ashanti Gold? They only get royalties from the land, not the gold itself. Do you know who Ashanti Gold belong to? Yes, JJ Rawlings sold it to White South Africans. And who tells y ...

• owoahene 9 years ago

He can 100 x 100 speed and go. child talk

• HE IS AN IDIOT 9 years ago

I THOUGHT NZEMA PEOPLE WERE FIERCELY PATRIOTIC,INDEPENDENT THINKERS AND PROUD PEOPLE.EVEN THE ASHANTIS ACKNOWLEDGED THEM MANY YEARS AGO.THIS IS THE FIRST NZEMA WHO HAS BROUGHT SHAME TO THAT TRIBE.HE IS NOT FIT TO BE A CHIEF O ...

• OFORI - CHINA 9 years ago

IS THE CHIEF DRANK WHEN HE WAS TALKING? ANY CHIEF CAN DECIDE WHICH COUNTRY TO JOIN? 10% OF THE TOTAL REVENUE FOR CHIEFS IN THAT PART OF GHANA BECAUSE OIL WAS FOUND THERE?PLEASE STOP MAKING THAT NOISE BECAUSE OTHER PARTS OF TH ...

• kk 9 years ago

The chief is a joker and should go on stage to act, then Ashantis for that matter Obuasi people should migrate to burkina faso. go to hell papa chief.

• xxx 9 years ago

Kwasea, why don't you trokosis migrate to Togo and Benin

• arthur 9 years ago

idiot ur father n mother are trokosi. do u understand trokosi. stupid fool like you .

• Egyah Anomah ACKAH 9 years ago

Pls, I don't know which tribe u belong. ur name tells me u r a slave being muzzled in UK. who led coward Ashanti to win a war against Denkyira ppl? It was Okomfo Anokye an Nzima? (consider d name of dis noble chief Annie). W ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK 9 years ago

who cares

• dj 9 years ago

Please are you drunk? Learn how to comments on issues

• Jevankus 9 years ago

Go and join Somalia if you so wish. Let us have peace in Ghana. We do not want a Niger Delta reoccurrence in Ghana. Those who do not want to live in a peaceful Ghana can opt out and join Somalia.

• ABU 9 years ago

How un patriotic some of us could be in particular coming from a chief and on a high treason ground and walking away with it.Nkrumah would have condemned and destooled this traitor outright.

• Nana Agyeman 9 years ago

Nkrumah was a criminal and thief of the highest order.The Omanhene is right to secede from this silly colonial construct called Republic of Ghana.

I don't think you are a normal human being.You must be suffering from cerebral palsy i guess.Don't ever spew such garbage again about Osagyefo.Such a silly person hatting Ghana.Bastard.You commented because you saw people doi ...

• SCHEMER 9 years ago

Stop lambasting the poor chief guys. He is frustrated about the plight of his people. Go to that part of the country and you'll understand his frustrations. Youth have to be a coconut farmer or fisherman else you join the tho ...

• justice 9 years ago

schemer we are all ghanaians.We are ashantis nor nzemas nor Gas. ghana is unitary state. So is Germany, france sweden,spain and all other countries.

Wrong! Asanteman is an unitary state. Ghana is just a colonial construct. I don`t believe in colonial borders. An Akan of my matrilineal clan is my blood relations even if he/she happen to be on the other side of the colonial ...

• HARDER@-'89 9 years ago

Those who think volta or eweland cannot survive are simply numbskulls are ignoramus...check the state of israel- it is a complete arid or desert land yet boast of one of the finest agriculture technologies the world has ever ...

• United Ghana 9 years ago

BYE BYE. You're not getting the 10%.
    IDIOT

• Kwesi Ohene-Asankrangwa 9 years ago

People from western region deserve their share of national cake n 4 matter oil revenue.Some are getting eastern collidor road.

• Douglas, Bristol-UK 9 years ago

We the people of SEFWI support the chief 100%.Osafo Marfo was right! !!

• justice 9 years ago

SO YOU people ARE NOT GHANAIANS ANYMORE.Ignorance is truely a deadly decease.This kind of nonsense does not happen anywhere apart from ghana.We are a disgrace to the world.

• The Minor Prophet 9 years ago

Not just the Nzemas, but the entire Akan regions. How can "Bamboo work for Monkey to chop?"

• Johnson Adinyirah 9 years ago

You have just shown everyone the level of your intelligence,The Minor Prophet.Bamboo is a plant.I think the word you should be using is baboon.In any case,your quotation is stupid and incorrect.It is the monkey who works for ...

• fbclancelot 9 years ago

who cares!!!

Time for CODEC to hit the streets again.

• pk 9 years ago

Please do not ask for money. Ask for infrastructure: good roads, railway etc. The revenue should be used to drive national development agenda to the benefit of all. Every region in some way is contributing to the national ca ...

• Brutus 9 years ago

This is the most convincing comment so far so keep it up dude,we need a lot of such people in Ghana.

• Efovi 9 years ago

This is the NPP,osafo Maafo plan at work.Those who have resources will make unreasonable demands.God save mother Ghana from nation wreckers

• Dunga, Takoradi 9 years ago

I have said that not too long, there will be a country called Western Ghana. Mark my word.

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

All the oil producing countries in Africa have tasted conflicts,bloodshed and damage to personal lives and properties.This is the reason why we call this oil production "a curse but not a blessing".Govt must do all it can to ...

There must be referendum in Ghana whether citizens want to maintain chieftancy in Ghana. It high time we clipped their feathers, if Ghana should progress. They are a bunch nonsense distracting Ghana.

• Paa 9 years ago

There should also be a referendum where Akans want to remain in Ghana or not.

• Vodoo Xebieso 9 years ago

Let Ghana break up along ethnic lines so that one can feel safe in his own backyard. I am an Ewe hardliner and believe we the Ewes can survive in our so-called poverty without being part of Ghana.

• dj 9 years ago

Douglas,did you rethink before making that comments?please be a little polite

• Kelton 9 years ago

NZEMAA(BAYIE)THE WICTHES HAVE TAKEN AWAY HIS VERY BRAINS.SENSELESS CHIEF.IF SO, HE MUST PAY BACK ALL THE FREEDOM & JUSTICE THEY HAVE ENJOYED IN GHANA FROM GOLD COAST TILL THIS DAY.THIS WHY Dr.Nkrumah DIDNT GO BY STATES BUT RE ...

• NZULEZU 9 years ago

SELFISH, FOOLISH TALK.

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

What did they do to deserve a 10% royalty - sit on the oil for years. If that is how national resource is shared, some of them would not even have any clothes on.

• Dean 9 years ago

Northerners and Ewes what are your resources.Keep quiet and let people with brains and resources deals with Ghana affairs.Just shut up Wai

• Abra 9 years ago

Shut up passive Citizen

• Dean 9 years ago

AKANS UNITE TO VOTE THE THIEVES OUT IN 2016.

• arthur 9 years ago

you are at lost if u don't know the Volta region has in abundant all resources . go n read archeological history about Volta. northern region has a lot if u don't know that's y they are educated than u ashantis.

• Dean 9 years ago

Arthur you had your free education through our resources and also take your so called degree to the bank for payment.We are resourceful.Aboa gyimifour.

• Yaw 9 years ago

Check the regional profile even here on Ghanaweb and be informed that Ashanti region has the highest literacy rate.yes they have more schools and resources. You think because Ashantis don't compete for government jobs makes t ...

• Annette 9 years ago

You might be an educated illiterate so hide your ignorance please

• Joe 9 years ago

Ivory Coast has its own problems. Why don't you become an independent nation?
    Bogus

Greed, treason, and foolishness. Did the chief discover the oil? Most importantly, did chief created the sea or the sea is part of the lands the community owns. Has the chief in that area been able to build one school, hosp ...

• obuws 9 years ago

I'm from Shama in western region but this comment sound absolutely nonsens to me.

So do the Ashanti's also demand 10% of gold cocoa that we produce from Ashanti region? Or The Gas also demanding of the land that gov't is ...

• Paapa Tandoh 9 years ago

Masa u only live in Shama but you are not from Western Region thats why you are talking like that. True Western ppl like Ahanta, Nzema may soon form their own country bcos they are not happy. Those who have resources get noth ...

• Not a Ghanaian 9 years ago

That is treason. That chief must be arrested and him no longer being a chief.

• observer 9 years ago

Nzemas in Cote DÍvoire have been subjugated by the Burkinabe headed by Alhassan Ouattara. Have their tribesmen in Cote dÍvoire got any percentage of Ivorian oil reserved for them? The Nzemas of Ghana are free to go.

• kofi kyere/kato-berekum 9 years ago

These royalties paid to the chiefs from the mining companies nationwide should be scrap now.these chiefs are making us
    retrogressing instead of progression.

• ebo appiah 9 years ago

Stupid chief

• MAN FOR MAN 9 years ago

Aboa beans move to ivory coast and leave the land because that is part of ghana irrespective of who is there. if you want to be part of them move immediately and leave ghana land for ghanaian.

• Kafui 9 years ago

Nzemas are the most backward of the stupid Akan tribes.

• be wise 9 years ago

Do you read your oral and traditional history.. If not we the Nzemas, our brothers (the asantes) would have thrown you the ewes out of this country called Ghana.. And did you say Nzemas are backward ? which area of volta can ...

• arthur 9 years ago

it's like u r from another planet. there is no way u can compare nzema to ewe. most of u moron did not travel to Volta before so u just spew garbage from ur stinky cola nut mouth n say any stupid things.

• be wise 9 years ago

I know volta very well. You see! a smart man would have realize that am not talking about regions even though my statement seem to suggest that. You may speak about some few towns which are well know regional hot spots but mo ...

• be wise 9 years ago

As few as the Nzemas are; the grapevine of Ghana..Lovely.

• be wise 9 years ago

and don't forget we will always save your arse..hahahahahahahaha

• Lt Col Eduaneyede 9 years ago

Just wait and see. We the NPLF, Nzema People's Liberation Front and the IMK, the Islamic Militia of Kangbuli will soon cause havoc .Our land covers whole of western region and part of Brong and central. With the help of merc ...

• be wise 9 years ago

hahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahah... that is really funny..anyway i hope it's a joke.

No problem, you can take it as a joke and rely on your coward Ghana army to protect you. When the time comes, I won't be surprised.

• Nemi Kwesi Nemi, MD USA 9 years ago

Kwasia awun invuanli. That is shameful of you. Do not soil the memory of Alhaji Nuhu and do not drag the good people of Kabungli into your senseless rants.

• Egyah Anomah ACKAH 9 years ago

when Nzimas were sponsoring UGCC by Paa grant where was Ewe ppl? when an Nzima taking d mantle of leadership by Nkrumah where were u? Come to Nzima land ur Ewe ppl r in our villages farming n feeding we d Nzima. Whose mind is ...

Nzimas should continue to trust these Mpepefuo and Trokosifuo, and they will soon be driven to the sea by them. If you don't believe me, ask the Kwahu people. A lot of their land at the Afram Plains have been taken over by th ...

• k sam 9 years ago

Then u guys were stupid for not allowing them to be thrown away.

• be wise 9 years ago

Indeed it sounds stupid.. But it is better off a diverse country than a country of one tribe(akans) who fight themselves internally... wouldn't that be a sight...

• Osei Yao 9 years ago

LET HIM DARE AND BE ARRESTED FOR TREASON.

• political 9 years ago

he can migrate is traditional area to borno state in Nigeria and join boko haram. loose talk. tweaaaa!

• David Ofosu-Appiah 9 years ago

i pray it never happens,but the way John Mahama is behaving,he is just segmenting Ghana up.

• george ofori 9 years ago

Am really not seing the esence of chieftancy any more. All they do is to fight for their percentage .

• fr 9 years ago

You have no head to think, how can you see the usefulness of any thing?

• Aboagye Samuel Prempeh. 9 years ago

join ivory coast and they will turn you into slaves. you can remember with disdain how ivorians see the ghanaians. idiotic chief with irrational thinking. you think NDC will rule ghana forever?
    If npp takes power then you ...

• Nun 9 years ago

How on earth can you do that? I think it's better to negotiate with the government than to break away because you can't go with the land. Sorry.

• Nii 9 years ago

Yes the people with the resources will be better of controlling their resources to better the lot of the people. Because the government is full of thieves who would rather pay 41million Euros to the likes of Wayome than to ...

• Adinkra 9 years ago

Ahhhhhh Nana chief as for this one paaa de3 ogba. The land you are living on belongs to a Country called Ghana. You see? so if you think you are fed up living in Ghana just pack bag and baggage and leave. In fact you can go t ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 9 years ago

An old man and woman hate each other, but remain married for years. During their shouting fights, the old man constantly warns his wife, "If I die first, I will dig my way up and out of the grave to come back and haunt you fo ...

• hmmm. 9 years ago

selfish chief the 10% they are demanding is for their family alone greedy man go away

• koki 9 years ago

Government thinking you can't but call their bluff and go ahead with your plans. They will come begging.

• Blackshirt 9 years ago

How can a chief make such stupid statement.
    The BNI must arrest him.What he has said is treason.

• KABES 9 years ago

Who stops them from joining Cote d' Ivoire? Even the Ivorians generally wish they were part of Ghana. The thinking of those who issued the threat stinks to the core. They need to cleanse themselves.

• MENSAH 9 years ago

Someone should tell this idiot who calls himself a chief that the Nzemas did not put the oil underground the sea. This wasp thinking must be thrown to the rubbish can. Is he going to say that all the fishes in that area also ...

• Douglas. Bristol-UK 9 years ago

the monkeys based in the western region called NZEMA are monkeys. foolish Akans.u can go burn the sea cos u won't get any 10%share.foolish animals from Côte di voire

• HAILLE SELASSIE 9 years ago

The chief and his subjects can move but the region will still be part of Ghana. Ghana doesn't need uneducated and ignorant people like him.

• CATAPULT 9 years ago

They have seen how Woyome and the Mahama NDC gov't is benefitting from all the resources coming from their region when they don't have even clean drinking water, and now they want out, signs of failed leadership, very, very b ...

The Chief should take Useless John with him.

• TEE 9 years ago

PERIOD. MAHAMA IS CHOPPING THE THE MONEY

• TEE 9 years ago

YES MAHA A IS CLUELESS INCOMPETENT TO BE A PRESIDENT PERIOD

• DS 9 years ago

So sad but this is indeed a ripple of Osafo Marfo's irresponible statements. Greedy grownup... as if he really could, let him start the process and see how he flops!

Actually all the Greedy and corrupt people should move to Ivory Coast. They are the source of all Ghana problems.

• Koo Nimo 9 years ago

GOOD RIDDANCE!!!

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

This so called Chief has a right like any citizen from his area of Ghana, like any other area, to ask for resources for development but to threaten succession is downright a treasonable offence and he should therefore be arre ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

Let me tell you why it is not treason.Namely,Mahama once promised the chiefs in this area that if NDC comes to power they will get 10% out of the oil benefit.That was in 2008 during the elections campaign.When NDC won in 2008 ...

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

African leaders don't learn from the past mistakes.When we talk of oil production in Africa,it is normally related to instability in the production areas.We have history of conflicts that have taken place at the oil producing ...

• Nzema sepratist 9 years ago

The man is clothed in ordinary fake Chinese print to be called a chief. He probably needs the money to buy some gold ornaments and proper kente and umbrella to look good.

• Yaw 9 years ago

The comments from the Chief is WORSE and more DANGEROUS than what Osafo Maafo is reported to have said. Will the One Ghana March people demonstrate against this chief? I am challenging the politicians who led the demonstratio ...

• Kodjo 9 years ago

It is Osafo Marfo's stupid comments that's giving this ignorant cheif the chance to spew his crap!!!

• Yaw 9 years ago

So will his comments attract the same venom that Osafo Maafo's one attracted? Maybe not, because of politics.

• Nana Egyir 9 years ago

He needs to ran and leave his sandals behind. He needs civic education.

• Nana Addo Dankwa. 9 years ago

Ghanaians, have you see what Yaw Sarfo Marfo has caused? This tribal politics has stated. Mark it and see.Now the chief of Nzema people are running away from their country just because NPP said they have their resources and a ...

• Boss 9 years ago

Nonsense. You want 10% of oil revenue to chop.

• yaro 9 years ago

funny, but come to think of it if Ghana is 10 regions, then 10% sounds fair or?

Why can Muslims build their own schools, is it that they are too stingy or too dumb or dead goats

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

To the best of my knowledge,the chief is calling for a fresh negotiation.This is not the first time Western Region Chiefs have demanded 10% as royalty.It was a promise NDC gave to them for votes in 2008.President Mills convin ...

• be wise 9 years ago

They are only demanding a promise made by the Government. The good people of western region (who in time past and still loves peace to prevail in Gh)did not engineer this idea of "matemeho" it was the government promise to th ...

You are dreaming if you think the Trokosis and the robbery suspects in the North will use the oil money to develop Nzima. What do you think is the meaning of the Eastern Corridor? In the future, the map of Ghana will look lik ...

Fools like you and your people will continue to pay for your stupidity. Guess who gets the last laugh. $600 million for the whole Atuabo project but Afari Gyan just squandered $312 million for some bogus local elections. You ...

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 9 years ago

This ignorant chief should be thanking God he is in Ghana. He would have disappeared by the stroke of the hand if he were living in the Gambia, right?

• Kodjo 9 years ago

Stupid chief. He is only getting the chance to spew such crap because of the even bigger spewed by Osafo Marfo. Elders with no brains!!!

• ADU 9 years ago

Nana Nzemaa Hene, ask what you can do for your country and not what your country can do for you. You did not create this oil, it was God and therefore you do not have any right to claim possession of it. If this oil was not f ...

• be wise 9 years ago

Even though i do disagree with the insults people spew on nzemas who happens to be the cornerstone of Gh, nontheless I find your comments the most plausible...

SO, where does the oil money go? Do you know how much the people's lives are going to affected by this stupid oil which only feeds Trokosis and their Pepe leaders? Can you tell me how much money has been stolen from Ghana sin ...

• be wise 9 years ago

I am not happy for the fact that the current government lack (sorry to say) common sense in dealing with issues bordering on sustainable development, for instance your stated " WAYOME, SADA, GYEEDA and whatever and whatever" ...

• Nzimakakula 9 years ago

Anyway we dont blame you fouls insultin e chief actions.... we blame goverment for all this but remember ghana shall never know peace if this ins't put into book

• Nzimakpanyili 9 years ago

I don't agree with awulae. Give our chiefs 10%, they will spend all on regalia and expensive ligations. We don't need that.

• Abena Mensah 9 years ago

All those insulting the chief are rather fool western region has the most natural resource in the country,talking of cocoa,gold,bauxite,rubber to mention afew but see their road ,the region lack development i secound the chie ...

• nana usa 9 years ago

What's,burning in this so called chiefshead head he seems to be crazing

• yaa dua 9 years ago

Oil was first discovered in Saltpond in the late 60s. By then, the well was pumping 10.000 barrels a day. Before it dropped to its present level of 5,200 barrels. The good people of saltpond never demanded any percentage know ...

• Abaayetey 9 years ago

Haahaaha... well said my sister,excuse me to say give an African leader a chance and he will make mokery of it.Swazi king keeps on marrying,President Zuma keeps on marrying all in the abundant of plenty.Maybe thats what this ...

• ocran 9 years ago

has he forgotten that he's only the traditional head and under no circumstance that he could succeed with that move since ghana is a sovereign state. Has he ever thought of obuasi,tarkwa,akwatia etc before?

• Kojo Opoku-London 9 years ago

So Nana, does it mean that, the areas where Gold, Manganese, Bauxite and Cocoa come from, should demand 10% share. It is not feasible. It is wrong to demand 10%. You want to set a precedent. Te
    he oil is for only 20 years. S ...

• Kwesi Anim 9 years ago

They can go but they should remember that the portion of land they are residing on is not for Nzemahs but Ghana. They can leave the land and join cote d'voire. Who cares?

• BOY KOFI 9 years ago

When oil was discovered in 2007,nobody found the wisdom to engage the chiefs in the socio-economic planning.It was done by govt officials,middle men and oil companies.Some people were saying the oil in the sea does not belong ...

You've been all over Ghanaweb fighting for these Mpepefuo and Trokosis and defending every bit of their stupidity. You and your people deserve the punishment. Who told you Kuffour did not consult the chiefs in the area during ...

• be wise 9 years ago

Your comment is very compelling.. I will give it a second thought.

• mensah abrampa 9 years ago

The knee jerk reactions to the Nzema Chief's demand for 10 per cent share of the oil revenue or a secession threat is most unfortunate. Who among you is unaware of the degradation the oil industry wreaks on the environment? ...

• Captain Canada 9 years ago

Since he didn't bring that piece of land from his mothers womb. He should leave it behind.

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Forget Chief, your people money is given to Woyome

• Haile Mengistus Manasseh V11 9 years ago

This is a treasonable statement which is punishable by law, but for the meantime one would assume this ignorant chief is bluffing.

• MUMU VOTERS 9 years ago

Free money given to Woyome can build two class rooms for, he will start doing something for 2016 election becaause of their propaganda rule.

• Owusu Acheaw 9 years ago

Federation is what you have to campaign and look for if you want any improvement your area. Although it was Nkrumah who brought this rotten winner takes it all system which is not helping Ghanaians,it´s still never too late ...

• be wise 9 years ago

..Because Nkrumah foresaw that without unitary system northerners and the newly introduced part of Ghana (volta region from former german colony) will never be developed. So he being a selfless man (even though he had nothing ...

• nana usa 9 years ago

What's,burning in this so called chiefshead he seems to be crazing

• nzema 9 years ago

Lets separate.

• kutsii. 9 years ago

This Nzema Cheif has disgraced the Nzemas and must be destooled. Did he consult the elders b4 defecating this shit from his stinking mouth ? So the big head of this Cheif is empty ? I am ashamed of this Nzema ' kwasia npanin ...

• KA 9 years ago

If Ghana is divisible, so also is Nzema. Has this Chief conducted a referendum to determine those Nzemas who wish to be Ghanaians, and those who want to be in Francophone Ivory Coast?

• Jim wise 9 years ago

This man should simply take us to the deep seas & show us where his palace is on the high sea . He can organize his people and move to cote d'voire but Ghana land will always. belong to Ghanaians ! There would be no compromi ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 9 years ago

Will Nzemas get their 10% drom Ivory Coast? Did Nzemas learn anything from the "mate meho" group?

• BabaUS 9 years ago

Let him go to hell

• jim 9 years ago

The greed in the Ghanaian is manifesting. Why was there a demonstration against Osafo Marfo? The Ashantis, Akwamus, and others have produced goods for the good of all, including free education for Mahama and his folks who hav ...

• paa 9 years ago

Stupidness

• JOSEPH ATTAH-MENSAH CAESAR. 9 years ago

LET THEM GO WITHOUT THE LAND. THE LAND BELONGS TO GHANA. LAZY FOOLS.

• kokotii 9 years ago

what a jerk of a chief
    All these fools are in charge of some folks in Ghana,how can the country improve?Shallow minded idiot

• Yaw 9 years ago

It is high government called the bluff of this chief. He seems to living on another planet. He should go ahead and announce the secession and stop wasting our precious time.

• Possible 9 years ago

Bye Bye!!!! Nzemas ,only people can change nationality ,but they can take LAND with them

• Kwabena Ansa 9 years ago

Did these chiefs seriously think through what people might say about them regarding their use of their mental faculties and their abilities to use their common sense reasonably?. How could they consider secession from Ghana t ...

• AMB 9 years ago

Goodbye. This will amount to irresponsible leadership. Even people born in La Cote d'Ivoire but with their ancestors from other ECOWAS Countries are being discriminated against. Good luck in your endeavour.

• George 9 years ago

Give us 10% of Ghana's resources because the President of the Republic is from our area.

• Nii Nortey (New York) 9 years ago

Stupid talk. This guy is not serious. Why should a reporter even waste time to write this article.
    This also shows the mentality of some of these journalists.

• Hmmm 9 years ago

Mahama is cursed

• William K. Kyei 9 years ago

Nana Nzemaa, you must be a fool! You are an idiot! What level of formal education do you have before being a leader of your people? You are a shame to the people. Shut your mouth up!

• k sam 9 years ago

Imagine this coming from an Asanti! Hell will break loose

• Kofi babone 9 years ago

Are Nzemas real Ghanaians as they profess? I thought they boast of producing Ghana's first president and now they want to relinguish their sovereignty because some small cash they are requesting. I believe they are entitled t ...

• OMANBA 9 years ago

Just abolish chieftancy and that will end the stupid and dictatorial powers chiefs are arrogating to themselves.Awulae Annor Ajaye should be arrested for trying to subvert the unity and stability of the nation.It is sad Osagy ...