Terkper proves us all wrong; justifies Mahama’s confidence

Read Comments Comments (112)

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

Nana Akanfuo Binaddo Buhari's resignations is a great steps in a right direction, the world will jubilate and Ghana will be a Safer place to live in. Mother Ghana can't afford more gallons of powerful ACID on her people under ...

• ogboo 9 years ago

ONLY FOOLS WILL BELIEVE STORIES FROM AL-HAJJ!!! GHANA IS BEING LED INTO A DITCH AND THIS COUNTRY WILL SURELY END IN CIVIL WAR AND EXPLODE SOMEDAY DUE TO NDC DECEIT AND PROPAGANDA !!!!!

• insight to the bone 9 years ago

we see now the northern tribalism trying to destabilize the good fortunes of the NPP so that pepeni Mahama can remain there for another term. its all about tribalism , the politics is used camoflage the true intentions and mi ...

• Kofi London 9 years ago

You can call him all names you want.he is still better than the Evil,scam,ugly cheepanzee.

• facts 9 years ago

Tekper sent us to the IMF for economic or financial direction because his ideas to cope with Mahama's unquenchable borrowing thirst were exhausted. His counsel was not working with Mahama and his create loot and share policy. ...

• maame 9 years ago

What you are saying is very sad. You care less about one of us, a human being and a Ghanaian, who lost his life so tragically. May you live to see what he saw. What has Mahama or northerners to do with what you are saying. ...

• Raymond Agbeli 9 years ago

Insight to the bone,open your fucking eyes and see the light.it is very obvious u're an ignoramus making a dangerously good use of tribal emotion just like your stupid and backward mentor Kennedy Agyapong.God save us from peo ...

• Kwaku Obeng 9 years ago

Your postings might make more sense and attract objective evaluation if it is devoid of tribal hatred and insults. Please address issues. Have a nice day, or good night.

• meyaa 9 years ago

YOU ARE SICK IN THE HEAD. NDC HAS NO HANDS IN NPP PROBLEMS.

• They Say They Say 9 years ago

If Ghana survived the '70s and the '80s without civil war, how can it go into civil war now when it's evident to all level headed people that civil war only compounds misery?

• Gye Nyame 9 years ago

IMF loans, foreign grants, high interest rates and prices is what we now call success/positive results? Ayekoo NDC!

• GOD SAVE GHANA 9 years ago

Excuses upon excuses,the true store about the Nation's economic down-fall is NDC's Chop,Chop of in the 2012 elections,the free SUVs,Lap Tops and buying of Votes,ect.

If great civilizations like Greece, Spain, Italy and even the almighty USA can find themselves in economic turmoil from time to time, how can a young country like Ghana escape this phenomenon? The problem with Ghanaians is th ...

It seems everybody is caught in this ndc/npp tug of war thing but I think both parties lack vision and the moral courage to propel Ghana into progressive trajectory. At this point I am more interested in any leader who has th ...

Thnk u

• ELINAM 9 years ago

Who supposed to be more happy about our economy? Is it the suffering Ghanaians or the IMF who makes more money from our misery?

WHAT A WISHFUL THINKING.

This's the reasons why our people hates you when you speak of the ...

• ASAMOAH-ABOAGYE 9 years ago

The Hon. Minister of Finance, Seth Terkper proved you wrong BUT not all of us.
    I have always supported him, but you the sceptics, NPP supporters and surrogates deliberately decided not to appreciate the good things in this c ...

• meyaa 9 years ago

What are you talking ABOUT? Ghanaians don't hate anyone, you do, but ghana is bigger than you.

• DR TRUTH 9 years ago

WHAT IS WRONG WITH MAHAMA AND NDC? WE ARE GOING ABOUT BEGGING FOR LOANS AND YET STILL THEY PATTING THIER BACKS "WELL DONE"... I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO READ INFLATION IS DOWN, CURRENCY STABILISED, GROWTH IN VARIOUS SECTORS, UN ...

Agreed with you Dr truth.!!

• afadzi 9 years ago

Thank you brother Ogboo for hitting the nail right on the head. Only stupid people will vote for NDC.

• meyaa 9 years ago

MAY GOD FORGIVE YOU. GHANA IS ON THE RIGHT DIRECTION AND WILL NEVER SEE CIVIL WAR. GOD FORBID I THINK YOU NEED HELP MENTALLY OGBOO.

• Close Observer 9 years ago

In addition to the 3 judges (who were not proven to have committed any crimes in a court of law) the following also were, innocently killed and today the innocent (from all tribes) blood ; still speaks and cries for justice:

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

I salute you. Close Observer.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

JOHN MAHAMA KILLED PROF ATTA MILLS

• Blackman Politics 9 years ago

Thanks for your records. Rest assured if there is uprising those who will attempt to stand in the way against the peoples' will are bound to die. Ghana's democracy means thievery by NPP and NDC.

• ME MAN NTI 9 years ago

You are an idiot. You stupid. You fool, you pig, you are a jerk. These are the attributes of BBCNEWS!!!!!!! Who has stopped me from listening to this great news media. I have never seen an idiot like this guy who has won to h ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

I love that.

• AWURAMA 9 years ago

Only fools will love comments of hate. If all akans come together as one people and vote against ndc where will you stand? Fools who don't think far before opening their stinky mouths, will never see change in their lives.BBC ...

• Close Observer 9 years ago

Dangerous politicians like Amasa Namoale who have no idea that democracy involves divergent views, but all aimed at one goal; making Ghana better must not be entertain in our country's politics. Amasa Namoale does not know th ...

• OBUTANTIM KWAME OHENE 9 years ago

DEAR SIR, THIS IS CLEARLY A COOKED UP WRITE UP, PROBABLY ORCHESTRATED BY SETH TERPKER HIMSELF. BUT TIME WILL SURELY TELL

• Citizene Vigilante 9 years ago

I don't know who you are, but seriously speaking you're an idiot

• AGENDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

NPP sacrificed Adams Mahama where there was no cow for Nana Addo to be buried like in 2008 and 2012 when they buried a cow alive.

• NDC 9 years ago

The Al-Hajj garbage news paper

• KWAA 9 years ago

You call the signing an agreement for a loan with the IMF a success?Oh my God, Mahama and his NDC.Runing the economy down and Runing to the IMF is now called a success story.No wonder we are sleeping in darkness.They have squ ...

• Joe, MA (Acc) FAIA, ACCA (UK), CPA(US 9 years ago

Not from what I am hearing from international,national and local sources

• Dede 9 years ago

Is Terkper a proper Chartered Accountant like the British ones with a clout or just a "quack" accountant?

• Ajit Babu 9 years ago

This present economic situation in Ghana is nothing to write home about. Therefore, the finance minister has proven NOTHING!

• NEric Kobbina 9 years ago

Shame

• yaa dua 9 years ago

Mediocrity is rewarded here. what's $114 millions from I M F? Poor managers of our nation

• JOYCE KOFI-DUA 9 years ago

WHO BROUGHT THE DIFFICULTIES IN THE FIRST PLACE. DID THE MAHAMAH INHERITED A AN UNHEALTHY ECONOMY? NO. SO WHAT DID SETH D. DO PROOF YOU FOOLS LIKE AL HAJI WRONG. THE ECONMY IS AT THE POINT OF CRUSHING. THE CEDI IS GHC4.21 TO ...

• a.k, amsterdam 9 years ago

What has Seth Terkper achieved since he became a Finance Minister? Do you know the rate? Cedis to Dollars?

• Ghanaman 9 years ago

AlHajj news-shit just read this portion and see the contradiction you are feeding people

have kept their heads above the turbulent storm and have won the heart of not only President Mahama, but also Ghana's development par ...

• Concerned 9 years ago

A finance boss is supposed to do two things. Protect assets and help the organisation grow
    With regards to protecting assets I feel he is doing a good job implementing the financial controls needed to stop the woyome and al ...

• JONES 9 years ago

WHY WILL YOU GET RAID OF SOMETHING WHO IS FALSIFYING NUMBERS AND LOOTING AT THE EXPENSE OF POOR GHANAIANS.

• Onipaba of Akyem Maase 9 years ago

It's only NDC and its rented press which are too blind and death to see and understand the economy. Go out there and pay your contractors and public servants. Then restore training college alawa and also pull down the rising ...

• KKD 9 years ago

"Ghana, under Seth Terkper, has successfully signed on a three-year program with the International Monetary Fund and thus expected to draw some US$918 million concessional facility"

TERKPER RUN THE ECONOMY SO BAD THAT HE H ...

• Just me 9 years ago

SMH, who is this fool who wrote this article? Oh my World! this writer is really crazy. Praising a minister for his success in negotiating a loan from IMF, no wonder we are failing as a nation if this is what we measure succe ...

• Yaovi 9 years ago

You are indeed an illiterate. Look at the difficulties we are facing due to the stupid policies your finance minister is implementing. Kwasia:
    The Cedi is at its lowest level
    Inflation is high
    Taxes everywhere
    Companies ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

Iam not surprised, what is wrong with Bature and in any case are human beings still buying that his toilet paper The Al-haj? Because I wonder the kind of propaganda he will be publishing in there.

• Citizene Vigilante 9 years ago

No wonder it is coming from no other person than stomach journalist Bature

• KK 9 years ago

Whoever wrote this piece is not staying in Ghana.

• KK 9 years ago

Whoever wrote this piece is not staying in Ghana.

• Chief amankwa 9 years ago

This president a joke ..he has impoverished all and he allegedly made millions for himself ...
    Please Mahama give all of us bloody break

• Alex 9 years ago

What a shame
    Now securing a loan from IMF is an achievement.
    How can an economy that was said to be the fastest growing economy be reduced to the level of borrowing and say that is an achievement .
    And how can people fro ...

• Kweku A 9 years ago

When does being bailed out and getting more loans considered a success? It seems the economic crises is making more people stupid by the minute!!!

• nagy. italy 9 years ago

always brouhaha, no results. Ghana economy is stinking, the president describe himself dead sheep, no electricity to get dead sheep frozen. every Ghanian is smelling the mess. God save Ghana from Mahama government.

• Nana 9 years ago

This article doesn't make sense. A waste of precious time and Political motivated indeed to paint a beautiful picture on a corrupt NDC government.

• Collins, Akim-Achiase 9 years ago

Let's desist from words that divide us. Pr Insulting and profane words is not the answer. Let's be corrective other than indulging in such insults. It begins with you.

• gravity 9 years ago

useless govt. how much did mayweather make in a night, how much have u paid in judgement debts, stop these nonesense and think thunk think think and stop the greed.

• Mad John Mahama 9 years ago

Who is this snake and frog who wrote this

• Prophet 9 years ago

proves us all wrong on going to bailout from imf? you are a shame

• asem beba dabi 9 years ago

Haven't we had enough these evil liars.
    The economy is in serious crisis, and you tell us the finance minister is doing.
    Can this stupid nature read his own paper?
    The story is full of 'will' and "expected to yield result" ...

Mediocrity getting a loan to feed your family any lazy and foolish man can do it,you are ashamed of yourself for this article,rise the bar small Ghana deserve better.

• Kojo 9 years ago

This is rubbish. Mtseeeeew

• jamal 9 years ago

The Al- Hajj ! What else???

• Cash 9 years ago

Is the Finance Minister and the president really serious? I, surely don't think so. Obviously, any Ghanaian who is sound in mind would surely agree with me that these two individuals have nothing to write home about. They hav ...

• Poor Teachers 9 years ago

I honestly believe in the Minister but the minister has not shown respect to teachers in this country including the president.teachers arrears are not paid ,nothing for teachers,this month we validated amount different from ...

• Kanta 9 years ago

How can you be painting a nice picture after the fact? 2017 is a year after John Mahama and NDC have been thrown out of government!

The finance minister is calling for victory after the race has been called against his adm ...

• collins 9 years ago

You are not employing people into public sector all in the name of reducing wage bill to tax ratio.The end results; more harship. It's just like trying to control population growth by killing the citizens.

• Anglia 9 years ago

NO COMMENT.

• trufbtold 9 years ago

But what kind of rubbish reporting is this.Thiis is pure propagandist and meant to confuse the public especially the gullible and mostly uneducated ndc foot-soldiers. How can a man lead his family into serious debt and when h ...

• Akans Prophecies 9 years ago

A country that lives on aides is a begger country. You can't blind us anymore with cupid propogandas to restore the thievery and corruption. Does a country needs to spend as much as &27 billion in deficit, stand so low to pl ...

• Obibini Kwame, Santa Maria. 9 years ago

Capital nonsense. cheap propaganda.

• Kay 9 years ago

Ndc is indeed insulting the intelligence of Ghanaians

• Edem 9 years ago

Where from this? Nothing has changed except Al hajj wants to tell us that the thievery has stopped and things will begin to take their natural course.

• Liars! 9 years ago

Are we now praising MEDIOCRITY in Ghana? What is positive about the current state of affairs? Terkper can only prove illiterates like this writer wrong. Not well discerning Ghanaians.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

We'll kill all the akans!!!!.

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

BBCNEWS AMASA NAMOALE CONSTANTLY BEATING WAR DRUMS EVEN THO HE IS AN NDC MP WHERE AKANS ARE IN MILLIONS IN THE NDC PARTY......JOHN MAHAMA SHD BRING THIS ERRANT MP TO ORDER

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

BRING THIS IMBECILE MP TO ORDER BEFORE HE SETS GHANA ABLAZE ....ARE THERE AKANS IN NDC NAMOALE AMASA...

• BILLYBILLY 9 years ago

AMASA NAMOALE, DO U SPEAK ON THE FLOOR OF PARLIAMENT AT ALL ....ALWAYS ON THE NET BEATING WAR DRUMS

• STOP VIOLENCE MOVIES NOW 9 years ago

BBCNEWS WHERE ARE YOU BITCH ? MY FUCKING CORK NEEDS TO SUCK REALLY HARD NIGAR ASS HOLE .

• Kosi Ametefe Dogbe 9 years ago

On what bases is the NDC govt congratulating itself?

Are they congratulating themselves for obtaining a $1B loan from IMF and opening the door for more loans they can LOOT & SHARE?

Where did the $14B they received from ...

• Aikins 9 years ago

And we are still bankrupt Kosi.

• SP 9 years ago

Hmmm! NDC and propaganda.

• NANA AKUFO ADDO 9 years ago

TWO BEHIKE CUBAN CIGARS FOR MAHAMA AND TERKPER.

LONG LIVE MAHAMA. LONG LIVE TERKPER. LONG LIVE GHANA.

• suley santo 9 years ago

The devaluation of the Ghana Cedi, higher interest payments due on both domestic and foreign loans,poor public budget and expenditure performance, official corruption, inflated projects costs; increased inflation, escalat ...

• Ewe nation 9 years ago

It is greedy ashantis salivating at looting and defrauding the treasury who are behind Terper's tribulations bcoz he won't let them rob taxpayers.Fvckin ugly and greedy asantes are the reason why Ghana is behind and 95% of ar ...

• kwame 9 years ago

Voodoo economic achievement you mean eh. Stop kidding yourself. Where is the success you are talking about. No wonder we are all suffering because people like you will sing the praises of politicians even in the face of an ob ...

• Lambert Dassah 9 years ago

Mr Seth you are good God bless you. Keep it up. Lambert Dassah from Nadowli

• Onslopogas 9 years ago

'Concert people'...You are jokers NDC !!

• STOP VIOLENCE MOVIES NOW 9 years ago

GHANAIANS ARE SUFFERING . STOP ACTING STUPID.

• The Critical Reader 9 years ago

This is not a objective news article. It's a puff piece planted by an NDC puppet posing as a journalist. It's insulting to the Ghanaian public and frankly, the poor attempt to disguise this as an objective story is embarras ...

• Joe Pasasa 9 years ago

This is all nonsense idle, useless script. The fact is that NDC, Mahama and the morons called ministers have taken Ghana hostage with theiving, stealing, corruption, and reckless mismanagement of the resources.

Ghana is a ...

• kwame peter 9 years ago

Useless article all the actuals you mentioned shows an economy in free fall. What home grown policies are you referring to....mere propaganda!!!

• Cantona 9 years ago

Tickle yourself and laugh

• Lord Tennison 9 years ago

Mere words are not power and strategy for war.
    You need to bring down the high cost of utility and refined petroleum products which is pushing up inflation, interest rates and stop the unofficial depreciation of the GHC.
    St ...

• Garbeben 9 years ago

This is some rear guard fighting to stop the impending removal of Seth terkper But it's too late, am expecting his removal soon. Fact is am not surprised by the news insertion of the so called good works of Seth terkper He ...

• Mobydick 9 years ago

In plain terms, what do these figures mean for the ice water seller, the roadside welder, the ordinary labourer now unemployed as a result of dumsor, the health system etc? Throw these figures into the dustbin. They are meani ...

• Uncle Pee 9 years ago

What achievement of this NDC/Mahama administration are we talking about? Do you claim success for borrowing? Can anyone name me just two of this Finance minister's achievement?

• BUDGET SUPPORT 9 years ago

Can Bature go and ask Terkper what it means when yields on two bonds raised so far are under-subscribed in the context of confidence in the economy by investors, the prospects of the economy in the medium term and the general ...

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 9 years ago

Otwe, Adowa, ofui! Praising Terkper for the rocket falling cedi means you're damn f00lish.

• Kwaku 9 years ago

Ghana is where it is due to economic mismanagement of the government and stealing of our resources. The dumsor is self inflicted. Ghana experienced more rainfall last year than it had in the years when there was no dumsor. Th ...

• Ghana must know 9 years ago

What happened to the unprecedented billions of dollars loans,the oil money and taxes. Is a shame to call IMF bailout a success.Is this the BETTER GHANA you promised?.Is CRATE, LOOT and SHARE governance better Ghana?.Bunch of ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 9 years ago

The only sir in finance,but falls short to Botweys and Marfos.Its a shame he couldn't control our Cedi.Maybe Nana bin Laddo can do it.Let's give him a chance!!

• kankam, 9 years ago

Securing $918m loan an achievement? What about raising Ghana's debt from 9.6billion to 88.9billiin in just 3 years. Posterity will judge us all

• krah 9 years ago

university and poly graduates are in the house jobless and u are here praising yourselves. fire burn u ppl

• Kumah 9 years ago

Ghana's economy is in coma! Where are you getting these figures, the cede is past 4.0 cedid heading to 5-6 by year end.
    Workers are being paid with no money to work. No disbursement for goods and services for 18 consecutive ...

• K Asumadu 9 years ago

Tell me, except a useless paper like AlHajj and its sycophantic editor who else in their right mind will think that running to IMF for a bailout is an act of ingenuity?
    Please drum this nonsense of journalism up where it hu ...

• People 9 years ago

The most hardworking in president mahammah´s cabinet most sincere person.i like him very much

• HARD LISTENERS 9 years ago

Can someone point to me any tangible success chalked so far apart from the phrase " in the near future"? Dreamers, dreamers and nothing but just dreaming!

• Samuel Asante U.S.A 9 years ago

I feel sorry for the ordinary Ghanaian. Instead of the government acknowledging that the country is in serious crisis and finding solutions, they are patting each other's back for destroying a strong economy they came to meet ...