Ghana Pulls Down its Biggest Slum, Sodom and Gomorrah

Read Comments Comments (44)

• J. D Mahama 10 years ago

My brothers from the north should go back to engage in farming. We needed people to rear guinea fowls so that this time they dont ran away as per SADA assertion and also to plant trees which we can see as growing to help th ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Congrats, Mahama. The decision you have taken is a political risk but many in Ghana will remember you for this. Sorry to say Papa Jerry brought this slum about after the Kokomba-Nanumba war.
    To the young ones, let me tell yo ...

• koo pia 10 years ago

You can vote for Akufo -ADDO to allow you go back to re-settle at sodom & gomorrah again when he comes to power.

NDC will do the right thing..you can choose not vote for us.We need to save our country ...we need to save ...

• NO NONSENSE TAKER 10 years ago

I'm not surprise of hearing Sodom and Gomora because, I knew the occupants were no other civilised group than zongos. This Zongo thing is crazy because of its slum characteristic and them even trying another name as Sodom and ...

• Kwesi Baidoo 10 years ago

Build more houses for the poor

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 10 years ago

I BELEIVE YOU MAY KNOW SAM AMANOR DEBRA AND OSUMANU FROM KOFORIDUA.
    LETS PRAY THAT THEY USE THE PARK AS A RECREATIONAL PLACE.
    SINCE THE CATHOLIC CHURCH ARE TALKING ABOUT CURSES MAHAMA AND THE AMA AUTHORITIES INTO PILLARS OF ...

• Akwam.. 10 years ago

Congrats Mr President JM you surprised me with this action. You not thinking abt election and votes but better Ghana.

• Citizen 10 years ago

You`re more than a useless being. Why don`t you also go into farming? We have useless beings in the country just as we have in politics.

• mensa 10 years ago

DESTROYING HOMES OF SO MANY PEOPLE WITH NO RESSETTELMENT PLAN AMOUNT TO STUPIDITY .MAHAMA CREATING THOSEND OF HOMELESS PEOPLE IN ACCRA IS PURE EVIL AN SIN THAT HE AND HIS EVIL NDC GOVT WILL BE PANISHED BY ALLMIGHTY GOD

• kwasy 10 years ago

GHANA IS UNDER WATER FLOODS LOOK AY HO NOW IN THE VOLTA REGIN WHERE HOMES ARE DESTROYED ,WHERE IS NDC AND MAHAMA TO PROVIDE EMERGENCY HELP?
    WHY DONT THEY SEND THE ARMY TO GO AND RESCUE FALKS THERE?GOD HELP US IN GHANA WIT ...

• ken 10 years ago

YOU CANT REMOVE PEOPLE FROM THEIR PLACES UNTILL YOU HAVE RE-LOCATION PLANS A MAN HOME IS HIS PALLACE NO WOUNDER HOW BAD IT IS . WHERE IS THE GHANA BIG HEARTS ARE WE GOING TO SEE EVIL AND BE SILENT?

• J. D Mahama 10 years ago

Kwasia like you. Who do you expect to development the north other than northerners. You free loaders who want everything free, from free education to free every damn fucking thing on earth. Is your filthy presence at these z ...

• BONE MARROW 10 years ago

hmmmm i know dis is painful but needs to be done to prevent future occurence.may God provide them a humble abode and comfort them

very true necessary evil

• Cameron 10 years ago

Instead of leaving all the heavy lifting to God, the government should be giving the people a helping hand. After all, it was because of their action their lives have changed for the worse.

• KOJO. U.K. 10 years ago

MR. PRESIDENT,
    THANK YOU FOR TAKING THAT BOLD DECISION,I WANT GHANAIANS TO ALWAYS TO REMEMBER THAT , IT IS GOD WHO ELECTS KINGS ,RULERS AND PRESIDENTS BUT NOT VOTERS.
    SO MR. PRESIDENT, MAY THE GOOD GOD BLESS YOU WITH HEAVE ...

• Ghanaman 10 years ago

Who cares if you USELESS LAWLESS BUNCH OF SQUATTERS vote for Mahama or not. Mr President please proceed with speed and save Accra from these lawless reckless group of squatters who by their conduct are destroying peoples prop ...

• blakk 10 years ago

Think very well before u write a comment

• BBC NEWS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

When Nana said he will build affordable houses for you,ndc said no!Now ndc is destroying your huts.Na niamma!!!

• jk Atta 10 years ago

Congratulations to the government,it's not an easy but necessary decision.

Ghana should be paramount to votes

• Stevo 10 years ago

A consend government will relocate these people with shelter b4 pulling down their homes,where do u want them to sleep with their families

• NORKUOH 10 years ago

HI STEVO,U SEEMS TO BE A GOOD SAMARITAN.
    OFFER THEM YOUR FLAT AND YOU WILL BE BLESSED.

• Esther Alizerta Azortyaaba 10 years ago

The truth is that sodom and gomorrah must go they government should not pay any compensation to anyone and no resettlement. There no politics in this people must learn to do the right thing.
    our healthy lifestyle should be o ...

• Mike 10 years ago

A stitch in time saves nine

• NORKUOH 10 years ago

DEAR PRESIDENT,IT´S YOUR TURN TO SAVE SOULS NOW!! INDEPENDENCE IS LONG TIME AGO. YOU HAVE EVERY RIGHT TO FLATTEN ALL THESE SLUMS.MAY GOD BE WITH YOU,AS WELL AS ATAA OKO AND AFOTEY-AGBO.YOU ARE MY HEROES.

• Ghanamaa. 10 years ago

Go to hell , don't vote!

• pk 10 years ago

All slums must give way to better habitations and better health. The slums are a den of diseases that spreads beyond the communities. Why should cholera be endemic in Accra?

• Kojo Boateng 10 years ago

GOD RICHLY BLESS U MR. PRESIDENT.GOD B WID U.

• May. 10 years ago

Pls brother's and sister's it is time ,let us understand ourselves and hand in hand with the president to help sustain lives ok.
    Our dear country is weeping and lacking behing bcos of politics pls.

• Awuni 10 years ago

after staying there for some years n making some few bucks..2 or 3 ppl should have contributed and rent a decent room n leave the slums alone...i can boldly tell u this guys make more money than those sitting in the offices

• May. 10 years ago

In the develop countries the very village is well develop bcos the pple living in had took it upon themselves to make their county beautiful and appealing to meet the standard of that of the big cities.
    Pls let us learn to u ...

• HARDCORE 10 years ago

We can't continue to be lawless all the time, Authorities should pull down all these unauthorized structures with monster face, the shouldn't vote for NDC, but Prez Mahama will win again.

• Zip-Up 10 years ago

( Cause and Effect ) Centralisation is the cause of our capital town ( Accra )being so Parkup ( congested ), And the effect is the influx of all our Potentials into the Capital,ends the creating of this sort of Abode ( slums ...

• CONCERN GHANA 10 years ago

PLEASE I WANT TO ASKED SOME USELESS AND SHALLOW MINDED PEOPLE WHO KEEP ON SAYING ILLEGAL PLACE OF ABODE. PLEASE WHAT WILL YOU CALL CIRCLE, TESHI AND OTHER AREAS OF ACCRA THAT FLOOD WHEN IT RAINS. PLEASE ARE THEY ALSO ILLEGAL ...

• unclefi 10 years ago

Ghanaians don't only speak good English; they equally write awfully.

• Janet - Tema 10 years ago

Please stop talking and do your work. Everything must be cleared.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Now that Sodom and Gomorrah has been destroyed, let us resettle those poor folk who have been rendered homeless and lost their livelihoods.

If this is not done, these wretched souls will still have to live, and they will t ...

• ko 10 years ago

it should be like Ghana has pull down it's biggest enemy in Accra,because for how many years the has been demolishing buildings in the country in name of water ways ad
    nd the end we have to lost brothers and sisters .
    the c ...

• c guy 10 years ago

Ho the.regional city of volta got flooded is it our making the build affordable houses there but still it doesnt stop it from flooding may the Almigty one judge jdm and his soo called sensless mayor in our country God will pu ...

• Kwame Kesse. CI 10 years ago

Less than 2 hours drive from the Ghanaian border and you will be marveled by the face lift going on in the Ivorian capital,Abidjan and the demolition knows no barrier.

• sakyi Djan Ohe ne 10 years ago

.Congratulations to the government for a belated job well executed.This is a success story. The floating voters who appraise by quality performance are solidly behind ur efforts. The cocoa roads, sanitization of the odaw riv ...

• Isma'el 10 years ago

Am not a fun of politics but I really support this idea of demolition exercise.
    Let all build a Better Ghana not only today but in the future.
    Those people fighting the corps should think well, it is for their own benefit t ...

• Aryikailey okai 10 years ago

stop cursing Mahama, this particular site is for business and market not a place to build a home. Next time the korle lagoon will swallow them all if the did not leave, use your sense