Ghanaians don’t fear the police - Nunoo-Mensah

Read Comments Comments (92)

• Johnny 8 years ago

Why shd Ghanaians fear the police,they shd rather respect them which is not so due to the latter's inability to live up to expectation.

• Ghanaman 8 years ago

He thinks Ghanaians should live in fear of police, who are supposed to protect and serve the public?

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 8 years ago

This man is becoming a complete idiot, helping to make Mahama's work difficult. Are soldiers in Ghana not corrupt. We saw the situation after Nkrumah(whose overthrow was a blessing in disguise), Acheampong, Akuffo and Jerry's ...

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

IF THE SOLDIER IS GETTING FREE KENKEY FROM MAAME ADJOA WHY SHOULD SHOULD SHE FEAR HIM IF HE IS FUCKING PROPHETESS MUSAMA DISCO AND THE NANKABA PRIESTESS?

• ROMANO 8 years ago

HE HAS BEEN AN INSTANT IDIOT FOR A VERY LONG TIME AND VERY BITTER ABOUT MAHAMA REFUSING TO OFFER HIM ANY POSITION IN THE GOVT.

• Mahmoud 8 years ago

You seem to be repeating what Rawlings and his misguided, inexperienced "let the blood flow" chanting youth said years ago. They claimed our older leaders had failed and they violently took over the country in the 80s and mis ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

I keep saying that I wonder why foolish people like leadership positions. Instead of suggesting ways of enforcing laws without fear or favour, listen to what Nunoo-Mensah is saying. It's very frightening to think that sometim ...

• KENNY 8 years ago

WHO THE F..... HE THINK TO TALK DOWN AT US GHANA PEOPLE

• Tetteh Nubuor 8 years ago

The rtd. Brigadier is right about his assessment because the police has lost it place in society. When someone buys your conscience you become irrelevant to call anyone out!

• Obosomanketre Nam Brebre 8 years ago

You see stupid Nunoo Mensah, such was Ghana's Natinonal Sec Advisor, poor Ghana. He was a big failure in the Army ( find out) Rawlings Coup rescued him and raised him but still an idiot.
    No wander there are many such idiots ...

• THINGS FALL APART 8 years ago

I tried not to believe that this old soldier is a fool and a big fool for that matter. But I believe it 120% now.
    It's a shame when some one like Nunoo Mensah is saying things like this. He is a cry baby and wants an attenti ...

• Dread 8 years ago

Fear should not be the case but respect and the police will never get it from any Ghanian citizen because of their bad habit.

• Kofi Virginia 8 years ago

No, he is not an idiot. He raises a valid national concern issue. We should be concern about the integrity of the law enforcement officers, the police. Surely there are some honest police persons, but in most developed nation ...

• Close Observer 8 years ago

He is an idiot my good friend. If with all his age and work experience, he has still not realized that bad politicians like him are the ones who are undermining the police service, and he is suggesting that courts of law must ...

• Kojo Bonsu 8 years ago

Uncle, my respect. The military you used to head is not same today. If they are given the chance of getting involved in the daily affairs of running the country they will be worse than the police and then we won't have any in ...

• oja fire 8 years ago

We are not criminals so we should we fear the police? And do you think the military brutality against innocent civilians are justified? Let me tell the reason people are not responding to them is because of the gun, but now l ...

Thank you!

• KWAA 8 years ago

Why shouldn`t he say the Army should take over Government,then we know,we are under Military rule.
    Nonsense talk,Ghana Army is more undiscipline than the Ghana Police.
    If Ghanaians don`t fear the Police is ,because we all k ...

• quashie 8 years ago

I think e General is rite,e military has to help reconstruct e nation cos dey ar only discipline institution in Ghana now.

• kwasi oppong 8 years ago

I think u and ur general are mentally incorrect. Soldiers will do worse than police. We dnt need them . their time has pass.i know that arrogant nunoo mensah.he doesn't respect the police. Not ghanaians

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

WILL SOMEBODY STOP THIS IDIOT FROM SPEWING FOOLISHNESS. POLICE SHOULD DO THEIR WORK WITH THE COOPERETION OF THE PEOPLE. COLONIAL POLICE MENTALITY DEPENDED ON FEAR.

• Adegbotayo Adekunle 8 years ago

Seriously , I think this man has outlived his usefulness in Government! How and why should we fear the Police? Do you think we are still in a military state ? Soldiers can help but are you saying this for soldiers to come and ...

• MAN FOR MAN 8 years ago

SO MR ADEGBOTAYO WE DON'T HAVE TO COMPLAIN WHEN WE CHOKE OUR GUTTERS AND ALL DRAINAGE PATHS AND GET CARRIED AWAY BY FLOOD AND BURNT EVEN WHEN IT IS RAINING IN THIS 21 CENTURY.

• K.K. 8 years ago

This man is talking about coup. Ghanaians must watch this man carefully

• KWASI 8 years ago

GHANA WILL NOOT ALLOW DICTATORS AND OR AYATTOLLA OR EVIL SHARIA LAWS IN GHANA ARE YOU LISTING MAN?

• mensa 8 years ago

TALK BULL-SHIT AGAIN THIS LUNATIC BETTER WTACH OUT AND STOP INSULTING GHANA PEOPLE OR SOMEONE GOING TO GET HIS ASS

• daladam 8 years ago

stop insulting Ghana people stupid man

• kwasi oppong 8 years ago

Because he was a soldier or what.he talks like a kid.if military gets chance like the police they will also do the same. I think is politicians who has made the work of the police more difficult. If soldiers takes over from p ...

• Osei Yao 8 years ago

ARMY INVOLVEMENT IN POLITICS HAS LANDED THE COUNTRY WHERE WE ARE TODAY. RAWLINGS AND HIS WIFE OWN FACTORIES THEY DID NOT BUILD, OWN SHARES THEY DID NOY PAY FOR; SO HOW DID ARMY INVOLEMENT BENEFIT GHANAIANS? STAY IN THE BARRA ...

• kaka 8 years ago

What is wrong at all with this guy. He is becoming a very stubborn guy these days. Why should we fear the police , for what?
    What we need to do is to respect them one for their noble service and also because the are human be ...

• RPG 8 years ago

Has Prez. John Dramani Mahama heard Nunoo Mensah indirectly calling for his overthrow?
    Now, that is symptomatic of his failed leadership and failed governance because if the society is rotten, it starts at the very top.
    Cl ...

• AGOVE MENSAH 8 years ago

THIS CRAZY KWASEATO EX ABONGO MAN MUST BE SENT TO MENTAL HOSPITAL TO CHECK HIS BRAIN TO SEE IF IT IS WORKING GOOD.WHO WANTS TO SEE YOUR STUPIDITIES AGAIN?.DEMOCRATIC COUNTRY IS A POLICE STATE BUT NOT FOR ABONGO BOYS SO COME A ...

• Kwasi Agyeman 8 years ago

MY FRIEND, THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO NEED FOR ABUSE! THE GENERAL IS SPEAKING THE TRUTH, AND IS HIS HONEST OPINION.INDISCIPLINE AND LAWLESSNESS IS A NATIONAL DISGRACE AND WE NEED TO ARREST THIS BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE. IN ALL NATIO ...

• The lone prophet of Jehovah 8 years ago

YES oh the police has really lost his identity in society due to bribe.How can a quack doctor flee from the police when he was arrested for face murder charges etc,etc,.We have lost it all because no one has the confidence in ...

• BLUNTLY SPEAKING 8 years ago

Where has this man been all these years since Atta Mills death. He has suddenly emerged again with another misguided salvo, this time on his favorite subject, the discipline of the military. I beg to defer Sir. There is no su ...

• ABOKYI 8 years ago

Democratic Policing is the order of the day now, rule of law and good governance and best policing practice. The general has fallen behind so long. Maybe he needs to do some peacekeeping duties in DR Congo to see where the ty ...

ABOKYI, BOKO HARAM IS IN NIGERIA BECAUSE SOME PEOPLE DIDN'T DO THEIR WORK WELL THAT IS WHY PEOPLE ARE DYING THERE AND IN THE SAME VAIN GHANA LOST 152 SOULS TO DISASTERS THAT SOME PEOPLE DIDN'T DO WHAT THEY SUPPOSE TO DO. SO G ...

• DANIEL LARYEA 8 years ago

indiscipline has eaten into ghanaians including politicians and we need an institution to clean the menace. so far, the military is the credible institution in Ghana and should do tht.
    we are suffering

• Jake 8 years ago

If the Military has lost its relevance today because there are no wars to be fought, then it should be disbanded. After all, Switzerland has been without military for centuries. And who told you soldiers are the most discipli ...

DISBANDING THE MILITARY AS YOU CLAIM COMPARING GHANA TO SWITZERLAND, DON'T FORGET THAT HAD IT NOT BEEN OPERATION CALM LIFE WHICH SOLDIERS USED TO NEUTRALIZED THE GROUND COMMON ARMED ROBBERS WOULD HAVE BEEN RULING YOU BY NOW. ...

• kofi 8 years ago

IN OPERATION CALM LIFE THE MILITARY HAVE NEVER ARRESTED ONE ARM ROBBER, IN FACT THEY ARE NOT NEEDED AT ALL ,THEY ARE A NUISANCE,. THEIR BOSSES JUST FOOL THE GOVERNMENT TO HIVE OFF POLICE BUDGET TO THE MILITARY. CURRENTLY THE ...

• K Biney 8 years ago

If Ghanaians don't fear their police because of how the police institution has been set up. The judicial system is not responsible, power distribution system in the judiciary toward the law enforcement is sick. How many tim ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

Have kept mute so far over this man's latest ranting all over the place, but his constant ranting is getting seriously on my nerves. Is this man suggesting some military bullshit in our dear country once again or what? If Gha ...

HE IS BREEDING GROUNDS FOR A MILITARY COUP.HIS BEHAVIOUR IS JUST LIKE RAWLINGS.
    WE DONT WANT CONERED BEEF OR SADINE SOLDIERS IN GHANA ANYMORE.
    THE GHANAIAN SOLDIERS WHO WENT TO THE CONGO BETRAYED NKRUMAH BECAUSE OF CANNED P ...

• OBINNA 8 years ago

THIS GUY'S ANALYSIS OF SOCIETAL WRONGS IS A BIT OUT OF THE ORDINARY. HE SHOULD BE CAREFUL NOT TO BE ADVOCATING FOR A MILITARY CHANGE IN GOVERNMENT. HE SHOULD BE CAREFUL NOT TO BE ADVOCATING FOR THE USE OF BRUTAL FORCE BY THE ...

• My Opinon 8 years ago

Nunoo Mensah is in his seventies, can we trust his marbles? A word to the wise!! Enough said.

• Nana asamoa 8 years ago

I can advice you and say that your very fast and your decision is good

• apuuu 8 years ago

So what Mr Nunoo Mensah is saying the politician's are lawless they don't govern with the law and police are not discipline but the military will matine law and order let put in this way take guns from ...

• Efo Kwaku Canada 8 years ago

With this 21st century?Where democracy is now getting roots in Ghana, this guy talks as if they had chop off his head, Mahama must fired that idiot immediately, he is waste to the development of our democracy, is your NDC tha ...

• kongfu master 8 years ago

When I c a police man I c nothing than a corrupt undisciplined low profile creature that bows down @ the sight of ghc1.0.

• fela 8 years ago

Soldier to bring discipline,look at your J.J he lives like a king,his children studied in the best school s abroad using our money because his pay can't do that.If he chop 80 yrs self he will go to prison.Do u remember the Ar ...

This man is talking too much. If you can't stand the heat, please pack and leave. You have been CDS twice. This is the country you have created. Let us have our peace!

Are they not manufacturing shoes to be distributed to school children? Nunoo-Mensah, have you checked with your president?

• Maxwell Afrifa 8 years ago

Even in "Advanced Countries " the military are kept in their confined plce. It is the Police who are doing everything so if Ghana police are taking bribes who cares. Can Mensah NUNOO swear that he has not taken bribe in his ...

• Farmer 8 years ago

Already the military assumes a role in Ghana far beyond its democratic purpose. Pls, general, get the roles of the various security services right before you speak up.The Ghana police requires a reform bottom up, but please d ...

• Sammy 8 years ago

It is fear not respect. The old soldier just hit the nail on its head. I respect the police as human beings but I do not fear them as law enforcers especially when I have more than GHC2.00 not GHC@2.00 but GHC2.00 in my my po ...

• Ahmed 8 years ago

in Ghana when e wise talk we call him idiot and forgotten that the fact remains the fact.all those insulting e man as if he has said some thing bad from e truth shld be ashamed of them selves.When e reality happens we will al ...

• ked 8 years ago

Confining the military in the barracks in this modern day is a waste of tax payers money as you rightly put it, they should be put into good use. They can help in fighting the arm robberies that have engulfed the country in r ...

• kofi 8 years ago

If the soldiers don't have anything to do,they have engineers among them they should go to the villages and construct bridges for the them to bring foodstuffs to the city.

• KGD 8 years ago

In fact this man Mr. Nunoo-Mensah should be told straight in the face that the time he used force to rule society is gone. Now my question is, “What are the results of his 19 years rule of force?” Citizens should not fear ...

• Akwasi Frimpong 8 years ago

We do not need soldiers in our faces. We have seen their actions before. They are just as corrupt as the police. The police are corrupt. The soldiers are corrupt. The politicians are corrupt. Ghana has a systematic problem . ...

• Nii Lartey Nartey. 8 years ago

This lunatic baboon face looking man together with Rawlings violently took Ghana and Ghanaians hostage for almost 30 years by the gun, stripped women naked before their children and husbands in public places, took away our se ...

• edelali 8 years ago

hmmmmmm.....my brothers, de only reason y ghanaian dnt fear police is because police dnt beat or whip dem whn they dnt obey de law bt military beat n slap dem nt because police r nt strong to do dat . Both police n military h ...

• OMANBA 8 years ago

Ghanaians do not fear the police because it is full of corrupt people who believe in money than making sure that the law works.

• Seth 8 years ago

The army is worse when it comes to respect. Ghanaians know that the army is more corrupt than the police and don't care about them. Nunoo_Mensah, you're corrupt too.

• Mr k 8 years ago

I remember one time salifu amankwe control circle n part of Accra. When people hear he is coming to their area they run to their homes n clear for not be beating up n taken to circle office

• ABU 8 years ago

Without any role to play the army needs to be banned then than converting them to internal law keepers.Reform the police service to their Core duties instead of bringing in the equally indisciplined and brutal army.the army ...

• gari 8 years ago

WHAT A STUPID MAN!! ARE WE SUPPOSED TO FEAR THE POLICE?? HELL NO!! THIS MAN IS A FOOL. WE DONT FEAR THE MILITARY TOO. WHAT A FOOLISH GA MAN. KWASIA OLUMAN,

• sgt major adams 8 years ago

general nunoo mensah, i hope you will read this my comments. police all over the world are supposed to work in close collaboration with members of the public. the united nations has made it a policy that when international po ...

• Johnson 8 years ago

Perfectly right

• TWEAA 8 years ago

WHAAAAT! THE SOLDIERMAN? WE ALL ARE AWARE OF WHAT HAPPENED DURING THE TIME OF NLC, NRC, SMC I, SMC II, AFRC, AND PNDC. NO, NO SOLDIERMAN ON OUR STREETS.

GHANAIAN SOLDIERS BETRAYED NKRUMAH BECAUSE OF CANNED DRY POWDERED EGG YOLKS,CONERED BEEF,SARDINE AND SEWING MACHINE.LETS REMEMBER THAT PATRICE LUMUMBA WAS LED AWAY TO HIS DEATH UNDER THE WATCHFUL EYES OF GHANAIAN TROOPS.
    THE ...

• Agonaba 8 years ago

"Too soft is not good(Police),but too hard is way over the bar(Soldier)",God have mercy.

• AFLAO RESIDENT 8 years ago

GOOD IDEA. BEFORE OR DURING THE FESTIVE SEASON LAST DECEMBER, SOME SOLDIERS WERE SENT TO AFLAO AND THEY DID VERY WELL BUT COULD YOU BELIEVE SOME TOWN HEADS WERE AGAINST THEIR OPERATIONS.

• kweku Ananse 8 years ago

politicians like Paa Kwesi Nduom will disagree with you. The PPP has an army of acid throwing, Klu Klux Klan assasins he sends at dawn to kill people because his son must own lands in Accra. And the police are silent.

• PAPSON 8 years ago

All you know about is bugabuga desiplain. We live in a morden world and any prescreption of desiplain must be in a form of education and not your colo bugabuga stupid desiplain.

• kwasi 8 years ago

Rather,make them redundant and get that money for your imf program.you came through the ranks and what has changed for better.Anyway, we won't be coward by your planed bullying. tactics.Away with your military,we are not at w ...

• Jojo 8 years ago

This man has a problem cos he does not understand democracy. He should have advised government to do away with e army rather when he was the national security adviser. What is their use , they basically does nothing but gover ...

• Ngi 8 years ago

Brig-Gen you got it wrong. Whether police or army...do not need to be feared. They have to command respect ....earn respect. Bring your men out tonight... in a week's time they would worse than policemen.

• Alpha-Umar Azumdoh 8 years ago

This man is speaking like an illiterate. He does not have the slightest knowlege of what policing in a civilized world should be like. To him Police should be brutal n fearful to the very people they swear oath to protect. Co ...

• shabako 8 years ago

Am proud to be a policeman to serve my people.why should my people fear the police whiles they are all law abiding.general mensah must come again.in this 21centurey ; we dont need those bougabouga styles always adopted by the ...

• TIL-SHILOH 8 years ago

Nuno mensah must be wise to know that humans should not fear humans. How can Ghanaians fear the police who are protecting them. How can you fear the shield protecting you. Ghanaians don't rather respect police men not fear po ...

• Dread 8 years ago

Fear should not be the case but respect which the police will never get from the Ghanian citizens because of Their indiscipline type of behaviour, the police sucks.

• Blaque Marque 8 years ago

Finally...Some sense for us to chew on. I support the General through and through.

Deploy the military into the cities and towns and we will see instant discipline...just from the sight of them alone.

I have always wait ...

• ADWOA 8 years ago

iT IS NOT THE FAULT OF THE POLICE. BLAME THE CORRUPT JUDICIARY. THEY HAVE ALLOWED THE COUNTRY TO DENEGRADTO THIS POINT..

• JUNGLE 8 years ago

You were a failure in the Army. Your record shows. Always thank Jerry Rawlings for your 'refurbishment'. When your soldiers are exposed to the public they worse than the police. Who says Ghanaians fear soldiers ? An old fool ...

• JUNGLE 8 years ago

Ever since this old soldier was pulled for a traffic offence somewhere around Kasoa he see eye-to-eye with the Gh Police. He felt he was above the law.
    We have seen the soldiers in control for so many years. Where did this ...

• slimmart1... 8 years ago

This Brigadier Nunoo- Mensah is an idiot and makes mockery of the intelligence of all right-thinking soldiers. The police aren't to be feared. They are supposed to be peace officers. They are supposed to be community watchdog ...

• Cokzy 8 years ago

Well spoken brigadier,we need the soldier to instil discipline in us.we dont really fear the police.

• Kwame Gyekye 8 years ago

People should not fear the police. The mentality that fear equals obedience is obsolete. Respect and decipline forced on people is not sustainable- that is why with the beatings of civilians during the various military reg ...

• George 8 years ago

this man is noted for such cheap talks. so he been chief of defense staff that wat he knows.Ghanaians fear soldiers cos of the numerous coups we had.the fear soldiers cos they are bullies. they don't respect.

• jak 8 years ago

I do agree but attached qualified young EX-Servicemen to some govt institutions for effectiveness. The Police must be allowed to work through vigorous supervision.