Bui Dam was an engineering disaster - Lee Ocran

Read Comments Comments (88)

• The mask 9 years ago

Many families are saying that blog.boachsoft.com is the most helpful family finance resource they have ever come across.

• OYOKOBA 9 years ago

I cannot believe how stupid this Lee Ocran is. What has his NDC done substantially for the almost 30years they have been in power starting from their goddamned PNDC?

How can he loosely just say what he said without any evi ...

• Abongo 9 years ago

Why do you say so? He is educating us on the truth and you say he is stupid? You are rather stupid because you don't digest what he said. The stupid thing the NPP did about Bui Dam.Your parents never gave you any good educati ...

• USMAN 9 years ago

If Dr Danaa, who holds a PhD, could behave this way then university education is useless in Ghana. If people of his caliber are leading Ghanaians then, I am afraid, we shall soon fall into a ditch.
    Who asked Dr Danaa to take ...

• nicman@atl 9 years ago

does that mean it cannot be used for anything white elephant so what

• Abingo 9 years ago

Foolish Abongo what did he say that is useful to you. Is the Bui Dam really a disaster? Think about it. Lee Ocran is spewing garbage and you want people to believe the lies. HOW STUPID YOU ARE!

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

THEY CALLED JUBILEE HOUSE A POULTRY FARM, YET THAT IS WHERE THEY HIDE TO CREATE, LOOT AND SHARE GHANA GOVERNMENT FUNDS.

• GHANABA 9 years ago

I THINK YOU HAVE A MENTAL PROBLEM ABONGO . NDC/PNDC IS 27 YRS ,SO WHO MUST WE BLAME ? ONLY FOOLS LIKE YOU WILL SAY THE OPPOSITE .FOR CONTINUES 3 YRS DUMSOR IN YOUR TIME AND YOU ARE BLAMING SOMEBODY ? AH !

• Akasanoma 9 years ago

Claiming the Bui Dam is a 'Disaster', without any evidential proof of that assertion is the most stupid thing to happen to any learned person.

Nobody, including Kufuor, could foresee that Asiedu Nketia, with the help of N ...

• NANA 9 years ago

The same Lee Ocran told Ghanaians in parliament that the crude oil that was found in 2005 is palm kernel oil,are you surprised?No wonder VRA is not leaving up to expectation if you've such a member in the board.

• non-oyokoba 9 years ago

what benefit has the bui dam brought so far? NON WAS SO EVER. This not to indite prez kuffour cus we know he meant well- but the simple answer is that bui dam has been a total waste of our money so far. i blame our useless en ...

• kobby 9 years ago

Oyokoba you and your kofour are mindless creatures you didn't know in the era of global warming building hydroelectric electric dams isn't the solution to dumsor think, KWASEATO!!!

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 9 years ago

Yes Oyokoba, I support you on this one. Lee Ocran is a stupid-fool for even uttering such. Now, the question he should have asked himself before opening his mouth so wide like "Bonsu" hunting for some sardines was, why did th ...

• oyokokwasia 9 years ago

OYOKOBA your Moda!!! What a Buffoon

• GREEN UMBRELLA 9 years ago

When the wisdom is found in the stomach, it comes out as shit.If Bui Dam was a disaster why didnt he advise his party to abandon it. When the felt dam the housing project initiated by Kuffour was a waste have they not abandon ...

• GREEN UMBRELLA 9 years ago

Mr President, though am not a sympathiser of your party, i regard u as my and our president.Kindly call all your TOP party members and sentisize them dat PRIDE COMES BEFORE A FALL.If they dont control their mouths because the ...

• tugar 9 years ago

When one listens to fools like Hon Ocran, it makes you wonder and at the same time understand why we are going back in development. How can he blames NPP whilst NDC has been in power for nearly 8 years and still cannot fix th ...

• CASTRO 9 years ago

THIS IS WHAT HE MAHAMA SHOULD BE SAYING. HE SHOULD HAVE FIRED THOSE TECHNOCRATS IN THE FIRST PLACE. THERE IS NO INCENTIVE TO USE POWER WISELY WHEN JUST ABOUT EVERYONE IN GHANA STEALS ELECTRICITY. THEY ARE GOING CRAZY WITH DUM ...

• Ken Ntiamoa 9 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah built Akosombo dam by 9 years
    Kufuor built Bui dam by 8 years. What has NDC built from Rawlings' 19 years and Mills/Mahama's 7 years?

Ken

• Zargon 9 years ago

Mahama came and finished most part of the bui dam. To answer your question the atuabo gas processing plant which has now started providing gas!!!!! And many more??? If u care to find out u will.

In 26 years of NDC, Mahama came to finish what some one else started? Is that all?

If Atuoba Gas is operational, why are we living and dying in the dark?
    How come our businesses are folding? Why are the good people of Gha ...

• JJ 9 years ago

Which many more? Npp started the atuabo and it tool forever for ndc to complete. What else have they done.? Please spit them out if u have any.

• Abongo 9 years ago

Another idiot

Ken

• Bassaw 9 years ago

Achempong built Kpong Dam in 6 years!

Ken

• Gbesetse 9 years ago

So you, Lee Ocran, "know" some foreigners and Ghanaians are tapping power illegally, and what have you done about it. Why are you telling us? Why regurgitate the problems instead of solving them? Is it not solutions we are al ...

• Dean 9 years ago

What did you do as HC to South Africa and minister of education, basically nothing. Just a loud mouth.

• Abongo 9 years ago

What do you want him to do about energy as education minister?

• Pumpuni 9 years ago

Pure and unadulterated balderdash. You were elected into office to govern, which includes solving problems. All we hear from the NDC are excuses upon excuses: a. Nigeria cuts off gas supply; 2. Low water levels at the Akosomb ...

• Paapidi 9 years ago

Is this Ocran of a person insane or what? He is certainly a moron to think that "dumsor" is the result of tapping of power illegally by locals and foreigners. That such a scumbag is the chairman of the the board of VRA makes ...

So if u do not generate enough power and the little you generate is not fully paid for, can you not see how it will contribute to the current problem.? Another NPP asshole with nothing to add to mother ghana

• nana yaw sunshine. 9 years ago

Privitise it so that those who are getting it for free can't continue getting it

• Abongo 9 years ago

Thank you my friend and it is going to happen soon

• United Ghana 9 years ago

So, Bui is an engineering disaster? But it did not stop Asiedu Nketia from making millions from it. Ocran is just a govt sycophant, one of many who have contributed to the failure of this Mahama regime

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 9 years ago

The reason we are blaming Mahama is that 3 years ago when these crises started we had 24 hours of light and then 12 hours of darkness. Today it is the opposite.

In effect, the situation has worsened not bettered. So what ...

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

NDC QUICKLY PAID DUBIOUS JDGMT DEBTS TOTALING OVER ONE BILLION DOLLARS TO CRONIES AND FAMILY....8.7 BN GHC OVEREXPENDITURE IN 2012 TO WIN ELECTIONS,....SADA SUBAH, GYEEDA, OVERBLOATED CONTRACTS LIKE 400,000.00 GHC TO BUILD ON ...

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

return the ndc illgotten stolen dirty blood monies in ndc pockets and see how ghana will bounce back.....NDC QUICKLY PAID DUBIOUS JDGMT DEBTS TOTALING OVER ONE BILLION DOLLARS TO CRONIES AND FAMILY....8.7 BN GHC OVEREXPENDITU ...

• Abongo 9 years ago

And ask Nana where our ship is

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

we are speaking of huge huge huge monies here and u are spewing out total nonsense as if u have chicken size brains in ur block head...ndc is in power now so why wont they try and jail npp for any malfeasance like npp did to ...

• ISSA ABONGO 9 years ago

THE NDC PARTY HAS A WRONG MINDSET. THEY ARE RIG ELECTIONS TO COME POWER TO STEAL STATE FUNDS TO ENRICH THEMESLVES. SO THEY HAVE NO MINDSET FOR GOVERNING AND DEVELOPING GHANA, HENCE 26 YEARS OF NDC RULE AND NOTHING ACHIEVED. G ...

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

FOR NINETEEN YRS NDC CUDNT FIND OIL IN COMMERCIAL QUANTITIES N EVEN SHOUTED IN PARLIAMENT THAT NPP WAS LYING WHEN NPP FOUND AND ANNOUNCED IN PARLIAMENT THAT GHANA HAS FOUND OIL IN COMMERCIAL QUANTITIES..

• Ghanaian 9 years ago

What was this noise about? The headline promised some expose, but all the NDC gentleman wanted to say was that Kuffuor failed to stop the dumsor from happening. That was the disaster Lee Ocran wanted to expose!

• Phasmida 9 years ago

Mr Ocran, can you please explain why this is so?

• Abongo 9 years ago

Privaties ECG and that is it

• COOL HEADS 9 years ago

abongo cant even speak and write good english....THE WORD IS PRIVATIZE....

• ghananyi 9 years ago

What l Dont understand is why are foreign govts not coming to help us out of our dumsor predicament?Ghana used to have huge goodwill all over the world.
    I bet they will be running to Ghana to assist when Nana becomes preside ...

• SEEK, Berekum 9 years ago

AND WHO SAYS THE MIDGET CAN BECOME A PRESIDENT? THERE IS NO WAY AN UNINTELLIGENT MAN LIKE AKUFO ADO CAN BECOME A PRESIDENT.
    IN THE UNLIKELIHOOD OF THE MIDGET BECOMING A PRESIDENT, GHANA WILL BE DOOMED FOREVER.

• matt 9 years ago

A criminal & womanizer like Mahama has become president why not Nana Addo. stupid comments from you

• proactive 9 years ago

Dear Ghanaians, help yourselves and acquire portable solar gadgets to ease Dumsor wahala. Rechargeable solar lanterns, solar generators. Be proactive and call Proera 0502565130. Dumsor is new Ghanaian vocabulary that's here s ...

• Yayra 9 years ago

Too much talking from these greedy bastards. Just quick at coondenming but all the years of NDC's existence, there is nothing credible that have contributed to Ghana's development. ONLY FOOLISH THINGS, STEALING, WOMNAIZING, D ...

• Kwesi 9 years ago

Simply you are saying the president is a fool. How many times had he not been deceived yet he sits down like a moron? NDC is just useless

• kakabo 9 years ago

This is Lee Ocran again with his nkwasiasem. A corrupt old bastard who does not appreciate anything Kufour did. Is he not the one who said the oil in a container which was displayed in parliament after Kufour had announce the ...

Wo maame tw3!!!

• Ato 9 years ago

Mr. Lee Ocran should have gone ahead to tell the world the causes of the dumsor, rather than beating about the bush and complaining that people are accusing the President without knowing the causes. Has the President told us ...

• COLEGATE 9 years ago

Yes the president relied on technocrats to give the timelines and it has gone on and on for far too long.It makes u think he is a lair. Aside this Lee Ocran said it as is.People steal power and pay less.Who does all these ill ...

• Mr Akatsi 9 years ago

And there lies another example - We now have the incorruptible evidence we need from a dumb poo brained man who seriously lacks in education and previous appointments, now heads power and has the nerve of a dead cockroach and ...

• Evans 9 years ago

What is this man saying? Its full of trash, I just cant make any sense out of this

• Concerned 9 years ago

You tell us you are doing something but no one tells us what

• Paa Osei 9 years ago

Which Government oversaw the construction of the Dam? Did the suprovision check on engineering specification and monitore the phases of construction according to the structural analysis? NDC administration is fond of giving b ...

• Francis Essuman 9 years ago

Lee Ocran again! Destroyed the education sector now wanted to destroy energy too look at this people with evil mind, please God come and save Ghana from these wrathful

• king 9 years ago

Insulting one another will not help us..pla

• Josh 9 years ago

The Bui Dam, most certainly is not an "engineering disaster" Perhaps an economic miscalculation. The Dam was meant to be used as a "peaking" plant to produce at peak hours only everyday. Because other plants have not been dev ...

• KA 9 years ago

At the news organized to announce plans to end the dumsor, the power minister denied categorically in an answer to a question that the bui dam was not a white elephant. So what is this man talking about. He should give up a ...

• Zakaria Moomen Baquree 9 years ago

I am disappointed in Lee Ocran did he see da day the late president prof Atta Mills was going to commissioned da bui dam,the NDC they did not invite Ku four they only invited NDC activits n they were taking credit at of that. ...

• cali 9 years ago

This is not true, mr ocran know u to hounarable but have just realize u are such a big fool. A disgrace to ur people. How can u blame prez koffour for the dui project. I ask u was it ready for use when ur dead goat president ...

• kwame 9 years ago

Lats make do with the project.This criticism will not make much difference now.

• Gongo Lana 9 years ago

Is this not the same man who described Ghana's discovery of oil as adwe ngoo (palm kennel oil)? Why at all do radio host give such lunatics the chance to spew out the crap in their dead goat brains? Ghana is 58 years now and ...

• chief vandal 9 years ago

I do not know what they give them to drink in the NDC. I cant believe Lee Ocran of all people said this. Wonders will never end

• Say the Truth 9 years ago

In an interview with Kwame Tutu on Frontline of Rainbow Radio 87.5 fm he blamed successive governments after Dr. Kwame Nkrumah for virtually doing nothing to keep Ghana out of the present crisis. NDC HAS 26+ OF THE YEARS!!!!! ...

• Say the Truth 9 years ago

The Bui hydro-electric dam had first been envisaged in 1925 by the British-Australian geologist and naturalist Albert Ernest Kitson when he visited the Bui Gorge. The dam had been on the drawing board since the 1960s, when Gh ...

• victor 9 years ago

An NDC board member talks about power crisis and equates it to Bui Dam engineering disaster. How can one predict end of Dumsor? In his presentation he makes no reference to any engineering defects. He forgets NPP initiative b ...

• NANA 9 years ago

LEE THIS IS TOO LOW FOR U IF BUI DAM IS NOT WORKING NOW IS THAT HAS TO TAKE FOUR YEARS ,

• Atto 9 years ago

is lee ocran an engineer? he should have done his homework well before he made such statements. Bui dam is never a white elephant n will never be. Bui dam runs a minimum of 2 units everyday n each unit produce about 130 mega ...

• kojo nzo ekangaki 9 years ago

Why has the govt kept Ghanaians in de dark about de true state of de Bui Dam especially at de time when K.T Hammond was making ugly noises!!!!

• Ghanaman THE REAL 9 years ago

It's only a small minded ignoramus like you who does not understand the short comings of Hydro Power which to a large extent relies upon nature! So where is the Engineering disaster if the Dam is technically sound?
    Even if i ...

• the lone crusader! 9 years ago

Are you not ashamed?where is asiedu nkatia?where in this world can a foreigner go and do your saying?and you lot keep on holding poditions?o.m.g.beerma stop the blame thing and talk sense or resign?have uo not taken ghs preci ...

• Hard Listerners 9 years ago

Does lee ocran realize he is insulting himself by sitting on a "white elephant board"? what a shame!

• G. K. Berko 9 years ago

At what point did Lee Ocran see the Bui Dam as a white elephant? The proposal to construct this Dam predates even Nkrumah. So, why did Mr. Ocran, in all his 'expertise', and experience as an old Politician, not caution the ...

• ghanaian 9 years ago

Is this not the same Lee ocean who went to parliament sometime ago to show the whole ghanaians that, the oil that then government of NPP, Says they have discovered is Palm candle oil, just because it was discovered by another ...

• ATIEMO 9 years ago

its shocking to hear this, they were claiming they have added some amount of power building bui.Were they dreaming when they were claiming they have added some mega watts to the national energy and now what is the minister te ...

• AAA 9 years ago

What competent power producer will plan to carry out maintenance (shut down) on 3 thermal plants at the same time and cause major power rationing in Ghana. Is it plain incompetence or wicked sabotage? We know of those chief ...

• Kofi Kafui 9 years ago

What did he do during his term as the minister of education? He always lied during his term and couldn't provided even chalk for schools in ghana

• afi 9 years ago

Kwasiafo after misusing the water resources in both bui and akosombo, u turn round to say bui was wasteful. At least its better than woyome.

• Asuoba 9 years ago

Idiot.get lost.

• Ken 9 years ago

I'm sorry that someone like Lee Ocran has the guts to tell Ghanaians such blatant lies. Was he not the one who told us that the oil fro the Jubilee fields was "adwengo", palm kennel oil when ex President J A KUFFUOR showed th ...

• mohammed nuru 9 years ago

Why he kept selling blocks to the project when all of NDC people on the project knew it was a white elephant but kept paying yourselves huge salaries and allowances on to turn round to say its a white elephant.

It is eithe ...

• TEE 9 years ago

AFTER 2016 ELECTION THE POWER WILL GO OFF AGAIN, THAT IS THE PLAN FOR NDC THIEF MAHAMA LIE LIE TALKATIVE