Mahama: 'Economy will be Africa's most competitive in 2017'

Read Comments Comments (109)

• Create,loot and share 9 years ago

The economy will not grow until you and your 60% thieves are voted out in 2016.Dead goat president.

• Abingo 9 years ago

When at all will this guy keep quiet and work. Who said we are interested in this vain and empty promises.

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

yes 2017 long after you are gone , what a hopeless piece of shit this pepeni idiot is .

• Emma 9 years ago

Don't you care that the running mate of the NPP is a 'pepeni'? Is he not the back bone of the NPP's campaign now? What about the NPP National Chairman? Please, make attempts to de tribalise comments.

• Bold 9 years ago

Stop talking please.

• KOFI DEY 9 years ago

Any time you open your mouth you spew out gabage. Why cant you learn to keep your mouth shut for once and have some respect. WHat have you done with the economy for the last six years, since you said that the Late Prez Mills ...

• trueGhanaian 9 years ago

Mahama, Ghana can never develop without developing a skilled work force and decreasing interest rates.

• Jachaajohnwigi 9 years ago

Stop combing ppl with. Say i not we. U and who?

• John Salifu 9 years ago

The guy is speaking for us. We all except you, and ho cares. At least he has one more than himself so he can use we with confidence. Continue to live in your fools paradise...

• Kofi Ata, Cambridge, UK 9 years ago

How can Ghana's economy be the most competitive in Africa in 2017 when at the moment businesses are closing down because of lack of power supply?

Are his ministers and advisers deceiving him and is he asking the right que ...

• ASIEDUA NKETIA MMAA KABA 9 years ago

BOHYEBA ALL THE WAY ! GIVE GHANAIANS MORE PROMISES. HAHAHAHAHAHA

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Who idiots like Npp to believe what the President said? Take it or just keep mute. Hopeless people.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

MAHAMA HAS NO IDEA WHAT HE IS DOING AT THE PRESIDENCY. HE IS ONLY CELEBRATING HIS POSITION LIKE THE NIGERIAN AND GHANAIAN MOVIE ACTORS. VOTE HIM OUT.

• Ashiagashia 9 years ago

Hopeless people like useless and illiterate BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!

• BerylRichards 9 years ago

I will take a bridge (even if it leads nowhere) to sinking sand right under my feet..... NONSENSE!!
    Mediocre celebrants

• Susuka 9 years ago

So isnt there anybody at all in the NDC circus who has the courage to tell this man Mahama to keep quiet and stop giving vain promises?

Are they not aware that they have become a laughing stock? Are they not aware that the ...

• KING BRIGHT (USA) 9 years ago

Yeah we already know that the economy is going to bounce back when a sensible president takes over in 2017. We don't need you to tell us the obvious.

• Freeman 9 years ago

Whenever the 2 power barges from Turkey arrive and produce uninterrupted electricity will the economy of Ghana begin to take off. All Ghanaians need to do is remain calm while waiting for power.

• Freeman 9 years ago

Whenever the 2 power barges from Turkey arrive and produce uninterrupted electricity will the economy of Ghana begin to take off. All Ghanaians need to do is remain calm while waiting for power.

• Freeman 9 years ago

• Belinda 9 years ago

Our mothers are finding it difficult to cater for our families by selling agble kaklo, agble ma and stuffs. Our fathers engaging in small small carpentary jobs and construction ( masons ) whiles this stupid NDC ministers we v ...

• Yaovi 9 years ago

Well said. It is about time we stop this "NDC World Bank" Nonsense.

• NANA USA 9 years ago

Mahama only opens his mouth when he feels like making promises. You are not serious.What will $914 million do to stabilize the country? How much was the euro-bond you issued?

• Concerned 9 years ago

If mahama outlines the plans he has in place to project us into a sound economy, fine. But to constantly promise without any foundation is a big embarrassment for all of us to have our leader continuously shaming himself.

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

GHANA IS IN TATTERS WITH HUGE DEBTS AND YET U KEEP TALKING THIS WAY WHY WHY WHY WHY.....

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

RETRIEVE ALL STOLEN MONIES IN NDC POCKETS LIKE AN NDC GURU REVEALED....ILLGOTTEN STOLEN BLOOD DIRTY STINKING MONIES IN NDC GURU POCKETS...

• KFW 9 years ago

You cannot even sustain electricity for 2 days on the trot and you talk about being competitive....What a joker

• honestly 9 years ago

seriously! but he has said "perhaps" so perhaps he will come again to say it was only a guarantee like the "prayer" to end dumsor by 2015's end.

• Osei Akoto Jackson 9 years ago

John Mahama is a curse on Ghana- because of his corrupt behavior and evil intentions before he was selected as "President" the favor of God has turned away from his government. Ghana has been struggling since he assumed power ...

• Dr Robert K Glah 9 years ago

US-African Leaders Summit held in Washington DC in August 2014 offers more to Africa than European Business Organization in Accra May 2015.

European Business Organization in Accra? Why not in Africa?

We are back to div ...

• The mask 9 years ago

The economy is hitting many families hard and many have run out of ideas.

Boachsoft Finance 2012 software, developed in East Akim Municipality (Akyem-Maase and Bunso) in the Eastern Region of Ghana and in Accra/Sakumono, i ...

• kweku 9 years ago

Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah, okunyin JJ Rawlings, oseade3y3 kuffour, obenfo Atta mills. Otorofo Mahama!!!. Really disappointed in you. I wish the Right to Information Bill is passed into law so I can ask our leaders how the s ...

• KWAA 9 years ago

You couldn't provide even electricity with a $27 Billion loan in the last six years,and you want us to believe you can make our economy flourish with a $940 Million loan.You really believe we are all fools like the blind foll ...

• J. D Mahama 9 years ago

This twerp is very delusional. When the rain was falling heavily your barrel couldn't get full and now that it's just drizzling you are talking of getting a barrel full. Oh my goodness, what a fool this guy is. Anyway class ...

• KnYc(USMC) 9 years ago

Since the ndc fool soldiers will believe him, he keep on opening his sticking mouth. Well said KWAA.

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Really? The European Business Organization is our call and I don't mind at all the president is advertising it alongside his motivational speech.

• ZoRRo 9 years ago

You are just blocking Ghana's fortunes - dead goat !!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Why, you don't like what you are hearing from him? Well, you can go and cry a river.

• Sule 9 years ago

When will this comedian of a president stop inflicting such stupid and quixotic statements? Mtcheew.

• Victory 9 years ago

Mr president be smart,2017 where ar u @ that time? Ur out of office

Sometimes our use of empty words need to be checked in the midst of such clear challenges

• mary 9 years ago

When you would have been out? Meaning as far as you are on the seat nothing good can come out of it? You are really a DEAD GOAT. We wasted our votes on you

• NANA BONSU 9 years ago

This geezer's taking man-man to be fools and dumb.What on earth does he take Ghanaians for.After this man's massive fraud and corruption,and knowing all odds against him thus loosing the 2016 elections in advance and pave the ...

• Gregory 9 years ago

2017 for you to be out is too far. We want to be competitive now so pack your things and go to Dubai. What a foolish talk from a foolish man? Ghana will only be competitive only when you are out of the seat!

• Andy K- Kumasi 9 years ago

Now he is shifting the time!
    We didnt need lmf to make dis economy competitive. You needed to have continued wit d good works of Prez Kuffour! Thats all! Stop pushing the vague promises beyoung 2016. It wont work dis time!

• Bobby,Denmark 9 years ago

This Mahama is lazy.He just doing propaganda to retain power.You are out!

• Adinkra a proud Akan. 9 years ago

Mahama is disillusioned

• ugly akufo addo 9 years ago

he smoke aaaaaa n now his lungs n heart spoiled n his doctor told him tht he will die this year

• Adinkra a proud Akan. 9 years ago

Mad fool soldier,this is what you do to get paid.SAD.Aren't you tired and bored doing the same insulting at all times.Crazy .I think you are cursed find out.

• ERIC K 9 years ago

Your attacks on Akuffo Addo won't work this time. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH

• boom 9 years ago

its ur family dat will die stupid ugly goat

• KWAKU ANANSE 9 years ago

THIS MAN WILL NOT STOP TALKING AND WORK TO ACHIEVE BEFORE HE TALKS ABOUT HIS RESULTS. THE MORE HE TALKS, THE MORE HE FAILS.

John, when you came our economy was the fastest growing in the world. What happened? Your projection for 2017 can be right only if Ghanaians vote Your Incompetence out of office.

• no mercy 9 years ago

Stupuid Mahamaama, as you said made
    in Ghana-,President from Bole

• Mike 9 years ago

Country with job less growth.How are you going to make it.Living on bail outs and loans as acountry.

• KWAKU ANANSE 9 years ago

WHILE JOHN MAHAMA MAKES A MESS OF GHANA, HE WANTS US TO WAIT TILL 2017. WELL, JOHN MAHAMA WILL NOT BE IN POWER, BECAUSE OF THE SUFFERING HE HAS IMPOSED ON GHANAIANS.

• Prof. Ndebugri, USA 9 years ago

Who are you fooling? This man isn't serious at all.

• Just me 9 years ago

Folks, don't eat this man up, he only said the most competitive, he did not say anything else. Only he understands what he said anyway. What a dumb president.

• TRUTH PREACHER 9 years ago

OF COURSE , WHEN YOU AND YOUR INCOMPITNENT NDC ROGUES HAVE BEEN SHOWN THE EXIT IN 2016 .

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 9 years ago

DEAR KAFUI DEY, STARRFM ONLINE HOST,
    PLEASE, MAY I RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THE PUBLICATION OF THE FULL INTERVIEW YOU HELD WITH ME YESTERDAY, WEDNESDAY, MAY 6, 2015 FOR ALMOST ONE HOUR AND THIRTY MINUTES (1.30 HOURS), THERETO.

• joe 9 years ago

because all unsmart bussineses have collapsed by 2017,,according to JDM

• Concerned Citizen 9 years ago

Stop this idiotic statements immediately!!!! Why can't the economy be most competitive now? Why 2017?

• Joe Turkey 9 years ago

That is just about the time the NPP will come to turn things around. By then Mahama will be in Dubai managing his hotel. Thief.

• ERIC K 9 years ago

Anorher lie is being told by the DEAD GOAT. Why does he like talking about 2017? Does this GOAT think TODAY is not important? He only dreams of political power so that we suffer again. Tweaaaa.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

I'm calling all Ghanaians as matter of agency to boycott that ugliest Sarkodie's Hats , Belts and his filthy T-Shirts. Who at all in his or her right thinking mind is wearing those craps in Ghana? Apuuuuu!!! Not in my House. ...

• Aljazeera 9 years ago

bbc news or whatever you call yourself. you are the most stupid ignoramus ghana has ever produced. I wonder whether you are a human being or your head is shoved up your stinky ass. why cant you ever say anything reasonoble o ...

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

Bbc news you need to have your head examined,becareful you don't start roaming stark naked.foolish fool.because of mahama animals also see themselves as humans.nonsense

• Ray 9 years ago

Please don't let Him convince you once again

• BabaUS 9 years ago

I really hate these idiots on this thread using this Pepeni word in such a derogatory manner. Wu p3o, wun p3o, he is the President. Eat your bloody hearts out

• papa kofitd 9 years ago

Undeserved President by stealing.A disgrace to NDC.Shame.Even foreigners who trooped to Ghana during Kuffour'time have all gone back due to your loot and share goverment. Judgement on the way.amen

• the lone crusader! 9 years ago

Massa stop insulting us because we are fed up.

• British Man 9 years ago

Joker who's jokes are not funny. Mahamah don't even dream about another chance after this abysmal government.

• DEPORT FOREIGN MUSLIMS 9 years ago

914 MILLION DOLLARS IS CHICKEN CHANGE , IT'S CAN'T BRING ANY PROGRESS TO GHANA . HALF OF THE MONEY WILL BE LOOT AND SHARE AS ALWAYS . THE REST OF THE MONEY CAN'T CREAT ANY JOBS , FIX DUMSOR AND POOR ROADS .

• wwc 9 years ago

masa which of your promises have ever come true? they should allow the country for you to destroy in 2017

• Vic 9 years ago

How can a mere $914 million loan make the economy the most competitive? It's true that this president is suffering from delusion.

• Ekow; Cape Coast 9 years ago

I cannot see the face of this fool again. I will change my citizenship

• Akwasi 9 years ago

When will this useless, aimless, clueless, visionless,senseless, "apokyeless" , good-for-nothing, mostly bull-like prez keep his stinking mouth shout?

• Ajugu 9 years ago

There he goes again!.Can't JM for once keep quiet?Ain't he ashamed of all the lip service and empty unfulfilled promises made?.
    So if he didn't go to the IMF he couldn't with all his so called competent minister able to mana ...

• Jamaica 9 years ago

Give us a break Mr PROMISE who wanna hear your fake vain and your empty promises

• liberal 9 years ago

But, this is going to be under different administration not Ur ndc.

• Judith 9 years ago

Ghanaians wish to have heaven on earth so follow Akufo Addo and his NPP empty promises,Empty Barriers make the most noise

• Mustafa Aldine Chicago 9 years ago

Mahama you are a big fool to throw dust into our eye .Shut the ........up fool.

• yw joseph 9 years ago

Idiot Mahama keep quiet. Visionless president. Seldom dream for the seat ok. You hear. Why somebody will work for one year amd u will pay for three months. We never new u behave a such a manner

• Jachaajohnwigi 9 years ago

Is true my boss u can make it. Take the bad one's out my boss. Ghana can make it out

• KA NA WU 9 years ago

Look at him. Blind man leading blind people; we are all falling into the pit. Keep on procrastinate because most of Ghanaians are fools, and that is why you are President now.

• Serious 9 years ago

Nobody in gh today believe in this Dead Goat prez.mahama.bcos in 2017 after the elections the will be massive downsezing of public workers as part of the imf conditionalites.so what is he talking about

• kweku 9 years ago

Always talking but no result. Mr commentator, when will you stop talking and do at least one that will benefit Ghanaians?. You talk too much. aaaabaa!!!!

• Predator 9 years ago

There he goes again! Always making comments as if throwing a challenge at Ghanaians. As if he is doing wonders.apuuuuuu!

• josh 9 years ago

Mr future president , he has never. Said Ghana have become, always.Ghana will become

• Pius lovy ap town 9 years ago

akoa wei paa U re not seriuos

• Bismark 9 years ago

MY ONLY HOPE NOW IS MY 'RED CARD' THAT IS MY VOTERS ID, WHICH I HAVE KEPT IT TIGHTLY IN MY BAG, WAITING FOR 2016 TO A SHOW THE EXIT.

• Tawiah 9 years ago

This man is a fucking joke. He has no idea about econometrics nor does he have any idea how to make a country endowed with plentiful resources like Ghana create wealth from within.

He has his blind faith in mere $900MILLI ...

• Odwanfunu Mahama 9 years ago

Mahama is Gradually Getting Mad

• CHIGRI WAGADUGU 9 years ago

Change the pillow you lay your head on

• Atanfo 9 years ago

Mahama, you would be gone then!

• boom 9 years ago

mToy toy toy toy well u such a big toy mahama

• Aikins 9 years ago

Yes you are right because Nana Bawumia will do the damage control in 2017. All hope is not lost our beloved country will work again by the grace of God.

• Adobea 9 years ago

Was Mahama MENTORED in anyway before he became vice-present and president?

• mr amin 9 years ago

If u love ghana vote ndc ou they lack the people to govern

• Ghabay,NY 9 years ago

This president is just "playing to the gallery",and only fools and the gullible will fall for it.Now we know better,all these gimmicks won't work,we've got our minds made up already.Sorry,Johnny ,too little to late,you've don ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako Pe ln Ghana! 9 years ago

What can you do mahama? You are cursed don't you know that? You are very arrogant otherwise you should have already resigned by now but look at how you are treating your own country men? Mahama you are so evil and l can feel ...

• Lopez 9 years ago

Hear him, he is at it again so sad. What a Joke.

• 2016 9 years ago

Sorry to say, but governance in the country has become a joke and it is sickening.
    On what basis is President John Dramani Mahama making this statement? What metrics is he looking at? What indices is he looking at? What doe ...

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 9 years ago

Mr Mahama,
    For the first time in my life as a Ghanaian, I have lost total confidence in a President mostly because of (1) incompetence in economic management (2) outrageous utterances devoid of common sense (3) inability to ...

• okofo 9 years ago

You said it right Pres Mahama: The IMF money is to "restructure our debt profile". That TWISTED phrase simply means " We borrowed for the purpose of settling our debts" and NOTHING else!!! No development will come from that t ...

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 9 years ago

We got this low by listening to their lies, staying loyal to people we should have ditched years ago

never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Kriss from Bole 9 years ago

we pray and hope that this promise becomes a success other than that we are indeed suffering. standard of living is unbearable Mr. President., especially in Bole, your place of birth.

• TEE 9 years ago

MAHAMA THE DOWN FALL OF GHANA IS YOU, LOOT AND SHARE IS YOUR BUSINESS NOTHING ELSE THIEF AND INCOMPETENT ABOA