Sack DVLA boss - Nunoo Mensah

Read Comments Comments (94)

• Do the Do 10 years ago

Am with u. Boss

• Inusa Mekuuka 10 years ago

The Ghana government services are rotten to the core. Yes, at DVLA, people must pay bribes to pass driver licences or vehicle inspection tests. Excuses are found to fail those who haven't paid any bribe. The prevailing conges ...

• BEN AKAKPO,ESSEX-UK 10 years ago

GRA/Customs are other seriously corrupt places that govt.must do something about.It takes only 1 day to clear car/s or container from the Banjul port and their duty is only 3 cost components but in Ghana,its more than 15 comp ...

• OLD SOLDURE 10 years ago

FOR THE NO. OF YEARS THAT U WERE NATL SECURITY BOSS, WHAT DIFFERENCE DID U MAKE, APART FROM TERRIORISING PEOPLE WHO SPOKE AGAINST GOVT

• OBAA YAA 10 years ago

Now that this retarded General has experience what of the citizenry cried about everyday he is calling for an overhaul in the rotten system has he has part of it throughout his adult life. Fool this is the corruption that mos ...

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

Obaa Yaa and Old Soldure,

I don't know this man and cannot speak for him, but this is totally unfair to expect Director of National Security to be reforming civil service and administrative systems like Registering vehicle ...

• MENSA 10 years ago

HE HAV A RECORD OF TALKING DOWN AT GHANA PEOPLE WITH NO RESPECT LIKE THEY WERE PEACE OF CRAP DONT MIND HIM

• daladam 10 years ago

this loser was never elected to any postion in his life he was alwas appointed but never elected by people but alwas talk down at Ghana falks and hard working people ignore nunoo the loser

• TWEAA 10 years ago

AND IF ONLY 'YENTIE OBIAA' DEAD GOAT MAHAMA WILL LISTEN TO GOOD ADVICE.

• moshie 10 years ago

now you seee? if you can't cope with take your passport and leave the country.idiot

• N. Kofi 10 years ago

The most sensible thing you've said in a long time, General Sir!

• WAITING TO VOTE NDC OUT 10 years ago

I think the kitchen has now turned into an inferno, Nunoo Mensah better make a beeline for it.
    The question is how much has the Mahama NDC gov't asked the DVLA Boss to bring into the pot for munching, that should be the que ...

• Akwesi Jones 10 years ago

Why reduce the validity period of our passports from 10 years to 5 years? Why can't you put in checks to weed out the foreigners who have been taking our passports, instead of frustrating Ghanaians?

• Concerned 10 years ago

You can't force the donkey to drink. We have everything to make this country great but a great leader. Thank God we have one in waiting

• Nana 10 years ago

yes, , ,, that is Alan Kwadwo Kyeremateng

• Kweku Boateng Jnr. 10 years ago

Yes, this is overdue. The same goes to the passport office.

• Aborigins 10 years ago

This is perfect

• Yaw 10 years ago

I went for driving license renewal in July 2014 and was issued with a paper to come for the license in October 2014. I went in October only for it to be stamped and extended to January 2015. came January, it was extended to A ...

• Mensah 10 years ago

only in Ghana; when a victim of a crime has to feed the criminal in a Police cell before the Police will keep him in their cell

• Create,loot and share 10 years ago

Ghana is 1000 years behind civilization.Thanks to corrupt politicians.

• Yeboa Papa 10 years ago

The situation at DVLA, as described is true. People pay bribes to pass driver licences or vehicle inspection tests. The inspectors find excuse to fail those who haven't paid any bribe. The prevailing congestion and disorganiz ...

• GhanaBa 10 years ago

Good call! Now that you are back to 'ordinary' Ghanaian status you are now complaining. This is how we felt. You can pack and go as you told as last time.

• King 10 years ago

You are certainly right General, I have being following your comments and seems you are always hitting the right nail. Why do we deliberately creates corrupt environment? Why are people always reluctant to do what they are pa ...

• Asea Ho 10 years ago

I was at the registration renewal station at Kpone today an I spent just about 90 minutes to renew my car registration. I was the 22nd car in line when the morning business began at 8:00AM by 9:30AM I was out with my new elec ...

• Frank A karikari 10 years ago

How much did you pay as bribe.

• Ase Ho 10 years ago

It is not part of my vocab. The staff were very professional. There were no goro boys. I paid just the official fee.

• Yaw 10 years ago

What he is saying about Weija is very true. I went there at 6.30am today and only got my sticker after 2pm. There is the need to decentralise these services. All your working time spent in a getting a sticker?

• Kwaku A. Danso 10 years ago

Excellent news about the change. Please do you mind sharing some information with me if you don't mind about the new system since I am doing some research on it.
    dansojfk@gmail.com
    (Dr. K. Danso)

• Mensah 10 years ago

is it normal for a victim of a criminal act be charged money by the Police in Ghana when they go to make a Police complaint of having been victimised in a crime?

• Ase Ho 10 years ago

Provide me yours and I will send you whatever information you need. I have never paid bribe or patronised a goro boy at the dvla in my life.

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Asea Ho, Based on your given information about your car been 22nd in line and had to spend 90 minutes to get Inspection done for your car is totally not true. The average proper inspection time for a car is between 10 and 15- ...

• Chief amankwa 10 years ago

This stupid country .
    We stupid leaders .
    Run things

• Abrantie 10 years ago

The country has 'nkwaseafo at every vital position in the country hence our woes.The situation is very alarmingand it looks like our leaders illiterate.

• TT 10 years ago

Even the general has seen that we are a useless breed of people who use all our brains to create problems for ourselves leading to a few people reaping extraordinary money. It is good you are now calling your people to order. ...

• William Dzikunu 10 years ago

God bless you, DVLA, Passport office, ports, borders and land registration. If is true that our noble president want to chase corruption I think he have to make serious challenges in those places. Were insurance companies can ...

• Amidini 10 years ago

Gen Nuuno 100% right saying again if the DVLA boss can't manage the place well I support what Gen Nuno has said.

• jah 10 years ago

We need another revolution to restore and wipe out corruption in this country. Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan and China have all took a stand against corruption in a positive way look at where they are now

• From- USA 10 years ago

Ghanaians preach Corruptions as if the structures and the institutions perpetuate the act rather than the operatives. Corruption is human. Why is everybody doing it

• jah 10 years ago

Ghana is full of churches in every corner but yet we are one of the most corrupt nations in the world

• CLEM MENS 10 years ago

NUNOO MENSAH IS RIGHT. WHAT BREEDS CORRUPTION IS RESTRICTED SERVICE.

WHAT IS WRONG WITH US AS A NATION?

CAN'T WE GET ANYTHING DONE RIGHT? ABA!

• Abdul Rahman 10 years ago

Why will he sack him

• Kwaku, Woodbridge / Virginia 10 years ago

It is not only in UK, in the United States inspection of vehicle is done at most places so you don't need to go and queue or see anybody for connection. Moreso the fee for emission and inspection is the same everywhere.

• Kofi Boateng, London 10 years ago

It's only in Ghana that renewing a driving licence at DVLA takes 8 months, and still up to today is not ready

• Abdul Rahman 10 years ago

Why will he sack him

• ALEENO. 10 years ago

Wise man good idea this is what we want in the country.Mr president please listen if u want to fight corruption.

The purpose of the inspection in Ghana is not to improve safety on our roads. The purpose is to create an avenue for some people to make illegal money.

• Mubarik 10 years ago

The General is right go to liences office in Tamale and see wht is happing there, to register a motor they will collect 200+ but de doccuments is lower than de amount why

• Sarpong 10 years ago

true talk,old soldier.

• Son of Jakpa 10 years ago

The kitchen is now hot, Gen don't you know the way to the passport office and leave the country for us.

• nana 10 years ago

I don't like u but I thank u for this comments mahama must go 2016

• A.T. Accra 10 years ago

I entirely agree with Nunoo Mensah. You need several hours to renew your licence and the DVLA in Accra at 37 is a enduring process for anyone. I cannot see why we need to renew the licence every two years, this is just done t ...

• Joe boadi 10 years ago

When you worked with RAWLINGS did you ever complain of corruption,Help yourself from saying.

• Aziz 10 years ago

The same habbit at ketu south in the volta region, too much bribe

• Yussif Fuseini 10 years ago

The president himself needs a sake including your good self,you re a good for nothing Oldman. The rot in the system didn't begin today, just because you went through some difficulty, you re proposing his removal,you ve not se ...

• NAVORONGO MAN 10 years ago

I strongly agree with you General

• max 10 years ago

u rather should b sacked old fool. if u cant stan the het what do u do?take ur passport n get out

• 2020 10 years ago

same goes yo dual citizen office this ewe want me pay him one thousand to get me dual citizen card in 5 days i walk away

• imPOSSIBLE 10 years ago

Oh old rtd General,try to be with current news.Just read from what that silly Worldcup Financial armed robber afriyie ankrah has just said about resignation of ministers and gvt officials for criticisms.General please advice ...

• Master 10 years ago

Sacking this man is long overdue. He exhibits all the symptoms of a weak and incompetent leader. He feels if machines breaks down and I could secure approval to purchase new once, then somebody else should be blamed and not h ...

• Yaw 10 years ago

This is what happens when people are given positions not bcos of their qualifications, experience and competence but where they come from - cronyism. This answers the general's question: why he is still there in spite of this ...

• babagna 10 years ago

The likes of BR.GEN Nunoo Mensah, Prof Steven Adie Mensah are want society need and leveled headed and patriotic young Ghanaian should learn from people of their standings.

• Osei Yao 10 years ago

SIMPLISTIC SOLUTION FROM A VERY SIMPLE MIND. DOES HE WANT VEHICLE INSPECTION CERTIFICATES GIVEN WITHOUT INSPECTION AT ALL?

• Justice writes from Bronx, New York 10 years ago

Wow, you've hit the nail right on the head. When people speak about corruption in this country, you're perceived to be NPP. Now, what will the likes of Asiedu Nketia, Kwesi Pratt, Koku Anyidoho and others say? Even, Rawlings ...

• kwesi 10 years ago

We need all the government officials kneel down and shoot one bullet each at the bacK of their heads ,sick of this corcorrupt practice which is like cancer in Ghana government

• wt6012 10 years ago

how i wish he was rather refering to the passport office,another terrible place!

• Hot 10 years ago

If you think its too hot take your passport and leave the country. You said this and you are now complaining. Think twice Officer

• Opoku Agbenyo 10 years ago

Nunoo Mensah is right, why give license to people that have not even sat behind steering wheel before? Accidents waiting to happen

• bigkay 10 years ago

i thought it was this same man who said " if the kitchen is too hot for you, you can leave".

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 10 years ago

Idiotic nunoo Mensah is confusing justice amegashie with Rudolph beckley. Amegashie has been sacked. Rudolph is the new boss and he is bringing a lot of innovative changes.

• Fadil 10 years ago

Gen i think it's not only the DVLA but even the NHIS, and many public services out there are playing a song of corruption and dancing to it. For ALLAHs sake why do we always portray happy when ever we see ghanaians suffering. ...

• Tk 10 years ago

I agree with u . It's also done in USA

• popeg 10 years ago

are u afriade to say mahama must sack himself ooo boss say that he won't beat u ok

• Manan @ gamantse 10 years ago

Ghanaians sound so masochistic in almost all sectors when it comes to rendering services to their fellow ghanaians

• Adobea 10 years ago

There's no other way general..Ghana has become a lawless country..the law must work..any form of lawlessness must be dealt with by law enforcement. Fuel stations in Britain don't grant any form of vehicle licensing certificat ...

• Concern citizen 10 years ago

Pls go to Aflao/Togo border and see for urself the amount of money the immigration n custom officers make a day into their own individual pucket.God save Ghana

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

ARE GHANAIANS INFORMED AND ADVISED OF THE REVENUES THAT ARE COLLECTED A YEAR AT THE DRIVER AND VEHICLE LICENCING AUTHORITY IN GHANA.

THE SAME APPLIES TO THESE AGENCIES.

GRAPHIC

GHANAIAN TIMES

NATIONAL LOTTERY

B ...

• JESUS IS LORD;PERIOD. 10 years ago

u are not seeing any corruption at dvla offices in accra oo come to all Ashanti region offices of the dvla n see the naked corruption, even account section pipo too are demanding bribe, Nunoo pls come to ashanti region oooooo ...

• Paa Joe 10 years ago

OPAYIN NUNOO-MENSAH.

WE ARE STILL IN A MESS BECAUSE, GHANA CONTINUES TO EMPLOY AND APPOINT PEOPLE AT ALL SECTORS OF THE PUBLIC SECTOR WITHOUT MIDDLE LEVEL PROFESSIONAL SKILLS TRAINED AND EXAMINED IN THE TRADES IN THREES YE ...

• Ghanaman THE REAL 10 years ago

This is the best suggestion/observation from you ever! Driving licenses were being renewed at Post Offices in Ghana for years without the heavens falling down then some backward thinking and selfish person decided to centrali ...

• Jack 10 years ago

Jah, you are right! We need a revolution to clean up the mess caused by rampant corruption in the country.

• K Biney 10 years ago

Is it that corruption can't be stopped in Ghana or is just that they don't know how to or what to or there is one ready to because everybody is infected (sickness). If is all these, what about seeking for help from out side l ...

• Big D 10 years ago

w

• Kwabena Apuntuah 10 years ago

I thought this idiot said Ghana is good and if you cant stand the heat take your passport and leave. Now he says what? He is a complete idiot and was willing to say anything because of the politically affluent position he the ...

• Awoyaa 10 years ago

Well said Mr. Nunoo. This time you make sense.

• siutyu 10 years ago

Vehicle licensing is done in shoping centres, post Office, and malls in south Africa, why in Ghana DVLA Offices only? Because of corruption

• Peter Mac Manu 10 years ago

Go to DVLA, Passports Office, NHIA and ECG offices in Ghana and see how ordinary Ghanaians are suffering to access simple services. What is wrong with us - Ghana

• Ngi 10 years ago

Thank you. For once somebody has identified the root causes of corruption in Ghana. Restriction of services make officials feel they doing their clients a favour. Getting a passport in Ghana, birth certificate, clearing goods ...

• support 10 years ago

I support u 100%

• Ras Culture,Assin Foso 10 years ago

Kwasea man Mensah. Stupid dead goat mahama himself is a corrupt chief so who should sack who? Go and pay for your destructions at Lagon.God will punish you all.Stupid.

• OSO 10 years ago

This is one good thing I have read in the news today...In the USA E-checks are done Lube bases and not DVLA offices...Well said Senior...

• The Independent voice 10 years ago

VERY TRUE. THE DVLA AT 37 IS THE WORST. WHY DOES IT TAKE 7 HOURS WAITING IN ONE LINE AFTER THE OTHER JUST TO GET YOUR LICENSE RENEWED. WHILST SITTING IN LINE YOU SEE CERTAIN PEOPLE BEING LED DIRECTLY IN EACH OF THE OFFICES AN ...

• yaw, Ohio USA 10 years ago

I thought this man could not stand the heat and so he got out of the kitchen. He should take his passport and leave the country. Nunoo Mensah was part of a government that ruled Ghana for two decades. He only created to loo ...

• Isaac Brown uk 10 years ago

There still good men in Ghana who are prepared to stand up and fight corruption kudos Nunoo mensah

• kabila 10 years ago

Very true, a lady @ even the DVLA bank just this Thursday took Gh 5 from me while I was paying for registration of a new vehicle. And she was like it's left with Gh 5 cedis, only for her to give me a receipt less Gh 5.