50% of Bawumia's lecture was for political advantage – Economist

Read Comments Comments (60)

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

WHEN DID GATSI ALSO BECOME KNOWN AS AN ECONOMIST. THESE CHEW, POUR, PASS LECTURERS ARE JUST CLOWNS. DO THEY TAKE TIME TO READ AND ANALYSE DR BAWUMIA'S LECTURES??????? THE INWARD LOOKING GATSI WILL DO WELL TO BE HONEST AND ADV ...

• ATSU, HO 9 years ago

IS IT RUE THAT THE GOVT HAS GOT MORE REVENUE THAN PAST GOVTS? DR. GATSI OR WHOEEVER YOU ARE RESPOND TO THE ISSUES RAISED. THE TRUTH WILL STAND

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 9 years ago

AUTHOR: PALMWINE---------

Nemesis has caught up with Lithur, Tony and now he has been exposed for his initiation, leading role and enjoyment of the fruits of dubious judgment debt with his Mahama-led NDC thieves gov't and ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana Binaddo must shut up and go away! !! Who want to listen to this dead Horse? Stop lying to the good people of GHANA, since when did you Nana Akanfuo Binaddo believed in Ghana? How can anyone believes in his country and ha ...

• Komla Agbeshie ( Ho ) 9 years ago

Another NDC idiot who don't want progress.Your government is killing the economy and even an illiterate can understand what Dr.Bawumia said.Tell us if the government borrowing is not true and stop your cheap and stomach full ...

• Jovert 9 years ago

You just wrote from your heart and not from your mind, I suggest. Look at how Dr Gatsi analysed Dr Bawumia's paper. If you do and you have some credibility in you, you would appreciate the University Don. Did what he said hol ...

• PUMA 9 years ago

Ewes believe in themselves. They never allow people to know who they are and evaluate them,they always mark and give themselves grades and titles. FUNNY people. This will never make nobody less to you , they always look at ...

• THINGS FALL APART 9 years ago

Listen to yourself Gatsi. The guy is a politician, don't you get it?.

• ucc 9 years ago

you never had the opportunity to be at the university due to ur poor performance at the basic level. I'm not surprise abt ur comment, cos only people with limited brain try to be cynical. do u think economics is chew,pour a ...

• Sethoo 9 years ago

They say you can never change the colour of a leopard,no matter how educated they are Ewes always think in the same direction.To Ewes NDC is bigger and more important than the nation Ghana.

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

Why mention tribe? There are Akans in the party and Ewes in NPP. Stop this thing, please. You're not an Akan, but you just want to cause tribal war. God will deal with you drastically.

• Rudaw 9 years ago

dont mind that miserable silly goat...

• ucc 9 years ago

c oooo another stupid goat u jxt displaced the level of ur intelligent.

• Akyena Badu 9 years ago

Cut the crap gatsi. Are you are fool not to know the happening in Ghana. Come on spoon. Open your eyes and see then. Are you saying there were no facts in his lecture ?

• Kanga 9 years ago

Here comes the stomach infrastructural economist, he never see anything that is wrong with Ghana's economy. As far as Gatsi is concern, it's normal to live in darkness, borrow to pay debt,that you have nothing to show for, de ...

• ASUO 9 years ago

Mr. Gatsi, why do you think Bawumia should have compared the past administration to the present one? Remember we are not living in the past. People in NDC always want to make comparison between Kuffour's administration and th ...

• ucc 9 years ago

we are dealing with data, so for bawumia to say something abt dis current economy, he should compare past and the present

• Charles Agbenu 9 years ago

Even 10% of the lecture is of great importance to Ghana. Let NDC take even 10% of the lecture, then Ghana will come out of the woods. Gatsi, where has NDC taken us with their 100% incompetence?

• Tsegah 9 years ago

stomach economist

• Close Observer 9 years ago

NOT LIKE FIIFI KWETEY

''We have been vice presidents for far too long, it is time you make ONE OF YOUR OWN president'' John Mahama.

WHAT ARE THE REST OF US TO THE DEAD GOAT?

WE NEED SENSIBLE AND EXPERIENCE PEOPLE TO ...

• Yaw Ohemeng 9 years ago

I do not want to believe that this is all the economist said. Typical of Ghanaian journalism, he was probably asked a specific question to which he provided the quoted answer.

The interviewer could have gone to ask the exp ...

• Abeeku Mensah 9 years ago

In economics, deficits matter only as a percentage of GDP; Dr. Bawumia knows it but he counts on the ignorance of most of Ghana's political news consumers to take his low ball bait and that is all that matters to Dr. Bawumia. ...

• Rob 9 years ago

Look, is Ghana's economy good or bad? That is the simple question. Is Ghana's economy heading in the right direction? Don't ask stupid questions.

• Francis USA 9 years ago

Yes Ghana economy is good now as compared to kufour n npp regime. Bewimiah n npp n their so called journalist want to spoil the nation.

• Iwan 9 years ago

There is one thing about NP, they like to hear leis

• Tibaa 9 years ago

If I were to grade Bawumia's lecture, I would have given him a very strong d minus (D-)and recommend the state securities to charge with him sedition. And here is why:

With cooked up statistical figures, he has undermined ...

• Rob 9 years ago

And where are the uncooked up stats? Continue to bury your head in the sand. This regime is full of incompetents.

• RUBY MAHAMA 9 years ago

Tibaa because you an illiterate so you don't and would never understand wisdom that is why you are in the ndc. There are two categories of mankind,the wise and the idiots and everyone in the ndc belongs to the idiot category ...

• Bobby,Denmark 9 years ago

It's normal in politics.Bawumia the best.

Now economics has taken a tribal dimension in Ghana. The facts are there us all to see

• nana poku 9 years ago

That's what you NDC people say all the time. When this man sees something about your corrupt and talk about. You always denied it but at the end it turns to be true..

• ike 9 years ago

Bawumia can only confuse little minds not all.

• quophy B/A 9 years ago

NDC'S always confused fools like you not wise once like us.

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

What about the 50% good part. Forget about his quest to cone to power. Would you please help Mahama with the good 50%?

• SAUDIQ 9 years ago

Has Mamudu Bawumia sat down to think of his freefall discontempt from the descerning public, ever since he's accepted to be used as a canon forda by the NPP. Does he know his most critics come from his own northern people an ...

• TUTU AYEH 9 years ago

BAWUMIA IS ACONFUSED PERSON. HIS STATISTICS FROM THE SAM3E STATISTICAL SREVIE HE CRITICISED WHEN IT SUITED HIM. NOW HE LEFT OUT THE SPENDING DURING THE NPP ERA. HOW SENSIBLE OR DECEITFUL. ADD THE KUFOUR CORONATION GOLD CHAIN ...

• GatsiNOTeconomist 9 years ago

Ghanaian media should be serious. Gatsi is not an economist. He doesn't have any degree in economics. I am advising him tolook at the rebased expenditure figures during Kufour era and he will never fault Bawumia. I always lis ...

• NANA USA 9 years ago

This is even my first time of hearing of this Lizzy chew and pour economist.
    You all call yourselves economist while your government is deteriorating the economy. Masa don't bring yourself because you are not and economist.

• KAKA 9 years ago

what is political advantage? did he not deal with the facts. conditions in Ghana are detereorating

• Jeanmarie Amend 9 years ago

Good! well begun.

• James 9 years ago

Who is this Dr. gatsi guy? Why is the use of 2009 - 2014 disturbing? Is that not the period covering Mills/Mahama and Mahama/Armisah and short NDC?

Thank God in your opinion 50% of his spech was not political but of substa ...

• Professor 9 years ago

Why did Bawumia not mention that in 2008 the world economy had a big jolt? FTSE, DOW and all indices lost 50% of their values. So to pretend Ghana is an island is not helpful. It would have been appropriate if the lecture ...

• Joe/TX 9 years ago

What about the 50% good part. Forget about his quest to cone to power. Would you please help Mahama with the good 50%?

• Nana 9 years ago

the name Gatsi is a suspect, so no wonder u are saying this

• MAAME 9 years ago

John Gatsi must spare us this nonsense, if he is a good economist why is he not helping his party to succeed ? Why has ndc sent this country to the ditch if he is really serious ? Of what benefit has Ghana got from his educat ...

• ucc 9 years ago

u spoke well maame buh try to be objective. what u said shows how well u can displace ur intelligence as human

• M.KILLA 9 years ago

see mumu ...
    who's gatsi or whatever da name is...
    Ghana is sinking, don't play politics with what bawumia said yesterday

• Dan zango 9 years ago

Even 1% of Dr Bawumiya's lecture was useful even an illiterate can understand what he mean

• edem 9 years ago

Dr Gatsi ,you are also doing politics. What has Dr Bawumia not said before and didn't come through? Every thing being done and to be done entails politics, that is why your NDC is in power and failing miserably because of pr ...

• Aladin 9 years ago

See you people...always denying but always eventually admitting the truth....what kind of stupidity is this? Is gh not going down? Aaaaba what @all have some people seen in this party kraaaaa

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

they will kill him like aliu

• Africa 9 years ago

5th columnist for the ndc

• Dr.William Acquah 9 years ago

Are you an NDC activist who hates the truth?IMF is known to have plunged countries in worst conditions.Cave, Ghana!

• Kwaku Kumi 9 years ago

These are all the reasons why Kennedy Agyapong says NPP people lack wisdom.

• albert 9 years ago

masa talk sense

• Anko 9 years ago

Good for nothing Bawumia is just trying to be tall but there is no amount of words that will make him talk among this Akan party.
    He should lean a lesson from ALIU MAHAMA the former vice president.

• ADJEI BAAH 9 years ago

WOW, WHAT A BRILLIANT ANALYSIS! DR GATSI HAS REALLY DISPLAYED HIS INTELLECTUAL AND ACADEMIC INCLUSION. BESIDES, HE SHOWED OBJECTIVITY AND INTELLIENCE IN HIS ECONOMIC QUESTIONING. THIS IS THE TYPE OF BEHVIOUR AND CONTRIBUTION ...

• Kwofie 9 years ago

....and the other 50% was for what???

• Victor A. Young. 9 years ago

Even if Dr. Bawumia's lecture was 100% political, he said the truth as it ought to be! He didn't compromise. All he did was reveal the anomalies in the economic statistics and figures put out there by the finance minister and ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 9 years ago

Dr Bawumia has never hidden the fact that he is a politician so what is your beef here? Find something useful to say, naive Mr Economist!