Ghanaian artisans at Suame Magazine launch first car

Read Comments Comments (106)

• theo 10 years ago

wow! great news and only it could adapt well. knust what's up?

• ROMANO 10 years ago

GREAT BUT OUR BIG UNCLE IS GOING TO BE JEALOUS LIKE HOW THEM DEY JEALOUS SOUTH AFRICA .

• OYOKOBA 10 years ago

Ugly looking, but a good start. But man, why call it "TURTLE"? That is going to be a bit turn off for marketing the model. Turtle connotes slowness and sluggishness. You might say it projects durability, but let me tell you, ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

TWEAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Learn 10 years ago

Engines are made in Ghana, with Ghana resources.

• Kwabena UK 10 years ago

Technology is far advanced, get the parts and assembly a modern vehicle and name it TURTLE. Time wasting.

• IBM 10 years ago

Where are the Kantanka's modern SUVs that match the western designs?

Or, is somebody trying to continue to play the fool with Africans and the world?

• OGOGLO QUARTER!!! 10 years ago

AN UPGRADE VERSION OF KAYA-TRUCK,,IT SHOULD BE NAMED KAYA -1...

• TAMBRO 10 years ago

OGOGLO YOU HAVE HIT THE RIGHT TRACK,THE MANUFACTURERS SHOULD RETHINK AND CHANGE THE NAME TO"KAYAYO-1"INSTEAD OF THAT SHIT ENGLISH TURTLE NAME.IT DON'T MAKE SENSE AT ALL.I URGE GHANAIANS NOT TO PATRONISE IF THE NAME IS NOT CHA ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Government should assist innovators like these to develop their skills to world class standards. '' Kumasi legon'' students can contribute using CAD and other design software to take it to the next level. Ugly but WELL DONE

• United Ghana 10 years ago

Good point. Goes to show Africans are capable of anything if they wish. The problem has always been bad leadership. Do our leaders have the will or desire or knowledge to assist such initiatives?

• logic 10 years ago

It looks like something I used to make with milk cans when I was a kid. But good try. More grease to the elbow

• Obrefoo 10 years ago

Apostle Kwadwo Safo has already takehe lead here but has not been given any assistance from the Government,or prove me wrong if I am.Has he not been the innovator in this industry with all his inventions.Are we going to allow ...

• alalu 10 years ago

Why do we always talk about govt, do you even pay your taxes? where exactly does the govt gets the money for everything, this is the very attitude that is holding back our innovative abilities...

• Concerned 10 years ago

I recognise and acknowledge the achievements of the great Kantaka. The problem we have is unlike other countries where government uses it's purchasing power to grow it's industries, we just sit there hoping things will improv ...

• STAPH-PHILADELPHIA 10 years ago

The article failed to acknowledge KNUST's immense support and technical advice throughout its construction.
    Design and technology requires a lot of engineering drawings, research processes and documentation for it to gain in ...

• adwoa Lili put addo Dankwa Smart. 10 years ago

A shame to Dr Nkrumas memory.Magazine boys start and university professors Go to HELP? Leave NPP campaign and concentrate on your core mission.Let your boys pay for water and energy.Fools..

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

KNUST is a university and a manufacturing industry. They are responsible for conducting research on new systems or improve on existing technologies. I'm sure when you go there, you may find something going on. BTW the artisan ...

• Kweku trouble 10 years ago

They are organizing press conferences to announce political affiliations and then hit the campaign trail after. We dey talk politics you say car.

• CAR? 10 years ago

BALONEY TRUCK.
    UGLY.
    USELESS.
    NO DESIGN AESTHETICS.
    OFFENSIVE TO THE EYE.
    STUPID DESIGNERS.

• ghanaman 10 years ago

While we congratulate the artisans at Suame, do not let us forget to remind ourselves of the need to get all hands on board, in the quest to grow local expertise and skills.

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

Ewes are telling us that they are the best educated in ghana. What achievement have they contributed to ghana apart from stealing our resources. Chew pour and pass exams is the best thing they know, very liability people in o ...

• Kofi Abrante3 10 years ago

Concerned Citizen, What has this got to do TRIBAL LINES? Infact wo y3 Kwasea paaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ...

• agbormo 10 years ago

Abrantie mo!
    These bandwagoners won't let us have a constructive discussions on this forum.
    Mo, but can mo, mo. Wayadeye

• Belinda 10 years ago

Our mothers are finding it difficult to cater for our families by selling yoko gari, agbele klaklo and agbele ma. Our fathers engaging in small small carpentary jobs and construction ( masons ) whiles this stupid NDC minister ...

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

An Ewe will NEVER spell like that. You spell it the way an Asante pronounces things in Ewe,!!! I will NOT TELL you what you are spelling wrong. Go figure. You dirty monkey.

• THE TRUTH 10 years ago

Ban the import of foreign cars. From now on Politicians should each have one of these cars to drive. This can save us foreign exchange:)

• mckintosh 10 years ago

The truth, has set you free go and vote for the right party
    its not about been ewe or akan , but who can do the job.

• agbormo 10 years ago

Belinda, your parents did all those jobs and yet, they were able to send you to school for you to write this article.

• Mawuli 10 years ago

And when we fuck your women, ah ah they never look back. Useless thinker. Glad they are very prominent Ashantis who think better than you.

• TT 10 years ago

But Asantes don't fuck Ewe women? You are too stupid maybe your thinking ekoro is itching you.

• concerned citizen 10 years ago

Gyimii, what has this article got to do with tribalism. Idiot

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

This is of poor taste.We are Ghanaians first.Tribalism is not our headache.Poor leadership is.

• Ankomah 10 years ago

Countries & companies make cars for people to buy! .Be honest with yourself,who,even in Ghana will buy this car, let alone another country?.Ask the launchers whether any of the cars they drive or repair at magazine looks like ...

• natural 10 years ago

bravo to the ashanti's who wanna make it happened.don't worry abt the hatters,they ain't gonna do a rat. Still we arise nd the limit is the sky.

• KWAA 10 years ago

There is no need to rely on our visionless leaders,because innovation is not their priority.Their priority is how to get rich fast,hence the big time stealing left and right,as if there is no tomorrow.It is a shame to all of ...

• Son of the soil 10 years ago

So proud of this news, this is what is required to bring in the revenue and also stop the dependency on Europe/US for all our needs. The government should start by the taking the initiative to purchase such cars for farmers. ...

• meyaa 10 years ago

AYEEKOOO! !!!!!!!! KEEP IT UP.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Why do we always need the approval of the West?

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

That has been the practice if it should gain international recognition or approval for safety reasons and export. The Koreans and Chinese also went through that, sad though. I think once it passes the safety test we Ghanaians ...

• KWAKU 10 years ago

It is high time we rather look inside ourselves and invest in ourselves instead of virtually trying to attract foreigners to come invest in Ghana all the time.

• Abraham Mashie 10 years ago

I support u Kofi abrantie. what does tribalism got to do with this? Ghanaians need to love each other than tribal war.

• YIKRA 10 years ago

Now move up to a higher level.

• Mr and Mrs Tulip 10 years ago

Ewes most stupid people half human half goat they don't change their life style .Never ambitious .

• Gamel 10 years ago

boy u gotta grow up. I don't know why u guys always keep comparing yourselves to Ewes. your inferiority complex is killing u. this project was heavily supported by brains from KNUST most of whom are Ewes. wisen up asshole

• Bafour 10 years ago

Great Ashantis can do better than this. Looks like an Ewe warriior's toy! Be serious guys!

• Kwesi Anim 10 years ago

Are we going or we are coming? Please, do not make me laugh.

• Azumah Nelson 10 years ago

Please keep working oon it.mprove the design.

• AFEVIA 10 years ago

Safety and endurance more important than good look designs. Good it "has been built to perform heavy duty tasks".

• Kweku trouble 10 years ago

Look for the same qualities when choosing a wife and see if you won't stare at others.

• ABDINA YAHAYA 10 years ago

Ghanaian, we have issues. we call this a car???? it a wheel barrow

• Spor 10 years ago

Very nice car

• kweks 10 years ago

Kudos brothers! Well done! !!! This is how it starts.

• ghanaba 10 years ago

great effort. you can do more

• BORNED ENGINEER 10 years ago

I think more has to be done on the aerodynamics aspect of this vehicle. The drag force on it might just be too much looking at the design of it.

• Proud Ghanaian 10 years ago

Open this link and feed your eyes.

https://search.yahoo.com/search?p=made+in+ghana+cars&fr=dss_yset_chr

• Proud Ghanaian 10 years ago

www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4rl3CXyH_E

• National Agenda 10 years ago

Kudos, let's all help make this a viable commercial venture. Let's petronize this made in Ghana vehicle. I am very positive most African countries will buy from Ghana. Again what are we doing with Kantanka vehicles and other ...

• kofi Ucicié 10 years ago

57 years of independence we have now think manufactured this technical now truck for what purpose.Malaysia,China,Bangradish n soo forth re even manufacturing ships n plans.look at what u done n call it car they should give us ...

• Whatever 10 years ago

We need to focus more attention on R&D and it will get better

Bro my problem is abt e architecture u see it not nice at all n u telling us that u sent Holland this a fallacy m.Did we still believe on this white people they now dat is not standard bt still will till u is accepted.Common ...

After 57years of independence look at what the Suame branch of artisans have made n call it a car they should gives us a break is this thing a car. Even common re-engineering they used their head to do better thing am dissapo ...

• Adwoa 10 years ago

Fantastic design, well done and I hope you'll persevere with this ambitious project. I like this more than the so-called Katanka cars.

then u ve veri Big eye sight problem sorry to say dat Madam ADWOA

• gala 10 years ago

PEOPLE ARE COMMENDING THIS? THIS IS A DISGRACE. WE DON'T NEED TO MANUFACTURE A 'CAR' TO LABEL OUR SELVES INDUSTRIAL. A CAR IS NOT A JOKE AND DEFINITELY NOT AN ACT TO BE PRODUCED BY ARTISANS. IT'S ENGINEERING.I WOULD RATHER BE ...

• osei 10 years ago

welldone my people am so happy I want one

• hased 10 years ago

Brilliant effort.

• Etornam 10 years ago

those saying bad about this vehicle what have you done. you rather are disgrace to Ghana not kumasi magazine. kumasi people welldone don't give up suame
    magazine. welldone.

• Michael K. Tettevi 10 years ago

Little drops of water make a mighty ocean. The first drop being The Turtle 1. So long as there will be improvements upon the premier design, there is hope that some will be exported to other countries in future. Congrats for ...

• Tina Lawson 10 years ago

Congratulations!! It's about time.

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

WHEN LOCAL UNSKILLED ARTISANS IN SUAME,ARE DOING THEIR BEST, TO PRODUCE SUCH A CAR,THE PEOPLE OF GHANA, WILL LIKE TO KNOW, WHAT HAVE BEEN THE EFFORTS OF THE NOISY GHANA EDUCATED DEGREE TITLE HOLDERS AND ENGINEERING FACULTIES ...

• dapaaah boadu Charles 10 years ago

so for all these year of your work is the best ever car you can manufacture ahhhh tweaaa nkwasiasem. come again please. will you buy it yourself or. ......

• obed Adore 10 years ago

Good news!! But it should be called "Turtle 1(Farm Truck 1).. Thgis is definitely not a CAR,, No, No, No..

• logic 10 years ago

It looks like something I used to make with milk cans when I was a kid. But well done all the same

• Asamoah. 10 years ago

Good attempt.

• Sir Two 10 years ago

At suame magazine has prove itself. I wish the government sees this and help. cudos for your effort.

• Kofi Kofi Go. 10 years ago

Ugly car

• Mensah 10 years ago

Ofui, did you ever see, Toyota, Datsun, and Honda when they were first made

• Mustapha 10 years ago

Foolish guy
    Has ur foolish fada manufacture even a bicycle tyre idiot

• O'boi 10 years ago

It's cool though,a turtle 1 for a start but when are we going to get to the leopard 1 that can compete with the current trend of cars? Just want to know.Or we are waiting for some power barge from no where to come supply the ...

• ghanason 10 years ago

God has indeed blessed mother ghana with men and women of high knowledge and technology but our politicians will not turn and look at them.what they know is to always beg support from outside and import in korea cars for thei ...

• NOBODY 10 years ago

Instead of giving these folks a word of encouragement on their accomplishment, some clueless persons are here injecting their tribal ignorance into bold accomplishment that will benefit the country. The Member of Parliament f ...

• kofi 10 years ago

All the refined cars and auto-machines we see today started like this. Let focus and build upon this. The talk has become too much. We have to walk the talk and stop the big big foreign vocabs. Congrate comrades

• Lord Tennison 10 years ago

B'cos they have the purchasing power.China could not be rich without the US.Through international trade and investment.
    Prof.,Ghana can be rich too if we trade with them like China did and still does.
    The abject poverty in ...

• Great Vision 10 years ago

Congratulations and kudos to artisans, very good start but they should continue. I like the model they considered our road and built that type of SMATI Turtle 1 for u (Ghanaians) well done, keep it up.

• Ogobongo 10 years ago

It is quite obvious that these Ghanian students studied in China as this looks just like their junk.

• He Goat 10 years ago

Boafo reincarnate

• Jab 10 years ago

Turtle why not dumsor?

• Kofi B 10 years ago

Great, does it run on palmnut oil?

• Noname 10 years ago

but was the engine imported or manufactured by them?

• Bobby,Denmark 10 years ago

Knowledge is power indeed!You've shown how powerful you are.Keep it up,guys!

• Mustapha 10 years ago

Those who are against this are fools. Read that article,it says the car can be used for conveying farm produce to the market side for sales. But u guys are condemning it "fooolsssssss". Your father's can't even manufacture ev ...

• Naawuni zalgu 10 years ago

Alhamdu lil Laahi Rabbil aalamln.

• Mustapha 10 years ago

Lack of knowledge my ppl perish
    Read tha article well,the car was not designed for transporting ppl but it was designed to carry heavy goods. Learn my fellow humans and stop condemning . To those condemning, how many of ur ...

• adam 10 years ago

Please the manufacturers name were not mentioned, so we don't know whether they are Ashantis, ewes, fantis etc. So stop those childish propaganda

• edi 10 years ago

good work done n don't rely on dis corrupt n insensitive govt

• if the lone c isrusader 10 years ago

Welldone men god bless you and helps you through as our leaders are intrested on in dirty deals and not ghanas progress.these started in the 70s now look at the time wasted uponall the talents and blessing he bestowed on us f ...

• KOO THE BOY 10 years ago

no turtle cars.

• Mankind 10 years ago

Stop looking for help from this socialist/communist government!! Look for investors and venture capitalists. This the way to success!!

• Captein 10 years ago

Please why not call it Suame R1, or G1; since it looks more like a Humvee, work truck or farm truck, and first generation prototype.
    Unfortunately, the one time KNUST vehicles, Boafo and I think Adom looked way better.
    Now, ...

• kwadwo hewton 10 years ago

It's a blessing we have finally made use of our potentials instead of allowing losers to intervene in our progress with their criticism's. Rome was not built in a day and I believe God will empower you'll and also send sponso ...

• basabass 10 years ago

Its about times because its way overdue. Bring DrBoateng on the drawing table too.

• Jeanette 10 years ago

This is a disgrace. Please stop manufacturing this vehicle. It does not speak well of Africans. Ewes will never make this ugly vehicle.....lol.

• kb 10 years ago

Nonsense. .....ghana needs state farms.....a well coordinated one, things like matches, shoes. , clothes and basic household items, are what we ought to fink about manufacturing here not a car.......partner Isuzu or Toyota to ...

• Obontua 10 years ago

Presidencial car for mahama

• pc 10 years ago

those of u commenting negatively. do u remember the earliest car models to b manufactured.
    as this first attempt works perfectly., they only need to improve the design little by little...........
    kudos guys
    keep it up