Mona Quartey shrinks Bawumia on economy: His figures were all wrong

Read Comments Comments (77)

• Abeiku 10 years ago

What is coming over this Bawumia guy? This Akans dominated guys are using him. Wake up man!

• Efo 10 years ago

lets wait and see what happens, this your propaganda stand would not wash. We know what he said, would turn up to be truth, I can bet on it and we see it before.

• kwaku 10 years ago

How will one wait and see if two
    Yards can sow trousers ...if you know every well that in order to a
    Make a trousers u need three yards..fooooool

• akonoba 10 years ago

Govt figures are all cooked for IMF.

• akonoba 10 years ago

Dr. Bawumia is right. ADFB admitted that it was an administrative error. They noly corrected after Dr. Bawumia lectures. Govt and AFDB are all liars. Govt is running for cover. AFDB and Govt must apologise to Dr. Bawumia.

• akonoba 10 years ago

Dr. Bawumia has his source documents and owes no one an apology. If the source are credible why apologise???

• akonoba 10 years ago

AFDB put Ghana in the list of defaulters on their website and was relied on by Dr. Bawumia. AFDB said it was an administrative error. This is a disgrace. Who must apologise??????????

• Franciss 10 years ago

just listen to your self AFDB ...after putting up an error corrected it the same day...NOT after your so called wiz-kid sought to deceive the world...THAT IS INTELLECTUAL DISHONESTY..and one disgracefully does all this just f ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 10 years ago

The African Development Bank (AfDB) has come out to state categorically that they erroneously included Ghana with a group of countries under sanctions before them on the 17th February, 2015. Realising their terrible mistake, ...

• Fonka 10 years ago

When there is corruption and thievery NDC calls it administrative error, bad judgement, omission, oversight and the list goes on. I thought it was only the men in that party that steal and lie but boy was I wrong! Now pretty ...

• klufio 10 years ago

bawumia is telling the truth.ndc liers and thieves.

• United Ghana 10 years ago

Abeiku, we could argue about statistics till the cows come home, without resolution. What matters most - and I'm not belittling statistical collation & analysis - is the reality on the ground. Our economy is in very bad shape ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Madam Mona, please don't bothered your head on Pink sheets fraudsters Bawumia, he was born to lie, nothing else.

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 10 years ago

Jokers in government if not why are you taking us into IMF for? NDC you are too disgrace to the world. Just keep quite and 2016 we will walk you out from the power and if you dare try to steal the elections again l will make ...

• Topdogy 10 years ago

Just wandering source of information The Hon. used in his analyses during the time he was the deputy Governor. because he seems not to believe in all our departments figures.

• DZIGBORDZI KWABLA MAWUNYAGA-U.S 10 years ago

Think twice before attacking, only those who think of moving ghana ahead report accurately. The reality of market inflation is seen by both buyers and sellers. In march 2014 I bought 1 ton of iron rod at ghc1,234 at NANA K. ...

• Just-One 10 years ago

As a lecturer, I would say in the interest of students we do not twist facts for political gains. I do not mind if it was a political presentation or rally but an academic exercise, well, my boss Dr Bawumia, the person I admi ...

• Straight Talk 10 years ago

Which facts are you referring to? Dr Asibey (Dept of Economics, UG who I believe is a member of the Ghana economic team to the IMF), has admitted that indeed there some "challenges" on the data submitted to the IMF and that t ...

• olu 10 years ago

Bawumia failed his A lever economics paper in Tamasco that is why he can always cook his own figures to match his ignorant.

• Sethoo 10 years ago

Your name sums up who you're,Olu in Ga language means you're a big fool.No sensible person will argue with you.

• Germain 10 years ago

Even your students cannot write their names correctly after graduating because of demented, non reading and non intelligent people calling themselves lecturers like you. Sit up and put on your thinking cup, lecturer. You have ...

• MILLS BLOOD IS WORKING, 10 years ago

AFDB,CLEAR THE ERROR BECAUSE OF BAWUMIA,DEPUTY FM, DON;T KNOW WHAT;S GOING ON,PLS;COME AGAIN?

• LORD 10 years ago

WHAT A BIG SHAME AND GOOF BY MR.KNOW NOTHING.

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 10 years ago

I doubt bawumia's educational status.
    y allow these monkeys called Akans take advantage of u.

• olu 10 years ago

I equally doubt Bawumia academic claims. Bawumia failed his A level exams in Tamasco. Before we could say jah, he came back claiming to be a phd holder. I also doubt him very much.

• LORD DENNING 10 years ago

GOVT. MUST SUE BAWUMIA US$500 MILLION.

• LOMO 10 years ago

YOUR TOO KNOW WILL KILL YOUR AMBITION FAST.SEE HOW YOU ARE BEING MESSING ALL OVER.

• Ajit Babu 10 years ago

Her best job in the USA was being a bank teller (cashier). And in the USA, a bank teller is at the bottom of the totem pole! Mona shut up. Please zip it!

• Kobby 10 years ago

Why is it that anytime Dr Bawumia speaks, NDC guys start running around to find ways of replying? Govt officials don't come out to tell the people what actually is happening and all they do best is to try and counter when peo ...

• Obournana 10 years ago

Because he is a liar and must be put on the right track. He is disgracing academia. He should do politics instead of using education as his route to disinseminate lies.

• Ghanaians are fools 10 years ago

Does anybody expect the bank ,the government to admit the facts Bawumia gave.?
    Only fools will believe politicians.
    Ex president Mills was dying,yet the NDC lied time and time he was fine until he passed away.
    Ghana is doo ...

• kwaku 10 years ago

It is interesting how people who should be teaching us turn around to try to confuse us.. Look at the disgrace you have brought on yourself.. All this because of yours selfish interest of becoming the vice President to a L ...

• kwaku 10 years ago

How can an educated fella like Dr. Bawumia allow Akufool ADDO a man who has a lot of question mark hanging around him...a pepertual Loser....incompetent.... Lacks organisational skills mess him up like that....Either Dr. Bawu ...

• Abubakari Yakubu 10 years ago

Keep quite u foolish woman

• Obournana 10 years ago

Every Ghanaian who is rational educated except Daily Guide and blind NPP followers know that Bawumiah is just a politician than a scholar. He only manipulate and conjure figures for political expediencies without thinking abo ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

The writing is on the wall, if Bawumia facts are not correct what facts have this useless gov't produce?
    This NDC gov't goes to IMF at Foggy bottom in Washington DC, and let graduate intern lecture them on how to run their c ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

This fine gentleman is unfortunately allowing politics to cloud his expertise making him a laughing stock to many silent but expert economists. His analyses are being punched here and there. He doesn't cross-check his figures ...

• GaBaa 10 years ago

Cut the crap and fix the economy. Most of the figures, which ones were correct and which were in correct. Tell the people.

• kwame Aseidu 10 years ago

Oh so you are not even sure but think that most of his figures are inaccurate. That means some are true.well let us know which ones and stop fooling yourself.

• edem 10 years ago

Figures were from the correct sources and not the doctored ones in your possession.

• BANDIT 10 years ago

What BUDGET was presented such that Dr. Bawumia picks some figures from it, and the Deputy Minister claims to have a different set of figures? What's going on?

• BAZOOKA 10 years ago

For a govt which lacks any credibility and this lack of credibility acclaimed world wide since the 90's, it is disingenuous to hear this dame govt talk about figures being wrong. Recently the figures this govt took to the IMF ...

• KnYc(USMC) 10 years ago

You have summarize it all, this backward NDC gov't can't do anything right. But they have time to rebuff Bawumia's data. Maybe they should go back to Foggy bottom, Washington DC whereby their IMF interns will lecture them abo ...

• Lort Tennison 10 years ago

Fix the economy and stop the unnecessary distractions.
    We are not interested in your battle of words for buying time.We want good income jobs for the streaming school graduates so they will be compensated for burning their m ...

• Adamu 10 years ago

Bawumia too smart for NDC. NDC always go on wild goose chase whenever Bawumia speak.

• Abigi 10 years ago

Why should work paid for and done for Ghana not be published but people will have to come to you before they get the numbers? This is the problem, not sure of what to give to who, ypu have resorted to keeping different number ...

• Issaka UK 10 years ago

Please woman just shut up women in ndc are stealers

• Efo Kwami 10 years ago

Dr Bawumia said GHANA was santioned since January, AfDB says it made the mistake on the 18 Feb 15 and corrected it same day.Dr pink sheet gave the lecture 24 march 15.So who is playing the mischief here.Clearly DR BAWUMIA is ...

• Asantewaa 10 years ago

It appears there are more fools in Ghana in this NDC era than ever. Lol. What is difficult to understand that the AfDB is telling a lie? Why insult Bawumia who is trying to help you wake up from your slumber? You know the pre ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 10 years ago

What figures do you have? Bring them out if it's different from Dr Bawumia analysts because you prostitutes in NDC make me sick, where is your partner useless talkertive Anita Desoso? Funny ladies it'll better for you to shu ...

• kobby 10 years ago

Mrs Quartey if the figures are wrong as you claim give us the accurate figures just to clear the air, you can't say that without any information. After all this is a democracy and everything has to be transparent. Good luck.

• IB 10 years ago

What is she talking about, why didn't they put these figures out to the public domain for Ghanaians to see. Why do they always wait till Dr Bawumia comes out with his prudent and factual economic analysis of the current state ...

• Kwame yeboah 10 years ago

How we believe"you and I were not there" figures when he is not in charge. Shame to him. The changing of the cedi is still hanging in his neck .wicked party.

• K Man 10 years ago

This is precisely the issue with Ghana politics. There is no looking at the bigger picture. This is like arguing who has the better fire fighting equipment when the house is burning down. People don’t seem to understand tha ...

• Kwame yeboah 10 years ago

How do we believe"you and I were not there " when you are not in charge. Shame doc. The changing of the cedi is still hanging on your neck. Wicked party.

• shola k padmore 10 years ago

if data is as credible as a programme and AfDB a bank Bawumia is known to associate with has come to discridit an aspect of your presentation then how do we trust his presentation????

• paapa 10 years ago

if we are talking of intellectuals see them.your bosses can not even feet.

• Luther Kings 10 years ago

is this woman normal? no wonder our economy is in a total mess. if bawumia provided wrong figures where are the right figures? this is complete incompetence. Ghana doesn't need this Afari Gyan mentality. NDC OOUUUTTT IN 2016 ...

• Bawumeow 10 years ago

conclusions. Bawumia doesn't have the practical experience. He is just nuts.
    I turned off the radio station when he was busy spilling out rubbish. Who needs this dunk trying very hard to drive away investors just because an ...

• yanka 10 years ago

Ghana Statistical Service has conceede to Dr. Bawumia. Now you know Bawumia is not cheap economist.

• Gangali 10 years ago

We leave to see. This is not the first time the vindication will come later

• Moses 10 years ago

Bawumia has already been vindicated by GSS. They claim the flawed data was due to web site errors.

• yanka 10 years ago

Helpless Madam Mona, the Ghana Statistical Service has just conceded and attribute their flawed data to errors on their web site posting.
    does that sound credible to you Madam Mona?

• ataa 10 years ago

Dr Lie Lie Bawumia. See how ypu have lost your credibility. Lying tp students? youcand uour NPP are unscrupulous. NPP will never stop lying.NDC always will beat you im pplls because you think Hhanaianns are gullible so you c ...

• Moses 10 years ago

You may have just woken up from sleep. Truth is GSS has already vindicated Dr. Bawumia.

• Animal Farm 10 years ago

What do want us to do ? You omitted your so called Development Funds and Loans for the Ministries you mentioned from the Budget so how do know that you are telling us the truth.Like the election, facts and figures are provide ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

I'm not surprised that Bawumia has returned to his old habit. This is a guy who just quoted to different rates of the rise of food prices for the same month in his lecture... This is shocking

• Kwame 10 years ago

listen to a deputy finance minister who can just get up and tell us that the cedi will start appreciating at the end of the month because depreciation is something you can buy off the shelf.No determinants come to play. Maybe ...

• ugly akufo addo 10 years ago

this dwarf made this mumu to be a liar

• paa 10 years ago

Which institutions are they going to work with ? And should we trust and believe what all these Govt institution will do in their time in Govt?

• AMPONSA KAKABO LONDON 10 years ago

In a country where all finance ministers are accountants with even Mona in Risk Management and second deputy now studying for his ACCA.
    This is Ghana for you

• SJ 10 years ago

Mona how did your hedging help your former employer

• Sankofa 10 years ago

There are lies, damned lies and statistics.

Dr Bawumia is selective in his use of statistics.

He mentions inflation, but does not take account of inflation in comparing budget allocations over time.

He should stop mi ...

• James 10 years ago

What have you said? crab! The statistical service of Ghana just admitted that Bawumia was right to question the figures. Go and buy any new paper tomorrow and you will read about GSS admission.
    Mr Sankofa, please contact the ...

• KNYC(USMC) 10 years ago

Now you can't read. You just write for the seek of writing.

• Kwaku Acpoli 10 years ago

Any Ghanaian who knows about Ghana and West African countries knows that food prices increase in March, April, May and decline significantly when harvesting of maize, yam and other crops take place. Any one who uses the incre ...

• CAO 10 years ago

when bawumia speak