Sports Ministry seeks to ban European football on free-to-air television

Read Comments Comments (73)

• Nii Tetteh 9 years ago

Even if you ban foreign leagues, it wont force us to go watch local leagues. Ayariga, tell me, if I am going to watch Hassaacas and Hearts, which player is worth watching? Nonsense. Promote your league and stop talking rubbis ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

I don't understand why everything with the NDC is about the use of force. Why can't they use their brains for once to solve any problems.

• Mr.N 9 years ago

Banning on the telecasting of live European matches on free-to-air television would not stop people from watching it. People would pay money to watch them at the drinking spots. This is inward looking leadership until you sto ...

• kojo 9 years ago

Ayariga thought we are fools he went to afcon to steal money so he can pay and watch dstv in his home and then he wants force nyantakyi stupid league on we the poor ones. Ayariga you will fail

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Kwasia,.can you compare ghana league wei to premier league? Look at wembly stadium and compare that to accra sports stadium. Ur head is big for nothing. Be grateful for affirmative action which got your dumbass to Harvard.

• joe t 9 years ago

Brainwashed twep. Have pride in yourself rather done praising others. wembley is for the English. Are you English? No wonder they down on you becausr you dont endeavour to do something for yourself. Ayariga is absolutely ...

• OSEI TAWIAH 9 years ago

And what has Ayariga done for himself and Ghana? Thieving Ghana to buy a team and forcing us to watch his team play for more gate fees. Is this the pride you are talking about?

• K Asumadu 9 years ago

This is a clear indication that this nincompoop is bereft of ideas. The fact is that the free to air channels in UK could not compete with the likes of Sky TV it's not because there's a ban in place. BBC has tried and always ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Just stay away from every stadium until they reverse the decision if they should take such a stupid decision. After all, soccer is not water to quench your thirst.

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

COmpete by improving your product.....I am not sure it is legal in terms of international trade ...damn shame Ghana...where are the Made in Ghana cars..and Made in Ghana condoms?

• Rastafara"I" 9 years ago

He is just promoting his business

• OGOGLO QUARTER!!! 9 years ago

YOU CAN'T BAN IT ,,,HOW MANY LOCAL PLAYERS DO WE HAVE IN B.S...YOU CHOOSE EUROPEAN
    PLAYERS OVER LOCAL" ONES" CUZ THEY ARE NOT GOO ENOUGH,,,,,I LOVE GOOD SOCCER SO I ALSO CHOOSE EUROPEAN SOCCER,,,NOTHING WRONG WITH MY CHOIC ...

• KANAWU (U.S) 9 years ago

Ghana is a good country governed by stupid people!!!
    1. The gov't started promoting the purchase of made in Ghana Goods but ended up going against its own rules by importing Chinese Chairs for the refurbishment of the Parli ...

• Mr.N 9 years ago

They choose European coaches so why can't we choose to watch European players to watch.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 9 years ago

Why Outight ban on foreign leagues is not good
    It is good to watch the best leagues to stay current with skills, formations, attacking/defensive mechanisms, suulias, freekicks etc. Watching the best foreign leagues can also ...

• OSEI 9 years ago

WHAT THEY HAVE TO DO IS TO IMPROVE THE LEAGUE HERE IN GHANA TO BE MORE ATTRACTIVE BUT THOSE COMMUNIST POLICIES OF CONTROLLING WHAT A FREE CITIZEN SHOULD WATCH OR NOT WATCH, IS VERY BACKWARD. LET'S SAY IN THE 1960'S.

• GeoJo 9 years ago

players for the black stars come from foreign teams, no local player merits to be in the national team so why will I pay to go watch players who are not qualified to play national team. Then they should stop using only foreig ...

• Kwaku USA 9 years ago

Osei we all have to support our league. This is not a matter of freedom of Ghanaian, but protecting the interest of Ghana soccer. Let me remind of the 90s when there was no live European matches, people were filling the vario ...

• peter mohammed 9 years ago

i agree 100 percent with the sports ministry for the banning of the foreign live matches.becuase if no steps is taken our local competition will soon colaps.

• hayz 9 years ago

see him too....... u want me to go stadium n watch Ghanaian players, mean while their names do not appear in African list.... I go pay money n watch Lionel Messi to teach me How to play football...... kwasea kwa...

• Daniel Swing-Voter 9 years ago

The local leagues must compete that's all. ....you can't force tastes of a few no ever one. ....it's like banning blue shirts from being worn in Ghana. ...Baning anything in our modern time smacks of communism. ...it's backwa ...

• kotoua selira 9 years ago

NDC will give people political points to vote them out.How can you ban Europe football in Ghana to boast the Ghana local football.it will be a disaster please don't try it.The opposition will use as political tool against you ...

• Kwaku USA 9 years ago

This is what I have been waiting to see for a long time. After this then a ban should be a place to restrict transfer of players.

• S. K. 9 years ago

You think we live the jungle? Even there, there is freedom of choice. If you make the league attractive no one will watch Europeans

• TOM 9 years ago

You just got to beam it up an who wants to have it must pay money, buy a set-up box and can look at it. With digital technology nothing is difficult. The GFA or the ministry of sports must ask the Chinese to build such a set ...

• south africa 9 years ago

Countries like India, South Africa Brazil and others, there's no free airbroadcast of European league. Only DSTV is accradited to so. Just to promote their local league.
    When Ghana will wale up from deep forest?

• apuuu 9 years ago

This is stupid idea ban European football on air will not make any difference anyway this democratic country and is free enterprise if you put bad products on the market nobody will buy it this Ayariga guy is full of it inst ...

• Kojo 9 years ago

In Europe they have good stadia with seats. How many of the stadia in Ghana are comparable to those in Europe. My friend build the infrastructure and we will fill the stadium every day. This shows this guy is not fit to be a ...

• Real kebecois 9 years ago

Good move.its about time!!

• st 9 years ago

You guys must stop the nonsens of NPP,NDC. things. Let move the country forward. Let protect our country. Why are guys always think of NCD, NPP? If the authorities are trying to protect the DEM fucking league, and you bush ...

• akans must unite 9 years ago

These guys are visionless and would like to reap were they've not sowed, then ban dstv rather, our local league is bogus, poor infrastructure, corrupt officials, and poor game quality, local league under my foot, it will nev ...

• akans must unite 9 years ago

These guys are visionless and would like to reap were they've not sowed, then ban dstv rather, our local league is bogus, poor infrastructure, corrupt officials, and poor game quality, local league under my foot, it will nev ...

• mawuliakwada 9 years ago

the. sport. minister. is. totally. mad. for.making. such. comment

• KWAKU 9 years ago

People are prepared to pay for whatever football league they prefer to watch. The most important is to make yours improved and competitive, simple.People will pay to watch those high-standard games than to pay for Kotoko vers ...

• hayz 9 years ago

dis man koraaaa....... aaahhhh, has he been smoking now a days..... watever he will say is rubbish....... hmm.... no wonder he has been reshuffle to other sector.....

• K Philly 9 years ago

Go to Communist China. Ban cars, ban medicines, ban books etc.

• K Philly 9 years ago

This man has just bought Wa United. He wants to ban TV telecast of world class soccer just so that fans would watch his club Wa United. He wants to fleece fans by forcing them to watch his Divisional One team. Shame on you Ay ...

• kojo 9 years ago

Ayariga thought we are fools he went to afcon to steal money so for him he can pay for dstv and he wants to force we the poor ones to watch nyantakyi stupid league. Ayariga you are a big fool

• dumfeh 9 years ago

i don't want to make bad comment but this is totally stupid nauseating and it lacks sense.

• Chiga 9 years ago

Useless minister. No wonder he has been sacked

• basty 9 years ago

when ayariga and co start to use the local players over foreign players we shall start to patronized made in ghana football. even does he promote the league himself? hw can i watch kotoko vrs medeama where both lack scoring a ...

• kofi kyere/kato-berekum 9 years ago

No one ever try to fuck with ghanaian publics,this is democracy and to make us watch yours ,make it attractive and corruption free.Match fixing and etc.we do not want autocracy in this free nation.fuck any one who want to cro ...

• Rash 9 years ago

Jimijimi.foolish talk .kwasia kasa .ahhhhh dis sports minister paaaaaa u are the bigest joker in ghana.

• BB 9 years ago

yOU CAN'T LIVE UP TO EXPECTATION SO ATO M0 NE GYIMIIII!!!

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

The lack of marketing strategies is what is killing the Ghana football.

• Daniel Swing-Voter 9 years ago

Of all the is idiotic ideas ....Ban free to air channels from showing European football......you see my fellow ghanaians that is what happens when we let the non thinking masses choose the leadership for all of us.....what a ...

• Yaa 9 years ago

Ayariga is a fool that shall even kill the local league.No one will even watch the local league football.people shall be very very angry about that.if they want to promote it Ayariga must pay highest monies to players every w ...

• Samuel 9 years ago

This will only create business for those who have access to the pay tv, because most of them have openned theaters and people go to pay and watch.
    Somebody tell this people that. I ll prefer to pay 1 or 2 ghana cedis to qua ...

• bryte anokye komfour 9 years ago

banning of one epl,bundesliga and serie A match within a week can help boost our patronage in our local league? Ayariga u lack ideas!

• me 9 years ago

If people go to the Havard University and think like this, then I think Havard University is sh**t. Wise up and stop displaying your ignorance. If we have such low IQ people in the political positions, making decisions for us ...

• S. K. 9 years ago

This infringement of people's freedom. What happened to law and order. Ghana thanks a million for kinds of people you elect to rule.

• Komivi 9 years ago

Ghana has come very far but it appears some people at the helm of affairs whether due to feigned obtuseness or natural stupidity can't take sensible steps. God have mercy on Ghana.

• sansan 9 years ago

Nonsense,

• kk 9 years ago

nonsense...how many football fans have dstv? how many.matches do our stations broadcast? we pay and watch on.dstv everyday. boggus league of ghana is due to.over concentration on trophiless black star

• sansan 9 years ago

Mr Ayariga the dog eater, so u can sit in the comfort of ur house and watch all them matches. Sucker, how much did Wayome gave u thieves,

• Patrick 9 years ago

total rubbish. develop infrastructure and promote the game and motivate the players then it will revive interest in the local game. ban foreign and come back to opposition in 2016. how did gfa know Avram Grant? is it not t ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Do all the European matches have the same starting time as matches played in Ghana and on the same days? Very foolish argument from a shallow mind.
    How do our coaches and GFA monitor progress of Ghanaian players and foreign ...

• Banana 9 years ago

Banning live telecast of European leagues is not the solution to fans not going to watch local league matches. The problem is the mass exodus of players to foreign lands to seek greener pastures. lot of the Ghana players play ...

• king FM 9 years ago

Foolish ex-minister with KG brain. If u want to ban then ban imported foods, chicken n rice etc in fact cloth. This guy be idiotic paaaaa. Brainless fool talking thrash from

• Patriot !!! 9 years ago

why are Ghanaians so unpatriotic..They will rather prefer European football to Ghanaian one. or is it because of party politics ? A white man will never bother to watch African football whiles You are killing urselves here to ...

• Son of Man 9 years ago

Mental Slavery my ass. Yopu wear white man's design clothes, drive a white man's car, speak in a white man's language. SHUT UP. Make the local league worth watching and people will go to the stadiums. In the good old days ...

• OBESS MAHAMAH 9 years ago

LISTEN TO THE THIEF AGAIN BUT WHO IS GOING TO WATCH THAT YOUR BAWKU BOYS.

• Mike frm Ho. 9 years ago

Can these foolish thieves force us to watch Ghana football ? What nonsense ! These thieves want to take our only source of entertainment from us ? What have we done wrong by voting for these NDC THIEVES ? Barn what ? They sho ...

• Son of Man 9 years ago

Any MP who votes for this lunatic idea should be impeached. I thought Ayariga has been reassigned.

• Nero 9 years ago

hmmmm what a revolutionary idea. I think u shd first stop the imortation of tooth picks,pirated kente from china,rice,dead chiken, countless things that we can produce here in Ghana but u help foreigners import into gh. I ca ...

• Ananse 9 years ago

Hmmmm!
    Eh! Ghana.

• KK 9 years ago

Ta ni

• Gordon Yeboah,USA 9 years ago

Ban political/international news as well because people will not participate in the local news. Journalists wont concerntrate on local news.fools who call themselves government ministers etc

• perscoba 9 years ago

just ugly otani

• osei mensah 9 years ago

nonsense

• joe 9 years ago

That is a good idea

• Kwame 9 years ago

THE SO-CALLED MPs, MINISTERS AND THE REST OF THE THIEVERY CORPORATION WILL WATCH THE GAMES ON SATELLITE TV. EQUAL BUT NOT EQUAL. WHY DON'T THEY ABOLISH FUNERALS TOO SO PEOPLE CAN GO WATCH THEIR GAMES.

• From Dallas Texas 9 years ago

Babe boy shut the fuck off