Cancel debt of ‘Ebola countries’ – Mahama reiterates

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Kojo E 9 years ago

It is shameful that we use every adversity to plead for debt forgiveness. Why aren't third world politicians and managers of economies rise up and be counted among leaders who turn things round. When we waste our resources wh ...

• Sethoo 9 years ago

Even if the debt shd be canceled it shd only go for Sierra Leone & Liberia,Guinea shd not get that favour.If Guinea had used all the loans & grants they've received effectively to build their health centre the effect of ebola ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 9 years ago

This useless and lawless Pepeni must know how far to go with his foolishness. The IMF bail out is not a promotion for a lawless thief to camouflage.

• meyaa 9 years ago

Because we need the help.

• arthur 9 years ago

You always need help

• abena kwabena 9 years ago

Square pegs in round holes in African politics because the people are ignorant, they vote on tribal and party lines, they are trapped in it and find it difficult to change.

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

When are we going to learn to stand on our own two feet, when is this hand holding going to stop? I sometimes wonder why we even bothered with independence, when we are so dependent on the same folks we drove away. I know, I ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 9 years ago

Mr Mahama ought to know that the laws governing debt was made by the rich for the rich. "Debtors Prison" has been a feature of the UK commercial law process for centuries.

"Unto those who have more shall be given.. and fro ...

• YOLO 9 years ago

Appearance is everything in the business world is everything.How do you dress as a Head of State like this
    and expect to be taken serious.It says a lot about how serious you are conducting Government business

• William Sorkpor, USA 9 years ago

The president's call for Ebola-stricken-countries debt-relief is the wrong call: it gives Ghana a black-eye as a typical socialist country. It is unacceptable, -- because we are not.

Why are Ghanaian leaders such suckers ...

• Francis Kyei 9 years ago

The self acclaimed ebola crusader. President wished his country had ebola with the aim of having debt cancelled. As a gang leader of a government of 60% plus thieves Mahama is always creating new avenues to loot and share.

• Lenard 9 years ago

How many times have our debts not been cancelled. We are such idiots in Africa that we do the same silly things which make things worse and more suffering for the masses. When will blackman learn?

• John,Tema 9 years ago

Mahama is not a visionary President,he recently asked the Russians to increase our quota of scholarship after they have reviewed it.He's forgotten that these Russians have been giving this scholarship for 50yrs which he also ...

• Adolf Eichmann 9 years ago

We Germans work very very hard. We Germans don't get anything for free from anywhere. We cannot give the blacks money for nothing! No! They must pay back every cent we ever lent to them!

• meyaa 9 years ago

When you hate someone, you will never see any good thing they do, but Thank goodness the good Ghanaian's appreciate MAHAMA.

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

Ok

• palmwine seller 9 years ago

THE MOST STUPID STATEMENT I HAVE EVER READ ON GHANAWEB. WHO THE FUCK DOES THIS MAN THINK HE IS. CANCEL THEIR DEBTS ALRIGHT. YOU THINK THEIR ARE FOOLISH AS US TO MISMANAGE THIER ECONOMY LIKE WE DO.WHY DONT YOU SELLSOME OF UR N ...

• Frank Thompson 9 years ago

We use the least opportunity to beg and when we get the money, our leaders embezzle it by paying fat tax-free allowances for doing nothing. We are lady and stupid.

• meyaa 9 years ago

You may be right?, but Not all the leader. It is time Ghanaian workers change their ways Of thinking.

• meyaa 9 years ago

He is your PRESIDENT and I Don't know what you are talking about. Most of these countries has economy down falls too. Don't be stupid.

• MANHYIA MMRANTIEHENE(KUMASI) 9 years ago

HE IS RIGHT AND NOT STUPID,TRUTH HURTS.WHERE ARE THE PRESIDENTS OF THOSE COUNTRIES?.INFACT OUR PRESIDENT IS VERY FOOLISH.I THINK NEXT TIME HE WILL GO THE IMF TO BEG THEM TO CANCELL OUR DEBTS TOO.

• Ekuoba Gyasi, Leeds, UK 9 years ago

Meyaa or whatever u call yrself the stupid argument n responsible for once. Can't u see what is going on in Ghana, r u blind?

• palmwine seller 9 years ago

HE HAS GROWN UP TO EVEN BE A PRESIDENT AND STILL SUFFER FROM THE AFRICAN BEGGING MENTALITY.

• ADU YEBOAH 9 years ago

GOD WILL TURN ALL YOUR INSULTS INTO BLESSINGS UPON THIS HUMBLE YOUNG PRESIDENT EVER HAVE IN OUR COUNTRY CALL GHANA.
    WHAT SO WRONG ABOUT THE GOOD STATEMENT OF OUR PRESIDENTS,WHEN CRISES COMES COUNTRIES ASK FOR SUPPORT,EVEN WE ...

• Abigi 9 years ago

The countries and institutions you begged to loan you the money worked for the money. They also have other things to do with their money. Ebola struck and the Western countries sent doctors, nurses, even food and soldiers to ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

For someone to become the president at all cost and due to that the whole people in the country are suffering. Do you know that since the creation of the world one man sin caused the whole world to perish?
    So shall Mahama's ...

• eugene 9 years ago

You think mahama give a damn about those countrys??????????? Next thing you know they will announce ebola in Ghana so all the billions mahama has stole can be forgotten

• Aduiieba Mohammed 9 years ago

No-WONDER he comes from the NORTH, Begging for easy money to chop-free is their very favorite.In the abundance of ALL our RICH RESOURCES THIS LAZZY BITCH WOULD GO BEGGING.

• kk 9 years ago

very bad call...so now every country will look for ebola virus to infect poor people and get their debt cancelled. shameeee

• Nigerman 9 years ago

Kwaseabinti...the dead goat president is gradually bringing GH to its knees. Prez kotodwe,

• Criminal mahama. 9 years ago

For to create loot and share. ...kwasia like that.

• meyaa 9 years ago

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK .

• ???? 9 years ago

i tink der is smetn wrong with francis kyei,he lacks common sense n moral educ

• Till Zion 9 years ago

Silly.
    Are there not diseases in these developed countries too?
    They are the ones carrying out researches and doing everything possible to save mankind, and all that third world country's president think is begging, begging ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

Mahama kwasea, you spent all money in Ghana to become president at all cost and now that you are crying fir help. Do you think that the leaders in abroad ate so foolish like you?
    Ghanaians in diaspora will make sure that yo ...

• KWAKU ANANSE 9 years ago

THIS THIEF THINKS HE IS WISE. AFTER CHOPPING ALL OF GHANA'S MONEY, LEAVING BARE BONES, HE IS PLEADING DEBT FORGIVENESS FOR EBOLA COUNTRIES, NEXT HE WILL ASK DEBT FORGIVENESS OF THE US$27 BILLION HE HAS BORROWED AND STOLEN FOR ...

• Ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

Foolish idiot

• Alex 9 years ago

The whole african presidents the one without pride is Ghana president, he does not care to ask for anything.
    Where is the pride of Ghana?

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

The amount of monies stolen by Kufuor, Mahama and PV Obeng can easily pay off all the debts of the three nations. These donor countries have problems of their own. Get to work and stop looing for excuses.

• Mensah Bonsu,Miami-Florida,USA. 9 years ago

This man Manama is disgracing Ghana and lowering the pride and respect his forebears have worked so hard to build.
    Does he have good advisors to tutor him on what to say anytime he opens his stinking mouth? Did he really go ...

• if the lone c isrusader 9 years ago

Good advocacy for this john! Idorf mu cap to you for this .a very good initiative.well done the sub sahara thanks you.

• KB 9 years ago

LOLOLOLOOLOL!!!!!HAHAHAHAHAHAAAA....i KNOW SAY YOU BE 'Azaah'Adolf...very funny!!

• Frank Darko 9 years ago

Even Ghana without ebola the economy fall gblooooo and can't never be on its feet under u and ur Ndc government

• a.k, amsterdam 9 years ago

Why Atta Mills was ambushed and murdered? After his death what happened to the committee he instituted to investigate Mahama. Ghana is not moving forward because Mahama hands is tainted with Mills blood.

• Ekuoba Gyasi, Leeds, UK 9 years ago

Mahama dzi fie asem and check the dumsor dumsor

• JH New York 9 years ago

An indication of the African irresponsible and uncommitted leadership towards their own people.
    We heard of “UN rapid response" how much financial contributions(logistics,
    medical supplies and support)etc did the African ...

• Ghanaba 9 years ago

Ghana's debts were cancelled during HIPC only recently. Lo and behold, we have accrued more debts since 2009 than all debts combined up to HIPC time.
    Change your mindset and you will not go begging as a country.

• Analyst 9 years ago

We in Ghana did not suffer any ebola epidemics in 2003 but we accepted to be classified HIPC for our debts to be cancelled. How much more areas severely devastated by ebola?
    The effect of ebola on the economies of Liberia, ...

• TUOZZAFI 9 years ago

In fact, Ghana too must be included because the damage our leaders have inflicted on Ghana is worse than what ebola had done to those countries.

• GHANABA 9 years ago

April Fool Day have been and gone and African leaders are still fooling about. Have you heard of a bank cancelling the debt of a dead customer? No!

• RICHIE PEE 9 years ago

Is that the reason why we're borrowing left, right and center with the hope that some day we will be forgiven?