Mahama apologises to Okyeman over galamsey...

Read Comments Comments (83)

• Cha 10 years ago

Is time for NDC to go

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

He meant what he said, but is now lying to cover his gaffe. He just wants votes.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

If Mahama knew and meant what he said, at least, he has been honest for once. Is there any chief/king in Ghana who does not know about Gallamsey in their territory. Even parts of ABUSCO where I taught has become gallamsey ter ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

If he is telling the truth, why deny it? Mahama has severe character flaws - he is a pathological liar.

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 10 years ago

AUTHOR: MAHMOUD------
    You are repeating exactly what Rawlings and his "let the blood flow" misguided, inexperienced youth of this country said years ago. They claimed that our older leaders had failed and they took over the ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 10 years ago

The fact that this is indeed true. Shouldn't be compromised. The chiefs are known for siding with these Chinese immigrants to support such destructive activities. Stupid elders. They don't wanna hear the truth becos if makes ...

• GHANAIAN 10 years ago

THIS PURE AKYEM PROPAGANDA. ENJOY. IN ANY CASE AKYEMS DONT VOTE NDC WHY WILL MAHAMA SEEK VOTES.

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

I urge Ghanaians to be vigilant and smart, the Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp Party is targeting the poor "Albinos" for their usual spiritual. We must stand up with one voice to say BIG NO to anti Albinos in Ghana. Npp must stop ki ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

PEOPLE OF GHANA, WHY IS SUCH A PERSON IN PARLIAMENT? IS HE NOT DEMEANING THE LEGISLATIVE ARM OF GOVERNMENT? GET BBC NEWS!!!!!! OUT OF PARLIAMENT.

I'm sure this is not what the people of La Dadekotopon want their member of ...

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

I urge Ghanaians to be vigilant and smart, the Ashanti/Akyem tribal Npp Party is targeting the poor "Albinos" for their usual spiritual. We must stand up with one voice to say BIG NO to anti Albinos in Ghana. Npp must stop ki ...

• Musah Bediako Sarpong 10 years ago

Only fools will say this

• GH 10 years ago

THAT IS NOT TRUE!! NEVER MR. PREZ. DAILY GUIDE SUCKS!!!

• OKOMFO ANOKYE 10 years ago

WOMANIZER, THIS MAN HAS NO BRAINS. HE MUST GO BACK TO BOLE- BANBOI. IDIOT

• Lt. Gen. Oditokuro 1 10 years ago

Even your kapwepwe flagbearer who wants to rule Ghana for once been coerced to apologize for his infamous all-die-be-die gaffe after justifying it for over 3 years. No sane Ghanaian will bypass a healthy middle aged person a ...

• DD 10 years ago

GHANA IS DOOMED

• AGOVE MENSAH 10 years ago

LT GEN.ODI TRUMU,LET ME TELL YOUR NAMES GIVEN DO NOT HELP ANYTHING.GHANAIANS ARE SUFFERING UNDER THIS VERY PRESIDENT WHO DOESN'T KNOW WHAT HE IS DOING.YOU ARE LAUGHING TODAY AND POURING INSULTS ON RESPECTED PEOPLE,YOUR MAMHA ...

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 10 years ago

It's about the brain in your head, not your age you fool. You are a fool and will perish early becos of your high IQ of stupidity

• Concerned 10 years ago

As the chiefs rightly told him, as president he is the one responsible for the safeguarding of our natural resources so his unfortunate comments were an indictment against his own government. They rightly spoke to him like a ...

• kk 10 years ago

This guy is a crook. Because Elections are coming see the "Nkraman Ahobrase" he is demonstrating, Only to win Vote to continue to Destroy the country.
    I bet the Chiefs are Wiser than he thinks.

• Loway 10 years ago

No apologies

• ABLEZA RESIDENT 10 years ago

The logic behind experimentation is simple : if successful it is good, if not then the outcome may be worse than before.
    When the great Bishop of Lighthouse Church delivered his speech before the national audience a few week ...

• Nzema K 10 years ago

After the Commander-in-chief has spoken and apologized there was no need for this Kotebotor, Panin-gyangyan, kwasiahunu, opanin-ntoto to refer to the same issue again. Kwasia calling itself Nana

• Osei Kodjo 10 years ago

“The minerals are owned by government. Galamsey is illegal and we are being told that Kyebi is the headquarters; then one is at a loss as to who made Kyebi galamsey headquarters. Mr Mahama, please wake up and stop the illeg ...

• FRANK 10 years ago

Weak people revenge, strong people forgive, intelligent people ignore. Above all, humble people apologize.

• SAMMY LAPUTA 10 years ago

WELL SAID FRANK. YOU ARE THE TYPE GHANA NEEDS. YOU ARE SMART.

• Truth Stands 10 years ago

You are always different from Akuffo Addo

• Douglas. Bristol-UK` 10 years ago

nonsense!! why did you have to apologize ??after all mahama has said virtually the real truth.nkwasiasem

• YF-Heidelberg 10 years ago

I really don't think you live in UK. I am an Asante and I don't take that nonsense from you guys. What have Asantes got to do with you and your president?

• ALASKA -Abrem Agona 10 years ago

Are u defending that evil empire? I will pray till fire burn Ashanti empire.

• broyu 10 years ago

TOO MUCH HOT AIR COMES FROM YOU

• Freddie 10 years ago

Reject this disgraceful guy.

• Ghanaian 10 years ago

Listen to the lie, lie. And listen to the lame excuse. How could you claim innocence now but speak speak in tongues when at your best? Darega President!

• Amidini 10 years ago

What apology ? Bse, of Nana Addo the residents of Okyem Abuakwa traditional area re against the prez. What is the differences of what Osagyefuo Amotia Ofori has said ? Dishonest people 'll never accept their mistakes. Nobody ...

• MY PEOPLE ARE USELESS ASAFO, KSI 10 years ago

PEOPLE DONT UNDERSTAND WHY THE OKYEHENE IS A PRESENT DAY LEADER.. HE STOOD FIRM FOR HIS PEOPLE AND TODAY THE PRESIDENT HAS COME TO REALISED THAT YOU CANNOT MESS UP WITH THE PEOPLE OF OKYEMAN BECAUSE THEIR KING WILL NOT LET IT ...

• duf, duf 10 years ago

God bless u for telling the truth n sharing ur dream, it's sad bt hmmm

• JOYCE KOFI-DUA 10 years ago

THOSE FOOLISH WILL SURELY FORGET ABOUT THE INSULT BECAUSE THEY WILL GET BIG MONEY FOM MAHAMAH. ALL IS ABOUT MONEY. YOU GET MONEY, YOU CAN INSULT A PERSON AND PAY THE PERSON AFTER THE INSULT AND EVERYTHING WILL BE COOL.

• Concerned 10 years ago

It is as simple as that: say you are sorry for what you said, and they would forgive you. But don't try to justify what you said; then it is no more an apology but a justification.

• CEPHAS 10 years ago

The chief his is corrupt. Was he not the one asking someone to pay a penalty of 60 sheeps few years ago when he commented on how he the Paramount chief was giving selling the land to the Chinese for the galamsay mining?

• JA 10 years ago

but the man claims to have a Master's Degree in Linguistics of I didn't read right?

• BUILSA KANJARGA 10 years ago

He has no regret for his comments, he is simply looking for votes which he won't get

• k owusu 10 years ago

There is no need for an apology,It is a fact and Okyenehene himself and Baba Jamaal are galamasy culprits.

• OKOROMANSA 10 years ago

MAHAMA IS TELLING MORE LIES AND MAKING MORE PROMISES - DEAD GOAT INDEED. THIS APOLOGY IS FAKE BECAUSE MAHAMA CAN'T USE HE NOT BEING AN AKAN AS AN EXCUSE. HE MEANT TO INSULT THE AKYEM PEOPLE. MAHAMA SHOULD TALK TO HIS BOLE BAM ...

• KYEBI ADVOCATE 10 years ago

The truth hurt. Can we said the KYEBI is deteriorated by so called GALAMSEY
    Why OKYENHENE is not admitting the whole thing is under his watch and his followers and himself is doing the same stupid thing. I election time to ...

• National Agenda 10 years ago

Most of galamsey in Ghana is being done by party leadership, regional ministers DCEs, etc.

• mkberger@yandex.com 10 years ago

we are a law firm offering help to get legal visa to work and live in Europe. For further information send mail to mkberger@yandex.com

• Nana 10 years ago

Azaarfoo Europe visa contractors. You get the weak and vulnerable people to dupe them. Becareful!! Why don't take all your family, clan, lineage and all you're related to, to Europe succeed in life. Kwasia azaarfo idiot guys. ...

• Alhaji Ishaq Polo . 10 years ago

you see you dont respect at all calling your own father a LIAR . I am so sorry .

• PEKI TUMU 10 years ago

What is the point of an apology. If the area is the home to many galamsey minees then it has to be said very loudly

• BBC NEWS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

AFTER KILLING ATTA MILLS DO U THINK U WILL HAVE A CLEAR MIND TO THINK RIGHT U WILL FOREVER EVER REMAIN THE MOST YOUNGEST USELESS DEAD GOAT PRESIDENT GHANA HAS EVER HAD

• impromptus 10 years ago

My Northern friends always say such things. Nonetheless, they know exactly what they say

• impromptus 10 years ago

Mahama knows exactly what he says in Akan. Asantes don't care about your utterances but other tribes care. Shame on you

• K Mensah---US 10 years ago

there was no need for the president to apologise to the chiefs.Is it not true that the chiefs gave permit to all those destroying the lands in their areas? Galamsey has destroyed not only the lands but also rivers and streams ...

• AGOVE MENSAH 10 years ago

IF IT WAS NO NEEDED HE HAS ALREADY DONE IT,SO YOUR COMMENTS ARE NOT NECESSARY.ADVISE YOUR PRESIDENT TO LEARN HOW TO TALK.WE GHANAIANS RESPECT OUR CHIEFS MORE THAN PRESIDENTS.WHY DIDN´T HE TELL THE NORTHERN CHIEFS THE SAME TH ...

• CAD-FAB ENGINEERING 10 years ago

Do you need a machine or an equipment for your business, then contact us today. Email: cadfab.engineering@gmail.com

• -AKWAPIMBA,LAS PALMAS DE G.C., SPAIN. 10 years ago

-NANA.WASOM.HMMMMM.

• Ekuoba Gyasi, Leeds, UK 10 years ago

Foolish talk but yr wife is akan from bono ahafo region

• JDM LOV 2 KILLD PEOPLE 10 years ago

STUPID EMPTY HEAD MAHAMA IS USELESS,KWASE LIKE HIM,ABOA

• Ngi 10 years ago

It seems the President has a lot of apologies to make.... inaddition to failed and unfulfilled promises.

• DICK ATAA AYI 10 years ago

If you think the people the folks of Kyebi are stupid, then wait till you see the election resuls in 2016.
    Dead goat.

• Nii 10 years ago

Good point my learned chief. But is the president sincere?

• SERIOUS 10 years ago

SUNB THIS DEADGOAT PREZ MAHAMA HE IS NOT SERIOUS.HE IS NOT CORRECT.APONKYE FON PREZ.OF GHANA

• Nana 10 years ago

So Okomfo Anokye, you don't even mince words! Sit back, think and reflect on what you've posted about your president. You don't need to like him, you need not to agree with him, you need not to affiliated with him at all befo ...

• CRIMES AGAINST GHANAIANS 10 years ago

No comment

• BABA KARIM 10 years ago

I HONESTLY WISHED YOU HAD NEVER APPOLOGISED BECAUSE APPART FROM THE FACT THAT YOU SAID THE TRUTH THE OKYEHENE HIM SELF HAVE CONFIRMED IT AND HAVE CHALLENGED YOU TO USE YOUR PRESIDENTIAL POWERS TO CURTAIL THE MERNASEN SO WHY T ...

• NDC SUCKS 10 years ago

THANK YOU MR PREZ BUT TRY AND FIX DUMSOR .

• curse ndc party 10 years ago

Eiiiii mahama u think u wise yhh!! Wopepeni,kroaaa s3 waniati 3y3 wo fault is Afari gyan who is an akan 3namawobu akan fo)) God will not for give u for killing alot of people's bcos of power idiot

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI, ESQ. 10 years ago

DEAR FORMER NATIONAL SECURITY ADVISOR BRIGADIER GENERAL NUNOO- MENSAH AND THE READING PUBLIC OF GHANAWEB.COM,

THIS IS TO RESPECTFULLY AND HUMBLY REFER TO YOUR PUBLICATION ON GHANAWEB.COM CAPTIONED: "GHANAIANS MUST BE GOVER ...

• Worae Ernest 10 years ago

You cant be serious mr. Lawyer. I beg to differ on all of your claims and even wonder why it has taken you so long to voice. One even begins to wonder why all these presidents of america are dying to employ you over million ...

• Raymond Agbeli 10 years ago

Why apologise when what u said was right,mr president? The people are destroying their own environment with their chief for quick money, after destroying their source of water(the numerous rivers in the area),then as usual o ...

• SAFO 10 years ago

"JUSTICE DELAYED IS JUSTICE DENIED", WHEN DID PRESIDENT MAHAMA MAKE THAT SAD STATEMENT, AND WHAT TOOK THE PRESIDENT SO LONG TO GIVE HIS APOLOGY?

• me, myself n i 10 years ago

Wow, dat is impressive, I real man knows how to apologize, dat makes u a wonderful man and am proud u the president of gh.God bless u

• Maxwell Afrifa 10 years ago

You see Mahama knows that"Kyebi " people will not vote for him so now he says he is sorry for what he said. He therefore makes mockery of the Chiefs that because he sat in "Helicopter " that is why and because he did not spe ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Once again President Mahama has shown true statesmanship and leadership, deigning to apologise to Okyeman for an innocuous comment which was misconstrued.

It is this humility that endears him to many. It is always good as ...

• Lopez 10 years ago

This TALKTALK President is at it again with his lies and deceit. Now Mahama doesn't understand Twi, what a joke? Ghanaians will never make another mistake to give their votes to an incompetent leader like you again even if yo ...

• Abass 10 years ago

No wonder this is coming from akyem chiefs. Just doing politics for our own son. Let us be sincere to this gentleman. Very soon the small portion that has been used as road will be use for galamsy. Schools compound are illega ...

• JOE 10 years ago

NANA AMOATIA WE PEOPLE OF OKYEMAN REVERED YOU AND WHOSOEVER THINK OTHERWISE HAS HIS/HER OWN PROBLEM.MAY YOU LIVE LONG.MAY THE ALMIGHTY GOD CONTINUE TO GRANT YOU WISDOM, UNDERSTANDING AND STRENGTH IN JESUS NAME AMEN.

• Topy 10 years ago

Your Excellency, there is no need to apologize. The okyehene himself is the one spearheading some of the illegal mining activities there. He should stop his own and others will follow. He is a hypocrite. Truth is his land is ...

• Baba Dramani Issah 10 years ago

I am sometimes sadened by how some disrespectul youth of our days use this medium to insult noble personalities like Osagyefuo Ofori Panin and HE Mahama as well as Nana Addo which any of them could be your Father or Grandpa. ...

• Aikins 10 years ago

Gyimi gyimii president because of election next year. Why don't you go back to Kumasi and all other towns where you have spoken stupidly to the people to apologise to.

• KKF 10 years ago

YOU ARE NOT EVEN ASHAMED YOU ARE ALSO LYING MR PREZ. WHEN WILL YOU BE SINCERE?
    THIS APOLOGY IS THE BEGGING OF YOUR DOWNFALL.

• Musah Bediako Sarpong 10 years ago

What does Mahama take us for? His apology should be totally ignored because he knew exactly he was saying. When did he say this and why is he now apologizing?

• Kwabena Ansa 10 years ago

Okyeman, whatever Mahama said about Kyebi as being the headquarters of galamsey, he meant it. It was not a slip of tongue. He believed what he was saying and for him to later turn around and apologized for the comment is hyp ...

• WOJAFFO 10 years ago

Just for votes. That's al. We know what's up Mr JDM